SOUTHERN OREGON UNIVERSITY FOUNDATION: Form 990, tax year 2019

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
SOUTHERN OREGON UNIVERSITY FOUNDATION (EIN 23-7030910)
Tax period
2019-07-01 to 2020-06-30
Filed
2021-06-15
IRS object ID
202111669349302151
Schema version
2019v5.0
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2021-06-15T14:24:00-05:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2020-06-30TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN930819646PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1JONES & ROTH PCBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1PO BOX 10086AddressLine1Txt
CityEUGENECityNm
State AbbreviationORStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP97440ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2019-07-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN237030910EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1SOUTHERN OREGON UNIVERSITY FOUNDATIBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlSOUTBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone5415526129PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line11250 SISKIYOU BLVDAddressLine1Txt
CityASHLANDCityNm
State AbbreviationORStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP97520ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonMARC BAYLISSPersonNm
Person TitlePRESIDENTPersonTitleTxt
Phone5415526129PhoneNum
Signature2021-05-20SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (true)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonFRITZ S DUNCANPreparerPersonNm
PTINP00036435PTIN
Phone5416872320PhoneNum
Preparation2021-06-15PreparationDt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2019TaxYr
Build TS2022-09-23 18:48:47ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerJANET FRATELLAPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line11250 SW SISKIYOU BLVDAddressLine1Txt
CityASHLANDCityNm
State AbbreviationORStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP97520ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$4,251,972GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For AffiliatesfalseGroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501c3Yes (X)Organization501c3Ind
Website AddressWWW.SOUFOUNDATION.ORGWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1959FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateORLegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionTHE SOUTHERN OREGON UNIVERSITY FOUNDATION WAS ESTABLISHED TO SUPPORT AND PROMOTE THE EDUCATIONAL, SCIENTIFIC AND CHARITABLE ACTIVITIES OF THE SOUTHERN OREGON UNIVERSITY AND PROGRAMS AND ACTIVITIES OCCURRING ON ITS CAMPUSES OR IN ITS FACILITIES OR UNDERTAKEN BY IT IN COORDINATION WITH OTHER EDUCATIONAL, SCIENTIFIC, OR CHARITABLE INSTITUTIONS. SUPPORTING AND PROMOTING INCLUDES ACTIVITIES TO SOLICIT, ACQUIRE, RECEIVE, OWN, MANAGE, INVEST, AND DISPOSE OF ANY REAL AND PERSONAL PROPERTY FOR THE BENEFIT OF SOUTHERN OREGON UNIVERSITY.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body31VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent31VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee0TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers30TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$0TotalGrossUBIAmt
PY Contributions Grants$3,260,573PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$2,679,545CYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$0CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$1,900,165PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$1,430,989CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$411,121PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$117,168CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$5,571,859PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$4,227,702CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$1,296,277PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$1,343,259CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$0CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$0CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$2,315,981PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$2,405,869CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$3,612,258PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$3,749,128CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$1,959,601PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$478,574CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$33,990,469TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$33,073,601TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$432,594TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$348,445TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$33,557,875NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$32,725,156NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
Info In Schedule O Part IIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartIIIInd
MissionTHE SOUTHERN OREGON UNIVERSITY FOUNDATION WAS ESTABLISHED TO SUPPORT AND PROMOTE THE EDUCATIONAL, SCIENTIFIC AND CHARITABLE ACTIVITIES OF THE SOUTHERN OREGON UNIVERSITY AND PROGRAMS AND ACTIVITIES OCCURRING ON ITS CAMPUSES OR IN ITS FACILITIES OR UNDERTAKEN BY IT IN COORDINATION WITH OTHER EDUCATIONAL, SCIENTIFIC, OR CHARITABLE INSTITUTIONS. SUPPORTING AND PROMOTING INCLUDES ACTIVITIES TO SOLICIT, ACQUIRE, RECEIVE, OWN, MANAGE, INVEST, AND DISPOSE OF ANY REAL AND PERSONAL PROPERTY FOR THE BENEFIT OF SOUTHERN OREGON UNIVERSITY.MissionDesc
Significant New Program SrvcfalseSignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant ChangefalseSignificantChangeInd
Expense$3,147,036ExpenseAmt
Grant$1,343,259GrantAmt
DescTHE SOUTHERN OREGON UNIVERSITY FOUNDATION PROVIDES FUNDS TO SUPPORT AND PROMOTE ACADEMIC AND ATHLETIC PROGRAMS, THE UNIVERSITY ART MUSEUM AND LIBRARY OPERATIONS, AND STUDENT AND ALUMNI ACTIVITIES OF SOUTHERN OREGON UNIVERSITY. THE FOUNDATION PROVIDED 1,323,259 OF SCHOLARSHIPS, GRANTS AND AWARDS TO STUDENTS AND ACADEMIC DEPARTMENTS AND PROGRAMS AT SOUTHERN OREGON UNIVERSITY. SOUTHERN OREGON UNIVERSITY OFFERS 37 MAJORS AND MORE THAN 103 AREAS OF STUDY TO ITS 6,000 STUDENT ENROLLMENT OF UNDERGRADUATES AND GRADUATES.Desc
Total Program Service Expenses$3,147,036TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt
Described In Section501c3Yes (true)DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B RequiredYes (true)ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign ActyfalsePoliticalCampaignActyInd
Lobbying ActivitiesfalseLobbyingActivitiesInd
Subject To Proxy TaxfalseSubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised FundfalseDonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation EasementsfalseConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of ArtYes (true)CollectionsOfArtInd
Credit CounselingfalseCreditCounselingInd
Donor Rstr Or Quasi EndowmentsYes (true)DonorRstrOrQuasiEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (true)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other SecYes (true)ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related InvstfalseReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other AssetsfalseReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (true)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnotefalseIncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (true)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl StmtfalseConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School OperatingfalseSchoolOperatingInd
Foreign OfficefalseForeignOfficeInd
Foreign ActivitiesfalseForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To OrgfalseMoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To IndividualsfalseMoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional FundraisingfalseProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising ActivitiesYes (true)FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming ActivitiesfalseGamingActivitiesInd
Operate HospitalfalseOperateHospitalInd
Grants To OrganizationsfalseGrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To IndividualsYes (true)GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (true)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt BondsfalseTaxExemptBondsInd
Engaged In Excess Benefit TransfalseEngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd
PY Excess Benefit TransfalsePYExcessBenefitTransInd
Loan OutstandingfalseLoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related PersonfalseGrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org MemfalseBusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam MemfalseBusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With35 Ctrl EntfalseBusinessRlnWith35CtrlEntInd
Deductible Non Cash ContriYes (true)DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art ContributionfalseDeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate OperationsfalseTerminateOperationsInd
Partial LiquidationfalsePartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded EntityfalseDisregardedEntityInd
Related EntityfalseRelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl EntfalseRelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd OrgfalseTrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd
Activities Conducted PrtshpfalseActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (true)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document14IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld CompliancefalseBackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee0EmployeeCnt
Unrelated Bus Incm Over LimitfalseUnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Foreign Financial AccountfalseForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter TransfalseProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party NotificationfalseTaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible ContributionsfalseNondeductibleContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo ContributionsYes (true)QuidProQuoContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo Contri DisclYes (true)QuidProQuoContriDisclInd
Form8282 Property Disposed OffalseForm8282PropertyDisposedOfInd
Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft CntrctfalseRcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft CntrctfalsePayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Form8899 FiledindfalseForm8899Filedind
Form1098 C FiledfalseForm1098CFiledInd
Indoor Tanning ServicesfalseIndoorTanningServicesInd
Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht PymtfalseSubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd
Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst IncfalseSubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members31GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member31IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business RlnYes (true)FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt DutiesfalseDelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org DocumentsfalseChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or MisusefalseMaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or StockholdersfalseMembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersfalseElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To ApprovafalseDecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (true)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (true)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing AddressfalseOfficerMailingAddressInd
Local ChaptersYes (true)LocalChaptersInd
Policies Reference ChaptersfalsePoliciesReferenceChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (true)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (true)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (true)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (true)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (true)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (true)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOfalseCompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherfalseCompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint VenturefalseInvestmentInJointVentureInd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldORStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
Own WebsiteYes (X)OwnWebsiteInd
Other WebsiteYes (X)OtherWebsiteInd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonANDREW GASTPersonNm
Phone5415526129PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line11250 SISKIYOU BLVDAddressLine1Txt
CityASHLANDCityNm
State AbbreviationORStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP97520ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (33 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmt
MARC BAYLISS
PRESIDENT1.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
SUE KUPILLAS
VICE PRESIDE1.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
GREG KOENIG
TREASURER1.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
DEBRA LEE
SECRETARY1.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
DAN THORNDIKE
PAST PRESIDE1.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
LAZ AYALA
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
VANCE BEACH
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
KELLY COATES
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
SUE COLLINS
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
JEFF CUTLER
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
JEFF DEBOER
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
SID DEBOER
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
ART DIEDERICH
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
CHRISTINE DONCHIN
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
BONNIE EVANS
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
PEG EVANS
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
SANDY FRIEND
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
BETSY GENTRY
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
DAVE HYATT
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
SHERI LOYA
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
BLAIR MOODY
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
DOUG MORSE
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
ALEXIS PACKER
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
GENE PELHAM
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
LORE RUTZ-BURRI
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
KACIE RYAN
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
BARBARA SAIGO
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
JIM TEECE
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
RYAN WINES
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
RON WORLAND
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
DAVID WRIGHT
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
JANET FRATELLA
EXECUTIVE DI40.00Yes (X)$0$163,884$80,529
ANDREW GAST
DIRECTOR OF40.00Yes (X)$0$81,955$46,285
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$245,839TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$126,814TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Former Ofcr Employees ListedfalseFormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (true)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other SrcsfalseCompensationFromOtherSrcsInd
All Other Contributions$2,679,545AllOtherContributionsAmt
Noncash Contributions$182,232NoncashContributionsAmt
Total Contributions$2,679,545TotalContributionsAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$1,385,816TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$1,385,816ExclusionAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$45,173SecuritiesAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$45,173SecuritiesAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$45,173TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$45,173RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Fundraising Gross Income$141,465FundraisingGrossIncomeAmt
Fundraising Direct Expenses$24,270FundraisingDirectExpensesAmt

Net Incm From Fundraising Evt NetIncmFromFundraisingEvtGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$117,195TotalRevenueColumnAmt

Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescGIFT FEEDesc
Total Revenue Column-$27TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income-$27RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total-$27OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$4,227,702TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$45,146RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Exclusion$1,385,816ExclusionAmt

Grants To Domestic Individuals GrantsToDomesticIndividualsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,343,259TotalAmt
Program Services$1,343,259ProgramServicesAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$28,700TotalAmt
Management And General$28,700ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Srvc Invst Mgmnt Fees FeesForSrvcInvstMgmntFeesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$21,138TotalAmt
Management And General$21,138ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$6,546TotalAmt
Management And General$6,546ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$107,102TotalAmt
Management And General$107,102ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$21,891TotalAmt
Management And General$21,891ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$4,087TotalAmt
Management And General$4,087ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$5,257TotalAmt
Management And General$5,257ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmtProgram ServicesProgramServicesAmtManagement And GeneralManagementAndGeneralAmt
PROGRAM SUPPORT$1,315,827$1,315,827
OTHER ADMINISTRATIVE EXP$481,654$208,962$272,692
OTHER ADMIN EXPENSES$327,657$278,988$48,669
TELEPHONE$43,121$43,121

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$42,889TotalAmt
Management And General$42,889ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,749,128TotalAmt
Program Services$3,147,036ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$602,092ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$853,385BOYAmt
EOY$607,900EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$71,984BOYAmt
EOY$89,645EOYAmt

Pledges And Grants Receivable PledgesAndGrantsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$596,664BOYAmt
EOY$387,485EOYAmt

Inventories For Sale Or Use InventoriesForSaleOrUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$15,853BOYAmt
EOY$17,151EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$1,114,125LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,114,125BOYAmt
EOY$1,114,125EOYAmt

Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$31,287,212BOYAmt
EOY$30,835,787EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$51,246BOYAmt
EOY$21,508EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$33,990,469BOYAmt
EOY$33,073,601EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$60,653BOYAmt
EOY$53,976EOYAmt

Deferred Revenue DeferredRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$169,770BOYAmt
EOY$66,900EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$202,171BOYAmt
EOY$227,569EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$432,594BOYAmt
EOY$348,445EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Organization Follows FASB117Yes (X)OrganizationFollowsFASB117Ind

No Donor Restriction Net Assets NoDonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,564,314BOYAmt
EOY$2,759,782EOYAmt

Donor Restriction Net Assets DonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$30,993,561BOYAmt
EOY$29,965,374EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$33,557,875BOYAmt
EOY$32,725,156EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$33,990,469BOYAmt
EOY$33,073,601EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part XIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$478,574ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst-$1,177,456NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Investment Expense-$133,837InvestmentExpenseAmt
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or ReviewfalseAccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (true)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Separate Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (true)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit RequiredfalseFederalGrantAuditRequiredInd

Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
College OrganizationYes (X)CollegeOrganizationInd

Gifts Grants Contri Rcvd170 GiftsGrantsContriRcvd170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$2,336,776CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$2,852,283CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$2,613,739CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$3,260,573CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$2,679,545CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$13,742,916TotalAmt

Govt Furn Srvc Fclts Vl170 GovtFurnSrvcFcltsVl170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$619,872CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$638,544CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$626,011CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$741,453CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$882,689CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$3,508,569TotalAmt

Total Calendar Year170 TotalCalendarYear170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$2,956,648CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$3,490,827CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$3,239,750CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$4,002,026CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$3,562,234CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$17,251,485TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Public Support Total170$17,251,485PublicSupportTotal170Amt

Gross Investment Income170 GrossInvestmentIncome170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$600,577CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$285,401CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$375,395CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$1,824,476CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$1,385,816CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$4,471,665TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Support$21,723,150TotalSupportAmt
Gross Receipts Rltd Activities$904,930GrossReceiptsRltdActivitiesAmt
Public Support CY1700.79420PublicSupportCY170Pct
Public Support PY1700.78700PublicSupportPY170Pct
Thirty Thr Pct Suprt Tests CY170Yes (X)ThirtyThrPctSuprtTestsCY170Ind

Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB

Contributor Information ContributorInformationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
ContributorRESTRICTEDContributorNum

Contributor Business Name ContributorBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1RESTRICTEDBusinessNameLine1

Contributor US Address ContributorUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1RESTRICTEDAddressLine1
Address Line2RESTRICTEDAddressLine2
CityRESTRICTEDCity
StateRESTRICTEDState
ZIP CodeRESTRICTEDZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total ContributionsRESTRICTEDTotalContributionsAmt

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

Art Public Exhibition Amounts ArtPublicExhibitionAmountsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Assets Included$21,508AssetsIncludedAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Collection Used Pub ExhibitionYes (X)CollectionUsedPubExhibitionInd
Coll Used Scholarly RsrchYes (X)CollUsedScholarlyRsrchInd
Solicited Assets SalefalseSolicitedAssetsSaleInd

CY Endwmt Fund CYEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$28,098,633BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$590,970ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses-$10,998InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$1,485,607OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$27,192,998EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus1 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus1YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$27,415,068BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$730,396ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$1,354,825InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$1,401,656OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$28,098,633EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus2 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus2YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$24,457,209BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$526,833ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$2,499,629InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$1,068,603OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$27,415,068EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus3 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus3YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$22,396,265BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$691,892ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$3,626,480InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$1,257,428OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$25,457,209EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus4 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus4YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$23,087,687BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$940,269ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$40,107InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$1,671,798OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$22,396,265EndYearBalanceAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Endowments Held Unrelated OrgfalseEndowmentsHeldUnrelatedOrgInd
Endowments Held Related OrgfalseEndowmentsHeldRelatedOrgInd

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Investment Cost Or Other Basis$1,015,125InvestmentCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Other Cost Or Other Basis$90,000OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$1,105,125BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$9,000OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$9,000BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$1,114,125TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Other Securities OtherSecuritiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Book Value$30,835,787BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Securities$30,835,787TotalBookValueSecuritiesAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (2 entries)

DescDescAmtAmt
OBLIGATIONS FOR SPLIT-INT AGREEMENTS$215,877
ACCOUNTS PAYABLE$11,692
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$227,569TotalLiabilityAmt
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$3,823,043TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Net Unrealized Gains Invst-$1,177,456NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt
Donated Services And Use Fclts$882,364DonatedServicesAndUseFcltsAmt
Other Revenue$24,270OtherRevenueAmt
Revenue Not Reported-$270,822RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$4,093,865RevenueSubtotalAmt
Investment Expenses Not Incld$133,837InvestmentExpensesNotIncldAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$133,837RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$4,227,702TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$4,655,762TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Donated Services Use Fclts$882,364DonatedServicesUseFcltsAmt
Other Expenses Included$24,270OtherExpensesIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Reported$906,634ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$3,749,128ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$3,749,128TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (3 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
SCHEDULE D, PAGE 2, PART V, LINE 4THE FOUNDATION'S ENDOWMENT CONSISTS OF APPROXIMATELY 196 INDIVIDUAL FUNDS ESTABLISHED FOR A VARIETY OF PURPOSES. ITS ENDOWMENT INCLUDES BOTH DONOR- RESTRICTED ENDOWMENT FUNDS AND FUNDS DESIGNATED BY THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES.
SCHEDULE D, PAGE 4, PART XI, LINE 2DDIRECT FUNDRAISING 24,270
SCHEDULE D, PAGE 4, PART XII, LINE 2DDIRECT FUNDRAISING 24,270

Schedule G IRS990ScheduleG

Fundraising Event Information FundraisingEventInformationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Event1VARIOUSEvent1Nm
Gross Receipts Event1$141,465GrossReceiptsEvent1Amt
Gross Revenue Event1$141,465GrossRevenueEvent1Amt
Other Direct Expenses Event1$24,270OtherDirectExpensesEvent1Amt
Gross Receipts Total$141,465GrossReceiptsTotalAmt
Gross Revenue Total Events$141,465GrossRevenueTotalEventsAmt
Oth Direct Expnss Total Events$24,270OthDirectExpnssTotalEventsAmt
Direct Expense Summary Events$24,270DirectExpenseSummaryEventsAmt
Net Income Summary$117,195NetIncomeSummaryAmt

Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant Records MaintainedfalseGrantRecordsMaintainedInd

Grants Other Asst To Indiv In US GrantsOtherAsstToIndivInUSGrp (2 entries)

Grant TypeGrantTypeTxtCash GrantCashGrantAmt
SOU SCHOLARSHIPS$1,323,259
SOU GRANTS$20,000

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Severance PaymentfalseSeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr PlanfalseSupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp ArrngmfalseEquityBasedCompArrngmInd
Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng OrgfalseCompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd On Rev Related OrgsfalseCompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng OrgfalseCompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd OrgsfalseCompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd
Any Non Fixed PaymentsfalseAnyNonFixedPaymentsInd
Initial Contract ExceptionfalseInitialContractExceptionInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonJANET FRATELLAPersonNm
TitleEXECUTIVE DIRECTORTitleTxt
Compensation Based On Rltd Orgs$163,884CompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmt
Deferred Comp Rltd Orgs$80,529DeferredCompRltdOrgsAmt
Total Compensation Rltd Orgs$244,413TotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmt

Schedule M IRS990ScheduleM

Securities Publicly Traded SecuritiesPubliclyTradedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Non Cash CheckboxYes (X)NonCashCheckboxInd
Contribution1ContributionCnt
Noncash Contributions Rpt F990$70,118NoncashContributionsRptF990Amt

Other Non Cash Contri Table OtherNonCashContriTableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Non Cash CheckboxYes (X)NonCashCheckboxInd
Contribution2ContributionCnt
Noncash Contributions Rpt F990$112,114NoncashContributionsRptF990Amt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Any Property That Must Be HeldfalseAnyPropertyThatMustBeHeldInd
Review Process Unusual NC GiftsfalseReviewProcessUnusualNCGiftsInd
Third Parties UsedfalseThirdPartiesUsedInd

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (8 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
FORM 990 - ORGANIZATION'S MISSIONTHE SOUTHERN OREGON UNIVERSITY FOUNDATION WAS ESTABLISHED TO SUPPORT AND PROMOTE THE EDUCATIONAL, SCIENTIFIC AND CHARITABLE ACTIVITIES OF THE SOUTHERN OREGON UNIVERSITY AND PROGRAMS AND ACTIVITIES OCCURRING ON ITS CAMPUSES OR IN ITS FACILITIES OR UNDERTAKEN BY IT IN COORDINATION WITH OTHER EDUCATIONAL, SCIENTIFIC, OR CHARITABLE INSTITUTIONS. SUPPORTING AND PROMOTING INCLUDES ACTIVITIES TO SOLICIT, ACQUIRE, RECEIVE, OWN, MANAGE, INVEST, AND DISPOSE OF ANY REAL AND PERSONAL PROPERTY FOR THE BENEFIT OF SOUTHERN OREGON UNIVERSITY.
FORM 990, PAGE 1, PART I, LINE 6-
FORM 990, PAGE 6, PART VI, LINE 2SID DEBOER JEFF DEBOER TRUSTEE TRUSTEE FATHER/SON
FORM 990, PAGE 6, PART VI, LINE 10BTHE ORGANIZATION HAS WRITTEN POLICIES THAT GOVERN ACTIVITIES OF CHAPTERS AND AFFILIATES TO ENSURE THEIR OPERATIONS ARE CONSISTENT WITH THE ORGANIZATION'S EXEMPT PURPOSE
FORM 990, PAGE 6, PART VI, LINE 11BSOUF DIRECTOR OF FINANCE PRESENTS THE FINANCE COMMITTEE WITH A PAPER COPY OF THE FORM 990. THEY REVIEW THE FORM AND THEN AUTHORIZE IT BEFORE SIGNING THE FORM 990.
FORM 990, PAGE 6, PART VI, LINE 12CA MAJORITY OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES WOULD NOT BE IN A POSITION WHERE THEY WOULD BE INVOLVED WITH THE SOU FOUNDATION. SINCE THESE RELATIONSHIPS ARE NOT ROUTINE, THEY ARE EASILY IDENTIFIABLE AND THE DIRECTOR OF FINANCE CLOSELY MONITORS AND REVIEWS ALL TRANSACTIONS.
FORM 990, PAGE 6, PART VI, LINE 19COPIES OF ALL DOCUMENTS ARE MAINTAINED ON FILE AND ARE AVAILABLE UPON REQUEST.
FORM 990, PART XI, LINE 9DIRECT FUNDRAISING 24,270 DIRECT FUNDRAISING -24,270

Comments

Anonymous: no account or email. Up to 2,000 characters, at most one link. Comments are checked automatically; some wait for review.