CREDIT UNIONS CHARTERED IN THE STATE OF MICHIGAN: Form 990, tax year 2020
View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗
- Organization
- CREDIT UNIONS CHARTERED IN THE STATE OF MICHIGAN (EIN 38-0893210)
- Tax period
- 2020-01-01 to 2020-12-31
- Filed
- 2021-11-03
- IRS object ID
- 202103079349301375
- Schema version
- 2020v4.1
- Source
- Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica
Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.
Return header ReturnHeader
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Return | 2021-11-03T21:03:02-05:00 | ReturnTs |
| Tax Period End | 2020-12-31 | TaxPeriodEndDt |
Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Preparer Firm EIN | 382492570 | PreparerFirmEIN |
Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | DOEREN MAYHEW | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 305 WEST BIG BEAVER ROAD | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | TROY | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | MI | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 48084 | ZIPCd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Return Type | 990 | ReturnTypeCd |
| Tax Period Begin | 2020-01-01 | TaxPeriodBeginDt |
Filer Filer
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| EIN | 380893210 | EIN |
Business Name BusinessName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | LAFCU | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Control | LAFC | BusinessNameControlTxt |
| Phone | 5176226600 | PhoneNum |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 106 N MARKETPLACE BOULEVARD | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | LANSING | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | MI | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 48917 | ZIPCd |
Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Person | PATRICK SPYKE | PersonNm |
| Person Title | CEO | PersonTitleTxt |
| Phone | 5176226600 | PhoneNum |
| Signature | 2021-11-02 | SignatureDt |
| Discuss With Paid Preparer | Yes (1) | DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd |
Signing Officer SigningOfficerGrp
Person Full Name PersonFullName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Person First | PATRICK | PersonFirstNm |
| Person Last | SPYKE | PersonLastNm |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| SSN | 999009999 | SSN |
Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Preparer Person | ROBERT PARKS CPA | PreparerPersonNm |
| PTIN | P00740435 | PTIN |
| Phone | 2482443000 | PhoneNum |
| Preparation | 2021-11-02 | PreparationDt |
Additional Filer Information AdditionalFilerInformation
Trusted Customer TrustedCustomerGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Trusted Customer | 2 | TrustedCustomerCd |
| Authentication Assurance Level | AAL1 | AuthenticationAssuranceLevelCd |
| Identity Assurance Level | IAL1 | IdentityAssuranceLevelCd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Tax | 2020 | TaxYr |
| Build TS | 2022-09-23 18:48:47Z | BuildTS |
Form 990 IRS990
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Principal Officer | PATRICK SPYKE | PrincipalOfficerNm |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 106 N MARKETPLACE BOULEVARD | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | LANSING | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | MI | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 48917 | ZIPCd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Gross Receipts | $44,633,555 | GrossReceiptsAmt |
| Group Return For Affiliates | 0 | GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd |
| Organization501c | Yes (X) | Organization501cInd |
| Website Address | WWW.LAFCU.COM | WebsiteAddressTxt |
| Type Of Organization Corp | Yes (X) | TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd |
| Formation | 1936 | FormationYr |
| Legal Domicile State | MI | LegalDomicileStateCd |
| Activity Or Mission | COOPERATIVE FINANCIAL INSTITUTION - CREDIT UNION PROVIDING LOANS AND SAVINGS PRODUCTS AND SERVICES TO MEMBERS. | ActivityOrMissionDesc |
| Voting Members Governing Body | 7 | VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt |
| Voting Members Independent | 7 | VotingMembersIndependentCnt |
| Total Employee | 160 | TotalEmployeeCnt |
| Total Volunteers | 17 | TotalVolunteersCnt |
| Total Gross UBI | $114,345 | TotalGrossUBIAmt |
| Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm | $0 | NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt |
| PY Contributions Grants | $0 | PYContributionsGrantsAmt |
| CY Contributions Grants | $0 | CYContributionsGrantsAmt |
| PY Program Service Revenue | $37,818,879 | PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
| CY Program Service Revenue | $39,616,522 | CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
| PY Investment Income | $2,716,665 | PYInvestmentIncomeAmt |
| CY Investment Income | $1,389,581 | CYInvestmentIncomeAmt |
| PY Other Revenue | $2,944,322 | PYOtherRevenueAmt |
| CY Other Revenue | $3,627,452 | CYOtherRevenueAmt |
| PY Total Revenue | $43,479,866 | PYTotalRevenueAmt |
| CY Total Revenue | $44,633,555 | CYTotalRevenueAmt |
| PY Grants And Similar Paid | $15,000 | PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt |
| CY Grants And Similar Paid | $23,458 | CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt |
| PY Benefits Paid To Members | $0 | PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt |
| CY Benefits Paid To Members | $0 | CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt |
| PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid | $15,134,171 | PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt |
| CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid | $15,141,321 | CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt |
| PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns | $0 | PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt |
| CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns | $0 | CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt |
| CY Total Fundraising Expense | $0 | CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt |
| PY Other Expenses | $20,281,525 | PYOtherExpensesAmt |
| CY Other Expenses | $22,813,557 | CYOtherExpensesAmt |
| PY Total Expenses | $35,430,696 | PYTotalExpensesAmt |
| CY Total Expenses | $37,978,336 | CYTotalExpensesAmt |
| PY Revenues Less Expenses | $8,049,170 | PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt |
| CY Revenues Less Expenses | $6,655,219 | CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt |
| Total Assets BOY | $746,558,780 | TotalAssetsBOYAmt |
| Total Assets EOY | $848,413,090 | TotalAssetsEOYAmt |
| Total Liabilities BOY | $658,694,389 | TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt |
| Total Liabilities EOY | $754,878,495 | TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt |
| Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY | $87,864,391 | NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt |
| Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY | $93,534,595 | NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt |
| Mission | WHILE PROMOTING THE CREDIT UNION PHILOSOPHY, WE ARE COMMITTED TO PROVIDING FINANCIAL SERVICES FOR THE CHANGING NEEDS OF OUR MEMBERS AND HELPING THEM OBTAIN PERSONAL FINANCIAL SECURITY. | MissionDesc |
| Significant New Program Srvc | 0 | SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd |
| Significant Change | 0 | SignificantChangeInd |
| Desc | SAVINGS PRODUCTS - PRIMARY MEMBER SERVICE STAFF/50% BRANCH OPERATIONS/CONTACT CENTER. | Desc |
Prog Srvc Accom Acty2 ProgSrvcAccomActy2Grp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Desc | LENDING PRODUCTS - LOAN STAFFING AND SUPPORT SERVICES, COLLECTION STAFFING. | Desc |
Prog Srvc Accom Acty3 ProgSrvcAccomActy3Grp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Desc | CASH OPERATIONS - 50% BRANCH OPERATIONS, SUPPORT SERVICES - ACCOUNTING. | Desc |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Described In Section501c3 | 0 | DescribedInSection501c3Ind |
| Schedule B Required | 0 | ScheduleBRequiredInd |
| Political Campaign Acty | 0 | PoliticalCampaignActyInd |
| Subject To Proxy Tax | 0 | SubjectToProxyTaxInd |
| Donor Advised Fund | 0 | DonorAdvisedFundInd |
| Conservation Easements | 0 | ConservationEasementsInd |
| Collections Of Art | 0 | CollectionsOfArtInd |
| Credit Counseling | 0 | CreditCounselingInd |
| Donor Rstr Or Quasi Endowments | 0 | DonorRstrOrQuasiEndowmentsInd |
| Report Land Building Equipment | Yes (1) | ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd |
| Report Investments Other Sec | 0 | ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd |
| Report Program Related Invst | 0 | ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd |
| Report Other Assets | 0 | ReportOtherAssetsInd |
| Report Other Liabilities | Yes (1) | ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd |
| Include FIN48 Footnote | Yes (1) | IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd |
| Independent Audit Fincl Stmt | Yes (1) | IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd |
| Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt | 0 | ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd |
| School Operating | 0 | SchoolOperatingInd |
| Foreign Office | 0 | ForeignOfficeInd |
| Foreign Activities | 0 | ForeignActivitiesInd |
| More Than5000 K To Org | 0 | MoreThan5000KToOrgInd |
| More Than5000 K To Individuals | 0 | MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd |
| Professional Fundraising | 0 | ProfessionalFundraisingInd |
| Fundraising Activities | 0 | FundraisingActivitiesInd |
| Gaming Activities | 0 | GamingActivitiesInd |
| Operate Hospital | 0 | OperateHospitalInd |
| Grants To Organizations | Yes (1) | GrantsToOrganizationsInd |
| Grants To Individuals | Yes (1) | GrantsToIndividualsInd |
| Schedule J Required | Yes (1) | ScheduleJRequiredInd |
| Tax Exempt Bonds | 0 | TaxExemptBondsInd |
| Loan Outstanding | 0 | LoanOutstandingInd |
| Grant To Related Person | 0 | GrantToRelatedPersonInd |
| Business Rln With Org Mem | 0 | BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd |
| Business Rln With Fam Mem | 0 | BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd |
| Business Rln With35 Ctrl Ent | 0 | BusinessRlnWith35CtrlEntInd |
| Deductible Non Cash Contri | 0 | DeductibleNonCashContriInd |
| Deductible Art Contribution | 0 | DeductibleArtContributionInd |
| Terminate Operations | 0 | TerminateOperationsInd |
| Partial Liquidation | 0 | PartialLiquidationInd |
| Disregarded Entity | 0 | DisregardedEntityInd |
| Related Entity | 0 | RelatedEntityInd |
| Related Organization Ctrl Ent | 0 | RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd |
| Activities Conducted Prtshp | 0 | ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd |
| Schedule O Required | Yes (1) | ScheduleORequiredInd |
| IRP Document | 14559 | IRPDocumentCnt |
| IRP Document W2 G | 0 | IRPDocumentW2GCnt |
| Backup Wthld Compliance | Yes (1) | BackupWthldComplianceInd |
| Employee | 160 | EmployeeCnt |
| Employment Tax Returns Filed | Yes (1) | EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd |
| Unrelated Bus Incm Over Limit | Yes (1) | UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd |
| Form990 T Filed | Yes (1) | Form990TFiledInd |
| Foreign Financial Account | 0 | ForeignFinancialAccountInd |
| Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans | 0 | ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd |
| Taxable Party Notification | 0 | TaxablePartyNotificationInd |
| Nondeductible Contributions | 0 | NondeductibleContributionsInd |
| Indoor Tanning Services | 0 | IndoorTanningServicesInd |
| Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht Pymt | 0 | SubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd |
| Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst Inc | 0 | SubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd |
| Info In Schedule O Part VI | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd |
| Governing Body Voting Members | 7 | GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt |
| Independent Voting Member | 7 | IndependentVotingMemberCnt |
| Family Or Business Rln | 0 | FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd |
| Delegation Of Mgmt Duties | 0 | DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd |
| Change To Org Documents | 0 | ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd |
| Material Diversion Or Misuse | 0 | MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd |
| Members Or Stockholders | Yes (1) | MembersOrStockholdersInd |
| Election Of Board Members | Yes (1) | ElectionOfBoardMembersInd |
| Decisions Subject To Approva | Yes (1) | DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd |
| Minutes Of Governing Body | Yes (1) | MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd |
| Minutes Of Committees | Yes (1) | MinutesOfCommitteesInd |
| Officer Mailing Address | 0 | OfficerMailingAddressInd |
| Local Chapters | 0 | LocalChaptersInd |
| Form990 Provided To Gvrn Body | 0 | Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd |
| Conflict Of Interest Policy | Yes (1) | ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd |
| Annual Disclosure Covered Prsn | Yes (1) | AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd |
| Regular Monitoring Enfrc | Yes (1) | RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd |
| Whistleblower Policy | Yes (1) | WhistleblowerPolicyInd |
| Document Retention Policy | Yes (1) | DocumentRetentionPolicyInd |
| Compensation Process CEO | Yes (1) | CompensationProcessCEOInd |
| Compensation Process Other | Yes (1) | CompensationProcessOtherInd |
| Investment In Joint Venture | 0 | InvestmentInJointVentureInd |
| Upon Request | Yes (X) | UponRequestInd |
Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail
Business Name BusinessName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | TOM MARTINSON | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Phone | 5176226600 | PhoneNum |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 106 N MARKETPLACE BOULEVARD | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | LANSING | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | MI | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 48917 | ZIPCd |
Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (15 entries)
| TitleTitleTxt | Average Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRt | Individual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorInd | Reportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmt | Reportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmt | Other CompensationOtherCompensationAmt | OfficerOfficerInd | Highest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| HAROLD FOSTER | |||||||
| BOARD PRESIDENT | 3.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| MELVIN PLACE | |||||||
| BOARD VICE-PRESIDENT | 3.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| JERE AUVENSHINE | |||||||
| BOARD MEMBER | 3.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| TOM MARTINSON | |||||||
| BOARD TREASURER | 3.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| TOM CULPEPPER | |||||||
| BOARD SECRETARY | 3.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| RANDY FREEMAN | |||||||
| BOARD MEMBER | 3.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| PAULETTE WARREN | |||||||
| BOARD MEMBER | 3.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| PATRICK SPYKE | |||||||
| CEO | 40.00 | $385,309 | $0 | $67,983 | Yes (X) | ||
| TAMELA MCPHERSON | |||||||
| CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER | 40.00 | $178,622 | $0 | $27,241 | Yes (X) | ||
| JAMES MCHALE | |||||||
| CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER | 40.00 | $20,750 | $0 | $1,531 | Yes (X) | ||
| BRIAN WIXSON | |||||||
| CIO | 40.00 | $151,948 | $0 | $41,400 | Yes (X) | ||
| JASON SMITH | |||||||
| CHIEF LENDING OFFICER | 40.00 | $145,978 | $0 | $40,887 | Yes (X) | ||
| ANGELA RUZINSKY | |||||||
| CHIEF MEMBERSHIP OFFICER | 40.00 | $119,043 | $0 | $32,905 | Yes (X) | ||
| KELLI ETCHISON | |||||||
| CHIEF MARKETING OFFICER | 40.00 | $134,392 | $0 | $34,668 | Yes (X) | ||
| KIMBERLY AUSTIN | |||||||
| DIRECTOR COLLECTIONS | 40.00 | $118,733 | $0 | $18,769 | Yes (X) | ||
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Reportable Comp From Org | $1,254,775 | TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt |
| Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org | $0 | TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt |
| Total Other Compensation | $265,384 | TotalOtherCompensationAmt |
| Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K | 10 | IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt |
| Former Ofcr Employees Listed | 0 | FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd |
| Total Comp Greater Than150 K | Yes (1) | TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd |
| Compensation From Other Srcs | 0 | CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd |
Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)
| Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1Txt | CityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNm | State AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCd | ZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCd | ServicesServicesDesc | CompensationCompensationAmt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| CU COOPERATIVE SYSTEMS INC | |||||
| 9692 HAVEN AVE | RANCHO CUCAMONGA | CA | 91730 | CARD PROCESSING | $1,818,900 |
| MEMBER DRIVEN TECHNOLOGIES | |||||
| 30230 ORCHARD LAKE ROAD | FARMINGTON HILLS | MI | 48334 | CORE SYSTEM PROCESSING | $1,554,794 |
| SENTINEL TECHNOLOGIES INC | |||||
| 2550 WARRENVILLE RD | DOWNERS GROVE | IL | 60515 | SOFTWARE/SERVICE | $644,099 |
| SMITH & JOHNSON ATTORNEYS PC | |||||
| PO BOX 705 | TRAVERSE CITY | MI | 49685 | LEGAL/COLLECTION SERVICESS | $492,075 |
| INFORMA BUSINESS SYSTEMS INC | |||||
| 5170 HARTSHORN DR | FLUSHING | MI | 48433 | ITM EQUIPMENT/SERVICE | $330,360 |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K | 17 | CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt |
Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (2 entries)
| DescDesc | BusinessBusinessCd | Total Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmt | Related Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt |
|---|---|---|---|
| LOAN INCOME | 522100 | $29,064,871 | $29,064,871 |
| FEES, CHARGES, OTHER | 522100 | $10,551,651 | $10,551,651 |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Program Service Revenue | $39,616,522 | TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $1,389,581 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Exclusion | $1,389,581 | ExclusionAmt |
Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp (2 entries)
| DescDesc | BusinessBusinessCd | Total Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmt | Related Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt | Unrelated Business RevenueUnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| EQUITY IN EARNINGS OF CUSO'S | 522100 | $3,513,107 | $3,513,107 | |
| FINANCE & INSURANCE | 520000 | $114,345 | $114,345 |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Revenue Total | $3,627,452 | OtherRevenueTotalAmt |
Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $44,633,555 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Related Or Exempt Func Income | $43,129,629 | RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt |
| Unrelated Business Revenue | $114,345 | UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt |
| Exclusion | $1,389,581 | ExclusionAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Info In Schedule O Part IX | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartIXInd |
Grants To Domestic Orgs GrantsToDomesticOrgsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $10,458 | TotalAmt |
Grants To Domestic Individuals GrantsToDomesticIndividualsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $13,000 | TotalAmt |
Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $681,436 | TotalAmt |
Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $9,746,962 | TotalAmt |
Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $1,943,976 | TotalAmt |
Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $1,999,077 | TotalAmt |
Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $769,870 | TotalAmt |
Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $56,975 | TotalAmt |
Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $220,323 | TotalAmt |
Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $188,580 | TotalAmt |
Advertising AdvertisingGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $734,346 | TotalAmt |
Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $2,087,607 | TotalAmt |
Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $1,915,159 | TotalAmt |
Occupancy OccupancyGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $408,437 | TotalAmt |
Travel TravelGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $92,847 | TotalAmt |
Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $226 | TotalAmt |
Interest InterestGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $5,041,748 | TotalAmt |
Payments To Affiliates PaymentsToAffiliatesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $80,020 | TotalAmt |
Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $1,319,269 | TotalAmt |
Insurance InsuranceGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $237,535 | TotalAmt |
Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)
| DescDesc | TotalTotalAmt |
|---|---|
| PROVISION FOR LOAN LOSS | $3,580,400 |
| DEBIT AND CREDIT CARD E | $2,810,083 |
| LOAN SERVICING EXPENSE | $1,853,180 |
| MAINTENANCE | $1,561,480 |
All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $625,342 | TotalAmt |
Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $37,978,336 | TotalAmt |
Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $14,202,864 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $26,927,023 | EOYAmt |
Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $38,344,807 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $124,278,636 | EOYAmt |
Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $1,567,686 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $4,261,759 | EOYAmt |
Oth Notes Loans Receivable Net OthNotesLoansReceivableNetGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $569,842,340 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $599,523,132 | EOYAmt |
Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $1,711,489 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $1,807,119 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss | $35,214,056 | LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt |
| Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec | $15,346,447 | LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt |
Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $20,696,487 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $19,867,609 | EOYAmt |
Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $55,730,522 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $18,236,440 | EOYAmt |
Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $16,196,304 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $24,698,807 | EOYAmt |
Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $28,266,281 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $28,812,565 | EOYAmt |
Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $746,558,780 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $848,413,090 | EOYAmt |
Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $11,388,034 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $12,463,513 | EOYAmt |
Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $10,000,000 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $5,000,000 | EOYAmt |
Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $637,306,355 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $737,414,982 | EOYAmt |
Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $658,694,389 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $754,878,495 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Org Does Not Follow FASB117 | Yes (X) | OrgDoesNotFollowFASB117Ind |
Cap Stk Tr Prin Current Funds CapStkTrPrinCurrentFundsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $0 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $0 | EOYAmt |
Pd In Cap Srpls Land Bldg Eqp Fund PdInCapSrplsLandBldgEqpFundGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $0 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $0 | EOYAmt |
Rtn Earn Endowment Incm Oth Fnds RtnEarnEndowmentIncmOthFndsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $87,864,391 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $93,534,595 | EOYAmt |
Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $87,864,391 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $93,534,595 | EOYAmt |
Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $746,558,780 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $848,413,090 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Info In Schedule O Part XI | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd |
| Reconcilation Revenue Expnss | $6,655,219 | ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt |
| Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst | $89,694 | NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt |
| Other Changes In Net Assets | -$1,074,709 | OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt |
| Info In Schedule O Part XII | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartXIIInd |
| Method Of Accounting Accrual | Yes (X) | MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd |
| Accountant Compile Or Review | 0 | AccountantCompileOrReviewInd |
| FS Audited | Yes (1) | FSAuditedInd |
FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Separate Basis Fincl Stmt | Yes (X) | SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Audit Committee | Yes (1) | AuditCommitteeInd |
| Federal Grant Audit Required | 0 | FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd |
Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD
Land LandGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Cost Or Other Basis | $3,752,306 | OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Book Value | $3,752,306 | BookValueAmt |
Buildings BuildingsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Cost Or Other Basis | $20,213,037 | OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Depreciation | $6,507,898 | DepreciationAmt |
| Book Value | $13,705,139 | BookValueAmt |
Equipment EquipmentGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Cost Or Other Basis | $11,248,713 | OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Depreciation | $8,838,549 | DepreciationAmt |
| Book Value | $2,410,164 | BookValueAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Book Value Land Buildings | $19,867,609 | TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt |
Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (6 entries)
| DescDesc | AmtAmt |
|---|---|
| SHARE ACCOUNTS | $238,679,548 |
| SHARE DRAFT | $120,343,566 |
| MONEY MARKET | $213,092,357 |
| IRA SHARE ACCOUNTS | $8,659,375 |
| TERM SHARE AND IRA CERTIFICATES | $153,417,136 |
| NON-MEMBER TERM SHARE DEP. | $3,223,000 |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Liability | $737,414,982 | TotalLiabilityAmt |
| Footnote Text | Yes (X) | FootnoteTextInd |
| Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt | $44,632,954 | TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt |
| Other Revenue | -$601 | OtherRevenueAmt |
| Revenue Not Reported | -$601 | RevenueNotReportedAmt |
| Revenue Subtotal | $44,633,555 | RevenueSubtotalAmt |
| Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt | $0 | RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt |
| Total Revenue Per Form990 | $44,633,555 | TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt |
| Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt | $37,977,735 | TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt |
| Expenses Not Reported | $0 | ExpensesNotReportedAmt |
| Expenses Subtotal | $37,977,735 | ExpensesSubtotalAmt |
| Other Expenses Not Included | $601 | OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt |
| Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt | $601 | ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt |
| Total Expenses Per Form990 | $37,978,336 | TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt |
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (3 entries)
| Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDesc | ExplanationExplanationTxt |
|---|---|
| PART X, LINE 2: | INCOME TAXES THE CREDIT UNION IS EXEMPT, BY STATUTE, FROM FEDERAL AND STATE INCOME TAXES. THE CREDIT UNION IS A STATE-CHARTERED CREDIT UNION DESCRIBED IN INTERNAL REVENUE CODE (IRC) SECTION 501(C)(14). AS SUCH, THE CREDIT UNION IS EXEMPT FROM FEDERAL TAXATION OF INCOME DERIVED FROM THE PERFORMANCE OF ACTIVITIES THAT ARE IN FURTHERANCE OF ITS EXEMPT PURPOSES. HOWEVER, IRC SECTION 511 IMPOSES A TAX ON THE UNRELATED BUSINESS INCOME (AS DEFINED IN SECTION 512) DERIVED BY STATE-CHARTERED CREDIT UNIONS. MANY STATES HAVE SIMILAR LAWS. THE SPECIFIC APPLICATION OF SECTION 512 TO THE VARIOUS ACTIVITIES CONDUCTED BY STATE-CHARTERED CREDIT UNIONS HAS BEEN AN ISSUE FOR MANY YEARS. IN 2007, THE INTERNAL REVENUE SERVICE (IRS) ISSUED A SERIES OF TECHNICAL ADVICE MEMORANDA (TAM) TO A NUMBER OF STATE-CHARTERED CREDIT UNIONS LOCATED THROUGHOUT THE COUNTRY. IN THESE TAMS, THE IRS RULED CERTAIN PRODUCTS AND SERVICES TO BE SUBJECT TO TAXATION AS UNRELATED BUSINESS INCOME. IN LIGHT OF THE TAMS, THE CREDIT UNION HAS ASSESSED ITS ACTIVITIES AND ANY POTENTIAL FEDERAL OR STATE INCOME TAX LIABILITY. IN THE OPINION OF MANAGEMENT, ANY LIABILITY ARISING FROM FEDERAL OR STATE TAXATION OF ACTIVITIES DEEMED TO BE UNRELATED TO ITS EXEMPT PURPOSE IS NOT EXPECTED TO HAVE A MATERIAL EFFECT ON THE CREDIT UNION'S FINANCIAL CONDITION OR RESULTS OF OPERATIONS. THE CREDIT UNION REMAINS SUBJECT TO EXAMINATION FOR INCOME TAX RETURNS FOR YEARS ENDED AFTER DECEMBER 31, 2017. |
| PART XI, LINE 2D - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS: | EXPENSES REPORTED ON 990 IN STATEMENT OF EXPENSES BUT REPORTED NET OF REVENUE IN THE AUDITED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS -601. |
| PART XII, LINE 4B - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS: | EXPENSES REPORTED ON 990 IN STATEMENT OF EXPENSES BUT REPORTED NET OF REVENUE IN THE AUDITED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS 601. |
Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Grant Records Maintained | Yes (1) | GrantRecordsMaintainedInd |
Recipient Table RecipientTable
Recipient Business Name RecipientBusinessName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | GREATER LANSING AREA MLK HOLIDAY COMMISSION | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | PO BOX 24112 | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | LANSING | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | MI | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 48909 | ZIPCd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Recipient EIN | 352405362 | RecipientEIN |
| IRC Section | 501(C)(3) | IRCSectionDesc |
| Cash Grant | $10,458 | CashGrantAmt |
| Purpose Of Grant | FUNDS TO ASSIST IN COVERING EXPENSES RELATED TO MLK DAY OF ANNUAL CELEBRATION | PurposeOfGrantTxt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total501c3 Org | 1 | Total501c3OrgCnt |
| Total Other Org | 0 | TotalOtherOrgCnt |
Grants Other Asst To Indiv In US GrantsOtherAsstToIndivInUSGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Grant Type | SCHOLARSHIPS | GrantTypeTxt |
| Recipient | 7 | RecipientCnt |
| Cash Grant | $13,000 | CashGrantAmt |
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Form And Line Reference | PART I, LINE 2: | FormAndLineReferenceDesc |
| Explanation | THE AMOUNTS PAID TO THE ORGANIZATIONS ARE CONSIDERED DONATIONS, NOT GRANTS, SO THERE IS NO MONITORING. | ExplanationTxt |
Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Compensation Committee | Yes (X) | CompensationCommitteeInd |
| Compensation Survey | Yes (X) | CompensationSurveyInd |
| Board Or Committee Approval | Yes (X) | BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd |
| Severance Payment | 0 | SeverancePaymentInd |
| Supplemental Nonqual Rtr Plan | 0 | SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd |
| Equity Based Comp Arrngm | 0 | EquityBasedCompArrngmInd |
Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (6 entries)
| TitleTitleTxt | Base Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmt | Compensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmt | Bonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmount | Bonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmt | Other Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmt | Other Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmt | Deferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmt | Deferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmt | Nontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmt | Nontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmt | Total Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmt | Total Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmt | Comp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmt | Comp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| PATRICK SPYKE | ||||||||||||||
| CEO | $352,956 | $0 | $29,973 | $0 | $2,380 | $0 | $39,900 | $0 | $28,083 | $0 | $453,292 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| TAMELA MCPHERSON | ||||||||||||||
| CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER | $164,640 | $0 | $13,982 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $24,451 | $0 | $2,790 | $0 | $205,863 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| BRIAN WIXSON | ||||||||||||||
| CIO | $137,945 | $0 | $11,623 | $0 | $2,380 | $0 | $21,361 | $0 | $20,039 | $0 | $193,348 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| JASON SMITH | ||||||||||||||
| CHIEF LENDING OFFICER | $133,680 | $0 | $9,918 | $0 | $2,380 | $0 | $20,860 | $0 | $20,027 | $0 | $186,865 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| KELLI ETCHISON | ||||||||||||||
| CHIEF MARKETING OFFICER | $121,864 | $0 | $10,148 | $0 | $2,380 | $0 | $18,935 | $0 | $15,733 | $0 | $169,060 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| ANGELA RUZINSKY | ||||||||||||||
| CHIEF MEMBERSHIP OFFICER | $107,418 | $0 | $9,245 | $0 | $2,380 | $0 | $17,218 | $0 | $15,687 | $0 | $151,948 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (11 entries)
| Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDesc | ExplanationExplanationTxt |
|---|---|
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 6 | ALL ACCOUNT HOLDERS ARE REFERRED TO AS MEMBERS. |
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 7A | THE CREDIT UNION MEMBERSHIP ELECTS THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS WHICH GOVERN THE OPERATIONS OF THE CREDIT UNION. |
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 7B | MEMBERS OF THE CREDIT UNION HAVE THE RIGHT TO APPROVE THE GOVERNING BODY'S ELECTION AND REMOVAL OF MEMBERS OF THE GOVERNING BODY, AS WELL AS OTHER MATTERS THAT ARE SUBJECT TO THE APPROVAL OF MEMBERS OF THE CREDIT UNION AS THEY OCCUR. |
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 11B | THE CEO AND CFO WILL REVIEW THE 990 PRIOR TO FILING. |
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 12C | ANNUAL DISCLOSURE STATEMENTS ARE COMPLETED. |
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 15 | AN INDEPENDENT COMPENSATION DATABASE IS USED COMPRISED OF SALARY COMPARISONS THROUGHOUT THE REGION OF SIMILARLY ASSET SIZED FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS. PRO RATIO MEASURES ARE COMPARED TO MARKET TO DETERMINE WHERE CURRENT SALARIES ALIGN. RECOMMENDATIONS FOR SALARY ADJUSTMENTS ARE MADE BY HR TO THE APPROPRIATE DECISION MAKERS, BASED ON WHERE THE SALARY ALIGNS AND PERFORMANCE EVALUATION OF THE INDIVIDUAL FROM THE SUPERVISOR. |
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION C, LINE 19 | THE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS ARE AVAILABLE UPON REQUEST. THE GOVERNING DOCUMENTS AND CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY ARE NOT MADE AVAILABLE TO THE PUBLIC. |
| FORM 990, PART IX, LINE 11G | OTHER PROFESSIONAL FEES 188,580. |
| FORM 990, PART IX, LINE 24E | ATM EXPENSES 456,596. TRAINING/DEVELOPMENT/EDUCATIONS 194,977. MISCELLANEOUS -26,231. |
| FORM 990, PART XI, LINE 9: | NET UNREALIZED LOSSES ON POSTRETIREMENT BENEFITS -1,299,511. RECLASSIFICATION ADJUSTMENT FOR PENSION AMORTIZATION 224,802. |
| FORM 990, PART XII, LINE 2C: | THE ORGANIZATION HAS A COMMITTEE THAT ASSUMES RESPONSIBILITY FOR THE OVERSIGHT OF THE AUDIT OF ITS FINANCIAL STATEMENTS AND THE SELECTION OF AN INDEPENDENT ACCOUNTANT. THIS PROCESS HAS NOT CHANGED FROM PREVIOUS YEARS. |
Comments