WHATCOM EDUCATIONAL CREDIT UNION: Form 990, tax year 2018

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
WHATCOM EDUCATIONAL CREDIT UNION (EIN 91-0712539)
Tax period
2018-01-01 to 2018-12-31
Filed
2019-11-15
IRS object ID
201923199349312907
Schema version
2018v3.1
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2019-11-15T14:35:29-06:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2018-12-31TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN410746749PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1CLIFTONLARSONALLEN LLPBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line120 E THOMAS RD STE 2300AddressLine1Txt
CityPHOENIXCityNm
State AbbreviationAZStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP85012ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2018-01-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN910712539EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1WHATCOM EDUCATIONAL CREDIT UNIONBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlWHATBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone3606761168PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line121 BELLWETHER WAY NO 111AddressLine1Txt
CityBELLINGHAMCityNm
State AbbreviationWAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP98225ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonNICK HODSONPersonNm
Person TitleCHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICERPersonTitleTxt
Phone3607567716PhoneNum
Signature2019-11-13SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (1)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonMARY C GREENPreparerPersonNm
PTINP00447183PTIN
Phone6022662248PhoneNum

Filing Security Information FilingSecurityInformation

IP Address IPAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
I Pv4 Address67.137.57.251IPv4AddressTxt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
IP2019-11-13IPDt
IP Tm14:40:53IPTm
IP TimezoneUSIPTimezoneCd
Filing License TypePFilingLicenseTypeCd
At Submission Creation Device IdCEE7F2914D07A6BA8302BBD3675CB8F99C28C625AtSubmissionCreationDeviceId
At Submission Filing Device Id6090138281F26C81E44F33703B5A75F6ECDC86D4AtSubmissionFilingDeviceId
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2018TaxYr
Build TS2020-03-31 21:24:44ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerJENNIFER KUTCHERPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line121 BELLWETHER WAY NO 111AddressLine1Txt
CityBELLINGHAMCityNm
State AbbreviationWAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP98225ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$81,127,331GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For Affiliates0GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501cYes (X)Organization501cInd
Website AddressWWW.WECU.COMWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1936FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateWALegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionOUR MISSION IS TO MAKE A MEANINGFUL DIFFERENCE IN THE LIVES OF OUR MEMBERS.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body9VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent9VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee466TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers12TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$0TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$3,617NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$0PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$0CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$66,366,378PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$75,315,415CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$2,726,260PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$3,701,602CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$1,079,761PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$1,985,971CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$70,172,399PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$81,002,988CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$150,806PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$233,095CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$4,058,259PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$7,451,477CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$25,722,752PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$31,333,682CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$0CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$21,615,445PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$28,012,656CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$51,547,262PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$67,030,910CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$18,625,137PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$13,972,078CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$1,482,247,013TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$1,608,031,120TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$1,251,443,616TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$1,363,703,611TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$230,803,397NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$244,327,509NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
Info In Schedule O Part IIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartIIIInd
MissionWHATCOM EDUCATIONAL CREDIT UNION (WECU) IS A NOT-FOR-PROFIT FINANCIAL COOPERATIVE WHERE MEMBERS ARE ENCOURAGED TO SAVE AND BORROW RESPONSIBLY AT FAIR AND COMPETITIVE RATES, IMPROVING THEIR FINANCIAL WELL-BEING AND STANDARD OF LIVING. THIS STATE-CHARTERED CREDIT UNION IS A MEMBER OF THE NATIONAL CREDIT UNION ADMINISTRATION SHARE INSURANCE FUND, AND IS REGULATED BY THE NATIONAL CREDIT UNION ASSOCIATION, AND THE STATE OF WASHINGTON DEPARTMENT OF FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS - DIVISION OF CREDIT UNIONS. WECU'S MAIN PRODUCTS ARE CONSUMER LOANS, REAL ESTATE LOANS AND COMMERCIAL LOANS TO MEMBERS, WHICH ARE PRIMARILY FUNDED BY DEPOSITS FROM MEMBERS. FINANCIAL EDUCATION AND COMMUNITY SERVICE ARE ALSO AN INTEGRAL PART OF WECU'S OPERATIONS AND SPIRIT OF SERVICE.MissionDesc
Significant New Program Srvc0SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant Change0SignificantChangeInd
DescCONSUMER LOANS (CREDIT CARDS, AUTO, PERSONAL AND OTHER TYPES):WECU OFFERS SEVERAL TYPES OF CREDIT CARDS TO MEMBERS. EACH CARD INCLUDES BENEFITS SUCH AS CASH BACK ON PURCHASES, NO ANNUAL FEE, LOW FIXED INTEREST RATE, TRAVEL ACCIDENT INSURANCE AND OPTIONAL PAYMENT PROTECTION. AT THE END OF 2018, WECU HAD 27,525 CREDIT CARDS OUTSTANDING WITH OVER $145 MILLION IN CREDIT LIMITS.ALONG WITH CREDIT CARD LOANS, WECU OFFERS AUTO, BOAT, RV, TIMELINE AND OTHER CONSUMER LOANS. WECU ALSO OFFERS A CREDIT BUILDER LOAN SOLUTION FOR AUTO LOANS TO ASSIST MEMBERS WITH ESTABLISHING AND/OR BUILDING CREDIT ACTIVITY. WE HAVE VERY COMPETITIVE RATES AND OFTEN FUND VERY SMALL LOANS THAT OTHER FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS WOULD NOT. IN THIS CAPACITY, WECU FILLS A CRITICAL ROLE IN THE MICRO-LENDING ECONOMY. IN 2018, WE GRANTED 11,420 CONSUMER LOANS (EXCLUDING CREDIT CARDS) TO OUR MEMBERS, TOTALING OVER $346 MILLION. WECU ALSO PROVIDES ACCESS TO FINANCIAL COUNSELING FREE OF CHARGE TO MEMBERS. THIS SERVICE CAN PROVIDE DIRECTION AND SUPPORT TO ANY OF OUR MEMBERS WHO NEED HELP MANAGING THEIR DEBT AND GETTING THEIR PERSONAL FINANCES BACK ON TRACK.Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty2 ProgSrvcAccomActy2Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescREAL ESTATE LOANS:WECU OFFERS RESIDENTIAL REAL ESTATE LOANS WITH VERY COMPETITIVE RATES AND LOW FEES. WECU ALSO OFFERS MEMBER EDUCATION SEMINARS RELATED TO BUYING A HOME. AT THE END OF 2018, WECU HAD 4,939 RESIDENTIAL MORTGAGE LOANS OUTSTANDING, TOTALING OVER $627 MILLION. WE WERE ALSO SERVICING AN ADDITIONAL 2,605 IN RESIDENTIAL MORTGAGES FOR OUR MEMBERS, TOTALING OVER $427 MILLION. THE AVERAGE BALANCE OF A RESIDENTIAL FIRST MORTGAGE LOANS BEING SERVICED BY WECU IS APPROXIMATELY $181,040. WECU ALSO PARTICIPATES IN THE HOME$TART PROGRAM THROUGH THE FEDERAL HOME LOAN BANK OF DES MOINES. THE PROGRAM HELPS FAMILIES EARNING UP TO 80% OF THE AREA'S MEDIAN INCOME PURCHASE A HOME BY PROVIDING GRANTS WHICH MAY BE USED FOR DOWN PAYMENTS, CLOSING COSTS, OR REHABILITATION OF AN OWNER-OCCUPIED HOUSING UNIT.Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty3 ProgSrvcAccomActy3Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescBUSINESS LOANS: WECU OFFERS SEVERAL TYPES OF BUSINESS LOANS - COMMERCIAL REAL ESTATE, LINES OF CREDIT, COMMERCIAL TERM LOANS, LAND/LOT LOANS AND OTHERS. WECU ALSO FACILITATES BUSINESS LOANS THROUGH THE SBA 504 LOAN PROGRAM. AT THE END OF 2018, WECU'S MEMBER BUSINESS LOAN PORTFOLIO CONSISTED OF 708 LOANS FOR A TOTAL OF $269 MILLION. WECU HAS SEEN A STEADY GROWTH IN OUR MEMBER BUSINESS LOAN PORTFOLIO SINCE ITS INCEPTION IN MAY 2001. THIS GROWTH SERVES AS EVIDENCE OF THE NEED FOR A LOCAL FINANCIAL INSTITUTION OFFERING BUSINESS LOANS WITH LOW FEES AND COMPETITIVE RATES.Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty Other ProgSrvcAccomActyOtherGrp (2 entries)

DescDesc
CHECKING ACCOUNTS AND DEBIT CARDS:CHECKING ACCOUNTS AT WECU OFFER MAXIMUM CONVENIENCE WITH NO OR FEW FEES. WE HAVE A VARIETY OF CHECKING ACCOUNT OPTIONS, INCLUDING NO FEE ACCOUNTS AND INTEREST BEARING ACCOUNTS. CHECKING ACCOUNTS ARE MADE MORE CONVENIENT WITH MOBILE BANKING, MOBILE DEPOSIT CAPTURE, DEPOSIT TAKING ATMS, VISA DEBIT CARD, AROUND THE CLOCK ACCESS WITH ONLINE BANKING, DIRECT DEPOSIT AND AUTOMATIC PAYMENTS. OVERDRAFT PROTECTION IS ALSO AVAILABLE ON ALL CHECKING ACCOUNTS. WITH OUR VISA DEBIT CARD, MEMBERS HAVE ACCESS TO CHECKING ACCOUNT FUNDS ELECTRONICALLY AND CAN ALSO USE MORE THAN 25,000 SURCHARGE-FREE ATMS THROUGHOUT THE UNITED STATES AND CANADA. AT THE END OF 2018, THERE WERE 87,228 OPEN CHECKING ACCOUNTS AND 60,428 VISA DEBIT CARDS ISSUED. WECU TRULY STRIVES TO MEET THE NEEDS OF THE UNDERSERVED. OUR CREDIT UNION HAS BEEN DESIGNATED AS A "LOW INCOME CREDIT UNION" (LICU), RECOGNIZING THAT OVER 50% OF THE CREDIT UNION MEMBERSHIP ARE PART OF LOW-INCOME HOUSEHOLDS.
COMMUNITY INVOLVEMENT:WHILE TECHNICALLY NOT A CHARTERED SERVICE, WECU IS COMMITTED TO COMMUNITY SERVICE AND PROVIDES SUPPORT TO A LARGE NUMBER OF LOCAL EDUCATION, HEALTH AND COMMUNITY CONCERNS.WECU IS A MAJOR PARTNER WITH THE OPPORTUNITY COUNCIL, THE AREA'S COMMUNITY ACTION AGENCY. PROJECTS INCLUDE FREQUENT FREE FINANCIAL EDUCATION PRESENTATIONS, PRODUCTION OF FREE FINANCIAL EDUCATION POSTERS AND BROCHURES PROMOTING FREE TAX FILING ASSISTANCE IN PARTNERSHIP WITH AARP. WECU'S SOCIAL RESPONSIBILITY COORDINATOR IS A CUNA CERTIFIED CREDIT UNION FINANCIAL COUNSELOR AND PROVIDES FREE COMMUNITY PRESENTATIONS TO VARIOUS GROUPS.TEAM WECU, COMPRISED OF CREDIT UNION STAFF AND BOARD MEMBERS, WAS ESTABLISHED TO ENCOURAGE VOLUNTEERISM IN THE COMMUNITY. IN 2018, 130 EMPLOYEES AND BOARD MEMBERS VOLUNTEERED 270 TIMES AT 23 EVENTS IN WHATCOM COUNTY.
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Described In Section501c30DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B Required0ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign ActyYes (1)PoliticalCampaignActyInd
Subject To Proxy Tax0SubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised Fund0DonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation Easements0ConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of Art0CollectionsOfArtInd
Credit CounselingYes (1)CreditCounselingInd
Temp Or Permanent Endowments0TempOrPermanentEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (1)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other Sec0ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related Invst0ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other Assets0ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (1)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (1)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt0ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School Operating0SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign Office0ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign Activities0ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To Org0MoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To Individuals0MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional Fundraising0ProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising Activities0FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming Activities0GamingActivitiesInd
Operate Hospital0OperateHospitalInd
Grants To OrganizationsYes (1)GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To IndividualsYes (1)GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (1)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt Bonds0TaxExemptBondsInd
Loan OutstandingYes (1)LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related Person0GrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org Mem0BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam Mem0BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With Officer Ent0BusinessRlnWithOfficerEntInd
Deductible Non Cash Contri0DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art Contribution0DeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate Operations0TerminateOperationsInd
Partial Liquidation0PartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded Entity0DisregardedEntityInd
Related Entity0RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl Ent0RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Activities Conducted Prtshp0ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (1)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document48039IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Employee466EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (1)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over LimitYes (1)UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Form990 T FiledYes (1)Form990TFiledInd
Foreign Financial Account0ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans0ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party Notification0TaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible Contributions0NondeductibleContributionsInd
Indoor Tanning Services0IndoorTanningServicesInd
Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht Pymt0SubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd
Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst Inc0SubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members9GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member9IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business Rln0FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt Duties0DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org Documents0ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or Misuse0MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or StockholdersYes (1)MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersYes (1)ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To Approva0DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (1)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of Committees0MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing Address0OfficerMailingAddressInd
Local ChaptersYes (1)LocalChaptersInd
Policies Reference ChaptersYes (1)PoliciesReferenceChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (1)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (1)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (1)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (1)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (1)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (1)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (1)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (1)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint Venture0InvestmentInJointVentureInd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1NICK HODSONBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Phone3606761168PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line121 BELLWETHER WAY SUITE 111AddressLine1Txt
CityBELLINGHAMCityNm
State AbbreviationWAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP98225ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (25 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtKey EmployeeKeyEmployeeIndHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd
CAROL LAGER
CHAIR4.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$2,822$0$0
HARTE BRESSLER
VICE-CHAIR4.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
KRISTI LEWIS TYRAN
SECRETARY4.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
BRUCE BURPEE
DIRECTOR4.00Yes (X)$1,240$0$0
ASHOK KHANNA
DIRECTOR4.00Yes (X)$1,344$0$0
CATHIE OBERG
DIRECTOR4.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MARGO HAMMOND
DIRECTOR4.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
DAVID WASCHKE
DIRECTOR4.00Yes (X)$1,879$0$0
DALE ZENDER
DIRECTOR4.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
JENNIFER E KUTCHER
PRESIDENT/CEO/TREASURER50.00Yes (X)$568,056$0$75,382
NICHOLAS A HODSON
CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER45.00Yes (X)$88,686$0$7,133
LESLEY FOX
CFO (LEFT 1/18)40.00Yes (X)$42,518$0$764
JEFFREY R DYKSTRA
EVP45.00$283,066$0$59,998Yes (X)
JACK INGRAM
CHIEF INFORMATION OFFICER45.00$241,148$0$28,298Yes (X)
CYNTHIA CHASE KLEIN
CHIEF HUMAN RESOURCES OFFICER45.00$227,836$0$52,850Yes (X)
DAVID PIERCE JONES
CHIEF MARKETING OFFICER45.00$196,480$0$9,001Yes (X)
ERYNNE MARIA HALLOCK
VP, RETAIL DELIVERY45.00$198,585$0$28,298Yes (X)
MATTHEW HENRY BERENDSEN
VP, LENDING45.00$176,808$0$45,795Yes (X)
KENT D BOUMA
VP, BUSINESS BANKING45.00$175,400$0$47,617Yes (X)
BRANDON JAMES HAHNEL
VP, FINANCE (LEFT 11/18)45.00$213,680$0$43,205Yes (X)
GRANT DYKSTRA
BUSINESS BANKING SENIOR LOAN OFFICER40.00$134,449$0$44,185Yes (X)
JANET MARIE MCGARY
DIRECTOR OF RETAIL OPERATIONS40.00$152,091$0$32,926Yes (X)
PATTI A MOSER
SENIOR VENDOR RELATIONSHIP MANAGER40.00$159,340$0$29,001Yes (X)
AARON HEATH WHITSON
BUSINESS BANKING CREDIT ADMINISTRATOR40.00$149,868$0$33,579Yes (X)
MICHAEL PETER YEEND
CREDIT ANALYSIS TEAM LEADER40.00$161,443$0$46,284Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$3,176,739TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$584,316TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K31IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees Listed0FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (1)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other Srcs0CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
FISERV
75 REMITTANCE DR STE 1698CHICAGOIL60675CORE SYSTEM VENDOR$2,977,641
JACK HENRY & ASSOCIATES (JHA)
663 W HWY 60 PO BOX 609MONETTMO65708VISA CARD PROCESSOR$1,065,905
NCUA
1775 DUKE STREETALEXANDRIAVA223143428MEMBER INSURANCE SERVICES$803,946
EXPERIAN
701 EXPERIAN PKWYALLENTX75013CREDIT REPORTS$454,720
NEXT STEP INTERNATIONAL
6000 METROWEST BLVD STE 107ORLANDOFL32835PROFESSIONAL SERVICES$379,019
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K35CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (5 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
INTEREST ON LOANS TO MEMBERS522100$55,326,357$55,326,357
SERVICE CHARGES AND FEES522100$9,356,850$9,356,850
CREDIT CARD INCOME522100$8,524,588$8,524,588
INTERCHANGE INCOME522100$1,838,531$1,838,531
GAIN ON SALE OF LOANS522100$269,089$269,089
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$75,315,415TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$2,582,369TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$2,582,369ExclusionAmt

Gross Rents GrossRentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$43,690RealAmt

Less Rental Expenses LessRentalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$0RealAmt

Rental Income Or Loss RentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$43,690RealAmt

Net Rental Income Or Loss NetRentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$43,690TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$43,690ExclusionAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$1,134,825SecuritiesAmt
Other$108,751OtherAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$0SecuritiesAmt
Other$124,343OtherAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$1,134,825SecuritiesAmt
Other-$15,592OtherAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$1,119,233TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$1,119,233ExclusionAmt

Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescOTHER INCOMEDesc
Business900099BusinessCd
Total Revenue Column$1,942,281TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$1,942,281RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total$1,942,281OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$81,002,988TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$77,257,696RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$3,745,292ExclusionAmt

Grants To Domestic Orgs GrantsToDomesticOrgsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$160,095TotalAmt

Grants To Domestic Individuals GrantsToDomesticIndividualsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$73,000TotalAmt

Benefits To Members BenefitsToMembersGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$7,451,477TotalAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,817,891TotalAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$20,488,807TotalAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,207,844TotalAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$4,009,992TotalAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,809,148TotalAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$97,434TotalAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$160,065TotalAmt

Fees For Services Lobbying FeesForServicesLobbyingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$22,284TotalAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,950,810TotalAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,003,278TotalAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,250,200TotalAmt

Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$4,140,795TotalAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,957,783TotalAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$90,298TotalAmt

Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$234,137TotalAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,778,333TotalAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$10,849TotalAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (3 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmt
PROVISION FOR LOAN LOSS$5,162,864
CREDIT CARD EXPENSES$3,541,206
ATM EXPENSES$1,239,511

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,372,809TotalAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$67,030,910TotalAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$26,880,285BOYAmt
EOY$26,344,298EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$93,160,788BOYAmt
EOY$94,475,103EOYAmt

Receivables From Officers Etc ReceivablesFromOfficersEtcGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EOY$11,316,824EOYAmt

Oth Notes Loans Receivable Net OthNotesLoansReceivableNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,201,175,296BOYAmt
EOY$1,372,509,421EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,529,155BOYAmt
EOY$1,855,090EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$58,032,599LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$21,357,969LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$34,279,215BOYAmt
EOY$36,674,630EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$5,735,891BOYAmt
EOY$5,287,925EOYAmt

Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$100,060,727BOYAmt
EOY$38,622,210EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$19,425,656BOYAmt
EOY$20,945,619EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,482,247,013BOYAmt
EOY$1,608,031,120EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$23,425,782BOYAmt
EOY$24,677,405EOYAmt

Escrow Account Liability EscrowAccountLiabilityGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,546,414BOYAmt
EOY$1,686,201EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,226,471,420BOYAmt
EOY$1,337,340,005EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,251,443,616BOYAmt
EOY$1,363,703,611EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Org Does Not Follow SFAS117Yes (X)OrgDoesNotFollowSFAS117Ind

Cap Stk Tr Prin Current Funds CapStkTrPrinCurrentFundsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Pd In Cap Srpls Land Bldg Eqp Fund PdInCapSrplsLandBldgEqpFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Rtn Earn Endowment Incm Oth Fnds RtnEarnEndowmentIncmOthFndsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$230,803,397BOYAmt
EOY$244,327,509EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$230,803,397BOYAmt
EOY$244,327,509EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,482,247,013BOYAmt
EOY$1,608,031,120EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$13,972,078ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst-$447,966NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets$0OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or Review0AccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (1)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Separate Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (1)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit Required0FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd

Schedule C IRS990ScheduleC

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Political Expenditures$22,284PoliticalExpendituresAmt
Expended527 Activities$0Expended527ActivitiesAmt
Internal Funds Contributed$22,284InternalFundsContributedAmt
Total Exempt Function Expend$22,284TotalExemptFunctionExpendAmt
Form1120 POL FiledYes (1)Form1120POLFiledInd

Section527 Political Org Section527PoliticalOrgGrp

Organization Business Name OrganizationBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1NORTHWEST CREDIT UNION ASSOCIATIONBusinessNameLine1Txt

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line118000 INTERNATIONAL BLVD SUITE 35AddressLine1Txt
CitySEATACCityNm
State AbbreviationWAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP98188ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN910460483EIN
Paid Internal Funds$22,284PaidInternalFundsAmt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePART I-A, LINE 1:FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationCONTRIBUTIONS ARE MADE TO POLITICAL ACTION COMMITTEE (PAC) AND OTHER LOBBYING EFFORTS THROUGH ANNUAL PAYMENTS TO THE NORTHWEST CREDIT UNION ASSOCIATION (NWCUA). NWCUA SUGGESTS A DONATION TO THESE EFFORTS THROUGH A VOLUNTARY "FAIR-SHARE" CONTRIBUTION FOR ALL STATE-CHARTERED CREDIT UNIONS.ExplanationTxt

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Agent Trustee Etc0AgentTrusteeEtcInd
Incl Escrow Custodial Acct LiabYes (1)InclEscrowCustodialAcctLiabInd
Explanation ProvidedYes (X)ExplanationProvidedInd

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$12,289,071OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$12,289,071BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$27,413,165OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$8,811,504DepreciationAmt
Book Value$18,601,661BookValueAmt

Leasehold Improvements LeaseholdImprovementsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$540,111OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$518,838DepreciationAmt
Book Value$21,273BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$15,579,765OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$12,027,627DepreciationAmt
Book Value$3,552,138BookValueAmt

Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$2,210,487OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$2,210,487BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$36,674,630TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (2 entries)

DescDescAmtAmt
MEMBERS' SHARE AND SAVINGS ACCOUNT$1,337,003,906
ACCRUED PENSIONS AND PROFIT SHARING$336,099
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$1,337,340,005TotalLiabilityAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$81,002,988TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Revenue Not Reported$0RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$81,002,988RevenueSubtotalAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$0RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$81,002,988TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$67,030,910TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Expenses Not Reported$0ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$67,030,910ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$0ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$67,030,910TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
PART IV, LINE 2B:MONEY RECEIVED WITH MORTGAGE PAYMENTS THAT IS HELD IN ESCROW FOR REAL ESTATE TAXES.
PART X, LINE 2:THE CREDIT UNION EVALUATED ITS TAX POSITIONS AND DETERMINED NO UNCERTAIN TAX POSITIONS EXIST AS OF DECEMBER 31, 2018 AND 2017.

Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant Records MaintainedYes (1)GrantRecordsMaintainedInd

Recipient Table RecipientTable

Recipient Business Name RecipientBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1UNITED WAY OF WHATCOM COUNTYBusinessNameLine1Txt

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line11500 CORNWALL AVENUE SUITE 203AddressLine1Txt
CityBELLINGHAMCityNm
State AbbreviationWAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP98225ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Recipient EIN910570788RecipientEIN
IRC Section501(C)(3)IRCSectionDesc
Cash Grant$15,000CashGrantAmt
Purpose Of GrantANNUAL GIVING DRIVEPurposeOfGrantTxt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total501c3 Org1Total501c3OrgCnt
Total Other Org0TotalOtherOrgCnt

Grants Other Asst To Indiv In US GrantsOtherAsstToIndivInUSGrp (2 entries)

Grant TypeGrantTypeTxtRecipientRecipientCntCash GrantCashGrantAmt
SCHOLARSHIPS21$23,000
WWU ATHLETICS SCHOLARSHIPS1$50,000

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
PART I, LINE 2:WHATCOM EDUCATIONAL CREDIT UNION PROVIDES GRANT FUNDING ONLY TO LOCAL, REPUTABLE ORGANIZATIONS WHO HAVE A VERIFIED PURPOSE AND PRESENCE IN THE COMMUNITY.
SCHEDULE I, PART IIIWHATCOM EDUCATIONAL CREDIT UNION PROVIDES SCHOLARSHIP FUNDING TO LOCAL SECONDARY EDUCATION INSTITUTIONS. THE FUNDS ARE PROVIDED TO SCHOOL SCHOLARSHIP FOUNDATIONS WHO THEN DETERMINE THE MOST DESERVING RECIPIENTS.

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Travel For CompanionsYes (X)TravelForCompanionsInd
Written Policy Ref T And E ExpnssYes (1)WrittenPolicyRefTAndEExpnssInd
Substantiation RequiredYes (1)SubstantiationRequiredInd
Independent ConsultantYes (X)IndependentConsultantInd
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance Payment0SeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr PlanYes (1)SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp Arrngm0EquityBasedCompArrngmInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (14 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
JENNIFER E KUTCHER
PRESIDENT/CEO/TREASURER$422,760$0$92,432$0$52,864$0$47,700$0$27,682$0$643,438$0$0$0
JEFFREY R DYKSTRA
EVP$247,305$0$33,044$0$2,717$0$31,700$0$28,298$0$343,064$0$0$0
JACK INGRAM
CHIEF INFORMATION OFFICER$229,600$0$11,400$0$148$0$0$0$28,298$0$269,446$0$0$0
CYNTHIA CHASE KLEIN
CHIEF HUMAN RESOURCES OFFICER$202,322$0$24,830$0$684$0$24,552$0$28,298$0$280,686$0$0$0
DAVID PIERCE JONES
CHIEF MARKETING OFFICER$171,864$0$23,662$0$954$0$0$0$9,001$0$205,481$0$0$0
ERYNNE MARIA HALLOCK
VP, RETAIL DELIVERY$174,063$0$24,241$0$281$0$0$0$28,298$0$226,883$0$0$0
MATTHEW HENRY BERENDSEN
VP, LENDING$157,288$0$19,277$0$243$0$17,497$0$28,298$0$222,603$0$0$0
KENT D BOUMA
VP, BUSINESS BANKING$154,388$0$20,601$0$411$0$19,319$0$28,298$0$223,017$0$0$0
BRANDON JAMES HAHNEL
VP, FINANCE (LEFT 11/18)$124,297$0$41,547$0$47,836$0$17,310$0$25,895$0$256,885$0$0$0
GRANT DYKSTRA
BUSINESS BANKING SENIOR LOAN OFFICER$121,217$0$12,489$0$743$0$15,887$0$28,298$0$178,634$0$0$0
JANET MARIE MCGARY
DIRECTOR OF RETAIL OPERATIONS$107,002$0$16,861$0$28,228$0$12,953$0$19,973$0$185,017$0$0$0
PATTI A MOSER
SENIOR VENDOR RELATIONSHIP MANAGER$95,984$0$20,225$0$43,131$0$11,904$0$17,097$0$188,341$0$0$0
AARON HEATH WHITSON
BUSINESS BANKING CREDIT ADMINISTRATO$130,104$0$19,218$0$546$0$15,814$0$17,765$0$183,447$0$0$0
MICHAEL PETER YEEND
CREDIT ANALYSIS TEAM LEADER$145,302$0$15,034$0$1,107$0$17,986$0$28,298$0$207,727$0$0$0

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePART I, LINE 4BFormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationTHE CREDIT UNION MADE NO CONTRIBUTIONS OR DISTRIBUTIONS TO/FROM A 457(F) PLAN DURING THE YEAR. IN 2018, THE CREDIT UNION GRANTED LOANS FOR LIFE INSURANCE PREMIUM PAYMENTS TO A KEY EMPLOYEE. THE LOANS ARE COLLATERALIZED BY THE ASSIGNMENT OF THE CASH SURRENDER VALUE OF THE RESPECTIVE LIFE INSURANCE POLICIES. THE POLICIES ARE OWNED BY THE EMPLOYEE AND THEY HAVE SOLE CONTROL OVER THE LISTED BENEFICIARIES. THE LOANS ACCRUE INTEREST AND ARE WITH FULL RECOURSE.ExplanationTxt

Schedule L IRS990ScheduleL

Loans Btwn Org Interested Prsn LoansBtwnOrgInterestedPrsnGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonJENNIFER KUTCHERPersonNm
Relationship With OrgCEORelationshipWithOrgTxt
Loan PurposeSPLIT DOLLAR LIFE INSURANCE LOANLoanPurposeTxt
Loan From OrganizationYes (X)LoanFromOrganizationInd
Original Principal$11,073,912OriginalPrincipalAmt
Balance Due$11,316,824BalanceDueAmt
Default0DefaultInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (1)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Written AgreementYes (1)WrittenAgreementInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Balance Due$11,316,824TotalBalanceDueAmt

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (7 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 6MEMBERSHIP IS OPEN TO ANYONE WHO LIVES, WORKS, WORSHIPS OR ATTENDS SCHOOL IN WASHINGTON, AND RELATIVES OF ALL MEMBERS. THE CREDIT UNION'S MEMBERS RECEIVE A SHARE OF THE ORGANIZATION'S PROFITS OR EXCESS DUES IN THE FORM OF CASH DIVIDENDS.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 7AMEMBERS OF THE CREDIT UNION HAVE THE RIGHT TO ELECT MEMBERS OF THE ORGANIZATION'S GOVERNING BODY. ELECTIONS ARE HELD ANNUALLY OR AS VACANCIES ARISE.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 8BTHERE ARE NO OTHER COMMITTEES THAT HAVE AUTHORITY TO ACT ON BEHALF OF THE GOVERNING BODY.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 11BOUR FORM 990 TAX FILING IS REVIEWED BY WECU'S CONTROLLER AND CFO. IT IS COMPARED TO OUR PREVIOUS YEAR'S RETURN AND TIED BACK TO OUR FINANCIAL STATEMENTS AND GENERAL LEDGER RECORDS. A COPY OF THE FORM 990 IS PROVIDED TO THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS PRIOR TO FILING.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 12CWECU'S CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY FOCUSES ON DEFINING AND PREVENTING CONFLICTS OF INTEREST. BEFORE ENGAGING IN ANY ACTIVITY, TRANSACTION, OR BEFORE ENTERING INTO ANY RELATIONSHIP THAT MIGHT GIVE RISE TO A CONFLICT OF INTEREST, EMPLOYEES MUST SEEK REVIEW FROM THEIR MANAGERS, THE INTERNAL AUDITOR, OR THE HUMAN RESOURCES DEPTARTMENT. WECU'S HUMAN RESOURCES DEPARTMENT, STAFF LIAISON, AND INTERNAL AUDITOR ARE RESPONSIBLE FOR ENSURING THAT NO CONFLICT OF INTERESTS OCCUR THAT COULD HAVE A NEGATIVE EFFECT ON WECU. IF ANYONE SUSPECTS A CONFLICT OF INTEREST, IT IS REPORTED TO MANAGEMENT, THE STAFF LIAISON, THE HUMAN RESOURCES DEPARTMENT, OR THE INTERNAL AUDITOR. WECU HAS VARIOUS ANNUAL REVIEWS AND CONTROLS IN PLACE TO MONITOR SITUATIONS IN WHICH A CONFLICT OF INTEREST MIGHT ARISE, WHICH ARE PERFORMED BY MANAGEMENT, OR OUR INTERNAL AUDITOR.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 15COMPENSATION FOR THE PRESIDENT/CEO IS DETERMINED BY THE DETAILS OF THE EMPLOYMENT CONTRACT SET FORTH BETWEEN THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS AND THE PRESIDENT/CEO AND PROVIDED FOR IN THE ANNUAL WECU CEO COMPENSATION & PERFORMANCE PLAN. THE BOARD WORKS WITH AN INDEPENDENT CONSULTANT WHO UTILIZES NATIONAL SURVEYS AND OTHER DATA TO HELP INFORM THE COMPENSATION OUTLINED IN THE PLAN. THE CREDIT UNION HAS ENGAGED AN INDEPENDENT CONSULTANT TO ENSURE THAT PAY RATES FOR EMPLOYEES ARE COMPETITIVE WITHIN THE MARKETPLACE. THE CONSULTANT UTILIZES A NUMBER OF COMPENSATION SURVEYS TO HELP DETERMINE THE OVERALL SALARY STRUCTURE OF THE ORGANIZATION.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION C, LINE 19WECU HAS A MEMBER RIGHTS POLICY IN WHICH WE OUTLINE HOW OUR MEMBERS CAN REQUEST AND RECEIVE CREDIT UNION CORPORATE RECORDS, WHICH INCLUDE OUR ARTICLES AND BYLAWS, MINUTES OF OUR MEMBERSHIP MEETINGS, FINANCIAL REPORTS, CODE OF ETHICS AND BOARD GOVERNANCE POLICIES. A MEMBER REQUEST MUST BE SUBMITTED IN WRITING TO THE CREDIT UNION AND SPECIFICALLY IDENTIFY THE DISCLOSABLE RECORDS REQUESTED. THE CREDIT UNION MAY REQUIRE THE MEMBER TO SIGN A CONFIDENTIALITY AGREEMENT TO PROTECT THE CREDIT UNION FROM UNAUTHORIZED DISCLOSURE OF CERTAIN PROPRIETARY INFORMATION. IF ANY DOCUMENTS CONTAIN MEMBER INFORMATION, IT WILL BE EXPUNGED FROM THE DOCUMENT BEFORE BEING PROVIDED TO THE PUBLIC.

Comments

Anonymous: no account or email. Up to 2,000 characters, at most one link. Comments are checked automatically; some wait for review.