COMMUNITY VISION CAPITAL & CONSULTING: Form 990, tax year 2023

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
COMMUNITY VISION CAPITAL & CONSULTING (EIN 94-3032394)
Tax period
2023-10-01 to 2024-09-30
Filed
2025-07-22
IRS object ID
202512039349301441
Schema version
2023v6.0
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2025-07-22T13:33:46-05:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2024-09-30TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN941254756PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1HOOD & STRONG LLPBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line12580 N 1ST ST STE 460AddressLine1Txt
CitySAN JOSECityNm
State AbbreviationCAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP95131ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2023-10-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN943032394EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1COMMUNITY VISION CAPITAL & CONSULTINGBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlCOMMBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone4153928215PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1870 MARKET STREET 677AddressLine1Txt
CitySAN FRANCISCOCityNm
State AbbreviationCAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP94102ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonWIL O MENDOZAPersonNm
Person TitleVICE PRESIDENT OF FINANCEPersonTitleTxt
Phone4153928215PhoneNum
Signature2025-07-10SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (1)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
IRS Responsible Prty Info Curr0IRSResponsiblePrtyInfoCurrInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonMAGA E KISRIEVPreparerPersonNm
PTINP01008919PTIN
Phone4089988400PhoneNum
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2023TaxYr
Build TS2025-03-06 01:10:19ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerCATHERINE HOWARDPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1870 MARKET STREET 677AddressLine1Txt
CitySAN FRANCISCOCityNm
State AbbreviationCAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP94102ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$32,372,643GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For Affiliates0GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501c3Yes (X)Organization501c3Ind
Website AddressHTTPS://COMMUNITYVISIONCA.ORG/WebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1987FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateCALegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionPROVIDING FINANCING AND FINANCIAL EXPERTISE TO STRENGTHEN LOW-INCOME COMMUNITIES.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body11VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent10VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee46TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers26TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$0TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$0NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$3,851,529PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$17,580,905CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$5,338,741PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$5,594,997CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$1,213,698PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$1,441,430CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$0PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$5,000CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$10,403,968PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$24,622,332CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$164,494PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$128,588CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$0PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$6,085,586PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$5,683,657CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$393,537CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$7,639,734PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$10,766,665CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$13,889,814PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$16,578,910CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses-$3,485,846PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$8,043,422CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$129,891,649TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$161,816,185TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$92,196,482TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$112,664,111TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$37,695,167NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$49,152,074NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
Info In Schedule O Part IIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartIIIInd
MissionCOMMUNITY VISION CAPITAL & CONSULTING PROMOTES ECONOMIC JUSTICE AND ALLEVIATES POVERTY BY INCREASING THE FINANCIAL RESILIENCE AND SUSTAINABILITY OF COMMUNITY-BASED NONPROFITS AND ENTERPRISES. THROUGH FLEXIBLE FINANCIAL PRODUCTS AND SOUND ADVICE, WE CREATE OPPORTUNITIES TO MAKE SOCIALLY RESPONSIBLE INVESTMENTS THAT REVITALIZE NORTHERN CALIFORNIA COMMUNITIES.MissionDesc
Significant New Program Srvc0SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant Change0SignificantChangeInd
Expense$11,588,502ExpenseAmt
Grant$128,588GrantAmt
Revenue$4,613,845RevenueAmt
DescCAPITAL SOLUTIONS: SINCE 1987, COMMUNITY VISION HAS MADE 683 LOANS TOTALING $348 MILLION TO NONPROFITS AND SOCIAL ENTERPRISES SERVING DISINVESTED COMMUNITIES IN NORTHERN AND CENTRAL CALIFORNIA, LEVERAGING OVER $1.99 BILLION IN ADDITIONAL PROJECT FUNDING. THESE LOANS HAVE HELPED CREATE OR PRESERVE 7,733 AFFORDABLE HOUSING UNITS FOR LOW-INCOME FAMILIES AND INDIVIDUALS, AND FINANCED OVER 5.2 MILLION SQUARE FEET OF NEIGHBORHOOD-SERVING COMMERCIAL AND RESIDENTIAL SPACE. THESE LOANS HAVE ALSO HELPED CREATE OR PRESERVE 26,494 PERMANENT AND CONSTRUCTION JOBS, AND HELPED FINANCE PROJECTS BY ORGANIZATIONS THAT SERVE OVER 1.8 MILLION INDIVIDUALS. AT THE END OF FY24, COMMUNITY VISION MANAGED A PORTFOLIO OF 104 LOANS WORTH $92.8 MILLION TO 92 ORGANIZATIONS. DURING FY24, COMMUNITY VISION CLOSED 34 LOANS TOTALING $31 MILLION.Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty2 ProgSrvcAccomActy2Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Expense$1,784,042ExpenseAmt
Grant$0GrantAmt
Revenue$672,352RevenueAmt
DescREAL ESTATE SOLUTIONS (RES): SINCE THE INCEPTION OF OUR CONSULTING & TRAINING PROGRAM, COMMUNITY VISION HAS PROVIDED 1,308 REAL ESTATE AND FINANCIAL MANAGEMENT CONSULTING ENGAGEMENTS AND SERVED 8,436 ORGANIZATIONS THROUGH WORKSHOPS ON THESE TOPICS. DURING FY24, THE PROGRAM COMPLETED 44 CONSULTING ENGAGEMENTS, AND HOSTED 13 WORKSHOPS. RES ALSO MANAGES THE CALCORE PROGRAM, A FIVE-YEAR STATE-WIDE INITIATIVE THAT BRINGS TOGETHER COHORTS OF COMMUNITY-BASED DEVELOPERS, WITH A FOCUS ON BLACK, INDIGENOUS, PEOPLE OF COLOR-LED (BIPOC) REAL ESTATE ORGANIZATIONS, PARTICULARLY COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT CORPORATIONS (CDCS) AND COMMUNITY LAND TRUSTS (CLTS).Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty3 ProgSrvcAccomActy3Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Expense$1,141,962ExpenseAmt
Grant$0GrantAmt
Revenue$0RevenueAmt
DescCOMMUNICATIONS AND IMPACT: COMMUNITY VISION CONDUCTS ONGOING EVALUATION OF PROGRAMS AND INITIATIVES. WE DEVELOP AND DISTRIBUTE INFORMATION ABOUT OUR PROGRAMS BOTH INTERNALLY AND EXTERNALLY VIA MULTIPLE CHANNELS.Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty Other ProgSrvcAccomActyOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Expense$576,605ExpenseAmt
Grant$0GrantAmt
Revenue$308,800RevenueAmt
DescCAPITALIZATION: COMMUNITY VISION WAS FOUNDED BY COMMUNITY RESIDENTS AS A VEHICLE TO CHANNEL CAPITAL FROM SOCIALLY RESPONSIBLE AND MISSION MOTIVATED INVESTORS TO PROJECTS THAT BENEFIT LOW INCOME PEOPLE. WE PROVIDE EDUCATION ON SUSTAINABLE, SOCIALLY RESPONSIBLE INVESTING. AT THE END OF FY2024 INVESTMENTS MADE BY OVER 300 BANKS, FOUNDATIONS, INDIVIDUALS, RELIGIOUS ORGANIZATIONS, NONPROFIT ORGANIZATIONS AND HOSPITAL SYSTEMS INTO OUR REVOLVING LOAN FUND TOTALED $103.6 MILLION.NEW MARKETS TAX CREDIT: COMMUNITY VISION HAS RECEIVED A TOTAL OF $212 MILLION IN NEW MARKETS TAX CREDIT (NMTC) ALLOCATION FOR USE IN OUR NORTHERN AND CENTRAL CALIFORNIA SERVICE AREA. WE HIGHLY LEVERAGE AND INVEST TAX CREDIT CAPITAL IN HIGH IMPACT BUSINESSES AND NONPROFITS IN QUALIFYING LOW-INCOME COMMUNITIES, CREATING JOBS AND SPURRING ADDITIONAL ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT. OUR NMTC PROGRAM HAS HELPED TO CREATE OR PRESERVE 5,637 JOBS, CREATED 1,038,826 SQUARE FEET OF COMMUNITY FACILITY SPACE, HELPED TO DEVELOP 84 UNITS OF AFFORDABLE HOUSING AND LEVERAGED AN ADDITIONAL $340 MILLION IN PRIVATE INVESTMENT. OVER 962,000 INDIVIDUALS ACROSS 8 COUNTIES SPANNING NORTHERN AND CENTRAL CALIFORNIA WILL BE SERVED BY THE PROJECTS DEVELOPED USING THESE FUNDS.Desc
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Other Prog Srvc Expense$576,605TotalOtherProgSrvcExpenseAmt
Total Other Prog Srvc Grant$0TotalOtherProgSrvcGrantAmt
Total Other Prog Srvc Revenue$308,800TotalOtherProgSrvcRevenueAmt
Total Program Service Expenses$15,091,111TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt
Described In Section501c3Yes (1)DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B RequiredYes (1)ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign Acty0PoliticalCampaignActyInd
Lobbying ActivitiesYes (1)LobbyingActivitiesInd
Subject To Proxy Tax0SubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised Fund0DonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation Easements0ConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of Art0CollectionsOfArtInd
Credit Counseling0CreditCounselingInd
Donor Rstr Or Quasi Endowments0DonorRstrOrQuasiEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (1)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other Sec0ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related Invst0ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other Assets0ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (1)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (1)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt0ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School Operating0SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign Office0ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign Activities0ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To Org0MoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To Individuals0MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional Fundraising0ProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising Activities0FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming Activities0GamingActivitiesInd
Operate Hospital0OperateHospitalInd
Grants To OrganizationsYes (1)GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To Individuals0GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (1)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt Bonds0TaxExemptBondsInd
Engaged In Excess Benefit Trans0EngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd
PY Excess Benefit Trans0PYExcessBenefitTransInd
Loan OutstandingYes (1)LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related Person0GrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org Mem0BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam Mem0BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With35 Ctrl Ent0BusinessRlnWith35CtrlEntInd
Deductible Non Cash Contri0DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art Contribution0DeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate Operations0TerminateOperationsInd
Partial Liquidation0PartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded EntityYes (1)DisregardedEntityInd
Related EntityYes (1)RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl EntYes (1)RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Transaction With Control EntYes (1)TransactionWithControlEntInd
Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd Org0TrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd
Activities Conducted Prtshp0ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (1)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document258IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (1)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee46EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (1)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over Limit0UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Foreign Financial Account0ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans0ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party Notification0TaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible Contributions0NondeductibleContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo ContributionsYes (1)QuidProQuoContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo Contri DisclYes (1)QuidProQuoContriDisclInd
Form8282 Property Disposed Of0Form8282PropertyDisposedOfInd
Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0RcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0PayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Indoor Tanning Services0IndoorTanningServicesInd
Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht Pymt0SubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd
Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst Inc0SubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members11GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member10IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business Rln0FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt Duties0DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org Documents0ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or Misuse0MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or Stockholders0MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board Members0ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To Approva0DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (1)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (1)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing Address0OfficerMailingAddressInd
Local Chapters0LocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (1)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (1)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (1)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (1)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (1)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (1)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (1)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (1)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint Venture0InvestmentInJointVentureInd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldCAStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonWIL O MENDOZAPersonNm
Phone4153928215PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1870 MARKET ST SUITE 677AddressLine1Txt
CitySAN FRANCISCOCityNm
State AbbreviationCAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP94102ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (25 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtKey EmployeeKeyEmployeeIndHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd
ANITA ADDISON
BOARD CHAIR4.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
JOHN CHAN
TREASURER4.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
DAVID ELSAESSER
SECRETARY4.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
PATRICIA GOPAUL
BOARD MEMBER4.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
CAROYN JOHNSON
BOARD MEMBER4.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
ANDY MADEIRA
BOARD MEMBER4.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
NIKKI BEASLEY
BOARD MEMBER4.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
ESTELLA SANCHEZ
BOARD MEMBER4.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
BHAVANI DARYANANI
BOARD MEMBER4.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
LUISA MEDINA
BOARD MEMBER4.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
BRYAN IGNOZZI
BOARD MEMBER (THRU 1/1/24)4.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
LUIS RODRIGUEZ
BOARD MEMBER (THRU 6/1/24)4.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
PAMELA MERCHANT
BOARD MEMBER/CONSULTANT4.00Yes (X)$4,600$0$0
CATHERINE HOWARD
PRESIDENT40.00Yes (X)$261,983$0$37,007
WILFREDO O MENDOZA
CFO40.00Yes (X)$198,867$0$30,326
SABRINA KELLEY
DIR OF EXTERNAL RELATIONS40.00$206,207$0$26,838Yes (X)
JASON RIGGS
COMMUNICATIONS DIRECTOR40.00$173,269$0$22,178Yes (X)
SCOTT SPORTE
DIRECTOR OF CREDIT40.00$182,035$0$25,441Yes (X)
CARMEN JONES-WEAKS
DIRECTOR OF PEOPLE & CULTURE40.00$167,669$0$29,030Yes (X)
NATE SCHAFFRAN
DIRECTOR OF BUSINESS DEVELOPMENT40.00$168,809$0$30,204Yes (X)
SAUL ETTLIN
SENIOR ADVISOR TO THE PRESIDENT40.00$190,136$0$28,948Yes (X)
AMANDA BORNSTEIN
DIR OF CATALYTIC CONSULTING/TRAINING40.00$167,190$0$20,976Yes (X)
GRAYTON HUANG
CONTROLLER40.00$147,594$0$9,828Yes (X)
DANIEL MCDONALD
SENIOR BUSINESS DEVELOPMENT OFFICER40.00$153,953$0$10,199Yes (X)
RISA KEEPER
INTERIM DIRECTOR OF CATALYTIC CAPITAL (THRU 12/13/40.00$167,281$0$19,178Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$2,189,593TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$290,153TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K20IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees Listed0FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (1)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other Srcs0CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (3 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
45 LINCOLN QSF
403 HOLIDAY COURTWARRENTONVA20186LEGAL SERVICES$133,199
THE NORFUS FIRM
POB 11177MIAMIFL33101HR AND DEI CONSULTING$115,569
NIXON PEABODY
300 S GRAND AVE 4100LOS ANGELESCA90071LEGAL SERVICES$102,584
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K3CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Government Grants$1,540,730GovernmentGrantsAmt
All Other Contributions$16,040,175AllOtherContributionsAmt
Total Contributions$17,580,905TotalContributionsAmt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (3 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
INTEREST ON COMMUNITY LOANS813319$4,613,845$4,613,845
LOAN FEES/NMTC FEES813319$633,155$633,155
CONSULTING AND FISCAL AGENT FEES813319$347,997$347,997
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$5,594,997TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$1,444,805TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$1,444,805ExclusionAmt

Gross Rents GrossRentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$5,000RealAmt

Less Rental Expenses LessRentalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$0RealAmt

Rental Income Or Loss RentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$5,000RealAmt

Net Rental Income Or Loss NetRentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$5,000TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$5,000ExclusionAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$7,746,936SecuritiesAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$7,750,311SecuritiesAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities-$3,375SecuritiesAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column-$3,375TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion-$3,375ExclusionAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$24,622,332TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$5,594,997RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$1,446,430ExclusionAmt

Grants To Domestic Orgs GrantsToDomesticOrgsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$128,588TotalAmt
Program Services$128,588ProgramServicesAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$577,071TotalAmt
Program Services$317,389ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$144,268ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$115,414FundraisingAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$4,171,158TotalAmt
Program Services$3,643,730ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$431,684ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$95,744FundraisingAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$189,145TotalAmt
Program Services$163,278ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$20,601ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$5,266FundraisingAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$394,893TotalAmt
Program Services$345,003ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$40,859ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$9,031FundraisingAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$351,390TotalAmt
Program Services$294,593ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$41,949ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$14,848FundraisingAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$178,141TotalAmt
Program Services$79,103ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$89,941ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$9,097FundraisingAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$107,555TotalAmt
Program Services$25,547ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$81,999ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$9FundraisingAmt

Fees For Srvc Invst Mgmnt Fees FeesForSrvcInvstMgmntFeesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$37,240TotalAmt
Management And General$37,240ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$815,855TotalAmt
Program Services$715,245ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$47,394ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$53,216FundraisingAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$52,314TotalAmt
Program Services$22,515ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$3,276ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$26,523FundraisingAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$200,014TotalAmt
Program Services$190,278ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$5,379ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$4,357FundraisingAmt

Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$371,110TotalAmt
Program Services$307,776ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$43,142ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$20,192FundraisingAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$363,601TotalAmt
Program Services$319,742ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$33,963ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$9,896FundraisingAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$51,997TotalAmt
Program Services$31,969ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$5,182ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$14,846FundraisingAmt

Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$51,157TotalAmt
Program Services$29,781ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$15,348ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$6,028FundraisingAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,808,376TotalAmt
Program Services$1,808,376ProgramServicesAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$47,096TotalAmt
Program Services$39,492ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$5,578ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$2,026FundraisingAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$115,942TotalAmt
Program Services$74,023ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$40,165ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$1,754FundraisingAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (3 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmtProgram ServicesProgramServicesAmtManagement And GeneralManagementAndGeneralAmtFundraisingFundraisingAmt
PROVISION FOR LOAN LOSS$6,396,871$6,396,871
BAD DEBT EXPENSE$133,047$133,047
FEES AND LICENSES$15,340$8,975$5,743$622

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$21,009TotalAmt
Program Services$15,790ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$551ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$4,668FundraisingAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$16,578,910TotalAmt
Program Services$15,091,111ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$1,094,262ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$393,537FundraisingAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$297,721BOYAmt
EOY$22,665,096EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$10,890,901BOYAmt
EOY$22,939,847EOYAmt

Pledges And Grants Receivable PledgesAndGrantsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,470,000BOYAmt
EOY$460,000EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,079,895BOYAmt
EOY$654,546EOYAmt

Oth Notes Loans Receivable Net OthNotesLoansReceivableNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$77,721,782BOYAmt
EOY$84,034,094EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$239,948BOYAmt
EOY$179,652EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$2,961,400LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$462,505LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,520,652BOYAmt
EOY$2,498,895EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$26,104,376BOYAmt
EOY$21,231,343EOYAmt

Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,909,198BOYAmt
EOY$2,199,837EOYAmt

Investments Program Related InvestmentsProgramRelatedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$241,808BOYAmt
EOY$94,800EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$5,415,368BOYAmt
EOY$4,858,075EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$129,891,649BOYAmt
EOY$161,816,185EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,563,138BOYAmt
EOY$1,794,330EOYAmt

Deferred Revenue DeferredRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$5,029,824BOYAmt
EOY$3,925,228EOYAmt

Loans From Officers Directors LoansFromOfficersDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$20,000BOYAmt
EOY$20,000EOYAmt

Unsecured Notes Loans Payable UnsecuredNotesLoansPayableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$81,046,971BOYAmt
EOY$103,316,122EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$4,536,549BOYAmt
EOY$3,608,431EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$92,196,482BOYAmt
EOY$112,664,111EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Organization Follows FASB117Yes (X)OrganizationFollowsFASB117Ind

No Donor Restriction Net Assets NoDonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$28,675,836BOYAmt
EOY$43,382,062EOYAmt

Donor Restriction Net Assets DonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$9,019,331BOYAmt
EOY$5,770,012EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$37,695,167BOYAmt
EOY$49,152,074EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$129,891,649BOYAmt
EOY$161,816,185EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part XIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$8,043,422ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst$3,403,485NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets$10,000OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or Review0AccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (1)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Separate Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (1)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit RequiredYes (1)FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd
Federal Grant Audit PerformedYes (1)FederalGrantAuditPerformedInd

Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Public Organization170Yes (X)PublicOrganization170Ind

Gifts Grants Contri Rcvd170 GiftsGrantsContriRcvd170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$5,157,269CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$14,317,131CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$7,225,412CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$3,851,529CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$17,580,905CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$48,132,246TotalAmt

Total Calendar Year170 TotalCalendarYear170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$5,157,269CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$14,317,131CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$7,225,412CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$3,851,529CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$17,580,905CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$48,132,246TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Substantial Contributors Tot$3,278,725SubstantialContributorsTotAmt
Public Support Total170$44,853,521PublicSupportTotal170Amt

Gross Investment Income170 GrossInvestmentIncome170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$422,853CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$586,940CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$1,041,465CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$1,023,536CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$1,449,805CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$4,524,599TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Support$52,656,845TotalSupportAmt
Gross Receipts Rltd Activities$28,019,165GrossReceiptsRltdActivitiesAmt
Public Support CY1700.85180PublicSupportCY170Pct
Public Support PY1700.78140PublicSupportPY170Pct
Thirty Thr Pct Suprt Tests CY170Yes (X)ThirtyThrPctSuprtTestsCY170Ind

Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB

Contributor Information ContributorInformationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
ContributorRESTRICTEDContributorNum

Contributor Business Name ContributorBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1RESTRICTEDBusinessNameLine1

Contributor US Address ContributorUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1RESTRICTEDAddressLine1
Address Line2RESTRICTEDAddressLine2
CityRESTRICTEDCity
StateRESTRICTEDState
ZIP CodeRESTRICTEDZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total ContributionsRESTRICTEDTotalContributionsAmt

Schedule C IRS990ScheduleC

Total Grassroots Lobbying TotalGrassrootsLobbyingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Filing Organizations Total$0FilingOrganizationsTotalAmt

Total Direct Lobbying TotalDirectLobbyingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Filing Organizations Total$2,930FilingOrganizationsTotalAmt

Total Lobbying Expend TotalLobbyingExpendGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Filing Organizations Total$2,930FilingOrganizationsTotalAmt

Other Exempt Purpose Expend OtherExemptPurposeExpendGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Filing Organizations Total$16,538,740FilingOrganizationsTotalAmt

Total Exempt Purpose Expend TotalExemptPurposeExpendGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Filing Organizations Total$16,541,670FilingOrganizationsTotalAmt

Lobbying Nontaxable Amount LobbyingNontaxableAmountGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Filing Organizations Total$977,084FilingOrganizationsTotalAmt

Grassroots Nontaxable GrassrootsNontaxableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Filing Organizations Total$244,271FilingOrganizationsTotalAmt

Tot Lbbyng Grassroot Mns Non Tx TotLbbyngGrassrootMnsNonTxGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Filing Organizations Total$0FilingOrganizationsTotalAmt

Tot Lbby Expend Mns Lbbyng Non Tx TotLbbyExpendMnsLbbyngNonTxGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Filing Organizations Total$0FilingOrganizationsTotalAmt

Avg Lobbying Nontaxable Amount AvgLobbyingNontaxableAmountGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Year Minus3$597,315CurrentYearMinus3Amt
Current Year Minus2$731,372CurrentYearMinus2Amt
Current Year Minus1$842,519CurrentYearMinus1Amt
Current Year$977,084CurrentYearAmt
Total$3,148,290TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Lobbying Ceiling$4,722,435LobbyingCeilingAmt

Avg Total Lobbying Expend AvgTotalLobbyingExpendGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Year Minus2$7,500CurrentYearMinus2Amt
Current Year Minus1$7,110CurrentYearMinus1Amt
Current Year$2,930CurrentYearAmt
Total$17,540TotalAmt

Avg Grassroots Nontaxable AvgGrassrootsNontaxableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Year Minus3$149,329CurrentYearMinus3Amt
Current Year Minus2$182,843CurrentYearMinus2Amt
Current Year Minus1$210,630CurrentYearMinus1Amt
Current Year$244,271CurrentYearAmt
Total$787,073TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grassroots Ceiling$1,180,610GrassrootsCeilingAmt

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

Leasehold Improvements LeaseholdImprovementsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$123,954OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$105,065DepreciationAmt
Book Value$18,889BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$409,547OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$357,440DepreciationAmt
Book Value$52,107BookValueAmt

Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$2,427,899OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$2,427,899BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$2,498,895TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (3 entries)

DescDescAmtAmt
FUNDS HELD IN TRUST$2,609,707
OTHER LIABILITIES$42,744
OPERATING LEASE LIABILITY$955,980
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$3,608,431TotalLiabilityAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$28,338,580TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Net Unrealized Gains Invst$3,403,485NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt
Donated Services And Use Fclts$350,003DonatedServicesAndUseFcltsAmt
Revenue Not Reported$3,753,488RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$24,585,092RevenueSubtotalAmt
Investment Expenses Not Incld$37,240InvestmentExpensesNotIncldAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$37,240RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$24,622,332TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$16,881,673TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Donated Services Use Fclts$350,003DonatedServicesUseFcltsAmt
Other Expenses Included-$10,000OtherExpensesIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Reported$340,003ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$16,541,670ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Investment Expenses Not Incld2$37,240InvestmentExpensesNotIncld2Amt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$37,240ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$16,578,910TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
PART X, LINE 2:THE ORGANIZATION IS EXEMPT FROM FEDERAL INCOME TAXES ON RELATED INCOME UNDER SECTION 501(C)(3) OF THE INTERNAL REVENUE CODE AND FROM CALIFORNIA FRANCHISE AND/OR INCOME TAXES UNDER SECTION 23701D OF THE CALIFORNIA REVENUE AND TAXATION CODE. AS OF SEPTEMBER 30, 2024, MANAGEMENT EVALUATED THE ORGANIZATION'S TAX POSITIONS AND CONCLUDED THAT THE ORGANIZATION HAD MAINTAINED ITS TAX-EXEMPT STATUS AND HAD TAKEN NO UNCERTAIN TAX POSITIONS THAT REQUIRE ADJUSTMENT TO OR DISCLOSURE IN THE CONSOLIDATED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS.
PART XII, LINE 2D - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:GRANTS ADJUSTMENT -10,000.

Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant Records MaintainedYes (1)GrantRecordsMaintainedInd

Recipient Table RecipientTable (3 entries)

Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityUSAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPUSAddress/ZIPCdRecipient EINRecipientEINIRC SectionIRCSectionDescCash GrantCashGrantAmtNon Cash AssistanceNonCashAssistanceAmtPurpose Of GrantPurposeOfGrantTxt
SOGOREA TE' LAND TRUST
2501 HARRISON STREETOAKLANDCA94612824415931501(C)(3)$35,775$0GENERAL OPERATING SUPPORT
FIRST NATIONS DEVELOPMENT INSTITUTE
2432 MAIN STREETLONGMONTCA80501541254491501(C)(3)$35,775$0GENERAL OPERATING SUPPORT
REVOLUTIONARY ECONOMY FOR ALL LOCAL PEOPLE'S FUND
870 MARKET ST STE 677SAN FRANCISCOCA94102871828856501(C)(3)$57,038$0GENERAL OPERATING SUPPORT
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total501c3 Org3Total501c3OrgCnt
Total Other Org0TotalOtherOrgCnt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePART I, LINE 2:FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationINITIAL, INTERIM AND FINAL REPORTS BY ALL GRANTEES INCLUDING RECIPIENTS OF FORGIVABLE LOANS. IF THE LOAN IS FORGIVEN BECAUSE A PROJECT DOES NOT MOVE FORWARD IT CONVERTS TO A GRANT.ExplanationTxt

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form990 Of Other OrganizationsYes (X)Form990OfOtherOrganizationsInd
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance Payment0SeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr Plan0SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp Arrngm0EquityBasedCompArrngmInd
Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng Org0CompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd On Rev Related Orgs0CompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng Org0CompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd Orgs0CompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd
Any Non Fixed Payments0AnyNonFixedPaymentsInd
Initial Contract Exception0InitialContractExceptionInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (12 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
CATHERINE HOWARD
PRESIDENT$261,983$0$0$0$0$0$10,859$0$26,148$0$298,990$0$0$0
SABRINA KELLEY
DIR OF EXTERNAL RELATIONS$201,207$0$5,000$0$0$0$9,186$0$17,652$0$233,045$0$0$0
WILFREDO O MENDOZA
CFO$193,867$0$5,000$0$0$0$8,966$0$21,360$0$229,193$0$0$0
SAUL ETTLIN
SENIOR ADVISOR TO THE PRESIDENT$185,136$0$5,000$0$0$0$8,704$0$20,244$0$219,084$0$0$0
SCOTT SPORTE
DIRECTOR OF CREDIT$177,035$0$5,000$0$0$0$8,461$0$16,980$0$207,476$0$0$0
NATE SCHAFFRAN
DIRECTOR OF BUSINESS DEVELOPMENT$163,809$0$5,000$0$0$0$8,064$0$22,140$0$199,013$0$0$0
CARMEN JONES-WEAKS
DIRECTOR OF PEOPLE & CULTURE$167,669$0$0$0$0$0$8,030$0$21,000$0$196,699$0$0$0
JASON RIGGS
COMMUNICATIONS DIRECTOR$169,769$0$3,500$0$0$0$8,198$0$13,980$0$195,447$0$0$0
AMANDA BORNSTEIN
DIR OF CATALYTIC CONSULTING/TRAINING$162,190$0$5,000$0$0$0$8,016$0$12,960$0$188,166$0$0$0
RISA KEEPER
INTERIM DIRECTOR OF CATALYTIC CAPITA$162,281$0$5,000$0$0$0$8,018$0$11,160$0$186,459$0$0$0
DANIEL MCDONALD
SENIOR BUSINESS DEVELOPMENT OFFICER$148,953$0$5,000$0$0$0$7,619$0$2,580$0$164,152$0$0$0
GRAYTON HUANG
CONTROLLER$142,594$0$5,000$0$0$0$7,428$0$2,400$0$157,422$0$0$0

Schedule L IRS990ScheduleL

Loans Btwn Org Interested Prsn LoansBtwnOrgInterestedPrsnGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonPAMELA MERCHANTPersonNm
Relationship With OrgBOARD MEMBERRelationshipWithOrgTxt
Loan PurposeTO FUND CAPITAL POOL FOR COMMUNITY AND ECONOMIC DEV. PROJECTS FINANCINGLoanPurposeTxt
Loan To OrganizationYes (X)LoanToOrganizationInd
Original Principal$20,000OriginalPrincipalAmt
Balance Due$20,000BalanceDueAmt
Default0DefaultInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (1)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Written AgreementYes (1)WrittenAgreementInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Balance Due$20,000TotalBalanceDueAmt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSCHEDULE L, PART II, LOANS FROM INTERESTED PERSONS:FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationAT THE END OF FY2024 COMMUNITY VISION HAD 355 LOANS IN THIS POOL FROM BANKS, CORPORATIONS, INDIVIDUALS, RELIGIOUS GROUPS, HEALTH SYSTEMS AND NONPROFIT ORGANIZATIONS. ONE MEMBER OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS CHOSE TO SUPPORT THE ORGANIZATION'S MISSION BY LENDING MONEY TO THE ORGANIZATION'S CAPITAL POOL. THIS LOAN WAS INCLUDED IN NOTES PAYABLE ON THE ACCOMPANYING FINANCIAL STATEMENTS. THE LOAN WAS ACCEPTED ON TERMS THAT CONFORM TO THE ORGANIZATION'S STANDARD POLICIES FOR ACCEPTING LOANS INTO THE INVESTMENT POOL. DURING FY2024, COMMUNITY VISION HAD OUTSTANDING NOTES AS FOLLOWS:PAMELA MERCHANTBOARD MEMBERLOAN MADE TO COMMUNITY VISION: $20,000 AT 0%ExplanationTxt

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (5 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 11BALL BOARD MEMBERS RECEIVED A COPY OF THE FORM 990 BEFORE IT WAS FILED. BOARD MEMBERS WERE ENCOURAGED TO REVIEW THE FORM 990 AND FORWARD THEIR QUESTIONS TO THE VICE PRESIDENT OF FINANCE OR TO COMMUNITY VISION'S ACCOUNTING FIRM WHO ADDRESSED THESE QUESTIONS. THE FINANCE COMMITTEE REVIEWED THE FORM IN DETAIL PRIOR TO FILING AND RECOMMENDED THE FILING OF THE RETURN TO THE FULL BOARD OF DIRECTORS.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 12CALL STAFF AND BOARD MEMBERS COMPLETE A DISCLOSURE FORM ANNUALLY. DISCUSSION AND DISCLOSURE ARE INCLUDED IN REGULAR BOARD AND COMMITTEE MEETINGS, AS APPROPRIATE. IF AN ACTUAL CONFLICT EXISTS, THE PERSON INVOLVED IS TO RECUSE THEMSELVES FROM TAKING ACTION ON THE TRANSACTION.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 15THE MANAGEMENT TEAM LED BY THE PRESIDENT REVIEWS SALARY INFORMATION FOR SIMILAR POSITIONS AT OTHER NONPROFIT AND COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS. THIS GROUP RECOMMENDS SALARY RANGES BASED ON COMPARABLE DATA AND OBTAINS APPROVAL FOR THOSE RANGES FROM THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS. ALL DISCUSSIONS ARE DOCUMENTED CONTEMPORANEOUSLY AND A RECORD OF THE DECISIONS ARE MAINTAINED IN THE ORGANIZATION'S FILES. THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS REVIEWS THE PERFORMANCE OF THE PRESIDENT AND APPROVES THE COMPENSATION FOR THAT POSITION BASED ON COMPARABLE DATA FROM SIMILAR ORGANIZATION.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION C, LINE 19THE ORGANIZATION'S GOVERNING DOCUMENTS, CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY, AND FINANCIAL STATEMENTS ARE AVAILABLE UPON REQUEST FOR THE SAME PERIOD OF TIME SET FORTH IN SEC. 6104(D).
FORM 990, PART XI, LINE 9:GRANTS ADJUSTMENT 10,000.

Schedule R IRS990ScheduleR

Id Disregarded Entities IdDisregardedEntitiesGrp (2 entries)

Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityUSAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPUSAddress/ZIPCdEINEINPrimary ActivitiesPrimaryActivitiesTxtLegal Domicile StateLegalDomicileStateCdTotal IncomeTotalIncomeAmtEnd Of Year AssetsEndOfYearAssetsAmtBusiness Name Line1DirectControllingEntityName/BusinessNameLine1Txt
CREDIT ENHANCEMENT 1 LLC
870 MARKET STREET SUITE 677SAN FRANCISCOCA94102825526864TO MANAGE A PROGRAM FOR FOOD ENTERPRISE RELATED FINANCING.CA$26,980$1,196,340COMMUNITY VISION CAPITAL & CONSULTING
3105 SAN PABLO LLC
870 MARKET STREET SUITE 677SAN FRANCISCOCA94102943032394SPECIAL PURPOSE ENTITY TO HOLD NOTES RELATED TO A REAL ESTATE TRANSACTION.CA$0$3,135,323COMMUNITY VISION CAPITAL & CONSULTING

Id Related Org Txbl Partnership IdRelatedOrgTxblPartnershipGrp (10 entries)

Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityUSAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPUSAddress/ZIPCdEINEINPrimary ActivitiesPrimaryActivitiesTxtLegal Domicile StateLegalDomicileStateCdBusiness Name Line1DirectControllingEntityName/BusinessNameLine1TxtPredominant Income TypePredominantIncomeTypeTxtShare Of Total IncomeShareOfTotalIncomeAmtDisproportionate AllocationsDisproportionateAllocationsIndGeneral Or Managing PartnerGeneralOrManagingPartnerIndOwnershipOwnershipPctShare Of EOY AssetsShareOfEOYAssetsAmt
NORTHERN CALIFORNIA COMMUNITY LOAN FUND NMTC SUB-CDE 17 LLC
870 MARKET STREET SUITE 677SAN FRANCISCOCA94102474557284NEW MARKETS TAX CREDITCACOMMUNITY VISION CAPITAL & CONSULTINGRELATED$38,9020Yes (1)0.00010
NORTHERN CALIFORNIA COMMUNITY LOAN FUND NMTC SUB-CDE 18 LLC
870 MARKET STREET SUITE 677SAN FRANCISCOCA94102474570333NEW MARKETS TAX CREDITCACOMMUNITY VISION CAPITAL & CONSULTINGRELATED$44,0020Yes (1)0.00010$4,528
NORTHERN CALIFORNIA COMMUNITY LOAN FUND NMTC SUB-CDE 19 LLC
870 MARKET STREET SUITE 677SAN FRANCISCOCA94102824881789NEW MARKETS TAX CREDITCACOMMUNITY VISION CAPITAL & CONSULTINGRELATED$30,0020Yes (1)0.00010$3,090
NORTHERN CALIFORNIA COMMUNITY LOAN FUND NMTC SUB-CDE 20 LLC
870 MARKET STREET SUITE 677SAN FRANCISCOCA94102824895633NEW MARKETS TAX CREDITCACOMMUNITY VISION CAPITAL & CONSULTINGRELATED$45,0000Yes (1)0.00010$4,631
NORTHERN CALIFORNIA COMMUNITY LOAN FUND NMTC SUB-CDE 21 LLC
870 MARKET STREET SUITE 677SAN FRANCISCOCA94102824904581NEW MARKETS TAX CREDITCACOMMUNITY VISION CAPITAL & CONSULTINGRELATED$54,9650Yes (1)0.00010$1,280,789
NORTHERN CALIFORNIA COMMUNITY LOAN FUND NMTC SUB-CDE 22 LLC
870 MARKET STREET SUITE 677SAN FRANCISCOCA94102824921713NEW MARKETS TAX CREDITCACOMMUNITY VISION CAPITAL & CONSULTINGRELATED$35,0140Yes (1)0.00010$689
NORTHERN CALIFORNIA COMMUNITY LOAN FUND NMTC SUB-CDE 23 LLC
870 MARKET STREET SUITE 677SAN FRANCISCOCA94102824952887NEW MARKETS TAX CREDITCACOMMUNITY VISION CAPITAL & CONSULTINGRELATED$35,0000Yes (1)0.00010$3,605
NORTHERN CALIFORNIA COMMUNITY LOAN FUND NMTC SUB-CDE 24 LLC
870 MARKET STREET SUITE 677SAN FRANCISCOCA94102824962734NEW MARKETS TAX CREDITCACOMMUNITY VISION CAPITAL & CONSULTINGRELATED$56,0220Yes (1)0.00010$29,117
NORTHERN CALIFORNIA COMMUNITY LOAN FUND NMTC SUB-CDE 25 LLC
870 MARKET STREET SUITE 677SAN FRANCISCOCA94102824986555NEW MARKETS TAX CREDITCACOMMUNITY VISION CAPITAL & CONSULTINGRELATED-$8000Yes (1)0.99000
NORTHERN CALIFORNIA COMMUNITY LOAN FUND NMTC SUB-CDE 26 LLC
870 MARKET STREET SUITE 677SAN FRANCISCOCA94102825011686NEW MARKETS TAX CREDITCACOMMUNITY VISION CAPITAL & CONSULTINGRELATED-$8000Yes (1)0.99000

Id Related Org Txbl Corp Tr IdRelatedOrgTxblCorpTrGrp

Related Organization Name RelatedOrganizationName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1NCCLF MEMBERCO LLCBusinessNameLine1Txt

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1870 MARKET STREET SUITE 677AddressLine1Txt
CitySAN FRANCISCOCityNm
State AbbreviationCAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP94102ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN263779521EIN
Primary ActivitiesNEW MARKETS TAX CREDITPrimaryActivitiesTxt
Legal Domicile StateCALegalDomicileStateCd

Direct Controlling Entity Name DirectControllingEntityName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1COMMUNITY VISION CAPITAL & CONSULTINGBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Entity TypeCEntityTypeTxt
Ownership1.00000OwnershipPct
Controlled OrganizationYes (1)ControlledOrganizationInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Receipt Of Int Annts Rnts Rylts0ReceiptOfIntAnntsRntsRyltsInd
Gift Grnt Or Cap Contri To Oth OrgYes (1)GiftGrntOrCapContriToOthOrgInd
Gift Grnt Cap Contri From Oth Org0GiftGrntCapContriFromOthOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees To Other Org0LoansOrGuaranteesToOtherOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees From Oth Org0LoansOrGuaranteesFromOthOrgInd
Div Related Organization0DivRelatedOrganizationInd
Asset Sale To Other Org0AssetSaleToOtherOrgInd
Asset Purchase From Other Org0AssetPurchaseFromOtherOrgInd
Asset Exchange0AssetExchangeInd
Rental Of Facilities To Oth Org0RentalOfFacilitiesToOthOrgInd
Rental Of Fclts From Oth Org0RentalOfFcltsFromOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services For Oth OrgYes (1)PerformOfServicesForOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services By Other Org0PerformOfServicesByOtherOrgInd
Sharing Of Facilities0SharingOfFacilitiesInd
Paid Employees Sharing0PaidEmployeesSharingInd
Reimbursement Paid To Other Org0ReimbursementPaidToOtherOrgInd
Reimbursement Paid By Other Org0ReimbursementPaidByOtherOrgInd
Transfer To Other OrgYes (1)TransferToOtherOrgInd
Transfer From Other OrgYes (1)TransferFromOtherOrgInd

Transactions Related Org TransactionsRelatedOrgGrp (2 entries)

Transaction TypeTransactionTypeTxtInvolvedInvolvedAmtMethod Of Amount DeterminationMethodOfAmountDeterminationTxt
NCCLF NMTC SUB-CDE 21 LLC
L$55,000CONTRACT
NCCLF NMTC SUB-CDE 24 LLC
L$56,000CONTRACT

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSCHEDULE R, PART IIIFormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationCOMMUNITY VISION CAPITAL & CONSULTING ("COMMUNITY VISION") IS A CALIFORNIA NONPROFIT PUBLIC BENEFIT ORGANIZATION, A CERTIFIED COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT FINANCIAL INSTITUTION ("CDFI") AND A CERTIFIED COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT ENTITY ("CDE"). SINCE 2009, THE CDE HAS RECEIVED SEVEN ALLOCATIONS OF NEW MARKETS TAX CREDIT ("NMTC") AUTHORITY UNDER SECTION 45D OF THE INTERNAL REVENUE CODE OF 1986, AS AMENDED (THE "CODE") TOTALING $218,000,000. UNDER THE RULES OF THE NMTC PROGRAM, COMMUNITY VISION AS A NONPROFIT CORPORATION MUST CREATE AND CONDUCT ITS NEW MARKETS PROGRAM THROUGH ONE OR MORE FOR-PROFIT CORPORATIONS OR LIMITED LIABILITY COMPANIES (HEREINAFTER THE "LLC"). THE LLC IS TYPICALLY REFERRED TO AS A "SUBSIDIARY", HOWEVER THE TERM "SUBSIDIARY" IS USED VERY DIFFERENTLY IN THE NEW MARKETS CREDIT PROGRAM THAN IT IS IN NORMAL CORPORATE FINANCE AND ACCOUNTING. IN THE NMTC PROGRAM, THE ECONOMIC INVESTMENT IN THIS "SUBSIDIARY" LLC IS MADE 99.99% BY A THIRD PARTY INVESTOR; AND THAT INVESTOR WILL RECEIVE ALL OF THE TAX BENEFITS. THE TERM "SUBSIDIARY" IS USED BY THE CDFI FUND TO SIGNIFY A RELATIONSHIP WHERE THE NEW FOR-PROFIT LLC IS MANAGED BY THE ALLOCATEE (COMMUNITY VISION) AND WHERE THE ALLOCATEE HAS SUFFICIENT CONTROL OVER THE OPERATIONS AND INVESTMENTS OF THE FOR-PROFIT LLC TO KEEP THE LLC IN COMPLIANCE WITH THE NEW MARKETS PROGRAM RULES. THE CDFI FUND HAS ESTABLISHED RULES TO DETERMINE WHAT CONSTITUTES CONTROL BUT, IN GENERAL, CONTROL MEANS (I) MAINTAINING MANAGEMENT CONTROL BY EITHER ACTING AS MANAGER OR OWNING A MAJORITY INTEREST AND (II) MAINTAINING INVESTMENT CONTROL (VETO POWER) OVER THE QUALIFIED LOW-INCOME COMMUNITY INVESTMENTS ("QLICIS") MADE BY THE SUBSIDIARY CDE. IT IS COMMON IN COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT FINANCING, SUCH AS IN FINANCING OF AFFORDABLE HOUSING, NEW MARKETS LENDING, AND HISTORIC PRESERVATION, FOR NONPROFITS TO BE MANAGING MEMBERS OR GENERAL PARTNERS OF A FOR-PROFIT ENTITY. THE LLC HAS BEEN FORMED WITH A MISSION CONSISTENT WITH THE NONPROFIT'S EXEMPT PURPOSE, AND WILL OPERATE WITHIN THE CONSTRAINTS OF THE FEDERAL NMTC PROGRAM. IN ADDITION, THE LLC CREATED TO ACT AS CONDUIT LENDER UNDER THE NMTC PROGRAM DOES NOT HAVE A SEPARATE BOARD OF DIRECTORS. ALL DECISIONS FOR THE LLC ARE MADE BY THE MEMBERS. COMMUNITY VISION IS THE MANAGING MEMBER OF THE LLC, AND ALL ACTIONS OF THE LLC IN MAKING AND HOLDING LOANS TO BORROWERS ARE MANAGED BY COMMUNITY VISION UNDER THE LLC'S OPERATING AGREEMENT WITH AN INVESTOR. ACTIONS BY COMMUNITY VISION IN THIS CAPACITY, LIKE ALL ITS OTHER LOAN ACTIVITY TO BORROWERS, ARE MANAGED BY THE STAFF AND OFFICERS OF COMMUNITY VISION UNDER THE DIRECTION OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS OF COMMUNITY VISION.ExplanationTxt

Comments

Anonymous: no account or email. Up to 2,000 characters, at most one link. Comments are checked automatically; some wait for review.