SANTIAM MEMORIAL HOSPITAL: Form 990, tax year 2017

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
SANTIAM MEMORIAL HOSPITAL (EIN 93-0415219)
Tax period
2017-01-01 to 2017-12-31
Filed
2018-11-14
IRS object ID
201803189349312260
Schema version
2017v2.3
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2018-11-14T17:25:52-06:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2017-12-31TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN930418710PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1DELAP LLPBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line15885 MEADOWS ROAD NO 200AddressLine1Txt
CityLAKE OSWEGOCityNm
State AbbreviationORStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP97035ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2017-01-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN930415219EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1SANTIAM MEMORIAL HOSPITALBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlSANTBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone5037692175PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line11401 N 10TH AVENUEAddressLine1Txt
CitySTAYTONCityNm
State AbbreviationORStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP973831311ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonTERRY FLETCHALLPersonNm
Person TitleCEOPersonTitleTxt
Phone5037692175PhoneNum
Signature2018-11-13SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (1)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonMARK E EKLUND CPAPreparerPersonNm
PTINP00156145PTIN
Phone5036974118PhoneNum
Preparation2018-11-13PreparationDt

Filing Security Information FilingSecurityInformation

IP Address IPAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
I Pv4 Address76.14.192.226IPv4AddressTxt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
IP2018-11-13IPDt
IP Tm13:26:10IPTm
IP TimezonePSIPTimezoneCd
Filing License TypePFilingLicenseTypeCd
At Submission Creation Device IdDE3CBF9142AB1A9C45D327EC0B3FC07BFC578F99AtSubmissionCreationDeviceId
At Submission Filing Device IdFA70ACD58588B72794AC0476217EF7922E055C68AtSubmissionFilingDeviceId
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2017TaxYr
Build TS2019-02-21 02:37:17ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerTERRY FLETCHALLPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line11401 N 10TH AVENUEAddressLine1Txt
CitySTAYTONCityNm
State AbbreviationORStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP973831311ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$49,213,991GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For Affiliates0GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501c3Yes (X)Organization501c3Ind
Website AddressWWW.SANTIAMHOSPITAL.ORGWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1950FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateORLegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionGENERAL ACUTE HEALTH CARE HOSPITAL SERVING SANTIAM COMMUNITIESActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body9VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent9VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee457TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers18TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$0TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$0NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$25,444PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$16,676CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$46,284,802PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$48,109,654CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$142,244PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$84,840CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$223,649PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$307,926CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$46,676,139PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$48,519,096CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$43,618PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$41,043CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$0PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$26,978,191PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$30,154,773CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$0CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$18,043,488PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$18,904,795CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$45,065,297PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$49,100,611CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$1,610,842PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses-$581,515CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$58,737,185TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$58,141,140TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$32,538,033TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$31,934,704TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$26,199,152NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$26,206,436NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
MissionSANTIAM MEMORIAL HOSPITAL'S MISSION IS TO PROVIDE QUALITY HEALTH CARE TO PERSONS SUFFERING FROM ILLNESS, INJURIES, OR DISABILITIES AND TO PROMOTE THE GENERAL HEALTH AND WELFARE OF THE COMMUNITY THROUGH EDUCATION, SUPPORT, AND MEDICAL SERVICES.MissionDesc
Significant New Program Srvc0SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant Change0SignificantChangeInd
Expense$43,563,272ExpenseAmt
Grant$41,043GrantAmt
Revenue$48,212,357RevenueAmt
DescACUTE HOSPITAL CARE: PATIENT DAYS 3,516, NURSERY DAYS 181, AMBULANCE TRIPS 2,058, OUTPATIENT DAYS 46,139, REFERENCE LABORATORY 133,632.Desc
Total Program Service Expenses$43,563,272TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt
Described In Section501c3Yes (1)DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B RequiredYes (1)ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign Acty0PoliticalCampaignActyInd
Lobbying Activities0LobbyingActivitiesInd
Subject To Proxy Tax0SubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised Fund0DonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation Easements0ConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of Art0CollectionsOfArtInd
Credit Counseling0CreditCounselingInd
Temp Or Permanent Endowments0TempOrPermanentEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (1)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other Sec0ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related Invst0ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other Assets0ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (1)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (1)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School Operating0SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign Office0ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign Activities0ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To Org0MoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To Individuals0MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional Fundraising0ProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising Activities0FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming Activities0GamingActivitiesInd
Operate HospitalYes (1)OperateHospitalInd
Audited Financial Stmt AttYes (1)AuditedFinancialStmtAttInd
Grants To OrganizationsYes (1)GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To Individuals0GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (1)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt Bonds0TaxExemptBondsInd
Engaged In Excess Benefit Trans0EngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd
PY Excess Benefit Trans0PYExcessBenefitTransInd
Loan Outstanding0LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related Person0GrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org Mem0BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam Mem0BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With Officer Ent0BusinessRlnWithOfficerEntInd
Deductible Non Cash Contri0DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art Contribution0DeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate Operations0TerminateOperationsInd
Partial Liquidation0PartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded EntityYes (1)DisregardedEntityInd
Related EntityYes (1)RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl Ent0RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd Org0TrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd
Activities Conducted Prtshp0ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (1)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document76IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Employee457EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (1)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over Limit0UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Foreign Financial Account0ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans0ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party Notification0TaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible Contributions0NondeductibleContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo Contributions0QuidProQuoContributionsInd
Form8282 Property Disposed Of0Form8282PropertyDisposedOfInd
Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0RcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0PayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Form8899 Filedind0Form8899Filedind
Form1098 C Filed0Form1098CFiledInd
Indoor Tanning Services0IndoorTanningServicesInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members9GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member9IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business Rln0FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt Duties0DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org Documents0ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or Misuse0MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or StockholdersYes (1)MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersYes (1)ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To Approva0DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (1)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (1)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing Address0OfficerMailingAddressInd
Local Chapters0LocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (1)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (1)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (1)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (1)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (1)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (1)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (1)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (1)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint Venture0InvestmentInJointVentureInd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldORStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
Other WebsiteYes (X)OtherWebsiteInd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1TERRY FLETCHALLBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Phone5037692175PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line11401 N 10TH AVENUEAddressLine1Txt
CitySTAYTONCityNm
State AbbreviationORStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP97383ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (16 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtKey EmployeeKeyEmployeeIndHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd
RON ETZEL
VICE PRESIDENT3.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
VICTOR KINTZ
DIRECTOR3.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MARYANN MEREDITH
PRESIDENT3.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
MIKE ODENTHAL
SECRETARY3.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
RANDY MICKEY
DIRECTOR3.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
GEORGE LONG
DIRECTOR3.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
JUANITA CULVER
DIRECTOR3.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
NORM RAUSCHER
DIRECTOR3.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
TERRY FLETCHALL
CEO50.00Yes (X)$287,935$0$54,144
MAGGIE HUDSON
CFO/COO50.00Yes (X)$228,595$0$42,386
SHERRY STEELE
CHIEF NURSING OFFICER50.00$188,080$0$18,827Yes (X)
JOHN HOFFMAN
M.D.40.00$421,455$0$33,220Yes (X)
JOHN SILVER
M.D.40.00$381,241$0$27,547Yes (X)
ROBERT MCGREEVY
M.D.40.00$401,244$0$10,166Yes (X)
KIRSTIN FLOWERS
M.D.40.00$342,412$0$22,689Yes (X)
NICOLAS J STRATTON
M.D.40.00$401,244$0$27,547Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$2,652,206TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$236,526TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K44IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees Listed0FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (1)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other Srcs0CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
ROBERT L JACQUES MD
5419 SW SCHOLLS FERRY ROADPORTLANDOR97225HOSPITALIST$375,325
LAURA MASKELL MD
13145 NW NORTHRUPPORTLANDOR97229EMERGENCY ROOM PHYSICIAN$330,599
OMAC ADVERTISING
2573 12TH STREET SESALEMOR97302ADVERTISING SERVICES$328,378
COMPHEALTH ASSOC INC
PO BOX 972625DALLASOR75397LOCUMS PHYSICIAN SERVICE$274,248
STEVEN VETS DO
3471 NW HAYES AVECORVALLISOR97330EMERGENCY ROOM PHYSICIAN$231,530
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K14CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
All Other Contributions$16,676AllOtherContributionsAmt
Total Contributions$16,676TotalContributionsAmt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (2 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
PATIENT SERVICE REVENUE - NET622110$48,671,431$48,671,431
K-1, INCOME FROM WVCH, LLC900099-$561,777-$561,777
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$48,109,654TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$42,256TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$42,256ExclusionAmt

Gross Rents GrossRentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$30,000RealAmt

Less Rental Expenses LessRentalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$97,745RealAmt

Rental Income Or Loss RentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real-$67,745RealAmt

Net Rental Income Or Loss NetRentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column-$67,745TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income-$67,745RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$617,045SecuritiesAmt
Other$22,689OtherAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$560,952SecuritiesAmt
Other$36,198OtherAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$56,093SecuritiesAmt
Other-$13,509OtherAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$42,584TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$42,584ExclusionAmt

Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp (2 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtExclusionExclusionAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
CAFETERIA REVENUE722210$205,223$205,223
OTHER MISC. REVENUE900099$170,448$170,448
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total$375,671OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$48,519,096TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$48,212,357RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$290,063ExclusionAmt

Grants To Domestic Orgs GrantsToDomesticOrgsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$41,043TotalAmt
Program Services$41,043ProgramServicesAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$787,895TotalAmt
Management And General$787,895ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$22,649,853TotalAmt
Program Services$21,660,323ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$989,530ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$544,728TotalAmt
Program Services$544,728ProgramServicesAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$4,592,824TotalAmt
Program Services$3,806,951ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$785,873ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,579,473TotalAmt
Program Services$1,396,271ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$183,202ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$87,433TotalAmt
Management And General$87,433ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$223,017TotalAmt
Management And General$223,017ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,667,771TotalAmt
Program Services$2,740,222ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$927,549ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$682,112TotalAmt
Management And General$682,112ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$533,858TotalAmt
Program Services$105,583ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$428,275ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$123,895TotalAmt
Management And General$123,895ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,788,545TotalAmt
Program Services$1,788,545ProgramServicesAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$10,927TotalAmt
Management And General$10,927ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,229,846TotalAmt
Program Services$2,162,488ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$67,358ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$198,427TotalAmt
Program Services$32,001ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$166,426ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmtProgram ServicesProgramServicesAmtManagement And GeneralManagementAndGeneralAmt
SUPPLIES$7,136,839$7,136,839
CLINIC EXPENSE$1,701,688$1,701,688
EQUIPMENT MAINTENANCE$449,689$441,550$8,139
DUES & SUBSCRIPTIONS$54,753$54,753

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$15,995TotalAmt
Program Services$5,040ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$10,955ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$49,100,611TotalAmt
Program Services$43,563,272ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$5,537,339ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$240BOYAmt
EOY$240EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$11,725,228BOYAmt
EOY$13,032,899EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$6,139,086BOYAmt
EOY$6,740,251EOYAmt

Inventories For Sale Or Use InventoriesForSaleOrUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,368,540BOYAmt
EOY$1,447,471EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$896,568BOYAmt
EOY$1,121,197EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$56,327,285LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$24,912,065LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$33,079,715BOYAmt
EOY$31,415,220EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,192,874BOYAmt
EOY$1,330,997EOYAmt

Investments Program Related InvestmentsProgramRelatedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$272,728BOYAmt
EOY$272,728EOYAmt

Intangible Assets IntangibleAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,013,065BOYAmt
EOY$2,765,137EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,049,141BOYAmt
EOY$15,000EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$58,737,185BOYAmt
EOY$58,141,140EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,819,725BOYAmt
EOY$4,901,278EOYAmt

Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$26,864,456BOYAmt
EOY$25,987,268EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,853,852BOYAmt
EOY$1,046,158EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$32,538,033BOYAmt
EOY$31,934,704EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Organization Follows SFAS117Yes (X)OrganizationFollowsSFAS117Ind

Unrestricted Net Assets UnrestrictedNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$26,199,152BOYAmt
EOY$26,206,436EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$26,199,152BOYAmt
EOY$26,206,436EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$58,737,185BOYAmt
EOY$58,141,140EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part XIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss-$581,515ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst$35,138NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets$553,661OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or Review0AccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (1)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Consolidated Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)ConsolidatedBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (1)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit RequiredYes (1)FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd
Federal Grant Audit PerformedYes (1)FederalGrantAuditPerformedInd

Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
HospitalYes (X)HospitalInd

Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Investment Cost Or Other Basis$336,760InvestmentCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Other Cost Or Other Basis$1,144,799OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$1,481,559BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Investment Cost Or Other Basis$1,856,730InvestmentCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Other Cost Or Other Basis$36,156,506OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$12,114,063DepreciationAmt
Book Value$25,899,173BookValueAmt

Leasehold Improvements LeaseholdImprovementsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$619,850OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$537,574DepreciationAmt
Book Value$82,276BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Investment Cost Or Other Basis$10,000InvestmentCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Other Cost Or Other Basis$15,939,811OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$12,260,428DepreciationAmt
Book Value$3,689,383BookValueAmt

Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$262,829OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$262,829BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$31,415,220TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (2 entries)

DescDescAmtAmt
EST 3RD PARTY PAYOR SETTLEMENTS$265,013
OTHER LONG-TERM LIABILITIES$781,145
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$1,046,158TotalLiabilityAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$49,107,895TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Net Unrealized Gains Invst$35,138NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt
Revenue Not Reported$35,138RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$49,072,757RevenueSubtotalAmt
Other Revenues Not Included-$553,661OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt-$553,661RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$48,519,096TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$49,100,611TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Expenses Not Reported$0ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$49,100,611ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$0ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$49,100,611TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
PART X, LINE 2:IT IS MANAGEMENT'S BELIEF THAT NONE OF THE HOSPITAL'S ACTIVITIES HAVE GENERATED MATERIAL UNRELATED BUSINESS INCOME; THEREFORE, NO PROVISION FOR INCOME TAXES HAS BEEN MADE IN THE ACCOMPANYING CONSOLIDATED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS. INCOME TAX POSITIONS THAT MEET A "MORE-LIKELY-THAN-NOT" RECOGNITION THRESHOLD ARE MEASURED AT THE LARGEST AMOUNT OF INCOME TAX BENEFIT THAT IS MORE THAN 50% LIKELY TO BE REALIZED UPON SETTLEMENT WITH THE APPLICABLE TAXING AUTHORITY. THE PORTION OF THE BENEFITS ASSOCIATED WITH INCOME TAX POSITIONS TAKEN THAT EXCEEDS THE AMOUNT MEASURED AS DESCRIBED ABOVE WOULD BE REFLECTED AS A LIABILITY FOR UNRECOGNIZED INCOME TAX BENEFITS IN THE HOSPITAL'S CONSOLIDATED BALANCE SHEETS ALONG WITH ANY ASSOCIATED INTEREST AND PENALTIES THAT WOULD BE PAYABLE TO THE TAXING AUTHORITIES UPON EXAMINATION. INTEREST AND PENALTIES ASSOCIATED WITH UNRECOGNIZED INCOME TAX BENEFITS WOULD BE CLASSIFIED AS INCOME TAXES IN THE HOSPITAL'S CONSOLIDATED STATEMENTS OF OPERATIONS AND CHANGES IN UNRESTRICTED NET ASSETS. THERE WERE NO UNRECOGNIZED INCOME TAX BENEFITS, NOR ANY INTEREST AND PENALTIES ASSOCIATED WITH UNRECOGNIZED INCOME TAX BENEFITS, ACCRUED OR EXPENSED AS OF AND FOR THE YEARS ENDED DECEMBER 31, 2017 AND 2016.
PART XI, LINE 4B - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:LOSS FROM K-1, WILLAMETTE VALLEY COMMUNITY HEALTH, LLC -553,661.

Schedule H IRS990ScheduleH

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Financial Assistance PolicyYes (1)FinancialAssistancePolicyInd
Written PolicyYes (1)WrittenPolicyInd
All Hospitals PolicyYes (X)AllHospitalsPolicyInd
FPG Reference Free CareYes (1)FPGReferenceFreeCareInd
Percent200Yes (X)Percent200Ind
FPG Reference Discounted CareYes (1)FPGReferenceDiscountedCareInd
Percent300Yes (X)Percent300Ind
Free Care Medically IndigentYes (1)FreeCareMedicallyIndigentInd
Financial Assistance BudgetYes (1)FinancialAssistanceBudgetInd
Expenses Exceed BudgetYes (1)ExpensesExceedBudgetInd
Unable To Provide Care0UnableToProvideCareInd
Annual Community Bnft ReportYes (1)AnnualCommunityBnftReportInd
Report Publically AvailableYes (1)ReportPublicallyAvailableInd

Financial Assistance At Cost Typ FinancialAssistanceAtCostTyp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Persons Served1438PersonsServedCnt
Total Community Benefit Expns$439,263TotalCommunityBenefitExpnsAmt
Net Community Benefit Expns$439,263NetCommunityBenefitExpnsAmt
Total Expense0.00890TotalExpensePct

Unreimbursed Medicaid UnreimbursedMedicaidGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Persons Served24900PersonsServedCnt
Total Community Benefit Expns$10,471,938TotalCommunityBenefitExpnsAmt
Direct Offsetting Revenue$9,486,500DirectOffsettingRevenueAmt
Net Community Benefit Expns$985,438NetCommunityBenefitExpnsAmt
Total Expense0.02010TotalExpensePct

Unreimbursed Costs UnreimbursedCostsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Persons Served34177PersonsServedCnt
Total Community Benefit Expns$21,999,675TotalCommunityBenefitExpnsAmt
Direct Offsetting Revenue$16,563,129DirectOffsettingRevenueAmt
Net Community Benefit Expns$5,436,546NetCommunityBenefitExpnsAmt
Total Expense0.11070TotalExpensePct

Total Financial Assistance Typ TotalFinancialAssistanceTyp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Persons Served60515PersonsServedCnt
Total Community Benefit Expns$32,910,876TotalCommunityBenefitExpnsAmt
Direct Offsetting Revenue$26,049,629DirectOffsettingRevenueAmt
Net Community Benefit Expns$6,861,247NetCommunityBenefitExpnsAmt
Total Expense0.13970TotalExpensePct

Community Health Services CommunityHealthServicesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Persons Served2709PersonsServedCnt
Total Community Benefit Expns$170,810TotalCommunityBenefitExpnsAmt
Direct Offsetting Revenue$15,380DirectOffsettingRevenueAmt
Net Community Benefit Expns$155,430NetCommunityBenefitExpnsAmt
Total Expense0.00320TotalExpensePct

Subsidized Health Services SubsidizedHealthServicesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Community Benefit Expns$295,203TotalCommunityBenefitExpnsAmt
Net Community Benefit Expns$295,203NetCommunityBenefitExpnsAmt
Total Expense0.00600TotalExpensePct

Cash And In Kind Contributions CashAndInKindContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Community Benefit Expns$41,043TotalCommunityBenefitExpnsAmt
Net Community Benefit Expns$41,043NetCommunityBenefitExpnsAmt
Total Expense0.00080TotalExpensePct

Total Other Benefits TotalOtherBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Persons Served2709PersonsServedCnt
Total Community Benefit Expns$507,056TotalCommunityBenefitExpnsAmt
Direct Offsetting Revenue$15,380DirectOffsettingRevenueAmt
Net Community Benefit Expns$491,676NetCommunityBenefitExpnsAmt
Total Expense0.01000TotalExpensePct

Total Community Benefits TotalCommunityBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Persons Served63224PersonsServedCnt
Total Community Benefit Expns$33,417,932TotalCommunityBenefitExpnsAmt
Direct Offsetting Revenue$26,065,009DirectOffsettingRevenueAmt
Net Community Benefit Expns$7,352,923NetCommunityBenefitExpnsAmt
Total Expense0.14970TotalExpensePct

Community Support CommunitySupportGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Community Benefit Expns$82,856TotalCommunityBenefitExpnsAmt
Net Community Benefit Expns$82,856NetCommunityBenefitExpnsAmt
Total Expense0.00170TotalExpensePct

Total Communtity Building Acty TotalCommuntityBuildingActyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Community Benefit Expns$82,856TotalCommunityBenefitExpnsAmt
Net Community Benefit Expns$82,856NetCommunityBenefitExpnsAmt
Total Expense0.00170TotalExpensePct
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bad Debt Expense ReportedYes (1)BadDebtExpenseReportedInd
Bad Debt Expense$1,939,834BadDebtExpenseAmt
Reimbursed By Medicare$4,430,326ReimbursedByMedicareAmt
Cost Of Care Reimbursed By Medcr$6,884,104CostOfCareReimbursedByMedcrAmt
Medicare Surplus Or Shortfall-$2,453,778MedicareSurplusOrShortfallAmt

Costing Methodology Used CostingMethodologyUsedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cost To Charge RatioYes (X)CostToChargeRatioInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Written Debt Collection PolicyYes (1)WrittenDebtCollectionPolicyInd
Financial Assistance PrvsnYes (1)FinancialAssistancePrvsnInd
Hospital Facilities1HospitalFacilitiesCnt

Hospital Facilities HospitalFacilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Facility1FacilityNum

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1SANTIAM MEMORIAL HOSPITALBusinessNameLine1Txt

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line11401 N 10TH AVENUEAddressLine1Txt
CitySTAYTONCityNm
State AbbreviationORStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP973831311ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Website AddressWWW.SANTIAMHOSPITAL.ORGWebsiteAddressTxt
State License14-0709StateLicenseNum
Licensed HospitalYes (X)LicensedHospitalInd
General Medical And SurgicalYes (X)GeneralMedicalAndSurgicalInd
Emergency Room24 HrsYes (X)EmergencyRoom24HrsInd

Hospital Fclty Policies Prctc HospitalFcltyPoliciesPrctcGrp

Hospital Facility Name HospitalFacilityName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1SANTIAM MEMORIAL HOSPITALBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Facility1FacilityNum
First Licensed CY Or PY0FirstLicensedCYOrPYInd
Tax Exempt Hospital CY Or PY0TaxExemptHospitalCYOrPYInd
CHNA ConductedYes (1)CHNAConductedInd
Community DefinitionYes (X)CommunityDefinitionInd
Community DemographicsYes (X)CommunityDemographicsInd
Existing ResourcesYes (X)ExistingResourcesInd
How Data ObtainedYes (X)HowDataObtainedInd
Community Health NeedsYes (X)CommunityHealthNeedsInd
Other Health IssuesYes (X)OtherHealthIssuesInd
Community Hlth Needs Id ProcessYes (X)CommunityHlthNeedsIdProcessInd
Consulting ProcessYes (X)ConsultingProcessInd
Prior CHNA ImpactYes (X)PriorCHNAImpactInd
CHNA Conducted15CHNAConductedYr
Take Into Account Others InputYes (1)TakeIntoAccountOthersInputInd
CHNA Conducted With Other FcltsYes (1)CHNAConductedWithOtherFcltsInd
CHNA Conducted With Non Fclts0CHNAConductedWithNonFcltsInd
CHNA Report Widely AvailableYes (1)CHNAReportWidelyAvailableInd
Rpt Available On Own WebsiteYes (X)RptAvailableOnOwnWebsiteInd
Own Website URLWWW.SANTIAMHOSPITAL.ORGOwnWebsiteURLTxt
Implementation Strategy AdoptYes (1)ImplementationStrategyAdoptInd
Implementation Strategy Adpt16ImplementationStrategyAdptYr
Strategy Posted WebsiteYes (1)StrategyPostedWebsiteInd
Strategy Website URLHTTP://SANTIAMHOSPITAL.ORG/RESOURCES.PHPStrategyWebsiteURLTxt
Organization Incur Excise Tax0OrganizationIncurExciseTaxInd
Elig Criteria ExplainedYes (1)EligCriteriaExplainedInd
FPG Family Incm Lmt Free DscntYes (X)FPGFamilyIncmLmtFreeDscntInd
FPG Family Incm Lmt Free Care200.000000000000FPGFamilyIncmLmtFreeCarePct
FPG Family Incm Lmt Dscnt Care300.000000000000FPGFamilyIncmLmtDscntCarePct
Income Level CriteriaYes (X)IncomeLevelCriteriaInd
Asset Level CriteriaYes (X)AssetLevelCriteriaInd
Medical Indigency CriteriaYes (X)MedicalIndigencyCriteriaInd
Insurance Status CriteriaYes (X)InsuranceStatusCriteriaInd
Explained BasisYes (1)ExplainedBasisInd
App Financial Asst ExplnYes (1)AppFinancialAsstExplnInd
Described InfoYes (X)DescribedInfoInd
Described Suprt DocYes (X)DescribedSuprtDocInd
Includes Publicity MeasuresYes (1)IncludesPublicityMeasuresInd
FAP Available On WebsiteYes (X)FAPAvailableOnWebsiteInd
FAP Available On Website URLHTTP://WWW.SANTIAMHOSPITAL.ORG/PAT_FINANCIAL.PHPFAPAvailableOnWebsiteURLTxt
FAP App Available On WebsiteYes (X)FAPAppAvailableOnWebsiteInd
FAP App Available On Website URLHTTP://WWW.SANTIAMHOSPITAL.ORG/PAT_FINANCIAL.PHPFAPAppAvailableOnWebsiteURLTxt
FAP Summary On WebsiteYes (X)FAPSummaryOnWebsiteInd
FAP Summary On Website URLHTTP://WWW.SANTIAMHOSPITAL.ORG/PAT_FINANCIAL.PHPFAPSummaryOnWebsiteURLTxt
FAP Avlbl On Request No ChargeYes (X)FAPAvlblOnRequestNoChargeInd
FAP App Avlbl On Request No ChrgYes (X)FAPAppAvlblOnRequestNoChrgInd
FAP Sum Avlbl On Request No ChrgYes (X)FAPSumAvlblOnRequestNoChrgInd
Notified FAP Copy Bill DisplayYes (X)NotifiedFAPCopyBillDisplayInd
Communtity Notified FAPYes (X)CommuntityNotifiedFAPInd
FAP TranslatedYes (X)FAPTranslatedInd
FAP Actions On NonpaymentYes (1)FAPActionsOnNonpaymentInd
Permit No ActionsYes (X)PermitNoActionsInd
Collection Activities0CollectionActivitiesInd
Provided Written NoticeYes (X)ProvidedWrittenNoticeInd
Made Effort Orally NotifyYes (X)MadeEffortOrallyNotifyInd
Processed FAP ApplicationYes (X)ProcessedFAPApplicationInd
Nondis Emergency Care PolicyYes (1)NondisEmergencyCarePolicyInd
Look Back Medicaid Medcr PrvtYes (X)LookBackMedicaidMedcrPrvtInd
Amounts Generally Billed0AmountsGenerallyBilledInd
Gross Charges0GrossChargesInd

Supplemental Information SupplementalInformationGrp (3 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
SANTIAM MEMORIAL HOSPITALPART V, SECTION B, LINE 5: CONSULTED WITH MARION COUNTY DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND OTHER COMMUNITY MEMBERS REGARDING THE NEEDS OF STAYTON AND SURROUNDING AREAS SERVED.
SANTIAM MEMORIAL HOSPITALPART V, SECTION B, LINE 6A: SALEM HEALTH SYSTEM, SILVERTON HOSPITAL NETWORK
SANTIAM MEMORIAL HOSPITALPART V, SECTION B, LINE 11: CHIP PLANNING IMPLEMENTED IN 2016
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Facility12FacilityNum

Oth Hlth Care Fclts Not Hospital OthHlthCareFcltsNotHospitalGrp

Oth Hlth Care Fclts OthHlthCareFcltsGrp (12 entries)

Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityUSAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPUSAddress/ZIPCdFacilityFacilityTxt
1 - SUBLIMITY MEDICAL CLINIC
114 SE CHURCH STSUBLIMITYOR97325PHYSICIAN CLINIC
2 - AUMSVILLE MEDICAL CLINIC
205 MAIN STAUMSVILLEOR97325PHYSICIAN CLINIC
3 - SANTIAM MEDICAL CLINIC
280 S FIRST AVENUEMILL CITYOR97360PHYSICIAN CLINIC
4 - CASCADE MEDICAL CLINIC
1375 N 10TH AVENUE STE BSTAYTONOR97383PHYSICIAN CLINIC
5 - SANTIAM PULMONARY CLINIC
1401 N 10TH AVENUE STE BSTAYTONOR97383PHYSICIAN CLINIC
6 - SANTIAM INTERNAL MEDICINE CLINIC
1401 N 10TH AVENUE STE 200STAYTONOR97383PHYSICIAN CLINIC
7 - SANTIAM ORTHOPAEDIC CLINIC
1369 N 10TH AVENUESTAYTONOR97383PHYSICIAN CLINIC
8 - SANTIAM WOMEN'S CLINIC
1373 N 10TH AVENUESTAYTONOR97383PHYSICIAN CLINIC
8 - SANTIAM MEDICAL ASSOCIATES
1401 N 10TH AVENUE STE 100STAYTONOR97383PHYSICIAN CLINIC
9 - SANTIAM GENERAL SURGERY CLINIC
1371 N 10TH AVENUESTAYTONOR97383PHYSICIAN CLINIC
10 - STAYTON FAMILY PRACTICE
1375 N 10TH AVE SUITE ASTAYTONOR97383PHYSICIAN CLINIC
11 - SANTIAM PODIATRY CLINIC
1375 N 10TH AVE SUITE BSTAYTONOR97383PHYSICIAN CLINIC

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (3 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
PART III, LINE 4:[NOTE: SEE PAGES 7-8 OF THE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS]PATIENT ACCOUNTS RECEIVABLE AND ALLOWANCE FOR DOUBTFUL ACCOUNTS:THE COLLECTION OF RECEIVABLES FROM THIRD-PARTY PAYORS AND PATIENTS IS THE HOSPITAL'S PRIMARY SOURCE OF CASH AND IS CRITICAL TO ITS OPERATING PERFORMANCE. WHEN THE HOSPITAL PROVIDES CARE TO PATIENTS, IT DOES NOT REQUIRE COLLATERAL; HOWEVER, IT MAINTAINS AN ESTIMATED ALLOWANCE FOR DOUBTFUL ACCOUNTS. THE PRIMARY COLLECTION RISKS RELATE TO UNINSURED PATIENT ACCOUNTS AND PATIENT ACCOUNTS FOR WHICH THE PRIMARY INSURANCE PAYOR HAS PAID, BUT THE PATIENT IS RESPONSIBLE FOR THE REMAINING AMOUNT OUTSTANDING (GENERALLY DEDUCTIBLES AND CO PAYMENTS). THE HOSPITAL DOES NOT MAINTAIN A SIGNIFICANT ALLOWANCE FOR DOUBTFUL ACCOUNTS RELATED TO PATIENT ACCOUNTS RECEIVABLE FROM THIRD-PARTY PAYORS, NOR HAS IT HISTORICALLY HAD SIGNIFICANT BAD DEBT WRITE-OFFS OF PATIENT ACCOUNTS RECEIVABLE FROM THIRD-PARTY PAYORS. HOWEVER, FOR SERVICES PROVIDED TO PATIENTS WHO HAVE THIRD-PARTY COVERAGE, THE HOSPITAL RECORDS THE RELATED PATIENT SERVICE REVENUE AND PATIENT ACCOUNTS RECEIVABLE NET OF CONTRACTUAL DISCOUNTS AND ALLOWANCES. FOR PATIENT ACCOUNTS RECEIVABLE DUE FROM SELF-PAY PATIENTS - WHICH INCLUDE BOTH PATIENTS WITHOUT INSURANCE AND PATIENTS WITH DEDUCTIBLE AND COPAYMENT BALANCES DUE FOR WHICH THIRD-PARTY COVERAGE EXISTS FOR PART OF THE BILL - THE HOSPITAL RECORDS A SIGNIFICANT ALLOWANCE FOR DOUBTFUL ACCOUNTS. THE ALLOWANCE FOR DOUBTFUL ACCOUNTS IS ESTIMATED BASED PRIMARILY UPON THE HOSPITAL'S HISTORICAL COLLECTION EXPERIENCE, THE AGE OF PATIENTS' ACCOUNTS, MANAGEMENT'S ESTIMATE OF ITS PATIENTS' ECONOMIC ABILITY TO PAY, AND THE EFFECTIVENESS OF COLLECTION EFFORTS. PATIENT ACCOUNTS RECEIVABLE BALANCES ARE ROUTINELY REVIEWED IN CONJUNCTION WITH HISTORICAL COLLECTION RATES AND OTHER ECONOMIC CONDITIONS WHICH MIGHT ULTIMATELY AFFECT THE COLLECTABILITY OF PATIENT ACCOUNTS WHEN CONSIDERING THE ADEQUACY OF THE AMOUNTS RECORDED IN THE ALLOWANCE FOR DOUBTFUL ACCOUNTS. THE DIFFERENCE BETWEEN THE HOSPITAL'S STANDARD RATES (OR THE DISCOUNTED RATES, IF NEGOTIATED) AND THE AMOUNTS ACTUALLY COLLECTED AFTER ALL REASONABLE COLLECTION EFFORTS HAVE BEEN EXHAUSTED IS CHARGED OFF AGAINST THE ALLOWANCE FOR DOUBTFUL ACCOUNTS. RECOVERIES OF AMOUNTS CHARGED OFF ARE ADDED TO THE ALLOWANCE FOR DOUBTFUL ACCOUNTS. ACTUAL WRITE-OFFS HAVE HISTORICALLY BEEN WITHIN MANAGEMENT'S EXPECTATIONS. SIGNIFICANT CHANGES IN PAYOR MIX, BUSINESS OFFICE OPERATIONS, ECONOMIC CONDITIONS, OR TRENDS IN FEDERAL AND STATE GOVERNMENTAL HEALTH CARE COVERAGE COULD AFFECT THE HOSPITAL'S COLLECTION OF PATIENT ACCOUNTS RECEIVABLE, CASH FLOWS, AND RESULTS OF OPERATIONS.SIGNIFICANT CONCENTRATIONS OF GROSS PATIENT ACCOUNTS RECEIVABLE AS OF DECEMBER 31, 2017 AND 2016 WERE APPROXIMATELY AS FOLLOWS: 2017 2016MEDICARE 36% 37%OREGON HEALTH PLAN (OHP) AND MEDICAID 19 18COMMERCIAL INSURANCE AND OTHER THIRD-PARTY PAYORS 31 34SELF-PAY 14 11 100% 100% THE HOSPITAL'S ALLOWANCE FOR DOUBTFUL ACCOUNTS REPRESENTED 54% AND 58% OF GROSS SELF-PAY PATIENT ACCOUNTS RECEIVABLE AS OF DECEMBER 31, 2017 AND 2016, RESPECTIVELY. THE FOLLOWING IS A SUMMARY OF THE ACTIVITY IN THE HOSPITAL'S ALLOWANCE FOR DOUBTFUL ACCOUNTS FOR THE YEARS ENDED DECEMBER 31, 2017 AND 2016: 2017 2016BALANCE - BEGINNING OF YEAR $1,312,000 $1,173,000PROVISION FOR BAD DEBTS 1,940,000 2,015,000ACCOUNTS WRITTEN OFF - NET OF RECOVERIES (1,482,000) (1,876,000)BALANCE - END OF YEAR $1,770,000 $1,312,000
PART III, LINE 9B:FINANCIAL ASSISTANCE IS GRANTED ON A SLIDING SCALE. IF AMOUNT DEEMED TO BE PAYABLE BY THE PATIENT IS DELINQUENT, THE PATIENT IS SENT TO COLLECTION AGENCY FOR THE PORTION OUTSTANDING.
PART VI, LINE 7, REPORTS FILED WITH STATESOR

Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant Records Maintained0GrantRecordsMaintainedInd

Recipient Table RecipientTable

Recipient Business Name RecipientBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1SALEM ART ASSOCIATIONBusinessNameLine1Txt

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1600 MISSION ST NEAddressLine1Txt
CitySALEMCityNm
State AbbreviationORStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP97303ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Recipient EIN930421613RecipientEIN
IRC Section501(C)3IRCSectionDesc
Cash Grant$5,500CashGrantAmt
Purpose Of GrantSPONSORSHIP OF KID'S COURTPurposeOfGrantTxt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total501c3 Org1Total501c3OrgCnt

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Written Employment ContractYes (X)WrittenEmploymentContractInd
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance Payment0SeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr PlanYes (1)SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp Arrngm0EquityBasedCompArrngmInd
Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng Org0CompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd On Rev Related Orgs0CompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng OrgYes (1)CompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd Orgs0CompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd
Any Non Fixed Payments0AnyNonFixedPaymentsInd
Initial Contract Exception0InitialContractExceptionInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (8 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
TERRY FLETCHALL
CEO$243,359$0$30,722$0$13,854$0$41,644$0$12,500$0$342,079$0$0$0
MAGGIE HUDSON
CFO/COO$197,783$0$15,984$0$14,828$0$19,697$0$22,689$0$270,981$0$0$0
SHERRY STEELE
CHIEF NURSING OFFICER$179,690$0$1,246$0$7,144$0$10,856$0$7,971$0$206,907$0$0$0
JOHN HOFFMAN
M.D.$420,209$0$1,246$0$0$0$8,100$0$25,120$0$454,675$0$0$0
JOHN SILVER
M.D.$379,995$0$1,246$0$0$0$8,100$0$19,447$0$408,788$0$0$0
ROBERT MCGREEVY
M.D.$399,998$0$1,246$0$0$0$2,500$0$7,666$0$411,410$0$0$0
KIRSTIN FLOWERS
M.D.$341,633$0$779$0$0$0$0$0$22,689$0$365,101$0$0$0
NICOLAS J STRATTON
M.D.$399,998$0$1,246$0$0$0$8,100$0$19,447$0$428,791$0$0$0

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePART I, LINE 4BFormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationTERRY FLETCHALL, CEO - $25,000 CONTRIBUTED TO 457(B) & 457(F) SUPPLEMENTAL RETIREMENT PLAN IN 2017.ExplanationTxt

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (7 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 6THE HOSPITAL HAS APPROXIMATELY 400 MEMBERS.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 7ATHE HOSPITAL MEMBERS VOTE ON SELECTING THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 11BTHE FORM 990 IS REVIEWED BY THE DIRECTORS AND OFFICERS.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 12CTHE BOARD OF DIRECTORS, KEY EMPLOYEES AND CHIEF OF STAFF ARE REQUIRED TO SIGN AN ANNUAL CONFLICT OF INTEREST STATEMENT ATTESTING TO THEIR COMPLIANCE.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 15SMH USES A THIRD PARTY COMPENSATION AND BENEFIT SERVICE: OLNEY & ASSOCIATES. THE SURVEY PROVIDES DATA ON HOSPITAL KEY EMPLOYEE COMPENSATION AND BENEFITS BASED ON BED SIZE, GEOGRAPHIC REGION, ADMISSIONS AND GROSS REVENUE. THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS REVIEW COMPENSATION AND BENEFITS FOR THE CEO (TERRY FLETCHALL), COO/CFO (MAGGIE HUDSON) AND CHIEF NURSING OFFICER (GENNY BALDWIN). THE CEO'S CONTRACT IS THROUGH THE HOSPITAL APPROVED BY THE BOARD AND THE CHIEF NURSING OFFICER AND COO/CFO CONTRACTS ARE WITH THE HOSPITAL APPROVED BY THE CEO.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION C, LINE 19SANTIAM MEMORIAL HOSPITAL MAKES COPIES OF ITS GOVERNING DOCUMENTS AND AUDITED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS AVAILABLE UPON REQUEST. THE AUDITED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS ARE ALSO AVAILABLE BY CONTACTING THE STATE OF OREGON DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE. THE CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY IS NOT AVAILABLE TO THE PUBLIC.
FORM 990, PART XI, LINE 9:NET LOSS FROM WILLAMETTE VALLEY COMMUNITY HEALTH, LLC K-1 553,661.

Schedule R IRS990ScheduleR

Id Disregarded Entities IdDisregardedEntitiesGrp

Disregarded Entity Name DisregardedEntityName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1SANTIAM MEDICAL GROUP LLCBusinessNameLine1Txt

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line11401 N 10TH AVENUEAddressLine1Txt
CitySTAYTONCityNm
State AbbreviationORStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP97383ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN462570877EIN
Primary ActivitiesTO PROVIDE OUTPATIENT MEDICAL SERVICES AT VARIOUS CLINIC LOCATIONSPrimaryActivitiesTxt
Legal Domicile StateORLegalDomicileStateCd
Total Income$14,246,098TotalIncomeAmt
End Of Year Assets$9,699,111EndOfYearAssetsAmt

Direct Controlling Entity Name DirectControllingEntityName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1SANTIAM MEMORIAL HOSPITALBusinessNameLine1Txt

Id Related Tax Exempt Org IdRelatedTaxExemptOrgGrp (2 entries)

Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityUSAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPUSAddress/ZIPCdEINEINPrimary ActivitiesPrimaryActivitiesTxtLegal Domicile StateLegalDomicileStateCdExempt Code SectionExemptCodeSectionTxtPublic Charity StatusPublicCharityStatusTxtControlled OrganizationControlledOrganizationInd
SANTIAM MEMORIAL HOSPITAL AUXILIARY
1401 N 10TH AVENUESTAYTONOR97383237399406OPERATION OF GIFT SHOP AT THE HOSPITALOR501(C)(3)LINE 30
SANTIAM HEALTHCARE ALLIANCE INC
1401 N 10TH AVENUESTAYTONOR97383HOSPITALOR501(C)(3)LINE 30
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Receipt Of Int Annts Rnts Rylts0ReceiptOfIntAnntsRntsRyltsInd
Gift Grnt Or Cap Contri To Oth Org0GiftGrntOrCapContriToOthOrgInd
Gift Grnt Cap Contri From Oth Org0GiftGrntCapContriFromOthOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees To Other Org0LoansOrGuaranteesToOtherOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees From Oth Org0LoansOrGuaranteesFromOthOrgInd
Div Related Organization0DivRelatedOrganizationInd
Asset Sale To Other Org0AssetSaleToOtherOrgInd
Asset Purchase From Other Org0AssetPurchaseFromOtherOrgInd
Asset Exchange0AssetExchangeInd
Rental Of Facilities To Oth Org0RentalOfFacilitiesToOthOrgInd
Rental Of Fclts From Oth Org0RentalOfFcltsFromOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services For Oth Org0PerformOfServicesForOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services By Other Org0PerformOfServicesByOtherOrgInd
Sharing Of FacilitiesYes (1)SharingOfFacilitiesInd
Paid Employees Sharing0PaidEmployeesSharingInd
Reimbursement Paid To Other Org0ReimbursementPaidToOtherOrgInd
Reimbursement Paid By Other Org0ReimbursementPaidByOtherOrgInd
Transfer To Other Org0TransferToOtherOrgInd
Transfer From Other Org0TransferFromOtherOrgInd

Transactions Related Org TransactionsRelatedOrgGrp

Other Organization Name OtherOrganizationName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1SANTIAM MEMORIAL HOSPITAL AUXILIARYBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Transaction TypeNTransactionTypeTxt

Comments

Anonymous: no account or email. Up to 2,000 characters, at most one link. Comments are checked automatically; some wait for review.