TENNESSEE PERFORMING ARTS CENTER MANAGEMENT CORPORATION: Form 990, tax year 2019

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
TENNESSEE PERFORMING ARTS CENTER MANAGEMENT CORPORATION (EIN 58-1320590)
Tax period
2019-07-01 to 2020-06-30
Filed
2020-12-11
IRS object ID
202033469349300428
Schema version
2019v5.1
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2020-12-11T14:37:15-06:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2020-06-30TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN620713250PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1KRAFTCPAS PLLCBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1555 GREAT CIRCLE ROADAddressLine1Txt
CityNASHVILLECityNm
State AbbreviationTNStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP37228ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2019-07-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN581320590EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1TENNESSEE PERFORMING ARTS CENTER (TPAC)BusinessNameLine1Txt
Business Name Line2MANAGEMENT CORPORATIONBusinessNameLine2Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlTENNBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone6157824000PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1505 DEADERICK STREET 3RD FLOORAddressLine1Txt
CityNASHVILLECityNm
State AbbreviationTNStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP37243ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonJENNIFER TURNERPersonNm
Person TitlePRESIDENT & CEOPersonTitleTxt
Phone6157824000PhoneNum
Signature2020-12-11SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (1)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonFRANCES E LEAHYPreparerPersonNm
PTINP00713593PTIN
Phone6152427351PhoneNum
Preparation2020-12-11PreparationDt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2019TaxYr
Build TS2022-09-23 18:48:47ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerJENNIFER TURNERPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1505 DEADERICK STREET 3RD FLOORAddressLine1Txt
CityNASHVILLECityNm
State AbbreviationTNStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP37243ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$28,553,770GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For Affiliates0GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501c3Yes (X)Organization501c3Ind
Website AddressWWW.TPAC.ORGWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1977FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateTNLegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionCREATE MEANINGFUL EXPERIENCES THROUGH PERFORMING ARTS; PROVIDE ARTS ENTERTAINMENT/EDUCATION TO TNActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body25VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent25VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee505TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers200TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$9,899TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$0NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$3,850,085PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$3,234,989CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$17,113,563PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$21,463,417CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$155PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income-$956CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$2,905,778PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$2,702,924CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$23,869,581PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$27,400,374CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$0PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$0CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$0PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$7,706,317PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$8,192,403CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$746,856CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$16,079,402PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$19,133,465CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$23,785,719PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$27,325,868CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$83,862PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$74,506CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$20,680,246TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$18,241,048TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$10,238,957TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$7,715,714TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$10,441,289NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$10,525,334NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
Info In Schedule O Part IIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartIIIInd
MissionTO PROVIDE FACILITIES, SERVICES, AND PROGRAMS OF THE HIGHEST QUALITY FOR THE GREATEST BENEFIT OF THE PEOPLE, INSTITUTIONS, AND COMMUNITIES OF THE STATE, AND TO TAKE A LEADERSHIP ROLE IN FOSTERING THE PERFORMING ARTS, ARTS EDUCATION, RESIDENT ART GROUPS AND OTHER ARTS ORGANIZATIONS.MissionDesc
Significant New Program Srvc0SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant Change0SignificantChangeInd
Expense$21,838,450ExpenseAmt
Revenue$24,074,181RevenueAmt
DescTPAC ENTERED INTO AN AGREEMENT WITH THE STATE OF TENNESSEE & THE TENNESSEE PERFORMING ARTS FOUNDATION IN 1978. THE INITIAL AGREEMENT ESTABLISHED TPAC PRINCIPALLY FOR THE PURPOSE OF PRESENTING QUALITY ARTS ENTERTAINMENT & EDUCATION TO TENNESSEE RESIDENTS THROUGH THE OPERATION OF THE TENNESSEE PERFORMING ARTS CENTER. TPAC HAS ADMINISTRATIVE CONTROL OVER THE OPERATIONS AND FUNCTIONS OF THE FOUR THEATERS LOCATED IN TWO BUILDINGS IN DOWNTOWN NASHVILLE. IN ADDITION TO ITS ROLE WITH THE STATE OF TENNESSEE, TPAC OPERATES SEVERAL PROGRAM INITIATIVES INCLUDING SIX ARTS EDUCATION PROGRAMS, PUBLIC OFFERINGS SUCH AS A BROADWAY SERIES, CONCERTS, COMEDY SHOWS, ETC. ADDITIONALLY, TPAC RENTS ITS FACILITIES TO THREE PERFORMING ARTS RESIDENT COMPANIES - THE NASHVILLE OPERA ASSOCIATION, NASHVILLE BALLET, AND THE NASHVILLE REPERTORY THEATRE, ALL THREE OF WHICH ARE NON-PROFIT ORGANIZATIONS. TPAC ALSO RENTS ITS FACILITIES TO OUTSIDE PROMOTERS FOR EVENTS IN WHICH THE PROMOTERS ARE AT RISK, AND TO THE STATE OF TENNESSEE (WITH RENT WAIVED) FOR STATE EVENTS. TO SUPPORT PUBLIC PROGRAMMING, TPAC OPERATES ITS OWN TICKETING SERVICES. TPAC SUPPORTS ITS MISSION OF PROVIDING ARTS, CULTURE AND EDUCATION FOR THE COMMUNITY BY FUNDRAISING FROM INDIVIDUALS, CORPORATIONS, GOVERNMENT AND FOUNDATIONS.Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty2 ProgSrvcAccomActy2Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Expense$307,537ExpenseAmt
Revenue$153,535RevenueAmt
DescDURING THE 2020 FISCAL YEAR, THE HOT (HUMANITIES OUTREACH IN TENNESSEE) SEASON FOR YOUNG PEOPLE PRESENTED 57 (69 DURING 2019) PROFESSIONAL PERFORMANCES OF THEATER, DANCE AND MUSIC FOR STUDENT AUDIENCES. SUBSIDIZED TICKETS, TRAVEL GRANTS AND CLASSROOM MATERIALS WERE PROVIDED TO ENSURE THAT EACH STUDENT COULD HAVE ACCESS TO DIVERSE CULTURAL AND EDUCATIONAL PROGRAMS. HOT ALSO PROVIDED IN-SCHOOL STUDENT WORKSHOPS, AUDIENCE DISCUSSIONS, AND WORKSHOPS FOR TEACHERS WHICH ADDRESSED THE EDUCATIONAL CONTENT OF EACH PERFORMANCE. DURING THE 2019-2020 ACADEMIC YEAR, 32,549 STUDENTS AND TEACHERS FROM 434 SCHOOL GROUPS ATTENDED HOT SEASON FOR YOUNG PEOPLE PERFORMANCES (34,458 STUDENTS AND TEACHERS FROM 285 SCHOOL GROUPS DURING THE 2018-2019 ACADEMIC YEAR).Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty3 ProgSrvcAccomActy3Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Expense$97,127ExpenseAmt
DescDISNEY MUSICALS IN SCHOOLS (DMIS) DEVELOPS A CULTURE OF MUSICAL THEATRE PERFORMANCE IN METRO NASHVILLE ELEMENTARY SCHOOLS. THE PROGRAM INTRODUCES THE COLLABORATIVE ART OF MUSICAL THEATRE; STRENGTHENS ARTS PROGRAMMING; DEVELOPS PARTNERSHIPS AMONG STUDENTS, FACULTY, STAFF AND THE GREATER NASHVILLE COMMUNITY. PARTICIPATING SCHOOLS RECEIVE (AT NO COST) A PERFORMANCE LICENSE TO ANY DISNEY KIDS MUSICAL, SHOWKIT MATERIALS, INCLUDING DIRECTORS GUIDES, STUDENT SCRIPTS, ACCOMPANIMENT AND VOCAL CDS AND A CHOREOGRAPHY DVD, CROSS-CURRICULAR ACTIVITIES; AND IN-SCHOOL SUPPORT FROM TEAMS OF TWO TPAC TEACHING ARTISTS FOR 15 WEEKS. IN 2019-20, 1,900 STUDENTS AND 208 EDUCATORS FROM 39 SCHOOLS IN BEDFORD, COFFEE, CUMBERLAND, AND DAVIDSON COUNTIES TOOK PART IN THE DMIS PROGRAM.Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty Other ProgSrvcAccomActyOtherGrp (4 entries)

ExpenseExpenseAmtRevenueRevenueAmtDescDesc
$66,987$97TPAC'S WOLF TRAP EARLY LEARNING THROUGH THE ARTS PROGRAM BRINGS ARTS-BASED CLASSROOM RESIDENCIES TO PRESCHOOLS AND HEAD START CENTERS. TEACHING ARTISTS AND TEACHERS USE ARTS INSTRUCTION TO TARGET EARLY CHILDHOOD DEVELOPMENTAL GOALS AND HELP CHILDREN LEARN. A TOTAL OF 1,676 CHILDREN AND TEACHERS PARTICIPATED IN WOLF TRAP IN 2019-2020 AT NO CHARGE TO THEM (1,766 CHILDREN AND TEACHERS IN 2018-2019).
$28,891$12,490INSIDEOUT IS FOR ADULTS WHO WANT TO GROW IN THEIR KNOWLEDGE AND ENJOYMENT OF THE PERFORMING ARTS. THE PROGRAM OFFERS A SERIES OF LUNCH SEMINARS, PERFORMANCE EXCERPTS, DISCUSSIONS, WORKSHOPS AND SNEAK PREVIEWS BEHIND THE SCENES. A TOTAL OF 1,716 INDIVIDUALS PARTICIPATED IN THIS PROGRAM DURING THE YEAR AND AN ADDITIONAL 1,135 INDIVIDUALS DOWNLOADED INSIDEOUT PODCAST EPISODES. (2,233 INDIVIDUALS DURING 2018-2019).
$71,268$4,620ARTSMART IS A CLASSROOM-BASED INSTRUCTION PROGRAM THAT ACCOMPANIES THE PERFORMANCES PRESENTED IN EACH YEAR'S HOT SEASON FOR YOUNG PEOPLE. THROUGH ARTSMART, STUDENTS ARRIVE AT THE THEATRE WITH AN EXPANDED CAPACITY TO ENGAGE WITH THE PERFORMANCE THEY ARE ABOUT TO SEE. SPECIALIZED TRAINING ENABLES EDUCATORS AND TEACHING ARTISTS TO GUIDE ARTS-BASED INSTRUCTION THAT CHALLENGES YOUNG PEOPLE TO IMAGINE, TO PRACTICE, AND TO REFLECT. A TOTAL OF 2,095 STUDENTS AND TEACHERS PARTICIPATED IN ARTSMART IN 2019-2020 (1702 STUDENTS AND TEACHERS IN 2018-2019). 13 SCHOOLS RECEIVED ARTSMART EDUCATION SERVICES AT NO CHARGE IN 2019-20 (15 SCHOOLS IN 2018-19).
$12,813$945SPOTLIGHT AWARDS ARE PRESENTED IN PARTNERSHIP WITH LIPSCOMB UNIVERSITY'S COLLEGE OF ENTERTAINMENT AND THE ARTS TO ENCOURAGE YOUNG THEATRE ARTISTS IN MIDDLE TENNESSEE. THROUGH THE PROGRAM, APPLYING HIGH SCHOOLS PARTICIPATE IN WORKSHOPS AND EVENT OPPORTUNITIES WITH THEATER PROFESSIONALS AND THEIR MUSICALS ARE EVALUATED BY A DIVERSE PANEL OF ADJUDICATORS. THE PROGRAM CULMINATES IN MAY WHERE EXEMPLARY WORK IS RECOGNIZED WITH THE SPOTLIGHT AWARDS CEREMONY AT TPAC, WHERE THE TOP CONTENDERS FOR "OUTSTANDING MUSICAL" PERFORM AND HONORS ARE PRESENTED IN A VARIETY OF CATEGORIES, INCLUDING "OUTSTANDING LEAD ACTOR AND "OUTSTANDING LEAD ACTRESS." NORMALLY, THE RECIPIENTS OF THESE TWO AWARDS THEN MOVE ON TO NATIONAL CONSIDERATION FOR THE JIMMY AWARDS IN NEW YORK. HOWEVER, DUE TO COVID-19 THE 2020 JIMMY AWARDS WAS CANCELLED. THE TOP THREE SPOTLIGHT AWARDS (OUTSTANDING MUSICAL AND OUTSTANDING LEAD ACTOR AND ACTRESS) WERE EACH AWARDED $1000 SCHOLARSHIPS. IN 2019-20, 32 HIGH SCHOOLS PARTICIPATED IN THE SPOTLIGHT PROGRAM. 15 SCHOOL PERFORMANCES WERE ADJUDICATED LIVE PRIOR TO SCHOOL CLOSINGS FOR COVID-19, AND 3 WERE ADJUDICATED BY VIDEO SUBMISSION. DUE TO COVID-19, THE AWARDS CEREMONY WAS MOVED TO A VIRTUAL EVENT ONLINE. MORE THAN 800 PEOPLE ATTENDED THE VIRTUAL CELEBRATION FOR THE LIVE STREAM, WITH AN ADDITIONAL 2200 VIEWS ONLINE AFTER THE LIVE EVENT (28 HIGH SCHOOLS PARTICIPATED AND 1,747 STUDENTS, TEACHERS AND THEIR GUESTS ATTENDED THE SPOTLIGHT AWARDS IN 2018-2019).
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Other Prog Srvc Expense$179,959TotalOtherProgSrvcExpenseAmt
Total Other Prog Srvc Revenue$18,152TotalOtherProgSrvcRevenueAmt
Total Program Service Expenses$22,423,073TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt
Described In Section501c3Yes (1)DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B RequiredYes (1)ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign Acty0PoliticalCampaignActyInd
Lobbying ActivitiesYes (1)LobbyingActivitiesInd
Subject To Proxy Tax0SubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised Fund0DonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation Easements0ConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of Art0CollectionsOfArtInd
Credit Counseling0CreditCounselingInd
Donor Rstr Or Quasi Endowments0DonorRstrOrQuasiEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (1)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other Sec0ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related Invst0ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other Assets0ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (1)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (1)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt0ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School Operating0SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign Office0ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign Activities0ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To Org0MoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To Individuals0MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional Fundraising0ProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising ActivitiesYes (1)FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming Activities0GamingActivitiesInd
Operate Hospital0OperateHospitalInd
Grants To Organizations0GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To Individuals0GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (1)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt Bonds0TaxExemptBondsInd
Engaged In Excess Benefit Trans0EngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd
PY Excess Benefit Trans0PYExcessBenefitTransInd
Loan Outstanding0LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related Person0GrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org Mem0BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam Mem0BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With35 Ctrl Ent0BusinessRlnWith35CtrlEntInd
Deductible Non Cash ContriYes (1)DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art Contribution0DeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate Operations0TerminateOperationsInd
Partial Liquidation0PartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded Entity0DisregardedEntityInd
Related EntityYes (1)RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl Ent0RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd Org0TrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd
Activities Conducted Prtshp0ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (1)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document188IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (1)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee505EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (1)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over LimitYes (1)UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Form990 T FiledYes (1)Form990TFiledInd
Foreign Financial Account0ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans0ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party Notification0TaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible Contributions0NondeductibleContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo ContributionsYes (1)QuidProQuoContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo Contri DisclYes (1)QuidProQuoContriDisclInd
Form8282 Property Disposed Of0Form8282PropertyDisposedOfInd
Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0RcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0PayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Indoor Tanning Services0IndoorTanningServicesInd
Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht Pymt0SubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd
Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst Inc0SubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members25GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member25IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business Rln0FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt Duties0DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org Documents0ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or Misuse0MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or Stockholders0MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersYes (1)ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To Approva0DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (1)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (1)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing Address0OfficerMailingAddressInd
Local Chapters0LocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn Body0Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (1)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (1)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (1)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (1)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (1)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (1)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (1)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint Venture0InvestmentInJointVentureInd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldTNStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
Other WebsiteYes (X)OtherWebsiteInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1JULIE GILLEN CFOBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Phone6157824033PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1505 DEADERICK STREET 3RD FLOORAddressLine1Txt
CityNASHVILLECityNm
State AbbreviationTNStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP37243ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (33 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtAverage Hours Per Week Rltd OrgAverageHoursPerWeekRltdOrgRtOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeIndIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorInd
KATHLEEN OBRIEN END 7119
PRESIDENT & CEO40.000.30Yes (X)$332,129$0$58,646
JENNIFER TURNER START 51319
PRESIDENT & CEO40.000.30Yes (X)$193,267$0$14,077
BRENT HYAMS END 43019
COO40.00Yes (X)$157,939$0$5,220
JULIE GILLEN
CFO40.001.00Yes (X)$147,759$0$6,993
ROBERTA CIUFFO
EVP FOR EDUCATION & COMMUNITY ENGAGEMENT40.00$130,416$0$11,646Yes (X)
CHRISTI DORTCH
EVP OF PROGRAMMING & SALES40.00$114,136$0$7,413Yes (X)
DENISE MINATOYA START 81919
COO40.00Yes (X)$54,422$0$979
JAMES TIMM START 123119
CHIEF STRATEGY OFFICER40.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
STEVEN G CATES
BOARD MEMBER0.50$0$0$0Yes (X)
RONALD L CORBIN
BOARD MEMBER0.500.30$0$0$0Yes (X)
JIM SCHMITZ
IMMEDIATE PAST CHAIR2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0Yes (X)
CLAIRE W TUCKER
BOARD MEMBER0.50$0$0$0Yes (X)
BARBARA T BOVENDER
BOARD MEMBER0.50$0$0$0Yes (X)
ANSEL L DAVIS
BOARD MEMBER0.50$0$0$0Yes (X)
EMANUEL J EADS
BOARD MEMBER0.50$0$0$0Yes (X)
ROD ESSIG
BOARD MEMBER0.50$0$0$0Yes (X)
MARTHA R INGRAM
BOARD MEMBER0.50$0$0$0Yes (X)
ANDREW TAVI
BOARD MEMBER0.50$0$0$0Yes (X)
DR PHILIP WENK
BOARD MEMBER0.50$0$0$0Yes (X)
EDDIE GEORGE
BOARD MEMBER0.50$0$0$0Yes (X)
J REGINALD HILL
TREASURER2.000.30Yes (X)$0$0$0Yes (X)
MARK J DAVISON
BOARD MEMBER0.50$0$0$0Yes (X)
SHEILA GIBSON
BOARD MEMBER0.50$0$0$0Yes (X)
TRACY KANE
BOARD CHAIR2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0Yes (X)
MELVIN MALONE
BOARD MEMBER0.50$0$0$0Yes (X)
ROBERT M HEBERT JR
BOARD MEMBER0.50$0$0$0Yes (X)
NATHAN POSS
BOARD MEMBER0.50$0$0$0Yes (X)
RHONDA TAYLOR
BOARD MEMBER0.50$0$0$0Yes (X)
GAIL WILLIAMS
BOARD MEMBER0.50$0$0$0Yes (X)
KEVIN HARTLEY
SECRETARY2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0Yes (X)
JEFFREY SMITH
BOARD MEMBER0.50$0$0$0Yes (X)
STEVE MASON
BOARD MEMBER0.50$0$0$0Yes (X)
ADAM C SANSIVERI
BOARD MEMBER0.50$0$0$0Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$1,130,068TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$104,974TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K6IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees Listed0FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (1)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other Srcs0CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
PHILIP TOUR LLC
1501 BROADWAY 24TH FLOORNEW YORKNY10036PRODUCER$7,006,700
NASHVILLE TALENT PAYMENT
5111 PRINCE PHILLIP COVEBRENTWOODTN37027THEATRICAL STAGE EMPLOYEE UNION$1,115,686
OUTBACK PRESENTS LLC
209 TENTH AVENUE SOUTHNASHVILLETN37203PROMOTER$1,062,869
AUTUMN SMILE US TOUR LLC
260 WEST 44TH STREET 6TH FLOORNEW YORKNY10036PROMOTER$913,349
NASHVILLE BALLET
3630 REDMON STREETNASHVILLETN37209TENANT$836,536
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K24CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Fundraising$181,589FundraisingAmt
Related Organizations$832,912RelatedOrganizationsAmt
Government Grants$455,808GovernmentGrantsAmt
All Other Contributions$1,764,680AllOtherContributionsAmt
Noncash Contributions$103,696NoncashContributionsAmt
Total Contributions$3,234,989TotalContributionsAmt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (3 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
TICKET SALES711110$17,378,737$17,378,737
TICKET SERVICE CHG/FEES711110$3,186,713$3,186,713
REIMBURSEMENTS711110$897,967$897,967
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$21,463,417TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$202TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$202ExclusionAmt

Gross Rents GrossRentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$329,706RealAmt
Personal$54,628PersonalAmt

Less Rental Expenses LessRentalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$0RealAmt
Personal$44,729PersonalAmt

Rental Income Or Loss RentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$329,706RealAmt
Personal$9,899PersonalAmt

Net Rental Income Or Loss NetRentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$339,605TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$329,706RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$9,899UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$689,582SecuritiesAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$690,740SecuritiesAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities-$1,158SecuritiesAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column-$1,158TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion-$1,158ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Fundraising Gross Income$10,341FundraisingGrossIncomeAmt
Contri Rpt Fundraising Event$181,589ContriRptFundraisingEventAmt
Fundraising Direct Expenses$99,767FundraisingDirectExpensesAmt

Net Incm From Fundraising Evt NetIncmFromFundraisingEvtGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column-$89,426TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion-$89,426ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Sales Of Inventory$1,435,933GrossSalesOfInventoryAmt
Cost Of Goods Sold$318,160CostOfGoodsSoldAmt

Net Income Or Loss NetIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$1,117,773TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$1,117,773RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt

Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp (3 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
SALES TAX REBATE711110$1,176,431$1,176,431
OTHER INCOME711110$156,937$156,937
BARTER INCOME711110$1,604$1,604
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total$1,334,972OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$27,400,374TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$24,245,868RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$9,899UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion-$90,382ExclusionAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$842,245TotalAmt
Management And General$816,762ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$25,483FundraisingAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$5,914,737TotalAmt
Program Services$4,683,557ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$834,371ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$396,809FundraisingAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$914,115TotalAmt
Program Services$630ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$913,485ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$521,306TotalAmt
Program Services$366,918ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$121,993ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$32,395FundraisingAmt

Fees For Services Management FeesForServicesManagementGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$342,982TotalAmt
Management And General$342,982ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,369TotalAmt
Management And General$3,369ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$42,613TotalAmt
Management And General$42,613ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Lobbying FeesForServicesLobbyingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$300TotalAmt
Management And General$300ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$333,762TotalAmt
Program Services$146,700ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$167,194ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$19,868FundraisingAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,225,298TotalAmt
Program Services$1,215,053ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$2,974ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$7,271FundraisingAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$794,101TotalAmt
Program Services$663,189ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$122,070ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$8,842FundraisingAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$72,001TotalAmt
Program Services$48,783ProgramServicesAmt
Fundraising$23,218FundraisingAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$97,470TotalAmt
Program Services$74,437ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$18,788ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$4,245FundraisingAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$10,496TotalAmt
Program Services$7,559ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$2,937ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$789,667TotalAmt
Program Services$396,573ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$372,484ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$20,610FundraisingAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$162,155TotalAmt
Program Services$21,380ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$140,775ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmtProgram ServicesProgramServicesAmtFundraisingFundraisingAmtManagement And GeneralManagementAndGeneralAmt
ARTIST FEES$11,474,229$11,474,229
CONTRACT LABOR$1,576,236$1,575,636$600
REPAIRS & MAINTENANCE$603,534$448,906$154,628
PRODUCTION COSTS$320,276$318,784$1,140$352

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,284,976TotalAmt
Program Services$980,739ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$97,862ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$206,375FundraisingAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$27,325,868TotalAmt
Program Services$22,423,073ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$4,155,939ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$746,856FundraisingAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$28,060BOYAmt
EOY$4,060EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$13,855,438BOYAmt
EOY$12,047,425EOYAmt

Pledges And Grants Receivable PledgesAndGrantsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$123,563BOYAmt
EOY$200,842EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$244,405BOYAmt
EOY$258,228EOYAmt

Inventories For Sale Or Use InventoriesForSaleOrUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$41,554BOYAmt
EOY$49,034EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$264,799BOYAmt
EOY$207,185EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$11,514,246LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$6,702,155LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$5,039,692BOYAmt
EOY$4,812,091EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$427,283BOYAmt
EOY$11,908EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$655,452BOYAmt
EOY$650,275EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$20,680,246BOYAmt
EOY$18,241,048EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,969,217BOYAmt
EOY$701,496EOYAmt

Deferred Revenue DeferredRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$7,943,902BOYAmt
EOY$5,123,469EOYAmt

Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$200,804BOYAmt
EOY$1,786,617EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$125,034BOYAmt
EOY$104,132EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$10,238,957BOYAmt
EOY$7,715,714EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Organization Follows FASB117Yes (X)OrganizationFollowsFASB117Ind

No Donor Restriction Net Assets NoDonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$10,056,426BOYAmt
EOY$10,400,234EOYAmt

Donor Restriction Net Assets DonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$384,863BOYAmt
EOY$125,100EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$10,441,289BOYAmt
EOY$10,525,334EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$20,680,246BOYAmt
EOY$18,241,048EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$74,506ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst$9,539NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets$0OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Info In Schedule O Part XIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIIInd
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or Review0AccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (1)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Separate Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit Committee0AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit Required0FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd

Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Publicly Supported Org509a2Yes (X)PubliclySupportedOrg509a2Ind

Gifts Grants Contris Rcvd509 GiftsGrantsContrisRcvd509Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$2,934,369CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$2,888,262CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$3,269,336CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$3,850,085CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$3,234,989CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$16,177,041TotalAmt

Gross Receipts Admissions GrossReceiptsAdmissionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$16,525,210CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$14,095,053CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$23,117,551CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$19,400,417CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$23,229,056CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$96,367,287TotalAmt

Total509 Total509Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$19,459,579CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$16,983,315CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$26,386,887CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$23,250,502CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$26,464,045CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$112,544,328TotalAmt

Amounts Rcvd Dsqlfy Person AmountsRcvdDsqlfyPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$92,830CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$96,570CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$96,702CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$113,720CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$141,322CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$541,144TotalAmt

Substantial Contributors Amt SubstantialContributorsAmtGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Subst And Dsqlfy Prsns Tot SubstAndDsqlfyPrsnsTotGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$92,830CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$96,570CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$96,702CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$113,720CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$141,322CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$541,144TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Public Support Total509$112,003,184PublicSupportTotal509Amt

Gross Investment Income509 GrossInvestmentIncome509Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$58CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$70CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$89CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$155CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$202CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$574TotalAmt

Post1975 UBTI Post1975UBTIGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$128,172CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$163,594CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$122,702CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$130,936CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$54,628CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$600,032TotalAmt

Investment Income And UBTI InvestmentIncomeAndUBTIGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$128,230CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$163,664CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$122,791CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$131,091CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$54,830CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$600,606TotalAmt

Other Income509 OtherIncome509Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$1,001,982CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$731,626CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$1,416,080CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$1,079,522CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$1,334,972CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$5,564,182TotalAmt

Total Support Calendar Year TotalSupportCalendarYearGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$20,589,791CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$17,878,605CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$27,925,758CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$24,461,115CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$27,853,847CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$118,709,116TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Public Support CY5090.94350PublicSupportCY509Pct
Public Support PY5090.94240PublicSupportPY509Pct
Investment Income CY0.00510InvestmentIncomeCYPct
Investment Income PY0.00610InvestmentIncomePYPct
Thirty Thr Pct Suprt Tests CY509Yes (X)ThirtyThrPctSuprtTestsCY509Ind

Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB

Contributor Information ContributorInformationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
ContributorRESTRICTEDContributorNum

Contributor Business Name ContributorBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1RESTRICTEDBusinessNameLine1

Contributor US Address ContributorUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1RESTRICTEDAddressLine1
Address Line2RESTRICTEDAddressLine2
CityRESTRICTEDCity
StateRESTRICTEDState
ZIP CodeRESTRICTEDZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total ContributionsRESTRICTEDTotalContributionsAmt

Schedule C IRS990ScheduleC

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Volunteers0VolunteersInd
Paid Staff Or Management0PaidStaffOrManagementInd
Media Advertisements0MediaAdvertisementsInd
Mailings Members0MailingsMembersInd
Publications Or Broadcast0PublicationsOrBroadcastInd
Grants Other Organizations0GrantsOtherOrganizationsInd
Direct Contact Legislators0DirectContactLegislatorsInd
Rallies DemonstrationsYes (1)RalliesDemonstrationsInd
Rallies Demonstrations$300RalliesDemonstrationsAmt
Other Activities0OtherActivitiesInd
Total Lobbying Expenditures$300TotalLobbyingExpendituresAmt
Not Described Section501c30NotDescribedSection501c3Ind

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePART II-B, LINE 1:FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationTPAC ENGAGED THE SERVICES OF JOHNSON/POSS TO HELP SUPPORT TPAC'S EFFORTS OF ENGAGING WITH THE APPROPRIATE STATE PERSONNEL TO MANAGE OUR TENANT RELATIONSHIP OF THE STATE-OWNED SPACES THAT TPAC MANAGES.ExplanationTxt

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

Leasehold Improvements LeaseholdImprovementsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$4,925,137OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$2,766,351DepreciationAmt
Book Value$2,158,786BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$6,538,493OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$3,935,804DepreciationAmt
Book Value$2,602,689BookValueAmt

Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$50,616OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$50,616BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$4,812,091TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescDEPOSITS AND OTHERDesc
Amt$104,132Amt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$104,132TotalLiabilityAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$28,380,492TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Donated Services And Use Fclts$507,834DonatedServicesAndUseFcltsAmt
Other Revenue$9,539OtherRevenueAmt
Revenue Not Reported$517,373RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$27,863,119RevenueSubtotalAmt
Other Revenues Not Included-$462,745OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt-$462,745RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$27,400,374TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$28,296,447TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Donated Services Use Fclts$507,834DonatedServicesUseFcltsAmt
Other Expenses Included$463,814OtherExpensesIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Reported$971,648ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$27,324,799ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Other Expenses Not Included$1,069OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$1,069ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$27,325,868TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (5 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
PART X, LINE 2:MANAGEMENT PERFORMS AN EVALUATION OF ALL INCOME TAX POSITIONS TAKEN OR EXPECTED TO BE TAKEN IN THE COURSE OF PREPARING THE ORGANIZATION'S INCOME TAX RETURNS TO DETERMINE WHETHER THE INCOME TAX POSITIONS MEET A "MORE LIKELY THAN NOT" STANDARD OF BEING SUSTAINED UNDER EXAMINATION BY THE APPLICABLE TAXING AUTHORITIES. MANAGEMENT HAS PERFORMED ITS EVALUATION OF ALL INCOME TAX POSITIONS TAKEN ON ALL OPEN INCOME TAX RETURNS AND HAS DETERMINED THAT THERE WERE NO POSITIONS TAKEN THAT DO NOT MEET THE "MORE LIKELY THAN NOT" STANDARD. ACCORDINGLY, THERE ARE NO PROVISION INCOME TAXES, PENALTIES OR INTEREST RECEIVABLE OR PAYABLE RELATING TO UNCERTAIN INCOME TAX POSITIONS IN THE ACCOMPANYING FINANCIAL STATEMENTS.
PART XI, LINE 2D - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:CHANGE IN FMV OF INVESTMENTS 9,539.
PART XI, LINE 4B - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:DIRECT SPECIAL EVENT EXPENSES -99,767. UNRELATED BUSINESS INCOME - RENTAL EXPENSES -44,729. CONCESSION SUPPLIES EXPENSE -318,160. SILENT AUCTION DONATED ITEMS 1,069. LOSS ON DISPOSAL OF EQUIPMENT -1,158.
PART XII, LINE 2D - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:DIRECT SPECIAL EVENT EXPENSES 99,767. UNRELATED BUSINESS INCOME - RENTAL EXPENSES 44,729. CONCESSION SUPPLIES EXPENSE 318,160. LOSS ON DISPOSAL OF EQUIPMENT 1,158.
PART XII, LINE 4B - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:SILENT AUCTION DONATED ITEMS 1,069.

Schedule G IRS990ScheduleG

Fundraising Event Information FundraisingEventInformationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Event1TPAC GALA FY 2019Event1Nm
Gross Receipts Event1$181,930GrossReceiptsEvent1Amt
Charitable Contri Event1$171,589CharitableContriEvent1Amt
Gross Revenue Event1$10,341GrossRevenueEvent1Amt
Food And Beverage Event1$50,203FoodAndBeverageEvent1Amt
Entertainment Event1$7,604EntertainmentEvent1Amt
Other Direct Expenses Event1$41,960OtherDirectExpensesEvent1Amt
Event2TPAC GALA FY 2020Event2Nm
Gross Receipts Event2$10,000GrossReceiptsEvent2Amt
Charitable Contri Event2$10,000CharitableContriEvent2Amt
Gross Receipts Total$191,930GrossReceiptsTotalAmt
Charitable Contributions Tot$181,589CharitableContributionsTotAmt
Gross Revenue Total Events$10,341GrossRevenueTotalEventsAmt
Food And Beverage Total Events$50,203FoodAndBeverageTotalEventsAmt
Entertainment Total Events$7,604EntertainmentTotalEventsAmt
Oth Direct Expnss Total Events$41,960OthDirectExpnssTotalEventsAmt
Direct Expense Summary Events$99,767DirectExpenseSummaryEventsAmt
Net Income Summary-$89,426NetIncomeSummaryAmt

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form990 Of Other OrganizationsYes (X)Form990OfOtherOrganizationsInd
Written Employment ContractYes (X)WrittenEmploymentContractInd
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance PaymentYes (1)SeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr PlanYes (1)SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp Arrngm0EquityBasedCompArrngmInd
Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng Org0CompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd On Rev Related Orgs0CompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng Org0CompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd Orgs0CompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd
Any Non Fixed PaymentsYes (1)AnyNonFixedPaymentsInd
Initial Contract Exception0InitialContractExceptionInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (4 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
KATHLEEN OBRIEN END 7119
PRESIDENT & CEO$166,442$0$5,500$0$160,187$0$50,648$0$7,998$0$390,775$0$0$0
JENNIFER TURNER START 51319
PRESIDENT & CEO$183,267$0$10,000$0$0$0$11,500$0$2,577$0$207,344$0$0$0
BRENT HYAMS END 43019
COO$66,043$0$0$0$91,896$0$0$0$5,220$0$163,159$0$0$0
JULIE GILLEN
CFO$147,759$0$0$0$0$0$0$0$6,993$0$154,752$0$0$0

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
PART I, LINES 4A-BBRENT HYAMS LEFT IN APRIL 2019 AND WAS PAID $91,896 IN SEVERANCE. TENNESSEE PERFORMING ARTS CENTER MANAGEMENT CORPORATION HAD AN EMPLOYMENT AGREEMENT WITH KATHLEEN W. O'BRIEN, FORMER CEO, TO PROVIDE A SUPPLEMENTAL EXECUTIVE RETIREMENT PLAN THAT INCLUDES DEFERRED COMPENSATION DESCRIBED IN CODE SECTIONS 457(B) AND 457(F). THIS NON-QUALIFIED PLAN IS COMMONLY KNOWN AS A RABBI TRUST TO WHICH TPAC CONTRIBUTED $50,648 DURING 2019. THIS TRUST WAS FULLY PAID OUT SUBSEQUENT TO CALENDAR YEAR 2019. IN 2019, TENNESSEE PERFORMING ARTS CENTER MANAGEMENT CORPORATION ENTERED INTO AN EMPLOYMENT AGREEMENT WITH JENNIFER TURNER, CEO. INCLUDED IN THIS AGREEMENT WAS A PAYMENT OF $11,500 TO BE HELD IN THE EXISTING DEFERRED COMPENSATION PLAN.
PART I, LINE 7THE BOARD APPROVED BONUSES FOR SEVERAL EMPLOYEES WHO PICKED UP ADDITIONAL RESPONSIBILITES AS A RESULT OF TURNOVER, WHICH TOTALED $24,000. IN ADDITION, THE PREVIOUS PRESIDENT/CEO KATHLEEN O'BRIEN RECEIVED HER FINAL BONUS OF $5,500 ON 10/18/19, AND THE CURRENT PRESIDENT/CEO RECEIVED A BONUS PER HER CONTRACT ON 5/31/19 FOR $10,000.

Schedule M IRS990ScheduleM

Food Inventory FoodInventoryGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Non Cash CheckboxYes (X)NonCashCheckboxInd
Contribution3ContributionCnt
Noncash Contributions Rpt F990$14,311NoncashContributionsRptF990Amt
Method Of Determining RevenuesCOST OF DONATED PROPERTYMethodOfDeterminingRevenuesTxt

Other Non Cash Contri Table OtherNonCashContriTableGrp (5 entries)

Non Cash CheckboxNonCashCheckboxIndDescDescContributionContributionCntNoncash Contributions Rpt F990NoncashContributionsRptF990AmtMethod Of Determining RevenuesMethodOfDeterminingRevenuesTxt
Yes (X)MISCELLANEOUS4$49,985COST OF DONATED PROP
Yes (X)DONATED LIQUOR3$36,901COST OF DONATED PROP
Yes (X)EQUIPMENT RENTAL1$1,158COST OF DONATED PROP
Yes (X)SILENT AUCTION ITEMS2$1,069COST OF DONATED PROP
Yes (X)EVENT TICKETS2$272COST OF DONATED PROP
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Any Property That Must Be Held0AnyPropertyThatMustBeHeldInd
Review Process Unusual NC Gifts0ReviewProcessUnusualNCGiftsInd
Third Parties Used0ThirdPartiesUsedInd

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePART I, COLUMN (B):FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationPART I COLUMN (B) IS REPORTED USING A COMBINATION OF THE NUMBER OF CONTRIBUTORS OR AN ESTIMATED NUMBER OF ITEMS RECEIVED.ExplanationTxt

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (6 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 7ATHE FOLLOWING ORGANIZATIONS AND INDIVIDUALS HAVE THE ABILITY TO APPOINT TPAC'S GOVERNING BODY: THE TENNESSEE PERFORMING ARTS FOUNDATION - 8 POSITIONS THE TENNESSEE GOVERNOR - 5 POSITIONS TENNESSEE'S EDUCATION COMMISSIONER - 1 POSITION THE TENNESSEE ARTS COMMISSION - 5 POSITIONS THE TENNESSEE PERFORMING ARTS CENTER MANAGEMENT CORPORATION - 6 POSITIONS
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 11BUPON COMPLETION OF FORM 990 BY THE EXTERNAL AUDITORS FOR TENNESSEE PERFORMING ARTS CENTER MANAGEMENT CORPORATION, IT WILL BE REVIEWED BY EITHER THE CFO OR DESIGNATED FINANCE DEPARTMENT STAFF MEMBERS AND THEN A REVIEW MEETING IS HELD THAT INCLUDES THE TPAC CEO, CFO, KEY FINANCE DEPARTMENT STAFF, EXTERNAL AUDIT TAX PREPARER, AUDIT COMMITTEE CHAIR AND/OR BOARD TREASURER. APPROPRIATE CHANGES MAY BE MADE AT ANY POINT IN THE REVIEW PROCESS PRIOR TO FILING FORM 990 WITH THE IRS.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 12CPRIOR TO MARCH, 2020, COPIES OF THE CONFLICT OF INTEREST AND CONFIDENTIALITY POLICIES FOR THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS WERE DISTRIBUTED TO NEW BOARD MEMBERS DURING AN IN-PERSON ORIENTATION AND INCLUDED IN THE PRINTED MATERIALS PROVIDED AT EACH IN-PERSON BOARD MEETING. EACH FISCAL YEAR, ALL BOARD OF DIRECTORS WERE ASKED TO SIGN THE CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY, AND THOSE PAPER FORMS WERE KEPT ON FILE. IN RESPONSE TO COVID-19, TPAC BEGAN HOLDING VIRTUAL BOARD MEETINGS IN MARCH OF 2020. FOR THE 2020-21 FISCAL YEAR, THE POLICIES WERE DISTRIBUTED ELECTRONICALLY VIA EMAIL. DIRECTORS WERE ASKED TO ELECTRONICALLY ACCEPT THE POLICIES AND TO DISCLOSE ANY CONFLICTS OF INTEREST VIA A DIGITAL SURVEY. DIGITAL COPIES OF THESE SURVEY RESPONSES ARE KEPT ON FILE. TPAC WILL CONTINUE TO DISTRIBUTE THESE POLICIES ELECTRONICALLY AND COLLECT DIGITAL ACKNOWLEDGEMENTS AT THE START OF EACH FISCAL YEAR, MOVING FORWARD.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 15TPAC'S BOARD OF DIRECTORS HIRES THE ORGANIZATION'S CEO AND NEGOTIATES SUBSEQUENT EMPLOYMENT CONTRACTS. THE BOARD CHAIRMAN'S PROCESS FOR DETERMINING COMPENSATION FOR THE CEO IS BASED ON MULTIPLE CRITERIA: HISTORICAL SALARY RANGE FOR THE POSITION, SALARY SURVEY INFORMATION COMPILED ANNUALLY BY A RESEARCH FIRM FOR OUR SPECIFIC INDUSTRY (PACC - PEFORMING ARTS CENTER CONSORTIUM) AND AVAILABLE BUDGETARY RESTRAINTS. OTHER OFFICER COMPENSATION IS HANDLED SIMILARLY BY THE CEO.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION C, LINE 19TPAC'S GOVERNING DOCUMENTS ARE AVAILABLE FOR PUBLIC INSPECTION. PURSUANT TO TENN CODE ANN SECTION 8-44-107, THE ACTIVITIES OF THE BOARD ARE OPEN TO THE PUBLIC AS IF IT WERE A GOVERNMENTAL AGENCY. SEE BELOW: 8-44-107. BOARD OF DIRECTORS OF PERFORMING ARTS CENTER MANAGEMENT CORPORATION - THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS OF THE TENNESSEE PERFORMING ARTS CENTER MANAGEMENT CORPORATION SHALL BE SUBJECT TO, AND SHALL IN ALL RESPECTS COMPLY WITH, ALL OF THE PROVISIONS MADE APPLICABLE TO GOVERNING BODIES BY THIS CHAPTER [OPEN MEETINGS LAW]. TPAC'S AUDITED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS ARE AVAILABLE AT WWW.GIVINGMATTERS.ORG. TPAC'S CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY IS NOT MADE AVAILABLE TO THE PUBLIC.
FORM 990, PART XII, LINE 2CTHE OVERSIGHT OF THE AUDIT OF THE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS AND THE SELECTION PROCESS OF AN INDEPENDENT ACCOUNTANT THAT AUDITED THE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS HAS NOT CHANGED FROM THE PRIOR YEAR.

Schedule R IRS990ScheduleR

Id Related Tax Exempt Org IdRelatedTaxExemptOrgGrp (2 entries)

Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityUSAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPUSAddress/ZIPCdEINEINPrimary ActivitiesPrimaryActivitiesTxtLegal Domicile StateLegalDomicileStateCdExempt Code SectionExemptCodeSectionTxtPublic Charity StatusPublicCharityStatusTxtDirect Controlling NADirectControllingNACdControlled OrganizationControlledOrganizationInd
TENNESSEE PERFORMING ARTS FOUNDATION
505 DEADERICK STREETNASHVILLETN37243237272205ENDOWMENT MGMT TO PROVIDE INCOME TO HELP DEFRAY THE OPERATING COSTS OF TPACTN501(C)(3)509(A)(3)N/A0
NASHVILLE INSTITUTE FOR THE ARTS
505 DEADERICK STREETNASHVILLETN37243581387884TN501(C)(3)509(A)(3)N/A0
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Receipt Of Int Annts Rnts Rylts0ReceiptOfIntAnntsRntsRyltsInd
Gift Grnt Or Cap Contri To Oth Org0GiftGrntOrCapContriToOthOrgInd
Gift Grnt Cap Contri From Oth OrgYes (1)GiftGrntCapContriFromOthOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees To Other Org0LoansOrGuaranteesToOtherOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees From Oth Org0LoansOrGuaranteesFromOthOrgInd
Div Related Organization0DivRelatedOrganizationInd
Asset Sale To Other Org0AssetSaleToOtherOrgInd
Asset Purchase From Other Org0AssetPurchaseFromOtherOrgInd
Asset Exchange0AssetExchangeInd
Rental Of Facilities To Oth Org0RentalOfFacilitiesToOthOrgInd
Rental Of Fclts From Oth Org0RentalOfFcltsFromOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services For Oth Org0PerformOfServicesForOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services By Other Org0PerformOfServicesByOtherOrgInd
Sharing Of Facilities0SharingOfFacilitiesInd
Paid Employees SharingYes (1)PaidEmployeesSharingInd
Reimbursement Paid To Other Org0ReimbursementPaidToOtherOrgInd
Reimbursement Paid By Other Org0ReimbursementPaidByOtherOrgInd
Transfer To Other Org0TransferToOtherOrgInd
Transfer From Other Org0TransferFromOtherOrgInd

Transactions Related Org TransactionsRelatedOrgGrp (2 entries)

Transaction TypeTransactionTypeTxtInvolvedInvolvedAmtMethod Of Amount DeterminationMethodOfAmountDeterminationTxt
TENNESSEE PERFORMING ARTS FOUNDATION
C$832,912CASH
TENNESSEE PERFORMING ARTS FOUNDATION
O

Comments

Anonymous: no account or email. Up to 2,000 characters, at most one link. Comments are checked automatically; some wait for review.