INSTITUTE FOR DEFENSE ANALYSES: Form 990, tax year 2016

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
INSTITUTE FOR DEFENSE ANALYSES (EIN 53-0233247)
Tax period
2016-10-01 to 2017-09-30
Filed
2018-08-14
IRS object ID
201802269349300315
Schema version
2016v3.0
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2018-08-14T07:57:02-07:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2017-09-30TaxPeriodEndDt
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2016-10-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN530233247EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1INSTITUTE FOR DEFENSE ANALYSESBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlINSTBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone7038452059PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line14850 Mark Center DriveAddressLine1Txt
CityAlexandriaCityNm
State AbbreviationVAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP22311ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonDean GravesPersonNm
Person TitleTreasurerPersonTitleTxt
Phone7038452079PhoneNum
Signature2018-08-14SignatureDt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2016TaxYr
Build TS2022-09-23 18:48:47ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerC Dean GravesPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line14850 Mark Center DriveAddressLine1Txt
CityAlexandriaCityNm
State AbbreviationVAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP22311ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$264,660,789GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For Affiliates0GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501c3Yes (X)Organization501c3Ind
Website Addresswww.ida.orgWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1956FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateDELegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionApplied Research. IDA provides independent and objective scientific and technological expertise to assist national security decision-makers address urgent and challenging issues.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body15VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent14VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee1496TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers0TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$0TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$0NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$0PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$0CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$230,934,453PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$234,951,024CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$12,369,628PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$25,050,764CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$2,563PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$7,462CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$243,306,644PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$260,009,250CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$0PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$0CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$0PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$170,896,102PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$174,248,492CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$0CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$60,322,746PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$58,508,597CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$231,218,848PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$232,757,089CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$12,087,796PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$27,252,161CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$331,379,808TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$356,345,469TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$144,038,028TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$141,751,528TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$187,341,780NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$214,593,941NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
MissionApplied Research. The Institute for Defense Analyses provides independent and objective scientific and technological expertise to assist national security decision-makers address urgent and challenging issues.MissionDesc
Significant New Program Srvc0SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant Change0SignificantChangeInd
Expense$216,478,252ExpenseAmt
Grant$0GrantAmt
Revenue$234,951,023RevenueAmt
DescIDA conducts Research and Development activities for the Department of Defense and other federal departments and agencies. The IDA Systems and Analyses Center assists the Office of the Secretary of Defense, the Joint Staff, the Combatant Commands and Defense Agencies; the IDA Center for Communications and Computing assists the National Security Agency; the Science and Technology Policy Institute provides analytic support for the National Science Foundation and the Office of Science and Technology Policy in the Executive Office of the President.Desc
Total Other Prog Srvc Expense$0TotalOtherProgSrvcExpenseAmt
Total Other Prog Srvc Grant$0TotalOtherProgSrvcGrantAmt
Total Other Prog Srvc Revenue$0TotalOtherProgSrvcRevenueAmt
Total Program Service Expenses$216,478,252TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt
Described In Section501c3Yes (1)DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B Required0ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign Acty0PoliticalCampaignActyInd
Lobbying Activities0LobbyingActivitiesInd
Subject To Proxy Tax0SubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised Fund0DonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation Easements0ConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of Art0CollectionsOfArtInd
Credit Counseling0CreditCounselingInd
Temp Or Permanent Endowments0TempOrPermanentEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (1)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other Sec0ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related Invst0ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other Assets0ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (1)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 Footnote0IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt0ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School Operating0SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign Office0ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign Activities0ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To Org0MoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To Individuals0MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional Fundraising0ProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising Activities0FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming Activities0GamingActivitiesInd
Operate Hospital0OperateHospitalInd
Grants To Organizations0GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To Individuals0GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (1)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt BondsYes (1)TaxExemptBondsInd
Invest Tax Exempt Bonds0InvestTaxExemptBondsInd
Escrow Account0EscrowAccountInd
On Behalf Of Issuer0OnBehalfOfIssuerInd
Engaged In Excess Benefit Trans0EngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd
PY Excess Benefit Trans0PYExcessBenefitTransInd
Loan Outstanding0LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related Person0GrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org Mem0BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam Mem0BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With Officer Ent0BusinessRlnWithOfficerEntInd
Deductible Non Cash Contri0DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art Contribution0DeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate Operations0TerminateOperationsInd
Partial Liquidation0PartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded Entity0DisregardedEntityInd
Related Entity0RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl Ent0RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd Org0TrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd
Activities Conducted Prtshp0ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (1)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document236IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (1)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee1496EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (1)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over Limit0UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Foreign Financial Account0ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans0ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party Notification0TaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible Contributions0NondeductibleContributionsInd
Indoor Tanning Services0IndoorTanningServicesInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members15GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member14IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business Rln0FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt Duties0DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org Documents0ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or Misuse0MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or Stockholders0MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board Members0ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To Approva0DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (1)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (1)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing Address0OfficerMailingAddressInd
Local Chapters0LocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (1)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (1)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (1)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (1)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (1)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (1)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (1)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (1)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint Venture0InvestmentInJointVentureInd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldCAStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonJacqueline PowellPersonNm
Phone7038452458PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line14850 Mark Center DriveAddressLine1Txt
CityAlexandriaCityNm
State AbbreviationVAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP223111882ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (25 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtAverage Hours Per Week Rltd OrgAverageHoursPerWeekRltdOrgRtOfficerOfficerIndKey EmployeeKeyEmployeeIndHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd
C S Abbot
Trustee, Chair Audit Committee4Yes (X)$8,500$0$18,000
Norton Schwartz
Trustee4Yes (X)$18,250$0$0
Carlton W Fulford
Chairman, Board of Trustees4Yes (X)$55,500$0$0
Edward R Jayne
Trustees4Yes (X)$9,125$0$18,000
Martha A Krebs
Trustee4Yes (X)$21,750$0$0
Jill P Mesirov
Trustee4Yes (X)$17,500$0$0
William H Press
Trustee4Yes (X)$18,500$0$0
Ann Karagozian
Trustee4Yes (X)$23,250$0$0
Tom Ridge
Trustee4Yes (X)$11,000$0$0
Steven E Koonin
Trustee4Yes (X)$9,125$0$0
Preston Geren III
Trustee4Yes (X)$2,500$0$18,000
Deborah McWhinney
Trustee4Yes (X)$17,250$0$0
Edwin Dorn
Trustee4Yes (X)$0$0$11,7500
David Chu
President/Trustee40$572,445$0$53,000Yes (X)
Philip L Major
Vice President40$402,867$0$70,573Yes (X)
Linda Huntt
Vice President, Management40$259,575$0$18,710Yes (X)
C Dean Graves
Treasurer40$233,620$0$59,795Yes (X)
Francis Sullivan
Division Director40$341,714$0$54,919Yes (X)
Robert Soule
Division Director40$310,057$0$61,468Yes (X)
Michael Dominguez
Division Director40$277,391$0$43,725Yes (X)
Joe P Buhler
Division Director40$316,078$0$64,118Yes (X)
David Saltman
Division Director40$303,314$0$72,170Yes (X)
Don Coppersmith
Research Staff40$258,935$0$46,723Yes (X)
Edward Donnelly
Reseach Staff40$257,654$0$0Yes (X)
Margaret Myers
Division Director40$253,406$0$44,075Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$3,999,306TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$655,026TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K17IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees Listed0FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (1)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other Srcs0CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
Sweetwater Construction
32 N Main StreetCranburyNJ08512Electrical Services$847,314
Davis Construction
12530 Parklawn DriveRockvilleMD20852Construction Services$726,986
Wilmer Cutler Pickering
1875 Pennsylvania Avenue NWWashingtonDC20006Office Sublease$725,628
VDG Inc
6009 Brookside DriveChevy ChaseMD20815Technical Services$654,680
Noblis Inc
3150 Fairview Park Drive SouthFalls ChurchVA22042Technical Services$598,945
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K25CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Total Contributions$0TotalContributionsAmt

Total Oth Program Service Rev TotalOthProgramServiceRevGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$234,951,024TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$234,951,024RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$0ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$234,951,024TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$23,748,111TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$0RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$23,748,111ExclusionAmt

Incm From Invest Bond Proceeds IncmFromInvestBondProceedsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$0RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$0ExclusionAmt

Royalties Revenue RoyaltiesRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$0RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$0ExclusionAmt

Rental Income Or Loss RentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$0RealAmt
Personal$0PersonalAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$5,953,817SecuritiesAmt
Other$375OtherAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$4,590,060SecuritiesAmt
Other$61,479OtherAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$1,363,757SecuritiesAmt
Other-$61,104OtherAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$1,302,653TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$1,302,653RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$0ExclusionAmt

Miscellaneous Revenue MiscellaneousRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$7,462TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$7,462RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$0ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total$7,462OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$260,009,250TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$236,261,139RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$23,748,111ExclusionAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,148,700TotalAmt
Program Services$0ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$1,148,700ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$129,909,174TotalAmt
Program Services$124,878,200ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$5,030,974ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$13,207,665TotalAmt
Program Services$12,656,733ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$550,932ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$20,824,104TotalAmt
Program Services$19,485,670ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$1,338,434ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$9,158,849TotalAmt
Program Services$8,676,736ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$482,113ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Fees For Services Management FeesForServicesManagementGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$875TotalAmt
Program Services$0ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$875ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$97,258TotalAmt
Program Services$2,997ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$94,261ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$403,390TotalAmt
Program Services$0ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$403,390ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Fees For Srvc Invst Mgmnt Fees FeesForSrvcInvstMgmntFeesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$79,000TotalAmt
Program Services$0ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$79,000ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$11,586,199TotalAmt
Program Services$10,411,333ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$1,174,866ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$220,936TotalAmt
Program Services$220,936ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$0ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,285,085TotalAmt
Program Services$1,935,721ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$349,364ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$12,507,224TotalAmt
Program Services$11,223,674ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$1,283,550ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$9,315,945TotalAmt
Program Services$8,886,185ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$429,760ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$8,329,329TotalAmt
Program Services$8,154,379ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$174,950ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,311,383TotalAmt
Program Services$1,172,817ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$138,566ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,689,728TotalAmt
Program Services$0ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$2,689,728ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$5,682,809TotalAmt
Program Services$5,541,711ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$141,098ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$573,985TotalAmt
Program Services$0ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$573,985ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (2 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmtProgram ServicesProgramServicesAmtManagement And GeneralManagementAndGeneralAmtFundraisingFundraisingAmt
Consultants/Prof Services$2,836,725$2,784,816$51,909$0
Misc Other$588,726$446,344$142,382$0

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$232,757,089TotalAmt
Program Services$216,478,252ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$16,278,837ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$24,242,387BOYAmt
EOY$22,677,708EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$16,646,575BOYAmt
EOY$24,177,919EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$12,530,526BOYAmt
EOY$12,692,673EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$171,760,194LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$71,076,512LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$102,900,305BOYAmt
EOY$100,683,682EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$175,060,015BOYAmt
EOY$196,113,487EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$331,379,808BOYAmt
EOY$356,345,469EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$11,150,616BOYAmt
EOY$15,334,641EOYAmt

Tax Exempt Bond Liabilities TaxExemptBondLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$88,472,500BOYAmt
EOY$85,200,000EOYAmt

Unsecured Notes Loans Payable UnsecuredNotesLoansPayableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$15,000,000BOYAmt
EOY$15,000,000EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$29,414,912BOYAmt
EOY$26,216,887EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$144,038,028BOYAmt
EOY$141,751,528EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Org Does Not Follow SFAS117Yes (X)OrgDoesNotFollowSFAS117Ind

Cap Stk Tr Prin Current Funds CapStkTrPrinCurrentFundsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Pd In Cap Srpls Land Bldg Eqp Fund PdInCapSrplsLandBldgEqpFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Rtn Earn Endowment Incm Oth Fnds RtnEarnEndowmentIncmOthFndsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$187,341,780BOYAmt
EOY$214,593,941EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$187,341,780BOYAmt
EOY$214,593,941EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$331,379,808BOYAmt
EOY$356,345,469EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$27,252,161ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst$0NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Donated Services And Use Fclts$0DonatedServicesAndUseFcltsAmt
Investment Expense$0InvestmentExpenseAmt
Prior Period Adjustments$0PriorPeriodAdjustmentsAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets$0OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or Review0AccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (1)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Separate Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (1)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit RequiredYes (1)FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd
Federal Grant Audit PerformedYes (1)FederalGrantAuditPerformedInd

Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Public Organization170Yes (X)PublicOrganization170Ind

Gifts Grants Contri Rcvd170 GiftsGrantsContriRcvd170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$219,412,011CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$218,716,453CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$223,990,601CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$230,934,453CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$234,951,023CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$1,128,004,541TotalAmt

Total Calendar Year170 TotalCalendarYear170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$219,412,011CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$218,716,453CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$223,990,601CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$230,934,453CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$234,951,023CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$1,128,004,541TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Public Support Total170$1,128,004,541PublicSupportTotal170Amt

Gross Investment Income170 GrossInvestmentIncome170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$4,252,123CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$4,667,289CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$4,584,350CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$4,138,771CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$4,043,622CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$21,686,155TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Support$1,149,690,696TotalSupportAmt
Public Support CY1700.98114PublicSupportCY170Pct
Public Support PY1700.98104PublicSupportPY170Pct
Thirty Thr Pct Suprt Tests PY170Yes (X)ThirtyThrPctSuprtTestsPY170Ind

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Investment Cost Or Other Basis$0InvestmentCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Other Cost Or Other Basis$37,028,954OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$37,028,954BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Investment Cost Or Other Basis$0InvestmentCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Other Cost Or Other Basis$104,920,454OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$48,151,092DepreciationAmt
Book Value$56,769,362BookValueAmt

Leasehold Improvements LeaseholdImprovementsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Investment Cost Or Other Basis$0InvestmentCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Other Cost Or Other Basis$0OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$0DepreciationAmt
Book Value$0BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Investment Cost Or Other Basis$0InvestmentCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Other Cost Or Other Basis$29,810,786OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$22,925,420DepreciationAmt
Book Value$6,885,366BookValueAmt

Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Investment Cost Or Other Basis$0InvestmentCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Other Cost Or Other Basis$0OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$0DepreciationAmt
Book Value$0BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$100,683,682TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (5 entries)

DescDescAmtAmt
Accrued Paid Time Off$10,338,714
Accrued Pension and Postretirement Costs$5,082,191
Accrued Postretirement Medical Benefit Costs$3,277,337
Interest Rate Swap Agreement$8,471,791
Unamortized debt issuance costs-$953,146
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$26,216,887TotalLiabilityAmt
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$260,009,250TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Net Unrealized Gains Invst$0NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt
Donated Services And Use Fclts$0DonatedServicesAndUseFcltsAmt
Recoveries Prior Year Grants$0RecoveriesPriorYearGrantsAmt
Other Revenue$0OtherRevenueAmt
Revenue Not Reported$0RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$260,009,250RevenueSubtotalAmt
Investment Expenses Not Incld$0InvestmentExpensesNotIncldAmt
Other Revenues Not Included$0OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$0RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$260,009,250TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$232,757,089TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Donated Services Use Fclts$0DonatedServicesUseFcltsAmt
Prior Year Adjustments$0PriorYearAdjustmentsAmt
Losses Reported$0LossesReportedAmt
Other Expenses Included$0OtherExpensesIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Reported$0ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$232,757,089ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Investment Expenses Not Incld2$0InvestmentExpensesNotIncld2Amt
Other Expenses Not Included$0OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$0ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$232,757,089TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Severance Payment0SeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr Plan0SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp Arrngm0EquityBasedCompArrngmInd
Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng Org0CompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd On Rev Related Orgs0CompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng Org0CompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd Orgs0CompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd
Any Non Fixed Payments0AnyNonFixedPaymentsInd
Initial Contract Exception0InitialContractExceptionInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (12 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmt
David Chu
President/Trustee$482,445$0$90,000$0$0$0$53,000$0$0$0$625,445$0$0
Philip L Major
Vice President$360,867$0$42,000$0$0$0$53,000$0$17,573$0$473,440$0$0$0
Francis Sullivan
Division Director$321,714$0$20,000$0$0$0$46,375$0$8,544$0$396,633$0$0$0
Joe P Buhler
Division Director$298,078$0$18,000$0$0$0$46,375$0$17,743$0$380,196$0$0$0
Robert Soule
Division Director$282,557$0$27,500$0$0$0$43,725$0$17,743$0$371,525$0$0$0
David Saltman
Division Director$293,314$0$10,000$0$0$0$46,375$0$25,795$0$375,484$0$0$0
Michael Dominguez
Division Director$262,391$0$15,000$0$0$0$43,725$0$0$0$321,116$0$0$0
Linda Huntt
Vice President, Management$259,575$0$0$0$0$0$18,174$0$536$0$278,285$0$0$0
C Dean Graves
Treasurer$218,620$0$15,000$0$0$0$39,341$0$20,454$0$293,415$0$0$0
Margaret Myers
Division Director$248,406$0$5,000$0$0$0$43,539$0$536$0$297,481$0$0$0
Don Coppersmith
Research Staff$258,935$0$0$0$0$0$29,150$0$17,573$0$305,658$0$0$0
Edward Donnelly
Reseach Staff$257,654$0$0$0$0$0$0$0$0$0$257,654$0$0$0

Schedule K IRS990ScheduleK

Tax Exempt Bonds Issues TaxExemptBondsIssuesGrp (4 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdBond Issuer EINBondIssuerEINBond IssuedBondIssuedDtIssue PriceIssuePriceAmtPurposePurposeDescDefeasedDefeasedIndOn Behalf Of IssuerOnBehalfOfIssuerIndPool FinancingPoolFinancingInd
Industrial Development Authority of the City of Alexandria
A5213814322015-10-07$69,935,000Refund prior issues 06/29/2000, 7/28/2005, 03/01/2006000
ABAG Finance Authority for Nonprofit Corporations
B9431301232015-12-02$11,945,000Refund a prior issue 09/13/2005000
California Statewide Communities Dev Authority
C6801646102016-01-06$2,920,000Refund a prior issue 06/01/2000000
New Jersey Educational Facilities Authority
D2218295112015-11-04$9,400,500Refund a prior issue 11/04/2015000

Tax Exempt Bonds Proceeds TaxExemptBondsProceedsGrp (4 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdRetiredRetiredAmtBond DefeasedBondDefeasedAmtTotal ProceedsTotalProceedsAmtIn Reserve FundInReserveFundAmtCapitalized InterestCapitalizedInterestAmtRefunding EscrowRefundingEscrowAmtIssuance Costs From ProceedsIssuanceCostsFromProceedsAmtCredit EnhancementCreditEnhancementAmtWorking Capital ExpendituresWorkingCapitalExpendituresAmtCapital ExpendituresCapitalExpendituresAmtOther Spent ProceedsOtherSpentProceedsAmtUnspentUnspentAmtSubstantial CompletionSubstantialCompletionYrCurrent RefundingCurrentRefundingIndAdvance RefundingAdvanceRefundingIndFinal Allocation MadeFinalAllocationMadeIndAdequate Books And Rec MaintAdequateBooksAndRecMaintInd
A$0$0$69,935,000$0$0$0$0$0$0$0$69,935$02015Yes (1)0Yes (1)Yes (1)
B$0$0$11,945,000$0$0$0$0$0$0$0$11,945,000$02015Yes (1)0Yes (1)Yes (1)
C$0$0$2,920,000$0$0$0$0$0$0$0$2,920,000$02016Yes (1)0Yes (1)Yes (1)
D$0$0$9,400,500$0$0$0$0$0$0$0$9,400,500$02015Yes (1)0Yes (1)Yes (1)

Tax Exempt Bonds Private Bus Use TaxExemptBondsPrivateBusUseGrp (4 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdOwning Bond Financed PropertyOwningBondFinancedPropertyIndAny Lease ArrangementsAnyLeaseArrangementsIndMgmt Contract Bond Fincd PropMgmtContractBondFincdPropIndAny Research AgreementsAnyResearchAgreementsIndPrivate Bus Use By OthersPrivateBusUseByOthersPctPrivate Bus Concerning UBIPrivateBusConcerningUBIPctTotal Private Business UseTotalPrivateBusinessUsePctBond Iss Meet Prvt Sec Pymt TestBondIssMeetPrvtSecPymtTestIndChange In Use Bond Financed PropChangeInUseBondFinancedPropIndProcs Nonqualified Bond RemdtdProcsNonqualifiedBondRemdtdInd
A00000.024800.0248Yes (1)0Yes (1)
B0000000Yes (1)0Yes (1)
C00000Yes (1)0Yes (1)
D00000Yes (1)0Yes (1)

Tax Exempt Bonds Arbitrage TaxExemptBondsArbitrageGrp (4 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdForm8038 T FiledForm8038TFiledIndRebate Not Due YetRebateNotDueYetIndException To RebateExceptionToRebateIndNo Rebate DueNoRebateDueIndVariable Rate IssueVariableRateIssueIndHedge Identified In Bks And RecHedgeIdentifiedInBksAndRecIndTerm Of HedgeTermOfHedgePctSuperintegrated HedgeSuperintegratedHedgeIndHedge TerminatedHedgeTerminatedIndGross Proceeds Invested In GICGrossProceedsInvestedInGICIndGross Proceeds InvestedGrossProceedsInvestedIndWritten Proc To Monitor ReqsWrittenProcToMonitorReqsInd
Goldman Sachs Morgan Stanley
A000Yes (1)Yes (1)Yes (1)300000Yes (1)
Goldman Sachs
B000Yes (1)Yes (1)Yes (1)300000Yes (1)
(no name)
C000Yes (1)Yes (1)000Yes (1)
(no name)
D000Yes (1)Yes (1)000Yes (1)

Procedures Corrective Action ProceduresCorrectiveActionGrp (4 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdProcedures Corrective ActionProceduresCorrectiveActionInd
AYes (1)
BYes (1)
CYes (1)
DYes (1)

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (4 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Schedule K, Part IV, Line 2c-10/07/2015 69,935,000 Industrial Development Authority of the City of ARebate computation 01/20/2017. No further reviews should be required for this 2015 reissuance since all proceeds have been deemed expended
Schedule K, Part IV, Line 2c-12/02/2015 11,945,000 ABAG Finance Authority for Nonprofit CorporationsRebate computation 01/20/2017. No further reviews should be required for this 2015 reissuance since all proceeds have been deemed expended
Schedule K, Part IV, Line 2c-01/06/2016 2,920,000 California Statewide Communities Dev AuthorityRebate computation 01/20/2017. No further reviews should be required for this 2015 reissuance since all proceeds have been deemed expended
Schedule K, Part IV, Line 2c-11/04/2015 9,400,500 New Jersey Educational Facilities AuthorityRebate computation 01/20/2017. No further reviews should be required for this 2015 reissuance since all proceeds have been deemed expended.

Schedule K IRS990ScheduleK

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (4 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, Line 11bThe 990 is reviewed by the Treasurer, the Vice President Management then a draft copy is sent to the Board of Trustees prior to submission
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, Line 12cIDA has a corporate wide conflict of interest policy. All officers, directors and trustees are required to provide annual conflict of interest disclosure information that is reviewed for potential conflict of interest. All staff are prescreened for potential conflicts before being assigned to individual research efforts. Annual training is required of all employees.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, Line 15The process for determining compensation for the CEO and other top management officials included an evaluation using third party compiled survey data covering comparable positions. The process was conducted by internal compensation staff members for the positions of President, Vice Presidents, Center Director. Yes, an independent third party who specializes in compensation analysis was retained to conduct a review using comparable data of similar organizations. It conducted a confidential survey of Board Director total direct compensation for 16 comparable organizations. The analysis compared compensation on a relative basis with statistics reported for the 25th, 50th and 75th percentiles and the overall average. The compensation data were not aged. The firm analyzed the information and prepared a summary report of the results which was reviewed by Management and the Governing body.
Form 990, Part VI, Section C, Line 19Governing documents, conflict of interest policies and financial statements are available upon request.

Reasonable Cause Explanation ReasonableCauseExplanation

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
ExplanationThe Institute for Defense Analyses did not submit a form 8868 requesting an extension to file the 990 tax return because there was a misunderstanding of the IRS guidelines on an automatic six month extension. It was incorrectly assumed that because the institute files its 990 tax return electronically that the six month extension was automatic, not realizing that the form 8868 still needed to be submitted. An extension is necessary for the Institute because the financial data is not available by the original due date to complete the return. We apologize for this oversight.ExplanationTxt

Comments

Anonymous: no account or email. Up to 2,000 characters, at most one link. Comments are checked automatically; some wait for review.