ROYAL CREDIT UNION: Form 990, tax year 2020

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
ROYAL CREDIT UNION (EIN 39-6072970)
Tax period
2020-01-01 to 2020-12-31
Filed
2021-11-12
IRS object ID
202143169349310784
Schema version
2020v4.1
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2021-11-12T15:45:01-06:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2020-12-31TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN410746749PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1CLIFTONLARSONALLEN LLPBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1109 N MAIN STREET SUITE 200AddressLine1Txt
CityAUSTINCityNm
State AbbreviationMNStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP55912ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2020-01-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN396072970EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1ROYAL CREDIT UNIONBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlROYABusinessNameControlTxt
Phone7158338111PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1200 RIVERFRONT TERRACEAddressLine1Txt
CityEAU CLAIRECityNm
State AbbreviationWIStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP54703ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonJON HEHLIPersonNm
Person TitleCHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICERPersonTitleTxt
Phone7158338111PhoneNum
Signature2021-11-11SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (1)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Signing Officer SigningOfficerGrp

Person Full Name PersonFullName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Person FirstJONPersonFirstNm
Person LastHEHLIPersonLastNm
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
SSN999009999SSN

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonTANYA MEDGAARDENPreparerPersonNm
PTINP01717240PTIN
Phone5074347000PhoneNum
Preparation2021-11-09PreparationDt

Additional Filer Information AdditionalFilerInformation

Trusted Customer TrustedCustomerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Trusted Customer2TrustedCustomerCd
Authentication Assurance LevelAAL1AuthenticationAssuranceLevelCd
Identity Assurance LevelIAL1IdentityAssuranceLevelCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2020TaxYr
Build TS2022-09-23 18:48:47ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerJON HEHLIPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1200 RIVERFRONT TERRACEAddressLine1Txt
CityEAU CLAIRECityNm
State AbbreviationWIStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP54703ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$170,121,443GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For Affiliates0GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501cYes (X)Organization501cInd
Website AddressWWW.RCU.ORGWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization OtherYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationOtherInd
Other Organization DscCREDIT UNIONOtherOrganizationDsc
Formation1964FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateWILegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionTO CREATE A POSITIVE IMPACT IN THE LIVES WE TOUCH.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body7VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent7VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee806TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers680TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$241,963TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$0NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$0PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$0CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$146,906,492PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$167,112,473CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$6,835,971PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$4,114,175CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$0PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue-$1,126,172CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$153,742,463PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$170,100,476CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$1,453,955PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$1,719,770CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$26,381,727PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$25,351,195CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$49,202,912PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$55,457,880CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$0CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$50,717,481PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$59,065,751CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$127,756,075PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$141,594,596CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$25,986,388PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$28,505,880CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$2,837,926,175TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$3,465,269,366TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$2,551,352,414TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$3,150,189,725TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$286,573,761NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$315,079,641NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
MissionTO CREATE A POSITIVE IMPACT IN THE LIVES WE TOUCH.MissionDesc
Significant New Program Srvc0SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant Change0SignificantChangeInd
DescWE FUNDED 47,621 LOANS DURING 2020. AS OF 12/31/20, WE HAD 26,183 MORTGAGES/HOME EQUITY, 129,093 CONSUMER LOANS AND 4,270 MEMBER BUSINESS LOANS. WE ALSO HAD 42,545 CREDIT CARD ACCOUNTS WITH OUR MEMBERS AT 12/31/20.Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty2 ProgSrvcAccomActy2Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescWE HAVE DEPOSIT, TRANSACTION, AND INVESTMENT ACCOUNTS WITH 235,458 MEMBERS AT 12/31/20. DURING 2020, WE OPENED 50,941 NEW DEPOSIT, TRANSACTION AND INVESTMENT ACCOUNTS.Desc
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Described In Section501c30DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B Required0ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign Acty0PoliticalCampaignActyInd
Subject To Proxy Tax0SubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised Fund0DonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation Easements0ConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of Art0CollectionsOfArtInd
Credit Counseling0CreditCounselingInd
Donor Rstr Or Quasi Endowments0DonorRstrOrQuasiEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (1)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other Sec0ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related Invst0ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other Assets0ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (1)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (1)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt0ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School Operating0SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign Office0ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign Activities0ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To Org0MoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To Individuals0MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional Fundraising0ProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising Activities0FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming Activities0GamingActivitiesInd
Operate Hospital0OperateHospitalInd
Grants To OrganizationsYes (1)GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To Individuals0GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (1)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt Bonds0TaxExemptBondsInd
Loan Outstanding0LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related Person0GrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org MemYes (1)BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam Mem0BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With35 Ctrl Ent0BusinessRlnWith35CtrlEntInd
Deductible Non Cash Contri0DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art Contribution0DeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate Operations0TerminateOperationsInd
Partial Liquidation0PartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded EntityYes (1)DisregardedEntityInd
Related EntityYes (1)RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl EntYes (1)RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Transaction With Control Ent0TransactionWithControlEntInd
Activities Conducted Prtshp0ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (1)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document56327IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Employee806EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (1)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over LimitYes (1)UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Form990 T FiledYes (1)Form990TFiledInd
Foreign Financial Account0ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans0ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party Notification0TaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible Contributions0NondeductibleContributionsInd
Indoor Tanning Services0IndoorTanningServicesInd
Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht Pymt0SubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd
Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst Inc0SubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members7GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member7IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business Rln0FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt Duties0DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org Documents0ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or Misuse0MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or StockholdersYes (1)MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersYes (1)ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To ApprovaYes (1)DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (1)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (1)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing Address0OfficerMailingAddressInd
Local ChaptersYes (1)LocalChaptersInd
Policies Reference ChaptersYes (1)PoliciesReferenceChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (1)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (1)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (1)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (1)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (1)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (1)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (1)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (1)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint Venture0InvestmentInJointVentureInd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldWIStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldMNStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonJON HEHLIPersonNm
Phone7158338111PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1PO BOX 970AddressLine1Txt
CityEAU CLAIRECityNm
State AbbreviationWIStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP54702ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (20 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd
DOUG OLSON
CHAIRPERSON10.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$33,076$0$0
THOMAS HUFFCUTT
TREASURER10.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$23,968$0$0
JOHN SACKETT
ASSISTANT VICE CHAIRPERSON10.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$18,613$0$0
JENNIFER MCDONOUGH
SECRETARY10.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$17,748$0$0
WILLIAM BLACKBURN
ASSISTANT SECRETARY10.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$16,435$0$0
STUART SCHAEFER
VICE CHAIRPERSON10.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$16,255$0$0
NANCY BELTZ
ASSISTANT TREASURER10.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$14,255$0$0
BRANDON RIECHERS
CEO/PRESIDENT40.00Yes (X)$761,291$0$928,646
JON HEHLI
EVP-CFO40.00Yes (X)$502,661$0$70,025
JAN JOHNSON
EVP-ORGANIZATIONAL AGILITY40.00Yes (X)$413,458$0$46,852
MICHAEL DILL
EVP-CHIEF LENDING OFFICER40.00Yes (X)$352,945$0$59,441
PAMELA HALLER
EVP-CHIEF DIGITAL EXPERIENCE & MARKETING OFFICER40.00Yes (X)$293,465$0$39,475
ADAM KINNARD
EVP-CHIEF TECHNOLOGY OFFIC40.00Yes (X)$269,254$0$48,275
AMY FORCIER-PABST
EVP-MEMBER EXPERIENCE40.00Yes (X)$249,862$0$63,913
GEOFFREY BULLOCK
EVP - MEMBER EXPERIENCE40.00Yes (X)$83,233$0$5,453
JARED JOHNSON
MORTGAGE LOAN OFFICER40.00$598,608$0$40,337Yes (X)
JEFFREY SPROUL
MORTGAGE LOAN OFFICER40.00$539,918$0$33,818Yes (X)
BARBARA OAS-HOLMES
MORTGAGE LOAN OFFICER40.00$454,608$0$66,478Yes (X)
JACOB SPIES
REGIONAL MORTGAGE SALES MA40.00$432,177$0$79,127Yes (X)
MARK ERICKSON
MORTGAGE LOAN OFFICER40.00$414,574$0$45,082Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$5,506,404TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$1,526,922TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K96IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees Listed0FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (1)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other Srcs0CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
RADIAN VALUATION SERVICES LLC
1000 GSK DR SUITE 210CORAOPOLISPA15108APPRAISALS FOR MORTGAGE LOANS$1,808,690
HOEFT BUILDERS INC
1450 RIVERS EDGE TRAIL SUITE AALTOONAWI54720CONTRACTOR$598,283
THILLENS INC
4242 N ELSTON AVENUECHICAGOIL606181810ATM CASH PROVIDER$272,071
SERVICE SOLUTIONS INC
161 BUSINESS PARK CIRCLESTOUGHTONWI53589ATM MAINTENANCE (TECHNICIANS)$245,831
INFO-PRO LENDERS SERVICES INC
1325 SOUTH MAIN STREETFOND DU LACWI54935TAX MONITORING SERVICE$226,765
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K19CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (3 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmtUnrelated Business RevenueUnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
LOAN INTEREST522100$114,046,551$114,046,551
OTHER OPERATING INCOME522100$43,140,794$43,140,794
SERVICE CHARGES & FEE INCOME522100$9,925,128$9,683,165$241,963
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$167,112,473TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$4,059,133TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$4,059,133ExclusionAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$76,009SecuritiesAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$0SecuritiesAmt
Other$20,967OtherAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$76,009SecuritiesAmt
Other-$20,967OtherAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$55,042TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$55,042ExclusionAmt

Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescOTHER NON-OP INC/EXPDesc
Total Revenue Column-$1,126,172TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income-$1,126,172RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total-$1,126,172OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$170,100,476TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$165,744,338RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$241,963UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$4,114,175ExclusionAmt

Grants To Domestic Orgs GrantsToDomesticOrgsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,719,770TotalAmt

Benefits To Members BenefitsToMembersGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$25,351,195TotalAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$4,328,599TotalAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$40,488,537TotalAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,842,187TotalAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$5,322,868TotalAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,475,689TotalAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$661,476TotalAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,914,443TotalAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$13,307,665TotalAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,253,315TotalAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$164,609TotalAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$123,667TotalAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,218,468TotalAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmt
PROVISION FOR LOAN LOSS$22,085,267
LOAN SERVICING$8,479,960
MISCELLANEOUS OPERATING$3,658,226
OPERATING FEES$198,655

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$141,594,596TotalAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$165,368,614BOYAmt
EOY$609,736,355EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,378,000BOYAmt
EOY$4,332,000EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$31,194,453BOYAmt
EOY$34,624,265EOYAmt

Oth Notes Loans Receivable Net OthNotesLoansReceivableNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,488,243,632BOYAmt
EOY$2,654,267,584EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,671,611BOYAmt
EOY$3,274,159EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$79,773,820LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$41,859,116LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$38,668,760BOYAmt
EOY$37,914,704EOYAmt

Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$13,009,531BOYAmt
EOY$7,974,686EOYAmt

Investments Program Related InvestmentsProgramRelatedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$31,039,419BOYAmt
EOY$41,134,727EOYAmt

Intangible Assets IntangibleAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$11,312,570BOYAmt
EOY$11,056,773EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$53,039,585BOYAmt
EOY$60,954,113EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,837,926,175BOYAmt
EOY$3,465,269,366EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$50,839,122BOYAmt
EOY$55,514,462EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,500,513,292BOYAmt
EOY$3,094,675,263EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,551,352,414BOYAmt
EOY$3,150,189,725EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Org Does Not Follow FASB117Yes (X)OrgDoesNotFollowFASB117Ind

Cap Stk Tr Prin Current Funds CapStkTrPrinCurrentFundsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Pd In Cap Srpls Land Bldg Eqp Fund PdInCapSrplsLandBldgEqpFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Rtn Earn Endowment Incm Oth Fnds RtnEarnEndowmentIncmOthFndsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$286,573,761BOYAmt
EOY$315,079,641EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$286,573,761BOYAmt
EOY$315,079,641EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,837,926,175BOYAmt
EOY$3,465,269,366EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$28,505,880ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets$0OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Info In Schedule O Part XIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIIInd
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or Review0AccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (1)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Separate Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (1)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit RequiredYes (1)FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd
Federal Grant Audit PerformedYes (1)FederalGrantAuditPerformedInd

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$7,991,721OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$7,991,721BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$43,079,826OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$18,272,272DepreciationAmt
Book Value$24,807,554BookValueAmt

Leasehold Improvements LeaseholdImprovementsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$1,048,979OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$885,465DepreciationAmt
Book Value$163,514BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$27,653,294OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$22,701,379DepreciationAmt
Book Value$4,951,915BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$37,914,704TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescMEMBERS' SHARESDesc
Amt$3,094,675,263Amt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$3,094,675,263TotalLiabilityAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$170,131,348TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Revenue Not Reported$0RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$170,131,348RevenueSubtotalAmt
Other Revenues Not Included-$30,872OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt-$30,872RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$170,100,476TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$141,625,468TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Expenses Not Reported$0ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$141,625,468ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Other Expenses Not Included-$30,872OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt-$30,872ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$141,594,596TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (4 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
PART X, LINE 2:THE CREDIT UNION IS EXEMPT, BY STATUTE, FROM FEDERAL AND STATE INCOME TAXES. MANAGEMENT EVALUATED THE CREDIT UNION'S TAX POSITIONS AND CONCLUDED THE CREDIT UNION HAD TAKEN NO UNCERTAIN TAX POSITIONS THAT REQUIRE ADJUSTMENT TO FINANCIAL STATEMENTS TO COMPLY WITH THE PROVISIONS OF THIS GUIDANCE. THE CREDIT UNION FILES FORM 990 IN THE US FEDERAL JURISTICTION.
PART XI, LINE 4B - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:EXPENSES INCLUDED IN REVENUE -30,872.
PART XII, LINE 2D - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:ROUNDING
PART XII, LINE 4B - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:EXPENSES INCLUDED IN REVENUE -30,872.

Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant Records MaintainedYes (1)GrantRecordsMaintainedInd

Recipient Table RecipientTable (15 entries)

Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityUSAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPUSAddress/ZIPCdRecipient EINRecipientEINIRC SectionIRCSectionDescCash GrantCashGrantAmtPurpose Of GrantPurposeOfGrantTxt
EAU CLAIRE COMMUNITY FOUNDATION
306 S BARSTOW ST 104EAU CLAIREWI54701391891064501(C)(3)$15,000EMERGENCY RESPONSE FUND & CARSON PARK BASEBALL STADIUM RENOVATION
NATIONAL CREDIT UNION FOUNDATION
5710 MINERAL POINT ROADMADISONWI53705391383650501(C)(3)$10,000ANNUAL DONATION-SILVER SUPPORTER
SUMMIT-UNIVERSITY PLANNING COUNCIL
627 SELBY AVEST PAULMN55104411278449501(C)(3)$10,000FROGTOWN-RONDO BUSINESS RECOVERY FUND
SECUREFUTURES
710 N PLANKINTON AVE 1400MILWAUKEEWI53203205203533501(C)(3)$8,000FINANCIAL EDUCATION PARTNERSHIP-COVID
UNITED WAY OF THE GREATER CHIPPEWA VALLEY
3603 N HASTINGS WAY 200EAU CLAIREWI54703391077901501(C)(3)$8,000ANNUAL CORPORATE GIFT
ST CROIX VALLEY FOUNDATION
516 SECOND STREET SUITE 214HUDSONWI54016411817315501(C)(3)$7,500COVID-19 RESPONSE
UW-EAU CLAIRE FOUNDATION
105 GARFIELD AVEEAU CLAIREWI54701390972350501(C)(3)$15,000LOCAL BLUGOLD SCHOLARSHIP & CARSON PARK TURF
WORKFORCE RESOURCE INC
401 TECHNOLOGY DRIVE E SUITE 100MENOMONIEWI54751391455735501(C)(3)$6,000FINANCIAL EDUCATION INCENTIVE PROGRAM-COVID
CHIPPEWA VALLEY FREE CLINIC
030 OAK RIDGE DREAU CLAIREWI54701391840231501(C)(3)$5,000BUSINESS SPONSORSHIP-MEDICATIONS
VISIT EAU CLAIRE FOUNDATION (FISCAL SPONSOR)
128 GRAHAM AVE STE 234EAU CLAIREWI54701831735217501(C)(3)$5,000TOGETHER CHIPPEWA VALLEY-COVID
SOJOURNER HOUSE-CATHOLIC CHARITIES
3710 EAST AVE SOUTHLA CROSSEWI54601391896823501(C)(3)$5,000HOMELESS SHELTER NEEDS-COVID
WESTERN DAIRYLAND EOC
418 WISCONSIN STEAU CLAIREWI54703391076993501(C)(3)$5,000RENTAL ASSISTANCE, WOMEN'S BUSINESS-COVID
FLYING EAGLES SKI CLUB
805 W MENOMONIE STEAU CLAIREWI54703743187968501(C)(3)$5,000CONCESSION STAND
RIVER FALLS COMMUNITY FOOD PANTRY
705 ST CROIX STRIVER FALLSWI54022204740792501(C)(3)$5,000CAPITAL CAMPAIGN
GOODWILL OF THE CHIPPEWA VALLEY
2759 S PRAIRIE VIEW RDCHIPPEWA FALLSWI54729530196517501(C)(3)$5,000MIRACLE LEAGUE

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePART I, LINE 2:FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationTHE CEO/PRESIDENT AND TWO BOARD MEMBERS OF THE CREDIT UNION SERVE ON THE BOARD OF THE FOUNDATION AND MONITOR THE USE OF GRANT FUNDS.ExplanationTxt

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Independent ConsultantYes (X)IndependentConsultantInd
Written Employment ContractYes (X)WrittenEmploymentContractInd
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance Payment0SeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr PlanYes (1)SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp Arrngm0EquityBasedCompArrngmInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (12 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
BRANDON RIECHERS
CEO/PRESIDENT$584,173$0$165,692$0$11,426$0$894,126$0$34,520$0$1,689,937$0$0$0
JARED JOHNSON
MORTGAGE LOAN OFFICER$509,055$0$88,798$0$755$0$29,788$0$10,549$0$638,945$0$0$0
JEFFREY SPROUL
MORTGAGE LOAN OFFICER$463,532$0$75,696$0$690$0$32,723$0$1,095$0$573,736$0$0$0
JON HEHLI
EVP-CFO$348,836$0$139,107$0$14,718$0$40,133$0$29,892$0$572,686$0$0$0
BARBARA OAS-HOLMES
MORTGAGE LOAN OFFICER$384,216$0$65,820$0$4,572$0$36,523$0$29,955$0$521,086$0$0$0
JACOB SPIES
REGIONAL MORTGAGE SALES MA$310,514$0$121,363$0$300$0$32,063$0$47,064$0$511,304$0$0$0
JAN JOHNSON
EVP-ORGANIZATIONAL AGILITY$301,463$0$110,015$0$1,980$0$35,025$0$11,827$0$460,310$0$0$0
MARK ERICKSON
MORTGAGE LOAN OFFICER$366,723$0$46,259$0$1,592$0$31,862$0$13,220$0$459,656$0$0$0
MICHAEL DILL
EVP-CHIEF LENDING OFFICER$250,320$0$100,397$0$2,228$0$30,398$0$29,043$0$412,386$0$0$0
PAMELA HALLER
EVP-CHIEF DIGITAL EXPERIENCE & MARKE$216,122$0$76,714$0$629$0$31,315$0$8,160$0$332,940$0$0$0
ADAM KINNARD
EVP-CHIEF TECHNOLOGY OFFIC$208,103$0$60,701$0$450$0$28,810$0$19,465$0$317,529$0$0$0
AMY FORCIER-PABST
EVP-MEMBER EXPERIENCE$190,860$0$57,896$0$1,106$0$32,428$0$31,485$0$313,775$0$0$0

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePART I, LINE 4BFormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationBRANDON RIECHERS - PARTICIPATED IN 457-F PLAN, NO DISTRIBUTIONS, DEFERRED $861,721ExplanationTxt

Schedule L IRS990ScheduleL

Bus Tr Involve Interested Prsn BusTrInvolveInterestedPrsnGrp

Name Of Interested NameOfInterested

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonWILLIAM BLACKBURNPersonNm
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Relationship DescriptionBOARD OF DIRECTOR & CO-OWNER OF L&M MAIL SERVICERelationshipDescriptionTxt
Transaction$246,076TransactionAmt
Transaction2020 ANNUAL MAIL PROCESSING SERVICESTransactionDesc
Sharing Of Revenues0SharingOfRevenuesInd

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (8 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 6THE ORGANIZATION CONSISTS OF MEMBERS. TO BE A MEMBER, ONE MUST HAVE A SHARE/SAVINGS ACCOUNT. EACH MEMBER HAS ONE VOTE TO ELECT THE GOVERNING BODY (BOARD OF DIRECTORS).
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 7ATHE BOARD OF DIRECTORS IS ELECTED BY THE MEMBERSHIP UTILIZING THEIR ONE VOTE PER MEMBER.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 7BEACH MEMBER HAS ONE VOTE TO UTILIZE IN RATIFYING SIGNIFICANT DECISIONS BEYOND THE AUTHORITY OF THE BOARD AS OUTLINED IN THE ORGANIZATION'S BYLAWS. ANY DECISION TO DISSOLVE OR MERGE THE ORGANIZATION REQUIRES APPROVAL OF MEMBERSHIP, UNLESS MANDATED BY REGULATORY AGENCY (I.E., NCUA, WISCONSIN OFFICE OF CREDIT UNIONS).
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 11BTHE RETURN PREPARER EMAILS A COPY OF THE FINAL FORM 990 TO THE VP-FINANCE FOR REVIEW. THE CFO PERFORMS A FINAL REVIEW PRIOR TO SIGNING AND SUBMISSION TO THE IRS. THE CFO REPORTS THE COMPLETION OF THE FORM 990 BY THE REQUIRED DEADLINES TO MANAGEMENT AND THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 12CTHE CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY IS INCLUDED IN THE CODE OF ETHICS POLICY. THE POLICY, ALONG WITH OUR CORE SYSTEM, PREVENTS TEAM MEMBERS FROM TRANSACTING BUSINESS ON THEIR ACCOUNTS. THE CODE OF ETHICS ALSO PROHIBITS TEAM MEMBERS FROM TRANSACTING ON ACCOUNTS THEY ARE ASSOCIATED WITH, REGARDLESS OF OWNERSHIP. QUARTERLY, ALL TEAM MEMBERS RECEIVE NOTIFICATION THEY SHOULD NOT TRANSACT ON ANY ACCOUNTS THAT MAY POSE A POTENTIAL CONFLICT OF INTEREST. ALSO QUARTERLY, WE NOTIFY TEAM MEMBERS THEY MUST REPORT VIOLATIONS OF CODE OF ETHICS, INCLUDING CONFLICT OF INTEREST.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 15ROYAL CREDIT UNION UTILIZED VARIOUS SALARY SURVEYS AND AN OUTSIDE CONSULTANT TO DETERMINE COMPENSATION FOR CEO. ROYAL CREDIT UNION UTILIZES MARKET SALARY SURVEYS AND AN OUTSIDE COMPENSATION CONSULTANT TO ASSIST THEM IN DETERMINING MARKET APPROPRIATE SALARY GRADES AND THE PLACEMENT OF POSITIONS INTO THEM FOR THE EXECUTIVE TEAM. THE VP AND EVP OF THE TALENT SERVICES TEAM THEN REVIEWED AND APPROVED THE CONSULTANT'S RECOMMENDATION FOR THE EXECUTIVE TEAM'S MARKET SALARY RANGES AND BONUS TIER RECOMMENDATIONS IN ALIGNMENT TO OUR COMPENSATION PHILOSOPHY. ANY SIGNIFICANT CHANGES ARE ALSO APPROVED BY THE CEO. THIS PROCESS WAS MOST RECENTLY COMPLETED IN 2019.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION C, LINE 19ROYAL CREDIT UNION'S ANNUAL FINANCIAL STATEMENTS ARE POSTED IN ALL BRANCH OFFICES. YEAR-END FINANCIAL STATEMENTS ARE ALSO PROVIDED IN THE ANNUAL REPORT AND PRESENTED AT THE ANNUAL MEETING IN APRIL. GOVERNING DOCUMENTS AND THE CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY ARE NOT AVAILABLE TO THE PUBLIC, BUT WOULD BE PROVIDED UPON REQUEST.
FORM 990, PART XII, LINE 2C:THIS PROCESS HAS NOT CHANGED FROM LAST YEAR.

Schedule R IRS990ScheduleR

Id Disregarded Entities IdDisregardedEntitiesGrp

Disregarded Entity Name DisregardedEntityName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1317 LLCBusinessNameLine1Txt

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1402 GRAHAM AVEAddressLine1Txt
CityEAU CLAIRECityNm
State AbbreviationWIStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP54701ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN384119611EIN
Primary ActivitiesREAL ESTATE HOLDING COMPANYPrimaryActivitiesTxt
Legal Domicile StateWILegalDomicileStateCd
Total Income$47,993TotalIncomeAmt
End Of Year Assets$813,960EndOfYearAssetsAmt

Direct Controlling Entity Name DirectControllingEntityName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1ROYAL CREDIT UNIONBusinessNameLine1Txt

Id Related Tax Exempt Org IdRelatedTaxExemptOrgGrp

Disregarded Entity Name DisregardedEntityName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1RCU FOUNDATION INCBusinessNameLine1Txt

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1200 RIVERFRONT TERRACEAddressLine1Txt
CityEAU CLAIRECityNm
State AbbreviationWIStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP54703ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN461588898EIN
Primary ActivitiesBENEFIT THE COMMUNITIES ROYAL CREDIT UNION SERVESPrimaryActivitiesTxt
Legal Domicile StateWILegalDomicileStateCd
Exempt Code Section501(C)(3)ExemptCodeSectionTxt
Public Charity StatusPFPublicCharityStatusTxt

Direct Controlling Entity Name DirectControllingEntityName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1ROYAL CREDIT UNIONBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Controlled OrganizationYes (1)ControlledOrganizationInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Receipt Of Int Annts Rnts Rylts0ReceiptOfIntAnntsRntsRyltsInd
Gift Grnt Or Cap Contri To Oth OrgYes (1)GiftGrntOrCapContriToOthOrgInd
Gift Grnt Cap Contri From Oth Org0GiftGrntCapContriFromOthOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees To Other Org0LoansOrGuaranteesToOtherOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees From Oth Org0LoansOrGuaranteesFromOthOrgInd
Div Related OrganizationYes (1)DivRelatedOrganizationInd
Asset Sale To Other Org0AssetSaleToOtherOrgInd
Asset Purchase From Other Org0AssetPurchaseFromOtherOrgInd
Asset Exchange0AssetExchangeInd
Rental Of Facilities To Oth Org0RentalOfFacilitiesToOthOrgInd
Rental Of Fclts From Oth Org0RentalOfFcltsFromOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services For Oth OrgYes (1)PerformOfServicesForOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services By Other Org0PerformOfServicesByOtherOrgInd
Sharing Of FacilitiesYes (1)SharingOfFacilitiesInd
Paid Employees SharingYes (1)PaidEmployeesSharingInd
Reimbursement Paid To Other Org0ReimbursementPaidToOtherOrgInd
Reimbursement Paid By Other Org0ReimbursementPaidByOtherOrgInd
Transfer To Other Org0TransferToOtherOrgInd
Transfer From Other Org0TransferFromOtherOrgInd

Transactions Related Org TransactionsRelatedOrgGrp

Other Organization Name OtherOrganizationName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1RCU FOUNDATION INCBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Transaction TypeBTransactionTypeTxt
Involved$1,341,302InvolvedAmt
Method Of Amount DeterminationFAIR MARKET VALUEMethodOfAmountDeterminationTxt

Comments

Anonymous: no account or email. Up to 2,000 characters, at most one link. Comments are checked automatically; some wait for review.