ARBOR ACRES UNITED METHODIST RETIREMENT COMMUNITY INC: Form 990, tax year 2020

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
ARBOR ACRES UNITED METHODIST RETIREMENT COMMUNITY INC (EIN 56-1152263)
Tax period
2020-01-01 to 2020-12-31
Filed
2021-08-27
IRS object ID
202102399349300130
Schema version
2020v4.1
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2021-08-27T10:50:52-05:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2020-12-31TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN560747981PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1DIXON HUGHES GOODMAN LLPBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1500 RIDGEFIELD COURTAddressLine1Txt
CityASHEVILLECityNm
State AbbreviationNCStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP28806ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2020-01-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN561152263EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1ARBOR ACRES UNITED METHODISTBusinessNameLine1Txt
Business Name Line2RETIREMENT COMMUNITY INCBusinessNameLine2Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlARBOBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone3367247921PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line11240 ARBOR ROADAddressLine1Txt
CityWINSTONSALEMCityNm
State AbbreviationNCStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP271041197ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonDAVID W MATTHEWSPersonNm
Person TitleVICE PRESIDENT/CFOPersonTitleTxt
Phone3367247921PhoneNum
Signature2021-08-27SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (1)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Signing Officer SigningOfficerGrp

Person Full Name PersonFullName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Person FirstDAVIDPersonFirstNm
Person LastMATTHEWSPersonLastNm
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
SSN999009999SSN

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonAMY BIBBYPreparerPersonNm
PTINP00445891PTIN
Phone8282542254PhoneNum
Preparation2021-08-27PreparationDt

Additional Filer Information AdditionalFilerInformation

Trusted Customer TrustedCustomerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Trusted Customer2TrustedCustomerCd
Authentication Assurance LevelAAL1AuthenticationAssuranceLevelCd
Identity Assurance LevelIAL1IdentityAssuranceLevelCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2020TaxYr
Build TS2022-09-23 18:48:47ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerANDREW APPLEGATEPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line11240 ARBOR ROADAddressLine1Txt
CityWINSTONSALEMCityNm
State AbbreviationNCStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP271041197ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$40,119,260GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For Affiliates0GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501c3Yes (X)Organization501c3Ind
Website AddressWWW.ARBORACRES.ORGWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1975FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateNCLegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionTO SERVE SENIOR ADULTS WHILE PROVIDING SECURITY, CONTENTMENT, AND LIFE WITH MEANING & PURPOSE.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body25VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent25VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee610TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers0TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$0TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$0NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$2,586,822PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$3,468,407CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$34,486,391PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$35,448,155CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$2,774,314PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$848,697CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$134,748PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$83,514CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$39,982,275PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$39,848,773CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$1,761,749PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$1,558,579CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$0PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$17,279,903PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$18,187,729CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$295,370CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$17,360,775PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$18,069,592CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$36,402,427PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$37,815,900CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$3,579,848PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$2,032,873CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$136,351,629TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$141,135,946TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$81,676,920TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$83,702,447TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$54,674,709NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$57,433,499NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
Info In Schedule O Part IIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartIIIInd
MissionARBOR ACRES, AN AFFILIATE MINISTRY OF THE UNITED METHODIST CHURCH, SERVES SENIOR ADULTS THROUGH FACILITIES AND PROGRAMS THAT ENHANCE OPPORTUNITY FOR SECURITY, CONTENTMENT AND LIFE WITH MEANING AND PURPOSE.MissionDesc
Significant New Program Srvc0SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant Change0SignificantChangeInd
Expense$24,576,036ExpenseAmt
Grant$1,558,579GrantAmt
Revenue$35,448,155RevenueAmt
DescARBOR ACRES, A CONTINUING CARE RETIREMENT COMMUNITY (CCRC), PROVIDING A CONTINUUM OF INDEPENDENT LIVING FACILITIES WHICH INCLUDE FOUR MID-RISE RESIDENTIAL WINGS CONTAINING 124 UNITS (STUDIO, EFFICIENCY AND CONNECTING ROOM SUITES); 2 TWO-BEDROOM COURTYARD APARTMENTS; 6 ONE-BEDROOM AND 6 TWO-BEDROOM CLUSTER HOMES AND 128 HOUSES. IN ADDITION TO THE INDEPENDENT LIVING FACILITIES, ARBOR ACRES ALSO HAS 102 ADULT CARE HOME BEDS AND 83 NURSING CARE BEDS (LOCATED IN THE FITZGERALD HEALTH CENTER). AS OF DECEMBER 31, 2020, ARBOR ACRES SERVED 479 RESIDENTS IN THE ABOVE UNITS.ARBOR ACRES HOLDS MEMBERSHIPS WITH LEADING AGE (FORMERLY THE AMERICAN ASSOCIATION OF HOMES AND SERVICES FOR THE AGING) AND LEADING AGE NC (FORMERLY THE NORTH CAROLINA ASSOCIATION OF NON-PROFIT HOMES FOR THE AGING). THE FACILITY IS ACCREDITED THROUGH THE CONTINUING CARE ACCREDITATION COMMISSION.AN IMPORTANT COMPONENT OF FULFILLING ARBOR ACRES' MISSION IS THE PROVISION OF FINANCIAL ASSISTANCE SUPPORT TO ENABLE RESIDENTS TO RESIDE AT ARBOR ACRES WHO WOULD OTHERWISE BE UNABLE TO AFFORD TO DO SO. FOR THE YEAR ENDING DECEMBER 31, 2020, $1,426,479 OF FINANCIAL ASSISTANCE WAS PROVIDED TO RESIDENTS TO HELP THEM MAINTAIN RESIDENCY AT THE FACILITY.DURING 2020 THE FOLLOWING SPECIFIC ACCOMPLISHMENTS ENHANCED THE ABILITY TO SERVE RESIDENTS:1. MAINTAINED NEAR FULL OCCUPANCY OF ASSISTED LIVING, MEMORY CARE AND SKILLED NURSING LEVELS OF LICENSED CARE AND EXCEEDED 90% OCCUPANCY OF INDEPENDENT LIVING UNITS.2. SPONSORED AND FACILITATED PARTICIPATION OF RESIDENT EFFORTS IN COMMUNITY SERVICE PROJECTS TO INCLUDE CROSSNORE SCHOOL & CHILDREN'S HOME, SENIOR SERVICES PROGRAMS, RONALD MCDONALD HOUSE LUMINARIES, TUTORING STUDENTS AT COOK ELEMENTARY SCHOOL, BACK TO SCHOOL SUPPLIES PROGRAM FOR COOK ELEMENTARY SCHOOL, ALZHEIMER ASSOCIATION-WESTERN CAROLINA CHAPTER, AND SOLES FOR SOULS SHOE DRIVE, ETC.2.1 SPONSORED AND FACILITATED PARTICIPATION OF RESIDENT EFFORTS IN COMMUNITY SERVICE PROJECTS TO INCLUDE SALVATION ARMY CENTER FOR HOPE, HABITAT FOR HUMANITY, RESTORE, GOODWILL INDUSTRIES OF NORTHWEST N.C., FORSYTH TECHNICAL COMMUNITY COLLEGE (CERTIFIED NURSING ASSISTANT TRAINING PROGRAM), 40+ STAGE COMPANY, SHEPHERD'S CENTER OF GREATER WINSTON-SALEM, SENIOR SERVICES AND TRELLIS SUPPORTIVE CARE ETC.Desc
Total Program Service Expenses$24,576,036TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt
Described In Section501c3Yes (1)DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B RequiredYes (1)ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign Acty0PoliticalCampaignActyInd
Lobbying Activities0LobbyingActivitiesInd
Subject To Proxy Tax0SubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised Fund0DonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation Easements0ConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of Art0CollectionsOfArtInd
Credit Counseling0CreditCounselingInd
Donor Rstr Or Quasi EndowmentsYes (1)DonorRstrOrQuasiEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (1)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other Sec0ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related Invst0ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other Assets0ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (1)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (1)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt0ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School Operating0SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign Office0ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign Activities0ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To Org0MoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To Individuals0MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional Fundraising0ProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising ActivitiesYes (1)FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming Activities0GamingActivitiesInd
Operate Hospital0OperateHospitalInd
Grants To OrganizationsYes (1)GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To IndividualsYes (1)GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (1)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt BondsYes (1)TaxExemptBondsInd
Invest Tax Exempt Bonds0InvestTaxExemptBondsInd
Escrow Account0EscrowAccountInd
On Behalf Of Issuer0OnBehalfOfIssuerInd
Engaged In Excess Benefit Trans0EngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd
PY Excess Benefit Trans0PYExcessBenefitTransInd
Loan Outstanding0LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related Person0GrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org Mem0BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam MemYes (1)BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With35 Ctrl Ent0BusinessRlnWith35CtrlEntInd
Deductible Non Cash Contri0DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art Contribution0DeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate Operations0TerminateOperationsInd
Partial Liquidation0PartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded EntityYes (1)DisregardedEntityInd
Related Entity0RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl Ent0RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd Org0TrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd
Activities Conducted Prtshp0ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (1)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document72IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (1)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee610EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (1)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over Limit0UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Foreign Financial Account0ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans0ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party Notification0TaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible Contributions0NondeductibleContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo ContributionsYes (1)QuidProQuoContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo Contri DisclYes (1)QuidProQuoContriDisclInd
Form8282 Property Disposed Of0Form8282PropertyDisposedOfInd
Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0RcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0PayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Indoor Tanning Services0IndoorTanningServicesInd
Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht Pymt0SubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd
Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst Inc0SubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members25GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member25IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business Rln0FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt Duties0DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org Documents0ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or Misuse0MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or Stockholders0MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board Members0ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To Approva0DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (1)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (1)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing Address0OfficerMailingAddressInd
Local Chapters0LocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (1)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (1)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (1)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (1)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (1)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (1)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (1)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (1)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint Venture0InvestmentInJointVentureInd
Other WebsiteYes (X)OtherWebsiteInd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1DAVID W MATTHEWS VICE PRESIDENTCFOBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Phone3367247921PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line11240 ARBOR ROADAddressLine1Txt
CityWINSTONSALEMCityNm
State AbbreviationNCStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP27104ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (46 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd
SUSAN S SCHWARTZ
CHAIR THEN TREASURER1.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
PAMELA BALL
CHAIR ELECT THEN CHAIR1.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
JOHN WILLINGHAM
CHAIR ELECT1.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
VICTORIA HUNT
VICE CHAIR1.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
KATHY NELSON
VICE CHAIR1.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
WELBORN ALEXANDER
BOARD MEMBER1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
DANNY NEWCOMB
TREASURER1.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
FLORENCE CORPENING
SECRETARY1.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
MARSHA BLEDSOE
BOARD MEMBER1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
ART BLOOM
BOARD MEMBER1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
DR DUDLEY CHANDLER
BOARD MEMBER1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
COURTNEY DOUGLAS
BOARD MEMBER1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
CHRISTINE DUNN
BOARD MEMBER1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
SUSAN ELSTER
BOARD MEMBER1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
DONALD EPPERT
BOARD MEMBER1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
SCOTT GERDING
BOARD MEMBER1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
CINNY S GRAHAM
BOARD MEMBER1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
DAVID HINTON
BOARD MEMBER1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
VINCENT HOWELL
BOARD MEMBER1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
KAYE LAMBERT
BOARD MEMBER1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
JOHN E LAUER
BOARD MEMBER1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
CARROLL MCCULLOUGH
BOARD MEMBER1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
J WILLIAM MCGUINN JR
BOARD MEMBER1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
DREWRY NOSTITZ
BOARD MEMBER1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
CHRISTOPHER PEARCE
BOARD MEMBER1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
STEVEN REEDER
BOARD MEMBER1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
JAMES RUFFIN
BOARD MEMBER1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
WILLIAM SAYERS
BOARD MEMBER1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
J HILL STOCKTON
BOARD MEMBER1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
WENDY WALKER-FOX
BOARD MEMBER1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MIKE BAILEY
EX-OFFICIO1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
DALE DEK DRISCOLL
EX-OFFICIO1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MARGARET HAYDEN
EX-OFFICIO1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
BISHOP PAUL LEELAND
EX-OFFICIO1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
SAM MOORE
EX-OFFICIO1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
FRANK RAYBURN
EX-OFFICIO2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
ANDREW APPLEGATE
CEO40.00Yes (X)$287,662$0$40,722
KENNETH BOYLES
COO40.00Yes (X)$208,310$0$30,368
KATHY GWYN
VP HEALTH SERVICES40.00Yes (X)$171,694$0$28,014
JULIE TAMPA
SECRETARY40.00Yes (X)$68,769$0$10,538
DAVID MATTHEWS
CFO40.00Yes (X)$174,996$0$22,856
LYNN ROSS
DIRECTOR OF MARKETING40.00$122,176$0$14,954Yes (X)
AMANDA CLEARY
NURSE MANAGER40.00$130,220$0$7,699Yes (X)
LES CRANFILL
DIRECTOR OF BUILDINGS AND40.00$117,637$0$14,563Yes (X)
KIMBERLY SNOW
ASSISTANT DON40.00$115,689$0$17,079Yes (X)
KEVIN CLINKENBEARD
DIRECTOR OF FACILITIES40.00$125,124$0$22,487Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$1,522,277TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$209,280TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K11IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees Listed0FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (1)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other Srcs0CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
US FOOD SERVICE
125 FORT MILL PKWYFORT MILLSC29715FOOD SERVICE$1,454,379
SFCS INC
305 SOUTH JEFFERSON STROANOKEVA24011ARCHITECTS$1,153,166
SOLID FOUNDATION CONSTRUCTION INC
1240 YORKSHIRE RDWINSTON SALMENC27106CONSTRUCTION$643,346
THE BUDD GROUG INC
2325 S STRATFORD RDWINSTON SALMENC27103LANDSCAPING$562,935
ICON BUILDERS LLC
2655 FOREST DRWINSTON SALMENC27104CONSTRUCTION$547,991
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K21CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Fundraising$132,100FundraisingAmt
Government Grants$602,992GovernmentGrantsAmt
All Other Contributions$2,733,315AllOtherContributionsAmt
Total Contributions$3,468,407TotalContributionsAmt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (5 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
RESIDENT FEES623000$29,246,986$29,246,986
DEFERRED ENTRANCE FEES623000$5,025,305$5,025,305
HOME CARE FEES623000$1,122,936$1,122,936
MODIFICATION FEES EARNED623000$40,728$40,728
APPLICATION FEES623000$12,200$12,200
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$35,448,155TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$847,915TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$847,915ExclusionAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$245,816SecuritiesAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$0SecuritiesAmt
Other$245,034OtherAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$245,816SecuritiesAmt
Other-$245,034OtherAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$782TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$782ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Fundraising Gross Income$0FundraisingGrossIncomeAmt
Contri Rpt Fundraising Event$132,100ContriRptFundraisingEventAmt
Fundraising Direct Expenses$2,786FundraisingDirectExpensesAmt

Net Incm From Fundraising Evt NetIncmFromFundraisingEvtGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column-$2,786TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion-$2,786ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Sales Of Inventory$22,667GrossSalesOfInventoryAmt
Cost Of Goods Sold$22,667CostOfGoodsSoldAmt

Net Income Or Loss NetIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt

Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp (2 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtExclusionExclusionAmt
FOOD SERVICE REVENUE900099$78,519$78,519
GUEST ROOM RENTAL900099$7,781$7,781
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total$86,300OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$39,848,773TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$35,448,155RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$932,211ExclusionAmt

Grants To Domestic Orgs GrantsToDomesticOrgsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$132,100TotalAmt
Program Services$132,100ProgramServicesAmt

Grants To Domestic Individuals GrantsToDomesticIndividualsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,426,479TotalAmt
Program Services$1,426,479ProgramServicesAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$911,431TotalAmt
Program Services$163,398ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$748,033ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Comp Disqual Persons CompDisqualPersonsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$115,689TotalAmt
Program Services$115,689ProgramServicesAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$13,174,811TotalAmt
Program Services$11,972,855ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$1,020,711ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$181,245FundraisingAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,985,798TotalAmt
Program Services$3,380,344ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$554,537ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$50,917FundraisingAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$155,913TotalAmt
Management And General$155,913ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$136,876TotalAmt
Management And General$136,876ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,521,349TotalAmt
Program Services$1,343,539ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$177,560ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$250FundraisingAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$193,099TotalAmt
Program Services$193,099ProgramServicesAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,541,584TotalAmt
Program Services$2,060,563ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$418,445ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$62,576FundraisingAmt

Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$92,084TotalAmt
Program Services$92,084ProgramServicesAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,749,106TotalAmt
Program Services$1,567,373ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$181,733ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$4,510TotalAmt
Program Services$2,940ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$1,477ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$93FundraisingAmt

Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$324TotalAmt
Program Services$324ProgramServicesAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,375,249TotalAmt
Management And General$1,375,249ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$7,488,424TotalAmt
Management And General$7,488,424ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$329,601TotalAmt
Management And General$329,601ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmtProgram ServicesProgramServicesAmtManagement And GeneralManagementAndGeneralAmt
FOOD COST$1,352,930$1,352,930
COVID EXPENSES$440,259$440,259
BAD DEBT$355,048$355,048
MEDICAL SUPPLIES$320,397$320,397

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$12,839TotalAmt
Program Services$11,663ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$887ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$289FundraisingAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$37,815,900TotalAmt
Program Services$24,576,036ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$12,944,494ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$295,370FundraisingAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,686,310BOYAmt
EOY$2,984,475EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$590,090BOYAmt
EOY$592,104EOYAmt

Pledges And Grants Receivable PledgesAndGrantsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$30,905BOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$638,525BOYAmt
EOY$798,196EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$376,378BOYAmt
EOY$360,402EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$162,424,963LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$75,792,104LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$89,275,332BOYAmt
EOY$86,632,859EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$40,586,627BOYAmt
EOY$47,543,563EOYAmt

Investments Program Related InvestmentsProgramRelatedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,344,661BOYAmt
EOY$1,449,495EOYAmt

Intangible Assets IntangibleAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$703,738BOYAmt
EOY$655,789EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$119,063BOYAmt
EOY$119,063EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$136,351,629BOYAmt
EOY$141,135,946EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,311,706BOYAmt
EOY$2,805,455EOYAmt

Deferred Revenue DeferredRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$33,006,098BOYAmt
EOY$33,535,569EOYAmt

Tax Exempt Bond Liabilities TaxExemptBondLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$35,487,000BOYAmt
EOY$34,025,000EOYAmt

Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$8,335,907BOYAmt
EOY$7,876,184EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,536,209BOYAmt
EOY$5,460,239EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$81,676,920BOYAmt
EOY$83,702,447EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Organization Follows FASB117Yes (X)OrganizationFollowsFASB117Ind

No Donor Restriction Net Assets NoDonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$43,123,840BOYAmt
EOY$43,909,871EOYAmt

Donor Restriction Net Assets DonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$11,550,869BOYAmt
EOY$13,523,628EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$54,674,709BOYAmt
EOY$57,433,499EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$136,351,629BOYAmt
EOY$141,135,946EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part XIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$2,032,873ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst$3,488,833NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets-$2,762,916OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Info In Schedule O Part XIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIIInd
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or Review0AccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (1)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Separate Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (1)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit Required0FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd

Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Publicly Supported Org509a2Yes (X)PubliclySupportedOrg509a2Ind

Gifts Grants Contris Rcvd509 GiftsGrantsContrisRcvd509Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$2,057,346CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$1,561,245CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$4,116,152CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$2,586,876CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$3,333,521CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$13,655,140TotalAmt

Gross Receipts Admissions GrossReceiptsAdmissionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$28,914,297CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$30,364,789CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$31,981,468CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$32,760,642CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$34,021,676CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$158,042,872TotalAmt

Gross Receipts Non Unrlt Bus GrossReceiptsNonUnrltBusGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$153,946CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$164,890CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$134,070CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$176,179CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$108,967CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$738,052TotalAmt

Total509 Total509Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$31,125,589CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$32,090,924CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$36,231,690CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$35,523,697CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$37,464,164CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$172,436,064TotalAmt

Amounts Rcvd Dsqlfy Person AmountsRcvdDsqlfyPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$536,466CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$525,323CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$558,777CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$688,710CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$568,943CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$2,878,219TotalAmt

Substantial Contributors Amt SubstantialContributorsAmtGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Subst And Dsqlfy Prsns Tot SubstAndDsqlfyPrsnsTotGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$536,466CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$525,323CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$558,777CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$688,710CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$568,943CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$2,878,219TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Public Support Total509$169,557,845PublicSupportTotal509Amt

Gross Investment Income509 GrossInvestmentIncome509Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$755,458CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$752,995CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$890,455CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$879,976CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$847,915CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$4,126,799TotalAmt

Investment Income And UBTI InvestmentIncomeAndUBTIGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$755,458CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$752,995CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$890,455CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$879,976CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$847,915CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$4,126,799TotalAmt

Total Support Calendar Year TotalSupportCalendarYearGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$31,881,047CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$32,843,919CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$37,122,145CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$36,403,673CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$38,312,079CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$176,562,863TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Public Support CY5090.96030PublicSupportCY509Pct
Public Support PY5090.95900PublicSupportPY509Pct
Investment Income CY0.02340InvestmentIncomeCYPct
Investment Income PY0.02360InvestmentIncomePYPct
Thirty Thr Pct Suprt Tests CY509Yes (X)ThirtyThrPctSuprtTestsCY509Ind

Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB

Contributor Information ContributorInformationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
ContributorRESTRICTEDContributorNum

Contributor Business Name ContributorBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1RESTRICTEDBusinessNameLine1

Contributor US Address ContributorUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1RESTRICTEDAddressLine1
Address Line2RESTRICTEDAddressLine2
CityRESTRICTEDCity
StateRESTRICTEDState
ZIP CodeRESTRICTEDZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total ContributionsRESTRICTEDTotalContributionsAmt

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

CY Endwmt Fund CYEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$16,210,205BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$1,088,308ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$1,664,828InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$674,386OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$18,288,955EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus1 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus1YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$14,410,233BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$129,350ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$2,275,202InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$604,580OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$16,210,205EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus2 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus2YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$15,367,393BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$299,878ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses-$612,038InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$645,000OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$14,410,233EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus3 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus3YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$14,074,117BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$102,479ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$1,790,797InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$600,000OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$15,367,393EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus4 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus4YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$13,719,172BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$149,629ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$797,317InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$592,001OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$14,074,117EndYearBalanceAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Board Designated Balance EOY0.36747BoardDesignatedBalanceEOYPct
Prmnnt Endowment Balance EOY0.63253PrmnntEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Endowments Held Unrelated Org0EndowmentsHeldUnrelatedOrgInd
Endowments Held Related Org0EndowmentsHeldRelatedOrgInd

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$2,166,825OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$2,166,825BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$136,123,934OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$62,386,881DepreciationAmt
Book Value$73,737,053BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$10,735,501OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$7,182,954DepreciationAmt
Book Value$3,552,547BookValueAmt

Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$13,398,703OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$6,222,269DepreciationAmt
Book Value$7,176,434BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$86,632,859TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (2 entries)

DescDescAmtAmt
REFUNDABLE DEPOSITS$110,640
INTEREST RATE SWAP LIABILITY$5,349,599
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$5,460,239TotalLiabilityAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$38,632,821TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Net Unrealized Gains Invst$3,488,833NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt
Other Revenue-$410,556OtherRevenueAmt
Revenue Not Reported$3,078,277RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$35,554,544RevenueSubtotalAmt
Other Revenues Not Included$4,294,229OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$4,294,229RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$39,848,773TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$35,874,031TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Other Expenses Included$22,667OtherExpensesIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Reported$22,667ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$35,851,364ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Other Expenses Not Included$1,964,536OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$1,964,536ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$37,815,900TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (6 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
PART V, LINE 4:ARBOR ACRES CURRENTLY MAINTAINS A FINANCIAL ASSISTANCE PROGRAM AND POLICY FOR RESIDENTS HOLDING CONTINUING CARE RESIDENCY AGREEMENTS IN THE EVENT THE RESIDENT(S) SHOULD BECOME UNABLE TO PAY FOR SERVICES. THERE IS A DESIGNATED ASSISTANCE ENDOWMENT OF $6,720,732 WITHOUT DONOR RESTRICTIONS AND A ASSISTANCE ENDOWMENT OF $11,568,224 WITH DONOR RESTRICTIONS.
PART X, LINE 2:ARBOR ACRES IS EXEMPT FROM FEDERAL INCOME TAXES UNDER SECTION 501(C)(3) OF THE INTERNAL REVENUE CODE. HOME CARE IS A LIMITED LIABILITY COMPANY THAT HAS NOT ELECTED TO BE TAXED AS A CORPORATION UNDER CURRENT INTERNAL REVENUE CODE (IRC) REGULATIONS. HOME CARE IS WHOLLY OWNED BY ARBOR ACRES. AS SUCH, HOME CARE IS CONSIDERED A DISREGARDED ENTITY UNDER CURRENT IRC REGULATIONS. BASED ON THE INFORMATION ABOVE, THE ACCOMPANYING CONSOLIDATED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS DO NOT REFLECT A PROVISION OR LIABILITY FOR FEDERAL AND STATE INCOME TAXES. THE COMPANY HAS DETERMINED THAT IT DOES NOT HAVE ANY MATERIAL UNRECOGNIZED TAX BENEFITS OR OBLIGATIONS AS OF DECEMBER 31, 2020.
PART XI, LINE 2D - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:COST OF GOODS SOLD 22,667. CHANGE IN VALUE OF PERPETUAL TRUST 104,834. REVENUES IN EXPENSES -538,057.
PART XI, LINE 4B - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:CHANGE IN INTEREST RATE SWAP 2,867,750. GRANTS TO INDIVIDUALS 1,426,479.
PART XII, LINE 2D - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:COST OF GOODS SOLD 22,667.
PART XII, LINE 4B - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:REVENUES IN EXPENSES 538,057. GRANTS TO INDIVIDUALS 1,426,479.

Schedule G IRS990ScheduleG

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Mail SolicitationsYes (X)MailSolicitationsInd
Email SolicitationsYes (X)EmailSolicitationsInd
In Person SolicitationsYes (X)InPersonSolicitationsInd
Special Fundraising EventsYes (X)SpecialFundraisingEventsInd

Fundraising Event Information FundraisingEventInformationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Event1SALVATION ARMY CENTERS FOR HOPEEvent1Nm
Gross Receipts Event1$132,100GrossReceiptsEvent1Amt
Charitable Contri Event1$132,100CharitableContriEvent1Amt
Food And Beverage Event1$1,000FoodAndBeverageEvent1Amt
Other Direct Expenses Event1$1,786OtherDirectExpensesEvent1Amt
Gross Receipts Total$132,100GrossReceiptsTotalAmt
Charitable Contributions Tot$132,100CharitableContributionsTotAmt
Food And Beverage Total Events$1,000FoodAndBeverageTotalEventsAmt
Oth Direct Expnss Total Events$1,786OthDirectExpnssTotalEventsAmt
Direct Expense Summary Events$2,786DirectExpenseSummaryEventsAmt
Net Income Summary-$2,786NetIncomeSummaryAmt

Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant Records MaintainedYes (1)GrantRecordsMaintainedInd

Recipient Table RecipientTable

Recipient Business Name RecipientBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1THE SALVATION ARMYBusinessNameLine1Txt

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line11255 TRADE ST NWAddressLine1Txt
CityWINSTONSALEMCityNm
State AbbreviationNCStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP27101ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
IRC Section501(C)(3)IRCSectionDesc
Cash Grant$132,100CashGrantAmt
Purpose Of GrantGENERAL SUPPORTPurposeOfGrantTxt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total501c3 Org1Total501c3OrgCnt

Grants Other Asst To Indiv In US GrantsOtherAsstToIndivInUSGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant TypeFINANCIAL ASSISTANCE PROVIDED TO RESIDENTSGrantTypeTxt
Recipient19RecipientCnt
Cash Grant$0CashGrantAmt
Non Cash Assistance$1,426,479NonCashAssistanceAmt
Valuation Method UsedFMVValuationMethodUsedDesc
Non Cash AssistanceFINANCIAL ASSISTANCE TO RESIDENTSNonCashAssistanceDesc

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePART I, LINE 2:FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationTHE ORGANIZATION PROVIDES FINANCIAL ASSISTANCE TO RESIDENTS UNABLE TO PAY FOR SERVICES. THE ORGANIZATION KEEPS A RECORD OF HOW IT DETERMINES A RESIDENTS FINANCIAL NEED AND THE AMOUNT OF ASSISTANCE PROVIDED. THE ORGANIZATION HELD A FUNDRAISER IN WHICH RESIDENTS RAISED FUNDS FOR A LOCAL TAX EXEMPT ORGANIZATION.ExplanationTxt

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Compensation CommitteeYes (X)CompensationCommitteeInd
Form990 Of Other OrganizationsYes (X)Form990OfOtherOrganizationsInd
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance Payment0SeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr Plan0SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp Arrngm0EquityBasedCompArrngmInd
Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng Org0CompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd On Rev Related Orgs0CompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng Org0CompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd Orgs0CompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd
Any Non Fixed Payments0AnyNonFixedPaymentsInd
Initial Contract Exception0InitialContractExceptionInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (4 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
ANDREW APPLEGATE
CEO$247,170$0$20,184$0$20,308$0$17,110$0$23,612$0$328,384$0$0$0
KENNETH BOYLES
COO$198,067$0$7,721$0$2,522$0$12,638$0$17,730$0$238,678$0$0$0
KATHY GWYN
VP HEALTH SERVICES$152,493$0$10,552$0$8,649$0$10,284$0$17,730$0$199,708$0$0$0
DAVID MATTHEWS
CFO$163,593$0$5,978$0$5,425$0$9,553$0$13,303$0$197,852$0$0$0

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePART I, LINE 3FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationIN 2019, THE ORGANIZATION ENGAGED A COMPENSATION CONSULTANT. THE RESULTS OF SUCH WERE NOT REFLECTED IN THE 2019 COMPENSATION, BUT WILL AFFECT THE 2020 COMPENSATION.ExplanationTxt

Schedule K IRS990ScheduleK

Tax Exempt Bonds Issues TaxExemptBondsIssuesGrp (2 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdBond Issuer EINBondIssuerEINBond IssuedBondIssuedDtIssue PriceIssuePriceAmtPurposePurposeDescDefeasedDefeasedIndOn Behalf Of IssuerOnBehalfOfIssuerIndPool FinancingPoolFinancingInd
NORTH CAROLINA MEDICAL CARE COMMISSION
A5313094022016-12-15$13,159,000REFUND SERIES 2007 ISSUE000
NORTH CAROLINA MEDICAL CARE COMMISSION
B5213094022019-08-01$24,900,000REFUND SERIES 2010 ISSUE000

Tax Exempt Bonds Proceeds TaxExemptBondsProceedsGrp (2 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdRetiredRetiredAmtTotal ProceedsTotalProceedsAmtOther Spent ProceedsOtherSpentProceedsAmtSubstantial CompletionSubstantialCompletionYrRefunding Tax Exempt BondsRefundingTaxExemptBondsIndRefunding Taxable BondsRefundingTaxableBondsIndFinal Allocation MadeFinalAllocationMadeIndAdequate Books And Rec MaintAdequateBooksAndRecMaintInd
A$3,918,000$13,159,000$13,159,000201600Yes (1)Yes (1)
B$600,000$24,900,000$24,900,000201900Yes (1)Yes (1)

Tax Exempt Bonds Private Bus Use TaxExemptBondsPrivateBusUseGrp (2 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdOwning Bond Financed PropertyOwningBondFinancedPropertyIndAny Lease ArrangementsAnyLeaseArrangementsIndMgmt Contract Bond Fincd PropMgmtContractBondFincdPropIndAny Research AgreementsAnyResearchAgreementsIndBond Iss Meet Prvt Sec Pymt TestBondIssMeetPrvtSecPymtTestIndChange In Use Bond Financed PropChangeInUseBondFinancedPropIndProcs Nonqualified Bond RemdtdProcsNonqualifiedBondRemdtdInd
A000000Yes (1)
B000000Yes (1)

Tax Exempt Bonds Arbitrage TaxExemptBondsArbitrageGrp (2 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdForm8038 T FiledForm8038TFiledIndRebate Not Due YetRebateNotDueYetIndException To RebateExceptionToRebateIndNo Rebate DueNoRebateDueIndVariable Rate IssueVariableRateIssueIndHedge Identified In Bks And RecHedgeIdentifiedInBksAndRecIndTerm Of HedgeTermOfHedgePctSuperintegrated HedgeSuperintegratedHedgeIndHedge TerminatedHedgeTerminatedIndGross Proceeds Invested In GICGrossProceedsInvestedInGICIndGross Proceeds InvestedGrossProceedsInvestedIndWritten Proc To Monitor ReqsWrittenProcToMonitorReqsInd
BB&T
A0Yes (1)00Yes (1)Yes (1)16.0000000000000000Yes (1)
BB&T
B0Yes (1)00Yes (1)Yes (1)19.0000000000000000Yes (1)

Procedures Corrective Action ProceduresCorrectiveActionGrp (2 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdProcedures Corrective ActionProceduresCorrectiveActionInd
A0
B0

Schedule L IRS990ScheduleL

Bus Tr Involve Interested Prsn BusTrInvolveInterestedPrsnGrp

Name Of Interested NameOfInterested

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonKIMBERLY SNOWPersonNm
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Relationship DescriptionFAMILY RELATIONSHIP WITH AN OFFICERRelationshipDescriptionTxt
Transaction$115,689TransactionAmt
TransactionCOMPENSATIONTransactionDesc
Sharing Of Revenues0SharingOfRevenuesInd

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (7 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 11BTHE ORGANIZATION PROVIDES A COMPLETE COPY OF THE 990 TO THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS' FINANCE COMMITTEE, PRIOR TO FILING. AFTER REVIEW AND APPROVAL BY THE FINANCE COMMITTEE THE 990 IS MADE AVAILABLE TO ALL BOARD MEMBERS PRIOR TO FILING. ONCE ACCEPTED BY THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS THE 990 IS FILED BY MANAGEMENT.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 12CEACH YEAR, ALL BOARD MEMBERS ARE REQUIRED TO SIGN A CERTIFICATION THAT THEY HAVE READ AND UNDERSTAND OUR POLICY. THEY ARE ALSO REQUIRED TO DISCLOSE ANY POTENTIAL CONFLICTS OR RELATIONSHIPS. THESE CERTIFICATIONS ARE KEPT ON FILE AND ARE REVIEWED ANNUALLY.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 15THE CEO'S COMPENSATION IS REVIEWED BY THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS' COMPENSATION COMMITTEE ANNUALLY. SPECIFIC SALARY INFORMATION AVAILABLE FOR COMPARABLE FACILTIES WILL BE UTILIZED IN EVALUATING THE CEO'S COMPENSATION. WHEN EVALUATING SURVEY AND LOCAL COMMUNITY'S DATA, SIZE OF COMMUNITY AND ANNUAL REVENUES WILL BE UTLIZED AS THE PRIMARY BENCHMARKS. DURING 2019 THE ORGANIZATION ENGAGED A COMPENSATION CONSULTANT TO ASSIST IN EVALUATING COMPENSATION. THE CEO, WORKING WITH THE DIRECTOR OF TALENT ARTS, WILL RECOMMEND COMPENSATION FOR OTHER OFFICERS AND KEY EMPLOYEES TO THE COMPENSATION COMMITTEE, SEEKING THEIR APPROVAL BEFORE IMPLEMENTING ANY CHANGES. THE SAME SOURCES OF DATA USED TO EVALUATE THE CEO'S COMPENSATION IS USED FOR OTHER OFFICERS AND KEY EMPLOYEES.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION C, LINE 18THE ORGANIZATION'S FORM 990 IS MADE AVAILABLE TO THE PUBLIC UPON REQUEST. ADDITIONALLY, RECENT FILINGS OF THE FORM CAN BE FOUND ON WWW.GUIDESTAR.ORG.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION C, LINE 19THE ORGANIZATION MAKES ITS GOVERNING DOCUMENTS AND CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY AVAILABLE UPON REQUEST. ANNUAL FINANCIAL STATEMENTS ARE PART OF THE ANNUAL DISCLOSURE STATEMENT MADE AVAILABLE THROUGH THE NC DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE WEBSITE. THE ANNUAL AUDIT IS DISTRIBUTED TO RESIDENT COUNCIL AND MADE AVAILABLE TO ANY RESIDENT UPON REQUEST.
FORM 990, PART XI, LINE 9:CHANGE IN INTEREST RATE SWAP -2,867,750. CHANGE IN VALUE OF PERPETUAL TRUST 104,834.
PART XII, LINE 2CTHE PROCESS HAS NOT CHANGED FROM THE PRIOR YEAR.

Schedule R IRS990ScheduleR

Id Disregarded Entities IdDisregardedEntitiesGrp

Disregarded Entity Name DisregardedEntityName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1ARBOR ACRES HOME CARE LLCBusinessNameLine1Txt

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line11240 ARBOR ROADAddressLine1Txt
CityWINSTONSALEMCityNm
State AbbreviationNCStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP27104ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN832830530EIN
Primary ActivitiesIN HOME CARE SERVICESPrimaryActivitiesTxt
Legal Domicile StateNCLegalDomicileStateCd
Total Income$1,122,936TotalIncomeAmt
End Of Year Assets$950,875EndOfYearAssetsAmt

Direct Controlling Entity Name DirectControllingEntityName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1ARBOR ACRES UNITED METHODIST RETIREMENT COMMUNITY INCBusinessNameLine1Txt

Comments

Anonymous: no account or email. Up to 2,000 characters, at most one link. Comments are checked automatically; some wait for review.