BARROW NEUROLOGICAL FOUNDATION: Form 990, tax year 2017

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
BARROW NEUROLOGICAL FOUNDATION (EIN 86-0174371)
Tax period
2017-07-01 to 2018-06-30
Filed
2019-05-15
IRS object ID
201921359349313792
Schema version
2017v2.3
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2019-05-15T20:09:52-05:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2018-06-30TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1KPMG LLPBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line155 Second Street 1400AddressLine1Txt
CitySan FranciscoCityNm
State AbbreviationCAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP94105ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2017-07-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN860174371EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Barrow Neurological FoundationBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
In Care Of% RANDY BRADLEYInCareOfNm
Business Name ControlBARRBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone6024063992PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1350 West Thomas RoadAddressLine1Txt
CityPhoenixCityNm
State AbbreviationAZStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP85013ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonKATE COBBPersonNm
Person TitlePresidentPersonTitleTxt
Phone4083671379PhoneNum
Signature2019-05-14SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (true)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonValerie J BallPreparerPersonNm
PTINP00178114PTIN
Phone4159635100PhoneNum
Preparation2019-05-15PreparationDt

Filing Security Information FilingSecurityInformation

IP Address IPAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
I Pv4 Address167.68.102.5IPv4AddressTxt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Federal Original Submission Id94029720191355000276FederalOriginalSubmissionId
Federal Original Submission Id2019-05-15FederalOriginalSubmissionIdDt
Filing License TypePFilingLicenseTypeCd
At Submission Creation Device IdAFC1CABF2724952AFBFC3879A4882118A11459E7AtSubmissionCreationDeviceId
At Submission Filing Device IdAFC1CABF2724952AFBFC3879A4882118A11459E7AtSubmissionFilingDeviceId
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2017TaxYr
Build TS2019-02-21 02:37:17ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerJEFFREY JACKSONPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line13033 n third avenueAddressLine1Txt
CityphoenixCityNm
State AbbreviationAZStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP85013ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$66,264,025GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For AffiliatesfalseGroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501c3Yes (X)Organization501c3Ind
Website AddressWWW.supportbarrow.orgWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1961FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateAZLegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionTO SUPPORT BARROW NEUROLOGICAL INSTITUTE, A DEPARTMENT OF ST. JOSEPH'S A DEPARTMENT OF ST. JOSEPH'S HOSPITAL AND MEDICAL CENTER, WHICH IS IN TURN A DIVISION OF DIGNITY HEALTH.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body25VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent23VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee0TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers40TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$0TotalGrossUBIAmt
PY Contributions Grants$19,257,038PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$37,617,305CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$0PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$0CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$4,336,970PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$6,494,430CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$1,067,543PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$1,131,817CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$24,661,551PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$45,243,552CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$9,603,412PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$13,441,891CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$0PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$0PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$0CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$215,594CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$4,317,399PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$4,435,677CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$13,920,811PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$17,877,568CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$10,740,740PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$27,365,984CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$143,335,154TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$177,126,293TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$4,225,758TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$4,721,801TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$139,109,396NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$172,404,492NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
MissionTO SUPPORT BARROW NEUROLOGICAL INSTITUTE, A DEPARTMENT OF ST.JOSEPH'S HOSPITAL AND MEDICAL CENTER, WHICH IS IN TURN A DIVISION OF DIGNITY HEALTH.MissionDesc
Significant New Program SrvcfalseSignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant ChangefalseSignificantChangeInd
Expense$13,441,891ExpenseAmt
Grant$13,441,891GrantAmt
Revenue$0RevenueAmt
DescThe foundation raises funds to support Barrow Neurological Institute, a department of St. Josephs Hospital and Medical Center IN PHOENIX, ARIZONA ('HOSPITAL').Desc
Total Program Service Expenses$13,441,891TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt
Described In Section501c3Yes (true)DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B RequiredYes (true)ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign ActyfalsePoliticalCampaignActyInd
Lobbying ActivitiesfalseLobbyingActivitiesInd
Subject To Proxy TaxfalseSubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised FundfalseDonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation EasementsfalseConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of ArtfalseCollectionsOfArtInd
Credit CounselingfalseCreditCounselingInd
Temp Or Permanent EndowmentsYes (true)TempOrPermanentEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentfalseReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other SecYes (true)ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related InvstfalseReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other AssetsfalseReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (true)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (true)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (true)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl StmtfalseConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School OperatingfalseSchoolOperatingInd
Foreign OfficefalseForeignOfficeInd
Foreign ActivitiesYes (true)ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To OrgfalseMoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To IndividualsfalseMoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional FundraisingfalseProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising ActivitiesYes (true)FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming ActivitiesYes (true)GamingActivitiesInd
Operate HospitalfalseOperateHospitalInd
Grants To OrganizationsYes (true)GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To IndividualsfalseGrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (true)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt BondsfalseTaxExemptBondsInd
Engaged In Excess Benefit TransfalseEngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd
PY Excess Benefit TransfalsePYExcessBenefitTransInd
Loan OutstandingfalseLoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related PersonfalseGrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org MemfalseBusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam MemfalseBusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With Officer EntfalseBusinessRlnWithOfficerEntInd
Deductible Non Cash ContriYes (true)DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art ContributionfalseDeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate OperationsfalseTerminateOperationsInd
Partial LiquidationfalsePartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded EntityfalseDisregardedEntityInd
Related EntityYes (true)RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl EntfalseRelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd OrgfalseTrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd
Activities Conducted PrtshpfalseActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (true)ScheduleORequiredInd
Info In Schedule O Part VYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVInd
IRP Document25IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G25IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (true)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee0EmployeeCnt
Unrelated Bus Incm Over LimitfalseUnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Foreign Financial AccountYes (true)ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Foreign CountryCJForeignCountryCd
Foreign CountryVIForeignCountryCd
Foreign CountryEIForeignCountryCd
Prohibited Tax Shelter TransfalseProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party NotificationfalseTaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible ContributionsfalseNondeductibleContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo ContributionsYes (true)QuidProQuoContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo Contri DisclYes (true)QuidProQuoContriDisclInd
Form8282 Property Disposed OffalseForm8282PropertyDisposedOfInd
Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft CntrctfalseRcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft CntrctfalsePayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Form1098 C FiledfalseForm1098CFiledInd
Indoor Tanning ServicesfalseIndoorTanningServicesInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members25GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member23IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business RlnfalseFamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt DutiesfalseDelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org DocumentsfalseChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or MisusefalseMaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or StockholdersfalseMembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersfalseElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To ApprovaYes (true)DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (true)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (true)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing AddressfalseOfficerMailingAddressInd
Local ChaptersfalseLocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyfalseForm990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (true)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (true)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (true)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (true)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (true)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOfalseCompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherfalseCompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint VenturefalseInvestmentInJointVentureInd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldAZStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonRANDY BRADLEYPersonNm
Phone6023072546PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1350 W THOMAS ROADAddressLine1Txt
CityPHOENIXCityNm
State AbbreviationAZStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP85013ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (28 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtAverage Hours Per Week Rltd OrgAverageHoursPerWeekRltdOrgRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtOfficerOfficerIndFormer Ofcr Director TrusteeFormerOfcrDirectorTrusteeInd
Booker T Evans
Director1.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Ira A Fulton
Director1.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Tomas Gorny
Director1.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Lisa Handley
Director1.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Michael Hecomovich
Director1.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Robert Hobbs Sr
Director (Thru 8/31/2017)1.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Karen C King-Brooks
Director1.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
William Langer Jr
Director1.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Robert Lavinia
Director1.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Michael Lawton MD
Director1.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Stephen Lenn
Director1.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Larry Mayhew
Director1.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Kent McClelland
Director1.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Patrick McGroder III
Director1.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
William Metzler
Director1.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Mitchell Pierce
Director1.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
David Rauch
Director1.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Jim Swanson
Director1.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
E Jeffrey Walsh
DIRECTOR1.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Patty White
Director0.539.5Yes (X)$0$891,914$100,870
Jerry Worsham III
Director1.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Katherine Cobb
CEO10.030.0Yes (X)$0$230,428$35,937Yes (X)
Dan L Grubb
Vice Chair1.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0Yes (X)
Michael Haenel
Chair1.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0Yes (X)
Michael R King
Secretary1.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0Yes (X)
Karen C McConnell
Treasurer1.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0Yes (X)
Jeffrey Jackson
CFO1.039.0$0$342,561$43,652Yes (X)
Terri Hoffman
Former Officer0.040.0$0$246,831$37,968Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$0TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$1,711,734TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$218,427TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K0IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees ListedYes (true)FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (true)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other SrcsfalseCompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp

Contractor Name ContractorName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonPavillion Advisory GroupPersonNm

Contractor Address ContractorAddress

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1227 W Monroe St Suite 220AddressLine1Txt
CityCHICAGOCityNm
State AbbreviationILStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP60606ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
ServicesConsultingServicesDesc
Compensation$232,565CompensationAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K1CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Federated Campaigns$0FederatedCampaignsAmt
Membership Dues$0MembershipDuesAmt
Fundraising$2,274,805FundraisingAmt
Related Organizations$4,310,538RelatedOrganizationsAmt
Government Grants$0GovernmentGrantsAmt
All Other Contributions$31,031,962AllOtherContributionsAmt
Noncash Contributions$87,507NoncashContributionsAmt
Total Contributions$37,617,305TotalContributionsAmt
Total Program Service Revenue$0TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$1,748,028TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$1,748,028ExclusionAmt

Incm From Invest Bond Proceeds IncmFromInvestBondProceedsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt

Royalties Revenue RoyaltiesRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$79TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$79ExclusionAmt

Rental Income Or Loss RentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$0RealAmt
Personal$0PersonalAmt

Net Rental Income Or Loss NetRentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$19,779,302SecuritiesAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$15,032,900SecuritiesAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$4,746,402SecuritiesAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$4,746,402TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$4,746,402ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Fundraising Gross Income$158,728FundraisingGrossIncomeAmt
Contri Rpt Fundraising Event$2,274,805ContriRptFundraisingEventAmt
Fundraising Direct Expenses$255,481FundraisingDirectExpensesAmt

Net Incm From Fundraising Evt NetIncmFromFundraisingEvtGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column-$96,753TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion-$96,753ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gaming Gross Income$6,960,545GamingGrossIncomeAmt
Gaming Direct Expenses$5,732,092GamingDirectExpensesAmt

Net Income From Gaming NetIncomeFromGamingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$1,228,453TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$1,228,453ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Sales Of Inventory$0GrossSalesOfInventoryAmt
Cost Of Goods Sold$0CostOfGoodsSoldAmt

Net Income Or Loss NetIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt

Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescOTHER INCOMEDesc
Business900099BusinessCd
Total Revenue Column$38TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$38ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total$38OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$45,243,552TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$7,626,247ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part IXYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartIXInd

Grants To Domestic Orgs GrantsToDomesticOrgsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$13,441,891TotalAmt
Program Services$13,441,891ProgramServicesAmt

Grants To Domestic Individuals GrantsToDomesticIndividualsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Foreign Grants ForeignGrantsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Benefits To Members BenefitsToMembersGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Comp Disqual Persons CompDisqualPersonsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Fees For Services Management FeesForServicesManagementGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$38,511TotalAmt
Management And General$38,511ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$12,880TotalAmt
Management And General$12,880ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Lobbying FeesForServicesLobbyingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$53TotalAmt
Management And General$53ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Prof Fundraising FeesForServicesProfFundraising

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Fees For Srvc Invst Mgmnt Fees FeesForSrvcInvstMgmntFeesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$343,137TotalAmt
Management And General$343,137ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,403,721TotalAmt
Management And General$3,403,721ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$169,037TotalAmt
Management And General$110,274ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$58,763FundraisingAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$197,413TotalAmt
Management And General$97,674ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$99,739FundraisingAmt

Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$58,600TotalAmt
Management And General$58,600ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Royalties RoyaltiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$5,736TotalAmt
Management And General$5,736ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$41,611TotalAmt
Management And General$31,036ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$10,575FundraisingAmt

Pymt Travel Entrtnmnt Pub Ofcl PymtTravelEntrtnmntPubOfclGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$9,263TotalAmt
Management And General$7,768ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$1,495FundraisingAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Payments To Affiliates PaymentsToAffiliatesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$22,726TotalAmt
Management And General$22,726ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmtManagement And GeneralManagementAndGeneralAmtFundraisingFundraisingAmt
DUES & SUBSCRIPTIONS$66,648$65,376$1,272
FOOD$27,183$13,312$13,871
IN-KIND DISBURSEMENTS$20,443$6,953$13,490
DONOR CULTIVATION$9,918$9,918

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$8,797TotalAmt
Management And General$2,326ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$6,471FundraisingAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$17,877,568TotalAmt
Program Services$13,441,891ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$4,220,083ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$215,594FundraisingAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part XYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXInd

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$7,120,952BOYAmt
EOY$14,976,204EOYAmt

Pledges And Grants Receivable PledgesAndGrantsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$14,835,635BOYAmt
EOY$30,439,633EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Receivables From Officers Etc ReceivablesFromOfficersEtcGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Rcvbl From Disqualified Prsn RcvblFromDisqualifiedPrsnGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Oth Notes Loans Receivable Net OthNotesLoansReceivableNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Inventories For Sale Or Use InventoriesForSaleOrUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$166,382BOYAmt
EOY$485,757EOYAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$104,475,606BOYAmt
EOY$109,707,138EOYAmt

Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$16,713,171BOYAmt
EOY$21,493,701EOYAmt

Investments Program Related InvestmentsProgramRelatedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Intangible Assets IntangibleAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$23,408BOYAmt
EOY$23,860EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$143,335,154BOYAmt
EOY$177,126,293EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$286,809BOYAmt
EOY$244,715EOYAmt

Grants Payable GrantsPayableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,648,875BOYAmt
EOY$4,249,176EOYAmt

Deferred Revenue DeferredRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$5,000BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Tax Exempt Bond Liabilities TaxExemptBondLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Escrow Account Liability EscrowAccountLiabilityGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Loans From Officers Directors LoansFromOfficersDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Unsecured Notes Loans Payable UnsecuredNotesLoansPayableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$285,074BOYAmt
EOY$227,910EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$4,225,758BOYAmt
EOY$4,721,801EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Organization Follows SFAS117Yes (X)OrganizationFollowsSFAS117Ind

Unrestricted Net Assets UnrestrictedNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$39,904,753BOYAmt
EOY$44,869,456EOYAmt

Temporarily Rstr Net Assets TemporarilyRstrNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$65,360,897BOYAmt
EOY$92,675,184EOYAmt

Permanently Rstr Net Assets PermanentlyRstrNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$33,843,746BOYAmt
EOY$34,859,852EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$139,109,396BOYAmt
EOY$172,404,492EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$143,335,154BOYAmt
EOY$177,126,293EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part XIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$27,365,984ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst$5,360,299NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Donated Services And Use Fclts$75,856DonatedServicesAndUseFcltsAmt
Prior Period Adjustments$127,500PriorPeriodAdjustmentsAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets$365,457OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or ReviewfalseAccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (true)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Separate Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (true)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit RequiredfalseFederalGrantAuditRequiredInd

Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Public Organization170Yes (X)PublicOrganization170Ind

Gifts Grants Contri Rcvd170 GiftsGrantsContriRcvd170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$13,095,525CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$17,063,225CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$14,098,913CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$19,257,038CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$37,617,305CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$101,132,006TotalAmt

Tax Rev Levied Orgnztnl Bnft170 TaxRevLeviedOrgnztnlBnft170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Govt Furn Srvc Fclts Vl170 GovtFurnSrvcFcltsVl170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Total Calendar Year170 TotalCalendarYear170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$13,095,525CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$17,063,225CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$14,098,913CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$19,257,038CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$37,617,305CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$101,132,006TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Substantial Contributors Tot$44,006,186SubstantialContributorsTotAmt
Public Support Total170$57,125,820PublicSupportTotal170Amt

Gross Investment Income170 GrossInvestmentIncome170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$1,508,329CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$1,796,495CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$17,521,698CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$1,605,930CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$1,404,347CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$23,836,799TotalAmt

Unrelated Business Net Incm170 UnrelatedBusinessNetIncm170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Other Income170 OtherIncome170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$8,936,497CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$8,353,362CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$7,722,968CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$7,451,638CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$7,119,311CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$39,583,776TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Support$164,552,581TotalSupportAmt
Public Support CY1700.34716PublicSupportCY170Pct
Public Support PY1700.42980PublicSupportPY170Pct
Thirty Thr Pct Suprt Tests CY170Yes (X)ThirtyThrPctSuprtTestsCY170Ind

Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Art Public Exhibition AmountsArtPublicExhibitionAmountsGrp
Held Works ArtHeldWorksArtGrp

CY Endwmt Fund CYEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$54,682,045BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$1,012,001ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$2,883,398InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$1,722,817OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$56,854,627EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus1 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus1YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$49,901,286BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$980,412ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$4,930,171InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$1,129,824OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$54,682,045EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus2 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus2YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$48,015,996BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$3,695,314ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses-$848,906InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$961,119OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$49,901,285EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus3 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus3YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$47,972,789BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$72,007ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$1,152,908InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$1,181,707OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$48,015,997EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus4 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus4YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$42,488,519BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$2,048,899ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$4,652,075InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$1,216,704OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$47,972,789EndYearBalanceAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Board Designated Balance EOY0.12000BoardDesignatedBalanceEOYPct
Prmnnt Endowment Balance EOY0.62000PrmnntEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Term Endowment Balance EOY0.26000TermEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Endowments Held Unrelated OrgfalseEndowmentsHeldUnrelatedOrgInd
Endowments Held Related OrgfalseEndowmentsHeldRelatedOrgInd
LandLandGrp
BuildingsBuildingsGrp
Leasehold ImprovementsLeaseholdImprovementsGrp
EquipmentEquipmentGrp
Other Land BuildingsOtherLandBuildingsGrp
Financial DerivativesFinancialDerivativesGrp
Closely Held Equity InterestsCloselyHeldEquityInterestsGrp

Other Securities OtherSecuritiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescPOOLED INVESTMENTSDesc
Book Value$21,493,701BookValueAmt
Method ValuationFMethodValuationCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Securities$21,493,701TotalBookValueSecuritiesAmt
Federal Income Tax Liability$0FederalIncomeTaxLiabilityAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescSPLIT INTEREST AGREEMENTSDesc
Amt$227,910Amt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$227,910TotalLiabilityAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$53,070,982TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Net Unrealized Gains Invst$5,360,299NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt
Donated Services And Use Fclts$75,856DonatedServicesAndUseFcltsAmt
Recoveries Prior Year Grants$565,255RecoveriesPriorYearGrantsAmt
Other Revenue$2,241,455OtherRevenueAmt
Revenue Not Reported$8,242,865RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$44,828,117RevenueSubtotalAmt
Investment Expenses Not Incld$343,137InvestmentExpensesNotIncldAmt
Other Revenues Not Included$72,298OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$415,435RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$45,243,552TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$19,775,886TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Other Expenses Included$2,241,455OtherExpensesIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Reported$2,241,455ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$17,534,431ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Investment Expenses Not Incld2$343,137InvestmentExpensesNotIncld2Amt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$343,137ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$17,877,568TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (3 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
INTENDED USE OF THE ENDOWMENT FUNDSSCHEDULE D, PART V, LINE 4 Endowment funds are used to support the Barrow Neurological Institute's research and medical education programs.
ASC 740 FOOTNOTESCHEDULE D, PART X, LINE 2 THE FOUNDATION HAS BEEN CLASSIFIED AS AN OTHER-THAN PRIVATE FOUNDATION AND IS TAX-EXEMPT UNDER SECTION 501(C)(3) OF THE INTERNAL REVENUE CODE. INCOME TAX BENEFITS ARE RECOGNIZED FOR INCOME TAX POSITIONS TAKEN OR EXPECTED TO BE TAKEN IN A TAX RETURN, ONLY WHEN IT IS DETERMINED THAT THE INCOME TAX POSITION WILL MORE LIKELY THAN NOT BE SUSTAINED UPON EXAMINATION BY TAXING AUTHORITIES. THE FOUNDATION IS NOT AWARE OF ANY UNCERTAIN TAX POSITIONS AS OF JUNE 30, 2018.
RECONCILIATION OF REVENUE FROM AFS TO FORM 990SCHEDULE D, PART XI, LINE 2d Reclass from expense $ 2,241,455 Schedule D, Part XI, Line 4b change in split interest adjustments 72,298 SCHEDULE D, PART XII, LINE 2d Indirect Expenses for Health and Wealth Raffle $ 2,241,455

Schedule F IRS990ScheduleF

Account Activities Outside US AccountActivitiesOutsideUSGrp (2 entries)

RegionRegionTxtType Of Activities ConductedTypeOfActivitiesConductedTxtSpecific Services ProvidedSpecificServicesProvidedTxtRegion Total ExpendituresRegionTotalExpendituresAmt
Central America and the CaribbeanInvestmentsN/A$9,669,264
Europe (Including Iceland and Greenland)InvestmentsN/A$3,469,908
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Subtotal Spent$13,139,172SubtotalSpentAmt
Total Spent$13,139,172TotalSpentAmt
Transfer To Foreign CorpfalseTransferToForeignCorpInd
Interest In Foreign TrustfalseInterestInForeignTrustInd
Foreign Corp OwnershipfalseForeignCorpOwnershipInd
Passive Foreign Investmest CofalsePassiveForeignInvestmestCoInd
Foreign PartnershipfalseForeignPartnershipInd
Boycott CountriesfalseBoycottCountriesInd

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePART I, LINE 3, COLUMN FFormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationTHE EXPENDITURES ARE REPORTED ON AN ACCRUAL BASIS.ExplanationTxt

Schedule G IRS990ScheduleG

Fundraising Event Information FundraisingEventInformationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Event1Barrow BallEvent1Nm
Gross Receipts Event1$2,245,180GrossReceiptsEvent1Amt
Charitable Contri Event1$2,187,900CharitableContriEvent1Amt
Gross Revenue Event1$57,280GrossRevenueEvent1Amt
Rent Facility Costs Event1$64,965RentFacilityCostsEvent1Amt
Food And Beverage Event1$28,250FoodAndBeverageEvent1Amt
Entertainment Event1$85EntertainmentEvent1Amt
Other Direct Expenses Event1$10,566OtherDirectExpensesEvent1Amt
Event2Lou Grubbs GolfEvent2Nm
Gross Receipts Event2$188,352GrossReceiptsEvent2Amt
Charitable Contri Event2$86,905CharitableContriEvent2Amt
Gross Revenue Event2$101,447GrossRevenueEvent2Amt
Non Cash Prizes Event2$13,347NonCashPrizesEvent2Amt
Rent Facility Costs Event2$10,772RentFacilityCostsEvent2Amt
Food And Beverage Event2$54,821FoodAndBeverageEvent2Amt
Other Direct Expenses Event2$72,674OtherDirectExpensesEvent2Amt
Other Events Total0OtherEventsTotalCnt
Gross Receipts Total$2,433,532GrossReceiptsTotalAmt
Charitable Contributions Tot$2,274,805CharitableContributionsTotAmt
Gross Revenue Total Events$158,727GrossRevenueTotalEventsAmt
Non Cash Prizes Total Events$13,347NonCashPrizesTotalEventsAmt
Rent Fclty Costs Total Events$75,737RentFcltyCostsTotalEventsAmt
Food And Beverage Total Events$83,071FoodAndBeverageTotalEventsAmt
Entertainment Total Events$85EntertainmentTotalEventsAmt
Oth Direct Expnss Total Events$83,240OthDirectExpnssTotalEventsAmt
Direct Expense Summary Events$255,480DirectExpenseSummaryEventsAmt
Net Income Summary-$96,753NetIncomeSummaryAmt

Gaming Information GamingInformationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Volunteer Labor BingofalseVolunteerLaborBingoInd
Volunteer Labor Pull TabsfalseVolunteerLaborPullTabsInd
Gross Revenue Other Gaming$6,960,545GrossRevenueOtherGamingAmt
Cash Prizes Other Gaming$2,557,750CashPrizesOtherGamingAmt
Non Cash Prizes Other Gaming$1,058,501NonCashPrizesOtherGamingAmt
Oth Direct Expnss Other Gaming$2,115,841OthDirectExpnssOtherGamingAmt
Volunteer Labor Other GamingfalseVolunteerLaborOtherGamingInd
Gross Revenue Total Gaming$6,960,545GrossRevenueTotalGamingAmt
Cash Prizes Total Gaming$2,557,750CashPrizesTotalGamingAmt
Non Cash Prizes Total Gaming$1,058,501NonCashPrizesTotalGamingAmt
Oth Direct Expnss Total Gaming$2,115,841OthDirectExpnssTotalGamingAmt
Direct Expense Summary Gaming$5,732,092DirectExpenseSummaryGamingAmt
Net Gaming Income Summary$1,228,453NetGamingIncomeSummaryAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
States Where Gaming ConductedAZStatesWhereGamingConductedCd
LicensedYes (true)LicensedInd
License Suspended EtcfalseLicenseSuspendedEtcInd
Gaming With NonmembersfalseGamingWithNonmembersInd
Member Of Other EntityfalseMemberOfOtherEntityInd
Gaming Other Facility1.00000GamingOtherFacilityPct
Individual With BooksCBIZ MHM LLCIndividualWithBooksNm

Persons With Books US Address PersonsWithBooksUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line14722 N 24th St Suite 300AddressLine1Txt
CityPhoenixCityNm
State AbbreviationAZStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP85016ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct With3rd Prty For Game RevfalseCntrctWith3rdPrtyForGameRevInd
Gaming Manager PersonTeresa DaviaGamingManagerPersonNm
Gaming Manager Services ProvSUPERVISION, RECORD KEEPING, HIRING AND FIRINGGamingManagerServicesProvTxt
Gaming Manager Is EmployeeYes (X)GamingManagerIsEmployeeInd
Charitable Distribution RqrfalseCharitableDistributionRqrInd

Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant Records MaintainedYes (true)GrantRecordsMaintainedInd

Recipient Table RecipientTable

Recipient Business Name RecipientBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1DIGNITY HEALTH DBA ST JOSEPHS HOSP & MED CENTERBusinessNameLine1Txt

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1350 W THOMAS ROADAddressLine1Txt
CityPHOENIXCityNm
State AbbreviationAZStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP85013ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Recipient EIN941196203RecipientEIN
IRC Section501(c)(3)IRCSectionDesc
Cash Grant$13,441,891CashGrantAmt
Valuation Method UsedN/AValuationMethodUsedDesc
Non Cash AssistanceN/ANonCashAssistanceDesc
Purpose Of GrantSupport hospitalPurposeOfGrantTxt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total501c3 Org1Total501c3OrgCnt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSCHEDULE I, PART I, LINE 2FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationThe Foundation operates exclusively for the benefit of, to perform the functions of, or to carry out the purposes of the grantee listed in Part II, item 1 (Dignity health, dba St. Joseph's Hospital and Medical Center), which includes making DISTRIBUTIONS directly to the beneficiary organization, transferring and monitoring that restrictions are met before release of funds and expenditure of such funds.ExplanationTxt

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Severance PaymentYes (true)SeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr PlanYes (true)SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp ArrngmfalseEquityBasedCompArrngmInd
Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng OrgfalseCompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd On Rev Related OrgsfalseCompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng OrgfalseCompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd OrgsfalseCompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd
Any Non Fixed PaymentsfalseAnyNonFixedPaymentsInd
Initial Contract ExceptionfalseInitialContractExceptionInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (4 entries)

TitleTitleTxtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
Patty White
Director$453,133$276,821$161,960$65,886$34,984$992,784$141,084
Katherine Cobb
CEO$208,051$22,377$0$18,207$17,730$266,365$0
Jeffrey Jackson
CFO$284,185$47,360$11,016$34,449$9,203$386,213$0
Terri Hoffman
Former Officer$204,483$41,134$1,214$22,275$15,693$284,799$0

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (4 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
SCHEDULE J, part 1, line 3THE FOUNDATION RELIED ON A RELATED ORGANIZATION, DIGNITY HEALTH, THAT USED ONE OR MORE OF THE METHODS DESCRIBED IN SCHEDULE J, PART I, LINE 3, TO ESTABLISH THE COMPENSATION OF THE PERSON WHO IS THE TOP MANAGEMENT OFFICIAL FOR THIS ORGANIZATION.SEE SCHEDULE O DISCLOSURE FOR FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 15 FOR ADDITIONAL INFORMATION.
SCHEDULE J, part I, line 4aCERTAIN OFFICERS AND HIGHLY COMPENSATED EMPLOYEES PARTICIPATE IN A SEVERANCE PLAN THAT PROVIDES FAIR COMPENSATION, RANGING FROM PAYMENTS OF 2 WEEKS TO 36 WEEKS OF BASE COMPENSATION, DEPENDING ON THE EXECUTIVE'S POSITION, IN THE EVENT OF A POSITION ELIMINATION OR OTHER INVOLUNTARY TERMINATION, IN ACCORDANCE WITH THE GUIDELINES OF THE PLAN. NO PAYMENTS WERE MADE UNDER THIS PLAN DURING 2017.
SCHEDULE J, Part I, line 4bCERTAIN LISTED PERSONS HIRED PRIOR TO JUNE 30, 2006 ARE ELIGIBLE TO PARTICIPATE IN THE 2007 DIGNITY HEALTH EXECUTIVE DEFERRED COMPENSATION PLAN, A NONQUALIFIED 457(F) PLAN, THAT IS SUBJECT TO SUBSTANIAL RISK OF FORFEITURE, AS REQUIRED BY THE IRS. THE BENEFIT IS INTENDED TO BRIDGE THE DIFFERENCE, IF ANY, BETWEEN THE BENEFIT PROVIDED UNDER THE DIGNITY HEALTH EXCESS BENEFIT PLAN HAD BENEFIT SERVICES NOT BEEN FROZEN AT JANUARY 1,2008, AND THE BENEFITS PROVIDED FROM ALL OTHER QUALIFIED AND NON-QUALIFIED PLANS. NO BENEFIT UNDER THE 457(F) PLAN BEFORE THE ATTAINMENT OF AGE 62 OR THE COMPLETION OF 15 YEARS OF SERVICE. CERTAIN LISTED PERSONS PARTICIPATE IN THE DIGNITY HEALTH EXCESS BENEFIT PLAN, A NONQUALIFIED SUPPLEMENTAL BENEFIT PLAN LIMITED TO PARTICIPANTS IN THE DIGNITY HEALTH RETIREMENT PLAN WHOSE BENEFITS ARE AFFECTED BY THE LIMITATIONS IMPOSED BY SECTIONS 401(A)(17) AND 415 OF THE INTERNAL REVENUE CODE. BENEFIT SERVICE UNDER THIS PLAN WAS FROZEN AS OF JANUARY 1,2008. NO PAYMENTS WERE MADE UNDER THIS PLAN IN 2013. CERTAIN LISTED PERSONS PARTICIPATE IN THE DIGNITY HEALTH KEY EMPLOYEE SHARE OPTION PLAN (KEYSOP), WHICH WAS FROZEN IN MAY 2002. THE KEYSOP PROGRAM WAS ESTABLISHED IN 2001 WITH THE PURPOSE OF PROVIDING INCOME DEFERRAL OPPORTUNITIES TO ELIGIBLE EMPLOYEES, FOR THE COMPANY'S KEY EMPLOYEE RETENTION PROGRAM. NO PAYMENTS WERE MADE UNDER THIS PLAN DURING 2017.
SCHEDULE J, Part II, Supplemental disclosuresALTHOUGH THE ORGANIZATION DOES NOT DIRECTLY EMPLOY ANY PERSONNEL, THE SUPPORTED ORGANIZATION'S EXECUTIVE COMPENSATION PHILOSOPHY IS DESIGNED TO ASSIST IN ATTRACTING AND RETAINING THE CALIBER OF EXECUTIVES REQUIRED TO FULFILL THE ORGANIZATION'S MISSION OF PROVIDING HIGH QUALITY HEALTHCARE FOR ALL PERSONS REGARDLESS OF THEIR ABILITY TO PAY FOR SERVICES, IMPROVING THE QUALITY OF LIFE IN THE COMMUNITIES THE ORGANIZATION SERVES,PROMOTING EMPLOYEE SATISFACTION, AND ENSURING FINANCIAL STABILITY. A SUBSTANTIAL PORTION OF EXECUTIVE COMPENSATION IS PERFORMANCE BASED AND IS LINKED TO ORGANIZATIONAL GOALS APPROVED IN ADVANCE BY THE HUMAN RESOURCES AND COMPENSATION COMMITTEE. THESE GOALS INCLUDE ATTAINMENT OF ANNUAL AND LONG-TERM FINANCIAL PERFORMANCE, CERTAIN HEALTHCARE QUALITY STANDARDS AND THE ORGANIZATION'S COMMITMENT TO SERVING THE POOR AND DISENFRANCHISED IN THE COMMUNITIES IT SERVES. TOTAL COMPENSATION, WHICH INCLUDES BASE SALARY, ANNUAL AND LONG-TERM INCENTIVE COMPENSATION, TARGETS THE 75TH PERCENTILE OF THE MARKET IN WHICH THE ORGANIZATION COMPETES FOR EXECUTIVES, COMMENSURATE WITH THE SIZE OF THE ORGANIZATION AND COMPLEXITY OF THE ORGANIZATION.

Schedule M IRS990ScheduleM

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Works Of ArtWorksOfArtGrp
Art Historical TreasuresArtHistoricalTreasuresGrp
Art Fractional InterestArtFractionalInterestGrp

Books And Publications BooksAndPublicationsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Non Cash CheckboxYes (X)NonCashCheckboxInd
Noncash Contributions Rpt F990$1,790NoncashContributionsRptF990Amt
Method Of Determining RevenuesResale valueMethodOfDeterminingRevenuesTxt

Clothing And Household Goods ClothingAndHouseholdGoodsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Non Cash CheckboxYes (X)NonCashCheckboxInd
Noncash Contributions Rpt F990$7,854NoncashContributionsRptF990Amt
Method Of Determining RevenuesResale valueMethodOfDeterminingRevenuesTxt

Cars And Other Vehicles CarsAndOtherVehiclesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Non Cash CheckboxYes (X)NonCashCheckboxInd
Contribution1ContributionCnt
Noncash Contributions Rpt F990$55,604NoncashContributionsRptF990Amt
Method Of Determining RevenuesRESALE PRICEMethodOfDeterminingRevenuesTxt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Boats And PlanesBoatsAndPlanesGrp
Intellectual PropertyIntellectualPropertyGrp

Securities Publicly Traded SecuritiesPubliclyTradedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Non Cash CheckboxYes (X)NonCashCheckboxInd
Contribution3ContributionCnt
Noncash Contributions Rpt F990$4,594NoncashContributionsRptF990Amt
Method Of Determining RevenuesAverage Market ValueMethodOfDeterminingRevenuesTxt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities Closely Held StockSecuritiesCloselyHeldStockGrp
Secur Prtnrshp Trust IntrstsSecurPrtnrshpTrustIntrstsGrp
Securities MiscellaneousSecuritiesMiscellaneousGrp
Qualified Contrib Hist StructQualifiedContribHistStructGrp
Qualified Contrib OtherQualifiedContribOtherGrp
Real Estate ResidentialRealEstateResidentialGrp
Real Estate CommercialRealEstateCommercialGrp
Real Estate OtherRealEstateOtherGrp
CollectiblesCollectiblesGrp
Food InventoryFoodInventoryGrp
Drugs And Medical SuppliesDrugsAndMedicalSuppliesGrp
TaxidermyTaxidermyGrp
Historical ArtifactsHistoricalArtifactsGrp
Scientific SpecimensScientificSpecimensGrp
Archaeological ArtifactsArchaeologicalArtifactsGrp

Other Non Cash Contri Table OtherNonCashContriTableGrp (5 entries)

Non Cash CheckboxNonCashCheckboxIndDescDescContributionContributionCntNoncash Contributions Rpt F990NoncashContributionsRptF990AmtMethod Of Determining RevenuesMethodOfDeterminingRevenuesTxt
Yes (X)Other Gift Certificates1$25Comparable sale
Yes (X)Other Food and Wine3$11,522Comparable sale
Yes (X)Other Electronics1$1,500Comparable sale
Yes (X)Other Medical Equipment1$600Comparable sale
Yes (X)Other Office Equipment1$4,018Comparable sale
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Any Property That Must Be HeldfalseAnyPropertyThatMustBeHeldInd
Review Process Unusual NC GiftsYes (true)ReviewProcessUnusualNCGiftsInd
Third Parties UsedfalseThirdPartiesUsedInd

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSchedule M, Part I, column (b)FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationThe amounts reported in Schedule M, Part I column (b) consist of the number of contributions received.ExplanationTxt

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (13 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
FORM 990, PART I, LINE 5 AND PART V, LINE 2AThe organization does not have employees.The foundation operates for the benefit of the hospital and utilizes the employees of that hospital. The proportionate salaries and benefits for these individuals are allocated to the Foundation. The salaries of these employees are included in the hospital entity's Form W-3 and federal employment tax returns. FORM 990, PART V, LINE 7H Barrow Neurological did not file a 1098-C since the donated car is used by the hospital.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 7bThe supported organization, Dignity Health, a 501(c)(3) organization, must approve any changes to the bylaws of the Foundation that would have the effect of changing the purpose of the organization.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 11AThe Foundation's Vice President of Operations and CEO Reviewed the form 990 in detail prior to filing, as did the Foundation's Audit and Finance Committee. Due to timing of Board meetings, the full board did not receive a copy of the Form 990 prior to filing. However, the form was provided to the full board at the first meeting subsequent to the filing date.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 12cThe Foundation has adopted Dignity Health's Conflicts of Interest Policy. The Foundation's Board is charged with monitoring proposed or ongoing transactions for conflicts of interest and addressing any potential or actual conflicts. Pursuant to the Conflicts of Interest Policy, an annual conflict of interest questionnaire, aimed at determining any family and business relationships and transactions or other transactions that may pose a potential conflict, is distributed to all covered persons (e.g., board members, officers and executive leadership, key employees). Covered persons are required to disclose real or potential conflicts at the time such conflicts arise. When an individual becomes a covered person and annually thereafter, each covered person is required to submit an updated disclosure statement and to sign a statement affirming that he/she: (1) has received a copy of the Conflicts of Interest Policy; (2) has read the Policy and understands said Policy; and (3) agrees to comply with all requirements of the Policy, including completing the conflicts of interest disclosure statement. The completed questionnaires are reviewed by Dignity Health's Legal Department and any persons with actual or potential conflicts are informed via written communication. The procedures for addressing any conflict of interest include, but are not limited to, the following: (1) the conflicting interest is fully disclosed to the Board; (2) the interested person responds to factual questions related to the substance of the transaction or arrangement being considered, after which he/she shall leave the meeting; (3) the person with the conflict of interest is excluded from the discussion and approval of such transaction; (4) If warranted, alternatives to the proposed transaction are investigated, competitive bids or comparable valuations are obtained; (5) any conflicting issues during the course of a Board meeting which cannot be resolved is referred to the Governance Committee; and (6) the transaction or action must be approved by a majority of disinterested persons. All conflicts of interest, whether resolved or unresolved, are reported in the Foundation's Form 990.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 15THE ORANIZATION DOES NOT EMPLOY PERSONNEL, HOWEVER, THE TOP MANAGEMENT OFFICIAL IS COMPENSATED BY DIGNITY HEALTH. FOR 2017 COMPENSATION, DIGNITY HEALTH'S HUMAN RESOURCES AND COMPENSATION COMMITTEE APPROVES, CONSISTANT WITH THE ORGANIZATION'S PHILOSOPHY AND PRINCIPLES, THE ANNUAL PERFORMANCE GOALS AND CRITERIA TO BE USED IN DETERMINING MERIT INCREASES AND VARIABLE COMPENSATION COMMITTEE ALSO ENGAGES OUTSIDE LEGAL COUNSEL AS NECESSARY AND QUALIFIED INDEPENDENT COMPENSATION AND BENEFITS SPECIALISTS (INDEPENDENT EXPERTS) TO REVIEW, ANALYZE AND PROVIDE BENCHMARKING DATA FOR THE TOTAL COMPENSATION AND BENEFITS PACKAGES OF OFFICERS AND KEY EXECUTIVES. APPROPRIATE COMPARABLE DATA IS OBTAINED FROM THE INDEPENDENT EXPERTS, (E.G., TOTAL ECONOMIC BENEFITS PAID BY SIMILARLY SITUATED ORGANIZATIONS, BOTH TAXABLE AND TAX-EXEMPT, FOR SIMILAR JOB RESPONSIBILITES). KEY DELIBERATIONS OF THE COMMITTEE ARE DOCUMENTED IN MEETING MINUTES WHICH ARE APPROVED AT THE NEXT COMMITTEE MEETING AND PROVIDED TO THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION C, LINE 19Federal tax laws do not mandate that the organization's governing documents, conflict of interest policy and financial statements be made available for public inspection. The organization makes its consolidated financial statements available on its website and upon request.
FORM 990, PART XI, LINE 9Reclass bad debt and py pledge adj to net asset $ 437,755 Change in value split interest trust $ (72,298) ============================================================ Total Form 990, Part XI, Line 9 $ 365,457
FORM 990 PART IX LINE 11GDESCRIPTION:ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICES TOTAL FEES:2533205
FORM 990 PART IX LINE 11GDESCRIPTION:INTERCOMPANY ASSESSMENTS TOTAL FEES:674422
FORM 990 PART IX LINE 11GDESCRIPTION:PROFESSIONAL CONSULTING FEES TOTAL FEES:121991
FORM 990 PART IX LINE 11GDESCRIPTION:CATERING EXPENSES TOTAL FEES:26260
FORM 990 PART IX LINE 11GDESCRIPTION:PHOTOGRAPHY EXPENSES TOTAL FEES:9305
FORM 990 PART IX LINE 11GDESCRIPTION:OTHER PURCHASED SERVICES TOTAL FEES:38538

Schedule R IRS990ScheduleR

Id Related Tax Exempt Org IdRelatedTaxExemptOrgGrp (3 entries)

Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityUSAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPUSAddress/ZIPCdEINEINPrimary ActivitiesPrimaryActivitiesTxtLegal Domicile StateLegalDomicileStateCdExempt Code SectionExemptCodeSectionTxtPublic Charity StatusPublicCharityStatusTxtBusiness Name Line1DirectControllingEntityName/BusinessNameLine1TxtControlled OrganizationControlledOrganizationInd
DIGNITY HEALTH dba St Joseph's hospital
350 West Thomas RoadPhoenixAZ85013941196203HospitalAZ501(C)(3)3nafalse
St Joseph's Foundation
350 West Thomas RoadPhoenixAZ85013942941245Support.orgAZ501(C)(3)12ADignityfalse
Congenital Heart Foundation
350 West Thomas RoadPhoenixAZ85013942941245Support.orgAZ501(C)(3)12ADignityfalse
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Receipt Of Int Annts Rnts RyltsfalseReceiptOfIntAnntsRntsRyltsInd
Gift Grnt Or Cap Contri To Oth OrgYes (true)GiftGrntOrCapContriToOthOrgInd
Gift Grnt Cap Contri From Oth OrgYes (true)GiftGrntCapContriFromOthOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees To Other OrgfalseLoansOrGuaranteesToOtherOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees From Oth OrgfalseLoansOrGuaranteesFromOthOrgInd
Div Related OrganizationfalseDivRelatedOrganizationInd
Asset Sale To Other OrgfalseAssetSaleToOtherOrgInd
Asset Purchase From Other OrgfalseAssetPurchaseFromOtherOrgInd
Asset ExchangefalseAssetExchangeInd
Rental Of Facilities To Oth OrgfalseRentalOfFacilitiesToOthOrgInd
Rental Of Fclts From Oth OrgfalseRentalOfFcltsFromOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services For Oth OrgYes (true)PerformOfServicesForOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services By Other OrgfalsePerformOfServicesByOtherOrgInd
Sharing Of FacilitiesYes (true)SharingOfFacilitiesInd
Paid Employees SharingfalsePaidEmployeesSharingInd
Reimbursement Paid To Other OrgfalseReimbursementPaidToOtherOrgInd
Reimbursement Paid By Other OrgYes (true)ReimbursementPaidByOtherOrgInd
Transfer To Other OrgfalseTransferToOtherOrgInd
Transfer From Other OrgfalseTransferFromOtherOrgInd

Comments

Anonymous: no account or email. Up to 2,000 characters, at most one link. Comments are checked automatically; some wait for review.