FURP.ORG / PUBLIC DATA EXPLORER

PHYSICIANS ORGANIZATION AT CHILDRENS HOSPITAL INC: Form 990, tax year 2017

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
PHYSICIANS ORGANIZATION AT CHILDRENS HOSPITAL INC (EIN 04-3266103)
Tax period
2017-10-01 to 2018-09-30
Filed
2019-08-13
IRS object ID
201902259349300940
Schema version
2017v2.3
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2019-08-13T08:59:30-05:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2018-09-30TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN010494526PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Baker Newman & Noyes LLCBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1280 Fore StreetAddressLine1Txt
CityPortlandCityNm
State AbbreviationMEStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP04101ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2017-10-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN043266103EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Physicians Organization at Children'sBusinessNameLine1Txt
Business Name Line2Hospital IncBusinessNameLine2Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlPHYSBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone6179194078PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1300 Longwood AvenueAddressLine1Txt
CityBostonCityNm
State AbbreviationMAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP02115ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonThomas J HartPersonNm
Person TitleCFOPersonTitleTxt
Phone6179194078PhoneNum
Signature2019-08-12SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid Preparer0DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonNicholas E PortoPreparerPersonNm
PTINP01310283PTIN
Phone8002447444PhoneNum
Preparation2019-08-12PreparationDt

Filing Security Information FilingSecurityInformation

IP Address IPAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
I Pv4 Address208.105.168.164IPv4AddressTxt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
IP2019-08-12IPDt
IP Tm13:44:19IPTm
IP TimezoneEDIPTimezoneCd
Filing License TypePFilingLicenseTypeCd
At Submission Creation Device Id8D27C340D9F2F89D467D155AEFB91C71D643DA43AtSubmissionCreationDeviceId
At Submission Filing Device Id86AD5A998A217BD7885303F5109AB5202568ED7DAtSubmissionFilingDeviceId
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2017TaxYr
Build TS2019-02-21 02:37:17ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerSteven J Fishman MDPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1300 Longwood AvenueAddressLine1Txt
CityBostonCityNm
State AbbreviationMAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP02115ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$70,393,086GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For Affiliates0GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501c3Yes (X)Organization501c3Ind
Website AddressN/AWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1995FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateMALegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionThe Organization was formed to promote health by coordinating the practice of (see Schedule O) pediatric medicine and related health care services provided by its affiliated member Foundations. The Organization supports the Foundations by assisting in managed care and risk based contracts, quality management, patient safety, and other administrative services that enhance the Foundations' operations.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body28VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent1VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee0TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers0TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI-$1,290TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm-$1,290NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$0PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$6,639,718CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$57,399,402PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$63,711,323CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$8,819PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income-$59,892CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$0PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$0CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$57,408,221PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$70,291,149CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$0PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$0CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$23,986,938PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$25,662,370CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$0PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$0CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$0CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$31,407,242PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$42,207,417CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$55,394,180PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$67,869,787CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$2,014,041PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$2,421,362CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$43,811,495TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$58,624,983TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$26,640,703TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$37,907,914TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$17,170,792NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$20,717,069NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
Info In Schedule O Part IIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartIIIInd
MissionThe Organization operates exclusively for the benefit of the charitable purposes of Boston Children's Hospital (the Hospital) and the affiliated Foundations. It works jointly with the Hospital and the Foundations in developing and coordinating an (see Schedule O) integrated child health system and to foster cost effective, quality patient care within that system. The Organization negotiates and enters into agreements with insurers, payors, managed care plans, and fringe benefit plans on behalf of its member Foundations.MissionDesc
Significant New Program Srvc0SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant Change0SignificantChangeInd
Expense$29,435,363ExpenseAmt
Revenue$29,559,635RevenueAmt
DescThe Physicians Organization at Children's Hospital, Inc. (the Organization) sponsors health, dental, life, and disability benefit plans for the member Foundations. The health and dental plans are self-funded with internal premiums based upon the expected utilization of the plan members. Any surplus or deficit generated at the plan year-end is applied to the calculation when determining the subsequent year's premiums. Life and disability revenue is directly offset by premiums paid to the insurance carriers.Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty2 ProgSrvcAccomActy2Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Expense$14,107,889ExpenseAmt
Revenue$14,167,450RevenueAmt
DescThe Organization provides professional services to certain member Foundations to assist them in accounting, consulting, strategic management, quality programs, patient billing, patient safety, coordinated care cost containment, and other administrative services. Annual membership dues received from member Foundations support the medical activities of the members by arranging for the delivery of healthcare services with insurers, managed care plans, and health maintenance organizations.Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty3 ProgSrvcAccomActy3Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Expense$19,900,223ExpenseAmt
Revenue$19,984,238RevenueAmt
DescThe Organization has entered into leases at satellite locations for clinical and general office space. Member Foundations reimburse the Organization for use of these facilities at cost. In addition, the Organization provides management services to the Hospital and Foundations. The Hospital or Foundation reimburses the Organization for salary and fringe support of employees.Desc
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Expenses$63,443,475TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt
Described In Section501c3Yes (1)DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B RequiredYes (1)ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign Acty0PoliticalCampaignActyInd
Lobbying Activities0LobbyingActivitiesInd
Subject To Proxy Tax0SubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised Fund0DonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation Easements0ConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of Art0CollectionsOfArtInd
Credit Counseling0CreditCounselingInd
Temp Or Permanent EndowmentsYes (1)TempOrPermanentEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (1)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other SecYes (1)ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related Invst0ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other AssetsYes (1)ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (1)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (1)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl Stmt0IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School Operating0SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign Office0ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign Activities0ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To Org0MoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To Individuals0MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional Fundraising0ProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising Activities0FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming Activities0GamingActivitiesInd
Operate Hospital0OperateHospitalInd
Grants To Organizations0GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To Individuals0GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (1)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt Bonds0TaxExemptBondsInd
Engaged In Excess Benefit Trans0EngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd
PY Excess Benefit Trans0PYExcessBenefitTransInd
Loan OutstandingYes (1)LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related Person0GrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org MemYes (1)BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam Mem0BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With Officer Ent0BusinessRlnWithOfficerEntInd
Deductible Non Cash Contri0DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art Contribution0DeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate Operations0TerminateOperationsInd
Partial Liquidation0PartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded Entity0DisregardedEntityInd
Related EntityYes (1)RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl Ent0RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd Org0TrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd
Activities Conducted Prtshp0ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (1)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document205IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (1)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee0EmployeeCnt
Unrelated Bus Incm Over LimitYes (1)UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Form990 T FiledYes (1)Form990TFiledInd
Foreign Financial Account0ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans0ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party Notification0TaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible Contributions0NondeductibleContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo Contributions0QuidProQuoContributionsInd
Form8282 Property Disposed Of0Form8282PropertyDisposedOfInd
Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0RcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0PayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Indoor Tanning Services0IndoorTanningServicesInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members28GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member1IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business Rln0FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt Duties0DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org Documents0ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or Misuse0MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or StockholdersYes (1)MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersYes (1)ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To ApprovaYes (1)DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (1)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (1)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing Address0OfficerMailingAddressInd
Local Chapters0LocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (1)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (1)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (1)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (1)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (1)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (1)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (1)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (1)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint Venture0InvestmentInJointVentureInd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldMAStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Thomas J HartBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Phone6179194078PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1300 Longwood AvenueAddressLine1Txt
CityBostonCityNm
State AbbreviationMAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP02115ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (31 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtAverage Hours Per Week Rltd OrgAverageHoursPerWeekRltdOrgRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmt
Steven J Fishman MD
President15.0045.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$1,081,688$136,841
Paul R Hickey MD
Director/Chairman5.0055.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$1,342,318$102,380
John Triedman MD
Treasurer5.0055.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$856,346$136,822
Minider S Kocher MD
PO BOD at Large5.0055.00Yes (X)$0$1,687,178$95,515
Anne Stack MD
Non-Chief Member5.0055.00Yes (X)$0$359,928$82,729
Reza Rahbar MD
Non-Chief Member5.0055.00Yes (X)$0$1,186,792$93,522
Menno Verhave MD
Non-Chief Member5.0055.00Yes (X)$0$294,540$70,729
Mark R Proctor MD
Director5.0055.00Yes (X)$0$1,239,063$121,745
Tal Geva MD
Director5.0055.00Yes (X)$0$1,184,150$145,777
John G Meara MD DMD
Director5.0055.00Yes (X)$0$903,704$116,643
Man Wai Ng DDS MPH
Director5.0055.00Yes (X)$0$347,856$47,851
David DeMaso MD
Director5.0055.00Yes (X)$0$443,068$36,372
Gary Fleisher MD
Director5.0055.00Yes (X)$0$893,297$104,593
Gregory Young MD
Director (non-voting)5.0055.00Yes (X)$0$350,930$66,361
Scott L Pomeroy MD PhD
Director5.0055.00Yes (X)$0$229,315$38,442
David G Hunter MD PhD
Director5.0055.00Yes (X)$0$997,935$112,407
Mark D Fleming MD
Director5.0055.00Yes (X)$0$695,461$91,525
Richard Robertson MD
Director5.0055.00Yes (X)$0$626,060$87,576
James R Kasser MD
Director (non-voting)5.0055.00Yes (X)$0$911,363$64,016
Peter M Waters MD
Director5.0055.00Yes (X)$0$1,242,435$79,674
Lyle J Micheli MD
Director5.0055.00Yes (X)$0$1,914,731$63,429
David A Diamond MD
Director5.0055.00Yes (X)$0$766,241$40,585
Pedro del Nido MD
Director5.0055.00Yes (X)$0$2,474,720$32,821
Michael J Cunningham MD FACS
Director5.0055.00Yes (X)$0$863,389$89,524
Robert C Shamberger MD
Director5.0055.00Yes (X)$0$1,001,302$106,635
Steven D Krichmar
Community Representative5.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Sandra Fenwick
Director5.0055.00Yes (X)$0$1,867,965$578,440
Kevin Churchwell MD
Director5.0055.00Yes (X)$0$1,087,013$357,841
Michele Garvin
Director5.0055.00Yes (X)$0$834,510$43,775
Thomas J Hart
CFO60.001.00Yes (X)$0$763,114$92,000
Irene G Paresky
COO60.001.00Yes (X)$0$456,613$81,634
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$0TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$28,903,025TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$3,318,204TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K0IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees Listed0FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (1)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other Srcs0CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
Navigant
4511 Payshere CircleChicagoIL60674Consulting Services$1,412,261
Greater Boston Podiatry Associates PC
PO Box 603NorwellMA02061Physician Services$931,739
Huron Consulting Services LLC
3005 Momentum PlaceChicagoIL60689Consulting Services$811,023
Neonatology Associates LLP
100 MLK Jr Blvd - Suite 510WorcesterMA01608Consulting Services$327,254
Chimento & Webb PC
333 Elm StreetDedhamMA02026Legal Services$314,703
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K18CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Related Organizations$6,639,718RelatedOrganizationsAmt
Total Contributions$6,639,718TotalContributionsAmt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (3 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Insurance premiums524298$29,559,635$29,559,635
Other service revenue524298$19,984,238$19,984,238
Membership dues524298$14,167,450$14,167,450
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$63,711,323TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$27,045TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue-$1,290UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$28,335ExclusionAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other$15,000OtherAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other$101,937OtherAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other-$86,937OtherAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column-$86,937TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion-$86,937ExclusionAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$70,291,149TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$63,711,323RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue-$1,290UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion-$58,602ExclusionAmt

Benefits To Members BenefitsToMembersGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$25,662,370TotalAmt
Program Services$25,662,370ProgramServicesAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$71,607TotalAmt
Management And General$71,607ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$538,925TotalAmt
Management And General$538,925ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$4,961,024TotalAmt
Program Services$3,752,428ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$1,208,596ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,264,327TotalAmt
Program Services$560,223ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$704,104ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,886,258TotalAmt
Program Services$1,886,258ProgramServicesAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$28,722TotalAmt
Program Services$28,722ProgramServicesAmt

Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$83,398TotalAmt
Program Services$83,398ProgramServicesAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,472,354TotalAmt
Program Services$2,472,354ProgramServicesAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$102,604TotalAmt
Management And General$102,604ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmtProgram ServicesProgramServicesAmtManagement And GeneralManagementAndGeneralAmt
Payroll reimbursement e$20,005,290$18,204,814$1,800,476
Recruitment expenses$8,054,614$8,054,614
Collection expenses$1,819,131$1,819,131
Software licenses$567,763$567,763

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$351,400TotalAmt
Program Services$351,400ProgramServicesAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$67,869,787TotalAmt
Program Services$63,443,475ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$4,426,312ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$7,072,198BOYAmt
EOY$11,240,533EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$7,692,090BOYAmt
EOY$2,398,881EOYAmt

Receivables From Officers Etc ReceivablesFromOfficersEtcGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$428,645BOYAmt
EOY$428,645EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$178,991BOYAmt
EOY$148,408EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$9,712,186LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$7,036,153LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$4,544,490BOYAmt
EOY$2,676,033EOYAmt

Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$9,705,690BOYAmt
EOY$14,582,811EOYAmt

Investments Program Related InvestmentsProgramRelatedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,342,339BOYAmt
EOY$2,900,961EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$11,847,052BOYAmt
EOY$24,248,711EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$43,811,495BOYAmt
EOY$58,624,983EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,601,707BOYAmt
EOY$2,130,664EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$24,038,996BOYAmt
EOY$35,777,250EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$26,640,703BOYAmt
EOY$37,907,914EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Organization Follows SFAS117Yes (X)OrganizationFollowsSFAS117Ind

Unrestricted Net Assets UnrestrictedNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$14,825,128BOYAmt
EOY$18,600,785EOYAmt

Temporarily Rstr Net Assets TemporarilyRstrNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,345,664BOYAmt
EOY$2,116,284EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$17,170,792BOYAmt
EOY$20,717,069EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$43,811,495BOYAmt
EOY$58,624,983EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$2,421,362ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst$1,124,915NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets$0OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Info In Schedule O Part XIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIIInd
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or Review0AccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (1)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Consolidated Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)ConsolidatedBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (1)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit Required0FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd

Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Supporting Organization509a3Yes (X)SupportingOrganization509a3Ind
Supporting Org Type3 Func IntYes (X)SupportingOrgType3FuncIntInd
Supported Organizations16SupportedOrganizationsCnt

Supported Org Information SupportedOrgInformationGrp (16 entries)

EINEINOrganization TypeOrganizationTypeCdGoverning Document ListedGoverningDocumentListedIndSupportSupportAmtOther SupportOtherSupportAmt
Boston Children's Heart Foundation Inc
04279069910Yes (1)$0$1,032,119
Boston Pediatric Neurosurgical Foundation Inc
04298609710Yes (1)$0$282,963
Boston Plastic & Oral Surgery Foundation Inc
04328671810Yes (1)$0$539,412
CHMC Anesthesia Foundation Inc
04270216910Yes (1)$0$2,075,889
CHMC Cardiovascular Surgical Foundation Inc
04276437010Yes (1)$0$529,514
CHMC Otolaryngologic Foundation Inc
04275125810Yes (1)$0$723,271
CHMC Surgical Foundation Inc
04276760210Yes (1)$0$684,261
CH Neurology Foundation Inc
22267859410Yes (1)$0$835,230
Children's Ophthalmology Foundation Inc
04286408110Yes (1)$0$575,143
Children's Orthopaedic Surgery Foundation Inc
04294314610Yes (1)$0$908,705
Children's Hospital Pathology Foundation Inc
04308542710Yes (1)$0$260,537
Children's Hospital Pediatric Associates Inc
43198740910Yes (1)$0$3,697,437
Children's Hospital Radiology Foundation Inc
04325964710Yes (1)$0$777,862
Children's Sports Medicine Foundation Inc
04297012910Yes (1)$0$653,998
Children's Urological Foundation Inc
04291030410Yes (1)$0$481,044
Boston Children's Hospital
0427744413Yes (1)$0$0
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Supported Organizations Total16SupportedOrganizationsTotalCnt
Support Sum$0SupportSumAmt
Other Support Sum$14,057,385OtherSupportSumAmt

Form990 Sch A Supporting Org Form990SchASupportingOrgGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Listed By Name Governing DocYes (1)ListedByNameGoverningDocInd
Suprt Org No IRS Determination0SuprtOrgNoIRSDeterminationInd
Supported Org Section C4560SupportedOrgSectionC456Ind
Supported Org Not Organized US0SupportedOrgNotOrganizedUSInd
Organization Change Suprt Org0OrganizationChangeSuprtOrgInd
Support Non Supported Org0SupportNonSupportedOrgInd
Payment Substantial Contribtr0PaymentSubstantialContribtrInd
Loan Disqualified Person0LoanDisqualifiedPersonInd
Controlled Disqualified Prsn0ControlledDisqualifiedPrsnInd
Disqualified Prsn Controll Int0DisqualifiedPrsnControllIntInd
Disqualified Prsn Ownr Int0DisqualifiedPrsnOwnrIntInd
Excess Business Holdings Rules0ExcessBusinessHoldingsRulesInd
Contribution Controller0ContributionControllerInd
Contribution Family0ContributionFamilyInd
Contribution35 Controlled0Contribution35ControlledInd

Form990 Sch A Type3 Sprt Org All Form990SchAType3SprtOrgAllGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Timely Provided DocumentsYes (1)TimelyProvidedDocumentsInd
Officers Close RelationshipYes (1)OfficersCloseRelationshipInd
Supported Org Voice InvestmentYes (1)SupportedOrgVoiceInvestmentInd

Form990 Sch A Type3 Func Int Form990SchAType3FuncIntGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Activities TestYes (X)ActivitiesTestInd
Activities Further Exempt PrpsYes (1)ActivitiesFurtherExemptPrpsInd
Activities Engaged Org InvlmntYes (1)ActivitiesEngagedOrgInvlmntInd

Form990 Schedule A Part VI Form990ScheduleAPartVIGrp (4 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Part I, Question 12c:The Physicians Organization at Children's Hospital, Inc. (the PO) is responsible for providing management services to the supported organizations listed. The PO has the power to approve the independent auditor and legal counsel of the supported organizations. The PO also has the right to review the annual budgets and approve the by-law changes of these organizations. The support amounts in Column VI represents an approximation of the value of support provided to each supported organization.
Section D, Line 3:As board members of the organization, representatives of the supported organizations have direct responsibility for and control over all of the Organization's operations, policies, and assets.
Section E, Line 2a:The Physicians Organization at Children's Hospital, Inc. (the PO) provides management services to the supported organizations listed in Part I, Question 12. These services included patient billing, access, and scheduling; insurance contract negotiations; and a billing reporting system. By providing these services, the PO allowed the supported organizations to further their exempt purposes through providing services to patients, medical research, and educational services for the community.
Section E, Line 2b:The supported organizations of the Physicians Organization at Children's Hospital, Inc. (the PO) would engage in the services provided to them without the involvement of the PO. The services are an integral part of operations that are essential to the Organizations' ability to fulfill their charitable missions.

Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

CY Endwmt Fund CYEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$2,345,664BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$6,639,718ContributionsAmt
Administrative Expenses$6,869,098AdministrativeExpensesAmt
End Year Balance$2,116,284EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus1 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus1YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$2,529,440BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Administrative Expenses$183,776AdministrativeExpensesAmt
End Year Balance$2,345,664EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus2 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus2YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$2,755,037BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Administrative Expenses$225,597AdministrativeExpensesAmt
End Year Balance$2,529,440EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus3 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus3YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$2,867,464BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Administrative Expenses$112,427AdministrativeExpensesAmt
End Year Balance$2,755,037EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus4 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus4YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Contributions$2,867,464ContributionsAmt
End Year Balance$2,867,464EndYearBalanceAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Board Designated Balance EOY0.00000BoardDesignatedBalanceEOYPct
Prmnnt Endowment Balance EOY0.00000PrmnntEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Term Endowment Balance EOY1.00000TermEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Endowments Held Unrelated Org0EndowmentsHeldUnrelatedOrgInd
Endowments Held Related Org0EndowmentsHeldRelatedOrgInd

Leasehold Improvements LeaseholdImprovementsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$2,360,344OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$854,997DepreciationAmt
Book Value$1,505,347BookValueAmt

Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$7,351,842OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$6,181,156DepreciationAmt
Book Value$1,170,686BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$2,676,033TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Other Securities OtherSecuritiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescPrivate Investment PartnershipDesc
Book Value$14,582,811BookValueAmt
Method ValuationFMethodValuationCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Securities$14,582,811TotalBookValueSecuritiesAmt

Other Assets Org OtherAssetsOrgGrp (4 entries)

DescDescBook ValueBookValueAmt
Due from member Foundations$11,346,339
Due from Insurance Carriers$724,952
Due from Boston Children's Hospital$12,159,179
Due from CHICO$18,241
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Other Assets$24,248,711TotalBookValueOtherAssetsAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (3 entries)

DescDescAmtAmt
Due to member Foundations and affiliates$30,435,909
Accrual for unbilled insurance claims$1,352,181
Due to CHICO$3,989,160
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$35,777,250TotalLiabilityAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$71,416,064TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Net Unrealized Gains Invst$1,124,915NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt
Revenue Not Reported$1,124,915RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$70,291,149RevenueSubtotalAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$0RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$70,291,149TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$67,869,787TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Expenses Not Reported$0ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$67,869,787ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$0ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$67,869,787TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Part V, Line 4:The endowment funds represent a donation that was given for IT projects and ACO contributions to enhance clinical care. The use of these funds was restricted by the donor.
Part X, Line 2:The Organization is a tax-exempt organization, as described in Section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code (the Code), and is exempt from federal income taxes on related income pursuant to Section 501(a) of the Code. In addition, the Organization qualifies for the charitable contribution deduction under Section 170(b)(1)(A), and has been classified as an organization that is not a private foundation under Section 509(a)(3). Tax-exempt organizations could be required to record an obligation for income taxes as the result of a tax position they have historically taken on various tax exposure items, including unrelated business income or tax status. Management of the Organization has evaluated the positions taken on the Organization's filed tax returns and has concluded that no uncertain income tax positions exist at September 30, 2018. The Organization's tax years from 2015 through 2018 are potentially subject to examination.

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Compensation CommitteeYes (X)CompensationCommitteeInd
Independent ConsultantYes (X)IndependentConsultantInd
Form990 Of Other OrganizationsYes (X)Form990OfOtherOrganizationsInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance Payment0SeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr PlanYes (1)SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp Arrngm0EquityBasedCompArrngmInd
Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng Org0CompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd On Rev Related Orgs0CompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng Org0CompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd Orgs0CompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd
Any Non Fixed Payments0AnyNonFixedPaymentsInd
Initial Contract Exception0InitialContractExceptionInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (30 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
Steven J Fishman MD
President$0$711,280$0$334,600$0$35,808$0$95,323$0$41,518$0$1,218,529$0$0
Paul R Hickey MD
Director/Chairman$0$1,032,307$0$90,000$0$220,011$0$54,000$0$48,380$0$1,444,698$0$0
John Triedman MD
Treasurer$0$403,869$0$12,500$0$439,977$0$89,961$0$46,861$0$993,168$0$427,257
Minider S Kocher MD
PO BOD at Large$0$427,550$0$901,088$0$358,540$0$55,000$0$40,515$0$1,782,693$0$0
Anne Stack MD
Non-Chief Member$0$276,024$0$44,649$0$39,255$0$48,115$0$34,614$0$442,657$0$0
Reza Rahbar MD
Non-Chief Member$0$681,500$0$438,617$0$66,675$0$54,000$0$39,522$0$1,280,314$0$0
Menno Verhave MD
Non-Chief Member$0$255,971$0$1,814$0$36,755$0$36,115$0$34,614$0$365,269$0$0
Mark R Proctor MD
Director$0$728,925$0$410,945$0$99,193$0$54,000$0$67,745$0$1,360,808$0$0
Tal Geva MD
Director$0$619,168$0$12,500$0$552,482$0$102,928$0$42,849$0$1,329,927$0$539,392
John G Meara MD DMD
Director$0$632,644$0$250,000$0$21,060$0$65,988$0$50,655$0$1,020,347$0$0
Man Wai Ng DDS MPH
Director$0$347,004$0$0$0$852$0$29,700$0$18,151$0$395,707$0$0
David DeMaso MD
Director$0$387,964$0$50,000$0$5,104$0$29,700$0$6,672$0$479,440$0$0
Gary Fleisher MD
Director$0$524,426$0$100,000$0$268,871$0$68,115$0$36,478$0$997,890$0$0
Gregory Young MD
Director (non-voting)$0$339,953$0$0$0$10,977$0$36,115$0$30,246$0$417,291$0$0
Scott L Pomeroy MD PhD
Director$0$166,954$0$50,000$0$12,361$0$31,449$0$6,993$0$267,757$0$0
David G Hunter MD PhD
Director$0$863,583$0$113,680$0$20,672$0$72,250$0$40,157$0$1,110,342$0$0
Mark D Fleming MD
Director$0$482,565$0$175,457$0$37,439$0$53,500$0$38,025$0$786,986$0$0
Richard Robertson MD
Director$0$513,298$0$72,300$0$40,462$0$35,000$0$52,576$0$713,636$0$0
James R Kasser MD
Director (non-voting)$0$411,975$0$445,134$0$54,254$0$55,000$0$9,016$0$975,379$0$0
Peter M Waters MD
Director$0$401,625$0$722,465$0$118,345$0$55,000$0$24,674$0$1,322,109$0$0
Lyle J Micheli MD
Director$0$750,000$0$1,121,051$0$43,680$0$55,000$0$8,429$0$1,978,160$0$0
David A Diamond MD
Director$0$748,034$0$0$0$18,207$0$0$0$40,585$0$806,826$0$0
Pedro del Nido MD
Director$0$1,985,893$0$50,000$0$438,827$0$0$0$32,821$0$2,507,541$0$0
Michael J Cunningham MD FACS
Director$0$720,000$0$90,056$0$53,333$0$54,000$0$35,524$0$952,913$0$0
Robert C Shamberger MD
Director$0$773,539$0$195,117$0$32,646$0$66,806$0$39,829$0$1,107,937$0$0
Sandra Fenwick
Director$0$1,867,965$0$0$0$0$0$561,451$0$16,989$0$2,446,405$0$0
Kevin Churchwell MD
Director$0$1,087,013$0$0$0$0$0$214,629$0$143,212$0$1,444,854$0$0
Michele Garvin
Director$0$541,028$0$188,471$0$105,011$0$21,600$0$22,175$0$878,285$0$0
Thomas J Hart
CFO$0$352,807$0$0$0$410,307$0$55,000$0$37,000$0$855,114$0$400,307
Irene G Paresky
COO$0$417,264$0$0$0$39,349$0$35,000$0$46,634$0$538,247$0$0

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePart I, Line 4bFormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationThe Severance Benefit Plan is to reward certain employees with a monetary severance benefit based on their years of service with the Foundation or Organization. Under the terms of the plan, each participant is eligible for benefits upon completion of a number of years of service depending on the plan. The liability owed to those officers or directors listed on Part VII for the Severance Benefit Plan is the COO. A Supplemental Executive Retirement Plan (SERP) was established to reward licensed physician employees with a benefit based on service. The SERP's sources of contributions are from employer discretionary amounts (if any), severance benefits, and elective deferrals. Boston Children's Heart Foundation, Inc. (the Foundation) established a Severance Benefit Plan effective July 1, 1987. The Plan was amended and restated as of May 19, 2004. On June 30, 2005, the Foundation elected to freeze the severance benefit plan. The Foundation established this plan to supplement benefits available to certain employees, and to encourage such employees to remain in employment with the Foundation. Participation, benefit amounts, and other key provisions of this nonqualified benefit plan are determined at the sole discretion of the Foundation's Board of Directors. Although the assets of the plan have been irrevocably set aside for payment of deferred compensation benefits, they are subject first to the claims of the Foundation's creditors in the event the Foundation is subject to bankruptcy proceedings. The assets of the plan are reflected in the accompanying financial statements as assets limited to use. The plan was terminated during the year ended September 30, 2017. The Foundation established a Supplemental Executive Retirement Plan (SERP), effective June 30, 2005, to reward licensed physician employees with a benefit based on service. All eligible employees will become participants on the date designated by the Foundation's Board of Directors. The SERP's sources of contributions are from employer discretionary amounts (if any), severance benefits, and elective deferrals. The amounts contributed at September 30, 2017 were 15% of salary for those with balances less than 130% of the maximum payout at September 30, 2017. The plan was terminated during the year ended September 30, 2017. During 2017, Tal Geva, MD had a vested amount of $539,392 and John Triedman, MD had a vested amount of $427,257, which has been reported in Schedule J, Part II, Column B(iii). Furthermore, as these amounts were reported on previous 990s as part of total compensation earned, they are being disclosed in Schedule J, Part II, Column F. The Foundations made contributions to the retirement plans for Paul R. Hickey, MD, $54,000 (SERP); Robert C. Shamberger, MD, $12,806 (defined benefit pension plan); Gary Fleisher, MD, $32,000 (457(f)); Steven J. Fishman, MD, $41,323 (defined benefit pension plan); and Pedro del Nido, MD, $18,000 (457(b)). Boston Children's Hospital made contributions to the supplemental non-qualified retirement plan for Michelle Garvin, $21,200.ExplanationTxt

Schedule L IRS990ScheduleL

Loans Btwn Org Interested Prsn LoansBtwnOrgInterestedPrsnGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonSteven J Fishman MDPersonNm
Relationship With OrgPresidentRelationshipWithOrgTxt
Loan PurposePurchase of common stockLoanPurposeTxt
Loan From OrganizationYes (X)LoanFromOrganizationInd
Original Principal$428,645OriginalPrincipalAmt
Balance Due$428,645BalanceDueAmt
Default0DefaultInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (1)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Written AgreementYes (1)WrittenAgreementInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Balance Due$428,645TotalBalanceDueAmt

Bus Tr Involve Interested Prsn BusTrInvolveInterestedPrsnGrp

Name Of Interested NameOfInterested

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Lyle J Micheli MD PCBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Relationship DescriptionDr. Micheli is the sole shareholder of LJM, PC & a director of the PORelationshipDescriptionTxt
Transaction$256,078TransactionAmt
TransactionPayment of services rendered to a related organizationTransactionDesc
Sharing Of Revenues0SharingOfRevenuesInd

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSchedule L, Part IIFormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationDuring the year ended September 30, 2018, the Physicians Organization at Children's Hospital, Inc. (the PO) entered into a promissory note in the amount of $428,645 with the President of the PO, Steven J. Fishman, MD, to purchase common stock in the Longwood Medical Trust (LMT) on behalf of the PO. The LMT requires that each shareholder be a physician. An agency agreement was executed between the PO and the President to meet the shareholder requirement. The President's interest in LMT cannot be sold without the written consent of the PO. LMT retains the right of first refusal to repurchase the stock if the President is: incapacitated; files for bankruptcy; ceases to be employed by an affiliated Foundations of Boston Children's Hospital; or dies. However, the PO as the right to assign a replacement purchaser upon the triggering of any right of first refusal of LMT to repurchase the share.ExplanationTxt

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (8 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Form 990, Part VI, Section A, line 6The Children's Medical Center Corporation (the Medical Center) is the Class "A" member of the Physicians Organization at Children's Hospital, Inc. (the Organization). The Class "B" members consist of the following individuals: three physician directors (President, Chair of the Board, and Secretary/Treasurer), three non-chief physician representatives, and one At-Large non-chief physician representative elected by the Physicians Organization Congress. The Chief Operating Officer and the Chief Financial Officer of the Organization have the right to attend all meetings of the Board of Directors but they are not entitled to vote.
Form 990, Part VI, Section A, line 7aThe majority of the board members of the Physicians Organization at Children's Hospital, Inc. (the Organization) are elected by the Physicians Organization Congress. The President, the Chair of the Board, the Chief Operating Officer, the Chief Financial Officer, and the Secretary/Treasurer are the principal officers of the Organization. The principal officers may appoint such assistants and other officers as they deem necessary, and such other officers shall have such authority and shall perform such duties as from time to time may be prescribed by the Board or principal officers. The Organization may also have such agents, if any, as the Board from time to time and at its discretion may appoint. The Class "A" member of the Organization elects the community representatives who serve from time to time as lay members of the Board of Trustees.
Form 990, Part VI, Section A, line 7bAll of the board decisions are subject to approval by the Class "B" members of the Physicians Organization at Children's Hospital, Inc. (the Organization). The Class "A and "B" members have the right to approve the following: a) hiring and firing of senior management of the Organization excluding the officers; b) selection of the independent auditor and legal counsel of the Organization and any Foundation which approval shall not be withheld if selected from an approved list of firms mutually agreed to by the Board and the Members; and c) amendments to the Articles of Organization and by-laws of any Foundation but only after initiation and approval of such amendments by the Board of Directors of such Foundation.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 11bThe detailed review will be conducted by the Board of Directors; the Chief Financial Officer, Thomas J. Hart; and the Director of Financial Operations and Reporting, Anna Camarata. A copy of the Form 990 will be provided to the Board prior to filing. The detailed review will be conducted before filing the return with the Internal Revenue Service.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 12cIn conjunctions with Boston Children's Hospital, the Physicians Organization at Children's Hospital, Inc. (the Organization) administers an annual conflict of interest disclosure process to all of its member Foundations, which asks physicians (officers, top management, and highly compensated employees) and selected Foundation staff to disclose potential conflicts. A disclosure statement will be circulated annually to members of the Organization. The audit committee shall determine those individuals (including medical staff members) who shall be required to complete the disclosure statement. The audit committee, at its discretion, may either: 1) refer any or all disclosure statements to the Board of Directors; 2) appoint an ad hoc committee to review and resolve any conflict of interest issues; or 3) review and resolve any conflict of interest issues personally or through a designee(s). Any person not receiving a disclosure statement nevertheless has an affirmative obligation to disclose to the PO President, PO General Counsel, or his/her supervisor whenever he/she believes he/she has or may have a conflict of interest. Similarly, each person completing a disclosure statement has an affirmative obligation to update the statement any time circumstances change and/or he/she believes that a conflict of interest may exist. In the event a conflict of interest is found to exist, the Organization prohibits the member from voting on any matter to which the conflict relates or otherwise influence the voting on such matter. Violation of this policy may result in disciplinary or other remedial action, including termination of employment and removal from office.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 15The Physicians Organization at Children's Hospital, Inc. (the Organization) has a compensation committee that is comprised of elected officers. Compensation of officers and key employees is reviewed annually and benchmarked against comparable positions at similar entities. Goals are established at the beginning of the fiscal year which is an indicator in determining the subsequent year annual compensation increase. The Organization committee reviews and approves the annual compensation of the Chief Operating Officer, the Chief Financial Officer, and the Directors of the Organization. Faculty compensation must comply with the Boston Children's Hospital Physician Compensation Guidelines. These guidelines are developed in consultation with an independent external compensation consulting firm and are approved by independent Compensation Committee of the Board of Children's Medical Center Corporation and Boston Children's Hospital. The guidelines set the maximum compensation limits based on a peer group analysis for the Foundation. The maximum compensation limits are based on pediatric specialty, sub-specialty, academic rank, and include productivity adjustments. Any proposed compensation that exceeds the limits must be prospectively approved by the independent Compensation Committee of the Board of the Hospital. Annual compensation for inidividual faculty members is set by the President of each Foundation, reviewed, and approved by the Foundation in accordance with the Foundation's compensation policies and procedures. The Foundation's President's compensation is reviewed and approved annually on a prospective basis by the Boston Children's Hospital Chief Executive Officer and President/Chief Operating Officer.
Form 990, Part VI, Section C, line 19The Organization maintains all financial statements, conflict of interest policies, and governing documents at its main office at 300 Longwood Avenue, Boston, MA 02115. The documents are available upon request.
Form 990, Part XII, Line 2c:The audit process and scope has not changed from the prior year.

Schedule R IRS990ScheduleR

Id Related Tax Exempt Org IdRelatedTaxExemptOrgGrp (16 entries)

Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityUSAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPUSAddress/ZIPCdEINEINPrimary ActivitiesPrimaryActivitiesTxtLegal Domicile StateLegalDomicileStateCdExempt Code SectionExemptCodeSectionTxtPublic Charity StatusPublicCharityStatusTxtDirect Controlling NADirectControllingNACdControlled OrganizationControlledOrganizationInd
Boston Children's Heart Foundation Inc
300 Longwood AvenueBostonMA02115042790699HealthcareMA501(c)(3)10N/A0
Boston Pediatric Neurosurgical Foundation Inc
300 Longwood AvenueBostonMA02115042986097HealthcareMA501(c)(3)10N/A0
Boston Plastic & Oral Surgery Foundation Inc
300 Longwood AvenueBostonMA02115043286718HealthcareMA501(c)(3)10N/A0
CHMC Anesthesia Foundation Inc
300 Longwood AvenueBostonMA02115042702169HealthcareMA501(c)(3)10N/A0
CHMC Cardiovascular Surgical Foundation Inc
300 Longwood AvenueBostonMA02115042764370HealthcareMA501(c)(3)10N/A0
CHMC Otolaryngologic Foundation Inc
300 Longwood AvenueBostonMA02115042751258HealthcareMA501(c)(3)10N/A0
CHMC Surgical Foundation Inc
300 Longwood AvenueBostonMA02115042767602HealthcareMA501(c)(3)10N/A0
CH Neurology Foundation Inc
300 Longwood AvenueBostonMA02115222678594HealthcareMA501(c)(3)10N/A0
Children's Hospital Ophthalmology Foundation Inc
300 Longwood AvenueBostonMA02115042864081HealthcareMA501(c)(3)10N/A0
Children's Orthopaedic Surgery Foundation Inc
300 Longwood AvenueBostonMA02115042943146HealthcareMA501(c)(3)10N/A0
Children's Hospital Pathology Foundation Inc
300 Longwood AvenueBostonMA02115043085427HealthcareMA501(c)(3)10N/A0
Children's Hospital Pediatric Association Inc
300 Longwood AvenueBostonMA02115431987409HealthcareMA501(c)(3)10N/A0
Children's Hospital Radiology Foundation Inc
300 Longwood AvenueBostonMA02115043259647HealthcareMA501(c)(3)10N/A0
Children's Sports Medicine Foundation Inc
300 Longwood AvenueBostonMA02115042970129HealthcareMA501(c)(3)10N/A0
Children's Urological Foundation Inc
300 Longwood AvenueBostonMA02115042910304HealthcareMA501(c)(3)10N/A0
Boston Children's Hospital
300 Longwood AvenueBostonMA02115042774441HospitalMA501(c)(3)3N/A0
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Receipt Of Int Annts Rnts Rylts0ReceiptOfIntAnntsRntsRyltsInd
Gift Grnt Or Cap Contri To Oth Org0GiftGrntOrCapContriToOthOrgInd
Gift Grnt Cap Contri From Oth Org0GiftGrntCapContriFromOthOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees To Other OrgYes (1)LoansOrGuaranteesToOtherOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees From Oth Org0LoansOrGuaranteesFromOthOrgInd
Div Related Organization0DivRelatedOrganizationInd
Asset Sale To Other Org0AssetSaleToOtherOrgInd
Asset Purchase From Other Org0AssetPurchaseFromOtherOrgInd
Asset Exchange0AssetExchangeInd
Rental Of Facilities To Oth OrgYes (1)RentalOfFacilitiesToOthOrgInd
Rental Of Fclts From Oth OrgYes (1)RentalOfFcltsFromOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services For Oth OrgYes (1)PerformOfServicesForOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services By Other OrgYes (1)PerformOfServicesByOtherOrgInd
Sharing Of FacilitiesYes (1)SharingOfFacilitiesInd
Paid Employees SharingYes (1)PaidEmployeesSharingInd
Reimbursement Paid To Other OrgYes (1)ReimbursementPaidToOtherOrgInd
Reimbursement Paid By Other OrgYes (1)ReimbursementPaidByOtherOrgInd
Transfer To Other Org0TransferToOtherOrgInd
Transfer From Other Org0TransferFromOtherOrgInd