KIPP NEW ORLEANS INC: Form 990, tax year 2018
View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗
- Organization
- KIPP NEW ORLEANS INC (EIN 20-2277213)
- Tax period
- 2018-07-01 to 2019-06-30
- Filed
- 2020-07-15
- IRS object ID
- 202041979349306219
- Schema version
- 2018v3.2
- Source
- Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica
Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.
- Return header
- Form 990
- Schedule A
- Schedule B
- Schedule D
- Schedule E
- Schedule G
- Schedule J
- Schedule O
- Schedule R
Return header ReturnHeader
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Return | 2020-07-15T15:29:23-05:00 | ReturnTs |
| Tax Period End | 2019-06-30 | TaxPeriodEndDt |
Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Preparer Firm EIN | 720549733 | PreparerFirmEIN |
Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | ERICKSEN KRENTEL LLP | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 4227 CANAL STREET | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | NEW ORLEANS | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | LA | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 70119 | ZIPCd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Return Type | 990 | ReturnTypeCd |
| Tax Period Begin | 2018-07-01 | TaxPeriodBeginDt |
Filer Filer
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| EIN | 202277213 | EIN |
Business Name BusinessName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | KIPP NEW ORLEANS INC | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Control | KIPP | BusinessNameControlTxt |
| Phone | 5045134242 | PhoneNum |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 1307 ORETHA CASTLE HALEY NO 302 | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | NEW ORLEANS | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | LA | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 70113 | ZIPCd |
Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Person | RHONDA KALIFEY-ALUISE | PersonNm |
| Person Title | CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER | PersonTitleTxt |
| Phone | 5045134242 | PhoneNum |
| Signature | 2020-07-14 | SignatureDt |
| Discuss With Paid Preparer | Yes (1) | DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd |
Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Preparer Person | W ERIC POWERS CPA | PreparerPersonNm |
| PTIN | P00442612 | PTIN |
| Phone | 5044867275 | PhoneNum |
Filing Security Information FilingSecurityInformation
IP Address IPAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| I Pv4 Address | 12.94.147.170 | IPv4AddressTxt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| IP | 2020-07-14 | IPDt |
| IP Tm | 19:27:11 | IPTm |
| IP Timezone | CD | IPTimezoneCd |
| Filing License Type | P | FilingLicenseTypeCd |
| At Submission Creation Device Id | C587521B8CC4CA846F67482B0252F13D668BD30D | AtSubmissionCreationDeviceId |
| At Submission Filing Device Id | C587521B8CC4CA846F67482B0252F13D668BD30D | AtSubmissionFilingDeviceId |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Tax | 2018 | TaxYr |
| Build TS | 2021-01-29 14:40:06Z | BuildTS |
Form 990 IRS990
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Principal Officer | RHONDA KALIFEY-ALUISE | PrincipalOfficerNm |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 1307 ORETHA CASTLE HALEY NO 302 | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | NEW ORLEANS | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | LA | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 70113 | ZIPCd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Gross Receipts | $64,503,703 | GrossReceiptsAmt |
| Group Return For Affiliates | 0 | GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd |
| Organization501c3 | Yes (X) | Organization501c3Ind |
| Website Address | HTTPS://WWW.KIPPNEWORLEANS.ORG/ | WebsiteAddressTxt |
| Type Of Organization Corp | Yes (X) | TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd |
| Formation | 2005 | FormationYr |
| Legal Domicile State | LA | LegalDomicileStateCd |
| Activity Or Mission | KIPP NEW ORLEANS SCHOOLS EMPOWERS STUDENTS WITH THE KNOWLEDGE, SKILLS AND CHARACTER TRAITS NECESSARY TO SUCCEED IN COLLEGE AND IN LIFE BY OPERATING AN INFLUENTIAL NETWORK OF FREE, NONDISCRIMINATORY, OPEN-ENROLLMENT, COLLEGE PREP PUBLIC SCHOOLS COMMITTED TO SERVING ALL STUDENTS. | ActivityOrMissionDesc |
| Voting Members Governing Body | 12 | VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt |
| Voting Members Independent | 12 | VotingMembersIndependentCnt |
| Total Employee | 856 | TotalEmployeeCnt |
| Total Volunteers | 15 | TotalVolunteersCnt |
| Total Gross UBI | $0 | TotalGrossUBIAmt |
| Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm | $0 | NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt |
| PY Contributions Grants | $57,734,325 | PYContributionsGrantsAmt |
| CY Contributions Grants | $63,616,362 | CYContributionsGrantsAmt |
| PY Program Service Revenue | $188,044 | PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
| CY Program Service Revenue | $542,101 | CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
| PY Investment Income | $157,418 | PYInvestmentIncomeAmt |
| CY Investment Income | $173,524 | CYInvestmentIncomeAmt |
| PY Other Revenue | $85,690 | PYOtherRevenueAmt |
| CY Other Revenue | $123,036 | CYOtherRevenueAmt |
| PY Total Revenue | $58,165,477 | PYTotalRevenueAmt |
| CY Total Revenue | $64,455,023 | CYTotalRevenueAmt |
| PY Grants And Similar Paid | $0 | PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt |
| CY Grants And Similar Paid | $0 | CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt |
| PY Benefits Paid To Members | $0 | PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt |
| CY Benefits Paid To Members | $0 | CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt |
| PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid | $36,095,846 | PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt |
| CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid | $39,330,745 | CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt |
| PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns | $0 | PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt |
| CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns | $0 | CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt |
| CY Total Fundraising Expense | $0 | CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt |
| PY Other Expenses | $20,548,754 | PYOtherExpensesAmt |
| CY Other Expenses | $24,512,238 | CYOtherExpensesAmt |
| PY Total Expenses | $56,644,600 | PYTotalExpensesAmt |
| CY Total Expenses | $63,842,983 | CYTotalExpensesAmt |
| PY Revenues Less Expenses | $1,520,877 | PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt |
| CY Revenues Less Expenses | $612,040 | CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt |
| Total Assets BOY | $19,963,172 | TotalAssetsBOYAmt |
| Total Assets EOY | $21,858,676 | TotalAssetsEOYAmt |
| Total Liabilities BOY | $2,508,168 | TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt |
| Total Liabilities EOY | $3,737,589 | TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt |
| Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY | $17,455,004 | NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt |
| Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY | $18,121,087 | NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt |
| Info In Schedule O Part III | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartIIIInd |
| Mission | KIPP NEW ORLEANS SCHOOLS EMPOWERS STUDENTS WITH THE KNOWLEDGE, SKILLS AND CHARACTER TRAITS NECESSARY TO SUCCEED IN COLLEGE AND IN LIFE BY OPERATING AN INFLUENTIAL NETWORK OF FREE, NONDISCRIMINATORY, OPEN-ENROLLMENT, COLLEGE PREP PUBLIC SCHOOLS COMMITTED TO SERVING ALL STUDENTS. | MissionDesc |
| Significant New Program Srvc | 0 | SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd |
| Significant Change | 0 | SignificantChangeInd |
| Expense | $55,691,187 | ExpenseAmt |
| Revenue | $616,457 | RevenueAmt |
| Desc | KIPP NEW ORLEANS SCHOOLS IS A NETWORK OF FREE, NONDISCRIMINATORY, OPEN-ENROLLMENT, COLLEGE PREPARATORY PUBLIC SCHOOLS THAT LEADS THE CHANGE AND PROVES THE POSSIBLE IN PUBLIC EDUCATION IN NEW ORLEANS. KIPP NEW ORLEANS SCHOOLS CURRENTLY OPERATES TWELVE PUBLIC CHARTER SCHOOLS, WHICH ARE UNDER SEVEN CHARTERS, UNDER ORLEANS PARISH SCHOOL BOARD. THEY SERVE APPROXIMATELY 6,400 STUDENTS IN PRE-KINDERGARTEN THROUGH TWELFTH GRADE. | Desc |
| Total Program Service Expenses | $55,691,187 | TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt |
| Described In Section501c3 | Yes (1) | DescribedInSection501c3Ind |
| Schedule B Required | Yes (1) | ScheduleBRequiredInd |
| Political Campaign Acty | 0 | PoliticalCampaignActyInd |
| Lobbying Activities | 0 | LobbyingActivitiesInd |
| Subject To Proxy Tax | 0 | SubjectToProxyTaxInd |
| Donor Advised Fund | 0 | DonorAdvisedFundInd |
| Conservation Easements | 0 | ConservationEasementsInd |
| Collections Of Art | 0 | CollectionsOfArtInd |
| Credit Counseling | 0 | CreditCounselingInd |
| Temp Or Permanent Endowments | 0 | TempOrPermanentEndowmentsInd |
| Report Land Building Equipment | Yes (1) | ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd |
| Report Investments Other Sec | 0 | ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd |
| Report Program Related Invst | 0 | ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd |
| Report Other Assets | 0 | ReportOtherAssetsInd |
| Report Other Liabilities | Yes (1) | ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd |
| Include FIN48 Footnote | Yes (1) | IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd |
| Independent Audit Fincl Stmt | 0 | IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd |
| Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt | Yes (1) | ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd |
| School Operating | Yes (1) | SchoolOperatingInd |
| Foreign Office | 0 | ForeignOfficeInd |
| Foreign Activities | 0 | ForeignActivitiesInd |
| More Than5000 K To Org | 0 | MoreThan5000KToOrgInd |
| More Than5000 K To Individuals | 0 | MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd |
| Professional Fundraising | 0 | ProfessionalFundraisingInd |
| Fundraising Activities | Yes (1) | FundraisingActivitiesInd |
| Gaming Activities | 0 | GamingActivitiesInd |
| Operate Hospital | 0 | OperateHospitalInd |
| Grants To Organizations | 0 | GrantsToOrganizationsInd |
| Grants To Individuals | 0 | GrantsToIndividualsInd |
| Schedule J Required | Yes (1) | ScheduleJRequiredInd |
| Tax Exempt Bonds | 0 | TaxExemptBondsInd |
| Engaged In Excess Benefit Trans | 0 | EngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd |
| PY Excess Benefit Trans | 0 | PYExcessBenefitTransInd |
| Loan Outstanding | 0 | LoanOutstandingInd |
| Grant To Related Person | 0 | GrantToRelatedPersonInd |
| Business Rln With Org Mem | 0 | BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd |
| Business Rln With Fam Mem | 0 | BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd |
| Business Rln With Officer Ent | 0 | BusinessRlnWithOfficerEntInd |
| Deductible Non Cash Contri | 0 | DeductibleNonCashContriInd |
| Deductible Art Contribution | 0 | DeductibleArtContributionInd |
| Terminate Operations | 0 | TerminateOperationsInd |
| Partial Liquidation | 0 | PartialLiquidationInd |
| Disregarded Entity | 0 | DisregardedEntityInd |
| Related Entity | Yes (1) | RelatedEntityInd |
| Related Organization Ctrl Ent | Yes (1) | RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd |
| Transaction With Control Ent | 0 | TransactionWithControlEntInd |
| Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd Org | 0 | TrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd |
| Activities Conducted Prtshp | 0 | ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd |
| Schedule O Required | Yes (1) | ScheduleORequiredInd |
| IRP Document | 245 | IRPDocumentCnt |
| IRP Document W2 G | 0 | IRPDocumentW2GCnt |
| Backup Wthld Compliance | Yes (1) | BackupWthldComplianceInd |
| Employee | 856 | EmployeeCnt |
| Employment Tax Returns Filed | Yes (1) | EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd |
| Unrelated Bus Incm Over Limit | Yes (1) | UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd |
| Form990 T Filed | Yes (1) | Form990TFiledInd |
| Foreign Financial Account | 0 | ForeignFinancialAccountInd |
| Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans | 0 | ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd |
| Taxable Party Notification | 0 | TaxablePartyNotificationInd |
| Nondeductible Contributions | 0 | NondeductibleContributionsInd |
| Quid Pro Quo Contributions | Yes (1) | QuidProQuoContributionsInd |
| Quid Pro Quo Contri Discl | Yes (1) | QuidProQuoContriDisclInd |
| Form8282 Property Disposed Of | 0 | Form8282PropertyDisposedOfInd |
| Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft Cntrct | 0 | RcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd |
| Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft Cntrct | 0 | PayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd |
| Indoor Tanning Services | 0 | IndoorTanningServicesInd |
| Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht Pymt | 0 | SubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd |
| Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst Inc | 0 | SubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd |
| Info In Schedule O Part VI | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd |
| Governing Body Voting Members | 12 | GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt |
| Independent Voting Member | 12 | IndependentVotingMemberCnt |
| Family Or Business Rln | 0 | FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd |
| Delegation Of Mgmt Duties | 0 | DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd |
| Change To Org Documents | 0 | ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd |
| Material Diversion Or Misuse | 0 | MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd |
| Members Or Stockholders | 0 | MembersOrStockholdersInd |
| Election Of Board Members | 0 | ElectionOfBoardMembersInd |
| Decisions Subject To Approva | Yes (1) | DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd |
| Minutes Of Governing Body | Yes (1) | MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd |
| Minutes Of Committees | Yes (1) | MinutesOfCommitteesInd |
| Officer Mailing Address | 0 | OfficerMailingAddressInd |
| Local Chapters | 0 | LocalChaptersInd |
| Form990 Provided To Gvrn Body | Yes (1) | Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd |
| Conflict Of Interest Policy | Yes (1) | ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd |
| Annual Disclosure Covered Prsn | Yes (1) | AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd |
| Regular Monitoring Enfrc | Yes (1) | RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd |
| Whistleblower Policy | Yes (1) | WhistleblowerPolicyInd |
| Document Retention Policy | Yes (1) | DocumentRetentionPolicyInd |
| Compensation Process CEO | Yes (1) | CompensationProcessCEOInd |
| Compensation Process Other | Yes (1) | CompensationProcessOtherInd |
| Investment In Joint Venture | 0 | InvestmentInJointVentureInd |
| States Where Copy Of Return Is Fld | LA | StatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd |
| Upon Request | Yes (X) | UponRequestInd |
Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Person | CHRISTINE BOZINIS | PersonNm |
| Phone | 5043083354 | PhoneNum |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 1307 ORETHA CASTLE HALEY BLVD STE | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | NEW ORLEANS | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | LA | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 70113 | ZIPCd |
Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (23 entries)
| TitleTitleTxt | Average Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRt | Individual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorInd | OfficerOfficerInd | Reportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmt | Reportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmt | Other CompensationOtherCompensationAmt | Average Hours Per Week Rltd OrgAverageHoursPerWeekRltdOrgRt | Highest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| LARRY WASHINGTON | ||||||||
| CHAIRMAN | 2.00 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| STANWOOD R DUVAL JR | ||||||||
| VICE CHAIRMAN | 2.00 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| ROBERT HUDSON | ||||||||
| SECRETARY | 2.00 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| DREW MARSH | ||||||||
| TREASURER | 2.00 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1.00 | |
| JODI AAMODT | ||||||||
| BOARD MEMBER | 2.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1.00 | ||
| DONNELL K BAILEY | ||||||||
| BOARD MEMBER | 2.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| SHERICE CLARK | ||||||||
| BOARD MEMBER | 2.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| LAUREN HITT | ||||||||
| BOARD MEMBER | 2.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| DR BRUCE V HURLEY JR | ||||||||
| BOARD MEMBER | 2.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| KELT KINDICK | ||||||||
| BOARD MEMBER | 2.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| DR TOYA BARNES-TEAMER | ||||||||
| BOARD MEMBER | 2.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| STEVEN USDIN | ||||||||
| BOARD MEMBER | 2.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| RHONDA KALIFEY-ALUISE | ||||||||
| CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER | 40.00 | Yes (X) | $187,108 | $0 | $16,084 | 1.00 | ||
| TODD PURVIS | ||||||||
| CHIEF ACADEMICS OFFICER | 40.00 | Yes (X) | $162,526 | $0 | $6,446 | |||
| ELIZABETH MASTEN STARTED 419 | ||||||||
| CHIEF OPERATING OFFICER | 40.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| MATTHEW LEHIGH | ||||||||
| CHIEF OPERATING OFFICER | 40.00 | Yes (X) | $165,480 | $0 | $9,532 | |||
| KATHRYN WALMSLEY | ||||||||
| CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER | 40.00 | Yes (X) | $22,031 | $0 | $1,904 | |||
| OCTAVE LAROCHE | ||||||||
| CHIEF STRATEGY OFFICER | 40.00 | Yes (X) | $130,638 | $0 | $10,295 | |||
| KORBIN JOHNSON | ||||||||
| SCHOOL LEADER/PRINCIPAL | 40.00 | $112,669 | $0 | $11,105 | Yes (X) | |||
| TOWANA PIERRE-FLOYD | ||||||||
| FOUNDER/SCHOOL LEADER | 40.00 | $110,286 | $0 | $12,046 | Yes (X) | |||
| SARAH GREENBERG | ||||||||
| HEAD OF SCHOOLS | 40.00 | $114,068 | $0 | $15,146 | Yes (X) | |||
| BRAD ROSENBLAT | ||||||||
| MANAGING DIRECTOR OF FINANCE | 40.00 | $107,139 | $0 | $10,818 | Yes (X) | |||
| FREDERICK KULLMAN | ||||||||
| MANAGING DIRECTOR OF TEACHING & LEARNING | 40.00 | $108,754 | $0 | $9,107 | Yes (X) | |||
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Reportable Comp From Org | $1,220,699 | TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt |
| Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org | $0 | TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt |
| Total Other Compensation | $102,483 | TotalOtherCompensationAmt |
| Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K | 9 | IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt |
| Former Ofcr Employees Listed | 0 | FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd |
| Total Comp Greater Than150 K | Yes (1) | TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd |
| Compensation From Other Srcs | 0 | CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd |
Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)
| Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1Txt | CityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNm | State AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCd | ZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCd | ServicesServicesDesc | CompensationCompensationAmt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| HAMMONDS TRANSPORTATION | |||||
| PO BOX 73080 | METAIRIE | LA | 70033 | BUS TRANSPORTION | $4,504,279 |
| LAMS FACILITY SOLUTIONS LLC | |||||
| 313 TELLY ROAD PMB 90 | PICAYUNE | MS | 39466 | CUSTODIAL SERVICES | $1,475,937 |
| POLO TRANSPORTATION LLC | |||||
| 101 JANET DRIVE | AVONDALE | LA | 70094 | SPED TRANSPORTATION | $462,480 |
| MBS PARENT LLC | |||||
| 1307 ORETHA CASTLE HALEY STE 300 | NEW ORLEANS | LA | 70113 | OFFICE RENTAL | $116,597 |
| INKMULE LLC | |||||
| 1915 MARTIN LUTHER KING JR BLVD | NEW ORLEANS | LA | 70113 | PRINTING | $109,408 |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K | 5 | CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt |
| Fundraising | $29,325 | FundraisingAmt |
| Government Grants | $63,156,345 | GovernmentGrantsAmt |
| All Other Contributions | $430,692 | AllOtherContributionsAmt |
| Total Contributions | $63,616,362 | TotalContributionsAmt |
Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (2 entries)
| DescDesc | BusinessBusinessCd | Total Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmt | Related Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt |
|---|---|---|---|
| MEDICAID REIMBURSEMENT | 611110 | $539,020 | $539,020 |
| JUDGEMENTS | 611110 | $3,081 | $3,081 |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Program Service Revenue | $542,101 | TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $222,204 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Exclusion | $222,204 | ExclusionAmt |
Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other | $48,680 | OtherAmt |
Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other | -$48,680 | OtherAmt |
Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | -$48,680 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Related Or Exempt Func Income | -$48,680 | RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Fundraising Gross Income | $0 | FundraisingGrossIncomeAmt |
| Contri Rpt Fundraising Event | $29,325 | ContriRptFundraisingEventAmt |
| Fundraising Direct Expenses | $0 | FundraisingDirectExpensesAmt |
Net Incm From Fundraising Evt NetIncmFromFundraisingEvtGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $0 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp (2 entries)
| DescDesc | BusinessBusinessCd | Total Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmt | Related Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt |
|---|---|---|---|
| OTHER INCOME | 900099 | $67,081 | $67,081 |
| REFUNDS/REIMBURSEMENTS | 611110 | $55,955 | $55,955 |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Revenue Total | $123,036 | OtherRevenueTotalAmt |
Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $64,455,023 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Related Or Exempt Func Income | $616,457 | RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt |
| Unrelated Business Revenue | $0 | UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt |
| Exclusion | $222,204 | ExclusionAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Info In Schedule O Part IX | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartIXInd |
Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $1,323,182 | TotalAmt |
| Management And General | $1,323,182 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $32,232,728 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $30,145,989 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $2,086,739 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $1,011,016 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $905,604 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $105,412 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $2,279,341 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $2,041,688 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $237,653 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $2,484,478 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $2,240,660 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $243,818 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $42,515 | TotalAmt |
| Management And General | $42,515 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $48,250 | TotalAmt |
| Management And General | $48,250 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $11,442,688 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $10,943,060 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $499,628 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Advertising AdvertisingGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $44,241 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $38,165 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $6,076 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $1,378,321 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $1,294,611 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $83,710 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Occupancy OccupancyGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $3,600,797 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $3,480,812 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $119,985 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Travel TravelGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $270,360 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $248,762 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $21,598 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Payments To Affiliates PaymentsToAffiliatesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $250,000 | TotalAmt |
| Management And General | $250,000 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $137,989 | TotalAmt |
| Management And General | $137,989 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Insurance InsuranceGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $983,569 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $445,459 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $538,110 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (3 entries)
| DescDesc | TotalTotalAmt | Program ServicesProgramServicesAmt | Management And GeneralManagementAndGeneralAmt |
|---|---|---|---|
| MATERIALS & SUPPLIES | $4,425,838 | $3,062,844 | $1,362,994 |
| RENTALS | $1,415,170 | $371,184 | $1,043,986 |
| BOOKS & PERIODICALS | $472,500 | $472,349 | $151 |
Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $63,842,983 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $55,691,187 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $8,151,796 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $0 | FundraisingAmt |
Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $7,507,365 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $7,761,912 | EOYAmt |
Pledges And Grants Receivable PledgesAndGrantsReceivableGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $2,800,332 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $2,434,100 | EOYAmt |
Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $140,893 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $36,375 | EOYAmt |
Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $39,273 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $0 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss | $1,818,443 | LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt |
| Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec | $404,138 | LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt |
Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $584,070 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $1,414,305 | EOYAmt |
Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $8,726,164 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $10,048,567 | EOYAmt |
Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $165,075 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $163,417 | EOYAmt |
Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $19,963,172 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $21,858,676 | EOYAmt |
Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $1,911,885 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $3,496,349 | EOYAmt |
Grants Payable GrantsPayableGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $200,000 | BOYAmt |
Deferred Revenue DeferredRevenueGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $182,000 | BOYAmt |
Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $214,283 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $241,240 | EOYAmt |
Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $2,508,168 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $3,737,589 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Organization Follows SFAS117 | Yes (X) | OrganizationFollowsSFAS117Ind |
Unrestricted Net Assets UnrestrictedNetAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $17,007,908 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $18,058,159 | EOYAmt |
Temporarily Rstr Net Assets TemporarilyRstrNetAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $447,096 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $62,928 | EOYAmt |
Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $17,455,004 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $18,121,087 | EOYAmt |
Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $19,963,172 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $21,858,676 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Reconcilation Revenue Expnss | $612,040 | ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt |
| Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst | $54,043 | NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt |
| Other Changes In Net Assets | $0 | OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt |
| Info In Schedule O Part XII | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartXIIInd |
| Method Of Accounting Accrual | Yes (X) | MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd |
| Accountant Compile Or Review | 0 | AccountantCompileOrReviewInd |
| FS Audited | Yes (1) | FSAuditedInd |
FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Consolidated Basis Fincl Stmt | Yes (X) | ConsolidatedBasisFinclStmtInd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Audit Committee | Yes (1) | AuditCommitteeInd |
| Federal Grant Audit Required | Yes (1) | FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd |
| Federal Grant Audit Performed | Yes (1) | FederalGrantAuditPerformedInd |
Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| School | Yes (X) | SchoolInd |
Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB
Contributor Information ContributorInformationGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Contributor | RESTRICTED | ContributorNum |
Contributor Business Name ContributorBusinessName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | RESTRICTED | BusinessNameLine1 |
Contributor US Address ContributorUSAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | RESTRICTED | AddressLine1 |
| Address Line2 | RESTRICTED | AddressLine2 |
| City | RESTRICTED | City |
| State | RESTRICTED | State |
| ZIP Code | RESTRICTED | ZIPCode |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Contributions | RESTRICTED | TotalContributionsAmt |
Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD
Land LandGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Cost Or Other Basis | $44,877 | OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Book Value | $44,877 | BookValueAmt |
Leasehold Improvements LeaseholdImprovementsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Cost Or Other Basis | $1,422,750 | OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Depreciation | $205,118 | DepreciationAmt |
| Book Value | $1,217,632 | BookValueAmt |
Equipment EquipmentGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Cost Or Other Basis | $318,237 | OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Depreciation | $166,441 | DepreciationAmt |
| Book Value | $151,796 | BookValueAmt |
Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Cost Or Other Basis | $32,579 | OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Depreciation | $32,579 | DepreciationAmt |
| Book Value | $0 | BookValueAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Book Value Land Buildings | $1,414,305 | TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt |
Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Desc | STUDENT ACTIVITY FUNDS | Desc |
| Amt | $241,240 | Amt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Liability | $241,240 | TotalLiabilityAmt |
| Footnote Text | Yes (X) | FootnoteTextInd |
| Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt | $64,509,066 | TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt |
| Net Unrealized Gains Invst | $54,043 | NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt |
| Revenue Not Reported | $54,043 | RevenueNotReportedAmt |
| Revenue Subtotal | $64,455,023 | RevenueSubtotalAmt |
| Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt | $0 | RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt |
| Total Revenue Per Form990 | $64,455,023 | TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt |
| Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt | $63,842,983 | TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt |
| Expenses Not Reported | $0 | ExpensesNotReportedAmt |
| Expenses Subtotal | $63,842,983 | ExpensesSubtotalAmt |
| Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt | $0 | ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt |
| Total Expenses Per Form990 | $63,842,983 | TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt |
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Form And Line Reference | PART X, LINE 2: | FormAndLineReferenceDesc |
| Explanation | KIPP HAS RECEIVED A TAX-EXEMPT RULING UNDER SECTION 501(C)(3) FROM THE INTERNAL REVENUE SERVICE AND, ACCORDINGLY, IS NOT SUBJECT TO INCOME TAX UNLESS IT HAS UNRELATED TRADE OR BUSINESS INCOME. ACCOUNTING STANDARDS PROVIDE DETAILED GUIDANCE FOR FINANCIAL STATEMENT RECOGNITION, MEASUREMENT, AND DISCLOSURE OF UNCERTAIN TAX POSITIONS RECOGNIZED IN AN ENTITY'S FINANCIAL STATEMENTS. THESE STANDARDS REQUIRE AN ENTITY TO RECOGNIZE THE FINANCIAL STATEMENT IMPACT OF A TAX POSITION WHEN IT IS MORE LIKELY THAN NOT THAT THE POSITION WILL NOT BE SUSTAINED UPON EXAMINATION. AS OF JUNE 30, 2019 AND 2018, KIPP BELIEVES THAT IT HAS NO UNCERTAIN TAX POSITIONS THAT QUALIFY FOR EITHER RECOGNITION OR DISCLOSURE IN THE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS. TAX YEARS ENDED JUNE 30, 2016 AND LATER REMAIN SUBJECT TO EXAMINATION BY THE TAXING AUTHORITIES. | ExplanationTxt |
Schedule E IRS990ScheduleE
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Nondiscriminatory Policy Stmt | Yes (1) | NondiscriminatoryPolicyStmtInd |
| Policy Stmt In Brochures Etc | Yes (1) | PolicyStmtInBrochuresEtcInd |
| Plcy Pblczd Via Broadcast Media | Yes (1) | PlcyPblczdViaBroadcastMediaInd |
| Maintain Racial Comp Recs | Yes (1) | MaintainRacialCompRecsInd |
| Maintain Scholarships Recs | 0 | MaintainScholarshipsRecsInd |
| Maintain Cpy Of Brochures Etc | Yes (1) | MaintainCpyOfBrochuresEtcInd |
| Maintain Cpy Of All Sol | Yes (1) | MaintainCpyOfAllSolInd |
| Discriminate Race Stdnts Rghts | 0 | DiscriminateRaceStdntsRghtsInd |
| Discriminate Race Admiss Plcy | 0 | DiscriminateRaceAdmissPlcyInd |
| Discriminate Race Emplm Fculty | 0 | DiscriminateRaceEmplmFcultyInd |
| Discriminate Race Schs | 0 | DiscriminateRaceSchsInd |
| Discriminate Race Educ Plcy | 0 | DiscriminateRaceEducPlcyInd |
| Discriminate Race Use Of Fclts | 0 | DiscriminateRaceUseOfFcltsInd |
| Discriminate Race Athlt Prog | 0 | DiscriminateRaceAthltProgInd |
| Discriminate Race Other Acty | 0 | DiscriminateRaceOtherActyInd |
| Government Financial Aid Rcvd | Yes (1) | GovernmentFinancialAidRcvdInd |
| Government Financial Aid Rvkd | 0 | GovernmentFinancialAidRvkdInd |
| Compliance With Rev Proc7550 | Yes (1) | ComplianceWithRevProc7550Ind |
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (3 entries)
| Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDesc | ExplanationExplanationTxt |
|---|---|
| SCHEDULE E, PART I, LINE 3 | AS AN ORGANIZATION OPERATING TYPE 5 CHARTER SCHOOLS AS PART OF THE LOUISIANA DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION'S RECOVERY SCHOOL DISTRICT, KIPP NEW ORLEANS SCHOOLS PARTICIPATE IN THE ENROLLNOLA COMMON APPLICATION SYSTEM. THIS SYSTEM OF APPLICATION AND PLACEMENT OF STUDENTS IN PUBLIC SCHOOLS IS MANAGED BY THE RECOVERY SCHOOL DISTRICT. THE ENROLLNOLA PROCESS IS SPECIFICALLY RACIALLY NONDISCRIMINATORY AND IS WIDELY PUBLICIZED THROUGHOUT THE CITY. IN ADDITION, KIPP NEW ORLEANS SCHOOLS RECRUITMENT MATERIALS EMPHASIZE THAT KIPP SCHOOLS ARE OPEN TO ALL STUDENTS. |
| SCHEDULE E, PART I, LINE 4 | 4B. N/A; THE ORGANIZATION DOES NOT OFFER ANY SCHOLARSHIPS OR OTHER FINANCIAL ASSISTANCE. |
| SCHEDULE E, PART I, LINE 6 | FUNDED THROUGH THE U.S. DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION AND THE LOUISIANA DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION AS A PUBLIC SCHOOL. |
Schedule G IRS990ScheduleG
Fundraising Event Information FundraisingEventInformationGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Event1 | POWER TO LEAD GALA | Event1Nm |
| Gross Receipts Event1 | $29,325 | GrossReceiptsEvent1Amt |
| Charitable Contri Event1 | $29,325 | CharitableContriEvent1Amt |
| Gross Receipts Total | $29,325 | GrossReceiptsTotalAmt |
| Charitable Contributions Tot | $29,325 | CharitableContributionsTotAmt |
Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Board Or Committee Approval | Yes (X) | BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd |
| Severance Payment | 0 | SeverancePaymentInd |
| Supplemental Nonqual Rtr Plan | 0 | SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd |
| Equity Based Comp Arrngm | 0 | EquityBasedCompArrngmInd |
| Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng Org | 0 | CompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd |
| Comp Bsd On Rev Related Orgs | 0 | CompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd |
| Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng Org | 0 | CompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd |
| Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd Orgs | 0 | CompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd |
| Any Non Fixed Payments | 0 | AnyNonFixedPaymentsInd |
| Initial Contract Exception | 0 | InitialContractExceptionInd |
Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (3 entries)
| TitleTitleTxt | Base Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmt | Compensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmt | Bonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmount | Bonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmt | Other Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmt | Other Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmt | Deferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmt | Deferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmt | Nontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmt | Nontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmt | Total Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmt | Total Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmt | Comp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmt | Comp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| RHONDA KALIFEY-ALUISE | ||||||||||||||
| CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER | $187,108 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $9,625 | $0 | $6,458 | $0 | $203,191 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| TODD PURVIS | ||||||||||||||
| CHIEF ACADEMICS OFFICER | $162,526 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $6,000 | $0 | $446 | $0 | $168,972 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| MATTHEW LEHIGH | ||||||||||||||
| CHIEF OPERATING OFFICER | $165,480 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $8,307 | $0 | $1,225 | $0 | $175,012 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Form And Line Reference | PART I, LINE 3 | FormAndLineReferenceDesc |
| Explanation | APPROVAL BY THE BOARD OR COMPENSATION COMMITTEE IS USED TO ESTABLISH THE COMPENSATION OF THE ORGANIZATION'S CEO/EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR. | ExplanationTxt |
Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (7 entries)
| Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDesc | ExplanationExplanationTxt |
|---|---|
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 7B | THE LOUISIANA BOARD OF ELEMENTARY AND SECONDARY EDUCATION (BESE) HAS THE RIGHT TO APPROVE DECISIONS MADE BY THE ORGANIZATION'S GOVERNING BODY. IN ADDITION, SIGNIFICANT/MATERIAL DECISIONS AND CHANGES TO THE CHARTER SCHOOL CONTRACT WOULD NEED TO BE APPROVED BY THE BOARD OF ELEMENTARY AND SECONDARY EDUCATION (BESE). |
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 11B | THE MANAGING DIRECTOR OF FINANCE AND CONTROLLER DO THE INITIAL REVIEW OF THE FORM 990. UPON APPROVAL, THE FORM 990 IS THEN SENT TO THE CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER (CEO) FOR APPROVAL. |
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 12C | KIPP NEW ORLEANS CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY IS INCLUDED IN THE ORGANIZATION'S BY-LAWS. PROCUREMENT POLICIES ARE DISTRIBUTED TO ALL TEAM MEMBERS, REQUIRING APPROVALS FOR ALL CONTRACTS AND PURCHASES OVER CERTAIN DOLLAR THRESHOLDS. ALL LARGE CONTRACTS GO THROUGH AN RFP PROCESS. ALL KIPP NEW ORLEANS TEAM MEMBERS TAKE AN ANNUAL ETHICS TRAINING, WHICH COVERS CONFLICTS OF INTEREST. |
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 15 | DURING THE OCTOBER BOARD OF DIRECTORS MEETING WHICH IS DURING THE EXECUTIVE SESSION, AN ANNUAL CEO REVIEW IS CONDUCTED. THE BOARD PERFORMS AN INDEPENDENT REVIEW USING COMPARABILITY DATA, DELIBERATIONS AND DECISIONS. |
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION C, LINE 19 | ALL INFORMATION IS AVAILABLE UPON REQUEST. |
| FORM 990, PART IX, LINE 11G | OTHER PROFESSIONAL SERVICES: PROGRAM SERVICE EXPENSES 807,935. MANAGEMENT AND GENERAL EXPENSES 322,872. FUNDRAISING EXPENSES 0. TOTAL EXPENSES 1,130,807. EDUCATION SERVICES: PROGRAM SERVICE EXPENSES 808,950. MANAGEMENT AND GENERAL EXPENSES 3,367. FUNDRAISING EXPENSES 0. TOTAL EXPENSES 812,317. TECHNICAL SERVICES: PROGRAM SERVICE EXPENSES 0. MANAGEMENT AND GENERAL EXPENSES 84,367. FUNDRAISING EXPENSES 0. TOTAL EXPENSES 84,367. FOOD SERVICE: PROGRAM SERVICE EXPENSES 3,243,700. MANAGEMENT AND GENERAL EXPENSES 0. FUNDRAISING EXPENSES 0. TOTAL EXPENSES 3,243,700. MISCELLANEOUS PURCHASED SERVICES: PROGRAM SERVICE EXPENSES 350,379. MANAGEMENT AND GENERAL EXPENSES 85,932. FUNDRAISING EXPENSES 0. TOTAL EXPENSES 436,311. STUDENT TRANSPORTATION: PROGRAM SERVICE EXPENSES 5,293,788. MANAGEMENT AND GENERAL EXPENSES 0. FUNDRAISING EXPENSES 0. TOTAL EXPENSES 5,293,788. TUITION: PROGRAM SERVICE EXPENSES 418,725. MANAGEMENT AND GENERAL EXPENSES 0. FUNDRAISING EXPENSES 0. TOTAL EXPENSES 418,725. MISCELLANEOUS INSTRUCTIONAL EXPENSES: PROGRAM SERVICE EXPENSES 19,583. MANAGEMENT AND GENERAL EXPENSES 3,090. FUNDRAISING EXPENSES 0. TOTAL EXPENSES 22,673. |
| FORM 990, PART XII, LINE 2C: | THERE HAVE BEEN NO CHANGES FROM THE PRIOR YEAR IN THE OVERSIGHT OR SELECTION PROCESSES FOR THE AUDIT THAT THE ORGANIZATION'S COMMITTEE USES. |
Schedule R IRS990ScheduleR
Id Related Tax Exempt Org IdRelatedTaxExemptOrgGrp
Disregarded Entity Name DisregardedEntityName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | FRIENDS OF KIPP NEW ORLEANS | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 1307 ORETHA CASTLE HALEY NO 302 | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | NEW ORLEANS | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | LA | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 70113 | ZIPCd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| EIN | 300951727 | EIN |
| Primary Activities | FOSTER THE STRATEGIC DEVELOPMENT GOALS OF KIPP NEW ORLEANS SHCOOLS | PrimaryActivitiesTxt |
| Legal Domicile State | LA | LegalDomicileStateCd |
| Exempt Code Section | 501(C)(3) | ExemptCodeSectionTxt |
| Public Charity Status | LINE 12A, I | PublicCharityStatusTxt |
Direct Controlling Entity Name DirectControllingEntityName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | KIPP NEW ORLEANS INC | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Controlled Organization | Yes (1) | ControlledOrganizationInd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Receipt Of Int Annts Rnts Rylts | 0 | ReceiptOfIntAnntsRntsRyltsInd |
| Gift Grnt Or Cap Contri To Oth Org | 0 | GiftGrntOrCapContriToOthOrgInd |
| Gift Grnt Cap Contri From Oth Org | Yes (1) | GiftGrntCapContriFromOthOrgInd |
| Loans Or Guarantees To Other Org | 0 | LoansOrGuaranteesToOtherOrgInd |
| Loans Or Guarantees From Oth Org | 0 | LoansOrGuaranteesFromOthOrgInd |
| Div Related Organization | 0 | DivRelatedOrganizationInd |
| Asset Sale To Other Org | 0 | AssetSaleToOtherOrgInd |
| Asset Purchase From Other Org | 0 | AssetPurchaseFromOtherOrgInd |
| Asset Exchange | 0 | AssetExchangeInd |
| Rental Of Facilities To Oth Org | 0 | RentalOfFacilitiesToOthOrgInd |
| Rental Of Fclts From Oth Org | 0 | RentalOfFcltsFromOthOrgInd |
| Perform Of Services For Oth Org | Yes (1) | PerformOfServicesForOthOrgInd |
| Perform Of Services By Other Org | Yes (1) | PerformOfServicesByOtherOrgInd |
| Sharing Of Facilities | 0 | SharingOfFacilitiesInd |
| Paid Employees Sharing | 0 | PaidEmployeesSharingInd |
| Reimbursement Paid To Other Org | Yes (1) | ReimbursementPaidToOtherOrgInd |
| Reimbursement Paid By Other Org | Yes (1) | ReimbursementPaidByOtherOrgInd |
| Transfer To Other Org | Yes (1) | TransferToOtherOrgInd |
| Transfer From Other Org | 0 | TransferFromOtherOrgInd |
Transactions Related Org TransactionsRelatedOrgGrp
Other Organization Name OtherOrganizationName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | FRIENDS OF KIPP NEW ORLEANS | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Transaction Type | R | TransactionTypeTxt |
| Involved | $450,000 | InvolvedAmt |
| Method Of Amount Determination | CASH | MethodOfAmountDeterminationTxt |
Comments