KIPP DC PUBLIC CHARTER SCHOOLS: Form 990, tax year 2016

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
KIPP DC PUBLIC CHARTER SCHOOLS (EIN 74-2974642)
Tax period
2016-07-01 to 2017-06-30
Filed
2018-03-23
IRS object ID
201800829349301035
Schema version
2016v3.0
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2018-03-23T16:54:58-05:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2017-06-30TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN420714325PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1RSM US LLPBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line19737 Washingtonian Blvd 400AddressLine1Txt
CityGaithersburgCityNm
State AbbreviationMDStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP20878ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2016-07-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN742974642EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1KIPP DCBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlKIPPBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone2022655477PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line12600 VIRGINIA AVENUE NW No 900AddressLine1Txt
CityWASHINGTONCityNm
State AbbreviationDCStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP20037ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonSUSAN SCHAEFFLERPersonNm
Person TitleMember/CEOPersonTitleTxt
Phone2022655477PhoneNum
Signature2018-03-23SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (1)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonWILLIAM E TURCO CPAPreparerPersonNm
PTINP00369217PTIN
Phone3012963600PhoneNum

Filing Security Information FilingSecurityInformation

IP Address IPAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
I Pv4 Address66.98.98.5IPv4AddressTxt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
IP2018-03-23IPDt
IP Tm16:54:23IPTm
IP TimezoneEDIPTimezoneCd
Filing License TypePFilingLicenseTypeCd
At Submission Creation Device IdB807BA4C69A73CA6C24C1450FD5847F62F078646AtSubmissionCreationDeviceId
At Submission Filing Device IdC19F5D3F195EC13517A150B69ABBCB37DF598FBCAtSubmissionFilingDeviceId
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2016TaxYr
Build TS2021-01-29 14:40:06ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerSUSAN SCHAEFFLERPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line12600 VIRGINIA AVENUE NW No 900AddressLine1Txt
CityWASHINGTONCityNm
State AbbreviationDCStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP20037ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$233,907,779GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For Affiliates0GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501c3Yes (X)Organization501c3Ind
Website AddressWWW.KIPPDC.ORGWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation2001FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateDCLegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionKIPP DC's mission is to create and sustain the highest quality school system (SEE SCHEDULE O)ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body14VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent12VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee1102TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers58TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$0TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$0NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$36,501,436PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$17,255,455CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$90,655,801PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$104,651,639CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$329,415PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$599,884CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$1,115,631PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$1,361,939CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$128,602,283PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$123,868,917CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$0PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$1,287,036CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$0PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$59,886,895PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$69,109,545CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$860,476CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$39,577,973PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$44,532,933CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$99,464,868PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$114,929,514CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$29,137,415PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$8,939,403CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$290,390,078TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$306,685,546TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$164,297,710TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$168,817,161TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$126,092,368NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$137,868,385NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
Info In Schedule O Part IIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartIIIInd
MissionKIPP DC's mission is to create and sustain the highest quality school system for the most underserved communities in Washington, D.C. KIPP DC students develop the knowledge, skills, and character necessary to become thoughtful, influential, and successful citizens in the competitive world. KIPP DC raises expectations of public education in underserved communities by cultivating high-performing educational leaders and by serving as a model of excellence.MissionDesc
Significant New Program Srvc0SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant Change0SignificantChangeInd
Expense$99,161,717ExpenseAmt
Grant$1,287,036GrantAmt
Revenue$104,932,929RevenueAmt
DescKIPP DC is a network of high-performing, public, college-preparatory charter schools in Washington, D.C., which serves the city's under-resourced communities. At KIPP DC, there are no shortcuts. Outstanding educators, more time in school, a rigorous college-preparatory curriculum, and a strong culture of achievement and support help our students make significant academic gains and continue to excel in high school and college.KIPP DC students are some of the hardest working young people in D.C., spending approximately 30% more time in school than traditional students with an extended school day, week, and year. In addition to core subjects like math and reading, the school day includes music, foreign language, P.E., and character education. Each school leader and teacher is given the "power to lead and to do whatever is necessary to achieve KIPP DC's goals and to meet each student's needs. Subsequently, lessons are differentiated through both blended learning opportunities and targeted, small group instruction. Additional enrichment opportunities are available after school and during KIPP DC's Saturday school, including sports, dance, drama, visual art, concert orchestra, drum line, chess, robotics, and publishing.Our standardized test results continue to illustrate the impact of additional learning time, high-quality teaching, and a culture of achievement and success. Most importantly, they reveal that KIPP DC is closing the achievement gap that exists between white/non-Hispanic students and African American students at public and public charter schools in D.C. For more than a decade, students at KIPP DC schools have been among the highest performing in the District, often earning the top spot in proficiency in math and reading on the DC Comprehensive Assessment. In order to better support KIPP DC students in high school and college, KIPP DC created the KIPP Through College program (KTC). KTC provides KIPP DC alumni with the tools and support needed to attain a college degree and succeed in the competitive workforce. The KTC team works with alumni from seventh grade through to their senior year of college to ensure that they stay on the path to graduation and a life filled with choice and opportunity. Perhaps the most important indicators of KIPP DC's impact are the rates at which our alumni are graduating from high school, matriculating to college, and earning degrees. KIPP DC knows that teacher quality is a key factor when it comes to providing an exceptional education to students of all backgrounds. To address this critical need, KIPP DC founded the Capital Teaching Residency (CTR) in partnership with E.L. Haynes Public Charter School. CTR is a year-long teacher training residency designed to increase the number of highly effective teachers in the District of Columbia. Just as medical residents train with experienced doctors in teaching hospitals, CTR residents train and learn alongside an excellent teacher working within a high-performing charter school. The program is highly selective to ensure that the candidates with the greatest potential of success are chosen and all residents commit to teaching in D.C. for a minimum of two years after completing the program.Desc
Total Program Service Expenses$99,161,717TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt
Described In Section501c3Yes (1)DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B RequiredYes (1)ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign Acty0PoliticalCampaignActyInd
Lobbying Activities0LobbyingActivitiesInd
Subject To Proxy Tax0SubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised Fund0DonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation Easements0ConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of Art0CollectionsOfArtInd
Credit Counseling0CreditCounselingInd
Temp Or Permanent Endowments0TempOrPermanentEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (1)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other Sec0ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related Invst0ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other Assets0ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (1)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (1)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl Stmt0IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt0ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School OperatingYes (1)SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign Office0ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign Activities0ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To Org0MoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To Individuals0MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional Fundraising0ProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising ActivitiesYes (1)FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming Activities0GamingActivitiesInd
Operate Hospital0OperateHospitalInd
Grants To OrganizationsYes (1)GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To Individuals0GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (1)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt BondsYes (1)TaxExemptBondsInd
Invest Tax Exempt Bonds0InvestTaxExemptBondsInd
Escrow Account0EscrowAccountInd
On Behalf Of Issuer0OnBehalfOfIssuerInd
Engaged In Excess Benefit Trans0EngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd
PY Excess Benefit Trans0PYExcessBenefitTransInd
Loan Outstanding0LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related Person0GrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org Mem0BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam Mem0BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With Officer Ent0BusinessRlnWithOfficerEntInd
Deductible Non Cash Contri0DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art Contribution0DeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate Operations0TerminateOperationsInd
Partial Liquidation0PartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded EntityYes (1)DisregardedEntityInd
Related EntityYes (1)RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl EntYes (1)RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Transaction With Control Ent0TransactionWithControlEntInd
Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd OrgYes (1)TrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd
Activities Conducted Prtshp0ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (1)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document103IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (1)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee1102EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (1)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over Limit0UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Foreign Financial Account0ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans0ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party Notification0TaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible Contributions0NondeductibleContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo ContributionsYes (1)QuidProQuoContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo Contri DisclYes (1)QuidProQuoContriDisclInd
Form8282 Property Disposed Of0Form8282PropertyDisposedOfInd
Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0RcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0PayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Indoor Tanning Services0IndoorTanningServicesInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members14GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member12IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business Rln0FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt Duties0DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org Documents0ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or Misuse0MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or Stockholders0MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board Members0ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To ApprovaYes (1)DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (1)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (1)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing Address0OfficerMailingAddressInd
Local Chapters0LocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (1)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (1)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (1)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (1)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (1)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (1)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (1)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process Other0CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint Venture0InvestmentInJointVentureInd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldDCStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1DEA WATKINSBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Phone2022655477PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line12600 VIRGINIA AVENUE NW No 900AddressLine1Txt
CityWASHINGTONCityNm
State AbbreviationDCStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP20037ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (22 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtAverage Hours Per Week Rltd OrgAverageHoursPerWeekRltdOrgRtHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd
Terence Golden
Board Chair3.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
John Duff
Treasurer2.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
David Bradley
Member1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Don Graham
Member1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Tony Lewis
Member1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Carol Ludwig
Member1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Stuart Solomon
Member1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Alan Wurtzel
Member1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Pamela Yee
Member1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Martin Rodgers
Member1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Crystal Lockerman
Member1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Reginald Workman
Member1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Hudson LaForce
Member until 11/20161.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Briana Robinson
Member/Teacher40.00Yes (X)$59,809$0$7,2470.50
Susan Schaeffler
Member/CEO40.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$282,161$0$15,1341.50
Allison Fansler
President & COO40.00Yes (X)$244,428$0$12,3501.00
Katie Cole
Secretary/General Counsel40.00Yes (X)$110,773$0$4,5451.50
Dane Anderson
Financial Official40.00Yes (X)$193,167$0$5,9090.50
Melissa Kim
Chief Academic Officer40.00$186,267$0$15,335Yes (X)
Kimberly Neal
Admin Lead40.00$186,235$0$14,275Yes (X)
Susan Toth
Chief Academic Officer40.00$173,408$0$10,812Yes (X)
Michael Cordell
Principal40.00$169,742$0$29,832Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$1,605,990TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$115,439TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K73IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees Listed0FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (1)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other Srcs0CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
MCN Building
1214 28th St NWwashingtonDC20018Construction Services$8,167,606
The Whiting Turner Contracting Company
6305 Ivy Lane Suite 800GreenbeltMD20770Construction Services$5,555,126
REVOLUTION FOODS Inc
PO Box 742759Los AngelesCA900742759Food services$4,716,116
PMM Company
15938 Derwood RoadRockvilleMD20855Cleaning Services$1,826,230
Whelan Security Mid Atlantic LLC
1699 S Hanley Road Suite 350st louisMO63144security$1,326,798
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K47CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Fundraising$22,208FundraisingAmt
Government Grants$13,008,597GovernmentGrantsAmt
All Other Contributions$4,224,650AllOtherContributionsAmt
Total Contributions$17,255,455TotalContributionsAmt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescPUPIL ALLOCATION & FEEDesc
Business900099BusinessCd
Total Revenue Column$104,651,639TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$104,651,639RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$104,651,639TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$610,180TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$610,180ExclusionAmt

Gross Rents GrossRentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$693,527RealAmt

Less Rental Expenses LessRentalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$0RealAmt

Rental Income Or Loss RentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$693,527RealAmt

Net Rental Income Or Loss NetRentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$693,527TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$693,527ExclusionAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$109,946,473SecuritiesAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$109,956,769SecuritiesAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities-$10,296SecuritiesAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column-$10,296TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion-$10,296ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Fundraising Gross Income$186,822FundraisingGrossIncomeAmt
Contri Rpt Fundraising Event$22,208ContriRptFundraisingEventAmt
Fundraising Direct Expenses$82,093FundraisingDirectExpensesAmt

Net Incm From Fundraising Evt NetIncmFromFundraisingEvtGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$104,729TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$104,729ExclusionAmt

Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp (3 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmtExclusionExclusionAmt
Student fees900099$159,235$159,235
OVERPAYMENT REFUND900099$157,559$157,559
CRT PLACEMENT FEES900099$122,500$122,500

Miscellaneous Revenue MiscellaneousRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$124,389TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$122,055RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Exclusion$2,334ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total$563,683OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$123,868,917TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$104,932,929RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$1,680,533ExclusionAmt

Grants To Domestic Orgs GrantsToDomesticOrgsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,287,036TotalAmt
Program Services$1,287,036ProgramServicesAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$754,381TotalAmt
Program Services$351,274ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$403,107ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$57,790,958TotalAmt
Program Services$51,553,535ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$5,716,657ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$520,766FundraisingAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,236,300TotalAmt
Program Services$2,923,795ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$279,031ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$33,474FundraisingAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,784,306TotalAmt
Program Services$2,503,085ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$252,628ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$28,593FundraisingAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$4,543,600TotalAmt
Program Services$4,057,168ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$446,509ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$39,923FundraisingAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$117,083TotalAmt
Program Services$1,205ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$115,878ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$312,063TotalAmt
Management And General$312,063ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$479,980TotalAmt
Program Services$221,828ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$258,152ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$223,430TotalAmt
Program Services$72,713ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$6,369ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$144,348FundraisingAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,108,189TotalAmt
Program Services$981,355ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$94,572ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$32,262FundraisingAmt

Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,247,398TotalAmt
Program Services$1,323,125ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$1,907,728ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$16,545FundraisingAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$10,094,844TotalAmt
Program Services$9,362,922ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$731,328ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$594FundraisingAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$78,494TotalAmt
Program Services$52,005ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$23,551ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$2,938FundraisingAmt

Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,820,720TotalAmt
Program Services$1,441,098ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$374,511ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$5,111FundraisingAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$5,829,287TotalAmt
Program Services$4,063,181ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$1,766,106ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$5,648,253TotalAmt
Program Services$5,496,562ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$151,691ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$497,571TotalAmt
Program Services$9,315ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$488,256ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmtProgram ServicesProgramServicesAmtManagement And GeneralManagementAndGeneralAmtFundraisingFundraisingAmt
DIRECT STUDENT EXPENSES$7,517,157$7,299,770$217,012$375
Food Service Exp$5,451,985$5,451,985
CHARTER BOARD ADMIN FEE$1,202,642$1,202,642
LICENSES, DUES & MEMBER$359,237$308,630$48,655$1,952

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$544,600TotalAmt
Program Services$400,130ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$110,875ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$33,595FundraisingAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$114,929,514TotalAmt
Program Services$99,161,717ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$14,907,321ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$860,476FundraisingAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,790,644BOYAmt
EOY$952,696EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$78,104,911BOYAmt
EOY$84,591,677EOYAmt

Pledges And Grants Receivable PledgesAndGrantsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$9,670,577BOYAmt
EOY$4,344,303EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EOY$507,591EOYAmt

Oth Notes Loans Receivable Net OthNotesLoansReceivableNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$17,705,702BOYAmt
EOY$17,705,702EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$573,752BOYAmt
EOY$1,883,678EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$183,524,920LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$22,977,919LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$155,852,485BOYAmt
EOY$160,547,001EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$21,571,377BOYAmt
EOY$32,442,024EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$4,120,630BOYAmt
EOY$3,710,874EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$290,390,078BOYAmt
EOY$306,685,546EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$10,387,020BOYAmt
EOY$4,856,947EOYAmt

Tax Exempt Bond Liabilities TaxExemptBondLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$105,317,639BOYAmt
EOY$116,338,000EOYAmt

Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$35,389,000BOYAmt
EOY$35,389,000EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$13,204,051BOYAmt
EOY$12,233,214EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$164,297,710BOYAmt
EOY$168,817,161EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Organization Follows SFAS117Yes (X)OrganizationFollowsSFAS117Ind

Unrestricted Net Assets UnrestrictedNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$111,287,282BOYAmt
EOY$127,592,021EOYAmt

Temporarily Rstr Net Assets TemporarilyRstrNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$14,805,086BOYAmt
EOY$10,276,364EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$126,092,368BOYAmt
EOY$137,868,385EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$290,390,078BOYAmt
EOY$306,685,546EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part XIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$8,939,403ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst$14,119NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets$2,822,495OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or Review0AccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (1)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Consolidated Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)ConsolidatedBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (1)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit RequiredYes (1)FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd
Federal Grant Audit PerformedYes (1)FederalGrantAuditPerformedInd

Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
SchoolYes (X)SchoolInd

Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB

Contributor Information ContributorInformationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
ContributorRESTRICTEDContributorNum

Contributor Business Name ContributorBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1RESTRICTEDBusinessNameLine1

Contributor US Address ContributorUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1RESTRICTEDAddressLine1
Address Line2RESTRICTEDAddressLine2
CityRESTRICTEDCity
StateRESTRICTEDState
ZIP CodeRESTRICTEDZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total ContributionsRESTRICTEDTotalContributionsAmt

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$9,694,981OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$9,694,981BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$65,921,595OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$9,697,510DepreciationAmt
Book Value$56,224,085BookValueAmt

Leasehold Improvements LeaseholdImprovementsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$106,922,055OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$12,479,396DepreciationAmt
Book Value$94,442,659BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$612,727OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$497,806DepreciationAmt
Book Value$114,921BookValueAmt

Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$373,562OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$303,207DepreciationAmt
Book Value$70,355BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$160,547,001TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (5 entries)

DescDescAmtAmt
capital lease payable$1,417,290
deferred rent$8,067,286
Interest Rate Swap Obligation$2,071,235
Security Deposit$41,287
Note Payable Premium$636,116
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$12,233,214TotalLiabilityAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$126,787,894TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Net Unrealized Gains Invst$14,119NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt
Other Revenue$2,822,765OtherRevenueAmt
Revenue Not Reported$2,836,884RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$123,951,010RevenueSubtotalAmt
Other Revenues Not Included-$82,093OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt-$82,093RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$123,868,917TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$114,978,350TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Other Expenses Included$48,836OtherExpensesIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Reported$48,836ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$114,929,514ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$0ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$114,929,514TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (4 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Part X, Line 2:KIPP DC is a tax-exempt organization under Section 501(c)(3) of the IRC and is not considered to be a private foundation. KIPP DC is exempt from federal taxes on income other than unrelated business income. KIPP DC did not have any net unrelated business income for the years ended June 30, 2017 and 2016. Douglass QALICB is a District of Columbia non-stock, nonprofit organization. Shaw QALICB is a District of Columbia non-stock, nonprofit organization. Douglass QALICB may file for tax-exempt status under Section 501(c)(2). Douglass QALICB was dissolved during July 2016. KIPP DC follows the accounting standard on accounting for uncertainty in income taxes, which addresses the determination of whether tax benefits claimed or expected to be claimed on a tax return should be recorded in the consolidated financial statements. Under this guidance, KIPP DC may recognize the tax benefit from an uncertain tax position only if it is more likely than not that the tax position will be sustained on examination by taxing authorities based on the technical merits of the position. The tax benefits recognized in the consolidated financial statements from such a position are measured based on the largest benefit that has a greater than 50% likelihood of being realized upon ultimate settlement. The guidance on accounting for uncertainty in income taxes also addresses de-recognition, classification, interest and penalties on income taxes, and accounting in interim periods. Interest and penalties associated with unrecognized tax benefits are classified as additional income taxes in the consolidated statements of activities. KIPP DC files income tax returns in the U.S. federal jurisdiction. As of June 30, 2017, there were no material unrecognized/derecognized tax benefits or tax penalties or interest. Generally, KIPP DC is no longer subject to U.S. federal income tax examinations by tax authorities for years before 2014.
Part XI, Line 2d - Other Adjustments:Related entity activities reported on the consolidated FS 270. Unrealized Loss on Interest Rate Cap Agreements -2. Unrealized gain on Interest Rate swap Agreements 2,822,497.
Part XI, Line 4b - Other Adjustments:special event expenses reported on line 8b -82,093.
Part XII, Line 2d - Other Adjustments:Related entity activities reported on the consolidated FS -33,257. special event expenses reported on line 8b 82,093.

Schedule E IRS990ScheduleE

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Nondiscriminatory Policy StmtYes (1)NondiscriminatoryPolicyStmtInd
Policy Stmt In Brochures EtcYes (1)PolicyStmtInBrochuresEtcInd
Plcy Pblczd Via Broadcast MediaYes (1)PlcyPblczdViaBroadcastMediaInd
Maintain Racial Comp RecsYes (1)MaintainRacialCompRecsInd
Maintain Scholarships RecsYes (1)MaintainScholarshipsRecsInd
Maintain Cpy Of Brochures EtcYes (1)MaintainCpyOfBrochuresEtcInd
Maintain Cpy Of All SolYes (1)MaintainCpyOfAllSolInd
Discriminate Race Stdnts Rghts0DiscriminateRaceStdntsRghtsInd
Discriminate Race Admiss Plcy0DiscriminateRaceAdmissPlcyInd
Discriminate Race Emplm Fculty0DiscriminateRaceEmplmFcultyInd
Discriminate Race Schs0DiscriminateRaceSchsInd
Discriminate Race Educ Plcy0DiscriminateRaceEducPlcyInd
Discriminate Race Use Of Fclts0DiscriminateRaceUseOfFcltsInd
Discriminate Race Athlt Prog0DiscriminateRaceAthltProgInd
Discriminate Race Other Acty0DiscriminateRaceOtherActyInd
Government Financial Aid RcvdYes (1)GovernmentFinancialAidRcvdInd
Government Financial Aid Rvkd0GovernmentFinancialAidRvkdInd
Compliance With Rev Proc7550Yes (1)ComplianceWithRevProc7550Ind

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Schedule E, Part I, Line 3ALL CHILDREN ARE TREATED THE SAME REGARDLESS OF ABILITY TO PAY. IN THE OPERATION OF CHILD NUTRITION PROGRAMS NO CHILD WILL BE DISCRIMINATED AGAINST BECAUSE OF RACE, COLOR, SEX, AGE, DISABILITY, OR NATIONAL ORIGIN.
Schedule E, Part I, Line 6KIPP DC was organized for the purpose of operating a public charter school for educationally underserved children residing in Washington, D.C. KIPP DC receives a per student allocation from the District of Columbia to cover the cost of academic and facilities expenses. KIPP DC also receives other government grants in support of this mission.

Schedule G IRS990ScheduleG

Fundraising Event Information FundraisingEventInformationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Event1Kipp PromEvent1Nm
Gross Receipts Event1$209,030GrossReceiptsEvent1Amt
Charitable Contri Event1$22,208CharitableContriEvent1Amt
Gross Revenue Event1$186,822GrossRevenueEvent1Amt
Rent Facility Costs Event1$11,699RentFacilityCostsEvent1Amt
Other Direct Expenses Event1$70,394OtherDirectExpensesEvent1Amt
Gross Receipts Total$209,030GrossReceiptsTotalAmt
Charitable Contributions Tot$22,208CharitableContributionsTotAmt
Gross Revenue Total Events$186,822GrossRevenueTotalEventsAmt
Rent Fclty Costs Total Events$11,699RentFcltyCostsTotalEventsAmt
Oth Direct Expnss Total Events$70,394OthDirectExpnssTotalEventsAmt
Direct Expense Summary Events$82,093DirectExpenseSummaryEventsAmt
Net Income Summary$104,729NetIncomeSummaryAmt

Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant Records MaintainedYes (1)GrantRecordsMaintainedInd

Recipient Table RecipientTable (2 entries)

Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityUSAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPUSAddress/ZIPCdRecipient EINRecipientEINIRC SectionIRCSectionDescCash GrantCashGrantAmtPurpose Of GrantPurposeOfGrantTxtNon Cash AssistanceNonCashAssistanceAmtValuation Method UsedValuationMethodUsedDescNon Cash AssistanceNonCashAssistanceDesc
Kipp DC Supporting Corp
2600 virginia avenue nw 900washingtonDC20037471876264501(c)(3)$1,250,000Teacher retention program
Kipp DC Douglass QALICB Inc
2600 virginia avenue nw 900washingtonDC20037264544894501(c)(2)to close out intercompany transactions$37,036book valueto close out intercompany transactions
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total501c3 Org1Total501c3OrgCnt
Total Other Org1TotalOtherOrgCnt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePart I, Line 2:FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationWe gather supporting documentation (e.g., invoices, evidence of payment, timesheets, etc.) for all grant expenditures made by grantees or subgrantees.ExplanationTxt

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form990 Of Other OrganizationsYes (X)Form990OfOtherOrganizationsInd
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance Payment0SeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr Plan0SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp Arrngm0EquityBasedCompArrngmInd
Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng Org0CompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd On Rev Related Orgs0CompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng Org0CompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd Orgs0CompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd
Any Non Fixed PaymentsYes (1)AnyNonFixedPaymentsInd
Initial Contract Exception0InitialContractExceptionInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (7 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
Susan Schaeffler
Member/CEO$250,161$0$32,000$0$0$0$7,142$0$12,083$0$301,386$0$0$0
Allison Fansler
President & COO$217,428$0$27,000$0$0$0$6,716$0$6,974$0$258,118$0$0$0
Dane Anderson
Financial Official$193,167$0$0$0$0$0$5,909$0$90$0$199,166$0$0$0
Melissa Kim
Chief Academic Officer$186,267$0$0$0$0$0$5,890$0$11,093$0$203,250$0$0$0
Kimberly Neal
Admin Lead$186,235$0$0$0$0$0$5,966$0$8,399$0$200,600$0$0$0
Susan Toth
Chief Academic Officer$173,408$0$0$0$0$0$5,359$0$5,543$0$184,310$0$0$0
Michael Cordell
Principal$169,742$0$0$0$0$0$5,690$0$24,232$0$199,664$0$0$0

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePart I, Line 7FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationBonuses were Management approved based on the individuals performance.ExplanationTxt

Schedule K IRS990ScheduleK

Tax Exempt Bonds Issues TaxExemptBondsIssuesGrp (3 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdBond Issuer EINBondIssuerEINCUSIPCUSIPNumBond IssuedBondIssuedDtIssue PriceIssuePriceAmtPurposePurposeDescDefeasedDefeasedIndOn Behalf Of IssuerOnBehalfOfIssuerIndPool FinancingPoolFinancingInd
District of Columbia
A53600113125483VPF52013-08-01$63,827,034Construction of School Building000
District of Columbia
B5360011312014-09-30$38,000,000Construction of School Building000
District of Columbia
C5360011312015-08-27$20,000,000Construction of School Building000

Tax Exempt Bonds Proceeds TaxExemptBondsProceedsGrp (3 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdTotal ProceedsTotalProceedsAmtIn Reserve FundInReserveFundAmtIssuance Costs From ProceedsIssuanceCostsFromProceedsAmtCapital ExpendituresCapitalExpendituresAmtOther Spent ProceedsOtherSpentProceedsAmtSubstantial CompletionSubstantialCompletionYrCurrent RefundingCurrentRefundingIndAdvance RefundingAdvanceRefundingIndFinal Allocation MadeFinalAllocationMadeIndAdequate Books And Rec MaintAdequateBooksAndRecMaintInd
A$63,827,034$4,206,409$1,240,839$30,414,126$28,947,0262014Yes (1)0Yes (1)Yes (1)
B$33,268,000$33,268,000000Yes (1)
C$20,000,000$20,000,00000Yes (1)Yes (1)

Tax Exempt Bonds Private Bus Use TaxExemptBondsPrivateBusUseGrp (3 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdOwning Bond Financed PropertyOwningBondFinancedPropertyIndAny Lease ArrangementsAnyLeaseArrangementsIndMgmt Contract Bond Fincd PropMgmtContractBondFincdPropIndAny Research AgreementsAnyResearchAgreementsIndPrivate Bus Use By OthersPrivateBusUseByOthersPctPrivate Bus Concerning UBIPrivateBusConcerningUBIPctTotal Private Business UseTotalPrivateBusinessUsePctBond Iss Meet Prvt Sec Pymt TestBondIssMeetPrvtSecPymtTestIndChange In Use Bond Financed PropChangeInUseBondFinancedPropIndProcs Nonqualified Bond RemdtdProcsNonqualifiedBondRemdtdInd
A00000.008700.000000.0087000Yes (1)
B00000.000000.000000.0000000Yes (1)
C00000.000000.000000.0000000Yes (1)

Tax Exempt Bonds Arbitrage TaxExemptBondsArbitrageGrp (3 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdForm8038 T FiledForm8038TFiledIndRebate Not Due YetRebateNotDueYetIndException To RebateExceptionToRebateIndNo Rebate DueNoRebateDueIndVariable Rate IssueVariableRateIssueIndHedge Identified In Bks And RecHedgeIdentifiedInBksAndRecIndGross Proceeds Invested In GICGrossProceedsInvestedInGICIndGross Proceeds InvestedGrossProceedsInvestedIndWritten Proc To Monitor ReqsWrittenProcToMonitorReqsIndTerm Of HedgeTermOfHedgePctSuperintegrated HedgeSuperintegratedHedgeIndHedge TerminatedHedgeTerminatedIndBusiness Name Line2HedgeProviderName/BusinessNameLine2Txt
(no name)
A0Yes (1)000000Yes (1)
PNC Bank NA
B0Yes (1)00Yes (1)Yes (1)00Yes (1)11.00000000000000
Compass Mortgage
C0Yes (1)00Yes (1)Yes (1)00Yes (1)11.00000000000000Corporation

Procedures Corrective Action ProceduresCorrectiveActionGrp (3 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdProcedures Corrective ActionProceduresCorrectiveActionInd
AYes (1)
BYes (1)
CYes (1)

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceDistrict of Columbia Series 2014 BondFormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationTotal issue price of the bond was $38,000,000. As of 06/30/2017 total proceeds of bond issue accessed by the School was $33,268,000.ExplanationTxt

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (8 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Form 990, Part I, Line 1for the most underserved communities in Washington, D.C. KIPP DC raises the expectations of public education in underserved communities by cultivating high-performing educational leaders and by serving as a model of excellence. KIPP DC is a network of high-performing, college-preparatory public charter schools. All KIPP DC schools are tuition-free, open enrollment schools, and actively recruit and serve students in the city's most under-resourced communities. At KIPP DC, there are no shortcuts. Outstanding educators and staff, more time in school, a rigorous college preparatory-curriculum, and a strong culture of achievement and support help our students make significant academic gains and continue to excel in high school and college. In addition to operating high-performing schools, KIPP DC is supported by two critical programs central to the goal of helping underserved students get to and through college: KIPP Through College and the Capital Teaching Residency. KIPP Through College supports KIPP DC alumni on their journey to a college degree - helping them navigate the application process, access financial aid, connect to summer internships, and build the advocacy and decision-making skills needed to persist and graduate. The Capital Teaching Residency is an award winning teacher-training program designed to increase the pipeline of highly-effective educators in the District of Columbia. These programs, coupled with exceptional PreK3 through 12 schools, make KIPP DC one of the highest-performing public school networks in the District of Columbia and a national model of excellence in urban education.
FORM 990, PART I, LINE 6, ESTIMATED NUMBER OF VOLUNTEERSVolunteers support KIPP DC through a wide range of projects including tutoring, mentorship, campus beautification, and the chaperoning of field trips.
Form 990, Part VI, Section A, line 7bThe District of Columbia Public Charter School Board (PCSB) is KIPP DC's chartering authority and has a duty to monitor the academic achievements and fiscal management of all DC public charter schools. Certain contracts with a value of $25,000 or more must be approved by the KIPP DC Board of Directors and submitted for review by the PCSB.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 11bKIPP DC's Finance Committee, a committee of the Board of Directors, meets with management and the Form 990 paid preparers to review the final draft of the Form 990. After this review, the final draft of the Form 990 is distributed to all members of the KIPP DC Board of Directors before it is filed with the IRS.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 12cKIPP DC's Directors complete an Annual Statement affirming that they have received a copy of KIPP DC's Conflicts of Interest Policy, have read and understood the policy, and agree to comply with the policy. They also disclose in the Annual Statement any actual or possible conflicts of interest they may have. After disclosure of the actual or possible conflicts of interest and all material facts, the interested person must leave the Board of Directors meeting. The Board of Directors then decides if a conflict of interest exists and, if so, the procedures for addressing the conflict of interest.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 15aThe Board Chair leads the process for recommending the compensation level for the CEO, and the full Board of Directors approves the final CEO compensation level. The Chair considers the following factors in developing the recommended CEO compensation: comparable data including data from other KIPP regions and an analysis by a national charter school funder on CEO compensation relative to geography as well as number of schools; the change in scale and scope of the organization; the organization's performance as well as student performance; the CEO's prior compensation; and the financial ability of the organization to pay the recommended compensation.
Form 990, Part VI, Section C, line 19The organization makes its governing documents, conflict of interest policy, and financial statements available upon request.
Form 990, Part XI, line 9:Unrealized Loss on Interest Rate Cap Agreements -2. Unrealized Loss on Interest Rate Swap Agreements 2,822,497.

Schedule R IRS990ScheduleR

Id Disregarded Entities IdDisregardedEntitiesGrp

Disregarded Entity Name DisregardedEntityName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1woodrock llcBusinessNameLine1Txt

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line12600 Virginia Ave NW Suite 900AddressLine1Txt
CitywashingtonCityNm
State AbbreviationDCStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP20037ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN582684134EIN
Primary ActivitiesLEASE HOLDERPrimaryActivitiesTxt
Legal Domicile StateDCLegalDomicileStateCd

Direct Controlling Entity Name DirectControllingEntityName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1kipp dcBusinessNameLine1Txt

Id Related Tax Exempt Org IdRelatedTaxExemptOrgGrp (3 entries)

Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityUSAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPUSAddress/ZIPCdEINEINPrimary ActivitiesPrimaryActivitiesTxtLegal Domicile StateLegalDomicileStateCdExempt Code SectionExemptCodeSectionTxtBusiness Name Line1DirectControllingEntityName/BusinessNameLine1TxtControlled OrganizationControlledOrganizationIndPublic Charity StatusPublicCharityStatusTxtDirect Controlling NADirectControllingNACd
KIPP DC - SHAW QALICB Inc
2600 VIRGINIA AVENUE NWwashingtonDC20037453261015Charter School Real EstateDC501(c)(2)Kipp DCYes (1)
KIPP DC SUPPORTING CORP
2600 VIRGINIA AVENUE NWWASHINGTONDC20037471876264Support Kipp DCDC501(c)(3)0Line 12c, III-FIN/A
KIPP DC - DOUGLASS QALICB INC
2600 VIRGINIA AVENUE NWwashingtonDC20037264544894charter school real EstateDC501(c)(2)Kipp DCYes (1)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Receipt Of Int Annts Rnts Rylts0ReceiptOfIntAnntsRntsRyltsInd
Gift Grnt Or Cap Contri To Oth OrgYes (1)GiftGrntOrCapContriToOthOrgInd
Gift Grnt Cap Contri From Oth OrgYes (1)GiftGrntCapContriFromOthOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees To Other OrgYes (1)LoansOrGuaranteesToOtherOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees From Oth Org0LoansOrGuaranteesFromOthOrgInd
Div Related Organization0DivRelatedOrganizationInd
Asset Sale To Other Org0AssetSaleToOtherOrgInd
Asset Purchase From Other Org0AssetPurchaseFromOtherOrgInd
Asset Exchange0AssetExchangeInd
Rental Of Facilities To Oth Org0RentalOfFacilitiesToOthOrgInd
Rental Of Fclts From Oth OrgYes (1)RentalOfFcltsFromOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services For Oth Org0PerformOfServicesForOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services By Other Org0PerformOfServicesByOtherOrgInd
Sharing Of Facilities0SharingOfFacilitiesInd
Paid Employees Sharing0PaidEmployeesSharingInd
Reimbursement Paid To Other Org0ReimbursementPaidToOtherOrgInd
Reimbursement Paid By Other OrgYes (1)ReimbursementPaidByOtherOrgInd
Transfer To Other Org0TransferToOtherOrgInd
Transfer From Other Org0TransferFromOtherOrgInd

Transactions Related Org TransactionsRelatedOrgGrp (2 entries)

Transaction TypeTransactionTypeTxtInvolvedInvolvedAmtMethod Of Amount DeterminationMethodOfAmountDeterminationTxt
KIPP DC - SHAW QALICB Inc
D$23,520,000cost
KIPP DC - SHAW QALICB Inc
K$1,101,244cost

Comments

Anonymous: no account or email. Up to 2,000 characters, at most one link. Comments are checked automatically; some wait for review.