MICHIGAN ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE ASSOCIATION: Form 990, tax year 2018

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
MICHIGAN ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE ASSOCIATION (EIN 38-2214287)
Tax period
2018-01-01 to 2018-12-31
Filed
2019-06-13
IRS object ID
201941649349300724
Schema version
2018v3.1
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2019-06-13T13:04:55-05:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2018-12-31TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN450250958PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1EIDE BAILLY LLPBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line14310 17TH AVE S PO BOX 2545AddressLine1Txt
CityFARGOCityNm
State AbbreviationNDStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP581082545ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2018-01-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN382214287EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Michigan Electric CooperativeBusinessNameLine1Txt
Business Name Line2AssociationBusinessNameLine2Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlMICHBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone5173516322PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1201 Townsend St No 900AddressLine1Txt
CityLansingCityNm
State AbbreviationMIStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP48933ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonCraig BorrPersonNm
Person TitlePresident/CEOPersonTitleTxt
Phone5173516322PhoneNum
Signature2019-06-05SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (1)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonLISA CHAFFEE CPAPreparerPersonNm
PTINP00193453PTIN
Phone7012398500PhoneNum
Preparation2019-06-05PreparationDt

Filing Security Information FilingSecurityInformation

IP Address IPAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
I Pv4 Address199.247.42.214IPv4AddressTxt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
IP2019-06-05IPDt
IP Tm13:25:25IPTm
IP TimezoneCDIPTimezoneCd
Filing License TypePFilingLicenseTypeCd
At Submission Creation Device Id66CC91E6B7F11C4783FFFA5645E675327CB67316AtSubmissionCreationDeviceId
At Submission Filing Device Id3F1B4C4A1C1F32CA3CD03C05270CE62742EA9E6EAtSubmissionFilingDeviceId
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2018TaxYr
Build TS2019-02-21 02:37:17ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerCraig BorrPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1201 Townsend St No 900AddressLine1Txt
CityLansingCityNm
State AbbreviationMIStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP48933ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$3,115,070GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For Affiliates0GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501cYes (X)Organization501cInd
Website Addresswww.meca.coopWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1978FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateMILegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionTo promote and serve the needs of the member cooperatives.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body20VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent20VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee5TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers22TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$83,250TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm-$3,340NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$0PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$0CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$3,066,583PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$3,108,456CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$3,647PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$6,569CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$0PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$0CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$3,070,230PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$3,115,025CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$0PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$0CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$0PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$932,936PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$976,220CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$0CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$2,004,262PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$2,008,283CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$2,937,198PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$2,984,503CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$133,032PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$130,522CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$1,792,816TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$2,229,877TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$1,084,020TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$1,390,559TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$708,796NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$839,318NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
Info In Schedule O Part IIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartIIIInd
MissionTo promote and serve the needs of the member cooperatives.MissionDesc
Significant New Program Srvc0SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant Change0SignificantChangeInd
DescGENERAL MEMBERSHIP DUES:Represent the legislative and regulatory interests of Michigan's electric cooperatives with a unified message that ensures their ability to provide safe, reliable and affordable electricity to member-consumers. Develop and implement strategic communications that advance cooperative priorities and member-consumer engagement.Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty2 ProgSrvcAccomActy2Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescPUBLICATIONS:Create and publish Michigan Country Lines magazine 10 times annually in partnership with Michigan's electric cooperatives to advance cooperative priorities and member-consumer engagement.Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty3 ProgSrvcAccomActy3Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescSAFETY/LOSS SERVICES:Empower the safety culture of Michigan's electric cooperatives and utility partners through a comprehensive safety program.Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty Other ProgSrvcAccomActyOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescENERGY EFFICIENCY PROGRAMS:Facilitate the collaborative implementation of energy initiatives on behalf of Michigan's electric cooperatives.EDUCATION/TRAINING PROGRAMS:Coordinate education and training resources for Michigan's electric cooperative directors, managers, employees and future leaders.Desc
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Described In Section501c30DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B Required0ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign Acty0PoliticalCampaignActyInd
Subject To Proxy TaxYes (1)SubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised Fund0DonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation Easements0ConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of Art0CollectionsOfArtInd
Credit CounselingYes (1)CreditCounselingInd
Temp Or Permanent Endowments0TempOrPermanentEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (1)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other Sec0ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related Invst0ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other Assets0ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other Liabilities0ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (1)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt0ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School Operating0SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign Office0ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign Activities0ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To Org0MoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To Individuals0MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional Fundraising0ProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising Activities0FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming Activities0GamingActivitiesInd
Operate Hospital0OperateHospitalInd
Grants To Organizations0GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To Individuals0GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (1)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt Bonds0TaxExemptBondsInd
Loan Outstanding0LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related Person0GrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org Mem0BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam Mem0BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With Officer Ent0BusinessRlnWithOfficerEntInd
Deductible Non Cash Contri0DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art Contribution0DeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate Operations0TerminateOperationsInd
Partial Liquidation0PartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded Entity0DisregardedEntityInd
Related Entity0RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl Ent0RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Activities Conducted Prtshp0ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (1)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document18IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (1)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee5EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (1)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over LimitYes (1)UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Form990 T FiledYes (1)Form990TFiledInd
Foreign Financial Account0ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans0ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party Notification0TaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible Contributions0NondeductibleContributionsInd
Indoor Tanning Services0IndoorTanningServicesInd
Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht Pymt0SubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd
Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst Inc0SubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members20GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member20IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business RlnYes (1)FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt DutiesYes (1)DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org Documents0ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or Misuse0MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or StockholdersYes (1)MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersYes (1)ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To ApprovaYes (1)DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (1)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of Committees0MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing Address0OfficerMailingAddressInd
Local Chapters0LocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (1)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (1)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (1)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (1)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (1)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (1)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEO0CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process Other0CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint Venture0InvestmentInJointVentureInd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Homeworks Tri-County Electric CooperativeBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Phone5176477554PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line17973 E Grand River AvenueAddressLine1Txt
CityPortlandCityNm
State AbbreviationMIStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP48875ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part VIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIIInd
No Listed Persons CompensatedYes (X)NoListedPersonsCompensatedInd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (28 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd
Bob Kran
Chair1.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
Mark Kappler
Vice Chair1.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
Eric Baker
Secretary/Treasurer1.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
Tom Harrell
Director1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Darryl Small
Director1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Tony Anderson
Director1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
John Olson
Director1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Bill Scott
Director1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Corinna Batora
Director (Jun-Dec)1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Bob Hance
Director1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Fred Turk
Director1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Calvin Koski
Director1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Debbie Miles
Director1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Sandy Borowicz
Director1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Tom Sobeck
Director1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Dallas Braun
Director1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Randy Dhyse
Director (Mar-Dec)1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Terry Lautner
Director (Jun-Dec)1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Kim Molitor
Director1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Terry Pahl
Director1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Luke Pohl
Director (Jan-May)1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Dale Ferrier
Director (Jan-May)1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Louis Wenzlaff
Director (Jan-Feb)1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Craig Borr
President/CEO40.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Art Thayer
Director of Energy Efficiency43.50$143,164$0$44,419Yes (X)
Doug Snitgen
Executive Vice President44.70$142,289$0$45,207Yes (X)
Jerrold McElroy
Director of Safety & Loss Control51.40$144,280$0$63,274Yes (X)
Casey Clark
Director of Communications45.60$130,237$0$28,992Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$559,970TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$181,892TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K4IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees Listed0FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (1)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other Srcs0CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (4 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
The Freeport Press Inc
2127 Reiser Ave SENew PhiladelphiaOH44663Printing/Publishing$398,404
Wolverine Power Supply Cooperative
10125 W Watergate RdCadillacMI49601Management Services$348,000
Dykema-Gossett PLLC
201 Townsend St Suite 900LansingMI48893Law Firm$146,760
Susan Schlaybaugh
3460 Sawgrass CircleLansingMI48911Lobbyist$126,931
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K4CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (5 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmtUnrelated Business RevenueUnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
General Membership Due900099$1,244,883$1,244,883
Publications511120$932,238$848,988$83,250
Safety/Loss Services900099$592,969$592,969
Energy Efficiency Prog900099$249,475$249,475
Education Training Pro611710$87,466$87,466

Total Oth Program Service Rev TotalOthProgramServiceRevGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$1,425TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$1,425RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$3,108,456TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$6,614TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$6,614ExclusionAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other$45OtherAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other-$45OtherAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column-$45TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion-$45ExclusionAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$3,115,025TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$3,025,206RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$83,250UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$6,569ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part IXYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartIXInd

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$976,220TotalAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$50,196TotalAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$46,988TotalAmt

Fees For Services Lobbying FeesForServicesLobbyingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$126,994TotalAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$531,946TotalAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,000TotalAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$810,226TotalAmt

Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$32,325TotalAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$39,599TotalAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$153,584TotalAmt

Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$78,046TotalAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$8,125TotalAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$11,681TotalAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (3 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmt
Youth Programs$49,508
Membership Dues$28,466
Workshops$23,938

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$13,661TotalAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,984,503TotalAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,498,918BOYAmt
EOY$1,973,307EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,554BOYAmt
EOY$160EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$271,481BOYAmt
EOY$241,802EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$38,359LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$31,873LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$11,575BOYAmt
EOY$6,486EOYAmt

Investments Program Related InvestmentsProgramRelatedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$7,288BOYAmt
EOY$8,122EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,792,816BOYAmt
EOY$2,229,877EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$134,733BOYAmt
EOY$168,875EOYAmt

Deferred Revenue DeferredRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EOY$344,455EOYAmt

Escrow Account Liability EscrowAccountLiabilityGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$949,287BOYAmt
EOY$877,229EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,084,020BOYAmt
EOY$1,390,559EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Organization Follows SFAS117Yes (X)OrganizationFollowsSFAS117Ind

Unrestricted Net Assets UnrestrictedNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$708,796BOYAmt
EOY$839,318EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$708,796BOYAmt
EOY$839,318EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,792,816BOYAmt
EOY$2,229,877EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$130,522ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets$0OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or Review0AccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (1)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Separate Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (1)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit Required0FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd

Schedule C IRS990ScheduleC

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Substantially All Dues NondedYes (1)SubstantiallyAllDuesNondedInd
Only In House Lobbying0OnlyInHouseLobbyingInd
Agree Carryover Prior Year0AgreeCarryoverPriorYearInd

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Agent Trustee Etc0AgentTrusteeEtcInd
Incl Escrow Custodial Acct LiabYes (1)InclEscrowCustodialAcctLiabInd
Explanation ProvidedYes (X)ExplanationProvidedInd

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$38,359OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$31,873DepreciationAmt
Book Value$6,486BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$6,486TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$3,115,025TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Revenue Not Reported$0RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$3,115,025RevenueSubtotalAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$0RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$3,115,025TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$2,984,503TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Expenses Not Reported$0ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$2,984,503ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$0ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$2,984,503TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Part IV, Line 2b:The Association acts as the custodian for funds of members for the purpose of facilitating transactions at the discretion of those members in the amount of $877,229 for the year ending December 31, 2018. The Association entered into an agreement to act as the billing agent on behalf of members with respect to the Energy Optimization program mandated by Michigan Public Act 295 of 2008. The Association acts strictly in an agency capacity and therefore no revenue or expense is reflected in the financial statements under this program.
Part X, Line 2:A tax-exempt status was granted to the Association by the Internal Revenue Service in 1978. However, under current tax laws, the Association is liable for federal and state income taxes on advertising and other business income unrelated to its exempt status. The Association files an Exempt Organization Business Income Tax Return (Form 990-T) with the IRS to report its unrelated business taxable income. The Association has net operating losses related to business income unrelated to its exempt purpose totaling $699,773 and $698,522 as of December 31, 2018 and 2017, respectively. These net operating losses expire from 2019 through 2037. As of December 31, 2018 and 2017, the unrecognized tax benefit accrual was zero. The Association will recognize future accrued interest and penalties related to unrecognized tax benefits in income tax expense if incurred.

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Club Dues Or FeesYes (X)ClubDuesOrFeesInd
Written Policy Ref T And E ExpnssYes (1)WrittenPolicyRefTAndEExpnssInd
Substantiation RequiredYes (1)SubstantiationRequiredInd
Severance Payment0SeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr Plan0SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp Arrngm0EquityBasedCompArrngmInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (4 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
Art Thayer
Director of Energy Efficiency$139,596$0$0$0$3,568$0$38,435$0$5,984$0$187,583$0$0$0
Doug Snitgen
Executive Vice President$142,000$0$0$0$289$0$30,289$0$17,077$0$189,655$0$0$0
Jerrold McElroy
Director of Safety & Loss Control$143,400$0$0$0$880$0$37,304$0$27,694$0$209,278$0$0$0
Casey Clark
Director of Communications$130,000$0$0$0$237$0$14,233$0$16,749$0$161,219$0$0$0

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (3 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Part I, Line 1aPolicy states as part of MECA's Health and Wellness cost sharing plan, MECA covers 75% of membership dues for an individual employee to join a health club, up to a maximum of $75.00 per month.
Part I, Line 3The services of the President/CEO are provided to the Association under a management services agreement with Wolverine Power Cooperative, one of its member cooperatives. The filing organization relies on Wolverine Power Cooperative to determine the compensation for the President/CEO. They use a compensation committee, the written employment contract, compensation survey and approval by the board or compensation committee to determine his compensation.
Schedule J, Part II, Column C, Deferred CompensationThe estimated current year increase in the actuarial value of the defined benefit plan is included in other compensation for employees listed in Part II of Schedule J. These amounts do not represent any current year contributions to the plan. They are estimates of the increase in the actuarial value of the plans received from the NRECA. The current year expense and the increase in actuarial value for each employee are reflected in the statement on the Schedule O for Form 990, Part VII, Column F.

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (13 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Form 990, Part VI, Section A, line 1The Executive Committee consists of the Chairman, Vice-Chairman, and Secretary-Treasurer of the Association. Although the Bylaws give the authority to the Executive Committee to act on behalf of the full governing Board during intervals between the meetings of the Board, the Executive Committee currently is only providing recommendations to the full Board.
Form 990, Part VI, Section A, line 2Kimberly Molitor, Eric Baker and Craig Borr have a business relationship.
Form 990, Part VI, Section A, line 3The services of the President/CEO are provided to the Association under a management services agreement with Wolverine Power Supply Cooperative, Inc, one of its member cooperatives. This annual management services agreement outlines the responsibilities and duties of the President/CEO, as well as the proposed costs for his services to the Association. The President/CEO's compensation is included in the management services figure to Wolverine Power Supply Cooperative, Inc. listed in Part VII, Section B.
Form 990, Part VI, Section A, line 6The organization has members of which each member has one voting right.
Form 990, Part VI, Section A, line 7aEach corporate member shall be entitled to two representatives on the Board of Directors. Such representatives shall be nominated by the board of the corporate member, subject to election by a majority of the votes cast at the annual meeting of the members.
Form 990, Part VI, Section A, line 7bAt all meetings of the members at which a quorum is present, all questions shall be decided by a vote of a majority of the members delegates voting thereon except as otherwise provided by law, the articles of incorporation or the bylaws. Each member shall be entitled to only two votes upon each matter submitted to a vote at a meeting of the members.
Form 990, Part VI, Section A, line 8bNo Committee acted on behalf of the board.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 11bThe 990 is received and reviewed for accuracy by the Executive Vice President, Reporting Agent and President/CEO. Upon approval, it is provided to the entire Board of Directors for its review and discussion, as needed, at a regularly scheduled meeting. After any concerns presented by the Board of Directors are addressed, the President/CEO signs and files the return.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 12cThe conflict of interest policy is reviewed annually. All directors are required to disclose any conflicts of interest and to notify the Board of any conflicts that may arise throughout the year. The Board will then determine if a conflict does exist and how to proceed.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 15The services of the President/CEO are provided to the Association under a management services agreement with one of its member cooperatives. This management services agreement outlines the responsibilities and duties of the President/CEO as well as the proposed costs for his services to the Association for the contract term. The managment contract that was in effect for 2017 was approved by the Association's Board of Directors in June 2015. The current management services contract was approved by the Association's Board of Directors in June 2017 and runs for a three-year period (2018-2020). As the President/CEO is an employee of one of the association's member cooperatives, salary and related compensation is annually reported on the Form 990 of that member cooperative. The annual salary of the President/CEO is set by the member cooperative based upon survey information provided by the National Rural Electric Cooperative Association (NRECA) for similar association positions throughout the country.
Form 990, Part VI, Section C, line 19The governing documents are available online at www.meca.coop. Conflict of interest policy, and financial statements are available upon request.
Form 990, Part VII, Section A, Column (F)Included in column "f", estimated amount of other compensation, is the estimated annual increase in the actuarial value of the defined benefit plan. This amount is an estimate in the increase of the value of the plan and is not a current year expense of the cooperative. The estimated increase for the individuals reported on Part VII are as follows: Art Thayer $34,945 Doug Snitgen $26,738 Jerrold McElroy $33,741 Casey Clark $10,983 The current year expense for this defined benefit plan was as follows: Art Thayer $25,362 Doug Snitgen $25,269 Jerrold McElroy $24,154 Casey Clark $22,946
Form 990, Part IX, line 11gOutside Contractor - General 402,979. Outside Contractor - LC&S 18,694. Outside Contractor - Country Lines 98,520. Outside Contractor - EO 3,415. Outside Contract Service - International 8,338.

Comments

Anonymous: no account or email. Up to 2,000 characters, at most one link. Comments are checked automatically; some wait for review.