PUBLIC RELATIONS SOCIETY OF AMERICA INC: Form 990, tax year 2020
View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗
- Organization
- PUBLIC RELATIONS SOCIETY OF AMERICA INC (EIN 13-1582190)
- Tax period
- 2020-01-01 to 2020-12-31
- Filed
- 2021-10-18
- IRS object ID
- 202102919349300725
- Schema version
- 2020v4.1
- Source
- Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica
Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.
Return header ReturnHeader
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Return | 2021-10-18T11:18:09-05:00 | ReturnTs |
| Tax Period End | 2020-12-31 | TaxPeriodEndDt |
Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Preparer Firm EIN | 271728945 | PreparerFirmEIN |
Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | PKF O'CONNOR DAVIES LLP | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 500 MAMARONECK AVENUE | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | HARRISON | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | NY | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 105281633 | ZIPCd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Return Type | 990 | ReturnTypeCd |
| Tax Period Begin | 2020-01-01 | TaxPeriodBeginDt |
Filer Filer
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| EIN | 131582190 | EIN |
Business Name BusinessName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | PUBLIC RELATIONS SOCIETY OF AMERICA INC | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Control | PUB | BusinessNameControlTxt |
| Phone | 2124601400 | PhoneNum |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 120 WALL STREET 21ST FLOOR | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | NEW YORK | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | NY | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 10005 | ZIPCd |
Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Person | PHILIP T BONAVENTURA | PersonNm |
| Person Title | CFO | PersonTitleTxt |
| Phone | 2124601400 | PhoneNum |
| Signature | 2021-10-15 | SignatureDt |
| Discuss With Paid Preparer | Yes (1) | DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd |
Signing Officer SigningOfficerGrp
Person Full Name PersonFullName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Person First | PHILIP | PersonFirstNm |
| Person Last | BONAVENTURA | PersonLastNm |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| SSN | XXX-XX-XXXX | SSN |
Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Preparer Person | GARRETT M HIGGINS | PreparerPersonNm |
| PTIN | P00543209 | PTIN |
| Phone | 9143818900 | PhoneNum |
| Preparation | 2021-10-18 | PreparationDt |
Additional Filer Information AdditionalFilerInformation
Trusted Customer TrustedCustomerGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Trusted Customer | 2 | TrustedCustomerCd |
| Authentication Assurance Level | AAL1 | AuthenticationAssuranceLevelCd |
| Identity Assurance Level | IAL1 | IdentityAssuranceLevelCd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Tax | 2020 | TaxYr |
| Build TS | 2022-09-23 18:48:47Z | BuildTS |
Form 990 IRS990
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Principal Officer | PHILIP T BONAVENTURA | PrincipalOfficerNm |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 120 WALL STREET 21ST FLOOR | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | NEW YORK | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | NY | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 10005 | ZIPCd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Gross Receipts | $11,870,405 | GrossReceiptsAmt |
| Group Return For Affiliates | 0 | GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd |
| Group Exemption | 1255 | GroupExemptionNum |
| Organization501c | Yes (X) | Organization501cInd |
| Website Address | WWW.PRSA.ORG | WebsiteAddressTxt |
| Type Of Organization Corp | Yes (X) | TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd |
| Formation | 1948 | FormationYr |
| Legal Domicile State | NY | LegalDomicileStateCd |
| Activity Or Mission | THE PUBLIC RELATIONS SOCIETY OF AMERICA, INC. NATIONAL HEADQUARTERS IS AN INDIVIDUAL MEMBER SOCIETY COMPRISED OF PUBLIC RELATIONS PRACTITIONERS AND STUDENTS ORGANIZED TO IMPROVE THE PROFESSION AND PRACTICE OF PUBLIC RELATIONS. | ActivityOrMissionDesc |
| Voting Members Governing Body | 17 | VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt |
| Voting Members Independent | 17 | VotingMembersIndependentCnt |
| Total Employee | 51 | TotalEmployeeCnt |
| Total Volunteers | 400 | TotalVolunteersCnt |
| Total Gross UBI | $223,278 | TotalGrossUBIAmt |
| Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm | $0 | NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt |
| PY Contributions Grants | $0 | PYContributionsGrantsAmt |
| CY Contributions Grants | $0 | CYContributionsGrantsAmt |
| PY Program Service Revenue | $12,528,801 | PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
| CY Program Service Revenue | $7,877,636 | CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
| PY Investment Income | $239,721 | PYInvestmentIncomeAmt |
| CY Investment Income | $239,603 | CYInvestmentIncomeAmt |
| PY Other Revenue | $478,339 | PYOtherRevenueAmt |
| CY Other Revenue | $322,806 | CYOtherRevenueAmt |
| PY Total Revenue | $13,246,861 | PYTotalRevenueAmt |
| CY Total Revenue | $8,440,045 | CYTotalRevenueAmt |
| PY Grants And Similar Paid | $68,928 | PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt |
| CY Grants And Similar Paid | $195,842 | CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt |
| PY Benefits Paid To Members | $0 | PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt |
| CY Benefits Paid To Members | $0 | CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt |
| PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid | $5,926,030 | PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt |
| CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid | $5,565,175 | CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt |
| PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns | $0 | PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt |
| CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns | $0 | CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt |
| CY Total Fundraising Expense | $0 | CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt |
| PY Other Expenses | $7,667,144 | PYOtherExpensesAmt |
| CY Other Expenses | $4,142,708 | CYOtherExpensesAmt |
| PY Total Expenses | $13,662,102 | PYTotalExpensesAmt |
| CY Total Expenses | $9,903,725 | CYTotalExpensesAmt |
| PY Revenues Less Expenses | -$415,241 | PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt |
| CY Revenues Less Expenses | -$1,463,680 | CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt |
| Total Assets BOY | $8,619,694 | TotalAssetsBOYAmt |
| Total Assets EOY | $7,230,908 | TotalAssetsEOYAmt |
| Total Liabilities BOY | $3,927,442 | TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt |
| Total Liabilities EOY | $3,407,623 | TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt |
| Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY | $4,692,252 | NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt |
| Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY | $3,823,285 | NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt |
| Info In Schedule O Part III | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartIIIInd |
| Mission | THE PUBLIC RELATIONS SOCIETY OF AMERICA (PRSA) IS THE NATION'S LARGEST COMMUNITY OF PUBLIC RELATIONS AND COMMUNICATIONS PROFESSIONALS. PRSA PROVIDES TRAINING, SETS STANDARDS OF EXCELLENCE AND UPHOLDS PRINCIPLES OF ETHICS FOR THE GLOBAL PUBLIC RELATIONS PROFESSION. AS A LEADING VOICE IN THE PUBLIC RELATIONS INDUSTRY, THE SOCIETY ALSO ADVOCATES FOR GREATER UNDERSTANDING AND ADOPTION OF PUBLIC RELATIONS SERVICES. | MissionDesc |
| Significant New Program Srvc | 0 | SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd |
| Significant Change | 0 | SignificantChangeInd |
| Desc | COMMUNICATIONS AND CORPORATE SALES -PRSA'S SALES TEAM INCLUDES THE CORPORATE DEVELOPMENT PROGRAM WHICH ENABLES THE FINANCIAL SUPPORT OF THE EDUCATION, RESEARCH AND THOUGHT LEADERSHIP EVENTS AND PROGRAMS, AND CAREER RESOURCES THROUGH THE SALES OF STRATEGIC PARTNERSHIPS, EVENT SPONSORSHIPS AND EXHIBITS. PRSA PARTNERS, SPONSORS AND EXHIBITORS ARE PROVIDED APPROPRIATE BRAND RECOGNITION AND ACKNOWLEDGEMENT OF THEIR COLLABORATION ON PROGRAM AND CONTENT DEVELOPMENT, FUNDING AND UNDERWRITING. THE SALES TEAM ALSO SELLS AND ENABLES GROUP MEMBERSHIPS FOR ORGANIZATIONS WITH 5 OR MORE POTENTIAL MEMBERS, PROVIDING DISCOUNTS ON MEMBERSHIP AND GROUP SAVINGS ON ACCESS TO EDUCATIONAL EVENTS AND PROGRAMS.PRSA'S MARKETING DEPARTMENT BUILDS AWARENESS OF AND PROMOTES PARTICIPATION IN THE PRSA MEMBERSHIP, ITS COMMUNITIES AND ITS PROGRAMS. THROUGH AN OMNICHANNEL MARKETING PROGRAM, INCLUDING ADVERTISING, SOCIAL MEDIA OUTREACH AND DIRECT MARKETING, THE MARKETING TEAM SEEKS TO ELEVATE THE PRSA BRAND AND STRENGTHEN AND GROW ITS COMMUNITY PARTICIPATION AND ENGAGEMENT, ANNOUNCES AND PROMOTES THE NUMEROUS EDUCATIONAL CLASSES, PROGRAMS AND EVENTS OFFERED BY PRSA AND SHOWCASES THE RESEARCH AND THOUGHT LEADERSHIP DEVELOPED BY ITS INTERNAL TEAM, MEMBERS AND PARTNERS.THE PRSA COMMUNICATIONS DEPARTMENT SPEARHEADS THE OVERALL BRAND MESSAGE DEVELOPMENT AND POSITIONING FOR THE NATION'S LEADING PROFESSIONAL ASSOCIATION SERVING THE PUBLIC RELATIONS COMMUNITY. THE DEPARTMENT DESIGNS AND OPTIMIZES BEST-IN-CLASS COMMUNICATIONS INFRASTRUCTURE TO CREATE HIGH-IMPACT, INTEGRATED CAMPAIGNS THAT INCREASE BRAND AWARENESS, MEMBER ENGAGEMENT AND ADVANCE REPUTATION AMONG INTERNAL AND EXTERNAL AUDIENCES. MORE THAN 28,000 PEOPLE BENEFITED FROM COMMUNICATIONS AND CORPORATE SALES. | Desc |
Prog Srvc Accom Acty2 ProgSrvcAccomActy2Grp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Desc | PROFESSIONAL DEVELOPMENT, INCLUDING INTERNATIONAL CONFERENCEPRSA PROVIDES AN EXCEPTIONAL MEMBER EXPERIENCE THAT EDUCATES, INSPIRES, GUIDES AND GALVANIZES A DIVERSE COMMUNITY OF ETHICAL, STRATEGIC COMMUNICATIONS PROFESSIONALS. THE MISSION OF PRSA'S PROFESSIONAL DEVELOPMENT DEPARTMENT IS TO MAKE COMMUNICATIONS PROFESSIONALS BETTER, SMARTER AND MORE CONNECTED THROUGH ALL THE STAGES OF THEIR CAREER. IN 2020, THE PROFESSIONAL DEVELOPMENT DEPARTMENT HOSTED 6 VIRTUAL WORKSHOPS, 3 LIVE ONLINE CERTIFICATE PROGRAMS, 30+ LIVE WEBINARS, AND 2 APR BOOT CAMPS (ONE BEING VIRTUAL). PRSA'S INTERNATIONAL CONFERENCE ENJOYS THE REPUTATION AS THE PREEMINENT CONFERENCE FOR THE PROFESSION AS WELL AS THE ANNUAL MEETING OF ALL PRSA COMMUNITIES. IT IS AN INTENSIVE LEARNING OPPORTUNITY WITH INDUSTRY EXPERTS AND THOUGHT LEADERS AND PEER-TO PEER NETWORKING. IT OFFERS PRACTICAL INSIGHT FOR PUBLIC RELATIONS PROFESSIONAL OF ALL CAREER LEVELS, SECTORS, WORK ENVIRONMENTS AND INDUSTRIES. DEMONSTRATING VALUE WITH ACTIONABLE BEST PRACTICES IS THE FOCUS OF THIS ANNUAL EVENT. DUE TO COVID-19 PANDEMIC, 2020 IN-PERSON EVENT WAS CANCELED AND HELD VIRTUALLY. MORE THAN 6,000 PEOPLE BENEFITED FROM BOTH PROFESSIONAL DEVELOPMENT AND INTERNATIONAL CONFERENCE PROGRAM. | Desc |
Prog Srvc Accom Acty3 ProgSrvcAccomActy3Grp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Desc | MEMBERSHIP SERVICES -PRSA IS A COMMUNITY OF MORE THAN 19,000 PUBLIC RELATIONS AND COMMUNICATIONS PROFESSIONALS ACROSS THE UNITED STATES, FROM RECENT COLLEGE GRADUATES TO THE LEADERS OF THE WORLD'S LARGEST MULTINATIONAL FIRMS. OUR MEMBERS REPRESENT NEARLY EVERY PRACTICE AREA AND PROFESSIONAL AND ACADEMIC SETTING WITHIN THE PUBLIC RELATIONS FIELD. IN ADDITION, THERE ARE MORE THAN 9,000 STUDENTS WHO ARE MEMBERS OF THE PUBLIC RELATIONS STUDENT SOCIETY OF AMERICA (PRSSA) AT COLLEGES AND UNIVERSITIES HERE AND ABROAD. MORE THAN 28,000 PEOPLE BENEFITED FROM THIS PROGRAM. | Desc |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Described In Section501c3 | 0 | DescribedInSection501c3Ind |
| Schedule B Required | 0 | ScheduleBRequiredInd |
| Political Campaign Acty | 0 | PoliticalCampaignActyInd |
| Subject To Proxy Tax | Yes (1) | SubjectToProxyTaxInd |
| Donor Advised Fund | 0 | DonorAdvisedFundInd |
| Conservation Easements | 0 | ConservationEasementsInd |
| Collections Of Art | 0 | CollectionsOfArtInd |
| Credit Counseling | 0 | CreditCounselingInd |
| Donor Rstr Or Quasi Endowments | 0 | DonorRstrOrQuasiEndowmentsInd |
| Report Land Building Equipment | Yes (1) | ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd |
| Report Investments Other Sec | 0 | ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd |
| Report Program Related Invst | 0 | ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd |
| Report Other Assets | 0 | ReportOtherAssetsInd |
| Report Other Liabilities | Yes (1) | ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd |
| Include FIN48 Footnote | Yes (1) | IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd |
| Independent Audit Fincl Stmt | Yes (1) | IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd |
| Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt | 0 | ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd |
| School Operating | 0 | SchoolOperatingInd |
| Foreign Office | 0 | ForeignOfficeInd |
| Foreign Activities | 0 | ForeignActivitiesInd |
| More Than5000 K To Org | 0 | MoreThan5000KToOrgInd |
| More Than5000 K To Individuals | 0 | MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd |
| Professional Fundraising | 0 | ProfessionalFundraisingInd |
| Fundraising Activities | 0 | FundraisingActivitiesInd |
| Gaming Activities | 0 | GamingActivitiesInd |
| Operate Hospital | 0 | OperateHospitalInd |
| Grants To Organizations | Yes (1) | GrantsToOrganizationsInd |
| Grants To Individuals | 0 | GrantsToIndividualsInd |
| Schedule J Required | Yes (1) | ScheduleJRequiredInd |
| Tax Exempt Bonds | 0 | TaxExemptBondsInd |
| Loan Outstanding | 0 | LoanOutstandingInd |
| Grant To Related Person | 0 | GrantToRelatedPersonInd |
| Business Rln With Org Mem | 0 | BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd |
| Business Rln With Fam Mem | 0 | BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd |
| Business Rln With35 Ctrl Ent | 0 | BusinessRlnWith35CtrlEntInd |
| Deductible Non Cash Contri | 0 | DeductibleNonCashContriInd |
| Deductible Art Contribution | 0 | DeductibleArtContributionInd |
| Terminate Operations | 0 | TerminateOperationsInd |
| Partial Liquidation | 0 | PartialLiquidationInd |
| Disregarded Entity | 0 | DisregardedEntityInd |
| Related Entity | 0 | RelatedEntityInd |
| Related Organization Ctrl Ent | 0 | RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd |
| Activities Conducted Prtshp | 0 | ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd |
| Schedule O Required | Yes (1) | ScheduleORequiredInd |
| IRP Document | 48 | IRPDocumentCnt |
| IRP Document W2 G | 0 | IRPDocumentW2GCnt |
| Employee | 51 | EmployeeCnt |
| Employment Tax Returns Filed | Yes (1) | EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd |
| Unrelated Bus Incm Over Limit | Yes (1) | UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd |
| Form990 T Filed | Yes (1) | Form990TFiledInd |
| Foreign Financial Account | 0 | ForeignFinancialAccountInd |
| Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans | 0 | ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd |
| Taxable Party Notification | 0 | TaxablePartyNotificationInd |
| Nondeductible Contributions | 0 | NondeductibleContributionsInd |
| Indoor Tanning Services | 0 | IndoorTanningServicesInd |
| Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht Pymt | 0 | SubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd |
| Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst Inc | 0 | SubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd |
| Info In Schedule O Part VI | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd |
| Governing Body Voting Members | 17 | GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt |
| Independent Voting Member | 17 | IndependentVotingMemberCnt |
| Family Or Business Rln | 0 | FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd |
| Delegation Of Mgmt Duties | 0 | DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd |
| Change To Org Documents | 0 | ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd |
| Material Diversion Or Misuse | 0 | MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd |
| Members Or Stockholders | Yes (1) | MembersOrStockholdersInd |
| Election Of Board Members | Yes (1) | ElectionOfBoardMembersInd |
| Decisions Subject To Approva | Yes (1) | DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd |
| Minutes Of Governing Body | Yes (1) | MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd |
| Minutes Of Committees | Yes (1) | MinutesOfCommitteesInd |
| Officer Mailing Address | 0 | OfficerMailingAddressInd |
| Local Chapters | Yes (1) | LocalChaptersInd |
| Policies Reference Chapters | Yes (1) | PoliciesReferenceChaptersInd |
| Form990 Provided To Gvrn Body | Yes (1) | Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd |
| Conflict Of Interest Policy | Yes (1) | ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd |
| Annual Disclosure Covered Prsn | Yes (1) | AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd |
| Regular Monitoring Enfrc | Yes (1) | RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd |
| Whistleblower Policy | Yes (1) | WhistleblowerPolicyInd |
| Document Retention Policy | Yes (1) | DocumentRetentionPolicyInd |
| Compensation Process CEO | Yes (1) | CompensationProcessCEOInd |
| Compensation Process Other | 0 | CompensationProcessOtherInd |
| Investment In Joint Venture | 0 | InvestmentInJointVentureInd |
| Upon Request | Yes (X) | UponRequestInd |
Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail
Business Name BusinessName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | PHILIP T BONAVENTURA CFO | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Phone | 2124601400 | PhoneNum |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 120 WALL STREET 21ST FLOOR | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | NEW YORK | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | NY | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 10005 | ZIPCd |
Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (24 entries)
| TitleTitleTxt | Average Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRt | Individual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorInd | OfficerOfficerInd | Reportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmt | Reportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmt | Other CompensationOtherCompensationAmt | Highest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd | Former Ofcr Director TrusteeFormerOfcrDirectorTrusteeInd |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| T GARLAND STANSELL | ||||||||
| CHAIR | 10.00 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| MICHELLE A OLSON | ||||||||
| CHAIR-ELECT | 10.00 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| MICHELLE EGAN | ||||||||
| TREASURER | 10.00 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| AMY T COWARD | ||||||||
| SECRETARY | 10.00 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| DEBRA D PETERSON | ||||||||
| IMMEDIATE PAST CHAIR | 2.00 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| RICK BATYKO | ||||||||
| DIRECTOR | 2.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| JACQUELINE CLARK | ||||||||
| DIRECTOR | 2.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| ERROL COCKFIELD | ||||||||
| DIRECTOR | 2.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| JORGE FRANCISCO DGARAY | ||||||||
| DIRECTOR | 2.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| ANGELA WALTERS EVEILLARD | ||||||||
| DIRECTOR | 2.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| HEIDE HARRELL | ||||||||
| DIRECTOR | 2.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| DENISE HILL | ||||||||
| DIRECTOR | 2.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| JANE N LAW | ||||||||
| DIRECTOR | 2.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| DR KAYE SWEETSER | ||||||||
| DIRECTOR | 2.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| ANA TORO | ||||||||
| DIRECTOR | 2.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| SCOTT TROTTER | ||||||||
| DIRECTOR | 2.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| SAMANTHA VILLEGAS | ||||||||
| DIRECTOR | 2.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| PHILIP T BONAVENTURA | ||||||||
| INTERIM CEO/CFO | 40.00 | Yes (X) | $405,060 | $0 | $52,408 | |||
| MAUREEN WALSH | ||||||||
| CHIEF MARKETING OFFICER | 40.00 | $153,778 | $0 | $35,111 | Yes (X) | |||
| JAY STARR | ||||||||
| SENIOR VP, MEMBER SERVICES | 40.00 | $183,481 | $0 | $47,355 | Yes (X) | |||
| JENEEN GARCIA | ||||||||
| SENIOR VP, PROGRAMS | 40.00 | $159,571 | $0 | $34,156 | Yes (X) | |||
| KARLA VOTH | ||||||||
| VP, SPECIAL EVENTS & PROGRAM | 40.00 | $177,834 | $0 | $37,429 | Yes (X) | |||
| JOHN D ROBINSON | ||||||||
| VP, CORPORATE DEVELOPMENT | 40.00 | $156,812 | $0 | $62,030 | Yes (X) | |||
| JOSEPH P TRUNCALE | ||||||||
| FORMER CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER | 0.00 | $104,981 | $0 | $903 | Yes (X) | |||
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Reportable Comp From Org | $1,341,517 | TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt |
| Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org | $0 | TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt |
| Total Other Compensation | $269,392 | TotalOtherCompensationAmt |
| Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K | 16 | IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt |
| Former Ofcr Employees Listed | Yes (1) | FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd |
| Total Comp Greater Than150 K | Yes (1) | TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd |
| Compensation From Other Srcs | 0 | CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd |
Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (3 entries)
| Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1Txt | CityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNm | State AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCd | ZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCd | ServicesServicesDesc | CompensationCompensationAmt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| DENBO MULTIMEDIA INC | |||||
| 684 FIFTH AVENUE | BROOKLYN | NY | 11215 | MULTIMEDIA SERVICES | $181,197 |
| 6CONNEX | |||||
| 425 SOLEDAD ST SUITE 500 | SAN ANTONIO | TX | 78205 | MULTIMEDIA SERVICES | $135,121 |
| VENABLE LLP | |||||
| 750 E PRATT ST STE 900 | BALTIMORE | MD | 21202 | LEGAL SERVICES | $112,886 |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K | 3 | CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt |
Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (5 entries)
| DescDesc | BusinessBusinessCd | Total Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmt | Related Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt |
|---|---|---|---|
| MEMBERSHIP DUES & FEES | 900099 | $4,768,515 | $4,768,515 |
| PROFESSIONAL DEVELOPMENT | 900099 | $1,181,170 | $1,181,170 |
| SECTIONS SUPPORT | 900099 | $585,247 | $585,247 |
| STUDENT SOCIETY | 900099 | $474,453 | $474,453 |
| AWARDS PROGRAMS | 900099 | $394,620 | $394,620 |
Total Oth Program Service Rev TotalOthProgramServiceRevGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $473,631 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Exclusion | $473,631 | ExclusionAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Program Service Revenue | $7,877,636 | TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $115,778 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Exclusion | $115,778 | ExclusionAmt |
Royalties Revenue RoyaltiesRevenueGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $378 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Exclusion | $378 | ExclusionAmt |
Gross Rents GrossRentsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Real | $86,334 | RealAmt |
Less Rental Expenses LessRentalExpensesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Real | $0 | RealAmt |
Rental Income Or Loss RentalIncomeOrLossGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Real | $86,334 | RealAmt |
Net Rental Income Or Loss NetRentalIncomeOrLossGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $86,334 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Exclusion | $86,334 | ExclusionAmt |
Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Securities | $3,554,185 | SecuritiesAmt |
Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Securities | $3,430,360 | SecuritiesAmt |
Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Securities | $123,825 | SecuritiesAmt |
Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $123,825 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Exclusion | $123,825 | ExclusionAmt |
Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp (3 entries)
| DescDesc | BusinessBusinessCd | Total Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmt | Unrelated Business RevenueUnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt | ExclusionExclusionAmt |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| ADVERTISING | 541800 | $220,566 | $220,566 | |
| OTHER INCOME | 900099 | $12,816 | $12,816 | |
| MAILING LIST RENTAL | 511140 | $2,712 | $2,712 |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Revenue Total | $236,094 | OtherRevenueTotalAmt |
Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $8,440,045 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Related Or Exempt Func Income | $7,404,005 | RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt |
| Unrelated Business Revenue | $223,278 | UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt |
| Exclusion | $812,762 | ExclusionAmt |
Grants To Domestic Orgs GrantsToDomesticOrgsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $192,442 | TotalAmt |
Grants To Domestic Individuals GrantsToDomesticIndividualsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $3,400 | TotalAmt |
Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $457,468 | TotalAmt |
Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $3,918,028 | TotalAmt |
Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $378,232 | TotalAmt |
Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $480,763 | TotalAmt |
Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $330,684 | TotalAmt |
Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $143,276 | TotalAmt |
Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $63,025 | TotalAmt |
Fees For Srvc Invst Mgmnt Fees FeesForSrvcInvstMgmntFeesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $38,709 | TotalAmt |
Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $934,437 | TotalAmt |
Advertising AdvertisingGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $478,077 | TotalAmt |
Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $559,876 | TotalAmt |
Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $299,599 | TotalAmt |
Occupancy OccupancyGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $894,171 | TotalAmt |
Travel TravelGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $56,881 | TotalAmt |
Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $259,509 | TotalAmt |
Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $67,211 | TotalAmt |
Insurance InsuranceGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $58,565 | TotalAmt |
Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (3 entries)
| DescDesc | TotalTotalAmt |
|---|---|
| EQUIPMENT RENTAL | $265,880 |
| DUES & SUBSCRIPTIONS | $18,959 |
| REPAIRS & MAINTENANCE | $4,533 |
Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $9,903,725 | TotalAmt |
Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $307,406 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $57,157 | EOYAmt |
Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $1,503,567 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $3,040 | EOYAmt |
Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $556,708 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $463,326 | EOYAmt |
Inventories For Sale Or Use InventoriesForSaleOrUseGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $2,028 | BOYAmt |
Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $394,451 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $391,826 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss | $528,884 | LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt |
| Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec | $212,660 | LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt |
Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $323,079 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $316,224 | EOYAmt |
Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $5,164,358 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $5,861,532 | EOYAmt |
Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $368,097 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $137,803 | EOYAmt |
Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $8,619,694 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $7,230,908 | EOYAmt |
Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $679,064 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $739,142 | EOYAmt |
Grants Payable GrantsPayableGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| EOY | $100,000 | EOYAmt |
Deferred Revenue DeferredRevenueGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $2,997,984 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $2,287,898 | EOYAmt |
Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $250,394 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $280,583 | EOYAmt |
Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $3,927,442 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $3,407,623 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Organization Follows FASB117 | Yes (X) | OrganizationFollowsFASB117Ind |
No Donor Restriction Net Assets NoDonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $4,692,252 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $3,823,285 | EOYAmt |
Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $4,692,252 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $3,823,285 | EOYAmt |
Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $8,619,694 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $7,230,908 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Reconcilation Revenue Expnss | -$1,463,680 | ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt |
| Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst | $594,713 | NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt |
| Other Changes In Net Assets | $0 | OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt |
| Info In Schedule O Part XII | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartXIIInd |
| Method Of Accounting Accrual | Yes (X) | MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd |
| Accountant Compile Or Review | 0 | AccountantCompileOrReviewInd |
| FS Audited | Yes (1) | FSAuditedInd |
FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Separate Basis Fincl Stmt | Yes (X) | SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Audit Committee | Yes (1) | AuditCommitteeInd |
| Federal Grant Audit Required | 0 | FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd |
Schedule C IRS990ScheduleC
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Substantially All Dues Nonded | 0 | SubstantiallyAllDuesNondedInd |
| Only In House Lobbying | Yes (1) | OnlyInHouseLobbyingInd |
| Agree Carryover Prior Year | 0 | AgreeCarryoverPriorYearInd |
Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD
Leasehold Improvements LeaseholdImprovementsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Cost Or Other Basis | $371,450 | OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Depreciation | $132,273 | DepreciationAmt |
| Book Value | $239,177 | BookValueAmt |
Equipment EquipmentGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Cost Or Other Basis | $155,711 | OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Depreciation | $79,632 | DepreciationAmt |
| Book Value | $76,079 | BookValueAmt |
Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Cost Or Other Basis | $1,723 | OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Depreciation | $755 | DepreciationAmt |
| Book Value | $968 | BookValueAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Book Value Land Buildings | $316,224 | TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt |
Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Desc | DEFERRED RENT | Desc |
| Amt | $280,583 | Amt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Liability | $280,583 | TotalLiabilityAmt |
| Footnote Text | Yes (X) | FootnoteTextInd |
| Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt | $8,996,049 | TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt |
| Net Unrealized Gains Invst | $594,713 | NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt |
| Revenue Not Reported | $594,713 | RevenueNotReportedAmt |
| Revenue Subtotal | $8,401,336 | RevenueSubtotalAmt |
| Investment Expenses Not Incld | $38,709 | InvestmentExpensesNotIncldAmt |
| Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt | $38,709 | RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt |
| Total Revenue Per Form990 | $8,440,045 | TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt |
| Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt | $9,865,016 | TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt |
| Expenses Not Reported | $0 | ExpensesNotReportedAmt |
| Expenses Subtotal | $9,865,016 | ExpensesSubtotalAmt |
| Investment Expenses Not Incld2 | $38,709 | InvestmentExpensesNotIncld2Amt |
| Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt | $38,709 | ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt |
| Total Expenses Per Form990 | $9,903,725 | TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt |
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Form And Line Reference | PART X, LINE 2: | FormAndLineReferenceDesc |
| Explanation | THE SOCIETY FOLLOWS THE ACCOUNTING GUIDANCE FOR UNCERTAINTY IN INCOME TAXES WHICH PROVIDES A RECOGNITION THRESHOLD AND MEASUREMENT ATTRIBUTE FOR THE FINANCIAL STATEMENT RECOGNITION OF A TAX POSITION TAKEN OR EXPECTED TO BE TAKEN IN A TAX RETURN. USING THIS GUIDANCE, AN ENTITY MAY RECOGNIZE A TAX BENEFIT FROM AN UNCERTAIN TAX POSITION IN ITS FINANCIAL STATEMENTS ONLY IF IT IS MORE LIKELY-THAN-NOT (I.E. A LIKELIHOOD OF MORE THAN 50%) THAT THE TAX POSITION WILL BE SUSTAINED ON EXAMINATION BY THE TAXING AUTHORITIES, BASED ON THE TECHNICAL MERITS OF THE POSITION. MANAGEMENT HAS DETERMINED THE SOCIETY HAS NO UNCERTAIN TAX POSITIONS AT DECEMBER 31, 2020. TAX YEARS SINCE 2017 REMAIN OPEN TO EXAMINATION. THERE ARE CURRENTLY NO EXAMINATIONS IN PROGRESS. | ExplanationTxt |
Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Grant Records Maintained | Yes (1) | GrantRecordsMaintainedInd |
Recipient Table RecipientTable (2 entries)
| Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1Txt | CityUSAddress/CityNm | State AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCd | ZIPUSAddress/ZIPCd | Recipient EINRecipientEIN | IRC SectionIRCSectionDesc | Cash GrantCashGrantAmt | Purpose Of GrantPurposeOfGrantTxt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| PUBLIC RELATIONS SOCIETY OF AMERICA FDTN INC | |||||||
| 120 WALL STREET 21ST FLOOR | NEW YORK | NY | 10005 | 133556137 | 501(C)(3) | $59,692 | TO SUPPORT THE FOUNDATION'S MISSION OF EDUCATION, CONTINUING EDUCATION AND RESEARCH, INCLUDING DIVERSITY AND INCLUSION INITIATIVES. |
| THE ARTHUR PAGE SOCIETY | |||||||
| 230 PARK AVENUE SUITE 455 | NEW YORK | NY | 10169 | 232290568 | 501(C)(3) | $125,000 | TO SUPPORT THE TENETS OF DIVERSITY EQUITY AND INCLUSION IN THE PUBLIC RELATIONS AND COMMUNICATION PROFESSION. |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total501c3 Org | 2 | Total501c3OrgCnt |
| Total Other Org | 0 | TotalOtherOrgCnt |
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Form And Line Reference | PART I, LINE 2: | FormAndLineReferenceDesc |
| Explanation | THE ORGANIZATION MONITORS GRANTS TO ORGANIZATIONS BY REQUIRING FINANCIAL UPDATES FROM GRANTEES ON AN ONGOING BASIS TO ENSURE THAT FUNDING IS UTILIZED FOR INTENDED PURPOSES. FOR FUNDING TO PUBLIC RELATIONS SOCIETY OF AMERICA FOUNDATION ("PRSA FOUNDATION"), THE ORGANIZATION ALSO MONITORS GRANTS THROUGH THEIR CLOSE AFFILIATION WITH THIS ENTITY. THE ORGANIZATION MAINTAINS FOUR SEATS ON THE PRSA FOUNDATION BOARD AND IS PROVIDED A FULLY TRANSPARENT VIEW OF PRSA FOUNDATION'S ACTIVITIES. | ExplanationTxt |
Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Compensation Committee | Yes (X) | CompensationCommitteeInd |
| Independent Consultant | Yes (X) | IndependentConsultantInd |
| Form990 Of Other Organizations | Yes (X) | Form990OfOtherOrganizationsInd |
| Compensation Survey | Yes (X) | CompensationSurveyInd |
| Board Or Committee Approval | Yes (X) | BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd |
| Severance Payment | Yes (1) | SeverancePaymentInd |
| Supplemental Nonqual Rtr Plan | 0 | SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd |
| Equity Based Comp Arrngm | 0 | EquityBasedCompArrngmInd |
Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (7 entries)
| TitleTitleTxt | Base Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmt | Compensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmt | Bonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmount | Bonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmt | Other Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmt | Other Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmt | Deferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmt | Deferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmt | Nontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmt | Nontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmt | Total Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmt | Total Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmt | Comp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmt | Comp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| PHILIP T BONAVENTURA | ||||||||||||||
| INTERIM CEO/CFO | $404,286 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $774 | $0 | $37,500 | $0 | $14,908 | $0 | $457,468 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| JAY STARR | ||||||||||||||
| SENIOR VP, MEMBER SERVICES | $182,416 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $1,065 | $0 | $26,091 | $0 | $21,264 | $0 | $230,836 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| JOHN D ROBINSON | ||||||||||||||
| VP, CORPORATE DEVELOPMENT | $156,227 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $585 | $0 | $23,270 | $0 | $38,760 | $0 | $218,842 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| KARLA VOTH | ||||||||||||||
| VP, SPECIAL EVENTS & PROGRAM | $176,524 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $1,310 | $0 | $24,969 | $0 | $12,460 | $0 | $215,263 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| JENEEN GARCIA | ||||||||||||||
| SENIOR VP, PROGRAMS | $159,268 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $303 | $0 | $21,071 | $0 | $13,085 | $0 | $193,727 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| MAUREEN WALSH | ||||||||||||||
| CHIEF MARKETING OFFICER | $153,402 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $376 | $0 | $19,758 | $0 | $15,353 | $0 | $188,889 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| JOSEPH P TRUNCALE | ||||||||||||||
| FORMER CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $104,981 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $903 | $0 | $105,884 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Form And Line Reference | PART I, LINE 4A | FormAndLineReferenceDesc |
| Explanation | PURSUANT TO THE TERMS AND CONDITIONS STIPULATED IN JOSEPH P. TRUNCALE'S EMPLOYMENT CONTRACT, THE ORGANIZATION PAID A SEVERANCE PAYMENT TO JOSEPH P. TRUNCALE IN THE AMOUNT OF $104,505 IN 2020. THIS PAYMENT WAS TREATED AS TAXABLE COMPENSATION TO THE RECIPIENT. | ExplanationTxt |
Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (7 entries)
| Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDesc | ExplanationExplanationTxt |
|---|---|
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 6 | THERE ARE FOUR CLASSES OF MEMBERSHIP: GENERAL MEMBERS, ASSOCIATE MEMBERS, RETIRED MEMBERS, AND EMERITUS MEMBERS. ADDITIONAL CATEGORIES OR SUBCATEGORIES OF MEMBERSHIP MAY BE CREATED BY THE BOARD FROM TIME TO TIME BY RESOLUTION. THE ORGANIZATION'S MEMBERS REPRESENT NEARLY EVERY PRACTICE AREA AND PROFESSIONAL AND ACADEMIC SETTING WITHIN THE PUBLIC RELATIONS OR COMMUNICATIONS FIELD. |
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 7A | DELEGATES OF THE MEMBERSHIP HAVE THE RIGHT TO ELECT DIRECTORS AND OFFICERS OF THE BOARD. |
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 7B | THE RIGHT TO AMEND THE ORGANIZATION'S BYLAWS AND APPROVE CHAPTER DISSOLUTIONS IS RESERVED TO THE DELEGATES OF THE MEMBERSHIP. |
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 11B | THE FORM 990 IS REVIEWED IN DETAIL BY THE FINANCE COMMITTEE PRIOR TO FILING. A COPY OF THE FORM 990 IS ALSO PROVIDED TO EACH MEMBER OF THE BOARD ELECTRONICALLY, AND A FULL DISCUSSION ENSUES AS APPROPRIATE. |
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 12C | PRSA BOARD MEMBERS, OFFICERS AND KEY PERSONS ARE REQUIRED TO DISCLOSE ACTUAL AND POTENTIAL CONFLICTS OF INTEREST ON AN ANNUAL BASIS. EACH DISCLOSURE IS REVIEWED BY THE CEO OR THEIR APPOINTED DELEGATE. ANY POTENTIAL CONFLICTS OF INTEREST ARE BROUGHT TO THE ATTENTION OF THE CHAIR AND EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE. THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS WILL DETERMINE WHETHER OR NOT A CONFLICT OF INTEREST EXISTS, AND WHETHER OR NOT SUCH CONFLICT MATERIALLY AND ADVERSELY AFFECTS THE INTERESTS OF THE ORGANIZATION. A COVERED OFFICIAL WHOSE POTENTIAL CONFLICT IS UNDER REVIEW DOES NOT DEBATE, VOTE OR OTHERWISE PARTICIPATE IN SUCH DETERMINATIONS ONCE THE POTENTIAL CONFLICT IS DISCLOSED. IF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS DETERMINE AN ACTUAL OR POTENTIAL CONFLICT OF INTEREST DOES EXIST, THE BOARD WILL DETERMINE AN APPROPRIATE REMEDY. DISCUSSIONS CONCERNING CONFLICTS OF INTEREST ARE DOCUMENTED IN THE MINUTES OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS. |
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 15A | COMPENSATION AND BENEFITS FOR THE CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER IS DETERMINED BY THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE OF THE BOARD, WITH THE CONCURRENCE OF THE BOARD. THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE CONSIDERS SALARY SURVEYS OF SIMILAR ORGANIZATIONS FOR THE TOP STAFF OFFICIAL AND MAY, IN ITS DISCRETION, ENGAGE AN INDEPENDENT CONSULTANT TO CONDUCT A SALARY REVIEW. IN ADDITION, THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE CONDUCTS, WITH INPUT FROM THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS, AN EVALUATION OF THE CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER BASED ON HIS OR HER SUCCESS ACHIEVING THE ENDS SET OUT IN THE STRATEGIC PLAN WHILE ACTING WITHIN THE LIMITATIONS OF PRSA POLICIES AND ACCOMPLISHING THE MUTUALLY AGREED-UPON OBJECTIVES. THE TERMS OF COMPENSATION ARE INCLUDED IN AN EMPLOYMENT CONTRACT, WHICH IS MUTUALLY EXECUTED BY THE CHAIR AND THE CEO. THE PROCESS FOR DETERMINING THE COMPENSATION OF THE CEO, AS OUTLINED ABOVE, WAS LAST CONDUCTED IN 2020. |
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION C, LINE 19 | IN RESPONSE TO A WRITTEN OR IN-PERSON REQUEST, A COPY OF THE REQUESTED TAX FORM(S), GOVERNING DOCUMENTS, CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY AND FINANCIAL STATEMENTS IS PROVIDED TO THE REQUESTER. IF THE REQUEST FOR COPIES IS MADE IN PERSON, A COPY OF THE REQUESTED DOCUMENT(S) WILL GENERALLY BE PROVIDED ON THE DAY OF THE REQUEST; IF THE REQUEST IS WRITTEN, THEN PRSA FORWARDS A COPY OF THE REQUESTED TAX FORM(S) OR GOVERNING DOCUMENT(S) WITHIN THIRTY DAYS. A COPY OF QUARTERLY AND AUDITED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS IS POSTED ON THE PRSA'S WEBSITE AFTER REVIEWED AND APPROVED BY THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS. |
Comments