AFRICAN STUDIES ASSOCIATION INC C/O EMORY UNIVERSITY: Form 990, tax year 2019

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
AFRICAN STUDIES ASSOCIATION INC C/O EMORY UNIVERSITY (EIN 58-1832301)
Tax period
2019-01-01 to 2019-12-31
Filed
2020-06-15
IRS object ID
202021679349300747
Schema version
2019v5.0
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2020-06-15T12:43:35-05:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2019-12-31TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN471352305PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1O'CONNELL & COMPANY LLCBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1165 TOWNSHIP LINE RD STE 1100AddressLine1Txt
CityJENKINTOWNCityNm
State AbbreviationPAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP19046ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2019-01-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN581832301EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1AFRICAN STUDIES ASSOCIATION INCBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlAFRIBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone7329328173PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line154 JOYCE KILMER AVEAddressLine1Txt
CityPISCATAWAYCityNm
State AbbreviationNJStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP088548045ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonSUZANNE MOYER BAAZETPersonNm
Person TitleEXECUTIVE DIRECTORPersonTitleTxt
Phone7329328173PhoneNum
Signature2020-06-12SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (true)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonSTEPHANIE KLUGPreparerPersonNm
PTINP01648983PTIN
Phone2158874425PhoneNum
Preparation2020-06-15PreparationDt

Filing Security Information FilingSecurityInformation

IP Address IPAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
I Pv4 Address18.191.154.26IPv4AddressTxt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
IP2020-06-15IPDt
IP Tm12:43:35IPTm
IP TimezoneCDIPTimezoneCd
Filing License TypePFilingLicenseTypeCd
At Submission Creation Device Id5B93BBDA4A9A0302A325E5A1708065449D2ABAF9AtSubmissionCreationDeviceId
At Submission Filing Device Id62AA689904CFBC2C830DB6FFC0F3258E344FFD58AtSubmissionFilingDeviceId
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2019TaxYr
Build TS2021-01-29 14:40:06ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerSUZANNE MOYER BAAZETPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line154 JOYCE KILMER AVEAddressLine1Txt
CityPISCATAWAYCityNm
State AbbreviationNJStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP088548045ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$892,505GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For AffiliatesfalseGroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501c3Yes (X)Organization501c3Ind
Website AddressWWW.AFRICAN STUDIES.ORGWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1957FormationYr
Activity Or MissionTHE AFRICAN STUDIES ASSOCIATION ENCOURAGES THE PRODUCTION AND DISSEMINATION OF KNOWLEDGE ABOUT AFRICA, PAST AND PRESENT.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body13VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent13VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee4TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers20TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$0TotalGrossUBIAmt
PY Contributions Grants$391,062PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$407,252CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$463,269PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$439,129CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$25,278PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$46,124CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Other Revenue$0CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$879,609PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$892,505CYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$0CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$445,589PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$399,723CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$0CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$645,772PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$636,409CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$1,091,361PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$1,036,132CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses-$211,752PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses-$143,627CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$1,532,134TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$1,792,813TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$210,808TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$402,756TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$1,321,326NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$1,390,057NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
MissionTHE AFRICAN STUDIES ASSOCIATION ENCOURAGES THE PRODUCTION AND DISSEMINATION OF KNOWLEDGE ABOUT AFRICA, PAST AND PRESENT.MissionDesc
Significant New Program SrvcfalseSignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant ChangefalseSignificantChangeInd
Expense$698,874ExpenseAmt
Revenue$439,129RevenueAmt
DescPUBLISHING OF SCHOLARLY AND INFORMATIONAL MATERIALS ON AFRICA FOR ITS MEMBERS, PROVIDE SUPPORT SERVICES TO THE AFRICANIST COMMUNITY.Desc
Total Program Service Expenses$698,874TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt
Described In Section501c3Yes (true)DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B RequiredYes (true)ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign ActyfalsePoliticalCampaignActyInd
Lobbying ActivitiesfalseLobbyingActivitiesInd
Subject To Proxy TaxfalseSubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised FundfalseDonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation EasementsfalseConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of ArtfalseCollectionsOfArtInd
Credit CounselingfalseCreditCounselingInd
Donor Rstr Or Quasi EndowmentsYes (true)DonorRstrOrQuasiEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (true)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other SecfalseReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related InvstfalseReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other AssetsfalseReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (true)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (true)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (true)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl StmtfalseConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School OperatingfalseSchoolOperatingInd
Foreign OfficefalseForeignOfficeInd
Foreign ActivitiesfalseForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To OrgfalseMoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To IndividualsfalseMoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional FundraisingfalseProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising ActivitiesfalseFundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming ActivitiesfalseGamingActivitiesInd
Operate HospitalfalseOperateHospitalInd
Grants To OrganizationsfalseGrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To IndividualsfalseGrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredfalseScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt BondsfalseTaxExemptBondsInd
Engaged In Excess Benefit TransfalseEngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd
PY Excess Benefit TransfalsePYExcessBenefitTransInd
Loan OutstandingfalseLoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related PersonfalseGrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org MemfalseBusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam MemfalseBusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With35 Ctrl EntfalseBusinessRlnWith35CtrlEntInd
Deductible Non Cash ContrifalseDeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art ContributionfalseDeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate OperationsfalseTerminateOperationsInd
Partial LiquidationfalsePartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded EntityfalseDisregardedEntityInd
Related EntityfalseRelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl EntfalseRelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd OrgfalseTrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd
Activities Conducted PrtshpfalseActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (true)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document10IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Employee4EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (true)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over LimitfalseUnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Foreign Financial AccountfalseForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter TransfalseProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party NotificationfalseTaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible ContributionsfalseNondeductibleContributionsInd
Indoor Tanning ServicesfalseIndoorTanningServicesInd
Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht PymtfalseSubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd
Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst IncfalseSubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members13GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member13IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business RlnfalseFamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt DutiesYes (true)DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org DocumentsfalseChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or MisusefalseMaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or StockholdersYes (true)MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersYes (true)ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To ApprovafalseDecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (true)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (true)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing AddressfalseOfficerMailingAddressInd
Local ChaptersfalseLocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (true)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (true)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (true)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (true)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (true)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (true)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (true)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (true)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint VenturefalseInvestmentInJointVentureInd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldNJStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldNYStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
Other WebsiteYes (X)OtherWebsiteInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonSUZANNE MOYER BAAZETPersonNm
Phone7329328173PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line154 JOYCE KILMER AVEAddressLine1Txt
CityPISCATAWAYCityNm
State AbbreviationNJStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP08854ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (15 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmt
MARIA GROSZ-NGATE
PRESIDENT2.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
ATO QUAYSON
VICE PRESIDE2.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
MARY OSIRIM
TREASURER2.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
SUZANNE MOYER BAAZET
EXECUTIVE DI40.00Yes (X)$117,278$0$0
LEONARDO ARRIOLA
DIRECTOR2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
BESSIE HOUSE-SOREMEKUN
DIRECTOR2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
SEAN JACOBS
DIRECTOR2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
EBENEZER OBADARE
DIRECTOR2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
SYLVESTER OKWUNODU OGBECHIE
DIRECTOR2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
LAHRA SMITH
DIRECTOR2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
YUSUF SERUNKUMA KARUJA
EMERGING SCH2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
JEAN ALLMAN
DIRECTOR2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
NWANDO ACHEBE
DIRECTOR2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
DEREK PETERSON
DIRECTOR2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
CYRIL OBI
DIRECTOR2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$117,278TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K1IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees ListedfalseFormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KfalseTotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other SrcsfalseCompensationFromOtherSrcsInd
Membership Dues$227,005MembershipDuesAmt
All Other Contributions$180,247AllOtherContributionsAmt
Total Contributions$407,252TotalContributionsAmt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (2 entries)

DescDescTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
ANNUAL MEETING$301,686$301,686
PUBLICATIONS$137,443$137,443
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$439,129TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$46,124TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$46,124ExclusionAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$892,505TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$439,129RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Exclusion$46,124ExclusionAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$117,278TotalAmt
Program Services$117,278ProgramServicesAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$160,321TotalAmt
Program Services$49,281ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$111,040ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$97,003TotalAmt
Program Services$56,046ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$40,957ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$25,121TotalAmt
Program Services$15,073ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$10,048ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$56,732TotalAmt
Program Services$4,440ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$52,292ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$23,516TotalAmt
Program Services$20,859ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$2,657ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$19,603TotalAmt
Management And General$19,603ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$193,952TotalAmt
Program Services$147,692ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$46,260ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$225,680TotalAmt
Program Services$225,680ProgramServicesAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$8,198TotalAmt
Management And General$8,198ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$4,407TotalAmt
Program Services$1,260ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$3,147ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmtProgram ServicesProgramServicesAmtManagement And GeneralManagementAndGeneralAmt
MISCELLANEOUS$29,884$15,669$14,215
MEMBER PUBLICATIONS$20,295$15,447$4,848
AWARDS$17,993$17,993
BANK CHARGES$13,937$7,318$6,619

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$22,212TotalAmt
Program Services$4,838ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$17,374ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,036,132TotalAmt
Program Services$698,874ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$337,258ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$80,174BOYAmt
EOY$218,148EOYAmt

Pledges And Grants Receivable PledgesAndGrantsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$41,800BOYAmt
EOY$91,800EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$111,375BOYAmt
EOY$98,582EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$8,006BOYAmt
EOY$2,193EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$215,089LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$204,098LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$19,159BOYAmt
EOY$10,991EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,271,620BOYAmt
EOY$1,371,099EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,532,134BOYAmt
EOY$1,792,813EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$149,585BOYAmt
EOY$219,364EOYAmt

Deferred Revenue DeferredRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EOY$108,390EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$61,223BOYAmt
EOY$75,002EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$210,808BOYAmt
EOY$402,756EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Organization Follows FASB117Yes (X)OrganizationFollowsFASB117Ind

No Donor Restriction Net Assets NoDonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,074,222BOYAmt
EOY$1,136,545EOYAmt

Donor Restriction Net Assets DonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$247,104BOYAmt
EOY$253,512EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,321,326BOYAmt
EOY$1,390,057EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,532,134BOYAmt
EOY$1,792,813EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss-$143,627ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst$212,358NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or ReviewfalseAccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (true)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Separate Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (true)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit RequiredfalseFederalGrantAuditRequiredInd

Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Publicly Supported Org509a2Yes (X)PubliclySupportedOrg509a2Ind

Gifts Grants Contris Rcvd509 GiftsGrantsContrisRcvd509Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$323,407CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$412,444CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$375,005CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$391,062CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$407,252CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$1,909,170TotalAmt

Gross Receipts Admissions GrossReceiptsAdmissionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$410,749CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$500,716CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$486,442CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$463,269CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$439,129CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$2,300,305TotalAmt

Total509 Total509Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$734,156CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$913,160CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$861,447CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$854,331CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$846,381CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$4,209,475TotalAmt

Substantial Contributors Amt SubstantialContributorsAmtGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$44,077CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$42,679CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$43,116CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Total$129,872TotalAmt

Subst And Dsqlfy Prsns Tot SubstAndDsqlfyPrsnsTotGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$44,077CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$42,679CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$43,116CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Total$129,872TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Public Support Total509$4,079,603PublicSupportTotal509Amt

Gross Investment Income509 GrossInvestmentIncome509Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$58,193CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$18,985CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$26,911CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$25,278CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$46,124CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$175,491TotalAmt

Investment Income And UBTI InvestmentIncomeAndUBTIGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$58,193CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$18,985CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$26,911CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$25,278CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$46,124CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$175,491TotalAmt

Total Support Calendar Year TotalSupportCalendarYearGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$792,349CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$932,145CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$888,358CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$879,609CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$892,505CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$4,384,966TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Public Support CY5090.93040PublicSupportCY509Pct
Public Support PY5090.92450PublicSupportPY509Pct
Investment Income CY0.04000InvestmentIncomeCYPct
Investment Income PY0.03000InvestmentIncomePYPct
Thirty Thr Pct Suprt Tests CY509Yes (X)ThirtyThrPctSuprtTestsCY509Ind

Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB

Contributor Information ContributorInformationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
ContributorRESTRICTEDContributorNum

Contributor Business Name ContributorBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1RESTRICTEDBusinessNameLine1

Contributor US Address ContributorUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1RESTRICTEDAddressLine1
Address Line2RESTRICTEDAddressLine2
CityRESTRICTEDCity
StateRESTRICTEDState
ZIP CodeRESTRICTEDZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total ContributionsRESTRICTEDTotalContributionsAmt

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

CY Endwmt Fund CYEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$131,716BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$25,765InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$6,970OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$150,511EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus1 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus1YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$149,618BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses-$10,927InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$6,975OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$131,716EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus2 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus2YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$136,842BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$19,600InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$6,824OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$149,618EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus3 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus3YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$132,052BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$11,626InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$6,836OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$136,842EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus4 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus4YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$140,562BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses-$1,921InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$6,589OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$132,052EndYearBalanceAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Prmnnt Endowment Balance EOY1.00000PrmnntEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Endowments Held Unrelated OrgfalseEndowmentsHeldUnrelatedOrgInd
Endowments Held Related OrgfalseEndowmentsHeldRelatedOrgInd

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$215,089OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$204,098DepreciationAmt
Book Value$10,991BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$10,991TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescFUNDS HELD FOR COORDINATE ORGSDesc
Amt$75,002Amt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$75,002TotalLiabilityAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$1,184,159TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Net Unrealized Gains Invst$212,358NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt
Donated Services And Use Fclts$79,296DonatedServicesAndUseFcltsAmt
Revenue Not Reported$291,654RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$892,505RevenueSubtotalAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$892,505TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$1,115,428TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Donated Services Use Fclts$79,296DonatedServicesUseFcltsAmt
Expenses Not Reported$79,296ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$1,036,132ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$1,036,132TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSCHEDULE D, PAGE 3, PART XFormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationTHE ORGANIZATION IS EXEMPT FROM INCOME TAX UNDER IRC SECTION 501(C)(3), THOUGH IT IS SUBJECT TO TAX ON INCOME UNRELATED TO ITS EXEMPT PURPOSE, UNLESS THAT INCOME IS OTHERWISE EXCLUDED BY THE CODE. THE ORGANIZATION HAS PROCESSES PRESENTLY IN PLACE TO ENSURE THE MAINTENANCE OF ITS TAX-EXEMPT STATUS; TO IDENTIFY AND REPORT UNRELATED INCOME; TO DETERMINE ITS FILING AND TAX OBLIGATIONS; AND TO IDENTIFY AND EVALUATE OTHER MATTERS THAT MAY BE CONSIDERED TAX POSITIONS. THE ORGANIZATION HAS DETERMINED THAT THERE ARE NO MATERIAL UNCERTAIN TAX POSITIONS THAT REQUIRE RECOGNITION OR DISCLOSURE IN THE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS.ExplanationTxt

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (8 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
FORM 990, PAGE 6, PART VI, LINE 3THE ASSOCIATION CONTRACTED WITH AN OUTSIDE SERVICE TO PROVIDE EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR SERVICES.
FORM 990, PAGE 6, PART VI, LINE 6ASA MEMBERS ARE THOSE PERSONS WHO PAY DUES EACH YEAR FOR MEMBERSHIP.
FORM 990, PAGE 6, PART VI, LINE 7ACANDIDATES FOR THE OFFICE OF DIRECTOR, WHO SHALL BE MEMBERS OF THE ASSOCIATION, SHALL BE NOMINATED BY HTE MEMBERSHIP AT LARGE. PRIOR TO THE DATE OF THE ANNUAL BUSINESS MEETTING OF THE MEMBERS, THE NOMINATING COMMITTEE SHALL NOMINATE AT LEAST ONE (1) BUT NOT MORE THAN THREE (3) PERSONS FOR EACH VACANCY ON THE BOARD. SUCH CANDIDATES SHALL BE PRESENTED TO THE MEMBERS OF THE CORPORATION AT THE ANNUAL BUSINESS MEETING OF THE CORPORTATION AND THEIR NAMES SHALL APPEAR ON THE BALLOT AS "BOARD CANDIDATES". AT-LARGE CANDIDATES MAY BE NOMINATED BY SUBMITTING THEIR NAMES TO THE EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR OF THE CORPORATION NO LATER THAN SEVENTY-FIVE (75) DAYS FOLLOWING THE ANNUAL BUSINESS METTING AND THEIR NAMES SHALL APPEAR AS "AT-LARGE CANDIDATES". THE NOMINATION OF AN "AT-LARGE" CANDIDATE MUST BE SUPPORTED BY A PETITION CONTAINING THE SIGNATURES OF NO LESS THAN TWENTY-FIVE (25) MEMBERS AND A LETTER FROM THE CANDIDATE INDICATING A WILLINGNESS TO STAND FOR ELECTION. THE ELECTION OF THE DIRECTORS SHALL BE SUPERVISED AND ADMINISTERED BY THE ELECTIONS COMMITTEE WHICH SHALL PROVIDE BALLOTS TO ALL MEMBERS AT LEAST SIXTY (60) DAYS PRIOR TO THE ANNUAL BUSINESS MEETING. EACH MEMBER IN GOOD STANDING SHALL BE ENTITLED TO VOTE FOR ONE CANDIDATE FOR EACH VACANCY ON THE BOARD. BALLOTS MUST ARRIVE AT THE OFFICE OF THE EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR OF THE CORPORATION AT LEAST THIRTY (30) DAYS PRIOR TO THE ANNUAL BUSINESS METING. THE CANDIDATE RECEIVING THE HIGHTEST NUMBER OF VOTES FOR EACH VACANCY SHALL BE ELECTED. IN THE EVENT OF A TIE VOTE, THE ELECTIONS COMMITTEE SHALL HOLD A RUN-OFF ELECTION AT THE ANNUAL BUSINESS MEETING IN ACCORDANCE WITH THE PROCEDURES TO BE DETERMINED BY SAID COMMITTEE.
FORM 990, PAGE 6, PART VI, LINE 11BTHE FORM 990 IS PRESENTED IN AN ELECTRONIC FORMAT TO ALL BOARD MEMBERS FOR REVIEW AND IS DISUCSSED DURING THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE'S TELECONFERENCE.
FORM 990, PAGE 6, PART VI, LINE 12CTHE EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR ENSURES THAT THE CONFLICT OF INTEREST STATEMENTS ARE SIGNED EACH YEAR. THE STATEMENTS ARE MAINTAINED AT THE ASA OFFICES.
FORM 990, PAGE 6, PART VI, LINE 15AWE CONSULT WITH SEVERAL EXTERNAL STUDIES OF NON-PROFIT COMPENSATION AND BENCHMARK OUR SALARIES FOR THIS DATA.
FORM 990, PAGE 6, PART VI, LINE 15BWE ALSO CONSULT WITH THE AMERICAN COUNCIL OF LEARNED SOCIETIES FOR SALARY BENCHMARKS FOR SIMILAR ASSOCIATIONS
FORM 990, PAGE 6, PART VI, LINE 19GOVERNING DOCUMENTS ARE MADE AVAILABLE TO THE PUBLIC UPON REQUEST.

Comments

Anonymous: no account or email. Up to 2,000 characters, at most one link. Comments are checked automatically; some wait for review.