CHICAGO PUBLIC EDUCATION FUND: Form 990, tax year 2018
View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗
- Organization
- CHICAGO PUBLIC EDUCATION FUND (EIN 36-4279013)
- Tax period
- 2018-01-01 to 2018-12-31
- Filed
- 2019-09-09
- IRS object ID
- 201912529349300126
- Schema version
- 2018v3.1
- Source
- Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica
Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.
Return header ReturnHeader
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Return | 2019-09-09T10:28:00-05:00 | ReturnTs |
| Tax Period End | 2018-12-31 | TaxPeriodEndDt |
Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Preparer Firm EIN | 420714325 | PreparerFirmEIN |
Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | RSM US LLP | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 1 S Wacker Drive Ste 800 | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | Chicago | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | IL | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 60606 | ZIPCd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Return Type | 990 | ReturnTypeCd |
| Tax Period Begin | 2018-01-01 | TaxPeriodBeginDt |
Filer Filer
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| EIN | 364279013 | EIN |
Business Name BusinessName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | Chicago Public Education Fund | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Control | CHIC | BusinessNameControlTxt |
| Phone | 3125584500 | PhoneNum |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 200 West Adams No 2150 | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | Chicago | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | IL | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 606065230 | ZIPCd |
Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Person | Heather Y Anichini | PersonNm |
| Person Title | President & CEO | PersonTitleTxt |
| Phone | 3125584500 | PhoneNum |
| Signature | 2019-08-21 | SignatureDt |
| Discuss With Paid Preparer | Yes (1) | DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd |
Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Preparer Person | Rebekuh Eley | PreparerPersonNm |
| PTIN | P01247672 | PTIN |
| Phone | 3126343400 | PhoneNum |
Filing Security Information FilingSecurityInformation
IP Address IPAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| I Pv4 Address | 66.98.98.129 | IPv4AddressTxt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| IP | 2019-08-21 | IPDt |
| IP Tm | 13:39:48 | IPTm |
| IP Timezone | CD | IPTimezoneCd |
| Filing License Type | P | FilingLicenseTypeCd |
| At Submission Creation Device Id | DA39A3EE5E6B4B0D3255BFEF95601890AFD80709 | AtSubmissionCreationDeviceId |
| At Submission Filing Device Id | 8C7237D2AFEDFB09D88626A2D3FB2BC60A40D8C2 | AtSubmissionFilingDeviceId |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Tax | 2018 | TaxYr |
| Build TS | 2019-02-21 02:37:17Z | BuildTS |
Form 990 IRS990
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Principal Officer | Heather Y Anichini | PrincipalOfficerNm |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 200 West Adams No 2150 | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | Chicago | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | IL | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 606065230 | ZIPCd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Gross Receipts | $25,574,217 | GrossReceiptsAmt |
| Group Return For Affiliates | 0 | GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd |
| Organization501c3 | Yes (X) | Organization501c3Ind |
| Website Address | www.TheFundChicago.org | WebsiteAddressTxt |
| Type Of Organization Corp | Yes (X) | TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd |
| Formation | 1999 | FormationYr |
| Legal Domicile State | IL | LegalDomicileStateCd |
| Activity Or Mission | The Fund is a nonprofit organization that works to build a critical mass of great public schools in Chicago by investing in talented principals and enabling educator teams to reinvent classroom learning in ways that dramatically improve student outcomes. The Fund is a catalyst for accelerating student learning in all of Chicago's public schools and has been a longstanding leader in identifying and scaling what works for teachers and principals, as well as the students they serve. Please visit our website at www.thefundchicago.org to learn more about The Fund. | ActivityOrMissionDesc |
| Voting Members Governing Body | 25 | VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt |
| Voting Members Independent | 24 | VotingMembersIndependentCnt |
| Total Employee | 31 | TotalEmployeeCnt |
| Total Volunteers | 28 | TotalVolunteersCnt |
| Total Gross UBI | $0 | TotalGrossUBIAmt |
| Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm | $12,218 | NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt |
| PY Contributions Grants | $8,691,634 | PYContributionsGrantsAmt |
| CY Contributions Grants | $11,278,121 | CYContributionsGrantsAmt |
| PY Program Service Revenue | $0 | PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
| CY Program Service Revenue | $0 | CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
| PY Investment Income | $21,734 | PYInvestmentIncomeAmt |
| CY Investment Income | $736 | CYInvestmentIncomeAmt |
| PY Other Revenue | $0 | PYOtherRevenueAmt |
| CY Other Revenue | $0 | CYOtherRevenueAmt |
| PY Total Revenue | $8,713,368 | PYTotalRevenueAmt |
| CY Total Revenue | $11,278,857 | CYTotalRevenueAmt |
| PY Grants And Similar Paid | $26,125 | PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt |
| CY Grants And Similar Paid | $88,500 | CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt |
| PY Benefits Paid To Members | $0 | PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt |
| CY Benefits Paid To Members | $0 | CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt |
| PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid | $1,928,059 | PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt |
| CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid | $2,046,693 | CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt |
| PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns | $0 | PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt |
| CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns | $0 | CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt |
| CY Total Fundraising Expense | $194,036 | CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt |
| PY Other Expenses | $2,771,909 | PYOtherExpensesAmt |
| CY Other Expenses | $2,367,310 | CYOtherExpensesAmt |
| PY Total Expenses | $4,726,093 | PYTotalExpensesAmt |
| CY Total Expenses | $4,502,503 | CYTotalExpensesAmt |
| PY Revenues Less Expenses | $3,987,275 | PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt |
| CY Revenues Less Expenses | $6,776,354 | CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt |
| Total Assets BOY | $15,461,155 | TotalAssetsBOYAmt |
| Total Assets EOY | $21,901,790 | TotalAssetsEOYAmt |
| Total Liabilities BOY | $574,313 | TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt |
| Total Liabilities EOY | $474,520 | TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt |
| Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY | $14,886,842 | NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt |
| Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY | $21,427,270 | NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt |
| Info In Schedule O Part III | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartIIIInd |
| Mission | The Chicago Public Education Fund (the Fund) is building a critical mass of great public schools in Chicago by investing in talented principals and enabling educator teams to reinvent classroom learning in ways that dramatically improve student outcomes. | MissionDesc |
| Significant New Program Srvc | 0 | SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd |
| Significant Change | 0 | SignificantChangeInd |
| Expense | $1,780,619 | ExpenseAmt |
| Grant | $88,500 | GrantAmt |
| Desc | Program and InnovationThe Fund's work includes investments in principal programming, actionable data and public reporting.Our most recent cycle, Fund 4, reached more than 70 percent of sitting principals and helped many of them improve. The number of principals rated proficient or above who are serving in Level 1 or Level 1+ schools grew from 150 in 2013 to more than 300 in 2018. In 2018, 279 unique principals received in-role supports through The Fund's programs and investments across 383 program slots. This includes 32 principals who improved retention rates among their teachers in partnership with The New Teacher Project (TNTP) and Chicago Public Schools (CPS) and 20 principals who participated in a "Leading Change" course with the Harvard Graduate School of Education, which is designed to help principals better manage their teams through adaptive leadership practices. One-hundred-and-sixty-two principals participated in one of 19 principal-led Professional Learning Communities (PLCs). Each PLC is facilitated by a high-performing principal with known expertise in a specific topic area. The Fund also supported 72 principal-led teams through our sixth annual Summer Design Program (SDP), a unique professional development opportunity that offers school teams the space, time and expertise to pursue innovative solutions to some of their most pressing challenges. Through the 2018 SDP, principal-led teams worked directly with expert partners from UChicago Impact and the National SAM Innovation Project. An additional 20 principals received supports through Sensible Innovation as part of their work with LEAP Innovations.Finally, The Fund launched a new pilot, the South Side Education Alliance (SSEA), which includes eight principals and their teams who serve high-need students in and around the Bronzeville area of Chicago. Each of these schools is receiving a slate of programs, which, when taken together, are designed to help educators improve student outcomes. These include family engagement programming provided by Stand for Children, instructional coaching for principals and teacher leaders provided by Fulcrum Education Solutions, support building a school environment conducive to student learning provided by UChicago Impact and distributed leadership provided by the National SAM Innovation Project. | Desc |
Prog Srvc Accom Acty2 ProgSrvcAccomActy2Grp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Expense | $1,692,748 | ExpenseAmt |
| Desc | Systems and Policies In 2018, The Fund continued to support The Chicago Principal Partnership (The Partnership), a citywide effort to provide actionable principal quality data to stakeholders and ensure that principal quality remains an enduring priority in Chicago's school improvement strategy. In 2018, The Partnership completed development of a powerful Data Warehouse that produces regular reports on key principal quality metrics for stakeholders, conducted a working group on the principal pipeline in Chicago and published two reports about principal satisfaction and engagement and principal turnover.In addition, The Fund's work included efforts to improve the retention of Chicago's top-performing principals through the Chicago Principals Fellowship (The Fellowship) and The Cahn Fellows Program. The Fellowship, which is a partnership between The Fund, Crown Family Philanthropies, Chicago Public Schools and Northwestern University, is an executive-level leadership development program intended to grow the skills of top principals and further expand their leadership capacity. Twenty-three high-performing principals joined the fifth cohort of The Fellowship in 2018, committing to lead in Chicago through at least 2020. The Cahn Fellows Program at Teachers College, Columbia University, offered programming to seven Chicago principals. The Cahn Fellows Program is a national program that recognizes top principals and develops their capacity as leaders. | Desc |
Prog Srvc Accom Acty3 ProgSrvcAccomActy3Grp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Expense | $488,019 | ExpenseAmt |
| Desc | Educator Engagement The Fund seeks to engage perspectives from diverse educators to inform its program and policy efforts and develop a theory on what high-performing principals need to lead successfully. In 2018, The Fund invested resources in its Educator Advisory Committee (EAC), which is designed to inform Fund strategy and program. In 2018, the EAC included sixteen principals from public schools citywide. In addition, The Fund worked to inform its own and the city's efforts to improve principal quality by performing regular engagement surveys, exit surveys and focus groups with public school principals in Chicago. The Fund's annual engagement survey yielded an 82 percent response rate and informed organizational strategy and programming.Finally, The Fund celebrated educators citywide through our second annual Principal Appreciation Campaign, which involved social media outreach, videos sharing exceptional principal stories and a celebration event attended by more than 150 principals and leaders from across the city. | Desc |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Program Service Expenses | $3,961,386 | TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt |
| Described In Section501c3 | Yes (1) | DescribedInSection501c3Ind |
| Schedule B Required | Yes (1) | ScheduleBRequiredInd |
| Political Campaign Acty | 0 | PoliticalCampaignActyInd |
| Lobbying Activities | Yes (1) | LobbyingActivitiesInd |
| Subject To Proxy Tax | 0 | SubjectToProxyTaxInd |
| Donor Advised Fund | 0 | DonorAdvisedFundInd |
| Conservation Easements | 0 | ConservationEasementsInd |
| Collections Of Art | 0 | CollectionsOfArtInd |
| Credit Counseling | Yes (1) | CreditCounselingInd |
| Temp Or Permanent Endowments | 0 | TempOrPermanentEndowmentsInd |
| Report Land Building Equipment | Yes (1) | ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd |
| Report Investments Other Sec | 0 | ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd |
| Report Program Related Invst | 0 | ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd |
| Report Other Assets | 0 | ReportOtherAssetsInd |
| Report Other Liabilities | Yes (1) | ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd |
| Include FIN48 Footnote | Yes (1) | IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd |
| Independent Audit Fincl Stmt | Yes (1) | IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd |
| Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt | 0 | ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd |
| School Operating | 0 | SchoolOperatingInd |
| Foreign Office | 0 | ForeignOfficeInd |
| Foreign Activities | 0 | ForeignActivitiesInd |
| More Than5000 K To Org | 0 | MoreThan5000KToOrgInd |
| More Than5000 K To Individuals | 0 | MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd |
| Professional Fundraising | 0 | ProfessionalFundraisingInd |
| Fundraising Activities | 0 | FundraisingActivitiesInd |
| Gaming Activities | 0 | GamingActivitiesInd |
| Operate Hospital | 0 | OperateHospitalInd |
| Grants To Organizations | Yes (1) | GrantsToOrganizationsInd |
| Grants To Individuals | Yes (1) | GrantsToIndividualsInd |
| Schedule J Required | Yes (1) | ScheduleJRequiredInd |
| Tax Exempt Bonds | 0 | TaxExemptBondsInd |
| Engaged In Excess Benefit Trans | 0 | EngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd |
| PY Excess Benefit Trans | 0 | PYExcessBenefitTransInd |
| Loan Outstanding | 0 | LoanOutstandingInd |
| Grant To Related Person | 0 | GrantToRelatedPersonInd |
| Business Rln With Org Mem | 0 | BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd |
| Business Rln With Fam Mem | 0 | BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd |
| Business Rln With Officer Ent | 0 | BusinessRlnWithOfficerEntInd |
| Deductible Non Cash Contri | 0 | DeductibleNonCashContriInd |
| Deductible Art Contribution | 0 | DeductibleArtContributionInd |
| Terminate Operations | 0 | TerminateOperationsInd |
| Partial Liquidation | 0 | PartialLiquidationInd |
| Disregarded Entity | 0 | DisregardedEntityInd |
| Related Entity | 0 | RelatedEntityInd |
| Related Organization Ctrl Ent | 0 | RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd |
| Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd Org | 0 | TrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd |
| Activities Conducted Prtshp | 0 | ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd |
| Schedule O Required | Yes (1) | ScheduleORequiredInd |
| IRP Document | 29 | IRPDocumentCnt |
| IRP Document W2 G | 0 | IRPDocumentW2GCnt |
| Backup Wthld Compliance | Yes (1) | BackupWthldComplianceInd |
| Employee | 31 | EmployeeCnt |
| Employment Tax Returns Filed | Yes (1) | EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd |
| Unrelated Bus Incm Over Limit | Yes (1) | UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd |
| Form990 T Filed | Yes (1) | Form990TFiledInd |
| Foreign Financial Account | 0 | ForeignFinancialAccountInd |
| Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans | 0 | ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd |
| Taxable Party Notification | 0 | TaxablePartyNotificationInd |
| Nondeductible Contributions | 0 | NondeductibleContributionsInd |
| Quid Pro Quo Contributions | 0 | QuidProQuoContributionsInd |
| Form8282 Property Disposed Of | 0 | Form8282PropertyDisposedOfInd |
| Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft Cntrct | 0 | RcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd |
| Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft Cntrct | 0 | PayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd |
| Indoor Tanning Services | 0 | IndoorTanningServicesInd |
| Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht Pymt | 0 | SubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd |
| Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst Inc | 0 | SubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd |
| Info In Schedule O Part VI | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd |
| Governing Body Voting Members | 25 | GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt |
| Independent Voting Member | 24 | IndependentVotingMemberCnt |
| Family Or Business Rln | 0 | FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd |
| Delegation Of Mgmt Duties | 0 | DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd |
| Change To Org Documents | 0 | ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd |
| Material Diversion Or Misuse | 0 | MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd |
| Members Or Stockholders | 0 | MembersOrStockholdersInd |
| Election Of Board Members | 0 | ElectionOfBoardMembersInd |
| Decisions Subject To Approva | 0 | DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd |
| Minutes Of Governing Body | Yes (1) | MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd |
| Minutes Of Committees | Yes (1) | MinutesOfCommitteesInd |
| Officer Mailing Address | 0 | OfficerMailingAddressInd |
| Local Chapters | 0 | LocalChaptersInd |
| Form990 Provided To Gvrn Body | Yes (1) | Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd |
| Conflict Of Interest Policy | Yes (1) | ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd |
| Annual Disclosure Covered Prsn | Yes (1) | AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd |
| Regular Monitoring Enfrc | Yes (1) | RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd |
| Whistleblower Policy | Yes (1) | WhistleblowerPolicyInd |
| Document Retention Policy | Yes (1) | DocumentRetentionPolicyInd |
| Compensation Process CEO | Yes (1) | CompensationProcessCEOInd |
| Compensation Process Other | Yes (1) | CompensationProcessOtherInd |
| Investment In Joint Venture | 0 | InvestmentInJointVentureInd |
| States Where Copy Of Return Is Fld | IL | StatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd |
| Own Website | Yes (X) | OwnWebsiteInd |
| Upon Request | Yes (X) | UponRequestInd |
Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Person | Heather Y Anichini | PersonNm |
| Phone | 3125584500 | PhoneNum |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 200 West Adams Ste 2150 | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | Chicago | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | IL | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 606065230 | ZIPCd |
Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (27 entries)
| TitleTitleTxt | Average Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRt | Individual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorInd | OfficerOfficerInd | Reportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmt | Reportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmt | Other CompensationOtherCompensationAmt | Key EmployeeKeyEmployeeInd | Highest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Heather Y Anichini | ||||||||
| President & CEO | 40.00 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $320,153 | $0 | $40,834 | ||
| Brent Gledhill | ||||||||
| Chair | 4.00 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| Kenneth C Griffin | ||||||||
| Vice Chair | 3.00 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| Helen H Zell | ||||||||
| Vice Chair | 3.00 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| Jill M Garling | ||||||||
| Treasurer | 3.00 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| Barbara Malott Kizziah | ||||||||
| Secretary | 3.00 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| Laura Bilicic | ||||||||
| Director | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| Gillian Darlow | ||||||||
| Director | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| Kassie Davis | ||||||||
| Director | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| John Dugenske | ||||||||
| Director | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| Kimberly Evans | ||||||||
| Director | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| Jim Frank | ||||||||
| Director | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| John Garabedian | ||||||||
| Director | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| Austan Goolsbee | ||||||||
| Director | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| Mellody Hobson | ||||||||
| Director | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| Andrew Lerner | ||||||||
| Director | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| Stuart E Lucas | ||||||||
| Director | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| Siddharth Mehta | ||||||||
| Director | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| Anthony Miller | ||||||||
| Director | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| Judy Pomeranz | ||||||||
| Director | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| Penny Bender Sebring | ||||||||
| Director | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| Brian P Simmons | ||||||||
| Director | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| Eric Smith | ||||||||
| Director | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| Elizabeth Swanson | ||||||||
| Director | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| David J Vitale | ||||||||
| Director | 1.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| Chaula Gupta | ||||||||
| VP, Program & Engagement | 40.00 | $194,802 | $0 | $36,735 | Yes (X) | |||
| Nelson Gerew | ||||||||
| Director, Data & Policy | 40.00 | $169,240 | $0 | $8,456 | Yes (X) | |||
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Reportable Comp From Org | $684,195 | TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt |
| Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org | $0 | TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt |
| Total Other Compensation | $86,025 | TotalOtherCompensationAmt |
| Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K | 3 | IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt |
| Former Ofcr Employees Listed | 0 | FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd |
| Total Comp Greater Than150 K | Yes (1) | TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd |
| Compensation From Other Srcs | 0 | CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd |
Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)
| Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1Txt | CityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNm | State AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCd | ZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCd | ServicesServicesDesc | CompensationCompensationAmt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Convergence Consulting Group | |||||
| 2502 N Rocky Point Dr Ste 650 | Tampa | FL | 33607 | Principal Quality Database Development | $491,008 |
| Kellogg School of Management | |||||
| 2001 Sheridan Rd | Evanston | IL | 60208 | Executive Training For Top Principals | $327,100 |
| National SAM Innovation Project | |||||
| 672 S Everett St | Lakewood | CO | 80226 | Summer Design Program Support | $280,100 |
| UChicago Impact LLC | |||||
| 1313 E 60th St | Chicago | IL | 60637 | Summer Design Program Support | $161,000 |
| Teachers College Columbia University | |||||
| 525 W 120th St | New York | NY | 10027 | Principal Leadership Development | $124,250 |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K | 5 | CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt |
| All Other Contributions | $11,278,121 | AllOtherContributionsAmt |
| Total Contributions | $11,278,121 | TotalContributionsAmt |
Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $138,620 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Exclusion | $138,620 | ExclusionAmt |
Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Securities | $14,157,476 | SecuritiesAmt |
Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Securities | $14,295,360 | SecuritiesAmt |
Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Securities | -$137,884 | SecuritiesAmt |
Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | -$137,884 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Exclusion | -$137,884 | ExclusionAmt |
Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $11,278,857 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Related Or Exempt Func Income | $0 | RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt |
| Unrelated Business Revenue | $0 | UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt |
| Exclusion | $736 | ExclusionAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Info In Schedule O Part IX | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartIXInd |
Grants To Domestic Orgs GrantsToDomesticOrgsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $8,500 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $8,500 | ProgramServicesAmt |
Grants To Domestic Individuals GrantsToDomesticIndividualsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $80,000 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $80,000 | ProgramServicesAmt |
Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $770,220 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $662,203 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $44,985 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $63,032 | FundraisingAmt |
Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $1,024,377 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $888,595 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $67,632 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $68,150 | FundraisingAmt |
Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $28,332 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $24,420 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $1,972 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $1,940 | FundraisingAmt |
Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $113,864 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $97,907 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $7,718 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $8,239 | FundraisingAmt |
Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $109,900 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $94,939 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $6,940 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $8,021 | FundraisingAmt |
Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $3,010 | TotalAmt |
| Management And General | $3,010 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $23,475 | TotalAmt |
| Management And General | $23,475 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Fees For Srvc Invst Mgmnt Fees FeesForSrvcInvstMgmntFeesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $23,464 | TotalAmt |
| Management And General | $23,464 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $1,745,165 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $1,675,763 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $69,402 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Advertising AdvertisingGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $113,977 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $81,886 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $17,150 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $14,941 | FundraisingAmt |
Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $73,685 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $42,025 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $28,012 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $3,648 | FundraisingAmt |
Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $66,842 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $55,827 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $5,982 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $5,033 | FundraisingAmt |
Occupancy OccupancyGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $229,090 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $191,339 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $20,502 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $17,249 | FundraisingAmt |
Travel TravelGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $15,848 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $12,230 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $3,348 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $270 | FundraisingAmt |
Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $18,247 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $7,896 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $10,251 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $100 | FundraisingAmt |
Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $45,326 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $37,856 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $4,057 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $3,413 | FundraisingAmt |
Insurance InsuranceGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $6,061 | TotalAmt |
| Management And General | $6,061 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Desc | Income Tax Provision | Desc |
| Total | $3,120 | TotalAmt |
| Management And General | $3,120 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $4,502,503 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $3,961,386 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $347,081 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $194,036 | FundraisingAmt |
Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $1,923,074 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $1,688,897 | EOYAmt |
Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $835,796 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $2,076,579 | EOYAmt |
Pledges And Grants Receivable PledgesAndGrantsReceivableGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $6,888,529 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $12,945,811 | EOYAmt |
Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $37,163 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $23,864 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss | $603,478 | LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt |
| Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec | $531,820 | LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt |
Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $100,106 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $71,658 | EOYAmt |
Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $5,626,078 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $5,063,371 | EOYAmt |
Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $50,409 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $31,610 | EOYAmt |
Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $15,461,155 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $21,901,790 | EOYAmt |
Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $421,869 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $275,884 | EOYAmt |
Escrow Account Liability EscrowAccountLiabilityGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| EOY | $90,000 | EOYAmt |
Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $152,444 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $108,636 | EOYAmt |
Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $574,313 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $474,520 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Organization Follows SFAS117 | Yes (X) | OrganizationFollowsSFAS117Ind |
Unrestricted Net Assets UnrestrictedNetAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $7,515,814 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $6,802,826 | EOYAmt |
Temporarily Rstr Net Assets TemporarilyRstrNetAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $7,371,028 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $14,624,444 | EOYAmt |
Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $14,886,842 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $21,427,270 | EOYAmt |
Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $15,461,155 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $21,901,790 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Info In Schedule O Part XI | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd |
| Reconcilation Revenue Expnss | $6,776,354 | ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt |
| Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst | $139,595 | NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt |
| Other Changes In Net Assets | -$375,521 | OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt |
| Method Of Accounting Accrual | Yes (X) | MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd |
| Accountant Compile Or Review | 0 | AccountantCompileOrReviewInd |
| FS Audited | Yes (1) | FSAuditedInd |
FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Separate Basis Fincl Stmt | Yes (X) | SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Audit Committee | Yes (1) | AuditCommitteeInd |
| Federal Grant Audit Required | 0 | FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd |
Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Public Organization170 | Yes (X) | PublicOrganization170Ind |
Gifts Grants Contri Rcvd170 GiftsGrantsContriRcvd170Grp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Current Tax Year Minus4 Years | $8,765,254 | CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus3 Years | $2,380,320 | CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus2 Years | $3,302,398 | CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus1 Year | $8,691,634 | CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt |
| Current Tax Year | $11,278,121 | CurrentTaxYearAmt |
| Total | $34,417,727 | TotalAmt |
Total Calendar Year170 TotalCalendarYear170Grp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Current Tax Year Minus4 Years | $8,765,254 | CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus3 Years | $2,380,320 | CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus2 Years | $3,302,398 | CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus1 Year | $8,691,634 | CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt |
| Current Tax Year | $11,278,121 | CurrentTaxYearAmt |
| Total | $34,417,727 | TotalAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Substantial Contributors Tot | $16,130,534 | SubstantialContributorsTotAmt |
| Public Support Total170 | $18,287,193 | PublicSupportTotal170Amt |
Gross Investment Income170 GrossInvestmentIncome170Grp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Current Tax Year Minus4 Years | $7,763 | CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus3 Years | $181,017 | CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus2 Years | $188,642 | CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus1 Year | $152,177 | CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt |
| Current Tax Year | $138,620 | CurrentTaxYearAmt |
| Total | $668,219 | TotalAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Support | $35,085,946 | TotalSupportAmt |
| Public Support CY170 | 0.52120 | PublicSupportCY170Pct |
| Public Support PY170 | 0.52190 | PublicSupportPY170Pct |
| Thirty Thr Pct Suprt Tests CY170 | Yes (X) | ThirtyThrPctSuprtTestsCY170Ind |
Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB
Schedule C IRS990ScheduleC
Other Exempt Purpose Expend OtherExemptPurposeExpendGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Filing Organizations Total | $4,499,383 | FilingOrganizationsTotalAmt |
Total Exempt Purpose Expend TotalExemptPurposeExpendGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Filing Organizations Total | $4,499,383 | FilingOrganizationsTotalAmt |
Lobbying Nontaxable Amount LobbyingNontaxableAmountGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Filing Organizations Total | $374,969 | FilingOrganizationsTotalAmt |
Grassroots Nontaxable GrassrootsNontaxableGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Filing Organizations Total | $93,742 | FilingOrganizationsTotalAmt |
Tot Lbbyng Grassroot Mns Non Tx TotLbbyngGrassrootMnsNonTxGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Filing Organizations Total | $0 | FilingOrganizationsTotalAmt |
Tot Lbby Expend Mns Lbbyng Non Tx TotLbbyExpendMnsLbbyngNonTxGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Filing Organizations Total | $0 | FilingOrganizationsTotalAmt |
Avg Lobbying Nontaxable Amount AvgLobbyingNontaxableAmountGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Current Year Minus3 | $370,375 | CurrentYearMinus3Amt |
| Current Year Minus2 | $384,813 | CurrentYearMinus2Amt |
| Current Year Minus1 | $420,371 | CurrentYearMinus1Amt |
| Current Year | $374,969 | CurrentYearAmt |
| Total | $1,550,528 | TotalAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Lobbying Ceiling | $2,325,792 | LobbyingCeilingAmt |
Avg Grassroots Nontaxable AvgGrassrootsNontaxableGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Current Year Minus3 | $92,594 | CurrentYearMinus3Amt |
| Current Year Minus2 | $96,203 | CurrentYearMinus2Amt |
| Current Year Minus1 | $105,093 | CurrentYearMinus1Amt |
| Current Year | $93,742 | CurrentYearAmt |
| Total | $387,632 | TotalAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Grassroots Ceiling | $581,448 | GrassrootsCeilingAmt |
Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Agent Trustee Etc | 0 | AgentTrusteeEtcInd |
| Incl Escrow Custodial Acct Liab | Yes (1) | InclEscrowCustodialAcctLiabInd |
| Explanation Provided | Yes (X) | ExplanationProvidedInd |
Leasehold Improvements LeaseholdImprovementsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Cost Or Other Basis | $224,916 | OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Depreciation | $198,677 | DepreciationAmt |
| Book Value | $26,239 | BookValueAmt |
Equipment EquipmentGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Cost Or Other Basis | $378,562 | OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Depreciation | $333,143 | DepreciationAmt |
| Book Value | $45,419 | BookValueAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Book Value Land Buildings | $71,658 | TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt |
Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Desc | Deferred Rent | Desc |
| Amt | $108,636 | Amt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Liability | $108,636 | TotalLiabilityAmt |
| Footnote Text | Yes (X) | FootnoteTextInd |
| Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt | $11,425,572 | TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt |
| Net Unrealized Gains Invst | $139,595 | NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt |
| Donated Services And Use Fclts | $30,584 | DonatedServicesAndUseFcltsAmt |
| Revenue Not Reported | $170,179 | RevenueNotReportedAmt |
| Revenue Subtotal | $11,255,393 | RevenueSubtotalAmt |
| Investment Expenses Not Incld | $23,464 | InvestmentExpensesNotIncldAmt |
| Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt | $23,464 | RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt |
| Total Revenue Per Form990 | $11,278,857 | TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt |
| Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt | $4,509,623 | TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt |
| Donated Services Use Fclts | $30,584 | DonatedServicesUseFcltsAmt |
| Expenses Not Reported | $30,584 | ExpensesNotReportedAmt |
| Expenses Subtotal | $4,479,039 | ExpensesSubtotalAmt |
| Investment Expenses Not Incld2 | $23,464 | InvestmentExpensesNotIncld2Amt |
| Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt | $23,464 | ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt |
| Total Expenses Per Form990 | $4,502,503 | TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt |
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)
| Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDesc | ExplanationExplanationTxt |
|---|---|
| Part IV, Line 2b: | During 2018, The Fund agreed to serve as fiscal agent on behalf of the Schwartz Ward Family Foundation (the Foundation) with respect to the Executive Principal Program (the Program) in partnership with Chicago Public Schools. The Fund received a payment of $90,000 from the Foundation which will be disbursed during 2019 under the direction of the Foundation to Chicago Public Schools for payment of stipends to principals participating in the Program. |
| Part X, Line 2: | The Fund is exempt from federal income tax under Section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code and applicable state law. In addition, The Fund qualifies for the charitable contribution deduction under Section 170(b)(1)(A) and has been classified as an organization that is not a private foundation under Section 509(a)(2). The accounting standard on accounting for uncertainty in income taxes addressed the determination of whether tax benefits claimed on a tax return should be recorded in the financial statements. Under this guidance, The Fund may recognize the tax benefit from an uncertain tax position only if it is more likely than not that the tax position will be sustained on examination by taxing authorities, based on the technical merits of the position. Examples of tax positions include the tax-exempt status of The Fund and the various positions related to the potential sources of unrelated business taxable income. The tax benefits recognized in the financial statement from such a position are measured based on the largest benefit that has a greater than 50 percent likelihood of being realized upon ultimate settlement. The Fund does not believe that there are any unrecognized tax benefits or tax liabilities that should be recorded for the reporting periods presented in these financial statements. |
Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Grant Records Maintained | Yes (1) | GrantRecordsMaintainedInd |
Recipient Table RecipientTable
Recipient Business Name RecipientBusinessName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | Chicago Public Schools | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 42 W Madison Street | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | Chicago | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | IL | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 60602 | ZIPCd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Recipient EIN | 366005821 | RecipientEIN |
| Cash Grant | $8,500 | CashGrantAmt |
| Purpose Of Grant | Professional Learning Community Stipends. | PurposeOfGrantTxt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total501c3 Org | 1 | Total501c3OrgCnt |
| Total Other Org | 0 | TotalOtherOrgCnt |
Grants Other Asst To Indiv In US GrantsOtherAsstToIndivInUSGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Grant Type | Grants To Principals | GrantTypeTxt |
| Recipient | 24 | RecipientCnt |
| Cash Grant | $80,000 | CashGrantAmt |
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Form And Line Reference | Part I, Line 2: | FormAndLineReferenceDesc |
| Explanation | The Fund makes investments in grantees pursuant to benchmark schedules, and grant dollars are disbursed to grantees only upon documented evidence that grantees are achieving or working toward achieving the most critical factors for their programs to be successful. Acceptable achievements are jointly agreed upon at the time The Fund commits to the grant, and staff members work with the grantee to monitor and document progress against these shared goals. At any point during the grant period, The Fund may withhold the associated payment if a particular benchmark is not met or can decide to discontinue funding if ample progress is not being made in a timely manner against the specified benchmark goals. | ExplanationTxt |
Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Compensation Committee | Yes (X) | CompensationCommitteeInd |
| Form990 Of Other Organizations | Yes (X) | Form990OfOtherOrganizationsInd |
| Compensation Survey | Yes (X) | CompensationSurveyInd |
| Board Or Committee Approval | Yes (X) | BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd |
| Severance Payment | 0 | SeverancePaymentInd |
| Supplemental Nonqual Rtr Plan | 0 | SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd |
| Equity Based Comp Arrngm | 0 | EquityBasedCompArrngmInd |
| Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng Org | 0 | CompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd |
| Comp Bsd On Rev Related Orgs | 0 | CompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd |
| Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng Org | 0 | CompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd |
| Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd Orgs | 0 | CompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd |
| Any Non Fixed Payments | Yes (1) | AnyNonFixedPaymentsInd |
| Initial Contract Exception | 0 | InitialContractExceptionInd |
Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (3 entries)
| TitleTitleTxt | Base Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmt | Compensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmt | Bonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmount | Bonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmt | Other Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmt | Other Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmt | Deferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmt | Deferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmt | Nontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmt | Nontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmt | Total Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmt | Total Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmt | Comp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmt | Comp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Heather Y Anichini | ||||||||||||||
| President & CEO | $239,153 | $0 | $81,000 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $11,415 | $0 | $29,419 | $0 | $360,987 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| Chaula Gupta | ||||||||||||||
| VP, Program & Engagement | $176,302 | $0 | $18,500 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $8,140 | $0 | $28,595 | $0 | $231,537 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| Nelson Gerew | ||||||||||||||
| Director, Data & Policy | $153,740 | $0 | $15,500 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $6,820 | $0 | $1,636 | $0 | $177,696 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Form And Line Reference | Part I, Line 7 | FormAndLineReferenceDesc |
| Explanation | Employees are eligible for discretionary year-end merit-based bonuses. Approvals for the bonus amounts are determined using the same procedures as for base compensation, described in the response to Form 990, Part VI, Section B, Line 15. | ExplanationTxt |
Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (6 entries)
| Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDesc | ExplanationExplanationTxt |
|---|---|
| Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 11b | The President and CEO reviews the completed Form 990, and then it is emailed in final form to the Governance, Operations, Finance and Audit Committee, as well as to the entire Board of Directors, for their review and comments prior to filing with the IRS. |
| Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 12c | Officers, directors, and key employees complete a questionnaire to disclose annually any business transactions or relationships they or a family member may have had with The Fund or any of its officers, directors, or key employees. Potential conflicts noted in the responses are passed along to the President & CEO for review and, when necessary, referred to the Executive Committee for their consideration. In addition to the required annual conflict of interest questionnaire, The Fund's Board of Directors' policy covering conflicts of interest provides that directors and staff have the responsibility to immediately disclose potential conflicts of interest and refrain from influencing other directors or staff in relation to those matters. If a potential or actual conflict arises, directors also have the responsibility to recuse themselves at an appropriate time. Directors, staff and their immediate family members cannot realize any direct or indirect personal financial benefit from a Fund investment. |
| Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 15 | The Executive Committee of the Board is responsible for reviewing and approving the compensation package for the President and CEO. The determination of the appropriate level of compensation included a review of compensation levels for the equivalent positions at comparable organizations, through review of Form 990s and survey data produced by national and regional industry associations. For other staff salaries, a review of compensation levels at comparable organizations was conducted by the CEO, and her recommendations for salary adjustments were reviewed by the Governance, Operations, Finance and Audit Committee in conjunction with the annual budget planning process. The process for determining the compensation is documented. |
| Form 990, Part VI, Section C, line 19 | Financial statements for recent fiscal years are available to the public on The Fund's website. Also, the governing documents, conflict of interest policy and financial statements are available upon request for the same period of disclosure as set forth in IRC Section 6104(d). |
| Form 990, Part IX, line 11g | Consultants: Program service expenses 21,000. Management and general expenses 68,850. Fundraising expenses 0. Total expenses 89,850. Clerical Temps: Program service expenses 0. Management and general expenses 552. Fundraising expenses 0. Total expenses 552. Program Service Fees: Program service expenses 1,654,763. Management and general expenses 0. Fundraising expenses 0. Total expenses 1,654,763. |
| Form 990, Part XI, line 9: | Loss on uncollectible pledges -375,521. |
Comments