OHIO SOCIETY OF CERTIFIED PUBLIC ACCOUNTANTS: Form 990, tax year 2017

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
OHIO SOCIETY OF CERTIFIED PUBLIC ACCOUNTANTS (EIN 31-4378053)
Tax period
2017-05-01 to 2018-04-30
Filed
2019-03-15
IRS object ID
201930749349300738
Schema version
2017v2.3
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2019-03-15T12:13:24-05:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2018-04-30TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN251408703PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1SCHNEIDER DOWNS & CO INCBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line165 E STATE ST STE 2000AddressLine1Txt
CityCOLUMBUSCityNm
State AbbreviationOHStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP43215ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2017-05-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN314378053EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1OHIO SOCIETY OF CERTIFIED PUBLICBusinessNameLine1Txt
Business Name Line2ACCOUNTANTSBusinessNameLine2Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlOHIOBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone6147642727PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line14949 EASTON WAY NO 150AddressLine1Txt
CityCOLUMBUSCityNm
State AbbreviationOHStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP43219ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonSCOTT WILEYPersonNm
Person TitlePRESIDENT & CEOPersonTitleTxt
Phone6147642727PhoneNum
Signature2019-03-14SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (1)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonEUGENE J LOGANPreparerPersonNm
PTINP00227231PTIN
Phone6146214060PhoneNum

Filing Security Information FilingSecurityInformation

IP Address IPAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
I Pv4 Address151.181.66.80IPv4AddressTxt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
IP2019-03-14IPDt
IP Tm16:19:13IPTm
IP TimezoneEDIPTimezoneCd
Filing License TypePFilingLicenseTypeCd
At Submission Creation Device IdA466B42883BBDF54EF8E031335838E1A0C242FE9AtSubmissionCreationDeviceId
At Submission Filing Device IdA466B42883BBDF54EF8E031335838E1A0C242FE9AtSubmissionFilingDeviceId
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2017TaxYr
Build TS2019-02-21 02:37:17ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerSCOTT WILEYPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line14949 EASTON WAY NO 150AddressLine1Txt
CityCOLUMBUSCityNm
State AbbreviationOHStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP43219ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$8,105,257GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For Affiliates0GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501cYes (X)Organization501cInd
Website AddressWWW.OHIOCPA.COMWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1903FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateOHLegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionTO EMPOWER CPAS AND RELATED PROFESSIONAL TO DRIVE VALUE AS TRUSTED BUSINESS ADVISORS BY FOSTERING PROFESSIONAL EXCELLENCE AND INTEGRITY, BUILDING COMMUNITY AND ADVOCATING FOR MEMBERS AND THOSE THEY SERVE.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body15VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent15VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee94TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers376TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$16,179TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm-$49,777NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$0PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$0CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$8,773,060PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$7,942,233CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$124,634PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$19,650CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$177,993PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$143,374CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$9,075,687PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$8,105,257CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$0PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$0CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$0PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$4,723,145PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$4,967,372CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$0CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$4,313,000PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$3,484,396CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$9,036,145PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$8,451,768CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$39,542PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses-$346,511CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$9,106,519TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$8,316,670TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$4,968,952TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$4,130,823TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$4,137,567NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$4,185,847NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
MissionTO EMPOWER CPAS AND RELATED PROFESSIONAL TO DRIVE VALUE AS TRUSTED BUSINESS ADVISORS BY FOSTERING PROFESSIONAL EXCELLENCE AND INTEGRITY, BUILDING COMMUNITY AND ADVOCATING FOR MEMBERS AND THOSE THEY SERVE.MissionDesc
Significant New Program Srvc0SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant Change0SignificantChangeInd
DescCONTINUING PROFESSIONAL EDUCATION PROGRAM PROVIDES TRAINING TO ASSIST MEMBERS IN DEVELOPING AND MAINTAINING PROFESSIONAL COMPETENCE.Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty2 ProgSrvcAccomActy2Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescPEER REVIEW PROGRAM MONITORS PROFESSIONAL PERFORMANCE TO ASSIST MEMBERS IN PROVIDING QUALITY PROFESSIONAL SERVICES TO THE PUBLIC.Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty3 ProgSrvcAccomActy3Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescMEMBERSHIP PROGRAM PROMOTES NETWORKING AMOUNT 20,000 PLUS MEMBERS AND AFFILIATES ACROSS OHIO WHILE ALSO PROTECTING THE INTEGRITY OF THE PROFESSION AND SERVING AS A TRUSTED SOURCE OF NEWS AND INFORMATION ON PROFESSIONAL AND BUSINESS ISSUES.Desc
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Described In Section501c30DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B Required0ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign ActyYes (1)PoliticalCampaignActyInd
Subject To Proxy TaxYes (1)SubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised Fund0DonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation Easements0ConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of Art0CollectionsOfArtInd
Credit Counseling0CreditCounselingInd
Temp Or Permanent Endowments0TempOrPermanentEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (1)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other Sec0ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related Invst0ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other Assets0ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (1)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (1)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl Stmt0IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School Operating0SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign Office0ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign Activities0ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To Org0MoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To Individuals0MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional Fundraising0ProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising Activities0FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming Activities0GamingActivitiesInd
Operate Hospital0OperateHospitalInd
Grants To Organizations0GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To Individuals0GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (1)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt Bonds0TaxExemptBondsInd
Loan Outstanding0LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related Person0GrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org Mem0BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam Mem0BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With Officer Ent0BusinessRlnWithOfficerEntInd
Deductible Non Cash Contri0DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art Contribution0DeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate Operations0TerminateOperationsInd
Partial Liquidation0PartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded Entity0DisregardedEntityInd
Related EntityYes (1)RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl Ent0RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Activities Conducted Prtshp0ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (1)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document79IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (1)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee94EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (1)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over LimitYes (1)UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Form990 T FiledYes (1)Form990TFiledInd
Foreign Financial Account0ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans0ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party Notification0TaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible Contributions0NondeductibleContributionsInd
Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0RcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0PayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Indoor Tanning Services0IndoorTanningServicesInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members15GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member15IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business Rln0FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt Duties0DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org Documents0ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or Misuse0MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or StockholdersYes (1)MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersYes (1)ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To ApprovaYes (1)DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (1)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (1)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing Address0OfficerMailingAddressInd
Local Chapters0LocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (1)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (1)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (1)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (1)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (1)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (1)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (1)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process Other0CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint Venture0InvestmentInJointVentureInd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonSCOTT WILEYPersonNm
Phone6147642727PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line14249 EASTON WAY STE 150AddressLine1Txt
CityCOLUMBUSCityNm
State AbbreviationOHStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP43219ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (24 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtAverage Hours Per Week Rltd OrgAverageHoursPerWeekRltdOrgRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtKey EmployeeKeyEmployeeIndHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd
SANDRA RICHTERMEYER
CHAIR1.000.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
OWEN WYSS
VICE CHAIR, FINANCE1.000.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
JOHN VENTURELLA
CHAIR-ELECT1.000.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
WILLIAM CHORBA
PAST CHAIR1.000.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
MARIE BRILMYER
DIRECTOR1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
LIBBY CULLINS
DIRECTOR1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
PAUL DAVISON
DIRECTOR1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MICHAEL ELLIOTT
DIRECTOR1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
CRYSTAL FAULKNER
DIRECTOR1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
DARLENE FINZER
DIRECTOR1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
LORI KAISER
DIRECTOR1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
DONALD MELLOTT
DIRECTOR1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
JAMIE MENGES
DIRECTOR1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
RUSSELL MEYER
DIRECTOR1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
PAUL NUNGESTER
DIRECTOR1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
SCOTT WILEY
PRESIDENT & CEO50.001.00Yes (X)$450,067$0$35,244
KYLE BICKHART
CFO50.00Yes (X)$176,461$0$9,996
BARBARA BENTON
VP, GOV'T RELATIONS50.00$206,799$0$39,789Yes (X)
LAURA HAY
EXECUTIVE VP50.00$232,103$0$27,025Yes (X)
AMY BONACUSE
VP, COMMUNICATIONS50.00$144,253$0$16,321Yes (X)
JOSHUA GOLDMAN
VP, LEARNING50.00$132,650$0$9,493Yes (X)
DENISE ISON-MILLER
DIRECTOR, EMPLOYER EXPERIENCE50.00$101,967$0$13,204Yes (X)
SUZANNE MCCANN
DIRECTOR, MEMBERSHIP EXPERIENCE50.00$100,582$0$12,218Yes (X)
GREGORY SAUL
DIRECTOR, TAX POLICY50.00$105,403$0$10,312Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$1,650,285TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$173,602TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K9IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees Listed0FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (1)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other Srcs0CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K0CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (5 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmtUnrelated Business RevenueUnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
MEMBERSHIP DUES900099$4,623,244$4,623,244
CONTINUING PROFESSIONA900099$2,745,558$2,745,558
CPA PEER REVIEW FEES900099$377,213$377,213
PUBLICATIONS541800$99,863$87,734$12,129
EXHIBIT FEES900099$96,355$96,355
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$7,942,233TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$19,650TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$19,650ExclusionAmt

Royalties Revenue RoyaltiesRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$62,459TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$62,459ExclusionAmt

Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp (2 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmtUnrelated Business RevenueUnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
OTHER REVIEW900099$76,865$76,865
WEB ADVERTISING541800$4,050$4,050
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total$80,915OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$8,105,257TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$8,006,969RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$16,179UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$82,109ExclusionAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,086,013TotalAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,994,342TotalAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$126,562TotalAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$486,757TotalAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$273,698TotalAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$36,744TotalAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$33,537TotalAmt

Fees For Srvc Invst Mgmnt Fees FeesForSrvcInvstMgmntFeesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$18,856TotalAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$47,638TotalAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$106,097TotalAmt

Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$246,084TotalAmt

Royalties RoyaltiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$194,274TotalAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$346,172TotalAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$193,689TotalAmt

Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$79,753TotalAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$190,839TotalAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$39,233TotalAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmt
CONTINUING PROFESSIONAL$1,243,860
GOVERNMENTAL AFFAIRS$185,380
CREDIT CARD FEES$141,274
PEER REVIEW PROGRAM EXP$102,373

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$278,593TotalAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$8,451,768TotalAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,982,282BOYAmt
EOY$1,450,164EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$783,925BOYAmt
EOY$784,685EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$584,632BOYAmt
EOY$58,461EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$324,197BOYAmt
EOY$358,419EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$2,883,291LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$2,153,086LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$904,799BOYAmt
EOY$730,205EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$4,526,684BOYAmt
EOY$4,934,736EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$9,106,519BOYAmt
EOY$8,316,670EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,418,735BOYAmt
EOY$932,759EOYAmt

Deferred Revenue DeferredRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,933,155BOYAmt
EOY$2,694,858EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$617,062BOYAmt
EOY$503,206EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$4,968,952BOYAmt
EOY$4,130,823EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Organization Follows SFAS117Yes (X)OrganizationFollowsSFAS117Ind

Unrestricted Net Assets UnrestrictedNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$4,137,567BOYAmt
EOY$4,185,847EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$4,137,567BOYAmt
EOY$4,185,847EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$9,106,519BOYAmt
EOY$8,316,670EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss-$346,511ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst$394,791NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets$0OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or Review0AccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (1)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Consolidated Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)ConsolidatedBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (1)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit Required0FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd

Schedule C IRS990ScheduleC

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Political Expenditures$13,916PoliticalExpendituresAmt
Expended527 Activities$13,916Expended527ActivitiesAmt
Total Exempt Function Expend$13,916TotalExemptFunctionExpendAmt
Form1120 POL Filed0Form1120POLFiledInd

Section527 Political Org Section527PoliticalOrgGrp

Organization Business Name OrganizationBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1OHIO CPA PACBusinessNameLine1Txt

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line14249 EASTON WAY STE 150AddressLine1Txt
CityCOLUMBUSCityNm
State AbbreviationOHStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP43219ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN311271118EIN
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Substantially All Dues Nonded0SubstantiallyAllDuesNondedInd
Only In House Lobbying0OnlyInHouseLobbyingInd
Agree Carryover Prior YearYes (1)AgreeCarryoverPriorYearInd
Dues Assessments$4,623,244DuesAssessmentsAmt
Non Deductible Lbbyng Pltcl CY$568,269NonDeductibleLbbyngPltclCYAmt
Non Deductible Lbbyng Pltcl Tot$568,269NonDeductibleLbbyngPltclTotAmt
Aggregate Reported Dues Ntc$554,789AggregateReportedDuesNtcAmt
Carried Over$13,480CarriedOverAmt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePART I-A, LINE 1:FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationTHE SOCIETY PUBLISHES AN ENDORSEMENT GUIDE TO INFORM MEMBERS OF CANDIDATES WHO SUPPORT CONCERNS OF CERTIFIED PUBLIC ACCOUNTANTS AND THE BUSINESS COMMUNITY.ExplanationTxt

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

Leasehold Improvements LeaseholdImprovementsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$319,762OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$100,923DepreciationAmt
Book Value$218,839BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$1,741,682OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$1,602,434DepreciationAmt
Book Value$139,248BookValueAmt

Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$821,847OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$449,729DepreciationAmt
Book Value$372,118BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$730,205TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescPENSION LIABILITYDesc
Amt$503,206Amt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$503,206TotalLiabilityAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$8,481,000TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Net Unrealized Gains Invst$394,790NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt
Revenue Not Reported$394,790RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$8,086,210RevenueSubtotalAmt
Investment Expenses Not Incld$18,856InvestmentExpensesNotIncldAmt
Other Revenues Not Included$191OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$19,047RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$8,105,257TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$8,433,000TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Other Expenses Included$88OtherExpensesIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Reported$88ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$8,432,912ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Investment Expenses Not Incld2$18,856InvestmentExpensesNotIncld2Amt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$18,856ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$8,451,768TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (4 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
PART X, LINE 2:THE ORGANIZATION HAS NOT IDENTIFIED ANY MATERIAL UNCERTAIN TAX POSITIONS REQUIRING AN ACCRUAL OR DISCLOSURE IN THE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS. THERE WERE NO INTEREST OR PENALTIES RECOGNIZED IN THE CONSOLIDATED STATEMENTS OF ACTIVITIES AND CHANGE IN NET ASSETS FOR THE YEARS ENDED APRIL 30, 2018 AND 2017 RELATED TO UNCERTAIN TAX POSITIONS. THE ORGANIZATION IS NO LONGER SUBJECT TO U.S. FEDERAL OR STATE TAX EXAMINATIONS FOR FISCAL YEARS PRIOR TO 2015.
PART XI, LINE 4B - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:ROUNDING 191.
PART XII, LINE 2D - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:ROUNDING 88.
PART XII, LINE 4B - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:ROUNDING

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Club Dues Or FeesYes (X)ClubDuesOrFeesInd
Written Policy Ref T And E ExpnssYes (1)WrittenPolicyRefTAndEExpnssInd
Substantiation RequiredYes (1)SubstantiationRequiredInd
Compensation CommitteeYes (X)CompensationCommitteeInd
Independent ConsultantYes (X)IndependentConsultantInd
Written Employment ContractYes (X)WrittenEmploymentContractInd
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance Payment0SeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr PlanYes (1)SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp Arrngm0EquityBasedCompArrngmInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (5 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
SCOTT WILEY
PRESIDENT & CEO$365,189$0$83,000$0$1,878$0$18,840$0$16,404$0$485,311$0$0$0
KYLE BICKHART
CFO$161,137$0$15,000$0$324$0$5,613$0$4,383$0$186,457$0$0$0
BARBARA BENTON
VP, GOV'T RELATIONS$197,971$0$5,970$0$2,858$0$29,905$0$9,884$0$246,588$0$0$0
LAURA HAY
EXECUTIVE VP$210,302$0$20,890$0$911$0$18,451$0$8,574$0$259,128$0$0$0
AMY BONACUSE
VP, COMMUNICATIONS$139,284$0$4,170$0$799$0$8,759$0$7,562$0$160,574$0$0$0

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
PART I, LINE 1ATHE SOCIETY PAID DUES TO A SOCIAL CLUB ON BEHALF OF SCOTT WILEY. HE USED THE CLUB FOR BUSINESS PURPOSES 100% OF THE TIME. NO TAXABLE INCOME WAS REPORTED FOR THIS BENEFIT.
PART I, LINE 4BBARBARA BENTON PARTICIPATED IN THE OHIO CPA SUPPLEMENTAL RETIREMENT/DEFERRED COMPENSATION PLAN. SHE RECEIVED CONTRIBUTIONS OF $13,186 DURING THE YEAR.

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (7 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 6THE SOCIETY ACCEPTS AS A MEMBER ANY INDIVIDUAL HOLDING A VALID CERTIFIED PUBLIC ACCOUNTANT CERTIFICATE UNDER THE LAWS OF ANY U.S. STATE, DISTRICT OR TERRITORY. MEMBERS HAVE VOTING RIGHTS. THE SOCIETY ALSO HAS AFFILIATE MEMBERS IN VARIOUS CLASSES. AFFILIATE MEMBERS ARE NOT PERMITTED TO VOTE ON SOCIETY MATTERS.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 7AALL DUES-PAYING MEMBERS (NOT AFFILIATE MEMBERS) HAVE THE RIGHT TO VOTE AND TO SERVE AS ELECTED MEMBERS OF THE EXECUTIVE BOARD AND AS OFFICERS OF THE SOCIETY.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 7BTHE MEMBERS MUST APPROVE ANY AMENDMENTS TO THE SOCIETY'S BYLAWS.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 11BALL FILINGS FOR THE OSCPA, THE OHIO CPA FOUNDATION AND THE OHIO CPA POLITICAL ACTION COMMITTEE MUST OCCUR PRIOR TO THE IRS FILING DUE DATES (INCLUDING ANY APPROVED EXTENSIONS). PRIOR TO THE ANNUAL FILING, THE FORMS ARE ROUTED THROUGH THE AUDIT COMMITTEE FIRST (INCLUDING THE VICE-CHAIR OF FINANCE) FOR THEIR REVIEW AND APPROVAL. THEN THE FORMS ARE POSTED TO THE EXECUTIVE BOARD WEBSITE FOR TWO WEEKS WITH NOTIFICATION TO THE BOARD THAT THEY ARE POSTED AND THE EXPECTED FILING DATE. FOLLOWING THIS TWO-WEEK PERIOD, THE FORMS ARE REMOVED FROM THE SITE AND FILED WITH THE IRS.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 12CTHE SOCIETY MONITORS CONFLICTS OF INTEREST THROUGH THE ANNUAL DISCLOSURE STATEMENT MADE BY OFFICERS AND DIRECTORS. WHEN A CONFLICT ARISES THE INDIVIDUAL IS NOT PERMITTED TO PARTICIPATE IN THE DISCUSSION OF THE TRANSACTION OR VOTE ON THE MATTER.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 15AA COMMITTEE OF THE EXECUTIVE BOARD APPROVES THE COMPENSATION OF THE PRESIDENT. EACH BOARD MEMBER IS INDEPENDENT OF THE PRESIDENT.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION C, LINE 19THE SOCIETY MAKES ITS GOVERNING DOCUMENTS, FINANCIAL STATEMENTS, AND CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY AVAILABLE TO THE GENERAL PUBLIC UPON REQUEST.

Schedule R IRS990ScheduleR

Id Related Tax Exempt Org IdRelatedTaxExemptOrgGrp (2 entries)

Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityUSAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPUSAddress/ZIPCdEINEINPrimary ActivitiesPrimaryActivitiesTxtLegal Domicile StateLegalDomicileStateCdExempt Code SectionExemptCodeSectionTxtPublic Charity StatusPublicCharityStatusTxtControlled OrganizationControlledOrganizationInd
OHIO CPA FOUNDATION
4249 EASTON WAY STE 150COLUMBUSOH43219316052485EDUCATIONOH501(C)(3)LINE 100
OHIO CPA PAC
4249 EASTON WAY STE 150COLUMBUSOH43219311271118POLITICAL ACTIONOH5270
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Receipt Of Int Annts Rnts Rylts0ReceiptOfIntAnntsRntsRyltsInd
Gift Grnt Or Cap Contri To Oth Org0GiftGrntOrCapContriToOthOrgInd
Gift Grnt Cap Contri From Oth Org0GiftGrntCapContriFromOthOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees To Other Org0LoansOrGuaranteesToOtherOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees From Oth Org0LoansOrGuaranteesFromOthOrgInd
Div Related Organization0DivRelatedOrganizationInd
Asset Sale To Other Org0AssetSaleToOtherOrgInd
Asset Purchase From Other Org0AssetPurchaseFromOtherOrgInd
Asset Exchange0AssetExchangeInd
Rental Of Facilities To Oth Org0RentalOfFacilitiesToOthOrgInd
Rental Of Fclts From Oth Org0RentalOfFcltsFromOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services For Oth Org0PerformOfServicesForOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services By Other Org0PerformOfServicesByOtherOrgInd
Sharing Of FacilitiesYes (1)SharingOfFacilitiesInd
Paid Employees SharingYes (1)PaidEmployeesSharingInd
Reimbursement Paid To Other Org0ReimbursementPaidToOtherOrgInd
Reimbursement Paid By Other Org0ReimbursementPaidByOtherOrgInd
Transfer To Other OrgYes (1)TransferToOtherOrgInd
Transfer From Other Org0TransferFromOtherOrgInd

Comments

Anonymous: no account or email. Up to 2,000 characters, at most one link. Comments are checked automatically; some wait for review.