KIPP COLORADO SCHOOLS: Form 990, tax year 2017
View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗
- Organization
- KIPP COLORADO SCHOOLS (EIN 80-0037534)
- Tax period
- 2017-07-01 to 2018-06-30
- Filed
- 2019-05-14
- IRS object ID
- 201901349349302755
- Schema version
- 2017v2.3
- Source
- Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica
Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.
- Return header
- Form 990
- Schedule A
- Schedule B
- Schedule D
- Schedule E
- Schedule I
- Schedule J
- Schedule M
- Schedule O
Return header ReturnHeader
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Return | 2019-05-14T09:26:50-05:00 | ReturnTs |
| Tax Period End | 2018-06-30 | TaxPeriodEndDt |
Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp
Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | BKD LLP | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 111 South Tejon Suite 800 | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | Colorado Springs | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | CO | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 809039848 | ZIPCd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Return Type | 990 | ReturnTypeCd |
| Tax Period Begin | 2017-07-01 | TaxPeriodBeginDt |
Filer Filer
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| EIN | 800037534 | EIN |
Business Name BusinessName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | KIPP Colorado Schools | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| In Care Of | % GEOFF BROVICH | InCareOfNm |
| Business Name Control | KIPP | BusinessNameControlTxt |
| Phone | 7203753237 | PhoneNum |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 1390 Lawrence Street Suite 200 | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | Denver | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | CO | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 80204 | ZIPCd |
Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Person | KIMBERLEE SIA | PersonNm |
| Person Title | executive director | PersonTitleTxt |
| Phone | 7203753237 | PhoneNum |
| Signature | 2019-05-15 | SignatureDt |
| Discuss With Paid Preparer | Yes (true) | DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd |
Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Preparer Person | Adam R Smith CPA | PreparerPersonNm |
| PTIN | P00958966 | PTIN |
| Phone | 7194714290 | PhoneNum |
Filing Security Information FilingSecurityInformation
IP Address IPAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| I Pv4 Address | 167.68.126.162 | IPv4AddressTxt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Federal Original Submission Id | 84022720191345000002 | FederalOriginalSubmissionId |
| Federal Original Submission Id | 2019-05-14 | FederalOriginalSubmissionIdDt |
| Filing License Type | P | FilingLicenseTypeCd |
| At Submission Creation Device Id | 32B3D1662D66331C192DA061A832333DD6F28158 | AtSubmissionCreationDeviceId |
| At Submission Filing Device Id | B297EB62ACBDF2C63341018967E8037D5137B826 | AtSubmissionFilingDeviceId |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Tax | 2017 | TaxYr |
| Build TS | 2019-02-21 02:37:17Z | BuildTS |
Form 990 IRS990
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Principal Officer | Kimberlee Sia | PrincipalOfficerNm |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 1390 Lawrence Street Ste 200 | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | Denver | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | CO | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 80204 | ZIPCd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Gross Receipts | $24,895,952 | GrossReceiptsAmt |
| Group Return For Affiliates | false | GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd |
| Organization501c3 | Yes (X) | Organization501c3Ind |
| Website Address | wwww.kippcolorado.org | WebsiteAddressTxt |
| Type Of Organization Corp | Yes (X) | TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd |
| Formation | 2002 | FormationYr |
| Legal Domicile State | CO | LegalDomicileStateCd |
| Activity Or Mission | KIPP IS A NETWORK OF HIGH-PERFORMANCE, COLLEGE-PREPARATORY PUBLIC CHARTER SCHOOLS FREE OF TUITION FOR ALL STUDENTS. KIPP'S CORE BELIEF IS THAT ANY STUDENT CAN ACHIEVE. | ActivityOrMissionDesc |
| Voting Members Governing Body | 12 | VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt |
| Voting Members Independent | 12 | VotingMembersIndependentCnt |
| Total Employee | 387 | TotalEmployeeCnt |
| Total Volunteers | 11 | TotalVolunteersCnt |
| Total Gross UBI | $0 | TotalGrossUBIAmt |
| Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm | $14,746 | NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt |
| PY Contributions Grants | $4,517,538 | PYContributionsGrantsAmt |
| CY Contributions Grants | $4,306,678 | CYContributionsGrantsAmt |
| PY Program Service Revenue | $17,592,552 | PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
| CY Program Service Revenue | $20,555,522 | CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
| PY Investment Income | $1,514 | PYInvestmentIncomeAmt |
| CY Investment Income | $33,752 | CYInvestmentIncomeAmt |
| PY Other Revenue | $0 | PYOtherRevenueAmt |
| CY Other Revenue | $0 | CYOtherRevenueAmt |
| PY Total Revenue | $22,111,604 | PYTotalRevenueAmt |
| CY Total Revenue | $24,895,952 | CYTotalRevenueAmt |
| PY Grants And Similar Paid | $320,109 | PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt |
| CY Grants And Similar Paid | $494,222 | CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt |
| PY Benefits Paid To Members | $0 | PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt |
| CY Benefits Paid To Members | $0 | CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt |
| PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid | $15,902,334 | PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt |
| CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid | $19,769,250 | CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt |
| PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns | $0 | PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt |
| CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns | $91,526 | CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt |
| CY Total Fundraising Expense | $268,164 | CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt |
| PY Other Expenses | $6,949,657 | PYOtherExpensesAmt |
| CY Other Expenses | $8,129,537 | CYOtherExpensesAmt |
| PY Total Expenses | $23,172,100 | PYTotalExpensesAmt |
| CY Total Expenses | $28,484,535 | CYTotalExpensesAmt |
| PY Revenues Less Expenses | -$1,060,496 | PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt |
| CY Revenues Less Expenses | -$3,588,583 | CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt |
| Total Assets BOY | $7,491,118 | TotalAssetsBOYAmt |
| Total Assets EOY | $6,403,648 | TotalAssetsEOYAmt |
| Total Liabilities BOY | $16,283,929 | TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt |
| Total Liabilities EOY | $16,819,972 | TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt |
| Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY | -$8,792,811 | NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt |
| Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY | -$10,416,324 | NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt |
| Mission | KIPP COLORADO'S MISSION IS TO EQUIP OUR STUDENTS WITH THE ACADEMIC SKILLS AND CHARACTER STRENGTHS NECESSARY TO SUCCEED IN COLLEGE AND THE COMPETITIVE WORLD BEYOND. | MissionDesc |
| Significant New Program Srvc | false | SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd |
| Significant Change | false | SignificantChangeInd |
| Expense | $23,020,596 | ExpenseAmt |
| Grant | $494,222 | GrantAmt |
| Revenue | $20,555,522 | RevenueAmt |
| Desc | TWO TRADITIONAL HIGH SCHOOLS (KIPP DENVER COLLEGIATE - BENEFITING APPROXIMATELY 460 STUDENTS AND KIPP NORTHEAST DENVER LEADERSHIP ACADEMY BENEFITING APPROXIMATELY 500 STUDENTS), TWO TRADITIONAL MIDDLE SCHOOLS (KIPP SUNSHINE PEAK ACADEMY BENEFITING APPROXIMATELY 420 STUDENTS, AND KIPP NORTHEAST DENVER MIDDLE SCHOOL BENEFITING APPROXIMATELY 450 STUDENTS), AND TWO TRADITIONAL ELEMENTARY SCHOOLS (KIPP NORTHEAST ELEMENTARY BENEFITING APPROXIMATELY 480 STUDENTS AND KIPP SUNSHINE PEAK ELEMENTARY BENEFITING APPROXIMATELY 80 STUDENTS) OFFERING SCHOOL SUBJECTS IN ENGLISH, MATH, SCIENCE AND HISTORY. | Desc |
| Total Program Service Expenses | $23,020,596 | TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt |
| Described In Section501c3 | Yes (true) | DescribedInSection501c3Ind |
| Schedule B Required | Yes (true) | ScheduleBRequiredInd |
| Political Campaign Acty | false | PoliticalCampaignActyInd |
| Lobbying Activities | false | LobbyingActivitiesInd |
| Subject To Proxy Tax | false | SubjectToProxyTaxInd |
| Donor Advised Fund | false | DonorAdvisedFundInd |
| Conservation Easements | false | ConservationEasementsInd |
| Collections Of Art | false | CollectionsOfArtInd |
| Credit Counseling | false | CreditCounselingInd |
| Temp Or Permanent Endowments | false | TempOrPermanentEndowmentsInd |
| Report Land Building Equipment | Yes (true) | ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd |
| Report Investments Other Sec | false | ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd |
| Report Program Related Invst | false | ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd |
| Report Other Assets | false | ReportOtherAssetsInd |
| Report Other Liabilities | Yes (true) | ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd |
| Include FIN48 Footnote | false | IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd |
| Independent Audit Fincl Stmt | Yes (true) | IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd |
| Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt | false | ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd |
| School Operating | Yes (true) | SchoolOperatingInd |
| Foreign Office | false | ForeignOfficeInd |
| Foreign Activities | false | ForeignActivitiesInd |
| More Than5000 K To Org | false | MoreThan5000KToOrgInd |
| More Than5000 K To Individuals | false | MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd |
| Professional Fundraising | false | ProfessionalFundraisingInd |
| Fundraising Activities | false | FundraisingActivitiesInd |
| Gaming Activities | false | GamingActivitiesInd |
| Operate Hospital | false | OperateHospitalInd |
| Grants To Organizations | false | GrantsToOrganizationsInd |
| Grants To Individuals | Yes (true) | GrantsToIndividualsInd |
| Schedule J Required | Yes (true) | ScheduleJRequiredInd |
| Tax Exempt Bonds | false | TaxExemptBondsInd |
| Engaged In Excess Benefit Trans | false | EngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd |
| PY Excess Benefit Trans | false | PYExcessBenefitTransInd |
| Loan Outstanding | false | LoanOutstandingInd |
| Grant To Related Person | false | GrantToRelatedPersonInd |
| Business Rln With Org Mem | false | BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd |
| Business Rln With Fam Mem | false | BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd |
| Business Rln With Officer Ent | false | BusinessRlnWithOfficerEntInd |
| Deductible Non Cash Contri | Yes (true) | DeductibleNonCashContriInd |
| Deductible Art Contribution | false | DeductibleArtContributionInd |
| Terminate Operations | false | TerminateOperationsInd |
| Partial Liquidation | false | PartialLiquidationInd |
| Disregarded Entity | false | DisregardedEntityInd |
| Related Entity | false | RelatedEntityInd |
| Related Organization Ctrl Ent | false | RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd |
| Activities Conducted Prtshp | false | ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd |
| Schedule O Required | Yes (true) | ScheduleORequiredInd |
| IRP Document | 9 | IRPDocumentCnt |
| IRP Document W2 G | 0 | IRPDocumentW2GCnt |
| Employee | 387 | EmployeeCnt |
| Employment Tax Returns Filed | Yes (true) | EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd |
| Unrelated Bus Incm Over Limit | false | UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd |
| Foreign Financial Account | false | ForeignFinancialAccountInd |
| Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans | false | ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd |
| Taxable Party Notification | false | TaxablePartyNotificationInd |
| Nondeductible Contributions | false | NondeductibleContributionsInd |
| Quid Pro Quo Contributions | Yes (true) | QuidProQuoContributionsInd |
| Quid Pro Quo Contri Discl | Yes (true) | QuidProQuoContriDisclInd |
| Form8282 Property Disposed Of | false | Form8282PropertyDisposedOfInd |
| Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft Cntrct | false | RcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd |
| Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft Cntrct | false | PayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd |
| Indoor Tanning Services | false | IndoorTanningServicesInd |
| Info In Schedule O Part VI | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd |
| Governing Body Voting Members | 12 | GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt |
| Independent Voting Member | 12 | IndependentVotingMemberCnt |
| Family Or Business Rln | false | FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd |
| Delegation Of Mgmt Duties | false | DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd |
| Change To Org Documents | false | ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd |
| Material Diversion Or Misuse | false | MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd |
| Members Or Stockholders | false | MembersOrStockholdersInd |
| Election Of Board Members | false | ElectionOfBoardMembersInd |
| Decisions Subject To Approva | false | DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd |
| Minutes Of Governing Body | Yes (true) | MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd |
| Minutes Of Committees | Yes (true) | MinutesOfCommitteesInd |
| Officer Mailing Address | false | OfficerMailingAddressInd |
| Local Chapters | false | LocalChaptersInd |
| Form990 Provided To Gvrn Body | Yes (true) | Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd |
| Conflict Of Interest Policy | Yes (true) | ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd |
| Annual Disclosure Covered Prsn | Yes (true) | AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd |
| Regular Monitoring Enfrc | Yes (true) | RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd |
| Whistleblower Policy | Yes (true) | WhistleblowerPolicyInd |
| Document Retention Policy | Yes (true) | DocumentRetentionPolicyInd |
| Compensation Process CEO | Yes (true) | CompensationProcessCEOInd |
| Compensation Process Other | Yes (true) | CompensationProcessOtherInd |
| Investment In Joint Venture | false | InvestmentInJointVentureInd |
| States Where Copy Of Return Is Fld | CO | StatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd |
| Upon Request | Yes (X) | UponRequestInd |
Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Person | GEOFF BROVICH | PersonNm |
| Phone | 5184870813 | PhoneNum |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 1390 LAWRENCE ST STE 200 | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | Denver | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | CO | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 80204 | ZIPCd |
Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (20 entries)
| TitleTitleTxt | Average Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRt | Average Hours Per Week Rltd OrgAverageHoursPerWeekRltdOrgRt | Individual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorInd | OfficerOfficerInd | Reportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmt | Reportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmt | Other CompensationOtherCompensationAmt | Highest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ALICIA ECONOMOS | ||||||||
| BOARD CHAIR | 2.0 | 0.0 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |
| KENNETH JOEL | ||||||||
| TREASURER | 2.0 | 0.0 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |
| POLLY BREIT | ||||||||
| DIRECTOR | 2.0 | 0.0 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| DAN FRIESEN | ||||||||
| BOARD CHAIR | 2.0 | 0.0 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |
| KELLIE O'KEEFE | ||||||||
| DIRECTOR | 2.0 | 0.0 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| LISA ROY | ||||||||
| DIRECTOR | 2.0 | 0.0 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| DREW TYRIE | ||||||||
| DIRECTOR | 2.0 | 0.0 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| BETH BEHNKE | ||||||||
| SECRETARY | 2.0 | 0.0 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| JACKIE HAWKEY | ||||||||
| TREASURER | 2.0 | 0.0 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |
| TERRANCE CARROLL | ||||||||
| DIRECTOR | 2.0 | 0.0 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| TODD EZRINE | ||||||||
| DIRECTOR | 2.0 | 0.0 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| MARIA DE CAMBRA | ||||||||
| DIRECTOR | 2.0 | 0.0 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| YVETTE WIKSTROM | ||||||||
| DIRECTOR | 2.0 | 0.0 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| VERONICA FIGOLI | ||||||||
| DIRECTOR | 2.0 | 0.0 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| KIMBERLEE SIA | ||||||||
| EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR | 50.0 | 0.0 | Yes (X) | $152,500 | $0 | $37,491 | ||
| JEREMY O'GRADY | ||||||||
| CHIEF OPERATIONS OFFICER | 50.0 | 0.0 | Yes (X) | $116,000 | $0 | $18,019 | ||
| ANJALI FEATHERSTONE | ||||||||
| CHIEF OPERATIONS OFFICER | 50.0 | 0.0 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| Kurt Pusch | ||||||||
| CHIEF SCHOOLS OFFICER | 50.0 | 0.0 | $116,000 | $0 | $30,945 | Yes (X) | ||
| EMILY YATES | ||||||||
| MANAGING DIRECTOR OF T & L | 50.0 | 0.0 | $101,500 | $0 | $19,942 | Yes (X) | ||
| ROMEO HEREAU | ||||||||
| DIRECTOR OF GROWTH & STRATEGY | 50.0 | 0.0 | $110,000 | $0 | $13,451 | Yes (X) | ||
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Reportable Comp From Org | $596,000 | TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt |
| Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org | $0 | TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt |
| Total Other Compensation | $119,848 | TotalOtherCompensationAmt |
| Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K | 9 | IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt |
| Former Ofcr Employees Listed | false | FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd |
| Total Comp Greater Than150 K | Yes (true) | TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd |
| Compensation From Other Srcs | false | CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd |
| Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K | 0 | CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt |
| Government Grants | $2,482,007 | GovernmentGrantsAmt |
| All Other Contributions | $1,824,671 | AllOtherContributionsAmt |
| Noncash Contributions | $28,701 | NoncashContributionsAmt |
| Total Contributions | $4,306,678 | TotalContributionsAmt |
Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (5 entries)
| DescDesc | BusinessBusinessCd | Total Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmt | Related Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt |
|---|---|---|---|
| PER PUPIL REVENUE | 611710 | $16,032,203 | $16,032,203 |
| DISTRICT MILL LEVY | 611710 | $3,967,461 | $3,967,461 |
| STUDENT FEES | 611710 | $223,077 | $223,077 |
| FOOD SERVICE | 611710 | $11,561 | $11,561 |
| E-RATE & SPECIAL EDUCATION | 611710 | $321,220 | $321,220 |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Program Service Revenue | $20,555,522 | TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $33,752 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Exclusion | $33,752 | ExclusionAmt |
Incm From Invest Bond Proceeds IncmFromInvestBondProceedsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $0 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
Royalties Revenue RoyaltiesRevenueGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $0 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
Rental Income Or Loss RentalIncomeOrLossGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Real | $0 | RealAmt |
| Personal | $0 | PersonalAmt |
Net Rental Income Or Loss NetRentalIncomeOrLossGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $0 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $0 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Fundraising Gross Income | $0 | FundraisingGrossIncomeAmt |
| Fundraising Direct Expenses | $0 | FundraisingDirectExpensesAmt |
Net Incm From Fundraising Evt NetIncmFromFundraisingEvtGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $0 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Gaming Gross Income | $0 | GamingGrossIncomeAmt |
| Gaming Direct Expenses | $0 | GamingDirectExpensesAmt |
Net Income From Gaming NetIncomeFromGamingGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $0 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Gross Sales Of Inventory | $0 | GrossSalesOfInventoryAmt |
| Cost Of Goods Sold | $0 | CostOfGoodsSoldAmt |
Net Income Or Loss NetIncomeOrLossGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $0 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Revenue Total | $0 | OtherRevenueTotalAmt |
Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $24,895,952 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Related Or Exempt Func Income | $20,555,522 | RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt |
| Exclusion | $33,752 | ExclusionAmt |
Grants To Domestic Orgs GrantsToDomesticOrgsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $0 | TotalAmt |
Grants To Domestic Individuals GrantsToDomesticIndividualsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $494,222 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $494,222 | ProgramServicesAmt |
Foreign Grants ForeignGrantsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $0 | TotalAmt |
Benefits To Members BenefitsToMembersGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $0 | TotalAmt |
Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $304,017 | TotalAmt |
| Management And General | $304,017 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Comp Disqual Persons CompDisqualPersonsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $0 | TotalAmt |
Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $12,915,677 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $10,556,457 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $2,312,206 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $47,014 | FundraisingAmt |
Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $5,204,651 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $4,169,838 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $1,017,006 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $17,807 | FundraisingAmt |
Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $1,153,683 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $944,091 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $209,524 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $68 | FundraisingAmt |
Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $191,222 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $154,082 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $37,140 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Fees For Services Management FeesForServicesManagementGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $0 | TotalAmt |
Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $1,815 | TotalAmt |
| Management And General | $1,815 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $32,000 | TotalAmt |
| Management And General | $32,000 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Fees For Services Lobbying FeesForServicesLobbyingGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $0 | TotalAmt |
Fees For Services Prof Fundraising FeesForServicesProfFundraising
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $91,526 | TotalAmt |
| Fundraising | $91,526 | FundraisingAmt |
Fees For Srvc Invst Mgmnt Fees FeesForSrvcInvstMgmntFeesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $0 | TotalAmt |
Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $756,471 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $392,018 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $293,002 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $71,451 | FundraisingAmt |
Advertising AdvertisingGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $60,016 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $34,054 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $24,803 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $1,159 | FundraisingAmt |
Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $914,851 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $836,603 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $72,611 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $5,637 | FundraisingAmt |
Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $4,373 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $2,425 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $1,948 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Royalties RoyaltiesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $0 | TotalAmt |
Occupancy OccupancyGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $1,491,841 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $1,452,315 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $39,526 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Travel TravelGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $427,411 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $159,765 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $262,910 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $4,736 | FundraisingAmt |
Pymt Travel Entrtnmnt Pub Ofcl PymtTravelEntrtnmntPubOfclGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $0 | TotalAmt |
Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $0 | TotalAmt |
Interest InterestGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $0 | TotalAmt |
Payments To Affiliates PaymentsToAffiliatesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $0 | TotalAmt |
Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $273,410 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $273,410 | ProgramServicesAmt |
Insurance InsuranceGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $165,160 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $30,769 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $134,391 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)
| DescDesc | TotalTotalAmt | Program ServicesProgramServicesAmt | Management And GeneralManagementAndGeneralAmt |
|---|---|---|---|
| DISTRICT SERVICES | $1,580,745 | $1,580,745 | |
| BOOKS AND SUPPLIES | $845,668 | $842,585 | $3,083 |
| FIELD TRIPS AND TRANSPORTATION | $564,777 | $562,497 | $2,280 |
| STUDENT FOOD SERVICE | $287,939 | $283,175 | $4,764 |
All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $723,060 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $251,545 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $442,749 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $28,766 | FundraisingAmt |
Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $28,484,535 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $23,020,596 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $5,195,775 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $268,164 | FundraisingAmt |
Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $4,232,283 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $2,232,176 | EOYAmt |
Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $1,691,389 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $3,396,286 | EOYAmt |
Pledges And Grants Receivable PledgesAndGrantsReceivableGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $820,294 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $628,810 | EOYAmt |
Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $158,882 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $0 | EOYAmt |
Receivables From Officers Etc ReceivablesFromOfficersEtcGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $0 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $0 | EOYAmt |
Rcvbl From Disqualified Prsn RcvblFromDisqualifiedPrsnGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $0 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $0 | EOYAmt |
Oth Notes Loans Receivable Net OthNotesLoansReceivableNetGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $0 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $0 | EOYAmt |
Inventories For Sale Or Use InventoriesForSaleOrUseGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $0 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $0 | EOYAmt |
Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $210,012 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $41,528 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss | $1,089,904 | LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt |
| Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec | $985,056 | LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt |
Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $378,258 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $104,848 | EOYAmt |
Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $0 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $0 | EOYAmt |
Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $0 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $0 | EOYAmt |
Investments Program Related InvestmentsProgramRelatedGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $0 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $0 | EOYAmt |
Intangible Assets IntangibleAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $0 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $0 | EOYAmt |
Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $0 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $0 | EOYAmt |
Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $7,491,118 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $6,403,648 | EOYAmt |
Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $843,071 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $478,685 | EOYAmt |
Grants Payable GrantsPayableGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $0 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $0 | EOYAmt |
Deferred Revenue DeferredRevenueGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $144,327 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $0 | EOYAmt |
Tax Exempt Bond Liabilities TaxExemptBondLiabilitiesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $0 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $0 | EOYAmt |
Escrow Account Liability EscrowAccountLiabilityGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $0 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $0 | EOYAmt |
Loans From Officers Directors LoansFromOfficersDirectorsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $0 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $0 | EOYAmt |
Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $0 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $0 | EOYAmt |
Unsecured Notes Loans Payable UnsecuredNotesLoansPayableGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $0 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $0 | EOYAmt |
Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $15,296,531 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $16,341,287 | EOYAmt |
Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $16,283,929 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $16,819,972 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Org Does Not Follow SFAS117 | Yes (X) | OrgDoesNotFollowSFAS117Ind |
Cap Stk Tr Prin Current Funds CapStkTrPrinCurrentFundsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | -$9,171,069 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | -$10,521,172 | EOYAmt |
Pd In Cap Srpls Land Bldg Eqp Fund PdInCapSrplsLandBldgEqpFundGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $378,258 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $104,848 | EOYAmt |
Rtn Earn Endowment Incm Oth Fnds RtnEarnEndowmentIncmOthFndsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $0 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $0 | EOYAmt |
Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | -$8,792,811 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | -$10,416,324 | EOYAmt |
Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $7,491,118 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $6,403,648 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Info In Schedule O Part XI | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd |
| Reconcilation Revenue Expnss | -$3,588,583 | ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt |
| Other Changes In Net Assets | $1,965,070 | OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt |
| Method Of Accounting Accrual | Yes (X) | MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd |
| Accountant Compile Or Review | false | AccountantCompileOrReviewInd |
| FS Audited | Yes (true) | FSAuditedInd |
FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Separate Basis Fincl Stmt | Yes (X) | SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Audit Committee | Yes (true) | AuditCommitteeInd |
| Federal Grant Audit Required | false | FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd |
Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| School | Yes (X) | SchoolInd |
Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB
Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Art Public Exhibition Amounts | ArtPublicExhibitionAmountsGrp | |
| Held Works Art | HeldWorksArtGrp | |
| CY Minus3 Yr Endwmt Fund | CYMinus3YrEndwmtFundGrp | |
| CY Minus4 Yr Endwmt Fund | CYMinus4YrEndwmtFundGrp | |
| Land | LandGrp |
Buildings BuildingsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Cost Or Other Basis | $884,518 | OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Depreciation | $819,767 | DepreciationAmt |
| Book Value | $64,751 | BookValueAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Leasehold Improvements | LeaseholdImprovementsGrp |
Equipment EquipmentGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Cost Or Other Basis | $205,386 | OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Depreciation | $165,289 | DepreciationAmt |
| Book Value | $40,097 | BookValueAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Land Buildings | OtherLandBuildingsGrp | |
| Total Book Value Land Buildings | $104,848 | TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt |
| Federal Income Tax Liability | $0 | FederalIncomeTaxLiabilityAmt |
Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (2 entries)
| DescDesc | AmtAmt |
|---|---|
| NET PENSION LIABILITY | $15,464,601 |
| NET OPEB LIABILITY | $876,686 |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Liability | $16,341,287 | TotalLiabilityAmt |
| Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt | $24,895,952 | TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt |
| Revenue Subtotal | $24,895,952 | RevenueSubtotalAmt |
| Total Revenue Per Form990 | $24,895,952 | TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt |
| Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt | $25,201,299 | TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt |
| Expenses Subtotal | $25,201,299 | ExpensesSubtotalAmt |
| Other Expenses Not Included | $3,283,236 | OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt |
| Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt | $3,283,236 | ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt |
| Total Expenses Per Form990 | $28,484,535 | TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt |
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Form And Line Reference | SCHEDULE D, PART XII, LINE 4B | FormAndLineReferenceDesc |
| Explanation | EXPENSE ON RETURN, NOT ON BOOKS: DEPRECIATION EXPENSE TREATED AS CAPITAL OUTLAY ON GOVERNMENTAL FUNDS REPORT 273,410 PENSION EXPENSE NOT REPORTED AS EXPENDITURE ON GOVERNMENTAL FUNDS REPORT 3,009,826 TOTAL 3,283,236 | ExplanationTxt |
Schedule E IRS990ScheduleE
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Nondiscriminatory Policy Stmt | Yes (true) | NondiscriminatoryPolicyStmtInd |
| Policy Stmt In Brochures Etc | Yes (true) | PolicyStmtInBrochuresEtcInd |
| Plcy Pblczd Via Broadcast Media | Yes (true) | PlcyPblczdViaBroadcastMediaInd |
| Maintain Racial Comp Recs | Yes (true) | MaintainRacialCompRecsInd |
| Maintain Scholarships Recs | Yes (true) | MaintainScholarshipsRecsInd |
| Maintain Cpy Of Brochures Etc | Yes (true) | MaintainCpyOfBrochuresEtcInd |
| Maintain Cpy Of All Sol | Yes (true) | MaintainCpyOfAllSolInd |
| Discriminate Race Stdnts Rghts | false | DiscriminateRaceStdntsRghtsInd |
| Discriminate Race Admiss Plcy | false | DiscriminateRaceAdmissPlcyInd |
| Discriminate Race Emplm Fculty | false | DiscriminateRaceEmplmFcultyInd |
| Discriminate Race Schs | false | DiscriminateRaceSchsInd |
| Discriminate Race Educ Plcy | false | DiscriminateRaceEducPlcyInd |
| Discriminate Race Use Of Fclts | false | DiscriminateRaceUseOfFcltsInd |
| Discriminate Race Athlt Prog | false | DiscriminateRaceAthltProgInd |
| Discriminate Race Other Acty | false | DiscriminateRaceOtherActyInd |
| Government Financial Aid Rcvd | Yes (true) | GovernmentFinancialAidRcvdInd |
| Government Financial Aid Rvkd | false | GovernmentFinancialAidRvkdInd |
| Compliance With Rev Proc7550 | Yes (true) | ComplianceWithRevProc7550Ind |
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)
| Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDesc | ExplanationExplanationTxt |
|---|---|
| SCHEDULE E, PART I, LINE 3 | KIPP COLORADO SCHOOLS OPERATES IN ACCORDANCE WITH THE NON-DISCRIMINATION POLICIES OF DENVER PUBLIC SCHOOLS. KIPP COLORADO SCHOOLS DOES NOT DISCRIMINATE IN STUDENT RECRUITMENT OR SELECTION BASED ON RACE OR ANY OTHER FACTOR. ALL KIPP COLORADO SCHOOLS PARTICIPATE IN THE DENVER PUBLIC SCHOOLS CHOICE ENROLLMENT PROCESS. KIPP COLORADO SCHOOLS CANNOT SELECT ITS STUDENTS, CANNOT REQUIRE ADMISSIONS EXAMS AND CANNOT DISCRIMINATE AGAINST STUDENTS IN ANY WAY, INCLUDING AGAINST STUDENTS WHO RECEIVE SPECIAL EDUCATION OR BILINGUAL SERVICES, NOR WOULD WE WISH TO. IN ADDITION TO ALL NON-DISCRIMINATION DISCLOSURES MADE IN THE CHOICE ENROLLMENT PROCESS BY DENVER PUBLIC SCHOOLS, KIPP'S POLICIES REGARDING NONDISCRIMINATION ARE DISCLOSED IN THE SCHOOL PARENT HANDBOOKS AND IN THE EMPLOYEE HANDBOOK. IN ADDITION TO PROMINENT PLACING ON OUR WEBSITE AND IN PROMOTIONAL MATERIALS, KIPP COLORADO CONSISTENTLY ADHERES TO A LANGUAGE EQUITY POLICY WHICH ENSURES ALL MEMBERS OF THE COMMUNITY CAN INTERACT WITH THE SCHOOL REGARDLESS OF NATIVE LANGUAGE. |
| Schedule E, Part I, Line 6A | KIPP COLORADO SCHOOLS ARE PUBLICLY FUNDED UNDER DENVER PUBLIC SCHOOLS. |
Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Grant Records Maintained | Yes (true) | GrantRecordsMaintainedInd |
Grants Other Asst To Indiv In US GrantsOtherAsstToIndivInUSGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Grant Type | Scholarships | GrantTypeTxt |
| Recipient | 39 | RecipientCnt |
| Cash Grant | $494,222 | CashGrantAmt |
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Form And Line Reference | Schedule I, Part I, Line 2 | FormAndLineReferenceDesc |
| Explanation | GRANT MONITORING PROCESS: ALL SCHOLARSHIPS FOR STUDENTS ARE PROVIDED DIRECTLY TO THE COLLEGE THE STUDENT WILL BE ATTENDING. THE ORGANIZATION TRACKS THE PROGRESS OF STUDENTS BENEFITTING FROM THE SCHOLARSHIPS, INCLUDING INFORMATION REGARDING COLLEGE PERSISTENCE AND GRADUATION. THIS INFORMATION IS THEN COMPILED IN AN ANNUAL REPORT AND PROVIDED TO THE FOUNDATION THAT ORIGINALLY PROVIDED THE SCHOLARSHIP MONEY TO KIPP COLORADO SCHOOLS. | ExplanationTxt |
Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Compensation Committee | Yes (X) | CompensationCommitteeInd |
| Compensation Survey | Yes (X) | CompensationSurveyInd |
| Board Or Committee Approval | Yes (X) | BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd |
| Severance Payment | false | SeverancePaymentInd |
| Supplemental Nonqual Rtr Plan | false | SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd |
| Equity Based Comp Arrngm | false | EquityBasedCompArrngmInd |
| Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng Org | false | CompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd |
| Comp Bsd On Rev Related Orgs | false | CompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd |
| Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng Org | false | CompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd |
| Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd Orgs | false | CompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd |
Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Person | KIMBERLEE SIA | PersonNm |
| Title | EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR | TitleTxt |
| Base Compensation Filing Org | $151,500 | BaseCompensationFilingOrgAmt |
| Bonus Filing Organization | $1,000 | BonusFilingOrganizationAmount |
| Deferred Compensation Flng Org | $21,383 | DeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmt |
| Nontaxable Benefits Filing Org | $16,108 | NontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmt |
| Total Compensation Filing Org | $189,991 | TotalCompensationFilingOrgAmt |
Schedule M IRS990ScheduleM
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Works Of Art | WorksOfArtGrp | |
| Art Historical Treasures | ArtHistoricalTreasuresGrp | |
| Art Fractional Interest | ArtFractionalInterestGrp | |
| Books And Publications | BooksAndPublicationsGrp | |
| Clothing And Household Goods | ClothingAndHouseholdGoodsGrp | |
| Cars And Other Vehicles | CarsAndOtherVehiclesGrp | |
| Boats And Planes | BoatsAndPlanesGrp | |
| Intellectual Property | IntellectualPropertyGrp | |
| Securities Publicly Traded | SecuritiesPubliclyTradedGrp | |
| Securities Closely Held Stock | SecuritiesCloselyHeldStockGrp | |
| Secur Prtnrshp Trust Intrsts | SecurPrtnrshpTrustIntrstsGrp | |
| Securities Miscellaneous | SecuritiesMiscellaneousGrp | |
| Qualified Contrib Hist Struct | QualifiedContribHistStructGrp | |
| Qualified Contrib Other | QualifiedContribOtherGrp | |
| Real Estate Residential | RealEstateResidentialGrp | |
| Real Estate Commercial | RealEstateCommercialGrp | |
| Real Estate Other | RealEstateOtherGrp | |
| Collectibles | CollectiblesGrp | |
| Food Inventory | FoodInventoryGrp | |
| Drugs And Medical Supplies | DrugsAndMedicalSuppliesGrp | |
| Taxidermy | TaxidermyGrp | |
| Historical Artifacts | HistoricalArtifactsGrp | |
| Scientific Specimens | ScientificSpecimensGrp | |
| Archaeological Artifacts | ArchaeologicalArtifactsGrp |
Other Non Cash Contri Table OtherNonCashContriTableGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Non Cash Checkbox | Yes (X) | NonCashCheckboxInd |
| Desc | Sporting Goods | Desc |
| Contribution | 1 | ContributionCnt |
| Noncash Contributions Rpt F990 | $28,701 | NoncashContributionsRptF990Amt |
| Method Of Determining Revenues | Fair Market Value | MethodOfDeterminingRevenuesTxt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Any Property That Must Be Held | false | AnyPropertyThatMustBeHeldInd |
| Review Process Unusual NC Gifts | false | ReviewProcessUnusualNCGiftsInd |
| Third Parties Used | false | ThirdPartiesUsedInd |
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Form And Line Reference | SCHEDULE M, PART I, COLUMN (B) | FormAndLineReferenceDesc |
| Explanation | THE NUMBER OF CONTRIBUTIONS REPORTED ON SCHEDULE M ARE THE NUMBER OF CONTRIBUTIONS RECEIVED, NOT THE NUMBER OF INDIVIDUAL ITEMS CONTRIBUTED. | ExplanationTxt |
Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (7 entries)
| Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDesc | ExplanationExplanationTxt |
|---|---|
| Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 11b | PROCESS TO REVIEW THE FORM 990: THE TAX PREPARER PROVIDES THE DIRECTOR OF FINANCE WITH A COMPLETED 990 DRAFT FOR REVIEW. ONCE REVIEWED AND APPROVED BY THE DIRECTOR OF FINANCE, THE 990 DRAFT IS EMAILED TO THE ENTIRE BOARD OF DIRECTORS AND EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR PRIOR TO FILING. THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS AND EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR PROVIDE QUESTIONS AND/OR FEEDBACK TO THE DIRECTOR OF FINANCE, WHO SUBMITS ANY REQUESTED CHANGES TO THE TAX PREPARER. UPON APPROVAL BY THE EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR AND THE BOARD TREASURER, THE 990 IS FILED. |
| Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 12c | PROCESS FOR MONITORING COMPLIANCE WITH CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY: THE CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY IS DISCLOSED AND REVIEWED ANNUALLY BY THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS AND OFFICERS OF THE ORGANIZATION. EACH BOARD MEMBER AND OFFICER SIGNS AN ACKNOWLEDGEMENT FORM WITH A SECTION TO DISCLOSE ANY CONFLICTS. IN THE EVENT OF A CONFLICT OF INTEREST, THE INTERESTED PERSON MAY MAKE A PRESENTATION TO THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS, BUT AFTER SUCH PRESENTATION, HE/SHE WILL LEAVE THE MEETING DURING THE DISCUSSION OF, AND VOTE ON, THE TRANSACTION THAT RESULTED IN THE CONFLICT OF INTEREST. IF A MORE ADVANTAGEOUS TRANSACTION OR ARRANGEMENT IS NOT REASONABLY ATTAINABLE THAT WOULD NOT GIVE RISE TO A CONFLICT OF INTEREST, THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS SHALL DETERMINE BY A MAJORITY VOTE OF THE DISINTERESTED DIRECTORS WHETHER THE TRANSACTION IS IN THE CORPORATION'S BEST INTEREST. |
| Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 15a | REVIEW OF CEO OR TOP MGMT OFFICIAL COMPENSATION: EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR COMPENSATION IS REVIEWED, APPROVED AND DOCUMENTED BY THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS. AN INFORMAL SURVEY OF EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR COMPENSATION AT SIMILAR EDUCATIONAL EXEMPT ORGANIZATIONS BY THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS WAS USED FOR COMPARABILITY PURPOSES. |
| Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 15b | REVIEW OF OTHER OFFICER OR KEY EMPLOYEES COMPENSATION: THE COO'S AND CSO'S COMPENSATION IS REVIEWED, APPROVED AND DOCUMENTED BY THE EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR. AN INFORMAL SURVEY OF COMPENSATION AT SIMILAR EDUCATIONAL EXEMPT ORGANIZATIONS WAS USED BY THE EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR FOR COMPARABILITY PURPOSES. THE COMPENSATION DECISIONS REACHED ARE DOCUMENTED IN THE ORGANIZATION'S HUMAN RESOURCES FILES. |
| Form 990, Part VI, Section C, Line 19 | HOW DOCUMENTS ARE MADE AVAILABLE TO THE PUBLIC: THE ORGANIZATION'S FINANCIAL STATEMENTS, CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY, AND GOVERNING DOCUMENTS ARE MADE AVAILABLE TO THE PUBLIC UPON REQUEST. |
| Form 990, Part X, Line 33 | RECONCILIATION TO GOVERNMENTAL FUND BALANCE: NET ASSETS REPORTED FOR FORM 990 PURPOSES DIFFER FROM GOVERNMENTAL REPORTING REQUIREMENTS UNDER GASB 68. A RECONCILIATION TO THE GOVERNMENT FUND IS OUTLINED BELOW: GOVERNMENTAL FUND BALANCE PER AUDITED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS 5,820,115 CAPITAL ASSETS USED IN GOVERNMENTAL ACTIVITIES ARE NOT 104,848 FINANCIAL RESOURCES AND THEREFORE ARE NOT REPORTED IN THE GOVERNMENTAL FUND. THE NET PENSION LIABILITY IS NOT DUE AND PAYABLE IN THE (15,464,601) CURRENT PERIOD AND, THEREFORE IS NOT REPORTED IN THE GOVERNMENTAL FUND THE NET OPEB LIABILITY IS NOT DUE AND PAYABLE IN THE CURRENT (876,686) PERIOD AND THEREFORE IS NOT REPORTED IN THE GOVERNMENTAL FUND TOTAL NET ASSETS REPORTED ON FORM 990 (10,416,324) |
| Form 990, Part XI, Line 9 | OTHER CHANGES IN NET ASSETS OR FUND BALANCES: CHANGE IN PENSION LIABILITY DUE TO PROPORTIONATE SHARE OF NET PENSION LIABILITY 1,965,070 |
Comments