HAMPTON UNIVERSITY: Form 990, tax year 2019

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
HAMPTON UNIVERSITY (EIN 54-0505990)
Tax period
2019-07-01 to 2020-06-30
Filed
2021-05-14
IRS object ID
202121349349306462
Schema version
2019v5.2
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2021-05-14T16:08:36-05:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2020-06-30TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN540504608PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1BROWN EDWARDS & COMPANY LLPBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1701 TOWN CENTER DRIVEAddressLine1Txt
CityNEWPORT NEWSCityNm
State AbbreviationVAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP23606ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2019-07-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN540505990EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1HAMPTON UNIVERSITYBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlHAMPBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone7577275213PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1200 WILLIAM R HARVEY WAYAddressLine1Txt
CityHAMPTONCityNm
State AbbreviationVAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP23668ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonDORETHA J SPELLSPersonNm
Person TitleTREASURERPersonTitleTxt
Phone7577275213PhoneNum
Signature2021-05-14SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (1)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonHUGH BARLOWPreparerPersonNm
PTINP00422004PTIN
Phone7578731033PhoneNum
Preparation2021-05-14PreparationDt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2019TaxYr
Build TS2022-09-23 18:48:47ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerDORETHA J SPELLSPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1200 WILLIAM R HARVEY WAYAddressLine1Txt
CityHAMPTONCityNm
State AbbreviationVAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP23668ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$289,670,144GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For Affiliates0GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501c3Yes (X)Organization501c3Ind
Website AddressWWW.HAMPTONU.EDUWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1868FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateVALegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionHAMPTON UNIVERSITY IS A COMPREHENSIVE INSTITUTION OF HIGHER EDUCATION, DEDICATED TO THE PROMOTION OF LEARNING, BUILDING OF CHARACTER, AND THE PREPARATION OF PROMISING STUDENTS FOR POSITIONS OF LEADERSHIP AND SERVICE. ITS CURRICULAR EMPHASIS IS SCIENTIFIC AND PROFESSIONAL WITH STRONG LIBERAL ARTS UNDERGIRDING. IN CARRYING OUT ITS MISSION, THE UNIVERSITY REQUIRES THAT EVERYTHING THAT IT DOES BE OF THE HIGHEST QUALITY. A HISTORICALLY BLACK INSTITUTION, HAMPTON UNIVERSITY IS COMMITTED TO MULTICULTURALISM. THE UNIVERSITY SERVES STUDENTS FROM DIVERSE NATIONAL, CULTURAL, AND ECONOMIC BACKGROUNDS.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body15VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent14VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee1985TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers0TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI-$746,781TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$0NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$48,954,066PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$55,357,206CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$138,985,802PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$129,788,633CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$14,811,054PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$21,599,109CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue-$714,131PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue-$733,953CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$202,036,791PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$206,010,995CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$1,442,315PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$1,392,634CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$0PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$67,473,141PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$66,752,456CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$417,607CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$120,577,086PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$118,219,803CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$189,492,542PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$186,364,893CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$12,544,249PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$19,646,102CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$785,380,790TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$779,168,098TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$214,561,185TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$204,832,961TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$570,819,605NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$574,335,137NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
Info In Schedule O Part IIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartIIIInd
MissionHAMPTON UNIVERSITY IS A COMPREHENSIVE INSTITUTION OF HIGHER EDUCATION, DEDICATED TO THE PROMOTION OF LEARNING, BUILDING OF CHARACTER AND PREPARATION OF PROMISING STUDENTS FOR POSITIONS OF LEADERSHIP AND SERVICE. ITS CURRICULUM EMPHASIS IS SCIENTIFIC AND PROFESSIONAL WITH A STRONG LIBERAL ARTS UNDERGIRDING. IN CARRYING OUT ITS MISSION, THE UNIVERSITY REQUIRES THAT EVERYTHING THAT IT DOES BE OF THE HIGHEST QUALITY. RESEARCH AND PUBLIC SERVICE ARE INTEGRAL PARTS OF HAMPTON'S MISSION. IN ORDER TO ENHANCE SCHOLARSHIP AND DISCOVERY, FACULTY ARE ENGAGED IN WRITING, RESEARCH, AND GRANTSMANSHIP. FACULTY, STAFF AND STUDENTS PROVIDE LEADERSHIP AND SERVICE TO THE UNIVERSITY AS WELL AS THE GLOBAL COMMUNITY. IN ACHIEVING ITS MISSION, HAMPTON UNIVERSITY OFFERS EXEMPLARY PROGRAMS AND OPPORTUNITIES WHICH ENABLE STUDENTS, FACULTY AND STAFF TO GROW, DEVELOP AND CONTRIBUTE TO OUR SOCIETY IN A PRODUCTIVE, USEFUL MANNER.MissionDesc
Significant New Program Srvc0SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant Change0SignificantChangeInd
Expense$86,245,273ExpenseAmt
Grant$1,392,634GrantAmt
Revenue$90,082,326RevenueAmt
DescINSTRUCTIONAL AND DEPARTMENTAL RESEARCH - THE EDUCATIONAL GOALS SET UP FOR OUR STUDENTS ARE THROUGH VARIOUS INSTRUCTIONAL DIVISIONS AND DEPARTMENTAL RESEARCH.Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty2 ProgSrvcAccomActy2Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Expense$2,623,506ExpenseAmt
DescPUBLIC SERVICES - HAMPTON UNIVERSITY HAS AN OFF CAMPUS WORK-STUDY PROGRAM FOR STUDENTS, URBAN AFFAIRS AND OTHER COMMUNITY RELATED PROJECTS.Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty3 ProgSrvcAccomActy3Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Expense$5,151,074ExpenseAmt
DescLIBRARY AND MUSEUMS - THE LIBRARIES AND MUSEUMS PROVIDE AND DISPLAY EDUCATIONAL MATERIALS AND PROVIDE SUPPORT SERVICES TO THE ACADEMIC COMMUNITY.Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty Other ProgSrvcAccomActyOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Expense$56,675,306ExpenseAmt
Revenue$56,785,748RevenueAmt
DescSTUDENT SERVICES - ALL OFFICES WHICH RENDER SERVICES TO THE EMOTIONAL WELL-BEING OF OUR STUDENTS: VICE PRESIDENT FOR STUDENT AFFAIRS, DEAN OF ADMISSIONS, REGISTRAR, TESTING, ETC.Desc
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Other Prog Srvc Expense$56,675,306TotalOtherProgSrvcExpenseAmt
Total Other Prog Srvc Revenue$56,785,748TotalOtherProgSrvcRevenueAmt
Total Program Service Expenses$150,695,159TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt
Described In Section501c3Yes (1)DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B RequiredYes (1)ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign Acty0PoliticalCampaignActyInd
Lobbying Activities0LobbyingActivitiesInd
Subject To Proxy Tax0SubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised Fund0DonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation Easements0ConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of ArtYes (1)CollectionsOfArtInd
Credit Counseling0CreditCounselingInd
Donor Rstr Or Quasi EndowmentsYes (1)DonorRstrOrQuasiEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (1)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other SecYes (1)ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related Invst0ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other Assets0ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (1)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (1)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl Stmt0IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School OperatingYes (1)SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign Office0ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign ActivitiesYes (1)ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To Org0MoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To Individuals0MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional Fundraising0ProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising Activities0FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming Activities0GamingActivitiesInd
Operate Hospital0OperateHospitalInd
Grants To Organizations0GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To IndividualsYes (1)GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (1)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt BondsYes (1)TaxExemptBondsInd
Invest Tax Exempt Bonds0InvestTaxExemptBondsInd
Escrow Account0EscrowAccountInd
On Behalf Of Issuer0OnBehalfOfIssuerInd
Engaged In Excess Benefit Trans0EngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd
PY Excess Benefit Trans0PYExcessBenefitTransInd
Loan Outstanding0LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related Person0GrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org Mem0BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam MemYes (1)BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With35 Ctrl Ent0BusinessRlnWith35CtrlEntInd
Deductible Non Cash Contri0DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art Contribution0DeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate Operations0TerminateOperationsInd
Partial Liquidation0PartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded EntityYes (1)DisregardedEntityInd
Related EntityYes (1)RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl EntYes (1)RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Transaction With Control Ent0TransactionWithControlEntInd
Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd Org0TrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd
Activities Conducted Prtshp0ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (1)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document251IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (1)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee1985EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (1)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over Limit0UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Foreign Financial Account0ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans0ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party Notification0TaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible Contributions0NondeductibleContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo Contributions0QuidProQuoContributionsInd
Form8282 Property Disposed Of0Form8282PropertyDisposedOfInd
Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0RcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0PayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Indoor Tanning Services0IndoorTanningServicesInd
Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht Pymt0SubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd
Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst Inc0SubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members15GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member14IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business Rln0FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt Duties0DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org Documents0ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or Misuse0MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or Stockholders0MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board Members0ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To Approva0DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (1)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (1)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing Address0OfficerMailingAddressInd
Local Chapters0LocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (1)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (1)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (1)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (1)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (1)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (1)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (1)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (1)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint Venture0InvestmentInJointVentureInd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1DORETHA J SPELLSBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Phone7577275213PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1200 WILLIAM R HARVEY WAYAddressLine1Txt
CityHAMPTONCityNm
State AbbreviationVAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP23668ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (22 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd
DR WILLIAM R HARVEY
PRESIDENT60.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$571,054$0$393,686
MR MICHAEL D ARMSTRONG
BOARD MEMBER1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MR SASHI BROWN ESQ
BOARD MEMBER1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MR CALVIN L BUTTS JR
BOARD MEMBER1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MR WESLEY A COLEMAN
BOARD MEMBER1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MR ED BUDDY DAVID ESQ
BOARD MEMBER1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MR JAMES T GEORGE
BOARD MEMBER1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MR CHARLES A HARVEY
BOARD MEMBER1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
DR DAVID W HUNTER
BOARD MEMBER40.00Yes (X)$89,432$0$20,667
MR DEREK R LEWIS
BOARD MEMBER1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MR R MARSHALL MERRIMAN
BOARD MEMBER1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MRS LESLIE DJ PATTERSON
BOARD MEMBER1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MR KENNETH RIOLAND III
BOARD MEMBER1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MR ZACHARY B SCOTT
BOARD MEMBER1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MRS ANDREA M WEISS
BOARD MEMBER1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MRS DORETHA J SPELLS
VICE PRESIDENT FOR BUSINESS AFFAIRS40.00Yes (X)$167,370$0$38,679
ATTORNEY FAYE HARDY-LUCAS
VICE PRESIDENT AND GENERAL COUNSEL40.00Yes (X)$140,465$0$32,461
DR PATRICK MCCORMICK
RESEARCH PROFESSOR40.00$297,441$0$68,739Yes (X)
DR JAMES RUSSEL
RESEARCH PROFESSOR40.00$289,743$0$66,960Yes (X)
MR ROBERTY PRUNTY
HEAD FOOTBALL COACH40.00$250,000$0$57,775Yes (X)
DR JOANNA HAYSBERT
PROVOST AND CHANCELLOR40.00$201,669$0$46,606Yes (X)
ATTORNEY PAUL HARRIS
SENIOR VICE PRESIDENT40.00$181,676$0$41,985Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$2,188,850TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$767,558TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K22IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees Listed0FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (1)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other Srcs0CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
GOURMET SERVICES INC
82 PIEDMONT AVE NEATLANTAGA30303FOOD SERVICE$7,289,316
ADRIAN BUILDERS GROUP LLC
3488 CHANDLER CREEK RDVIRGINIA BEACHVA23453RENOVATIONS / REPAIRS$3,948,268
DAMUTH TRANE COMPANY
PO BOX 6276CHESAPEAKEVA23323HVAC PARTS AND SUPPLIES / REPAIRS$2,892,287
TOWNE INSURANCE AGENCY
301 BENDIX ROAD SUITE 300VIRGINIA BEACHVA23452INSURANCE$2,785,725
DOMINION ENERGY VIRGINIA
PO BOX 26543RICHMONDVA23290SUPPLIES ELECTRICITY$2,105,870
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K36CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Government Grants$33,531,491GovernmentGrantsAmt
All Other Contributions$21,825,715AllOtherContributionsAmt
Total Contributions$55,357,206TotalContributionsAmt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (4 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmtUnrelated Business RevenueUnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
PROGRAM SERVICE REVENUE611600$72,583,459$72,583,459
AUXILIARY ENTERPRISE611710$32,908,567$32,921,866-$13,299
HUPTI621500$17,498,867$17,498,867
EDUCATIONAL DEPARTMENTS611710$6,797,740$6,797,740
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$129,788,633TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$4,532,496TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$4,532,496ExclusionAmt

Gross Rents GrossRentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$881,906RealAmt

Less Rental Expenses LessRentalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$1,615,859RealAmt

Rental Income Or Loss RentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real-$733,953RealAmt

Net Rental Income Or Loss NetRentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column-$733,953TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income-$471RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue-$733,482UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$99,109,903SecuritiesAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$82,043,290SecuritiesAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$17,066,613SecuritiesAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$17,066,613TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$17,066,613RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$206,010,995TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$146,868,074RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue-$746,781UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$4,532,496ExclusionAmt

Grants To Domestic Individuals GrantsToDomesticIndividualsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,392,634TotalAmt
Program Services$1,392,634ProgramServicesAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,228,889TotalAmt
Program Services$995,400ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$233,489ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$49,470,760TotalAmt
Program Services$39,044,946ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$10,278,238ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$147,576FundraisingAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$4,394,277TotalAmt
Program Services$3,756,513ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$626,481ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$11,283FundraisingAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$11,658,530TotalAmt
Program Services$9,443,410ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$2,215,120ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,207,342TotalAmt
Program Services$977,947ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$229,395ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,256,471TotalAmt
Management And General$1,256,471ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$893,659TotalAmt
Program Services$723,864ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$169,795ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$47,307,580TotalAmt
Program Services$37,839,834ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$9,208,998ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$258,748FundraisingAmt

Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,860,188TotalAmt
Program Services$1,506,752ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$353,436ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$13,529,969TotalAmt
Program Services$10,959,275ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$2,570,694ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,937,203TotalAmt
Program Services$3,189,134ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$748,069ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$4,304,866TotalAmt
Program Services$1,957,627ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$2,347,239ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$14,728,576TotalAmt
Program Services$11,045,639ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$3,682,937ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,672,438TotalAmt
Program Services$2,164,675ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$507,763ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmtProgram ServicesProgramServicesAmtManagement And GeneralManagementAndGeneralAmt
HAMPTON UNIVERSITY PROT$19,470,335$19,470,335
OTHER EXPENSES$6,237,558$5,568,143$669,415
MEMBERSHIP$415,013$336,161$78,852
MEAL SUPPORT$398,605$322,870$75,735

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$186,364,893TotalAmt
Program Services$150,695,159ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$35,252,127ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$417,607FundraisingAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$15,899,669BOYAmt
EOY$11,120,322EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$6,780,628BOYAmt
EOY$7,316,976EOYAmt

Pledges And Grants Receivable PledgesAndGrantsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$15,537,702BOYAmt
EOY$14,114,512EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$9,252,165BOYAmt
EOY$11,764,722EOYAmt

Oth Notes Loans Receivable Net OthNotesLoansReceivableNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$9,882,321BOYAmt
EOY$8,835,710EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$7,182,671BOYAmt
EOY$9,789,522EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$733,761,956LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$319,509,134LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$418,008,561BOYAmt
EOY$414,252,822EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$137,965,513BOYAmt
EOY$137,371,898EOYAmt

Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$164,871,560BOYAmt
EOY$164,601,614EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$785,380,790BOYAmt
EOY$779,168,098EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$16,810,309BOYAmt
EOY$10,841,461EOYAmt

Deferred Revenue DeferredRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$22,125,103BOYAmt
EOY$27,270,965EOYAmt

Tax Exempt Bond Liabilities TaxExemptBondLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$161,676,634BOYAmt
EOY$154,356,415EOYAmt

Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$6,817,060BOYAmt
EOY$6,400,274EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$7,132,079BOYAmt
EOY$5,963,846EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$214,561,185BOYAmt
EOY$204,832,961EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Organization Follows FASB117Yes (X)OrganizationFollowsFASB117Ind

No Donor Restriction Net Assets NoDonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$494,498,823BOYAmt
EOY$495,913,196EOYAmt

Donor Restriction Net Assets DonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$76,320,782BOYAmt
EOY$78,421,941EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$570,819,605BOYAmt
EOY$574,335,137EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$785,380,790BOYAmt
EOY$779,168,098EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$19,646,102ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst-$16,130,570NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets$0OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Info In Schedule O Part XIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIIInd
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or Review0AccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (1)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Consolidated Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)ConsolidatedBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (1)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit RequiredYes (1)FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd
Federal Grant Audit PerformedYes (1)FederalGrantAuditPerformedInd

Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
SchoolYes (X)SchoolInd

Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB

Contributor Information ContributorInformationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
ContributorRESTRICTEDContributorNum

Contributor Business Name ContributorBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1RESTRICTEDBusinessNameLine1

Contributor US Address ContributorUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1RESTRICTEDAddressLine1
Address Line2RESTRICTEDAddressLine2
CityRESTRICTEDCity
StateRESTRICTEDState
ZIP CodeRESTRICTEDZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total ContributionsRESTRICTEDTotalContributionsAmt

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Collection Used Pub ExhibitionYes (X)CollectionUsedPubExhibitionInd
Coll Used Scholarly RsrchYes (X)CollUsedScholarlyRsrchInd
Collection Used PreservationYes (X)CollectionUsedPreservationInd
Coll Used Loan Or Exch ProgYes (X)CollUsedLoanOrExchProgInd
Solicited Assets Sale0SolicitedAssetsSaleInd
Agent Trustee Etc0AgentTrusteeEtcInd

CY Endwmt Fund CYEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$291,251,075BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$3,752,711ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$3,760,751InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$8,977,676OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$289,786,861EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus1 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus1YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$295,394,705BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$1,435,057ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$13,198,128InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$18,776,815OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$291,251,075EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus2 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus2YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$285,946,443BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$1,522,612ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$17,175,650InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$9,250,000OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$295,394,705EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus3 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus3YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$259,112,049BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$2,233,478ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$32,111,203InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$7,510,287OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$285,946,442EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus4 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus4YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$310,130,259BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$1,288,208ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses-$7,259,134InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$45,047,284OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$259,112,049EndYearBalanceAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Board Designated Balance EOY0.75720BoardDesignatedBalanceEOYPct
Term Endowment Balance EOY0.24280TermEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Endowments Held Unrelated Org0EndowmentsHeldUnrelatedOrgInd
Endowments Held Related Org0EndowmentsHeldRelatedOrgInd

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$5,522,307OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$5,522,307BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$498,467,737OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$220,257,504DepreciationAmt
Book Value$278,210,233BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$213,104,381OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$99,251,630DepreciationAmt
Book Value$113,852,751BookValueAmt

Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$16,667,531OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$16,667,531BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$414,252,822TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Other Securities OtherSecuritiesGrp (6 entries)

DescDescBook ValueBookValueAmtMethod ValuationMethodValuationCd
CASH$13,136,644F
LIMITED PARTNERSHIPS$92,957,474F
COMMON COLLECTIVE TRUSTS$21,508,899F
OTHER INVESTMENTS$9,220,046F
OTHER FUNDS$23,117,735F
MORTGAGE-BACKED SECURITIES$4,660,816F
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Securities$164,601,614TotalBookValueSecuritiesAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescLOANS REFUNDABLEDesc
Amt$5,963,846Amt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$5,963,846TotalLiabilityAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$189,880,425TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Net Unrealized Gains Invst-$16,130,570NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt
Revenue Not Reported-$16,130,570RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$206,010,995RevenueSubtotalAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$0RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$206,010,995TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$186,364,893TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Expenses Not Reported$0ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$186,364,893ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$0ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$186,364,893TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (4 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
PART III, LINE 1A:THE UNIVERSITY HAS EXTENSIVE COLLECTIONS OF WORKS OF ART, HISTORICAL TREASURES, AND SIMILAR ASSETS ALONG WITH LIBRARY MATERIALS, INCLUDING BOOKS, PERIODICALS, AND OTHER ITEMS. THESE COLLECTIONS ARE MAINTAINED AND HELD FOR RESEARCH, EDUCATION, AND PUBLIC EXHIBITION IN FURTHERANCE OF PUBLIC SERVICE. PROCEEDS FROM ANY SALES OF COLLECTIONS ARE USED TO ACQUIRE OTHER ITEMS FOR COLLECTIONS. THE COST OF COLLECTIONS PURCHASED BY THE UNIVERSITY IS CHARGED TO EXPENSE IN THE YEAR PURCHASED AND DONATED COLLECTION ITEMS ARE NOT RECORDED. THE VALUE OF THE UNIVERSITY'S COLLECTION HAS NOT BEEN DETERMINED.
PART III, LINE 4:IN 2008, THE HAMPTON UNIVERSITY MUSEUM AND ARCHIVES WAS ONE OF 10 INSTITUTIONS AND INDIVIDUALS RECOGNIZED AND HONORED AS VIRGINIA'S BEST ARTISTIC AND CULTURAL INNOVATORS. THE MUSEUM RECEIVED AN ORIGINAL WORK OF ART AS ITS REWARD AND WAS HONORED AT A CEREMONY HELD BY GOVERNOR KAINE IN RICHMOND.
PART V, LINE 4:THE PRIMARY OBJECTIVES FOR THE ENDOWMENT FUNDS SHALL BE: 1) TO MAXIMIZE THE LONG RUN TOTAL RETURN ON THE FUNDS ENTRUSTED TO THE ENDOWMENT CONSISTENT WITH PRUDENT INVESTMENT PRACTICE. SPECIFICALLY, THE GOAL WILL BE TO EARN A REAL RETURN WITH INFLATION ADJUSTED OF AT LEAST 5% OVER THE LONG TERM. 2) TO PROVIDE A RELIABLE SOURCE OF OPERATING FUNDS TO THE UNIVERSITY.
PART X, LINE 2:TAX POSITIONS ARE RECOGNIZED OR DERECOGNIZED BASED ON A MORE-LIKELY-THAN-NOT THRESHOLD. RECOGNIZED INCOME TAX POSITIONS ARE MEASURED AT THE LARGEST AMOUNT THAT IS GREATER THAN 50% LIKELY OF BEING REALIZED. CHANGES IN RECOGNITION OR MEASUREMENT ARE REFLECTED IN THE PERIOD IN WHICH CHANGE IN JUDGMENT OCCURS. THIS APPLIES TO POSITIONS TAKEN OR EXPECTED TO BE TAKEN IN A TAX RETURN. THE UNIVERSITY RECOGNIZES INTEREST ACCRUED RELATED TO UNRECOGNIZED TAX BENEFITS AND PENALTIES RELATED TO UNRECOGNIZED TAX BENEFITS IN ACCOUNTS PAYABLE AND ACCRUED LIABILTIES, IF ASSESSED. NO INTEREST EXPENSE OR PENALTIES HAVE BEEN RECOGNIZED AS OF AND FOR THE YEARS ENDED JUNE 30, 2020 AND 2019. THE UNIVERSITY DOES NOT BELIEVE ITS CONSOLIDATED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS INCLUDE (OR REFLECT) ANY UNCERTAIN TAX POSITIONS.

Schedule E IRS990ScheduleE

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Nondiscriminatory Policy StmtYes (1)NondiscriminatoryPolicyStmtInd
Policy Stmt In Brochures EtcYes (1)PolicyStmtInBrochuresEtcInd
Plcy Pblczd Via Broadcast MediaYes (1)PlcyPblczdViaBroadcastMediaInd
Maintain Racial Comp RecsYes (1)MaintainRacialCompRecsInd
Maintain Scholarships RecsYes (1)MaintainScholarshipsRecsInd
Maintain Cpy Of Brochures EtcYes (1)MaintainCpyOfBrochuresEtcInd
Maintain Cpy Of All SolYes (1)MaintainCpyOfAllSolInd
Discriminate Race Stdnts Rghts0DiscriminateRaceStdntsRghtsInd
Discriminate Race Admiss Plcy0DiscriminateRaceAdmissPlcyInd
Discriminate Race Emplm Fculty0DiscriminateRaceEmplmFcultyInd
Discriminate Race Schs0DiscriminateRaceSchsInd
Discriminate Race Educ Plcy0DiscriminateRaceEducPlcyInd
Discriminate Race Use Of Fclts0DiscriminateRaceUseOfFcltsInd
Discriminate Race Athlt Prog0DiscriminateRaceAthltProgInd
Discriminate Race Other Acty0DiscriminateRaceOtherActyInd
Government Financial Aid RcvdYes (1)GovernmentFinancialAidRcvdInd
Government Financial Aid Rvkd0GovernmentFinancialAidRvkdInd
Compliance With Rev Proc7550Yes (1)ComplianceWithRevProc7550Ind

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
SCHEDULE E, PART I, LINE 3THE NONDISCRIMINATORY POLICY EXTENDS TO ALL PROGRAMS AND ACTIVITIES SUPPORTED BY THE UNIVERSITY AND IS INCLUDED ON OUR APPLICATION AND WEBSITE WHEN WE ARE SOLICITING FOR STUDENTS.
SCHEDULE E, PART I, LINE 6THE UNIVERSITY RECEIVES FUNDS FROM THE DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION TITLE IV PROGRAM AS WELL AS FEDERAL GRANTS AND CONTRACTS THAT MAY PROVIDE ASSISTANCE BASED ON THE CRITERIA ESTABLISHED.

Schedule F IRS990ScheduleF

Account Activities Outside US AccountActivitiesOutsideUSGrp (7 entries)

RegionRegionTxtOfficesOfficesCntEmployeeEmployeeCntType Of Activities ConductedTypeOfActivitiesConductedTxtRegion Total ExpendituresRegionTotalExpendituresAmt
UNIDENTIFIED00INVESTMENT$67,140,030
CENTRAL AMERICA AND THE CARIBBEAN00INVESTMENT
EAST ASIA AND THE PACIFIC00INVESTMENT
EUROPE (INCLUDING ICELAND & GREENLAND)00INVESTMENT
MIDDLE EAST AND NORTH AFRICA00INVESTMENT
NORTH AMERICA00INVESTMENT
SOUTH ASIA00INVESTMENT
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Subtotal Offices0SubtotalOfficesCnt
Subtotal Employees0SubtotalEmployeesCnt
Continuation Total Office0ContinuationTotalOfficeCnt
Continuation Total Employee0ContinuationTotalEmployeeCnt
Total Office0TotalOfficeCnt
Total Employee0TotalEmployeeCnt
Subtotal Spent$67,140,030SubtotalSpentAmt
Continuation Spent$0ContinuationSpentAmt
Total Spent$67,140,030TotalSpentAmt
Transfer To Foreign CorpYes (1)TransferToForeignCorpInd
Interest In Foreign Trust0InterestInForeignTrustInd
Foreign Corp Ownership0ForeignCorpOwnershipInd
Passive Foreign Investmest CoYes (1)PassiveForeignInvestmestCoInd
Foreign PartnershipYes (1)ForeignPartnershipInd
Boycott Countries0BoycottCountriesInd

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePART III ACCOUNTING METHOD:FormAndLineReferenceDesc

Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant Records MaintainedYes (1)GrantRecordsMaintainedInd

Grants Other Asst To Indiv In US GrantsOtherAsstToIndivInUSGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant TypeGRANTS AND CONTRACTSGrantTypeTxt
Recipient652RecipientCnt
Cash Grant$1,392,634CashGrantAmt
Valuation Method UsedBOOKValuationMethodUsedDesc

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePART I, LINE 2:FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationCOSTS CHARGED TO SPONSORED AGREEMENTS ARE FULLY INTEGRATED WITH THE UNIVERSITY'S FINANCIAL ACCOUNTING SYSTEM. THE SYSTEM ACCUMULATES COSTS ACCORDING TO INDEX, FUND AND ACCOUNT CODE CATEGORIES. ASSOCIATED AND IDENTIFIED WITH EACH FUND ARE VARIOUS ATTRIBUTES SUCH AS PROJECT TITLE, SPONSOR, AND PRINCIPAL.ExplanationTxt

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Housing Allowance Or ResidenceYes (X)HousingAllowanceOrResidenceInd
Written Policy Ref T And E ExpnssYes (1)WrittenPolicyRefTAndEExpnssInd
Substantiation Required0SubstantiationRequiredInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance Payment0SeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr Plan0SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp Arrngm0EquityBasedCompArrngmInd
Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng Org0CompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd On Rev Related Orgs0CompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng Org0CompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd Orgs0CompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd
Any Non Fixed Payments0AnyNonFixedPaymentsInd
Initial Contract Exception0InitialContractExceptionInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (8 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
DR WILLIAM R HARVEY
PRESIDENT$571,054$0$0$0$0$0$350,000$0$43,686$0$964,740$0$0$0
MRS DORETHA J SPELLS
VICE PRESIDENT FOR BUSINESS AFFAIRS$167,370$0$0$0$0$0$0$0$38,679$0$206,049$0$0$0
ATTORNEY FAYE HARDY-LUCAS
VICE PRESIDENT AND GENERAL COUNSEL$140,465$0$0$0$0$0$0$0$32,461$0$172,926$0$0$0
DR PATRICK MCCORMICK
RESEARCH PROFESSOR$297,441$0$0$0$0$0$0$0$68,739$0$366,180$0$0$0
DR JAMES RUSSEL
RESEARCH PROFESSOR$289,743$0$0$0$0$0$0$0$66,960$0$356,703$0$0$0
MR ROBERTY PRUNTY
HEAD FOOTBALL COACH$250,000$0$0$0$0$0$0$0$57,775$0$307,775$0$0$0
DR JOANNA HAYSBERT
PROVOST AND CHANCELLOR$201,669$0$0$0$0$0$0$0$46,606$0$248,275$0$0$0
ATTORNEY PAUL HARRIS
SENIOR VICE PRESIDENT$181,676$0$0$0$0$0$0$0$41,985$0$223,661$0$0$0

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePART I, LINE 1AFormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationHAMPTON UNIVERSITY PROVIDES AN ON-CAMPUS RESIDENCE FOR THE PRESIDENT. THE PRESIDENT MUST LIVE IN THIS RESIDENCE AS A REQUIREMENT FOR THE JOB AND UTILIZE THE RESIDENCE FOR UNIVERSITY BUSINESS PURPOSES. SINCE THE ON-CAMPUS RESIDENCY IS REQUIRED, NONE OF THE BENEFIT WAS TREATED AS TAXABLE COMPENSATION TO THE PRESIDENT.ExplanationTxt

Schedule K IRS990ScheduleK

Tax Exempt Bonds Issues TaxExemptBondsIssuesGrp (3 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdBond Issuer EINBondIssuerEINBond IssuedBondIssuedDtIssue PriceIssuePriceAmtPurposePurposeDescDefeasedDefeasedIndOn Behalf Of IssuerOnBehalfOfIssuerIndPool FinancingPoolFinancingInd
HISTORICALLY BLACK COLLEGES AND UNIVERSITIES CAPITAL FINANCING PROGRAM-2013
A5405059902013-05-31$57,604,377TO LEGALLY DEFEASE 2009 SERIES BONDS000
VIRGINIA SMALL BUSINESS FINANCING AUTHORITY - 2014 SERIES
B5405059902014-11-26$115,090,000TO REFINANCE 2008 AND 2009 SERIES000
VIRGINIA COLLEGE BUILDING AUTHORITY REFUNDING REVENUE BONDS - 2015 SERIES
C5405059902015-07-23$14,240,000TO REFINANCE 2005 SERIES EDUCATIONAL FACILITIES REVENUE AND REFUNDING BONDS000

Tax Exempt Bonds Proceeds TaxExemptBondsProceedsGrp (3 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdRetiredRetiredAmtTotal ProceedsTotalProceedsAmtIn Reserve FundInReserveFundAmtIssuance Costs From ProceedsIssuanceCostsFromProceedsAmtOther Spent ProceedsOtherSpentProceedsAmtSubstantial CompletionSubstantialCompletionYrRefunding Tax Exempt BondsRefundingTaxExemptBondsIndRefunding Taxable BondsRefundingTaxableBondsIndFinal Allocation MadeFinalAllocationMadeIndAdequate Books And Rec MaintAdequateBooksAndRecMaintInd
A$9,159,736$57,604,377$3,448,972$941,500$53,213,9052013Yes (1)0Yes (1)Yes (1)
B$12,050,000$115,090,000$647,162$114,442,83820140Yes (1)Yes (1)Yes (1)
C$8,894,100$14,240,000$14,240,000Yes (1)00Yes (1)

Tax Exempt Bonds Private Bus Use TaxExemptBondsPrivateBusUseGrp (3 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdOwning Bond Financed PropertyOwningBondFinancedPropertyIndAny Lease ArrangementsAnyLeaseArrangementsIndMgmt Contract Bond Fincd PropMgmtContractBondFincdPropIndAny Research AgreementsAnyResearchAgreementsIndBond Iss Meet Prvt Sec Pymt TestBondIssMeetPrvtSecPymtTestIndChange In Use Bond Financed PropChangeInUseBondFinancedPropIndProcs Nonqualified Bond RemdtdProcsNonqualifiedBondRemdtdInd
A0000000
B0000000
C0000000

Tax Exempt Bonds Arbitrage TaxExemptBondsArbitrageGrp (3 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdForm8038 T FiledForm8038TFiledIndVariable Rate IssueVariableRateIssueIndHedge Identified In Bks And RecHedgeIdentifiedInBksAndRecIndGross Proceeds Invested In GICGrossProceedsInvestedInGICIndGross Proceeds InvestedGrossProceedsInvestedIndWritten Proc To Monitor ReqsWrittenProcToMonitorReqsInd
AYes (1)00000
BYes (1)0000Yes (1)
CYes (1)0000Yes (1)

Procedures Corrective Action ProceduresCorrectiveActionGrp (3 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdProcedures Corrective ActionProceduresCorrectiveActionInd
AYes (1)
B0
CYes (1)

Schedule L IRS990ScheduleL

Bus Tr Involve Interested Prsn BusTrInvolveInterestedPrsnGrp

Name Of Interested NameOfInterested

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonNORMA HARVEYPersonNm
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Relationship DescriptionFIRST LADYRelationshipDescriptionTxt
Transaction$40,000TransactionAmt
TransactionFOR SERVICES RENDERED BY HER DIRECTLY FOR THE BENEFIT OF THE UNIVERSITY FOR EVENTS AND RELATED DUTIES AS FIRST LADYTransactionDesc
Sharing Of Revenues0SharingOfRevenuesInd

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (5 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 11BTHE AUDIT COMMITTEE OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES REVIEWS THE FORM 990 PRIOR TO ITS SUBMISSION AT THEIR SCHEDULED MEETING. THEY RECEIVE A COPY IN ADVANCE OF THE MEETING.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 12CTHIS POLICY IS REVIEWED BY A COMMITTEE APPOINTED BY THE PROVOST FOR VIOLATIONS OF, OR REQUESTS FOR EXCEPTIONS. IF VIOLATIONS TO THESE STANDARDS ARE FOUND, OFFICERS, EMPLOYEES OR AGENTS WILL BE SUBJECT TO DISCIPLINARY ACTIONS AS RECOMMENDED BY THE COMMITTEE. DISCIPLINARY ACTIONS MAY INCLUDE LETTERS OF REPRIMAND, SUSPENSIONS, OR TERMINATION OF EMPLOYMENT. THE REVIEW PROCESS IS TO BE COMPLETED WITHIN 30 DAYS AND A WRITTEN RECOMMENDATION MADE TO THE PROVOST AT THAT TIME.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 15THE BOARD REVIEWS THE CURRENT SALARY, COMPARES TO COMPARABLES, AND APPROVES A YEARLY SALARY INCREASE.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION C, LINE 19COPIES ARE PROVIDED UPON REQUEST AND OR INSPECTION IN THE COMPTROLLER'S OFFICE
FORM 990, PART XII, LINE 2CHAMPTON UNIVERSITY HAS AN AUDIT COMMITTEE THAT ASSUMES RESPONSIBILITY FOR OVERSIGHT OF THE AUDIT OF ITS FINANCIAL STATEMENTS AND IS CHARGED WITH SELECTION OF AN INDEPENDENT ACCOUNTANT. THERE HAS BEEN NO CHANGE IN THE PROCESS FROM PRIOR YEARS.

Schedule R IRS990ScheduleR

Id Disregarded Entities IdDisregardedEntitiesGrp (4 entries)

Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityUSAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPUSAddress/ZIPCdPrimary ActivitiesPrimaryActivitiesTxtLegal Domicile StateLegalDomicileStateCdTotal IncomeTotalIncomeAmtEnd Of Year AssetsEndOfYearAssetsAmtBusiness Name Line1DirectControllingEntityName/BusinessNameLine1Txt
HAMPTON ROADS PROTON THERAPY INSTITUTE AT HAMPTON UNIVERSITY LLC
40 ENTERPRISE PKWYHAMPTONVA23666TO PROVIDE PROTON THERAPY IN THE FIGHT AGAINST CANCERVA$17,498,867$127,417,992HAMPTON UNIVERSITY
ATLANTIC REAL ESTATE LLC
100 EAST QUEEN STREETHAMPTONVA23668MULTI TENANT OFFICE BUILDINGVA$1,898,404$20,275,951HAMPTON UNIVERSITY
HAMPTON BB COMPANY LLC
100 EAST QUEEN STREETHAMPTONVA23668OPERATE BLACKSBURG HILTON HOTELVA$0$0HAMPTON UNIVERSITY
HAMPTON W COMPANY LLC
100 EAST QUEEN STREETHAMPTONVA23668OPERATE VIRGINIA BEACH WESTIN HOTELVA$407,097$8,091,125HAMPTON UNIVERSITY

Id Related Tax Exempt Org IdRelatedTaxExemptOrgGrp (2 entries)

Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityUSAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPUSAddress/ZIPCdPrimary ActivitiesPrimaryActivitiesTxtLegal Domicile StateLegalDomicileStateCdExempt Code SectionExemptCodeSectionTxtPublic Charity StatusPublicCharityStatusTxtBusiness Name Line1DirectControllingEntityName/BusinessNameLine1TxtControlled OrganizationControlledOrganizationIndEINEIN
HAMPTON UNIVERSITY MUSEUM FOUNDATION INC
QUEEN AND TYLER STREETHAMPTONVA23668SUPPORT HAMPTON UNIVERSITY MUSEUMVA501(C)(3)11AHAMPTON UNIVERSITYYes (1)
HAMPTON COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT CORPORATION
QUEEN AND TYLER STREETHAMPTONVA23668TO ENHANCE QUALITY OF LIFE IN THE CITY OF HAMPTONVA501(C)(3)7HAMPTON UNIVERSITYYes (1)541667250

Id Related Org Txbl Partnership IdRelatedOrgTxblPartnershipGrp (2 entries)

Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityUSAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPUSAddress/ZIPCdEINEINPrimary ActivitiesPrimaryActivitiesTxtLegal Domicile StateLegalDomicileStateCdBusiness Name Line1DirectControllingEntityName/BusinessNameLine1TxtPredominant Income TypePredominantIncomeTypeTxtShare Of Total IncomeShareOfTotalIncomeAmtShare Of EOY AssetsShareOfEOYAssetsAmtDisproportionate AllocationsDisproportionateAllocationsIndGeneral Or Managing PartnerGeneralOrManagingPartnerInd
HAMPTON CENTRE ASSOCIATES LLP
222 CENTRAL PARK AVENUE STE 2100VIRGINIA BEACHVA23462541401504COMMERCIAL RENTAL REAL ESTATEVAATLANTIC REAL ESTATE LLC (SMLLC OF HU)INVESTMENT$1,898,404$20,275,9510Yes (1)
27TH STREET HOTEL ASSOCIATES LLC
222 CENTRAL PARK AVENUE STE 2100VIRGINIA BEACHVA23462464270584COMMERCIAL RENTAL REAL ESTATEVAHAMPTON UNIVERSITYINVESTMENT$638,330$4,000,52100
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Receipt Of Int Annts Rnts Rylts0ReceiptOfIntAnntsRntsRyltsInd
Gift Grnt Or Cap Contri To Oth Org0GiftGrntOrCapContriToOthOrgInd
Gift Grnt Cap Contri From Oth Org0GiftGrntCapContriFromOthOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees To Other Org0LoansOrGuaranteesToOtherOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees From Oth OrgYes (1)LoansOrGuaranteesFromOthOrgInd
Div Related Organization0DivRelatedOrganizationInd
Asset Sale To Other Org0AssetSaleToOtherOrgInd
Asset Purchase From Other Org0AssetPurchaseFromOtherOrgInd
Asset Exchange0AssetExchangeInd
Rental Of Facilities To Oth Org0RentalOfFacilitiesToOthOrgInd
Rental Of Fclts From Oth Org0RentalOfFcltsFromOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services For Oth Org0PerformOfServicesForOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services By Other Org0PerformOfServicesByOtherOrgInd
Sharing Of Facilities0SharingOfFacilitiesInd
Paid Employees Sharing0PaidEmployeesSharingInd
Reimbursement Paid To Other Org0ReimbursementPaidToOtherOrgInd
Reimbursement Paid By Other Org0ReimbursementPaidByOtherOrgInd
Transfer To Other OrgYes (1)TransferToOtherOrgInd
Transfer From Other OrgYes (1)TransferFromOtherOrgInd

Transactions Related Org TransactionsRelatedOrgGrp (3 entries)

Transaction TypeTransactionTypeTxtInvolvedInvolvedAmtMethod Of Amount DeterminationMethodOfAmountDeterminationTxt
HAMPTON UNIVERSITY MUSEUM FOUNDATION INC
D$252,677CASH
HAMPTON CENTRE ASSOCIATES LLP
S$148,630CASH
HAMPTON UNIVERSITY MUSEUM FOUNDATION INC
R$17,642CASH

Comments

Anonymous: no account or email. Up to 2,000 characters, at most one link. Comments are checked automatically; some wait for review.