COMMONWEALTH SCHOOL INC: Form 990, tax year 2019

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
COMMONWEALTH SCHOOL INC (EIN 04-2228167)
Tax period
2019-07-01 to 2020-06-30
Filed
2021-05-17
IRS object ID
202111379349301466
Schema version
2019v5.1
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2021-05-17T06:57:20-07:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2020-06-30TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1BERNARD JOHNSON & COMPANY PCBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line115 MAIN STREETAddressLine1Txt
CityTOPSFIELDCityNm
State AbbreviationMAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP01983ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2019-07-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN042228167EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1THE COMMONWEALTH SCHOOL INCBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlCOMMBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone6172667525PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1151 COMMONWEALTH AVENUEAddressLine1Txt
CityBOSTONCityNm
State AbbreviationMAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP021162347ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonWILLIAM WHARTONPersonNm
Person TitleHEADMASTERPersonTitleTxt
Phone6172667525PhoneNum
Signature2021-04-09SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (true)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonTimothy F Hagan CPAPreparerPersonNm
PTINP00365920PTIN
Phone9788872220PhoneNum
Preparation2021-05-17PreparationDt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2019TaxYr
Build TS2022-09-23 18:48:47ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerJohn DowdPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1151 Commonwealth AveAddressLine1Txt
CityBostonCityNm
State AbbreviationMAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP02116ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$10,677,504GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For AffiliatesfalseGroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501c3Yes (X)Organization501c3Ind
Website Addresswww.commschool.orgWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1957FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateMALegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionSECONDARY SCHOOL EDUCATIONActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body26VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent25VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee82TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers42TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$0TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$0NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$2,720,878PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$2,181,025CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$6,671,781PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$6,336,093CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$1,247,844PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$486,909CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$10,049PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$47,520CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$10,650,552PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$9,051,547CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$1,377,266PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$1,273,563CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$5,508,558PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$5,516,439CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$166,649CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$1,961,142PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$1,899,355CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$8,846,966PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$8,689,357CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$1,803,586PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$362,190CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$30,779,434TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$31,055,876TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$2,048,955TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$1,927,755TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$28,730,479NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$29,128,121NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
MissionSECONDARY SCHOOL EDUCATIONMissionDesc
Significant New Program SrvcfalseSignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant ChangefalseSignificantChangeInd
Expense$6,063,402ExpenseAmt
Grant$1,273,563GrantAmt
Revenue$6,189,547RevenueAmt
DescEDUCATIONAL INSTITUTION - HIGH SCHOOL (GRADES 9-12) STUDENT ENROLLMENT = 133Desc
Total Program Service Expenses$6,063,402TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt
Described In Section501c3Yes (true)DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B RequiredYes (true)ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign ActyfalsePoliticalCampaignActyInd
Lobbying ActivitiesfalseLobbyingActivitiesInd
Subject To Proxy TaxfalseSubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised FundfalseDonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation EasementsfalseConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of ArtfalseCollectionsOfArtInd
Credit CounselingfalseCreditCounselingInd
Donor Rstr Or Quasi EndowmentsYes (true)DonorRstrOrQuasiEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (true)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other SecfalseReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related InvstfalseReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other AssetsfalseReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (true)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnotefalseIncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (true)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl StmtfalseConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School OperatingYes (true)SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign OfficefalseForeignOfficeInd
Foreign ActivitiesfalseForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To OrgfalseMoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To IndividualsfalseMoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional FundraisingfalseProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising ActivitiesfalseFundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming ActivitiesfalseGamingActivitiesInd
Operate HospitalfalseOperateHospitalInd
Grants To OrganizationsfalseGrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To IndividualsYes (true)GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (true)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt BondsfalseTaxExemptBondsInd
Engaged In Excess Benefit TransfalseEngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd
PY Excess Benefit TransfalsePYExcessBenefitTransInd
Loan OutstandingYes (true)LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related PersonfalseGrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org MemfalseBusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam MemfalseBusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With35 Ctrl EntfalseBusinessRlnWith35CtrlEntInd
Deductible Non Cash ContriYes (true)DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art ContributionfalseDeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate OperationsfalseTerminateOperationsInd
Partial LiquidationfalsePartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded EntityfalseDisregardedEntityInd
Related EntityfalseRelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl EntfalseRelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Transaction With Control EntfalseTransactionWithControlEntInd
Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd OrgfalseTrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd
Activities Conducted PrtshpfalseActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (true)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document38IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (true)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee82EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (true)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over LimitfalseUnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Foreign Financial AccountfalseForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter TransfalseProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party NotificationfalseTaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible ContributionsfalseNondeductibleContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo ContributionsfalseQuidProQuoContributionsInd
Form8282 Property Disposed OffalseForm8282PropertyDisposedOfInd
Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft CntrctfalseRcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft CntrctfalsePayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
DAF Excess Business HoldingsfalseDAFExcessBusinessHoldingsInd
Taxable DistributionsfalseTaxableDistributionsInd
Distribution To DonorfalseDistributionToDonorInd
Indoor Tanning ServicesfalseIndoorTanningServicesInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members26GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member25IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business RlnfalseFamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt DutiesfalseDelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org DocumentsfalseChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or MisusefalseMaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or StockholdersfalseMembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersfalseElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To ApprovafalseDecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (true)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (true)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing AddressfalseOfficerMailingAddressInd
Local ChaptersfalseLocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (true)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (true)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (true)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (true)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (true)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (true)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (true)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (true)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint VenturefalseInvestmentInJointVentureInd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldMAStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonSUE TIBERTPersonNm
Phone6172667525PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1151 COMMONWEALTH AVENUEAddressLine1Txt
CityBOSTONCityNm
State AbbreviationMAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP02116ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (26 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtKey EmployeeKeyEmployeeIndHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd
THERESE HENDRICKS
CHAIRPERSON2.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
MAX KOHLENBERG
CLERK2.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
JOSE ALVAREZ
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
FREDERICK EWALD
TRUSTREE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
CHARLES FRIED
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MARY PACI
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
KENNETH PUCKER
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
JEFFREY SCHWARTZ
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
ELIZABETH BAILEY
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MARY P CHATFIELD
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
ANDREW HALL
TREASURER2.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
JULIA HEWITT HOLLOWAY
TRUSTEE2.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
JUDITH SANFORD-HARRIS
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
JOHN DOWD
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MARK FINCH
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MARIE LOSSKY
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
BOB MURCHISON
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
JONATHAN SHEFFI
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
BRYAN ERIC SIMMONS
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
CATHRYN STEIN
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
RICHARD ZECKHAUSER
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
ANNA FITZLOFF
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
SUSAN KLUVER
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
AMY MERRILL
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
ROBIN ORWANT
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
WILLIAM WHARTON
HEADMASTER40.00$233,283$0$37,826Yes (X)Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$233,283TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$37,826TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K1IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees ListedfalseFormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (true)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other SrcsfalseCompensationFromOtherSrcsInd
All Other Contributions$2,181,025AllOtherContributionsAmt
Noncash Contributions$342,434NoncashContributionsAmt
Total Contributions$2,181,025TotalContributionsAmt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (2 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtUnrelated Business RevenueUnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmtExclusionExclusionAmt
TUITION & FEES611710$6,327,993$0$0
APPLICATION FEES611710$8,100$0$0
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$6,336,093TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$242,727TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$242,727ExclusionAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$1,870,139SecuritiesAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$1,625,957SecuritiesAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$244,182SecuritiesAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$244,182TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$0RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$244,182ExclusionAmt

Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescMISC INCOMEDesc
Business611710BusinessCd
Total Revenue Column$47,520TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$47,520RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$0ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total$47,520OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$9,051,547TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$6,383,613RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$486,909ExclusionAmt

Grants To Domestic Individuals GrantsToDomesticIndividualsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,273,563TotalAmt
Program Services$1,273,563ProgramServicesAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt
Program Services$0ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$0ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$4,367,835TotalAmt
Program Services$3,008,606ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$1,330,187ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$29,042FundraisingAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$293,232TotalAmt
Program Services$201,981ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$89,301ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$1,950FundraisingAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$549,079TotalAmt
Program Services$378,210ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$167,218ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$3,651FundraisingAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$306,293TotalAmt
Program Services$211,387ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$92,878ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$2,028FundraisingAmt

Fees For Services Management FeesForServicesManagementGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$24,290TotalAmt
Program Services$24,290ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$0ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$53,705TotalAmt
Program Services$0ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$53,705ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$36,400TotalAmt
Program Services$0ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$36,400ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$42,152TotalAmt
Program Services$0ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$42,152ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$148,602TotalAmt
Program Services$79,224ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$68,613ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$765FundraisingAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$6,780TotalAmt
Program Services$0ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$0ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$6,780FundraisingAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$402,624TotalAmt
Program Services$350,764ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$51,860ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$16,512TotalAmt
Program Services$0ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$16,512ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmtProgram ServicesProgramServicesAmtManagement And GeneralManagementAndGeneralAmtFundraisingFundraisingAmt
ADMISSIONS$75,829$75,829$0$0
GENERAL EXPENSE$445,714$94,094$351,620$0
DINING ROOM EXPENSE$51,049$51,049$0$0
SUPPLIES$232,477$196,839$35,448$190

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$363,221TotalAmt
Program Services$117,566ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$123,412ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$122,243FundraisingAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$8,689,357TotalAmt
Program Services$6,063,402ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$2,459,306ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$166,649FundraisingAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$150BOYAmt
EOY$150EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,184,907BOYAmt
EOY$5,329,210EOYAmt

Pledges And Grants Receivable PledgesAndGrantsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,881,092BOYAmt
EOY$1,642,661EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$199,837BOYAmt
EOY$41,030EOYAmt

Receivables From Officers Etc ReceivablesFromOfficersEtcGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$223,418BOYAmt
EOY$211,121EOYAmt

Oth Notes Loans Receivable Net OthNotesLoansReceivableNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$55,020BOYAmt
EOY$51,000EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$98,651BOYAmt
EOY$96,511EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$12,620,169LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$2,904,819LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$10,089,814BOYAmt
EOY$9,715,350EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$15,046,545BOYAmt
EOY$13,968,843EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$30,779,434BOYAmt
EOY$31,055,876EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$688,402BOYAmt
EOY$633,309EOYAmt

Deferred Revenue DeferredRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,036,264BOYAmt
EOY$1,010,633EOYAmt

Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$58,864BOYAmt
EOY$43,463EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$265,425BOYAmt
EOY$240,350EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,048,955BOYAmt
EOY$1,927,755EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Organization Follows FASB117Yes (X)OrganizationFollowsFASB117Ind

No Donor Restriction Net Assets NoDonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$18,314,506BOYAmt
EOY$19,092,809EOYAmt

Donor Restriction Net Assets DonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$10,415,973BOYAmt
EOY$10,035,312EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$28,730,479BOYAmt
EOY$29,128,121EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$30,779,434BOYAmt
EOY$31,055,876EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$362,190ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Donated Services And Use Fclts$35,452DonatedServicesAndUseFcltsAmt
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or ReviewfalseAccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (true)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Separate Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (true)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit RequiredfalseFederalGrantAuditRequiredInd

Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
SchoolYes (X)SchoolInd
Other Support Sum$0OtherSupportSumAmt
Public Support CY1700PublicSupportCY170Pct
Public Support Total509$0PublicSupportTotal509Amt
Public Support CY5090PublicSupportCY509Pct
Investment Income CY0InvestmentIncomeCYPct

Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB

Contributor Information ContributorInformationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
ContributorRESTRICTEDContributorNum

Contributor Business Name ContributorBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1RESTRICTEDBusinessNameLine1

Contributor US Address ContributorUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1RESTRICTEDAddressLine1
Address Line2RESTRICTEDAddressLine2
CityRESTRICTEDCity
StateRESTRICTEDState
ZIP CodeRESTRICTEDZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total ContributionsRESTRICTEDTotalContributionsAmt

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

CY Endwmt Fund CYEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$9,027,309BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$500ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$274,813InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$796,522OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$8,506,100EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus1 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus1YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$9,019,608BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$500,000ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$261,064InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$753,363OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$9,027,309EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus2 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus2YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$8,977,066BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$0ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$903,887InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$861,345OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$9,019,608EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus3 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus3YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$8,842,842BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$133,550ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$847,149InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$846,475OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$8,977,066EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus4 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus4YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$8,496,257BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$790,325ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$0InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$443,740OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$8,842,842EndYearBalanceAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Endowments Held Unrelated OrgYes (true)EndowmentsHeldUnrelatedOrgInd
Endowments Held Related OrgfalseEndowmentsHeldRelatedOrgInd

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Investment Cost Or Other Basis$0InvestmentCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Other Cost Or Other Basis$86,443OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$86,443BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$11,383,860OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$2,003,187DepreciationAmt
Book Value$9,380,673BookValueAmt

Leasehold Improvements LeaseholdImprovementsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$67,358OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$27,566DepreciationAmt
Book Value$39,792BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$1,065,381OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$874,066DepreciationAmt
Book Value$191,315BookValueAmt

Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$17,127OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$0DepreciationAmt
Book Value$17,127BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$9,715,350TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescDepositsDesc
Amt$240,350Amt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$240,350TotalLiabilityAmt
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$7,788,546TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Donated Services And Use Fclts$35,452DonatedServicesAndUseFcltsAmt
Revenue Not Reported$35,452RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$7,753,094RevenueSubtotalAmt
Investment Expenses Not Incld$24,890InvestmentExpensesNotIncldAmt
Other Revenues Not Included$1,273,563OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$1,298,453RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$9,051,547TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$7,390,904TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Expenses Subtotal$7,390,904ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Investment Expenses Not Incld2$24,890InvestmentExpensesNotIncld2Amt
Other Expenses Not Included$1,273,563OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$1,298,453ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$8,689,357TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Pt XI, Line 4bThe School provided student financial aid
Pt XII, Line 4bThe School provided student financial aid

Schedule E IRS990ScheduleE

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Nondiscriminatory Policy StmtYes (true)NondiscriminatoryPolicyStmtInd
Policy Stmt In Brochures EtcYes (true)PolicyStmtInBrochuresEtcInd
Plcy Pblczd Via Broadcast MediaYes (true)PlcyPblczdViaBroadcastMediaInd
Maintain Racial Comp RecsYes (true)MaintainRacialCompRecsInd
Maintain Scholarships RecsYes (true)MaintainScholarshipsRecsInd
Maintain Cpy Of Brochures EtcYes (true)MaintainCpyOfBrochuresEtcInd
Maintain Cpy Of All SolYes (true)MaintainCpyOfAllSolInd
Discriminate Race Stdnts RghtsfalseDiscriminateRaceStdntsRghtsInd
Discriminate Race Admiss PlcyfalseDiscriminateRaceAdmissPlcyInd
Discriminate Race Emplm FcultyfalseDiscriminateRaceEmplmFcultyInd
Discriminate Race SchsfalseDiscriminateRaceSchsInd
Discriminate Race Educ PlcyfalseDiscriminateRaceEducPlcyInd
Discriminate Race Use Of FcltsfalseDiscriminateRaceUseOfFcltsInd
Discriminate Race Athlt ProgfalseDiscriminateRaceAthltProgInd
Discriminate Race Other ActyfalseDiscriminateRaceOtherActyInd
Government Financial Aid RcvdfalseGovernmentFinancialAidRcvdInd
Government Financial Aid RvkdfalseGovernmentFinancialAidRvkdInd
Compliance With Rev Proc7550Yes (true)ComplianceWithRevProc7550Ind

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceLine 3FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationTHE BOSTON GLOBE, DECEMBER 6, 2020 No add'l space neededExplanationTxt

Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant Records MaintainedYes (true)GrantRecordsMaintainedInd

Grants Other Asst To Indiv In US GrantsOtherAsstToIndivInUSGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant TypeFinancial AidGrantTypeTxt
Recipient44RecipientCnt
Cash Grant$0CashGrantAmt
Non Cash Assistance$1,319,600NonCashAssistanceAmt
Valuation Method UsedFMVValuationMethodUsedDesc
Non Cash AssistanceReduced tuitionNonCashAssistanceDesc

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Severance PaymentfalseSeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr PlanfalseSupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp ArrngmfalseEquityBasedCompArrngmInd
Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng OrgfalseCompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd On Rev Related OrgsfalseCompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng OrgfalseCompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd OrgsfalseCompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd
Any Non Fixed PaymentsfalseAnyNonFixedPaymentsInd
Initial Contract ExceptionfalseInitialContractExceptionInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonWILLIAM WHARTONPersonNm
Base Compensation Filing Org$233,283BaseCompensationFilingOrgAmt
Compensation Based On Rltd Orgs$0CompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmt
Bonus Filing Organization$0BonusFilingOrganizationAmount
Bonus Related Organizations$0BonusRelatedOrganizationsAmt
Other Compensation Filing Org$0OtherCompensationFilingOrgAmt
Other Compensation Rltd Orgs$0OtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmt
Deferred Compensation Flng Org$21,743DeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmt
Deferred Comp Rltd Orgs$0DeferredCompRltdOrgsAmt
Nontaxable Benefits Filing Org$16,083NontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmt
Nontaxable Benefits Rltd Orgs$0NontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmt
Total Compensation Filing Org$271,109TotalCompensationFilingOrgAmt
Total Compensation Rltd Orgs$0TotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmt
Comp Report Prior990 Filing Org$21,510CompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmt
Comp Report Prior990 Rltd Orgs$0CompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt

Schedule L IRS990ScheduleL

Loans Btwn Org Interested Prsn LoansBtwnOrgInterestedPrsnGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonWILLIAM WHARTONPersonNm
Relationship With OrgHeadmasterRelationshipWithOrgTxt
Loan PurposeHousing and tuitionLoanPurposeTxt
Loan From OrganizationYes (X)LoanFromOrganizationInd
Original Principal$309,525OriginalPrincipalAmt
Balance Due$211,121BalanceDueAmt
DefaultfalseDefaultInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (true)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Written AgreementYes (true)WrittenAgreementInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Balance Due$211,121TotalBalanceDueAmt

Schedule M IRS990ScheduleM

Securities Publicly Traded SecuritiesPubliclyTradedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Non Cash CheckboxYes (X)NonCashCheckboxInd
Contribution9ContributionCnt
Noncash Contributions Rpt F990$342,434NoncashContributionsRptF990Amt
Method Of Determining RevenuesFAIR MARKET VALUEMethodOfDeterminingRevenuesTxt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Any Property That Must Be HeldfalseAnyPropertyThatMustBeHeldInd
Review Process Unusual NC GiftsYes (true)ReviewProcessUnusualNCGiftsInd
Third Parties UsedYes (true)ThirdPartiesUsedInd

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Pt I Line 32bThe School uses Merrill Lynch to receive, sell, and forward
Pt I Line 32bproceeds from the sale of donated stock.

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (6 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Pt VI, Line 11bThe Audit Committee and Treasurer review and approve the
Pt VI, Line 11bForm 990 filing.
Pt VI, Line 12cAll Officers, Directors and Trustees are made aware of the
Pt VI, Line 12cconflict of interest policy.
Pt VI, Line 15aThe Headmaster's salary is determined by the Head's compensation committee (which includes the Board Chair and Treasurer).
Pt VI, Line 15bAll other salaries are reviewed and approved by the Headmaster on an annual basis. All salary changes are based on cost of living adjustments and comparability data provided by the National Association of Independent Schools.

Comments

Anonymous: no account or email. Up to 2,000 characters, at most one link. Comments are checked automatically; some wait for review.