UNIVERSITY OF JAMESTOWN: Form 990, tax year 2017

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
UNIVERSITY OF JAMESTOWN (EIN 45-0231180)
Tax period
2017-07-01 to 2018-06-30
Filed
2018-11-09
IRS object ID
201843139349301719
Schema version
2017v2.3
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2018-11-09T11:24:31-06:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2018-06-30TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN450250958PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1EIDE BAILLY LLPBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line11730 BURNT BOAT LOOP STE100AddressLine1Txt
CityBISMARCKCityNm
State AbbreviationNDStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP585030886ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2017-07-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN450231180EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1University of JamestownBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlUNIVBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone7012523467PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line16088 College LaneAddressLine1Txt
CityJamestownCityNm
State AbbreviationNDStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP58405ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonGreg RossPersonNm
Person TitleV.P. for Finance & Business AffairsPersonTitleTxt
Phone7012523467PhoneNum
Signature2018-10-24SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (1)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonLisa Chaffee CPAPreparerPersonNm
PTINP00193453PTIN
Phone7012551091PhoneNum
Preparation2018-10-24PreparationDt

Filing Security Information FilingSecurityInformation

IP Address IPAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
I Pv4 Address8.39.233.202IPv4AddressTxt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
IP2018-10-24IPDt
IP Tm10:10:26IPTm
IP TimezoneCDIPTimezoneCd
Filing License TypePFilingLicenseTypeCd
At Submission Creation Device Id38C0D8FF55FA272924E83028D6B9FABEF20E0653AtSubmissionCreationDeviceId
At Submission Filing Device Id6C5C7615629003FE5131C2A9D9561EECA5C1EDDCAtSubmissionFilingDeviceId
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2017TaxYr
Build TS2019-02-21 02:37:17ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

Doing Business As Name DoingBusinessAsName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Jamestown CollegeBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerGreg RossPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line16088 College LaneAddressLine1Txt
CityJamestownCityNm
State AbbreviationNDStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP58405ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$33,519,053GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For Affiliates0GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501c3Yes (X)Organization501c3Ind
Website Addresswww.uj.eduWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1883FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateNDLegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionEducationActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body31VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent27VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee830TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers60TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$8,212TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$4,703NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$8,569,215PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$4,026,284CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$27,115,872PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$26,841,863CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$2,308,210PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$2,134,320CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$13,267PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$134,304CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$38,006,564PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$33,136,771CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$10,423,371PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$10,498,295CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$0PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$13,008,428PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$13,029,452CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$1,427,307CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$10,235,654PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$10,994,452CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$33,667,453PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$34,522,199CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$4,339,111PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses-$1,385,428CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$103,387,155TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$102,688,813TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$24,666,046TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$24,639,170TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$78,721,109NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$78,049,643NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
Info In Schedule O Part IIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartIIIInd
MissionUniversity of Jamestown is a community dedicated to the development of wholeness in our students. We adhere to a curriculum of academic excellence which balances the ideals of the liberal arts tradition and sound professional preparation. Our Christian tradition encourages an atmosphere of self-discipline, responsibility and concern for continuing growth of the individual.MissionDesc
Significant New Program Srvc0SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant Change0SignificantChangeInd
Expense$7,683,371ExpenseAmt
Revenue$21,827,525RevenueAmt
DescUniversity of Jamestown is a residential, independent, four-year, coeducational, Liberal Arts College related to the Presbyterian Church (U.S.A.). The college was chartered in 1884. The first classes began in September 1886. Throughout its more than 100-year history, Jamestown College has consistently stood for academic excellence and Christian principles in all that it does. The College offers Bachelor of Arts and Bachelor of Science degrees in 43 major areas of study, as well as 34 minors and 12 pre-professional and certification programs. The University expanded its offerings and began a doctoral program in 2013 and masters programs in 2015. University of Jamestown has been a continuous accredited member of the North Central Association since 1920.Post-Secondary Education: Instruction - Academic programs with approximately 1100 FTE students enrolled. Bachelor of Arts, Bachelor of Science, masters and doctoral degrees are awarded by the Institution.Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty2 ProgSrvcAccomActy2Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Expense$10,498,295ExpenseAmt
Grant$10,498,295GrantAmt
DescPost-Secondary Education: Student Aid - Institutional scholarships and work programs offered to students. Aid is awarded both based upon need and scholastic achievement.Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty3 ProgSrvcAccomActy3Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Expense$6,194,060ExpenseAmt
Revenue$77,953RevenueAmt
DescPost-Secondary Education: General Administrative Support - Physical plant, general institution and administrative support.Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty Other ProgSrvcAccomActyOtherGrp (4 entries)

ExpenseExpenseAmtRevenueRevenueAmtDescDesc
$2,528,061$4,936,385Post-Secondary Education: Auxiliary Enterprises - Student housing, food services, and bookstore.
$2,598,135Post-Secondary Education: Student Services - Counseling, financial aid, registrar, recruiting and academic assistance.
$1,207,744Post-Secondary Education: Other Sponsored Programs - Athletics, choir, band.
$373,567Post-Secondary Education: Library - Provide educational support via books, publications, periodicals, multimedia, and through other means to academic departments and students.
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Other Prog Srvc Expense$6,707,507TotalOtherProgSrvcExpenseAmt
Total Other Prog Srvc Revenue$4,936,385TotalOtherProgSrvcRevenueAmt
Total Program Service Expenses$31,083,233TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt
Described In Section501c3Yes (1)DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B RequiredYes (1)ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign Acty0PoliticalCampaignActyInd
Lobbying ActivitiesYes (1)LobbyingActivitiesInd
Subject To Proxy Tax0SubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised Fund0DonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation Easements0ConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of Art0CollectionsOfArtInd
Credit CounselingYes (1)CreditCounselingInd
Temp Or Permanent EndowmentsYes (1)TempOrPermanentEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (1)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other SecYes (1)ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related Invst0ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other Assets0ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (1)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (1)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt0ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School OperatingYes (1)SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign Office0ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign ActivitiesYes (1)ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To Org0MoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To Individuals0MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional Fundraising0ProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising ActivitiesYes (1)FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming Activities0GamingActivitiesInd
Operate Hospital0OperateHospitalInd
Grants To Organizations0GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To IndividualsYes (1)GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (1)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt BondsYes (1)TaxExemptBondsInd
Invest Tax Exempt Bonds0InvestTaxExemptBondsInd
Escrow Account0EscrowAccountInd
On Behalf Of Issuer0OnBehalfOfIssuerInd
Engaged In Excess Benefit Trans0EngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd
PY Excess Benefit Trans0PYExcessBenefitTransInd
Loan Outstanding0LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related PersonYes (1)GrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org Mem0BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam Mem0BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With Officer Ent0BusinessRlnWithOfficerEntInd
Deductible Non Cash ContriYes (1)DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art Contribution0DeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate Operations0TerminateOperationsInd
Partial Liquidation0PartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded Entity0DisregardedEntityInd
Related EntityYes (1)RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl EntYes (1)RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Transaction With Control Ent0TransactionWithControlEntInd
Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd Org0TrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd
Activities Conducted Prtshp0ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (1)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document1468IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (1)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee830EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (1)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over LimitYes (1)UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Form990 T FiledYes (1)Form990TFiledInd
Foreign Financial Account0ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans0ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party Notification0TaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible Contributions0NondeductibleContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo ContributionsYes (1)QuidProQuoContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo Contri DisclYes (1)QuidProQuoContriDisclInd
Form8282 Property Disposed Of0Form8282PropertyDisposedOfInd
Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0RcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0PayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Indoor Tanning Services0IndoorTanningServicesInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members31GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member27IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business RlnYes (1)FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt Duties0DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org Documents0ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or Misuse0MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or Stockholders0MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board Members0ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To Approva0DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (1)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (1)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing Address0OfficerMailingAddressInd
Local Chapters0LocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (1)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (1)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (1)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (1)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (1)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (1)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (1)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (1)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint Venture0InvestmentInJointVentureInd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Tonya McIlonie SlettoBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Phone7012523467PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line16088 College LaneAddressLine1Txt
CityJamestownCityNm
State AbbreviationNDStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP58405ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (39 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd
James Unruh
Chairman3.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
Ed Nafus
1st Vice Chair (July-May)2.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
Peggy Foss
2nd Vice Chair2.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
Kelly Krein
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
James Harty Jr
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Alan Berg
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Ruth Denault
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Kari Ness
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Steven Bietz
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Bart Holaday
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Jim Johnson
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Larry Langemo
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Tessa Gould
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Reuben Liechty
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
C Alan Lindberg
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
David Muhs
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Robert Piatz
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Elmer Schindel
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Jasper Schneider
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
H George Schuler
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Jill Sisk
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Todd Steinwand
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Paul Sukut
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
William Bernhagen
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Virgil Miedema
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Richard Hall
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Jo-Ida Hansen
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Charles Willougby
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Clark Wold
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Jeff Young
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Mark Wolf
Ex Officio Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Robert Badal
President through February40.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$243,117$0$20,438
Polly Peterson - Executive VP
(July-Feb)/President (March-June)40.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$145,549$0$14,354
Greg Ross - VP for Finance
& Business Affairs starting January40.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Tom Heck
VP-Planning and Administration40.00$119,472$0$11,431Yes (X)
Paul Olson
VP-Academic Affairs40.00$118,410$0$11,375Yes (X)
Michael Heitkamp
VP-Enrollment Management40.00$106,837$0$5,457Yes (X)
Dr Fatholah Kassemi
Professor-Dept of Mathematics40.00$117,100$0$11,312Yes (X)
Dr Sara Voorhees
Professor-Dept of Physical Therapy40.00$100,797$0$10,497Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$951,282TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$84,864TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K8IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees Listed0FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (1)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other Srcs0CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (4 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
JE Dunn Construction Co
1001 Locust StKansas CityMO64106General contracting$8,750,216
Sodexo
6014 College LaneJamestownND58405Food service provider$2,086,687
Hillerud Construction Inc
311 1st Ave SJamestownND58401General contracting$235,070
Jenzabar
PO Box 55018BostonMA022055108Software maintenance$111,894
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K4CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Fundraising$92,185FundraisingAmt
All Other Contributions$3,934,099AllOtherContributionsAmt
Noncash Contributions$311,547NoncashContributionsAmt
Total Contributions$4,026,284TotalContributionsAmt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (4 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Tuition & Fees611600$21,827,525$21,827,525
Auxillary Income611710$4,936,385$4,936,385
Federal Aid Reimb611600$27,665$27,665
Student Loan Interest611600$4,309$4,309

Total Oth Program Service Rev TotalOthProgramServiceRevGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$45,979TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$37,767RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$8,212UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$26,841,863TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$862,143TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$862,143ExclusionAmt

Royalties Revenue RoyaltiesRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$151,705TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$151,705ExclusionAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$1,562,584SecuritiesAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$290,407SecuritiesAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$1,272,177SecuritiesAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$1,272,177TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$1,272,177ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Fundraising Gross Income$74,474FundraisingGrossIncomeAmt
Contri Rpt Fundraising Event$92,185ContriRptFundraisingEventAmt
Fundraising Direct Expenses$91,875FundraisingDirectExpensesAmt

Net Incm From Fundraising Evt NetIncmFromFundraisingEvtGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column-$17,401TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion-$17,401ExclusionAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$33,136,771TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$26,833,651RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$8,212UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$2,268,624ExclusionAmt

Grants To Domestic Individuals GrantsToDomesticIndividualsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$10,498,295TotalAmt
Program Services$10,498,295ProgramServicesAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$467,361TotalAmt
Program Services$90,763ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$217,692ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$158,906FundraisingAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$10,166,182TotalAmt
Program Services$9,369,696ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$231,304ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$565,182FundraisingAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$379,313TotalAmt
Program Services$359,187ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$10,063ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$10,063FundraisingAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,350,520TotalAmt
Program Services$1,305,437ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$20,887ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$24,196FundraisingAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$666,076TotalAmt
Program Services$632,004ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$17,036ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$17,036FundraisingAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$239,197TotalAmt
Management And General$239,197ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$49,450TotalAmt
Management And General$49,450ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Srvc Invst Mgmnt Fees FeesForSrvcInvstMgmntFeesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$193,068TotalAmt
Management And General$193,068ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$7,290TotalAmt
Program Services$7,290ProgramServicesAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$213,090TotalAmt
Program Services$203,087ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$4,067ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$5,936FundraisingAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,248,361TotalAmt
Program Services$886,043ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$42,505ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$319,813FundraisingAmt

Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$71,782TotalAmt
Program Services$71,782ProgramServicesAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,543,109TotalAmt
Program Services$1,437,290ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$63,021ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$42,798FundraisingAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$465,965TotalAmt
Program Services$396,096ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$17,378ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$52,491FundraisingAmt

Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$43,411TotalAmt
Management And General$43,411ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$668,200TotalAmt
Program Services$48,154ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$620,046ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,382,147TotalAmt
Program Services$2,143,933ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$119,107ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$119,107FundraisingAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmtProgram ServicesProgramServicesAmtManagement And GeneralManagementAndGeneralAmtFundraisingFundraisingAmt
Contract Food Services$1,512,655$1,512,655
Repair & Maintenance$942,366$841,674$79,659$21,033
Athletics/Music Program$743,832$743,832
Auxiliary Cost of Goods$193,508$193,508

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$477,021TotalAmt
Program Services$342,507ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$43,768ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$90,746FundraisingAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$34,522,199TotalAmt
Program Services$31,083,233ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$2,011,659ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$1,427,307FundraisingAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$27,149BOYAmt
EOY$22,903EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,076,310BOYAmt
EOY$1,906,208EOYAmt

Pledges And Grants Receivable PledgesAndGrantsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,146,454BOYAmt
EOY$1,039,843EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$239,482BOYAmt
EOY$269,940EOYAmt

Inventories For Sale Or Use InventoriesForSaleOrUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$267,116BOYAmt
EOY$278,532EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$35,237BOYAmt
EOY$45,329EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$95,325,964LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$37,903,912LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$55,916,071BOYAmt
EOY$57,422,052EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$500BOYAmt
EOY$500EOYAmt

Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$39,261,605BOYAmt
EOY$40,440,708EOYAmt

Investments Program Related InvestmentsProgramRelatedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,148,143BOYAmt
EOY$992,671EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$269,088BOYAmt
EOY$270,127EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$103,387,155BOYAmt
EOY$102,688,813EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,983,366BOYAmt
EOY$1,993,900EOYAmt

Grants Payable GrantsPayableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,062,042BOYAmt
EOY$853,179EOYAmt

Deferred Revenue DeferredRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$947,000BOYAmt
EOY$877,667EOYAmt

Tax Exempt Bond Liabilities TaxExemptBondLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$15,760,906BOYAmt
EOY$15,773,388EOYAmt

Escrow Account Liability EscrowAccountLiabilityGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$223,291BOYAmt
EOY$204,880EOYAmt

Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,684,822BOYAmt
EOY$4,002,395EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,004,619BOYAmt
EOY$933,761EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$24,666,046BOYAmt
EOY$24,639,170EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Organization Follows SFAS117Yes (X)OrganizationFollowsSFAS117Ind

Unrestricted Net Assets UnrestrictedNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$15,805,749BOYAmt
EOY$13,815,222EOYAmt

Temporarily Rstr Net Assets TemporarilyRstrNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$32,405,934BOYAmt
EOY$32,303,677EOYAmt

Permanently Rstr Net Assets PermanentlyRstrNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$30,509,426BOYAmt
EOY$31,930,744EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$78,721,109BOYAmt
EOY$78,049,643EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$103,387,155BOYAmt
EOY$102,688,813EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part XIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss-$1,385,428ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst$711,033NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets$2,929OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or Review0AccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (1)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Separate Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (1)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit RequiredYes (1)FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd
Federal Grant Audit PerformedYes (1)FederalGrantAuditPerformedInd

Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
SchoolYes (X)SchoolInd

Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB

Schedule C IRS990ScheduleC

Total Grassroots Lobbying TotalGrassrootsLobbyingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Filing Organizations Total$0FilingOrganizationsTotalAmt

Total Direct Lobbying TotalDirectLobbyingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Filing Organizations Total$0FilingOrganizationsTotalAmt

Total Lobbying Expend TotalLobbyingExpendGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Filing Organizations Total$0FilingOrganizationsTotalAmt

Other Exempt Purpose Expend OtherExemptPurposeExpendGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Filing Organizations Total$31,083,233FilingOrganizationsTotalAmt

Total Exempt Purpose Expend TotalExemptPurposeExpendGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Filing Organizations Total$31,083,233FilingOrganizationsTotalAmt

Lobbying Nontaxable Amount LobbyingNontaxableAmountGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Filing Organizations Total$1,000,000FilingOrganizationsTotalAmt

Grassroots Nontaxable GrassrootsNontaxableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Filing Organizations Total$250,000FilingOrganizationsTotalAmt

Tot Lbbyng Grassroot Mns Non Tx TotLbbyngGrassrootMnsNonTxGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Filing Organizations Total$0FilingOrganizationsTotalAmt

Tot Lbby Expend Mns Lbbyng Non Tx TotLbbyExpendMnsLbbyngNonTxGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Filing Organizations Total$0FilingOrganizationsTotalAmt

Avg Lobbying Nontaxable Amount AvgLobbyingNontaxableAmountGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Year Minus3$1,000,000CurrentYearMinus3Amt
Current Year Minus2$1,000,000CurrentYearMinus2Amt
Current Year Minus1$1,000,000CurrentYearMinus1Amt
Current Year$1,000,000CurrentYearAmt
Total$4,000,000TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Lobbying Ceiling$6,000,000LobbyingCeilingAmt

Avg Total Lobbying Expend AvgTotalLobbyingExpendGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Year Minus3$7,870CurrentYearMinus3Amt
Current Year Minus1$6,810CurrentYearMinus1Amt
Total$14,680TotalAmt

Avg Grassroots Nontaxable AvgGrassrootsNontaxableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Year Minus3$250,000CurrentYearMinus3Amt
Current Year Minus2$250,000CurrentYearMinus2Amt
Current Year Minus1$250,000CurrentYearMinus1Amt
Current Year$250,000CurrentYearAmt
Total$1,000,000TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grassroots Ceiling$1,500,000GrassrootsCeilingAmt

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Agent Trustee Etc0AgentTrusteeEtcInd
Incl Escrow Custodial Acct LiabYes (1)InclEscrowCustodialAcctLiabInd
Explanation ProvidedYes (X)ExplanationProvidedInd

CY Endwmt Fund CYEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$37,102,825BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$1,439,983ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$2,854,325InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$2,213,888GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
Other Expenditures$303,638OtherExpendituresAmt
Administrative Expenses$193,068AdministrativeExpensesAmt
End Year Balance$38,686,539EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus1 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus1YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$34,534,182BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$1,195,363ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$3,704,489InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$1,823,936GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
Other Expenditures$282,804OtherExpendituresAmt
Administrative Expenses$224,469AdministrativeExpensesAmt
End Year Balance$37,102,825EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus2 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus2YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$34,954,434BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$1,602,863ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$297,782InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$1,820,400GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
Other Expenditures$267,137OtherExpendituresAmt
Administrative Expenses$233,360AdministrativeExpensesAmt
End Year Balance$34,534,182EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus3 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus3YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$35,940,393BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$581,080ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$921,304InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$1,813,161GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
Other Expenditures$428,881OtherExpendituresAmt
Administrative Expenses$246,301AdministrativeExpensesAmt
End Year Balance$34,954,434EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus4 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus4YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$31,341,002BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$1,630,809ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$5,216,566InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$1,617,275GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
Other Expenditures$384,231OtherExpendituresAmt
Administrative Expenses$246,478AdministrativeExpensesAmt
End Year Balance$35,940,393EndYearBalanceAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Board Designated Balance EOY0.14400BoardDesignatedBalanceEOYPct
Prmnnt Endowment Balance EOY0.81440PrmnntEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Term Endowment Balance EOY0.04160TermEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Endowments Held Unrelated OrgYes (1)EndowmentsHeldUnrelatedOrgInd
Endowments Held Related Org0EndowmentsHeldRelatedOrgInd

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Investment Cost Or Other Basis$1,705,416InvestmentCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Other Cost Or Other Basis$2,165,463OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$3,870,879BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$77,919,878OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$26,755,749DepreciationAmt
Book Value$51,164,129BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$7,115,175OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$6,342,252DepreciationAmt
Book Value$772,923BookValueAmt

Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$6,420,032OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$4,805,911DepreciationAmt
Book Value$1,614,121BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$57,422,052TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Other Securities OtherSecuritiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescHeld in TrustDesc
Book Value$40,440,708BookValueAmt
Method ValuationFMethodValuationCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Securities$40,440,708TotalBookValueSecuritiesAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescAnnuities PayableDesc
Amt$933,761Amt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$933,761TotalLiabilityAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$33,599,232TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Net Unrealized Gains Invst$711,033NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt
Other Revenue-$265,973OtherRevenueAmt
Revenue Not Reported$445,060RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$33,154,172RevenueSubtotalAmt
Other Revenues Not Included-$17,401OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt-$17,401RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$33,136,771TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$34,346,532TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Other Expenses Included$17,401OtherExpensesIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Reported$17,401ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$34,329,131ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Other Expenses Not Included$193,068OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$193,068ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$34,522,199TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (7 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Part IV, Line 2b:University of Jamestown chartered clubs, student academic associations, and approved faculty and staff associations have established agency accounts.
Part V, Line 4:Endowment Funds are to be invested according to the Board approved Investment Policy Statement. Distributions from the fund are also made according the Investment Policy Statement and used for the purposes set by the donors, including items such as scholarships, facility maintenance and programs.
Part X, Line 2:The University is a nonprofit organization that is exempt from federal income tax under Interal Revenue Code Section 501(c)(3). The University has adopted provisions of FASB Accounting Standards Codification Topic ASC 740-10. As of June 30, 2018, the unrecognized tax benefit accrual was zero. The University will recognize future accrued interest and penalties related to unrecognized tax benefits in income tax expense if incurred.
Part XI, Line 2d - Other Adjustments:Unrecognized Actuarial Losses -150,334. Increase in Cash Surrender Value -1,744. Trustee Fees -193,068. Change in Value of Split Interest Agreements 79,173.
Part XI, Line 4b - Other Adjustments:Special Events -17,401.
Part XII, Line 2d - Other Adjustments:Special Events 17,401.
Part XII, Line 4b - Other Adjustments:Trustee Fees 193,068.

Schedule E IRS990ScheduleE

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Nondiscriminatory Policy StmtYes (1)NondiscriminatoryPolicyStmtInd
Policy Stmt In Brochures EtcYes (1)PolicyStmtInBrochuresEtcInd
Plcy Pblczd Via Broadcast MediaYes (1)PlcyPblczdViaBroadcastMediaInd
Maintain Racial Comp RecsYes (1)MaintainRacialCompRecsInd
Maintain Scholarships RecsYes (1)MaintainScholarshipsRecsInd
Maintain Cpy Of Brochures EtcYes (1)MaintainCpyOfBrochuresEtcInd
Maintain Cpy Of All SolYes (1)MaintainCpyOfAllSolInd
Discriminate Race Stdnts Rghts0DiscriminateRaceStdntsRghtsInd
Discriminate Race Admiss Plcy0DiscriminateRaceAdmissPlcyInd
Discriminate Race Emplm Fculty0DiscriminateRaceEmplmFcultyInd
Discriminate Race Schs0DiscriminateRaceSchsInd
Discriminate Race Educ Plcy0DiscriminateRaceEducPlcyInd
Discriminate Race Use Of Fclts0DiscriminateRaceUseOfFcltsInd
Discriminate Race Athlt Prog0DiscriminateRaceAthltProgInd
Discriminate Race Other Acty0DiscriminateRaceOtherActyInd
Government Financial Aid RcvdYes (1)GovernmentFinancialAidRcvdInd
Government Financial Aid Rvkd0GovernmentFinancialAidRvkdInd
Compliance With Rev Proc7550Yes (1)ComplianceWithRevProc7550Ind

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Schedule E, Part I, Line 3University of Jamestown employs direct mail in the solicitation for students. Written communications used in the solicitation process include a statement of the University of Jamestown nondiscriminatory policy. Further, written communications used in the application process include the statement of our nondiscriminatory policy.
Schedule E, Part I, Line 6University of Jamestown receives federal funding. The major program was the Student Financial Aid cluster consisting of: Federal Pell Grant Program, Federal Work Study Program, FSEOG Program, Perkins Loan Program, Federal Direct Student Loan Program, and Parents Loans for Undergraduate Students Loan Program.

Schedule F IRS990ScheduleF

Account Activities Outside US AccountActivitiesOutsideUSGrp (2 entries)

RegionRegionTxtOfficesOfficesCntEmployeeEmployeeCntType Of Activities ConductedTypeOfActivitiesConductedTxtSpecific Services ProvidedSpecificServicesProvidedTxtRegion Total ExpendituresRegionTotalExpendituresAmt
Sub-Saharan Africa - Angola04Program ServiceInstructional$63,600
Europe (Including Iceland & Greenland) - Albania, Andorra, Austria, Belgium02Program ServiceInstructional$44,400
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Subtotal Offices0SubtotalOfficesCnt
Subtotal Employees6SubtotalEmployeesCnt
Continuation Total Office0ContinuationTotalOfficeCnt
Continuation Total Employee0ContinuationTotalEmployeeCnt
Total Office0TotalOfficeCnt
Total Employee6TotalEmployeeCnt
Subtotal Spent$108,000SubtotalSpentAmt
Continuation Spent$0ContinuationSpentAmt
Total Spent$108,000TotalSpentAmt
Transfer To Foreign Corp0TransferToForeignCorpInd
Interest In Foreign Trust0InterestInForeignTrustInd
Foreign Corp Ownership0ForeignCorpOwnershipInd
Passive Foreign Investmest Co0PassiveForeignInvestmestCoInd
Foreign Partnership0ForeignPartnershipInd
Boycott Countries0BoycottCountriesInd

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePart I, line 3:FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationThe accrual method of accounting is used to account for expenditures. Substantiation is required for payments of all expenses.ExplanationTxt

Schedule G IRS990ScheduleG

Fundraising Event Information FundraisingEventInformationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Event1Dine & BidEvent1Nm
Gross Receipts Event1$126,511GrossReceiptsEvent1Amt
Charitable Contri Event1$88,285CharitableContriEvent1Amt
Gross Revenue Event1$38,226GrossRevenueEvent1Amt
Cash Prizes Event1$4,050CashPrizesEvent1Amt
Non Cash Prizes Event1$937NonCashPrizesEvent1Amt
Rent Facility Costs Event1$7,360RentFacilityCostsEvent1Amt
Food And Beverage Event1$27,431FoodAndBeverageEvent1Amt
Other Direct Expenses Event1$15,240OtherDirectExpensesEvent1Amt
Event2Jimmie ScrambleEvent2Nm
Gross Receipts Event2$40,148GrossReceiptsEvent2Amt
Charitable Contri Event2$3,900CharitableContriEvent2Amt
Gross Revenue Event2$36,248GrossRevenueEvent2Amt
Other Direct Expenses Event2$36,857OtherDirectExpensesEvent2Amt
Gross Receipts Total$166,659GrossReceiptsTotalAmt
Charitable Contributions Tot$92,185CharitableContributionsTotAmt
Gross Revenue Total Events$74,474GrossRevenueTotalEventsAmt
Cash Prizes Total Events$4,050CashPrizesTotalEventsAmt
Non Cash Prizes Total Events$937NonCashPrizesTotalEventsAmt
Rent Fclty Costs Total Events$7,360RentFcltyCostsTotalEventsAmt
Food And Beverage Total Events$27,431FoodAndBeverageTotalEventsAmt
Oth Direct Expnss Total Events$52,097OthDirectExpnssTotalEventsAmt
Direct Expense Summary Events$91,875DirectExpenseSummaryEventsAmt
Net Income Summary-$17,401NetIncomeSummaryAmt

Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant Records MaintainedYes (1)GrantRecordsMaintainedInd

Grants Other Asst To Indiv In US GrantsOtherAsstToIndivInUSGrp (5 entries)

Grant TypeGrantTypeTxtRecipientRecipientCntCash GrantCashGrantAmt
Merit Scholarships788$4,840,812
Athletic Scholarships568$2,258,466
Tuition Waivers53$489,854
Fine Art Scholarships75$190,999
Other Scholarships920$2,718,164

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePart I, Line 2:FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationScholarships are awarded to students based upon criteria such as need, area of study, grade point average, among others, as established by scholarship documents and donor restrictions. Scholarships are applied to the students' accounts to help cover the costs of tuition, room, and board.ExplanationTxt

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Housing Allowance Or ResidenceYes (X)HousingAllowanceOrResidenceInd
Written Policy Ref T And E ExpnssYes (1)WrittenPolicyRefTAndEExpnssInd
Substantiation RequiredYes (1)SubstantiationRequiredInd
Compensation CommitteeYes (X)CompensationCommitteeInd
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance Payment0SeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr Plan0SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp Arrngm0EquityBasedCompArrngmInd
Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng Org0CompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd On Rev Related Orgs0CompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng Org0CompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd Orgs0CompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd
Any Non Fixed Payments0AnyNonFixedPaymentsInd
Initial Contract Exception0InitialContractExceptionInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (2 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
Robert Badal
President through February$243,117$0$0$0$0$0$12,156$0$8,330$0$263,603$0$0$0
Polly Peterson - Executive VP
(July-Feb)/President (March-June)$145,549$0$0$0$0$0$7,277$0$7,125$0$159,951$0$0$0

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePart I, Line 1aFormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationThe President receives a housing allowance which is properly reported as taxable income on the W-2.ExplanationTxt

Schedule K IRS990ScheduleK

Tax Exempt Bonds Issues TaxExemptBondsIssuesGrp (4 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdBond Issuer EINBondIssuerEINBond IssuedBondIssuedDtIssue PriceIssuePriceAmtPurposePurposeDescDefeasedDefeasedIndOn Behalf Of IssuerOnBehalfOfIssuerIndPool FinancingPoolFinancingInd
City of Jamestown
A4560020992007-07-10$2,040,000Addition to Larson Center000
City of Medina
B4560027702014-08-15$6,500,000Student Housing Renovation & Retirement of Debt Issued 7/24/2008000
City of Jamestown
C4560020992015-07-23$1,820,000Purchase building to house Fargo programs of study000
Stutsman County North Dakota
D4560022442016-11-14$8,000,000Construction of Sports Arena000

Tax Exempt Bonds Proceeds TaxExemptBondsProceedsGrp (4 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdRetiredRetiredAmtTotal ProceedsTotalProceedsAmtIssuance Costs From ProceedsIssuanceCostsFromProceedsAmtCapital ExpendituresCapitalExpendituresAmtSubstantial CompletionSubstantialCompletionYrCurrent RefundingCurrentRefundingIndAdvance RefundingAdvanceRefundingIndFinal Allocation MadeFinalAllocationMadeIndAdequate Books And Rec MaintAdequateBooksAndRecMaintIndOther Spent ProceedsOtherSpentProceedsAmt
A$580,000$2,040,000$30,500$2,009,500200800Yes (1)Yes (1)
B$886,668$6,500,000$37,680$5,973,4942014Yes (1)0Yes (1)Yes (1)$488,826
C$469,944$1,820,000$23,420$1,796,580201500Yes (1)Yes (1)
D$650,000$8,000,000$25,000$7,975,000201700Yes (1)Yes (1)

Tax Exempt Bonds Private Bus Use TaxExemptBondsPrivateBusUseGrp (4 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdOwning Bond Financed PropertyOwningBondFinancedPropertyIndAny Lease ArrangementsAnyLeaseArrangementsIndMgmt Contract Bond Fincd PropMgmtContractBondFincdPropIndAny Research AgreementsAnyResearchAgreementsIndPrivate Bus Use By OthersPrivateBusUseByOthersPctPrivate Bus Concerning UBIPrivateBusConcerningUBIPctTotal Private Business UseTotalPrivateBusinessUsePctBond Iss Meet Prvt Sec Pymt TestBondIssMeetPrvtSecPymtTestIndChange In Use Bond Financed PropChangeInUseBondFinancedPropIndProcs Nonqualified Bond RemdtdProcsNonqualifiedBondRemdtdInd
A00000.000000.000000.0000000Yes (1)
B00000.000000.000000.0000000Yes (1)
C00000.000000.000000.0000000Yes (1)
D00000.000000.000000.0000000Yes (1)

Tax Exempt Bonds Arbitrage TaxExemptBondsArbitrageGrp (4 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdForm8038 T FiledForm8038TFiledIndRebate Not Due YetRebateNotDueYetIndException To RebateExceptionToRebateIndNo Rebate DueNoRebateDueIndVariable Rate IssueVariableRateIssueIndHedge Identified In Bks And RecHedgeIdentifiedInBksAndRecIndTerm Of HedgeTermOfHedgePctSuperintegrated HedgeSuperintegratedHedgeIndHedge TerminatedHedgeTerminatedIndGross Proceeds Invested In GICGrossProceedsInvestedInGICIndGross Proceeds InvestedGrossProceedsInvestedIndWritten Proc To Monitor ReqsWrittenProcToMonitorReqsInd
Wells Fargo Bank
A0000Yes (1)Yes (1)20.0000000000000000Yes (1)
(no name)
B0000Yes (1)000Yes (1)
(no name)
C00Yes (1)00000Yes (1)
(no name)
D00000000Yes (1)

Procedures Corrective Action ProceduresCorrectiveActionGrp (4 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdProcedures Corrective ActionProceduresCorrectiveActionInd
AYes (1)
BYes (1)
CYes (1)
DYes (1)

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSchedule K, Part II, Line 1:FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationThe amounts on line 1 represent the amount of principal reduction of the underlying note payable to the financial institution rather than actual retirement of bonds in the issue.ExplanationTxt

Schedule L IRS990ScheduleL

Grnt Asst Bnft Interested Prsn GrntAsstBnftInterestedPrsnGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Person4 ScholarshipsPersonNm
Relationship With OrgFamily Member of TrusteeRelationshipWithOrgTxt
Type Of AssistanceScholarshipTypeOfAssistanceTxt
Assistance PurposeEducation - Financial AssistanceAssistancePurposeTxt

Schedule M IRS990ScheduleM

Securities Publicly Traded SecuritiesPubliclyTradedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Non Cash CheckboxYes (X)NonCashCheckboxInd
Contribution8ContributionCnt
Noncash Contributions Rpt F990$116,547NoncashContributionsRptF990Amt
Method Of Determining RevenuesHi-Lo Avg MV-Gift DTMethodOfDeterminingRevenuesTxt

Real Estate Residential RealEstateResidentialGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Non Cash CheckboxYes (X)NonCashCheckboxInd
Contribution1ContributionCnt
Noncash Contributions Rpt F990$195,000NoncashContributionsRptF990Amt
Method Of Determining RevenuesAppraisalMethodOfDeterminingRevenuesTxt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form8283 Received1Form8283ReceivedCnt
Any Property That Must Be Held0AnyPropertyThatMustBeHeldInd
Review Process Unusual NC GiftsYes (1)ReviewProcessUnusualNCGiftsInd
Third Parties UsedYes (1)ThirdPartiesUsedInd

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePart I, Line 32b:FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationBrokers are engaged to sell securities. Realtors are engaged to sell contributed property.ExplanationTxt

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (7 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Form 990, Part VI, Section A, line 1Committees Acting on Behalf of Board: From time to time the Board of Trustees will authorize subcommittees of the board to act on their behalf. These committees are always composed of members of the governing body. The authority varies as granted by the board.
Form 990, Part VI, Section A, line 2Family Relationship: James Harty, Jr. (Trustee) and Robert Piatz (Trustee) have a family relationship
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 11bForm 990 Review: A copy of the full Form 990 will be distributed to the full board for their review and comment prior to filing with the IRS. The full board has also delegated authority to review and approve the Form 990 to the Audit and Finance Committee, which is comprised of current board members. A final version of the full Form 990 is submitted to this committee for review and approval before filing with the IRS.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 12cIt is the policy of University of Jamestown that no Trustee or committee member, or their family members, should derive any personal profit or gain, directly of indirectly, by reason of his or her association with University of Jamestown. Each shall disclose to the Board any personal interest which he or she, or any family member may have in any matter pending before the Board or Board Committee. Any Trustee who is uncertain about a possible conflict of interest in any matter may request the Executive Committee for an advance determination whether a conflict of interest exists. Disclosure statements shall be submitted annually to the Chair of the Board of Trustees, who with the President shall be responsible for the administration of the policy. A Trustee, Board Committee member or officer who has declared or been found to have a conflict of interest in any proposed action or matter shall refrain from participating in consideration except to provide information as requested by a Trustee. He or she shall not vote on the matter and, if so requested by the Chair or any Trustee, shall not be present at the time of discussion and/or vote.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 15Compensation Process: Annually, the Independent Personnel Committee reviews compensation and submits recommended changes to the full Board for approval. The committee uses various peer and industry surveys for comparability data, including College and University Professionals Association Human Resources information. The recommended changes and approval are documented in the board meeting minutes.
Form 990, Part VI, Section C, line 19The governing documents, conflict of interest policy, and financial statements are available to the public upon request.
Form 990, Part XI, line 9:(Increase) Decrease in CSV -1,744. Actuarial Gain (Loss) on Annuity Obligations -150,334. Change in Swap Liability 75,834. Change in Value of Split Interest Agreements 79,173.

Schedule R IRS990ScheduleR

Id Related Tax Exempt Org IdRelatedTaxExemptOrgGrp

Disregarded Entity Name DisregardedEntityName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Jamestown College FoundationBusinessNameLine1Txt

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line16088 College LaneAddressLine1Txt
CityJamestownCityNm
State AbbreviationNDStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP58405ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN363447067EIN
Primary ActivitiesFundraisingPrimaryActivitiesTxt
Legal Domicile StateNDLegalDomicileStateCd
Exempt Code Section501(c)(3)ExemptCodeSectionTxt
Public Charity StatusLine 12a, IPublicCharityStatusTxt
Direct Controlling NAN/ADirectControllingNACd
Controlled OrganizationYes (1)ControlledOrganizationInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Receipt Of Int Annts Rnts Rylts0ReceiptOfIntAnntsRntsRyltsInd
Gift Grnt Or Cap Contri To Oth Org0GiftGrntOrCapContriToOthOrgInd
Gift Grnt Cap Contri From Oth Org0GiftGrntCapContriFromOthOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees To Other Org0LoansOrGuaranteesToOtherOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees From Oth Org0LoansOrGuaranteesFromOthOrgInd
Div Related Organization0DivRelatedOrganizationInd
Asset Sale To Other Org0AssetSaleToOtherOrgInd
Asset Purchase From Other Org0AssetPurchaseFromOtherOrgInd
Asset Exchange0AssetExchangeInd
Rental Of Facilities To Oth Org0RentalOfFacilitiesToOthOrgInd
Rental Of Fclts From Oth Org0RentalOfFcltsFromOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services For Oth Org0PerformOfServicesForOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services By Other Org0PerformOfServicesByOtherOrgInd
Sharing Of Facilities0SharingOfFacilitiesInd
Paid Employees Sharing0PaidEmployeesSharingInd
Reimbursement Paid To Other Org0ReimbursementPaidToOtherOrgInd
Reimbursement Paid By Other Org0ReimbursementPaidByOtherOrgInd
Transfer To Other Org0TransferToOtherOrgInd
Transfer From Other Org0TransferFromOtherOrgInd

Comments

Anonymous: no account or email. Up to 2,000 characters, at most one link. Comments are checked automatically; some wait for review.