BOSTON CHILDRENS HEART FOUNDATION: Form 990, tax year 2016

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
BOSTON CHILDRENS HEART FOUNDATION (EIN 04-2790699)
Tax period
2016-10-01 to 2017-09-30
Filed
2018-08-14
IRS object ID
201822269349300967
Schema version
2016v3.0
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2018-08-14T10:16:44-05:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2017-09-30TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN010494526PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Baker Newman & Noyes LLCBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1280 Fore StreetAddressLine1Txt
CityPortlandCityNm
State AbbreviationMEStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP04101ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2016-10-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN042790699EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Boston Children's Heart Foundation IncBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlBOSTBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone6173554895PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1300 Longwood Avenue No PAV 2AddressLine1Txt
CityBostonCityNm
State AbbreviationMAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP02115ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonTal Geva MDPersonNm
Person TitlePresidentPersonTitleTxt
Phone6173554895PhoneNum
Signature2018-08-09SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid Preparer0DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonNicholas E PortoPreparerPersonNm
PTINP01310283PTIN
Phone8002447444PhoneNum
Preparation2018-08-09PreparationDt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2016TaxYr
Build TS2022-09-23 18:48:47ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerTal Geva MDPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1300 Longwood Avenue No PAV 2AddressLine1Txt
CityBostonCityNm
State AbbreviationMAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP02115ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$52,774,638GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For Affiliates0GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501c3Yes (X)Organization501c3Ind
Website AddressN/AWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1983FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateMALegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionThe Foundation provides an extensive range of evaluation services for patients (see Schedule O) with heart diseases, medical research, and educational services to Boston Children's Hospital and Harvard Medical School. The Foundation also provides care for patients in need of cardiology services, regardless of their ability to pay, as well as providing community based services.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body9VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent0VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee66TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers0TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$6,369TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$4,481NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$4,000,000PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$0CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$52,227,760PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$52,382,922CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$324,290PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$391,716CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$0PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$0CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$56,552,050PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$52,774,638CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$1,654,571PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$11,445,382CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$0PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$39,381,484PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$39,273,247CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$0CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$7,721,033PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$8,246,470CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$48,757,088PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$58,965,099CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$7,794,962PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses-$6,190,461CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$82,698,807TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$87,455,944TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$35,504,391TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$34,002,338TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$47,194,416NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$53,453,606NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
Info In Schedule O Part IIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartIIIInd
MissionThe Foundation provides cardiology services primarily to patients at Boston Children's Hospital and at satellite locations. The Foundation carries on and promotes basic and applied medical research and education in the field of cardiology by teaching (see Schedule O) students and other medical and scientific personnel. The Foundation also provides care for patients regardless of their ability to pay.MissionDesc
Significant New Program Srvc0SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant Change0SignificantChangeInd
Expense$56,531,031ExpenseAmt
Grant$11,445,382GrantAmt
Revenue$51,433,286RevenueAmt
DescThe Foundation provides cardiology services primarily to patients at Boston Children's Hospital and at satellite locations. The Foundation may charge for patient care and other medical services, provided that any net income be used for the charitable, scientific, and educational purposes for which the Foundation was created. The Foundation also provides care for patients regardless of their ability to pay, as well as providing and subsidizing hospital and community based services that are either unavailable or limited elsewhere in the community.Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty2 ProgSrvcAccomActy2Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Expense$1,043,758ExpenseAmt
Revenue$949,636RevenueAmt
DescThe Foundation receives income from Boston Children's Hospital for providing administration, supervision, and teaching services. The Foundation carries on and promotes basic and applied medical research and education in the field of cardiology by teaching students and other medical and scientific personnel; by providing or supplementing income to research personnel through fellowships, research grants, and stipends; and by giving lectures and publishing information concerning problems and research results in the field of pediatric cardiology in order to educate the general public and the medical profession.Desc
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Expenses$57,574,789TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt
Described In Section501c3Yes (1)DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B Required0ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign Acty0PoliticalCampaignActyInd
Lobbying Activities0LobbyingActivitiesInd
Subject To Proxy Tax0SubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised Fund0DonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation Easements0ConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of Art0CollectionsOfArtInd
Credit Counseling0CreditCounselingInd
Temp Or Permanent EndowmentsYes (1)TempOrPermanentEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (1)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other SecYes (1)ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related Invst0ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other AssetsYes (1)ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (1)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (1)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School Operating0SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign Office0ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign Activities0ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To Org0MoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To Individuals0MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional Fundraising0ProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising Activities0FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming Activities0GamingActivitiesInd
Operate Hospital0OperateHospitalInd
Grants To OrganizationsYes (1)GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To Individuals0GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (1)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt Bonds0TaxExemptBondsInd
Engaged In Excess Benefit Trans0EngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd
PY Excess Benefit Trans0PYExcessBenefitTransInd
Loan OutstandingYes (1)LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related Person0GrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org Mem0BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam Mem0BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With Officer Ent0BusinessRlnWithOfficerEntInd
Deductible Non Cash Contri0DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art Contribution0DeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate Operations0TerminateOperationsInd
Partial Liquidation0PartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded Entity0DisregardedEntityInd
Related EntityYes (1)RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl Ent0RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd Org0TrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd
Activities Conducted Prtshp0ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (1)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document8IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (1)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee66EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (1)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over LimitYes (1)UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Form990 T FiledYes (1)Form990TFiledInd
Foreign Financial Account0ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans0ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party Notification0TaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible Contributions0NondeductibleContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo Contributions0QuidProQuoContributionsInd
Form8282 Property Disposed Of0Form8282PropertyDisposedOfInd
Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0RcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0PayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Indoor Tanning Services0IndoorTanningServicesInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members9GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member0IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business Rln0FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt DutiesYes (1)DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org Documents0ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or Misuse0MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or StockholdersYes (1)MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersYes (1)ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To ApprovaYes (1)DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (1)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (1)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing Address0OfficerMailingAddressInd
Local Chapters0LocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (1)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (1)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (1)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (1)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (1)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (1)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (1)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (1)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint Venture0InvestmentInJointVentureInd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldMAStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1John Triedman MDBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Phone6173554895PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1300 Longwood AvenueAddressLine1Txt
CityBostonCityNm
State AbbreviationMAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP02115ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (20 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtAverage Hours Per Week Rltd OrgAverageHoursPerWeekRltdOrgRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtInstitutional TrusteeInstitutionalTrusteeIndKey EmployeeKeyEmployeeIndHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd
Tal Geva MD
President55.005.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$563,512$0$181,187
John Triedman MD
Treasurer55.005.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$397,784$0$158,407
Sarah D de Ferranti MD
Clerk60.000.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$279,393$0$87,663
Elizabeth Blume MD
Director (4/17-9/17)60.000.00Yes (X)$316,128$0$134,943
Andrew J Powell MD
Director60.000.00Yes (X)$334,640$0$131,652
William T Pu MD
Director60.000.00Yes (X)$289,990$0$129,943
Rahul Rahtod MD
Director (4/17-9/17)60.000.00Yes (X)$279,312$0$80,499
Joshua Salvin MD
Director (4/17-9/17)60.000.00Yes (X)$363,872$0$62,009
Edward P Walsh MD
Director60.000.00Yes (X)$597,517$0$119,176
Diego Porras MD
Director (10/16-3/17)60.000.00Yes (X)$343,872$0$79,754
Audrey C Marshall MD
Director (10/16-3/17)60.000.00Yes (X)$402,623$0$148,285
Ravi Thiagarajan MD
Dir (end 3/17)/Dept Chief (eff 4/17)60.000.00Yes (X)$419,816$0$125,340
Physicians Org at CH Inc
Institutional Trustee2.000.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
Roger E Breitbart MD
Dept. Chief60.000.00$347,422$0$112,189Yes (X)
Jane Newburger MD
Dept. Chief60.000.00$492,781$0$66,174Yes (X)
James E Lock MD
Cardiologist60.000.00$709,984$0$69,982Yes (X)
Peter Lang MD
Cardiologist60.000.00$643,860$0$0Yes (X)
Kathy J Jenkins MD
Cardiologist60.000.00$551,541$0$142,184Yes (X)
Steven D Colan MD
Cardiologist60.000.00$465,467$0$66,174Yes (X)
David R Fulton MD
Cardiologist60.000.00$456,011$0$77,730Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$8,255,525TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$1,973,291TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K64IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees Listed0FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (1)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other Srcs0CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (3 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
Child Health Foundation of Boston
771 Albany StreetBostonMA02118Physician services$174,429
Dartmouth-Hitchcock Medical Center
One Medical Center DriveLebanonNH03766Physician services$151,630
MGH PO - Pediatric Cardiology
55 Fruit StreetBostonMA02241Physician services$103,339
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K3CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (4 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Net Patient Service Revenue621300$48,226,110$48,226,110
Clinical and other revenue621990$1,651,861$1,651,861
Research Revenue611710$1,555,315$1,555,315
Admin, Supervision, & Teaching611710$949,636$949,636
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$52,382,922TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$391,716TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$6,369UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$385,347ExclusionAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$52,774,638TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$52,382,922RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$6,369UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$385,347ExclusionAmt

Grants To Domestic Orgs GrantsToDomesticOrgsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$11,445,382TotalAmt
Program Services$11,445,382ProgramServicesAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$6,898,560TotalAmt
Program Services$6,898,560ProgramServicesAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$24,428,516TotalAmt
Program Services$23,695,659ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$732,857ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,330,988TotalAmt
Program Services$3,231,058ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$99,930ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,772,915TotalAmt
Program Services$3,659,728ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$113,187ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$842,268TotalAmt
Program Services$817,106ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$25,162ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$161,908TotalAmt
Management And General$161,908ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Srvc Invst Mgmnt Fees FeesForSrvcInvstMgmntFeesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$100,022TotalAmt
Management And General$100,022ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$48,334TotalAmt
Management And General$48,334ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,055TotalAmt
Management And General$2,055ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,069,854TotalAmt
Program Services$1,011,103ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$58,751ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$64,949TotalAmt
Program Services$64,949ProgramServicesAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$788,973TotalAmt
Program Services$788,973ProgramServicesAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$23,817TotalAmt
Program Services$23,817ProgramServicesAmt

Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$294,271TotalAmt
Program Services$294,271ProgramServicesAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$6,685TotalAmt
Program Services$6,685ProgramServicesAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$467,679TotalAmt
Program Services$419,575ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$48,104ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmtProgram ServicesProgramServicesAmt
Bad debt expense$1,763,170$1,763,170
Billing and collection$1,651,701$1,651,701
PO Dues$1,016,718$1,016,718
Co-ordinated specialty$430,331$430,331

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$356,003TotalAmt
Program Services$356,003ProgramServicesAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$58,965,099TotalAmt
Program Services$57,574,789ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$1,390,310ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$16,424,176BOYAmt
EOY$12,053,287EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,552,123BOYAmt
EOY$4,121,743EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$5,846,102BOYAmt
EOY$5,935,368EOYAmt

Receivables From Officers Etc ReceivablesFromOfficersEtcGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$281,430BOYAmt
EOY$196,665EOYAmt

Oth Notes Loans Receivable Net OthNotesLoansReceivableNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,541,490BOYAmt
EOY$1,920,242EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$153,127BOYAmt
EOY$232,486EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$52,006LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$52,006LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$6,685BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$27,789,138BOYAmt
EOY$30,240,175EOYAmt

Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$22,238,430BOYAmt
EOY$26,412,602EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$5,866,106BOYAmt
EOY$6,343,376EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$82,698,807BOYAmt
EOY$87,455,944EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,156,933BOYAmt
EOY$2,971,767EOYAmt

Grants Payable GrantsPayableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$7,880,278EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$33,347,458BOYAmt
EOY$23,150,293EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$35,504,391BOYAmt
EOY$34,002,338EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Organization Follows SFAS117Yes (X)OrganizationFollowsSFAS117Ind

Unrestricted Net Assets UnrestrictedNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$43,019,333BOYAmt
EOY$49,465,149EOYAmt

Temporarily Rstr Net Assets TemporarilyRstrNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$4,175,083BOYAmt
EOY$3,988,457EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$47,194,416BOYAmt
EOY$53,453,606EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$82,698,807BOYAmt
EOY$87,455,944EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part XIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss-$6,190,461ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst$3,577,365NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets$8,872,286OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Info In Schedule O Part XIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIIInd
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or Review0AccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (1)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Consol And Sep Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)ConsolAndSepBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (1)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit Required0FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd

Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Publicly Supported Org509a2Yes (X)PubliclySupportedOrg509a2Ind

Gifts Grants Contris Rcvd509 GiftsGrantsContrisRcvd509Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$350,000CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$1,390,000CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$194,000CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$4,000,000CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$0CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$5,934,000TotalAmt

Gross Receipts Admissions GrossReceiptsAdmissionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$43,091,662CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$49,534,075CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$45,453,762CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$52,227,760CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$52,382,922CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$242,690,181TotalAmt

Total509 Total509Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$43,441,662CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$50,924,075CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$45,647,762CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$56,227,760CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$52,382,922CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$248,624,181TotalAmt

Amounts Rcvd Dsqlfy Person AmountsRcvdDsqlfyPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Substantial Contributors Amt SubstantialContributorsAmtGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Subst And Dsqlfy Prsns Tot SubstAndDsqlfyPrsnsTotGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Public Support Total509$248,624,181PublicSupportTotal509Amt

Gross Investment Income509 GrossInvestmentIncome509Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$215,471CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$240,705CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$239,629CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$319,811CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$385,347CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$1,400,963TotalAmt

Post1975 UBTI Post1975UBTIGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years-$337CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$4,966CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$8,302CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$4,479CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$6,369CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$23,779TotalAmt

Investment Income And UBTI InvestmentIncomeAndUBTIGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$215,134CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$245,671CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$247,931CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$324,290CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$391,716CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$1,424,742TotalAmt

Total Support Calendar Year TotalSupportCalendarYearGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$43,656,796CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$51,169,746CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$45,895,693CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$56,552,050CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$52,774,638CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$250,048,923TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Public Support CY5090.99430PublicSupportCY509Pct
Public Support PY5090.99490PublicSupportPY509Pct
Investment Income CY0.00570InvestmentIncomeCYPct
Investment Income PY0.00510InvestmentIncomePYPct
Thirty Thr Pct Suprt Tests CY509Yes (X)ThirtyThrPctSuprtTestsCY509Ind

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

CY Endwmt Fund CYEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$4,175,083BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$0ContributionsAmt
Other Expenditures$186,626OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$3,988,457EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus1 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus1YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$1,535,098BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$4,000,000ContributionsAmt
Other Expenditures$1,360,015OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$4,175,083EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus2 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus2YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$1,514,292BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$194,000ContributionsAmt
Other Expenditures$173,194OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$1,535,098EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus3 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus3YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$622,201BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$1,390,000ContributionsAmt
Other Expenditures$497,909OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$1,514,292EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus4 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus4YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$722,614BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$350,000ContributionsAmt
Other Expenditures$450,413OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$622,201EndYearBalanceAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Board Designated Balance EOY0.00000BoardDesignatedBalanceEOYPct
Prmnnt Endowment Balance EOY0.00000PrmnntEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Term Endowment Balance EOY1.00000TermEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Endowments Held Unrelated Org0EndowmentsHeldUnrelatedOrgInd
Endowments Held Related Org0EndowmentsHeldRelatedOrgInd

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$46,798OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$46,798DepreciationAmt
Book Value$0BookValueAmt

Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$5,208OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$5,208DepreciationAmt
Book Value$0BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$0TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Other Securities OtherSecuritiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescInterest in the P.O. Pooled Investment FundDesc
Book Value$26,412,602BookValueAmt
Method ValuationFMethodValuationCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Securities$26,412,602TotalBookValueSecuritiesAmt

Other Assets Org OtherAssetsOrgGrp (6 entries)

DescDescBook ValueBookValueAmt
Due from Boston Children's Hospital$548,616
Due from Physicians Organization$302,254
Other Receivables$490,882
Other Assets$3,605,622
Loan Receivable - Farb$1,137,500
Prepaid pension plan$258,502
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Other Assets$6,343,376TotalBookValueOtherAssetsAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (10 entries)

DescDescAmtAmt
Due to Boston Children's Hospital$3,009,436
Accrued severance plan obligation$667,748
Accrued SERP$13,496,713
Accrued professional liability$4,066,956
Deferred compensation plan$254,992
Due to Physicians Organization$714,036
Due to employees$1,910
Due to affiliates$132,561
Retention plan liability$749,761
Due to others$56,180
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$23,150,293TotalLiabilityAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$65,224,289TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Net Unrealized Gains Invst$3,577,365NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt
Other Revenue$8,872,286OtherRevenueAmt
Revenue Not Reported$12,449,651RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$52,774,638RevenueSubtotalAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$0RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$52,774,638TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$58,965,099TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Expenses Not Reported$0ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$58,965,099ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$0ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$58,965,099TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (3 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Part V, Line 4:Assets limited to use represent assets held in trust that are available to pay for future benefits to participants for deferred compensation benefit plans and investments whose use has been restricted by donors to a specific time period or purpose.
Part X, Line 2:The Foundation is a tax-exempt corporation as described in Section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code (the Code), and is exempt from federal income taxes on related income pursuant to Section 501(a) of the Code. In addition, the Foundation qualifies for the charitable contribution deduction under Section 170(b)(1)(A), and has been classified as an organization that is not a private foundation under Section 509(a)(2). Tax-exempt organizations could be required to record an obligation for income taxes as the result of a tax position they have historically taken on various tax exposure items, including unrelated business income or tax status. Management of the Foundation has evaluated the positions taken on the Foundation's filed tax returns and has concluded that no uncertain income tax positions exist at September 30, 2017. The Foundation's tax years from 2014 through 2017 are potentially subject to examination.
Part XI, Line 2d - Other Adjustments:Pension adjustment 3,648,460. SERP adjustment 5,223,826.

Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant Records MaintainedYes (1)GrantRecordsMaintainedInd

Recipient Table RecipientTable (3 entries)

Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityUSAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPUSAddress/ZIPCdRecipient EINRecipientEINIRC SectionIRCSectionDescCash GrantCashGrantAmtValuation Method UsedValuationMethodUsedDescNon Cash AssistanceNonCashAssistanceDescPurpose Of GrantPurposeOfGrantTxt
Boston Children's Hospital
300 Longwood AvenueBostonMA02115042774441501(c)(3)$11,192,531N/AN/AGeneral support
Lindberg Foundation
12554 Bellingham RoadCaledoniaIL61011472373117501(c)(3)$240,000N/AN/AGeneral support
American Heart Association
7272 Greenville AvenueDallasTX75231135613797501(c)(3)$10,500N/AN/AGeneral support
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total501c3 Org3Total501c3OrgCnt
Total Other Org0TotalOtherOrgCnt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePart I, Line 2:FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationMonitoring is provided by Boston Children's Heart Foundation, Inc. (the Foundation) through oversight of the terms and conditions of a written grant agreement. Multiyear agreements require yearly progress and financial reports for continuation of funding. During the year ended September 30, 2017, the Foundation only provided grant donations to other 501(c)(3) organizations.ExplanationTxt

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Idemnification Gross Up PmtsYes (X)IdemnificationGrossUpPmtsInd
Written Policy Ref T And E ExpnssYes (1)WrittenPolicyRefTAndEExpnssInd
Substantiation RequiredYes (1)SubstantiationRequiredInd
Compensation CommitteeYes (X)CompensationCommitteeInd
Form990 Of Other OrganizationsYes (X)Form990OfOtherOrganizationsInd
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance PaymentYes (1)SeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr PlanYes (1)SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp Arrngm0EquityBasedCompArrngmInd
Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng Org0CompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd On Rev Related Orgs0CompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng Org0CompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd Orgs0CompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd
Any Non Fixed PaymentsYes (1)AnyNonFixedPaymentsInd
Initial Contract Exception0InitialContractExceptionInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (19 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
Tal Geva MD
President$537,748$0$12,500$0$13,264$0$141,513$0$39,674$0$744,699$0$0$0
John Triedman MD
Treasurer$374,642$0$12,500$0$10,642$0$118,733$0$39,674$0$556,191$0$0$0
Sarah D de Ferranti MD
Clerk$235,774$0$12,500$0$31,119$0$47,989$0$39,674$0$367,056$0$0$0
Elizabeth Blume MD
Director (4/17-9/17)$295,367$0$12,500$0$8,261$0$95,269$0$39,674$0$451,071$0$0$0
Andrew J Powell MD
Director$313,936$0$12,500$0$8,204$0$91,978$0$39,674$0$466,292$0$0$0
William T Pu MD
Director$270,700$0$12,500$0$6,790$0$90,269$0$39,674$0$419,933$0$0$0
Rahul Rahtod MD
Director (4/17-9/17)$211,522$0$12,500$0$55,290$0$40,825$0$39,674$0$359,811$0$0$0
Joshua Salvin MD
Director (4/17-9/17)$313,292$0$12,500$0$38,080$0$39,037$0$22,972$0$425,881$0$0$0
Edward P Walsh MD
Director$411,443$0$54,510$0$131,564$0$75,694$0$43,482$0$716,693$0$0$0
Diego Porras MD
Director (10/16-3/17)$249,193$0$12,500$0$82,179$0$36,272$0$43,482$0$423,626$0$0$0
Audrey C Marshall MD
Director (10/16-3/17)$386,261$0$12,500$0$3,862$0$104,803$0$43,482$0$550,908$0$0$0
Ravi Thiagarajan MD
Dir (end 3/17)/Dept Chief (eff 4/17)$398,954$0$12,500$0$8,362$0$102,368$0$22,972$0$545,156$0$0$0
Roger E Breitbart MD
Dept. Chief$321,658$0$12,500$0$13,264$0$72,515$0$39,674$0$459,611$0$0$0
Jane Newburger MD
Dept. Chief$460,063$0$12,500$0$20,218$0$26,500$0$39,674$0$558,955$0$0$0
James E Lock MD
Cardiologist$627,766$0$62,500$0$19,718$0$26,500$0$43,482$0$779,966$0$0$0
Peter Lang MD
Cardiologist$0$0$0$0$643,860$0$0$0$0$0$643,860$0$0$0
Kathy J Jenkins MD
Cardiologist$438,999$0$101,900$0$10,642$0$120,552$0$21,632$0$693,725$0$0$0
Steven D Colan MD
Cardiologist$442,749$0$2,500$0$20,218$0$26,500$0$39,674$0$531,641$0$0$0
David R Fulton MD
Cardiologist$437,771$0$12,500$0$5,740$0$38,056$0$39,674$0$533,741$0$0$0

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (3 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Part I, Line 1aBoston Children's Heart Foundation, Inc. (the Foundation) established a Tuition Assistance Plan that superseded the previous Tuition Plan effective January 1, 2007. The plan provides annual contribution payments for eligible participants, based on years of membership service to the Foundation and number of children, to a qualified state tuition program described in Section 529 of the Internal Revenue Code 1986 as amended. The plan provides an income tax gross-up equal to 30% of such contributions to assist participants in defraying the cost of income taxes. The Plan provides for a transition for those participants who received benefits under the previous plan, or those who were Foundation members for more than three years and had at least one child who had attained age 14 as of July 1, 2007. These members will not have the same interest accrual advantage as those with younger children, and can elect to have a lump-sum contribution or can elect to have tuition reimbursement up to the amount of tuition established by Harvard University, plus an income tax gross-up based on years of membership service as an Assistant Professor or higher up to a maximum of 34%. The following participated in the plans for September 30, 2017: Rahul Rathod, MD; Joshua Salvin, MD; Sarah D. de Ferranti, MD; Edward P. Walsh, MD; and Diego Porras, MD. These amounts are included in the recipients' W-2.
Part I, Lines 4a-bPart I, Line 4a: Boston Children's Heart Foundation, Inc. (the Foundation) established a Severance Benefit Plan effective July 1, 1987. The Plan was amended and restated as of May 19, 2004. On June 30, 2005, the Foundation elected to freeze the severance benefit plan. The Foundation established this plan to supplement benefits available to certain employees, and to encourage such employees to remain in employment with the Foundation. Participation, benefit amounts, and other key provisions of this nonqualified benefit plan are determined at the sole discretion of the Foundation's Board of Directors. Although the assets of the plan have been irrevocably set aside for payment of deferred compensation benefits, they are subject first to the claims of the Foundation's creditors in the event the Foundation is subject to bankruptcy proceedings. The assets of the plan are reflected in the accompanying financial statements as assets limited to use. The plan was terminated during the year ended September 30, 2017. Part I, Line 4b: The Foundation established a Supplemental Executive Retirement Plan (SERP), effective June 30, 2005, to reward licensed physician employees with a benefit based on service. All eligible employees will become participants on the date designated by the Foundation's Board of Directors. The SERP's sources of contributions are from employer discretionary amounts (if any), severance benefits, and elective deferrals. The amounts contributed at September 30, 2017 were 15% of salary for those with balances less than 130% of the maximum payout at September 30, 2017. The plan was terminated during the year ended September 30, 2017.
Part I, Line 7Bonus compensation amounts are determined by the Chief of Boston Children's Heart Foundation, Inc. (the Foundation). The amounts are discretionary based on job performance and on the financial performance of the Foundation.

Schedule L IRS990ScheduleL

Loans Btwn Org Interested Prsn LoansBtwnOrgInterestedPrsnGrp (2 entries)

Relationship With OrgRelationshipWithOrgTxtLoan PurposeLoanPurposeTxtLoan From OrganizationLoanFromOrganizationIndOriginal PrincipalOriginalPrincipalAmtBalance DueBalanceDueAmtDefaultDefaultIndBoard Or Committee ApprovalBoardOrCommitteeApprovalIndWritten AgreementWrittenAgreementInd
Andrew Powell MD
DirectorPhysician RetentionYes (X)$197,000$86,9700Yes (1)Yes (1)
Rahul Rathod MD
DirectorPhysician RetentionYes (X)$156,000$109,6950Yes (1)Yes (1)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Balance Due$196,665TotalBalanceDueAmt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSchedule L, Part II, Loans to and from Interested Persons:FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationBoston Children's Heart Foundation, Inc. (the Foundation) has provided several secured and unsecured loans to employees. The loans bear interest at rates up to 4.7%. The loans were made for recruitment and retention purposes, to assist physician employees in the purchase of their primary residence. The amounts for the recruitment loans were determined by restricted donations provided by Boston Children's Hospital for use in recruitment. The loans will be forgiven over the terms of the notes if the recipients remain employed at the Foundation or its affiliates. The amount of the loan forgiveness will be included with accrued interest, if applicable, as compensation in the year forgiven. The balance of the loans outstanding are $2,116,907 at September 30, 2017. Future principal amounts due are as follows: $594,200 in 2018; $464,681 in 2019; $385,268 in 2020; $169,297 in 2021; $97,777 in 2022; and $405,684 thereafter.ExplanationTxt

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (11 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Form 990, Part VI, Section A, line 1A majority of Boston Children's Heart Foundation, Inc.'s (the Foundation's) board members are physicians who are not independent from the Foundation. However, the Foundation is part of an integrated delivery system with Boston Children's Hospital (the Hospital) which does have a community board. The Foundation was organized in 1983. At that time, the board was composed entirely of physicians, a board structure that was approved by the Internal Revenue Service. The Foundation has since adjusted the board structure to make it more responsive to the Hospital by adding the Physicians Organization at Children's Hospital Inc. (the PO) as a member. See Schedule O, Part VI, Questions 3, 6, 7b, and 12 for more details on the PO's rights.
Form 990, Part VI, Section A, line 3The Physicians Organization at Children's Hospital, Inc. (the PO) is the Class "C" member of Boston Children's Heart Foundation, Inc. (the Foundation). The PO is responsible for providing management services to the Foundation. The PO has the power to approve the independent auditor and legal counsel of the Foundation from an approved list of firms mutually agreed to by the PO and the Foundation. The PO also has the right to review, but not to approve, the annual budgets and by-law changes of the Foundation. Lastly, Boston Children's Hospital has the right to review for compliance with applicable law, the general terms of and any modification to physician compensation and benefit plans for all physician employees of the Foundation.
Form 990, Part VI, Section A, line 6Boston Children's Heart Foundation, Inc. (the Foundation) has three classes of members. The Chief of the Department of Cardiology (the Chief) of Boston Children's Hospital (the Hospital) is the Class "A" member. Any member (other than the Chief) who holds a medical staff appointment from the Hospital, a full-time faculty appointment in cardiology from Harvard Medical School, and who is geographically full-time at the Hospital shall be a Class "B" member. The Physicians Organization at Children's Hospital, Inc. is the Class "C" member of the Foundation.
Form 990, Part VI, Section A, line 7aThe Cardiologist-in-Chief of Boston Children's Hospital (the Hospital) is the Class "A" member of Boston Children's Heart Foundation, Inc. (the Foundation). Every member of the Foundation who holds a medical staff appointment from the Hospital, has a full-time faculty appointment under the auspices of the Cardiologist-in-Chief from Harvard University Medical School, and who practices medicine primarily at the Hospital, shall be a Class "B" member. According to the Articles of Organization, the Class "A and "B" members appoint/elect the board members of the Foundation at the annual meeting.
Form 990, Part VI, Section A, line 7bThe Physicians Organization at Children's Hospital, Inc. (the PO) is the Class "C" member of Boston Children's Heart Foundation, Inc. (the Foundation). The PO is responsible for providing management services to the Foundation. The PO has the power to approve the independent auditor and legal counsel of the Foundation from an approved list of firms mutually agreed to by the PO and the Foundation. The PO also has the right to review, but not to approve, the annual budgets and by-law changes of the Foundation. Lastly, Boston Children's Hospital has the right to review for compliance with applicable laws, the general terms of and any modification to physician compensation and benefit plans for all physician employees of the Foundation.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 11bThe detailed review will be conducted by the President of the Foundation, Tal Geva, MD; the administrator, Marissa Densmore; and the financial reporting manager, Joseph Cantlin. A copy of Form 990 will be available to the board. The detailed review will be conducted before filing the return with the Internal Revenue Service.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 12cThe Physicians Organization at Children's Hospital, Inc. (the PO) and Boston Children's Hospital (the Hospital) administer an annual conflict of interest disclosure process to all of its member Foundations, which asks physicians (officers, top management, and highly compensated employees) and selected Foundation staff to disclose potential conflicts. A disclosure statement will be circulated annually to members of the PO. The audit committee shall determine those individuals (including medical staff members) who shall be required to complete the disclosure statement. The audit committee, at its discretion, may either: 1) refer any or all disclosure statements to the Board of Directors; 2) appoint an ad hoc committee to review and resolve any conflict of interest issues; or 3) review and resolve any conflict of interest issues personally or through a designee(s). Any person not receiving a disclosure statement nevertheless has an affirmative obligation to disclose to the PO President, PO General Counsel, or his/her supervisor whenever he/she believes he/she has or may have a conflict of interest. Similarly, each person completing a disclosure statement has an affirmative obligation to update the statement any time circumstances change and/or he/she believes that a conflict of interest may exist. In the event a conflict of interest is found to exist, the Foundation prohibits the member from voting on any matter to which the conflict relates or otherwise influence the voting on such matter.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 15All the physicians (top management, officers, and highly compensated individuals) fall under compensation guidelines determined by Boston Children's Hospital's (the Hospital's) Board of Trustees, with limitations established for certain positions/ranks within the medical school. Annually, compensation is reviewed and reported to the Hospital's Board of Trustees to ensure that total direct and indirect compensation does not exceed the pre-determined guidelines. Any new indirect benefit plan requires approval by the Boston Children's Heart Foundation, Inc.'s (the Foundation's) Board of Directors, which then must be reviewed and permitted by the Hospital. Major procedures of the approval process involve: comparing compensation data of physicians within the comparable field of medicine; indirect compensation currently being offered; and the financial stability of the Foundation.
Form 990, Part VI, Section C, line 19The Foundation maintains all financial records, conflict of interest policies, and governing documents at its main office at 300 Longwood Avenue, Boston, MA 02115. The documents are available upon request.
Form 990, Part XI, line 9:Pension adjustment 3,648,460. SERP adjustment 5,223,826.
Form 990, Part XII, Line 2c:The audit process and scope has not changed from the prior year.

Schedule R IRS990ScheduleR

Id Related Tax Exempt Org IdRelatedTaxExemptOrgGrp (2 entries)

Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityUSAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPUSAddress/ZIPCdEINEINPrimary ActivitiesPrimaryActivitiesTxtLegal Domicile StateLegalDomicileStateCdExempt Code SectionExemptCodeSectionTxtPublic Charity StatusPublicCharityStatusTxtDirect Controlling NADirectControllingNACdControlled OrganizationControlledOrganizationInd
Boston Children's Hospital
300 Longwood AvenueBostonMA02115042774441HospitalMA501(c)(3)Line 3N/A0
Physicians Organization at Children's Hospital Inc
300 Longwood AvenueBostonMA02115043266103Management servicesMA501(c)(3)Line 12c, III-FIN/A0
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Receipt Of Int Annts Rnts Rylts0ReceiptOfIntAnntsRntsRyltsInd
Gift Grnt Or Cap Contri To Oth OrgYes (1)GiftGrntOrCapContriToOthOrgInd
Gift Grnt Cap Contri From Oth Org0GiftGrntCapContriFromOthOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees To Other Org0LoansOrGuaranteesToOtherOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees From Oth Org0LoansOrGuaranteesFromOthOrgInd
Div Related Organization0DivRelatedOrganizationInd
Asset Sale To Other Org0AssetSaleToOtherOrgInd
Asset Purchase From Other Org0AssetPurchaseFromOtherOrgInd
Asset Exchange0AssetExchangeInd
Rental Of Facilities To Oth Org0RentalOfFacilitiesToOthOrgInd
Rental Of Fclts From Oth OrgYes (1)RentalOfFcltsFromOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services For Oth OrgYes (1)PerformOfServicesForOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services By Other OrgYes (1)PerformOfServicesByOtherOrgInd
Sharing Of FacilitiesYes (1)SharingOfFacilitiesInd
Paid Employees SharingYes (1)PaidEmployeesSharingInd
Reimbursement Paid To Other OrgYes (1)ReimbursementPaidToOtherOrgInd
Reimbursement Paid By Other OrgYes (1)ReimbursementPaidByOtherOrgInd
Transfer To Other Org0TransferToOtherOrgInd
Transfer From Other Org0TransferFromOtherOrgInd

Comments

Anonymous: no account or email. Up to 2,000 characters, at most one link. Comments are checked automatically; some wait for review.