CREDIT UNIONS CHARTERED IN THE STATE OF MICHIGAN: Form 990, tax year 2018

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
CREDIT UNIONS CHARTERED IN THE STATE OF MICHIGAN (EIN 38-1379433)
Tax period
2018-06-01 to 2018-12-31
Filed
2019-09-24
IRS object ID
201912679349300411
Schema version
2018v3.1
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2019-09-24T08:31:11-05:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2018-12-31TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN382492570PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1DOEREN MAYHEWBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1305 WEST BIG BEAVER ROADAddressLine1Txt
CityTROYCityNm
State AbbreviationMIStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP48084ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2018-06-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN381379433EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1PFCUBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlPFCUBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone5176477571PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line19077 CHARLOTTE HIGHWAYAddressLine1Txt
CityPORTLANDCityNm
State AbbreviationMIStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP488758417ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonTAMMY L BENGELPersonNm
Person TitleCFOPersonTitleTxt
Phone5176477571PhoneNum
Signature2019-09-24SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (1)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonROBERT PARKSPreparerPersonNm
PTINP00740435PTIN
Phone2482443000PhoneNum

Filing Security Information FilingSecurityInformation

IP Address IPAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
I Pv4 Address64.95.240.2IPv4AddressTxt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
IP2019-09-24IPDt
IP Tm08:30:06IPTm
IP TimezoneEDIPTimezoneCd
Filing License TypePFilingLicenseTypeCd
At Submission Creation Device IdA7DB26C3BB201601930FCFA0C4651552B54C26A2AtSubmissionCreationDeviceId
At Submission Filing Device IdA7DB26C3BB201601930FCFA0C4651552B54C26A2AtSubmissionFilingDeviceId
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2018TaxYr
Build TS2019-02-21 02:37:17ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Initial ReturnYes (X)InitialReturnInd
Principal OfficerHARVEY HOSKINSPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line19077 CHARLOTTE HIGHWAYAddressLine1Txt
CityPORTLANDCityNm
State AbbreviationMIStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP488758417ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$21,244,241GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For Affiliates0GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501cYes (X)Organization501cInd
Website AddressWWW.PFCU4ME.COMWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1947FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateMILegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionWE ARE COMMITTED TO THE COMMUNITIES THAT WE SERVE BY PROVIDING PRODUCTS AND SERVICES TO EXCEED THEIR LIFELONG GOALS. WE WILL BE OUR MEMBERS' PRIMARY FINANCIAL INSTITUTION.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body11VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent11VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee200TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers16TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$56,102TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$49,555NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
CY Contributions Grants$0CYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$14,823,378CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Investment Income$1,742,979CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Other Revenue$0CYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$16,566,357CYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$30,484CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$6,650,730CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$0CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
CY Other Expenses$8,443,631CYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$15,124,845CYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$1,441,512CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$323,312,457TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$535,594,031TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$289,910,477TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$473,423,047TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$33,401,980NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$62,170,984NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
Info In Schedule O Part IIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartIIIInd
MissionLOCAL PEOPLE DEDICATED TO HOMETOWN SERVICE ONE MEMBER AT A TIME, ANYTIME.MissionDesc
Significant New Program SrvcYes (1)SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant Change0SignificantChangeInd
DescEFFECTIVE JUNE 1, 2018 PORTLAND FEDERAL CREDIT UNION CONVERTED TO A STATE-CHARTERED CREDIT UNION AND CHANGED ITS NAME TO PFCU. EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 2018 SAGELINK CREDIT UNION MERGED INTO PFCU. AS OF DECEMBER 2018, PFCU SERVED 50,219 MEMBERS WITH REGULAR SHARES, CLUB, SHARE DRAFTS, CERTIFICATES OF DEPOSITS, MONEY MARKETS AND INDIVIDUAL RETIREMENT ACCOUNTS.Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty2 ProgSrvcAccomActy2Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescAS OF DECEMBER 2018, PFCU HAD 30,953 LOANS OUTSTANDING INCLUDING PERSONAL, HOME EQUITY, MORTGAGE AND CREDIT CARD LOANS.Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty3 ProgSrvcAccomActy3Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescPFCU OFFERS AUTOMATED TELLER MACHINES, ITM MACHINES AND VARIOUS INSURANCE PROGRAMS.Desc
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Described In Section501c30DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B Required0ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign Acty0PoliticalCampaignActyInd
Subject To Proxy Tax0SubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised Fund0DonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation Easements0ConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of Art0CollectionsOfArtInd
Credit Counseling0CreditCounselingInd
Temp Or Permanent Endowments0TempOrPermanentEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (1)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other SecYes (1)ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related Invst0ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other Assets0ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (1)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (1)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt0ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School Operating0SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign Office0ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign Activities0ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To Org0MoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To Individuals0MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional Fundraising0ProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising Activities0FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming Activities0GamingActivitiesInd
Operate Hospital0OperateHospitalInd
Grants To Organizations0GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To Individuals0GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J Required0ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt Bonds0TaxExemptBondsInd
Loan Outstanding0LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related Person0GrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org Mem0BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam Mem0BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With Officer Ent0BusinessRlnWithOfficerEntInd
Deductible Non Cash Contri0DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art Contribution0DeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate Operations0TerminateOperationsInd
Partial Liquidation0PartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded Entity0DisregardedEntityInd
Related Entity0RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl Ent0RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Activities Conducted Prtshp0ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (1)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document4928IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (1)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee200EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (1)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over LimitYes (1)UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Form990 T FiledYes (1)Form990TFiledInd
Foreign Financial Account0ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans0ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party Notification0TaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible Contributions0NondeductibleContributionsInd
Indoor Tanning Services0IndoorTanningServicesInd
Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht Pymt0SubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd
Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst Inc0SubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members11GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member11IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business Rln0FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt Duties0DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org Documents0ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or Misuse0MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or StockholdersYes (1)MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersYes (1)ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To ApprovaYes (1)DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (1)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (1)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing Address0OfficerMailingAddressInd
Local Chapters0LocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn Body0Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (1)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (1)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (1)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (1)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (1)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (1)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (1)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint Venture0InvestmentInJointVentureInd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1TAMMY BENGELBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Phone5176477571PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line19077 CHARLOTTE HIGHWAYAddressLine1Txt
CityPORTLANDCityNm
State AbbreviationMIStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP488758417ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (13 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtOfficerOfficerInd
DANIEL SCHRAUBEN
SECRETARY1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MICHAEL WARD
CHAIRPERSON1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
RONALD GREEN
BOD MEMBER1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
ERIN GORMAN
BOD MEMBER1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
RACHEL HASKIN
BOD MEMBER1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
VIRGIL BUDD
BOD MEMBER1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
CHAD BURKE
BOD MEMBER1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
FRANK MASON
TREASURER1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
BRAD MCFAUL
VICE CHAIRPERSON1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
CHARLIE
SCHAUFELE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
RAY VANHECEKE
BOD MEMBER1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
HARVEY HOSKINS
CEO40.00$132,525$0$13,377Yes (X)
TAMMY L BENGEL
CFO40.00$69,712$0$13,064Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$202,237TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$26,441TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K1IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees Listed0FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 K0TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other Srcs0CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
WORLDPAY
8500 GOVERNORS HILL DRSYMMES TOWNSHIPOH45249DEBIT/CREDIT CARDS$754,551
MEMBER DRIVEN TECHNOLOGIES
30230 ORCHARD LAKE RD STE 260FARMINGTON HILLSMI48834CORE COMPUTER SYSTEM$741,238
INFORMA SYSTEMS
5170 HARTSHORN DRFLUSHINGMI48433ATMS/ITMS$254,190
FISERV
255 FISERV DRIVEBROOKFIELDWI53045DEBIT/CREDIT CARDS$228,772
Q2
13785 RESEARCH BLVD STE 150AUSTINTX78750DIGITAL BANKING$200,484
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K8CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (4 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmtUnrelated Business RevenueUnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
LOANS TO MEMBERS522100$10,468,359$10,468,359
FEES/CHARGES/OTHER522100$4,298,917$4,298,917
NON MEMBER ATMS900099$33,129$33,129
SHARES BRANCHING900099$22,973$22,973
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$14,823,378TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$1,584,863TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$1,584,863RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$4,836,000SecuritiesAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$4,677,884SecuritiesAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$158,116SecuritiesAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$158,116TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$158,116RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$16,566,357TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$16,510,255RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$56,102UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$0ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part IXYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartIXInd

Grants To Domestic Orgs GrantsToDomesticOrgsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$30,484TotalAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$228,678TotalAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$4,362,292TotalAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$423,664TotalAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,246,192TotalAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$389,904TotalAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$17,487TotalAmt

Fees For Srvc Invst Mgmnt Fees FeesForSrvcInvstMgmntFeesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$18,850TotalAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$87,985TotalAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$480,921TotalAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,478,153TotalAmt

Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$675,572TotalAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$488,111TotalAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$97,875TotalAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,243,710TotalAmt

Payments To Affiliates PaymentsToAffiliatesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$19,981TotalAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$400,422TotalAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$59,706TotalAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmt
LOAN SERVICING$1,046,879
PROVISION FOR LOAN LOSS$939,066
DEBIT/CREDIT EXPENSES$882,712
MAINTENANCE$446,744

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$59,457TotalAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$15,124,845TotalAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,671,703BOYAmt
EOY$6,033,360EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$14,258,084BOYAmt
EOY$71,214,650EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$14,985BOYAmt
EOY$398,117EOYAmt

Oth Notes Loans Receivable Net OthNotesLoansReceivableNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$255,829,227BOYAmt
EOY$354,087,642EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$546,948BOYAmt
EOY$1,469,753EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$11,927,586LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$0LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$6,360,964BOYAmt
EOY$11,927,586EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$9,337,015BOYAmt
EOY$47,570,443EOYAmt

Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$31,558,900BOYAmt
EOY$31,293,700EOYAmt

Intangible Assets IntangibleAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EOY$4,387,376EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,734,631BOYAmt
EOY$7,211,404EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$323,312,457BOYAmt
EOY$535,594,031EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$794,415BOYAmt
EOY$3,230,063EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$289,116,062BOYAmt
EOY$470,192,984EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$289,910,477BOYAmt
EOY$473,423,047EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Org Does Not Follow SFAS117Yes (X)OrgDoesNotFollowSFAS117Ind

Cap Stk Tr Prin Current Funds CapStkTrPrinCurrentFundsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Pd In Cap Srpls Land Bldg Eqp Fund PdInCapSrplsLandBldgEqpFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Rtn Earn Endowment Incm Oth Fnds RtnEarnEndowmentIncmOthFndsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$33,401,980BOYAmt
EOY$62,170,984EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$33,401,980BOYAmt
EOY$62,170,984EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$323,312,457BOYAmt
EOY$535,594,031EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part XIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$1,441,512ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst$190,910NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets$27,136,582OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Info In Schedule O Part XIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIIInd
Method Of Accounting CashYes (X)MethodOfAccountingCashInd
Accountant Compile Or Review0AccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (1)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Separate Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (1)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit Required0FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$1,552,527OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$1,552,527BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$8,821,308OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$8,821,308BookValueAmt

Leasehold Improvements LeaseholdImprovementsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$152,054OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$152,054BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$1,401,697OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$1,401,697BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$11,927,586TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Other Securities OtherSecuritiesGrp (3 entries)

DescDescBook ValueBookValueAmtMethod ValuationMethodValuationCd
PERPETUAL CONTRIBUTED CAPITAL$1,131,500C
FHLB STOCK$1,249,464C
CERTIFICATES OF DEPOSIT$28,912,736C
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Securities$31,293,700TotalBookValueSecuritiesAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescMEMBER SHARE AND SAVINGSDesc
Amt$470,192,984Amt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$470,192,984TotalLiabilityAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$16,566,357TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Revenue Not Reported$0RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$16,566,357RevenueSubtotalAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$0RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$16,566,357TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$15,124,845TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Expenses Not Reported$0ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$15,124,845ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$0ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$15,124,845TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePART X, LINE 2:FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationTHE CREDIT UNION IS EXEMPT FROM MOST FEDERAL, STATE, AND LOCAL TAXES UNDER THE PROVISIONS OF THE INTERNAL REVENUE CODE AND STATE TAX LAWS. THE INCOME TAXES TOPIC OF THE FASB ASC CLARIFIES ACCOUNTING FOR UNCERTAINTY IN INCOME TAXES REPORTED IN THE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS. THE INTERPRETATION PROVIDES CRITERIA FOR ASSESSMENT OF INDIVIDUAL TAX POSITIONS AND A PROCESS FOR RECOGNITION AND MEASUREMENT OF UNCERTAIN TAX POSITIONS. TAX POSITIONS ARE EVALUATED ON WHETHER THEY MEET THE "MORE LIKELY THAN NOT" STANDARD FOR SUSTAINABILITY UPON EXAMINATION BY TAX AUTHORITIES. THE CREDIT UNION IS A STATE-CHARTERED CREDIT UNION AS DEFINED IN INTERNAL REVENUE CODE (IRC) SECTION 501(C)(14). AS SUCH, THE CREDIT UNION IS EXEMPT FROM FEDERAL TAXATION OF INCOME DERIVED FROM THE PERFORMANCE OF ACTIVITIES DIRECTLY RELATED TO ITS EXEMPT PURPOSES. HOWEVER, IRC SECTION 511 IMPOSES A TAX ON THE UNRELATED BUSINESS INCOME (UBI) DERIVED BY STATE-CHARTERED CREDIT UNIONS. BEGINNING IN MARCH 2008, THE INTERNAL REVENUE SERVICE (IRS) RELEASED TECHNICAL ADVICE MEMORANDUMS (TAMS) TO SPECIFIC STATE-CHARTERED CREDIT UNIONS SPECIFYING THE REVENUE SOURCES SUBJECT TO UNRELATED BUSINESS INCOME TAX (UBIT). UBI MAY ALSO BE SUBJECT TO TAX IN CERTAIN STATES. MANAGEMENT HAS ASSESSED THE CREDIT UNION'S ACTIVITIES AND ANY POTENTIAL FEDERAL OR STATE INCOME TAX LIABILITY AND DETERMINED THAT THE CREDIT UNION HAS NO UNCERTAIN TAX POSITIONS THAT QUALIFY FOR EITHER RECOGNITION OR DISCLOSURE IN THE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS. ADDITIONALLY, NO INTEREST AND PENALTIES HAVE BEEN RECORDED IN THE ACCOMPANYING FINANCIAL STATEMENTS RELATED TO UNCERTAIN TAX POSITIONS. CURRENTLY, THE 2017, 2016, 2015, AND 2014 FEDERAL INCOME TAX RETURNS ARE OPEN FOR EXAMINATION BY THE IRS. THE FILING YEARS OPEN FOR EXAMINATION BY THE STATE, IF APPLICABLE, MAY BE EQUAL TO, GREATER THAN OR LESS THAN THE YEARS OPEN FOR EXAMINATION BY THE IRS.ExplanationTxt

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (11 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
FORM 990, PART III, LINE 2PFCU MERGED WITH SAGELINK CREDIT UNION JULY 1ST 2018.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 6THE ORGANIZATION HAS MEMBERS.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 7ATHE CREDIT UNION FIELD OF MEMBERSHIP HAS AUTHORITY TO ELECT AND RE-ELECT EVERY TWO YEARS THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS AND THE MEMBERS OF THE SUPERVISORY COMMITTEE.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 7BTHE CREDIT UNION'S MEMBERSHIP VOTED ON A CHARTER CHANGE AND MERGER DURING 2018. EFFECTIVE JUNE 1, 2018 PORTLAND FEDERAL CREDIT UNION BECAME STATE CHARTERED AND CHANGED ITS' NAME TO PFCU. EFFECTIVE JULY 1ST 2018 PFCU MERGED WITH SAGELINK CREDIT UNION.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 11BWE HAVE ENGAGED DOEREN MAYHEW TO PREPARE FORM 990. ONCE THEY HAVE COMPLETED A DRAFT OF THE FILING, THE VICE PRESIDENT OF ACCOUNTING WILL REVIEW THE FORM. ONCE APPROVED, FORM 990 IS E-FILED WITH THE IRS.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 12CTHE ORGANIZATION HAS A CONFLICT OF INTEREST CLAUSE IN THE EMPLOYEE HANDBOOK. THIS HANDBOOK IS REVIEWED AND SIGNED BY EACH EMPLOYEE EACH YEAR.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 15THE BOARD CHAIR PERFORMS A REVIEW OF THE CEO. THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS COLLECTIVELY DETERMINES THE CEO'S COMPENSATION UTILIZING THE CUNA SALARY SURVEY AS A REFERENCE. THE CEO AND THE EXECUTIVE V.P. DETERMINE THE SALARY FOR THE CFO AND UTILIZE THE CUNA SALARY SURVEY AS A REFERENCE.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION C, LINE 19GOVERNING DOCUMENTS AND CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICIES ARE NOT MADE AVAILABLE TO THE PUBLIC. QUARTERLY FINANCIAL STATEMENTS ARE MADE AVAILABLE TO THE PUBLIC ON THE NCUA'S WEBSITE VIA THE 5300 CALL REPORT FILING.
FORM 990, PART IX, LINE 24EMISCELLANEOUS 38,994. TRAINING/DEVELOPMENT/EDUCATION 20,463.
FORM 990, PART XI, LINE 9:EQUITY ACQUIRED THROUGH MERGER 27,136,582.
FORM 990, PART XII, LINE 2CTHERE WERE NO CHANGES IN THE PROCESS OF THE COMMITTEE THAT ASSUMES RESPONSIBILITY OF THE OVERSIGHT OF THE AUDIT AND SELECTION OF THE INDEPENDENT AUDITOR.

Comments

Anonymous: no account or email. Up to 2,000 characters, at most one link. Comments are checked automatically; some wait for review.