METROPOLITAN ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT ASSOCIATION: Form 990, tax year 2020
View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗
- Organization
- METROPOLITAN ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT ASSOCIATION (EIN 41-0977257)
- Tax period
- 2020-01-01 to 2020-12-31
- Filed
- 2021-07-06
- IRS object ID
- 202131879349300623
- Schema version
- 2020v4.1
- Source
- Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica
Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.
Return header ReturnHeader
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Return | 2021-07-06T10:37:57-05:00 | ReturnTs |
| Tax Period End | 2020-12-31 | TaxPeriodEndDt |
Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Preparer Firm EIN | 450250958 | PreparerFirmEIN |
Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | Eide Bailly LLP | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 800 Nicollet Mall Ste 1300 | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | Minneapolis | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | MN | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 554027033 | ZIPCd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Return Type | 990 | ReturnTypeCd |
| Tax Period Begin | 2020-01-01 | TaxPeriodBeginDt |
Filer Filer
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| EIN | 410977257 | EIN |
Business Name BusinessName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | Metropolitan Economic Development | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
| Business Name Line2 | Association | BusinessNameLine2Txt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Control | METR | BusinessNameControlTxt |
| Phone | 6123326332 | PhoneNum |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 1256 Penn Avenue North No 4800 | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | Minneapolis | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | MN | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 55411 | ZIPCd |
Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Person | Alfredo V Martel | PersonNm |
| Person Title | CEO | PersonTitleTxt |
| Phone | 6123326332 | PhoneNum |
| Signature | 2021-06-30 | SignatureDt |
| Discuss With Paid Preparer | Yes (1) | DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd |
Signing Officer SigningOfficerGrp
Person Full Name PersonFullName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Person First | Alfredo | PersonFirstNm |
| Person Last | Martel | PersonLastNm |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| SSN | 999009999 | SSN |
Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Preparer Person | Deb Nelson CPA | PreparerPersonNm |
| PTIN | P01264758 | PTIN |
| Phone | 6122536500 | PhoneNum |
| Preparation | 2021-06-30 | PreparationDt |
Additional Filer Information AdditionalFilerInformation
Trusted Customer TrustedCustomerGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Trusted Customer | 2 | TrustedCustomerCd |
| Authentication Assurance Level | AAL1 | AuthenticationAssuranceLevelCd |
| Identity Assurance Level | IAL1 | IdentityAssuranceLevelCd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Tax | 2020 | TaxYr |
| Build TS | 2022-09-23 18:48:47Z | BuildTS |
Form 990 IRS990
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Principal Officer | Alfredo V Martel | PrincipalOfficerNm |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 1256 Penn Avenue North No 4800 | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | Minneapolis | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | MN | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 55411 | ZIPCd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Gross Receipts | $7,685,776 | GrossReceiptsAmt |
| Group Return For Affiliates | 0 | GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd |
| Organization501c3 | Yes (X) | Organization501c3Ind |
| Website Address | www.meda.net | WebsiteAddressTxt |
| Type Of Organization Corp | Yes (X) | TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd |
| Formation | 1971 | FormationYr |
| Legal Domicile State | MN | LegalDomicileStateCd |
| Activity Or Mission | Helping minority entrepreneurs succeed. | ActivityOrMissionDesc |
| Voting Members Governing Body | 31 | VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt |
| Voting Members Independent | 30 | VotingMembersIndependentCnt |
| Total Employee | 33 | TotalEmployeeCnt |
| Total Volunteers | 194 | TotalVolunteersCnt |
| Total Gross UBI | $0 | TotalGrossUBIAmt |
| Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm | $0 | NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt |
| PY Contributions Grants | $4,501,703 | PYContributionsGrantsAmt |
| CY Contributions Grants | $5,600,139 | CYContributionsGrantsAmt |
| PY Program Service Revenue | $1,422,146 | PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
| CY Program Service Revenue | $1,643,075 | CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
| PY Investment Income | $673 | PYInvestmentIncomeAmt |
| CY Investment Income | $276,286 | CYInvestmentIncomeAmt |
| PY Other Revenue | -$68,219 | PYOtherRevenueAmt |
| CY Other Revenue | $69,715 | CYOtherRevenueAmt |
| PY Total Revenue | $5,856,303 | PYTotalRevenueAmt |
| CY Total Revenue | $7,589,215 | CYTotalRevenueAmt |
| PY Grants And Similar Paid | $0 | PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt |
| CY Grants And Similar Paid | $0 | CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt |
| PY Benefits Paid To Members | $0 | PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt |
| CY Benefits Paid To Members | $0 | CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt |
| PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid | $3,419,926 | PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt |
| CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid | $3,116,681 | CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt |
| PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns | $0 | PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt |
| CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns | $0 | CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt |
| CY Total Fundraising Expense | $713,543 | CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt |
| PY Other Expenses | $3,279,157 | PYOtherExpensesAmt |
| CY Other Expenses | $2,918,241 | CYOtherExpensesAmt |
| PY Total Expenses | $6,699,083 | PYTotalExpensesAmt |
| CY Total Expenses | $6,034,922 | CYTotalExpensesAmt |
| PY Revenues Less Expenses | -$842,780 | PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt |
| CY Revenues Less Expenses | $1,554,293 | CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt |
| Total Assets BOY | $26,982,294 | TotalAssetsBOYAmt |
| Total Assets EOY | $39,495,187 | TotalAssetsEOYAmt |
| Total Liabilities BOY | $19,350,501 | TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt |
| Total Liabilities EOY | $30,309,101 | TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt |
| Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY | $7,631,793 | NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt |
| Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY | $9,186,086 | NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt |
| Info In Schedule O Part III | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartIIIInd |
| Mission | Helping minority entrepreneurs succeed. | MissionDesc |
| Significant New Program Srvc | 0 | SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd |
| Significant Change | 0 | SignificantChangeInd |
| Expense | $4,616,636 | ExpenseAmt |
| Revenue | $1,652,071 | RevenueAmt |
| Desc | In response to the COVID-19 pandemic and civil unrest, Meda provided 9,000+ hours of technical assistance to over 500 BIPOC-owned businesses as they respond and recover from the pandemic and retool for the future.Meda made loans totaling $12.1 million to 165 businesses in 2020.This work led to the retention or creation of 1,564 jobs in BIPOC-owned businesses.Meda also assisted over 350 BIPOC-owned businesses apply for emergency lending programs including SBA Economic Injury Disaster Loans, PPP and DEED Emergency Loan Funds. Meda helped clients secure over $40 million in emergency funding.Meda was also the lead operator in disbursing DEED Emergency Loan Funds financing 89 businesses with a total of $2.7 million in financing.Meda is also a lead operator in the DEED Small Business Relief Grant Program and Hennepin County Small Business Grant. Meda has helped distribute $11 million in grants to over 1,100 small businesses. | Desc |
| Total Program Service Expenses | $4,616,636 | TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt |
| Described In Section501c3 | Yes (1) | DescribedInSection501c3Ind |
| Schedule B Required | Yes (1) | ScheduleBRequiredInd |
| Political Campaign Acty | 0 | PoliticalCampaignActyInd |
| Lobbying Activities | Yes (1) | LobbyingActivitiesInd |
| Subject To Proxy Tax | 0 | SubjectToProxyTaxInd |
| Donor Advised Fund | 0 | DonorAdvisedFundInd |
| Conservation Easements | 0 | ConservationEasementsInd |
| Collections Of Art | 0 | CollectionsOfArtInd |
| Credit Counseling | 0 | CreditCounselingInd |
| Donor Rstr Or Quasi Endowments | 0 | DonorRstrOrQuasiEndowmentsInd |
| Report Land Building Equipment | Yes (1) | ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd |
| Report Investments Other Sec | 0 | ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd |
| Report Program Related Invst | Yes (1) | ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd |
| Report Other Assets | 0 | ReportOtherAssetsInd |
| Report Other Liabilities | Yes (1) | ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd |
| Include FIN48 Footnote | Yes (1) | IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd |
| Independent Audit Fincl Stmt | Yes (1) | IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd |
| Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt | 0 | ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd |
| School Operating | 0 | SchoolOperatingInd |
| Foreign Office | 0 | ForeignOfficeInd |
| Foreign Activities | 0 | ForeignActivitiesInd |
| More Than5000 K To Org | 0 | MoreThan5000KToOrgInd |
| More Than5000 K To Individuals | 0 | MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd |
| Professional Fundraising | 0 | ProfessionalFundraisingInd |
| Fundraising Activities | Yes (1) | FundraisingActivitiesInd |
| Gaming Activities | 0 | GamingActivitiesInd |
| Operate Hospital | 0 | OperateHospitalInd |
| Grants To Organizations | 0 | GrantsToOrganizationsInd |
| Grants To Individuals | 0 | GrantsToIndividualsInd |
| Schedule J Required | Yes (1) | ScheduleJRequiredInd |
| Tax Exempt Bonds | 0 | TaxExemptBondsInd |
| Engaged In Excess Benefit Trans | 0 | EngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd |
| PY Excess Benefit Trans | 0 | PYExcessBenefitTransInd |
| Loan Outstanding | 0 | LoanOutstandingInd |
| Grant To Related Person | 0 | GrantToRelatedPersonInd |
| Business Rln With Org Mem | 0 | BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd |
| Business Rln With Fam Mem | 0 | BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd |
| Business Rln With35 Ctrl Ent | 0 | BusinessRlnWith35CtrlEntInd |
| Deductible Non Cash Contri | 0 | DeductibleNonCashContriInd |
| Deductible Art Contribution | 0 | DeductibleArtContributionInd |
| Terminate Operations | 0 | TerminateOperationsInd |
| Partial Liquidation | 0 | PartialLiquidationInd |
| Disregarded Entity | 0 | DisregardedEntityInd |
| Related Entity | 0 | RelatedEntityInd |
| Related Organization Ctrl Ent | 0 | RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd |
| Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd Org | 0 | TrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd |
| Activities Conducted Prtshp | 0 | ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd |
| Schedule O Required | Yes (1) | ScheduleORequiredInd |
| IRP Document | 26 | IRPDocumentCnt |
| IRP Document W2 G | 0 | IRPDocumentW2GCnt |
| Backup Wthld Compliance | Yes (1) | BackupWthldComplianceInd |
| Employee | 33 | EmployeeCnt |
| Employment Tax Returns Filed | Yes (1) | EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd |
| Unrelated Bus Incm Over Limit | 0 | UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd |
| Foreign Financial Account | 0 | ForeignFinancialAccountInd |
| Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans | 0 | ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd |
| Taxable Party Notification | 0 | TaxablePartyNotificationInd |
| Nondeductible Contributions | 0 | NondeductibleContributionsInd |
| Quid Pro Quo Contributions | Yes (1) | QuidProQuoContributionsInd |
| Quid Pro Quo Contri Discl | Yes (1) | QuidProQuoContriDisclInd |
| Form8282 Property Disposed Of | 0 | Form8282PropertyDisposedOfInd |
| Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft Cntrct | 0 | RcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd |
| Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft Cntrct | 0 | PayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd |
| Indoor Tanning Services | 0 | IndoorTanningServicesInd |
| Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht Pymt | 0 | SubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd |
| Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst Inc | 0 | SubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd |
| Info In Schedule O Part VI | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd |
| Governing Body Voting Members | 31 | GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt |
| Independent Voting Member | 30 | IndependentVotingMemberCnt |
| Family Or Business Rln | 0 | FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd |
| Delegation Of Mgmt Duties | 0 | DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd |
| Change To Org Documents | 0 | ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd |
| Material Diversion Or Misuse | 0 | MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd |
| Members Or Stockholders | 0 | MembersOrStockholdersInd |
| Election Of Board Members | 0 | ElectionOfBoardMembersInd |
| Decisions Subject To Approva | 0 | DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd |
| Minutes Of Governing Body | Yes (1) | MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd |
| Minutes Of Committees | Yes (1) | MinutesOfCommitteesInd |
| Officer Mailing Address | 0 | OfficerMailingAddressInd |
| Local Chapters | 0 | LocalChaptersInd |
| Form990 Provided To Gvrn Body | Yes (1) | Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd |
| Conflict Of Interest Policy | Yes (1) | ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd |
| Annual Disclosure Covered Prsn | Yes (1) | AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd |
| Regular Monitoring Enfrc | Yes (1) | RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd |
| Whistleblower Policy | Yes (1) | WhistleblowerPolicyInd |
| Document Retention Policy | Yes (1) | DocumentRetentionPolicyInd |
| Compensation Process CEO | Yes (1) | CompensationProcessCEOInd |
| Compensation Process Other | Yes (1) | CompensationProcessOtherInd |
| Investment In Joint Venture | 0 | InvestmentInJointVentureInd |
| States Where Copy Of Return Is Fld | MN | StatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd |
| Own Website | Yes (X) | OwnWebsiteInd |
| Upon Request | Yes (X) | UponRequestInd |
Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail
Business Name BusinessName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | Daniel Holmquist | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Phone | 6122596572 | PhoneNum |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 1256 Penn Ave N Ste 4800 | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | Minneapolis | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | MN | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 55411 | ZIPCd |
Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (39 entries)
| TitleTitleTxt | Average Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRt | Individual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorInd | OfficerOfficerInd | Reportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmt | Reportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmt | Other CompensationOtherCompensationAmt | Highest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Alfredo V Martel | |||||||
| President & CEO | 40.00 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $259,296 | $0 | $18,325 | |
| Daniel Holmquist | |||||||
| Vice President - Finance | 40.00 | Yes (X) | $154,843 | $0 | $36,485 | ||
| Patrick Pariseau - Vice | |||||||
| President - Lending & Consulting | 40.00 | $142,652 | $0 | $20,236 | Yes (X) | ||
| Uri Camarena-Micahel | |||||||
| Director of Business Consulting | 40.00 | $107,463 | $0 | $36,781 | Yes (X) | ||
| Andrew J O'Leary | |||||||
| Chief Development Officer | 40.00 | $121,160 | $0 | $22,695 | Yes (X) | ||
| Susan Gall | |||||||
| Chief of Operations | 40.00 | $104,563 | $0 | $16,940 | Yes (X) | ||
| Barbara Butts Williams | |||||||
| Chair of the Board | 4.00 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |
| Joel Lebewitz | |||||||
| Vice Chair | 4.00 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |
| Matthew Lyons | |||||||
| Vice Chair | 4.00 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |
| Camille Helou | |||||||
| Vice Chair | 4.00 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |
| Hoyt Hsaio | |||||||
| Vice Chair/Tresurer | 4.00 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |
| Maria Reitan | |||||||
| Vice Chair | 4.00 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |
| Craig Veurink | |||||||
| Vice Chair | 4.00 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |
| Gene Sieve | |||||||
| Vice Chair (Jan-May) | 4.00 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |
| Nanc Brooks | |||||||
| Vice Chair (Jan-May) | 4.00 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |
| John Stout | |||||||
| Secretary | 4.00 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |
| Al Mendoza | |||||||
| Director | 4.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| Amelia Hardy | |||||||
| Director (Dec) | 4.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| Andrea Novak | |||||||
| Director | 4.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| Binh Tran | |||||||
| Director | 4.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| Brad Pomerleau | |||||||
| Director | 4.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| Darren Moquist | |||||||
| Director | 4.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| David Rudolph | |||||||
| Director | 4.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| Gloria Contreras Edin | |||||||
| Director (Jun-Dec) | 4.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| Gloria Freeman | |||||||
| Director | 4.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| James Garness | |||||||
| Director (Mar-Dec) | 4.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| Jashan Eison | |||||||
| Director | 4.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| Jeffrey Payne | |||||||
| Director | 4.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| John JT Taylor | |||||||
| Director (Mar-Dec) | 4.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| Kevin Besikof | |||||||
| Director | 4.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| Laura Helmueller | |||||||
| Director | 4.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| Martha Currea | |||||||
| Director | 4.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| Megan Selby | |||||||
| Director | 4.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| Mimi Bekele | |||||||
| Director | 4.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| Rich Tofte | |||||||
| Director | 4.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| Sara Idle | |||||||
| Director | 4.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| Shawn Quant | |||||||
| Director (Jan-May) | 4.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| Steven Singer | |||||||
| Director | 4.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| Vicki Stute | |||||||
| Director | 4.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Reportable Comp From Org | $889,977 | TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt |
| Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org | $0 | TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt |
| Total Other Compensation | $151,462 | TotalOtherCompensationAmt |
| Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K | 6 | IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt |
| Former Ofcr Employees Listed | 0 | FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd |
| Total Comp Greater Than150 K | Yes (1) | TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd |
| Compensation From Other Srcs | 0 | CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd |
Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp
Contractor Name ContractorName
Business Name BusinessName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | Fredrikson & Byron PA | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
Contractor Address ContractorAddress
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 200 South 6th St 4000 | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | Minneapolis | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | MN | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 55402 | ZIPCd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Services | Government Regulations and Legal Service | ServicesDesc |
| Compensation | $108,455 | CompensationAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K | 1 | CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt |
| Fundraising | $226,350 | FundraisingAmt |
| Government Grants | $1,811,505 | GovernmentGrantsAmt |
| All Other Contributions | $3,562,284 | AllOtherContributionsAmt |
| Total Contributions | $5,600,139 | TotalContributionsAmt |
Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (3 entries)
| DescDesc | BusinessBusinessCd | Total Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmt | Related Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt |
|---|---|---|---|
| Interest From PRI | 900099 | $861,677 | $861,677 |
| Client Service Revenue | 611430 | $756,398 | $756,398 |
| $1MM Challenge | 900099 | $25,000 | $25,000 |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Program Service Revenue | $1,643,075 | TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $399 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Exclusion | $399 | ExclusionAmt |
Gross Rents GrossRentsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Real | $55,884 | RealAmt |
Less Rental Expenses LessRentalExpensesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Real | $0 | RealAmt |
Rental Income Or Loss RentalIncomeOrLossGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Real | $55,884 | RealAmt |
Net Rental Income Or Loss NetRentalIncomeOrLossGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $55,884 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Exclusion | $55,884 | ExclusionAmt |
Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other | $363,038 | OtherAmt |
Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other | $87,151 | OtherAmt |
Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other | $275,887 | OtherAmt |
Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $275,887 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Exclusion | $275,887 | ExclusionAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Fundraising Gross Income | $14,245 | FundraisingGrossIncomeAmt |
| Contri Rpt Fundraising Event | $226,350 | ContriRptFundraisingEventAmt |
| Fundraising Direct Expenses | $9,410 | FundraisingDirectExpensesAmt |
Net Incm From Fundraising Evt NetIncmFromFundraisingEvtGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $4,835 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Exclusion | $4,835 | ExclusionAmt |
Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Desc | Miscellaneous | Desc |
| Business | 900099 | BusinessCd |
| Total Revenue Column | $8,996 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Related Or Exempt Func Income | $8,996 | RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Revenue Total | $8,996 | OtherRevenueTotalAmt |
Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $7,589,215 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Related Or Exempt Func Income | $1,652,071 | RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt |
| Unrelated Business Revenue | $0 | UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt |
| Exclusion | $337,005 | ExclusionAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Info In Schedule O Part IX | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartIXInd |
Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $469,341 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $168,583 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $203,522 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $97,236 | FundraisingAmt |
Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $2,014,201 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $1,585,006 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $187,563 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $241,632 | FundraisingAmt |
Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $69,327 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $48,674 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $11,013 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $9,640 | FundraisingAmt |
Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $383,183 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $268,629 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $67,254 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $47,300 | FundraisingAmt |
Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $180,629 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $122,635 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $37,290 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $20,704 | FundraisingAmt |
Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $14,658 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $3,277 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $11,381 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $38,280 | TotalAmt |
| Management And General | $38,280 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $1,245,017 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $1,006,793 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $42,687 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $195,537 | FundraisingAmt |
Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $35,689 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $17,283 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $5,454 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $12,952 | FundraisingAmt |
Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $93,105 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $33,196 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $1,992 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $57,917 | FundraisingAmt |
Occupancy OccupancyGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $165,736 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $114,358 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $38,119 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $13,259 | FundraisingAmt |
Travel TravelGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $12,473 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $9,983 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $619 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $1,871 | FundraisingAmt |
Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $2,491 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $1,240 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $911 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $340 | FundraisingAmt |
Interest InterestGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $287,181 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $283,952 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $3,229 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $118,079 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $81,475 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $27,158 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $9,446 | FundraisingAmt |
Insurance InsuranceGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $49,795 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $34,358 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $11,453 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $3,984 | FundraisingAmt |
Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)
| DescDesc | TotalTotalAmt | Program ServicesProgramServicesAmt | Management And GeneralManagementAndGeneralAmt | FundraisingFundraisingAmt |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bad Debt/Loan Loss Rese | $822,230 | $822,230 | ||
| Bank Fees | $17,455 | $8,029 | $9,426 | |
| Memberships | $9,007 | $7,319 | $1,688 | |
| Educational Workshops | $6,935 | $6,935 |
All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $110 | TotalAmt |
| Management And General | $73 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $37 | FundraisingAmt |
Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $6,034,922 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $4,616,636 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $704,743 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $713,543 | FundraisingAmt |
Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $6,271,315 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $14,955,159 | EOYAmt |
Pledges And Grants Receivable PledgesAndGrantsReceivableGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $1,649,424 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $1,422,596 | EOYAmt |
Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $88,736 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $123,986 | EOYAmt |
Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $141,208 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $194,038 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss | $763,681 | LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt |
| Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec | $273,344 | LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt |
Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $682,101 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $490,337 | EOYAmt |
Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $115,865 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $116,326 | EOYAmt |
Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $200,000 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $400,000 | EOYAmt |
Investments Program Related InvestmentsProgramRelatedGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $17,370,720 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $21,413,917 | EOYAmt |
Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $462,925 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $378,828 | EOYAmt |
Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $26,982,294 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $39,495,187 | EOYAmt |
Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $446,931 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $1,466,647 | EOYAmt |
Deferred Revenue DeferredRevenueGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $397,357 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $249,674 | EOYAmt |
Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $17,447,539 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $24,284,017 | EOYAmt |
Unsecured Notes Loans Payable UnsecuredNotesLoansPayableGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| EOY | $609,700 | EOYAmt |
Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $1,058,674 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $3,699,063 | EOYAmt |
Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $19,350,501 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $30,309,101 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Organization Follows FASB117 | Yes (X) | OrganizationFollowsFASB117Ind |
No Donor Restriction Net Assets NoDonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $4,777,064 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $5,302,400 | EOYAmt |
Donor Restriction Net Assets DonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $2,854,729 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $3,883,686 | EOYAmt |
Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $7,631,793 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $9,186,086 | EOYAmt |
Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $26,982,294 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $39,495,187 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Reconcilation Revenue Expnss | $1,554,293 | ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt |
| Other Changes In Net Assets | $0 | OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt |
| Method Of Accounting Accrual | Yes (X) | MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd |
| Accountant Compile Or Review | 0 | AccountantCompileOrReviewInd |
| FS Audited | Yes (1) | FSAuditedInd |
FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Separate Basis Fincl Stmt | Yes (X) | SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Audit Committee | Yes (1) | AuditCommitteeInd |
| Federal Grant Audit Required | Yes (1) | FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd |
| Federal Grant Audit Performed | Yes (1) | FederalGrantAuditPerformedInd |
Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Public Organization170 | Yes (X) | PublicOrganization170Ind |
Gifts Grants Contri Rcvd170 GiftsGrantsContriRcvd170Grp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Current Tax Year Minus4 Years | $6,633,912 | CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus3 Years | $5,284,138 | CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus2 Years | $6,172,476 | CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus1 Year | $4,501,703 | CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt |
| Current Tax Year | $5,600,139 | CurrentTaxYearAmt |
| Total | $28,192,368 | TotalAmt |
Total Calendar Year170 TotalCalendarYear170Grp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Current Tax Year Minus4 Years | $6,633,912 | CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus3 Years | $5,284,138 | CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus2 Years | $6,172,476 | CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus1 Year | $4,501,703 | CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt |
| Current Tax Year | $5,600,139 | CurrentTaxYearAmt |
| Total | $28,192,368 | TotalAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Substantial Contributors Tot | $4,030,458 | SubstantialContributorsTotAmt |
| Public Support Total170 | $24,161,910 | PublicSupportTotal170Amt |
Gross Investment Income170 GrossInvestmentIncome170Grp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Current Tax Year Minus4 Years | $2,884 | CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus3 Years | $1,171 | CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus2 Years | $640 | CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus1 Year | $673 | CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt |
| Current Tax Year | $56,283 | CurrentTaxYearAmt |
| Total | $61,651 | TotalAmt |
Other Income170 OtherIncome170Grp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Current Tax Year Minus4 Years | $5,811 | CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus3 Years | $6,104 | CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus2 Years | $9,393 | CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus1 Year | $571 | CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt |
| Current Tax Year | $8,996 | CurrentTaxYearAmt |
| Total | $30,875 | TotalAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Support | $28,284,894 | TotalSupportAmt |
| Gross Receipts Rltd Activities | $6,206,613 | GrossReceiptsRltdActivitiesAmt |
| Public Support CY170 | 0.85420 | PublicSupportCY170Pct |
| Public Support PY170 | 0.84040 | PublicSupportPY170Pct |
| Thirty Thr Pct Suprt Tests CY170 | Yes (X) | ThirtyThrPctSuprtTestsCY170Ind |
Form990 Schedule A Part VI Form990ScheduleAPartVIGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Form And Line Reference | Schedule A, Part II, Line 10, Explanation of Other Income: | FormAndLineReferenceDesc |
| Explanation | Miscellaneous - 2016 Amount: $ 5,811. 2017 Amount: $ 6,104. 2018 Amount: $ 9,393. 2019 Amount: $ 571. 2020 Amount: $ 8,996. | ExplanationTxt |
Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB
Contributor Information ContributorInformationGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Contributor | RESTRICTED | ContributorNum |
Contributor Business Name ContributorBusinessName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | RESTRICTED | BusinessNameLine1 |
Contributor US Address ContributorUSAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | RESTRICTED | AddressLine1 |
| Address Line2 | RESTRICTED | AddressLine2 |
| City | RESTRICTED | City |
| State | RESTRICTED | State |
| ZIP Code | RESTRICTED | ZIPCode |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Contributions | RESTRICTED | TotalContributionsAmt |
Schedule C IRS990ScheduleC
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Volunteers | 0 | VolunteersInd |
| Paid Staff Or Management | Yes (1) | PaidStaffOrManagementInd |
| Media Advertisements | 0 | MediaAdvertisementsInd |
| Mailings Members | 0 | MailingsMembersInd |
| Publications Or Broadcast | 0 | PublicationsOrBroadcastInd |
| Grants Other Organizations | 0 | GrantsOtherOrganizationsInd |
| Direct Contact Legislators | Yes (1) | DirectContactLegislatorsInd |
| Direct Contact Legislators | $19,750 | DirectContactLegislatorsAmt |
| Rallies Demonstrations | 0 | RalliesDemonstrationsInd |
| Other Activities | 0 | OtherActivitiesInd |
| Total Lobbying Expenditures | $19,750 | TotalLobbyingExpendituresAmt |
| Not Described Section501c3 | 0 | NotDescribedSection501c3Ind |
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Form And Line Reference | Part II-B, Line 1: | FormAndLineReferenceDesc |
| Explanation | Provided activity and economic impact information to State legislators in support of State appropriated funds to support services and programs. | ExplanationTxt |
Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD
Buildings BuildingsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Cost Or Other Basis | $174,050 | OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Depreciation | $62,138 | DepreciationAmt |
| Book Value | $111,912 | BookValueAmt |
Equipment EquipmentGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Cost Or Other Basis | $589,631 | OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Depreciation | $211,206 | DepreciationAmt |
| Book Value | $378,425 | BookValueAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Book Value Land Buildings | $490,337 | TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt |
Invst Program Related Org InvstProgramRelatedOrgGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Desc | Program-Related Loans | Desc |
| Book Value | $21,413,917 | BookValueAmt |
| Method Valuation | C | MethodValuationCd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Book Value Program Rltd | $21,413,917 | TotalBookValueProgramRltdAmt |
Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (2 entries)
| DescDesc | AmtAmt |
|---|---|
| Due to Third Party Loan Participants | $3,177,813 |
| Lease Liabilities | $521,250 |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Liability | $3,699,063 | TotalLiabilityAmt |
| Footnote Text | Yes (X) | FootnoteTextInd |
| Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt | $7,589,215 | TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt |
| Revenue Not Reported | $0 | RevenueNotReportedAmt |
| Revenue Subtotal | $7,589,215 | RevenueSubtotalAmt |
| Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt | $0 | RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt |
| Total Revenue Per Form990 | $7,589,215 | TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt |
| Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt | $6,034,922 | TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt |
| Expenses Not Reported | $0 | ExpensesNotReportedAmt |
| Expenses Subtotal | $6,034,922 | ExpensesSubtotalAmt |
| Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt | $0 | ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt |
| Total Expenses Per Form990 | $6,034,922 | TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt |
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Form And Line Reference | Part X, Line 2: | FormAndLineReferenceDesc |
| Explanation | Meda undergoes an annual analysis of its various tax positions, assessing the likelihood of those positions being upheld upon examination with relevant tax authorities. As of December 31, 2020 and 2019, no amounts were recorded as a result of this analysis. If Meda is subject to interest or penalties on underpaid income taxes, they will be recorded as income tax expense in the period in which they are incurred. | ExplanationTxt |
Schedule G IRS990ScheduleG
Fundraising Event Information FundraisingEventInformationGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Event1 | Gala | Event1Nm |
| Gross Receipts Event1 | $240,595 | GrossReceiptsEvent1Amt |
| Charitable Contri Event1 | $226,350 | CharitableContriEvent1Amt |
| Gross Revenue Event1 | $14,245 | GrossRevenueEvent1Amt |
| Non Cash Prizes Event1 | $3,780 | NonCashPrizesEvent1Amt |
| Other Direct Expenses Event1 | $5,630 | OtherDirectExpensesEvent1Amt |
| Gross Receipts Total | $240,595 | GrossReceiptsTotalAmt |
| Charitable Contributions Tot | $226,350 | CharitableContributionsTotAmt |
| Gross Revenue Total Events | $14,245 | GrossRevenueTotalEventsAmt |
| Non Cash Prizes Total Events | $3,780 | NonCashPrizesTotalEventsAmt |
| Oth Direct Expnss Total Events | $5,630 | OthDirectExpnssTotalEventsAmt |
| Direct Expense Summary Events | $9,410 | DirectExpenseSummaryEventsAmt |
| Net Income Summary | $4,835 | NetIncomeSummaryAmt |
Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Compensation Committee | Yes (X) | CompensationCommitteeInd |
| Compensation Survey | Yes (X) | CompensationSurveyInd |
| Board Or Committee Approval | Yes (X) | BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd |
| Severance Payment | 0 | SeverancePaymentInd |
| Supplemental Nonqual Rtr Plan | 0 | SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd |
| Equity Based Comp Arrngm | 0 | EquityBasedCompArrngmInd |
| Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng Org | 0 | CompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd |
| Comp Bsd On Rev Related Orgs | 0 | CompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd |
| Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng Org | 0 | CompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd |
| Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd Orgs | 0 | CompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd |
| Any Non Fixed Payments | Yes (1) | AnyNonFixedPaymentsInd |
| Initial Contract Exception | 0 | InitialContractExceptionInd |
Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (3 entries)
| TitleTitleTxt | Base Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmt | Compensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmt | Bonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmount | Bonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmt | Other Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmt | Other Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmt | Deferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmt | Deferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmt | Nontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmt | Nontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmt | Total Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmt | Total Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmt | Comp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmt | Comp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Alfredo V Martel | ||||||||||||||
| President & CEO | $259,296 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $18,519 | $0 | $277,815 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| Daniel Holmquist | ||||||||||||||
| Vice President - Finance | $144,843 | $0 | $10,000 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $7,842 | $0 | $28,841 | $0 | $191,526 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| Patrick Pariseau - Vice | ||||||||||||||
| President - Lending & Consulting | $133,652 | $0 | $9,000 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $6,733 | $0 | $13,701 | $0 | $163,086 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Form And Line Reference | Part I, Line 7 | FormAndLineReferenceDesc |
| Explanation | Officers are eligible for bonuses based on annual performance reviews. The bonuses are determined by the President and Board of Directors. Please see Schedule J, Part II, column (B)(ii) for the bonus amounts awarded to officers during 2020. | ExplanationTxt |
Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (6 entries)
| Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDesc | ExplanationExplanationTxt |
|---|---|
| Form 990, Part VI, Section A, line 1 | The Executive Committee is composed of three or more designated board members. Unless specified by action of the board, the Executive Committee shall have and exercise the authority of the board with respect to the business of the corporation in the intervals between meetings of the board. The Executive Committee shall at all times be subject to the control and direction of the board. |
| Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 11b | A draft copy of the Form 990 is provided to the Finance Audit Committee. The Finance Audit Committee reviews the draft Form 990, addressing any comments or concerns, and then makes a recommendation to the Board of Directors for approval. A copy is provided to the board and upon review and approval of the draft Form 990 by the Board of Directors the form is filed. |
| Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 12c | Conflict of interest statements are issued every year to all directors and employees. These individuals disclose applicable conflicts and sign as to compliance with the policy. The Meda Governance Committee reviews all statements to review any disclosed potential conflicts of interest. The Governance Committee documents any actions undertaken. The person with the conflict of interest is excluded from the discussion and approval of the activity. |
| Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 15 | Meda's Personnel Committee performs an annual review on the CEO. This review involves collecting feedback from the management team and the Board of Directors. The Director of Finance and Administration provides the Personnel Committee with a salary range comprised from comparatives of similar nonprofits. The Personnel Committee recommends a compensation adjustment for approval by the board. Meda uses a similar process for other officers and all employees. Each individual undergoes an annual performance review with their supervisor. Supervisors award merit adjustments from a merit pool identified in the approved operational budget. |
| Form 990, Part VI, Section C, line 19 | These documents are made available upon request. |
| Form 990, Part IX, line 11g | Professional Services: Program service expenses 828,472. Management and general expenses 33,317. Fundraising expenses 183,012. Total expenses 1,044,801. Equipment Lease & Service Contracts: Program service expenses 178,321. Management and general expenses 9,370. Fundraising expenses 12,525. Total expenses 200,216. |
Comments