FONTBONNE UNIVERSITY: Form 990, tax year 2016

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
FONTBONNE UNIVERSITY (EIN 43-0694556)
Tax period
2016-07-01 to 2017-06-30
Filed
2018-05-10
IRS object ID
201841309349303344
Schema version
2016v3.0
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2018-05-10T15:41:22-05:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2017-06-30TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN430765316PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1RubinBrown LLPBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1One North BrentwoodAddressLine1Txt
CitySaint LouisCityNm
State AbbreviationMOStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP63105ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2016-07-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN430694556EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Fontbonne UniversityBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlFONTBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone3148623456PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line16800 Wydown BoulevardAddressLine1Txt
CitySt LouisCityNm
State AbbreviationMOStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP63105ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Personj michael pressimonePersonNm
Person TitlepresidentPersonTitleTxt
Phone3148623456PhoneNum
Signature2018-05-05SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (1)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonKimberly A RyanPreparerPersonNm
PTINP00829977PTIN
Phone3142903300PhoneNum
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2016TaxYr
Build TS2022-09-23 18:48:47ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerJ michael pressimonePrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line16800 Wydown BoulevardAddressLine1Txt
CitySt LouisCityNm
State AbbreviationMOStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP63105ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$50,173,823GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For Affiliates0GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501c3Yes (X)Organization501c3Ind
Website Addresswww.fontbonne.eduWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1923FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateMOLegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionFONTBONNE UNIVERSITY IS A COEDUCATIONAL INSTITUTION OF HIGHER LEARNING THAT SEEKS TO EDUCATE STUDENTS TO THINK CRITICALLY, TO ACT ETHICALLY AND TO ASSUME RESPONSIBILITY AS CITIZENS AND LEADERS.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body23VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent23VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee863TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers100TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$0TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$0NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$1,898,318PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$3,323,597CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$33,550,616PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$31,555,416CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$343,670PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$2,147,285CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$142,983PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$358,456CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$35,935,587PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$37,384,754CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$10,716,831PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$9,712,603CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$0PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$19,437,279PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$19,479,415CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$1,316,649CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$11,196,555PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$9,989,130CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$41,350,665PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$39,181,148CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses-$5,415,078PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses-$1,796,394CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$51,151,186TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$49,064,362TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$15,984,165TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$16,265,754TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$35,167,021NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$32,798,608NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
Info In Schedule O Part IIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartIIIInd
MissionFONTBONNE UNIVERSITY IS A COEDUCATIONAL INSTITUTION OF HIGHER LEARNING DEDICATED TO THE DISCOVERY, UNDERSTANDING, PRESERVATION AND DISSEMINATION OF TRUTH. FONTBONNE SEEKS TO EDUCATE STUDENTS TO THINK CRITICALLY, TO ACT ETHICALLY AND TO ASSUME RESPONSIBILTY AS CITIZENS AND LEADERS. FONTBONNE OFFERS BOTH UNDERGRADUATE AND GRADUATE PROGRAMS IN AN ATMOSPHERE CHARACTERIZED BY INCLUSION, OPEN COMMUNICATION AND PERSONAL CONCERN. THE UNDERGRADUATE PROGRAMS PROVIDE A SYNTHESIS OF LIBERAL AND PROFESSIONAL EDUCATION. AS A CATHOLIC UNIVERSITY SPONSORED BY THE SISTERS OF ST. JOSEPH OF CARONDELET, FONTBONNE IS ROOTED IN THE JUDEO-CHRISTIAN TRADITION.MissionDesc
Significant New Program Srvc0SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant Change0SignificantChangeInd
Expense$31,325,859ExpenseAmt
Grant$9,712,603GrantAmt
Revenue$31,861,366RevenueAmt
DescFONTBONNE IS AN ACCREDITED UNIVERSITY that offers undergraduate and graduate degree programs, WHICH ALSO PROVIDES AUXILIARY SERVICES SUCH AS DORMITORIES, DINING HALL AND A BOOK STORE FOR THE CONVENIENCE OF ITS STUDENTS AND FACULTY. TOTAL BENEFITTED (AVERAGE FTE) = 1,119Desc
Total Program Service Expenses$31,325,859TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt
Described In Section501c3Yes (1)DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B RequiredYes (1)ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign Acty0PoliticalCampaignActyInd
Lobbying Activities0LobbyingActivitiesInd
Subject To Proxy Tax0SubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised Fund0DonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation Easements0ConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of ArtYes (1)CollectionsOfArtInd
Credit Counseling0CreditCounselingInd
Temp Or Permanent EndowmentsYes (1)TempOrPermanentEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (1)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other Sec0ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related Invst0ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other Assets0ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (1)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 Footnote0IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt0ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School OperatingYes (1)SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign OfficeYes (1)ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign ActivitiesYes (1)ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To Org0MoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To Individuals0MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional Fundraising0ProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising Activities0FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming Activities0GamingActivitiesInd
Operate Hospital0OperateHospitalInd
Grants To Organizations0GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To IndividualsYes (1)GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (1)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt BondsYes (1)TaxExemptBondsInd
Invest Tax Exempt Bonds0InvestTaxExemptBondsInd
Escrow Account0EscrowAccountInd
On Behalf Of Issuer0OnBehalfOfIssuerInd
Engaged In Excess Benefit Trans0EngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd
PY Excess Benefit Trans0PYExcessBenefitTransInd
Loan Outstanding0LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related Person0GrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org Mem0BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam Mem0BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With Officer Ent0BusinessRlnWithOfficerEntInd
Deductible Non Cash Contri0DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art Contribution0DeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate Operations0TerminateOperationsInd
Partial Liquidation0PartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded Entity0DisregardedEntityInd
Related Entity0RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl Ent0RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd Org0TrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd
Activities Conducted Prtshp0ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (1)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document2030IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (1)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee863EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (1)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over Limit0UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Foreign Financial Account0ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans0ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party Notification0TaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible Contributions0NondeductibleContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo ContributionsYes (1)QuidProQuoContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo Contri DisclYes (1)QuidProQuoContriDisclInd
Form8282 Property Disposed Of0Form8282PropertyDisposedOfInd
Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0RcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0PayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Indoor Tanning Services0IndoorTanningServicesInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members23GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member23IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business Rln0FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt Duties0DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org Documents0ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or Misuse0MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or Stockholders0MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board Members0ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To Approva0DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (1)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (1)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing Address0OfficerMailingAddressInd
Local ChaptersYes (1)LocalChaptersInd
Policies Reference ChaptersYes (1)PoliciesReferenceChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (1)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (1)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (1)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (1)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (1)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (1)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (1)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (1)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint Venture0InvestmentInJointVentureInd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Lisa vansickleBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Phone3147198017PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line16800 Wydown BoulevardAddressLine1Txt
CitySt LouisCityNm
State AbbreviationMOStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP63105ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (28 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtOfficerOfficerIndHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd
MARIE JOAN HARRIS CSJ
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
JEAN DEBLOIS CSJ
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
KRAIG KREIKEMEIER
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Kate Becker
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
KATHERINE HANLEY CSJ
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
BARBARA JENNINGS CSJ
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
CRAIG L GLOVER
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
JOAN A KELLY
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MARY MARGARET LAZIO CSJ
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
ELIZABETH LEIWE CSJ
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Richard J Mark
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
ANN PACE CSJ
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
BRIAN ABEL RAGEN
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
CAROL SPEHR
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
NANCY GEORGEN
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
DENNIS GIPSON
Chairman1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
DOUG KOCH
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MICHAEL MCMILLAN
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
PEGGY MAGUIRE csja
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
KAREN S GEDERA
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
ALLEN J GRIEVE csja
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Julianne C Niemann
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Joseph M Noelker
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
DR GARY L ZACK
VP FIN. & ADMIN (CFO)40.00$153,541$0$24,935Yes (X)
J MICHAEL PRESSIMONE
PRESIDENT40.00$219,184$0$38,719Yes (X)
GALE BORKOWSKI RICE
FACULTY40.00$121,432$0$16,372Yes (X)
dr Carey Adams
vp academic affairs40.00$138,056$0$38,616Yes (X)
JOSEPH HAVIS
VP ENROLLMENT MGMT.40.00$110,393$0$23,706Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$742,606TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$142,348TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K5IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees Listed0FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (1)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other Srcs0CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K0CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Government Grants$1,279,283GovernmentGrantsAmt
All Other Contributions$2,044,314AllOtherContributionsAmt
Total Contributions$3,323,597TotalContributionsAmt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (2 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
TUITION AND FEES611310$28,895,206$28,895,206
AUXILIARY SERVICES611310$2,660,210$2,660,210
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$31,555,416TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$445,129TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$445,129ExclusionAmt

Gross Rents GrossRentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$52,506RealAmt

Less Rental Expenses LessRentalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$0RealAmt

Rental Income Or Loss RentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$52,506RealAmt

Net Rental Income Or Loss NetRentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$52,506TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$52,506ExclusionAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$14,491,225SecuritiesAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$12,789,069SecuritiesAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$1,702,156SecuritiesAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$1,702,156TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$1,702,156ExclusionAmt

Miscellaneous Revenue MiscellaneousRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$305,950TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$305,950RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total$305,950OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$37,384,754TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$31,861,366RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$2,199,791ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part IXYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartIXInd

Grants To Domestic Individuals GrantsToDomesticIndividualsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$9,712,603TotalAmt
Program Services$9,712,603ProgramServicesAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$385,670TotalAmt
Program Services$145,059ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$61,423ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$179,188FundraisingAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$15,416,944TotalAmt
Program Services$11,387,611ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$3,366,982ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$662,351FundraisingAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$635,547TotalAmt
Program Services$537,609ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$83,307ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$14,631FundraisingAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,912,703TotalAmt
Program Services$1,376,448ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$460,260ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$75,995FundraisingAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,128,551TotalAmt
Program Services$851,941ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$231,035ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$45,575FundraisingAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$93,430TotalAmt
Management And General$93,430ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$74,527TotalAmt
Management And General$74,527ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Srvc Invst Mgmnt Fees FeesForSrvcInvstMgmntFeesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$43,446TotalAmt
Management And General$43,446ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$8,240TotalAmt
Program Services$8,240ProgramServicesAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,384,823TotalAmt
Program Services$900,260ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$353,716ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$130,847FundraisingAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,101,503TotalAmt
Program Services$1,146,659ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$834,941ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$119,903FundraisingAmt

Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$270,015TotalAmt
Program Services$117,426ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$152,589ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$286,917TotalAmt
Program Services$263,884ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$23,033ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$359,469TotalAmt
Program Services$354,298ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$1,570ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$3,601FundraisingAmt

Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$32,878TotalAmt
Program Services$25,516ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$6,693ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$669FundraisingAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$510,801TotalAmt
Program Services$510,801ProgramServicesAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,681,407TotalAmt
Program Services$1,575,868ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$105,539ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$348,668TotalAmt
Program Services$326,783ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$21,885ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmtProgram ServicesProgramServicesAmtManagement And GeneralManagementAndGeneralAmtFundraisingFundraisingAmt
FOOD SERVICE$820,051$820,051
EQUIPMENT RENTAL & MAIN$571,722$288,599$280,161$2,962
BAD DEBTS$377,686$377,686
OTHER EXPENSES$253,582$116,601$108,787$28,194

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$769,965TotalAmt
Program Services$481,916ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$235,316ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$52,733FundraisingAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$39,181,148TotalAmt
Program Services$31,325,859ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$6,538,640ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$1,316,649FundraisingAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,819,961BOYAmt
EOY$1,892,597EOYAmt

Pledges And Grants Receivable PledgesAndGrantsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$354,477BOYAmt
EOY$984,992EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,087,319BOYAmt
EOY$1,460,560EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$671,331BOYAmt
EOY$682,143EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$64,817,061LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$40,435,308LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$25,522,933BOYAmt
EOY$24,381,753EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$18,365,845BOYAmt
EOY$17,598,321EOYAmt

Investments Program Related InvestmentsProgramRelatedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,172,412BOYAmt
EOY$1,063,996EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,156,908BOYAmt
EOY$1,000,000EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$51,151,186BOYAmt
EOY$49,064,362EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,557,041BOYAmt
EOY$1,226,165EOYAmt

Deferred Revenue DeferredRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,991,813BOYAmt
EOY$2,775,216EOYAmt

Tax Exempt Bond Liabilities TaxExemptBondLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$9,570,000BOYAmt
EOY$9,125,532EOYAmt

Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,250,000BOYAmt
EOY$1,700,000EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,615,311BOYAmt
EOY$1,438,841EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$15,984,165BOYAmt
EOY$16,265,754EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Organization Follows SFAS117Yes (X)OrganizationFollowsSFAS117Ind

Unrestricted Net Assets UnrestrictedNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$22,484,732BOYAmt
EOY$21,002,454EOYAmt

Temporarily Rstr Net Assets TemporarilyRstrNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,881,713BOYAmt
EOY$2,467,328EOYAmt

Permanently Rstr Net Assets PermanentlyRstrNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$9,800,576BOYAmt
EOY$9,328,826EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$35,167,021BOYAmt
EOY$32,798,608EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$51,151,186BOYAmt
EOY$49,064,362EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss-$1,796,394ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst-$336,882NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Prior Period Adjustments-$235,138PriorPeriodAdjustmentsAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets$0OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Info In Schedule O Part XIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIIInd
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or Review0AccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (1)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Separate Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (1)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit RequiredYes (1)FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd
Federal Grant Audit PerformedYes (1)FederalGrantAuditPerformedInd

Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Public Organization170Yes (X)PublicOrganization170Ind

Gifts Grants Contri Rcvd170 GiftsGrantsContriRcvd170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$2,733,755CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$2,256,382CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$2,001,654CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$1,898,318CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$3,039,617CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$11,929,726TotalAmt

Total Calendar Year170 TotalCalendarYear170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$2,733,755CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$2,256,382CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$2,001,654CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$1,898,318CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$3,039,617CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$11,929,726TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Public Support Total170$11,929,726PublicSupportTotal170Amt

Gross Investment Income170 GrossInvestmentIncome170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$589,592CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$825,134CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$589,008CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$548,003CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$3,901,947CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$6,453,684TotalAmt

Other Income170 OtherIncome170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$137,126CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$70,800CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$115,938CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$305,950CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$629,814TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Support$19,013,224TotalSupportAmt
Gross Receipts Rltd Activities$169,180,684GrossReceiptsRltdActivitiesAmt
Public Support CY1700.62740PublicSupportCY170Pct
Public Support PY1700.72280PublicSupportPY170Pct
Thirty Thr Pct Suprt Tests CY170Yes (X)ThirtyThrPctSuprtTestsCY170Ind

Form990 Schedule A Part VI Form990ScheduleAPartVIGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSchedule A, Part II, Line 10, Explanation of Other Income:FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationOTHER INCOME - 2012 Amount: $ 126,426. 2015 Amount: $ 115,938. 2016 Amount: $ 305,950. SPECIAL EVENTS - 2012 Amount: $ 10,700. 2013 Amount: $ 70,800.ExplanationTxt

Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB

Contributor Information ContributorInformationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
ContributorRESTRICTEDContributorNum

Contributor Business Name ContributorBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1RESTRICTEDBusinessNameLine1

Contributor US Address ContributorUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1RESTRICTEDAddressLine1
Address Line2RESTRICTEDAddressLine2
CityRESTRICTEDCity
StateRESTRICTEDState
ZIP CodeRESTRICTEDZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total ContributionsRESTRICTEDTotalContributionsAmt

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

Art Public Exhibition Amounts ArtPublicExhibitionAmountsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Assets Included$90,950AssetsIncludedAmt

Collection Used Other Purposes CollectionUsedOtherPurposesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Collection Used Other PurposesYes (X)CollectionUsedOtherPurposesInd
Other Purposeslibrary artworkOtherPurposesDesc
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Solicited Assets Sale0SolicitedAssetsSaleInd

CY Endwmt Fund CYEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$17,609,122BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$163,228ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$2,689,032InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$3,240,787OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$17,220,596EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus1 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus1YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$19,210,434BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$163,172ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$332,835InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$2,097,319OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$17,609,122EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus2 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus2YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$22,145,461BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$196,539ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$982,052InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$4,113,618OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$19,210,434EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus3 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus3YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$20,107,980BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$368,218ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$2,681,745InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$1,012,482OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$22,145,461EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus4 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus4YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$19,489,399BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$196,676ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$1,175,186InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$753,281OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$20,107,980EndYearBalanceAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Board Designated Balance EOY0.37210BoardDesignatedBalanceEOYPct
Prmnnt Endowment Balance EOY0.53130PrmnntEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Term Endowment Balance EOY0.09660TermEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Endowments Held Unrelated Org0EndowmentsHeldUnrelatedOrgInd
Endowments Held Related Org0EndowmentsHeldRelatedOrgInd

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$3,965,366OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$3,965,366BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$44,575,856OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$26,946,460DepreciationAmt
Book Value$17,629,396BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$10,706,205OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$9,283,125DepreciationAmt
Book Value$1,423,080BookValueAmt

Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$5,569,634OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$4,205,723DepreciationAmt
Book Value$1,363,911BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$24,381,753TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (3 entries)

DescDescAmtAmt
REFUNDABLE GOVERNMENT LOANS$1,351,341
ASSET RETIREMENT OBLIGATION$25,000
REFUNDABLE ADVANCE$62,500
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$1,438,841TotalLiabilityAmt
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$28,465,644TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Net Unrealized Gains Invst-$336,882NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt
Revenue Not Reported-$336,882RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$28,802,526RevenueSubtotalAmt
Investment Expenses Not Incld$43,446InvestmentExpensesNotIncldAmt
Other Revenues Not Included$8,538,783OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$8,582,229RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$37,384,755TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$30,598,919TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Expenses Not Reported$0ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$30,598,919ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Investment Expenses Not Incld2$43,446InvestmentExpensesNotIncld2Amt
Other Expenses Not Included$8,538,783OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$8,582,229ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$39,181,148TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (4 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Part III, Line 4:fontbonne presents artwork throughout the library.
Part V, Line 4:The University's endowment consists of over 100 individual funds established for a variety of purposes, mostly to provide scholarships for students and to support a variety of academic programs offered by the University. The endowment includes both donor-restricted endowment funds and funds designated by the Board of Trustees to function as endowments (including the long-term reserves).
Part XI, Line 4b - Other Adjustments:financial aid netted against revenues on financial statements 8,538,783.
Part XII, Line 4b - Other Adjustments:FINANCIAL AID NETTED AGAINST REVENUES ON FINANCIAL STATEMENTS 8,538,783.

Schedule E IRS990ScheduleE

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Nondiscriminatory Policy StmtYes (1)NondiscriminatoryPolicyStmtInd
Policy Stmt In Brochures EtcYes (1)PolicyStmtInBrochuresEtcInd
Plcy Pblczd Via Broadcast MediaYes (1)PlcyPblczdViaBroadcastMediaInd
Maintain Racial Comp RecsYes (1)MaintainRacialCompRecsInd
Maintain Scholarships RecsYes (1)MaintainScholarshipsRecsInd
Maintain Cpy Of Brochures EtcYes (1)MaintainCpyOfBrochuresEtcInd
Maintain Cpy Of All SolYes (1)MaintainCpyOfAllSolInd
Discriminate Race Stdnts Rghts0DiscriminateRaceStdntsRghtsInd
Discriminate Race Admiss Plcy0DiscriminateRaceAdmissPlcyInd
Discriminate Race Emplm Fculty0DiscriminateRaceEmplmFcultyInd
Discriminate Race Schs0DiscriminateRaceSchsInd
Discriminate Race Educ Plcy0DiscriminateRaceEducPlcyInd
Discriminate Race Use Of Fclts0DiscriminateRaceUseOfFcltsInd
Discriminate Race Athlt Prog0DiscriminateRaceAthltProgInd
Discriminate Race Other Acty0DiscriminateRaceOtherActyInd
Government Financial Aid RcvdYes (1)GovernmentFinancialAidRcvdInd
Government Financial Aid Rvkd0GovernmentFinancialAidRvkdInd
Compliance With Rev Proc7550Yes (1)ComplianceWithRevProc7550Ind

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSchedule E, Part I, Line 3FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationSTATEMENT IS INCLUDED IN ALL ADVERTISEMENTS, INCLUDING UNIVERSITY CATALOG.ExplanationTxt

Schedule F IRS990ScheduleF

Account Activities Outside US AccountActivitiesOutsideUSGrp (2 entries)

RegionRegionTxtOfficesOfficesCntEmployeeEmployeeCntType Of Activities ConductedTypeOfActivitiesConductedTxtSpecific Services ProvidedSpecificServicesProvidedTxtRegion Total ExpendituresRegionTotalExpendituresAmt
nepal and india02RECRUITMENT OF QUALIFIED PROSPECTIVE STUDENTS and advertisingrecruitment/ADVERTISING$34,282
taiwan01RECRUITMENT OF QUALIFIED PROSPECTIVE STUDENTS and marketingrecruitment$1,336
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Subtotal Offices0SubtotalOfficesCnt
Subtotal Employees3SubtotalEmployeesCnt
Continutation Total Office0ContinutationTotalOfficeCnt
Continutation Total Employee0ContinutationTotalEmployeeCnt
Total Office0TotalOfficeCnt
Total Employee3TotalEmployeeCnt
Subtotal Spent$35,618SubtotalSpentAmt
Continuation Spent$0ContinuationSpentAmt
Total Spent$35,618TotalSpentAmt
Transfer To Foreign Corp0TransferToForeignCorpInd
Interest In Foreign Trust0InterestInForeignTrustInd
Foreign Corp Ownership0ForeignCorpOwnershipInd
Passive Foreign Investmest Co0PassiveForeignInvestmestCoInd
Foreign Partnership0ForeignPartnershipInd
Boycott Countries0BoycottCountriesInd

Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant Records MaintainedYes (1)GrantRecordsMaintainedInd

Grants Other Asst To Indiv In US GrantsOtherAsstToIndivInUSGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant TypeSCHOLARSHIPS TO STUDENTSGrantTypeTxt
Recipient1484RecipientCnt
Non Cash Assistance$9,712,603NonCashAssistanceAmt
Valuation Method UsedcostValuationMethodUsedDesc
Non Cash AssistanceTUITION AND OTHER COSTS OF ATTENDANCENonCashAssistanceDesc

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePart I, Line 2:FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationTHE GRANTS MADE BY THE UNIVERSITY PRIMARILY CONSIST OF STUDENT FINANCIAL AID FOR SCHOLARSHIPS. SCHOLARSHIPS ARE AWARDED AND MONITORED BY THE UNIVERSITY'S FINANCIAL AID DEPARTMENT TO ELIGIBLE STUDENTS BASED UPON A NUMBER OF DIFFERENT CRITERIA, INCLUDING MERIT, ACADEMIC ACHIEVEMENT, AND FINANCIAL NEED. 1,484 STUDENTS RECEIVED FINANCIAL AID DURING THE CURRENT FISCAL YEAR FROM A COMBINATION OF ALL SOURCES (FEDERAL, STATE AND INSTITUTIONAL). OF THE 1,484 STUDENTS RECEIVING FINANCIAL AID, 1,484 RECEIVED FUNDING FROM INSTITUTIONAL SOURCES.ExplanationTxt

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Housing Allowance Or ResidenceYes (X)HousingAllowanceOrResidenceInd
Club Dues Or FeesYes (X)ClubDuesOrFeesInd
Written Policy Ref T And E ExpnssYes (1)WrittenPolicyRefTAndEExpnssInd
Substantiation RequiredYes (1)SubstantiationRequiredInd
Written Employment ContractYes (X)WrittenEmploymentContractInd
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance Payment0SeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr PlanYes (1)SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp Arrngm0EquityBasedCompArrngmInd
Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng Org0CompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd On Rev Related Orgs0CompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng Org0CompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd Orgs0CompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd
Any Non Fixed Payments0AnyNonFixedPaymentsInd
Initial Contract Exception0InitialContractExceptionInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (3 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
DR GARY L ZACK
VP FIN. & ADMIN (CFO)$153,541$0$0$0$0$0$24,000$0$935$0$178,476$0$0$0
J MICHAEL PRESSIMONE
PRESIDENT$219,184$0$0$0$0$0$16,100$0$22,619$0$257,903$0$0$0
dr Carey Adams
vp academic affairs$138,056$0$0$0$0$0$9,695$0$28,921$0$176,672$0$0$0

Schedule K IRS990ScheduleK

Tax Exempt Bonds Issues TaxExemptBondsIssuesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond ReferenceABondReferenceCd

Issuer Name IssuerName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Health & Educational Facilities Authority of MOBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond Issuer EIN431178966BondIssuerEIN
Bond Issued2009-12-17BondIssuedDt
Issue Price$13,620,000IssuePriceAmt
Purpose1998 Refunding/AB Hall RenovationPurposeDesc
Defeased0DefeasedInd
On Behalf Of Issuer0OnBehalfOfIssuerInd
Pool Financing0PoolFinancingInd

Tax Exempt Bonds Proceeds TaxExemptBondsProceedsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond ReferenceABondReferenceCd
Total Proceeds$13,620,000TotalProceedsAmt
Refunding Escrow$5,926,372RefundingEscrowAmt
Issuance Costs From Proceeds$153,628IssuanceCostsFromProceedsAmt
Capital Expenditures$7,540,000CapitalExpendituresAmt
Substantial Completion2010SubstantialCompletionYr
Current RefundingYes (1)CurrentRefundingInd
Advance Refunding0AdvanceRefundingInd
Final Allocation MadeYes (1)FinalAllocationMadeInd
Adequate Books And Rec MaintYes (1)AdequateBooksAndRecMaintInd

Tax Exempt Bonds Private Bus Use TaxExemptBondsPrivateBusUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond ReferenceABondReferenceCd
Owning Bond Financed Property0OwningBondFinancedPropertyInd
Any Lease Arrangements0AnyLeaseArrangementsInd
Mgmt Contract Bond Fincd Prop0MgmtContractBondFincdPropInd
Any Research Agreements0AnyResearchAgreementsInd
Bond Iss Meet Prvt Sec Pymt Test0BondIssMeetPrvtSecPymtTestInd
Change In Use Bond Financed Prop0ChangeInUseBondFinancedPropInd
Procs Nonqualified Bond RemdtdYes (1)ProcsNonqualifiedBondRemdtdInd

Tax Exempt Bonds Arbitrage TaxExemptBondsArbitrageGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond ReferenceABondReferenceCd
Form8038 T FiledYes (1)Form8038TFiledInd
Variable Rate Issue0VariableRateIssueInd
Hedge Identified In Bks And Rec0HedgeIdentifiedInBksAndRecInd
Gross Proceeds Invested In GIC0GrossProceedsInvestedInGICInd
Gross Proceeds Invested0GrossProceedsInvestedInd
Written Proc To Monitor Reqs0WrittenProcToMonitorReqsInd

Procedures Corrective Action ProceduresCorrectiveActionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond ReferenceABondReferenceCd
Procedures Corrective Action0ProceduresCorrectiveActionInd

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (6 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 11bTHE FORM 990 IS REVIEWED BY MANAGEMENT AND THE AUDIT COMMITTEE OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS. SUBSEQUENT TO THE APPROVAL OF THE FORM BY THE AUDIT COMMITTEE, THE FORM IS PROVIDED TO THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES ELECTRONICALLY AND THEN FILED WITH THE IRS BY MANAGEMENT.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 12cTHE UNIVERSITY REQUIRES EACH TRUSTEE OF THE BOARD TO COMPLETE A CONFLICT OF INTEREST STATEMENT ON AN ANNUAL BASIS. THE PROCESS IS MONITORED BY THE PRESIDENT'S OFFICE. CONFLICTS OF INTEREST ARE SUMMARIZED BY THE PRESIDENT'S OFFICE AND, WHEN APPLICABLE, KEY EMPLOYEES AND/OR BOARD TRUSTEES ARE EXCUSED FROM MEETINGS AND VOTES WHEN A TOPIC RELATED TO THE CONFLICT IS BEING DISCUSSED OR VOTED ON BY THE UNIVERSITY.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 15Salary adjustments are typically made effective July 1 with the start of each new fiscal year. Prior to that date, the President asks the Vice President for Finance and Administration to compile a schedule that shows current salaries for each of the seven executive positions at the University with comparison salaries for other institutions. The comparison salaries are drawn from data compiled by CUPA, the College and University Personnel Association. Occasionally, an annual survey of executive compensation and benefits in higher education that is conducted by Yaffe & Co. is also used for salary benchmarking. Six categories of institutions are used in order to reflect a comprehensive comparison across several measures of institutional type: All Institutions with a budget from $30.9 M - $64.9 M, Private institutions with budgets between $25.8 M and $46.5 M, Private, religious institutions with budgets between $24.8 M and $41.5 M, Private, religious institutions with enrollment between 1939 and 2990, All institutions with enrollment between 1555 and 3031, Master's institutions with budgets < $45.6 M. Using the percentage adjustment approved for overall institutional salary adjustments in the coming year as an upper limit, the schedule also shows various rates of possible adjustments for each executive position. The President meets with the Vice President for Finance and Administration and the Executive Vice President to notify them of changes in executive compensation. The Vice President prepares a separate schedule with comparisons for the President's salary and submits this to the Chairman of the Board of Trustees. In consultation with the Executive Committee of the Board, the Chairman determines the salary of the President and notifies the Vice President for Finance and Administration.
Form 990, Part VI, Section C, line 19THE DOCUMENTS ARE AVAILABLE UPON WRITTEN REQUEST ADDRESSED TO THE UNIVERSITY INSTITUTIONAL ADVANCEMENT OFFICE.
Form 990, Part IX, line 24eATHLETIC PROGRAMS: Program service expenses 233,177. Management and general expenses 8,960. Fundraising expenses 1,780. Total expenses 243,917. TELEPHONE: Program service expenses 92,661. Management and general expenses 96,047. Fundraising expenses 0. Total expenses 188,708. MEMBERSHIPS: Program service expenses 97,850. Management and general expenses 46,990. Fundraising expenses 3,834. Total expenses 148,674. PRINTING AND PUBLICATIONS: Program service expenses 25,156. Management and general expenses 44,354. Fundraising expenses 20,202. Total expenses 89,712. POSTAGE: Program service expenses 33,072. Management and general expenses 38,965. Fundraising expenses 9,985. Total expenses 82,022. FUNDRAISING: Program service expenses 0. Management and general expenses 0. Fundraising expenses 16,932. Total expenses 16,932.
Part XII, Line 2cNo change from prior year.

Comments

Anonymous: no account or email. Up to 2,000 characters, at most one link. Comments are checked automatically; some wait for review.