WASHINGTON LEADERSHIP ACADEMY PUBLIC CHARTER SCHOOL: Form 990, tax year 2019

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
WASHINGTON LEADERSHIP ACADEMY PUBLIC CHARTER SCHOOL (EIN 47-4595801)
Tax period
2019-07-01 to 2020-06-30
Filed
2021-03-16
IRS object ID
202100759349301500
Schema version
2019v5.2
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2021-03-16T16:53:35-05:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2020-06-30TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN111986323PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1MARCUM LLPBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line11899 L STREET NW SUITE 850AddressLine1Txt
CityWASHINGTONCityNm
State AbbreviationDCStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP20036ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2019-07-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN474595801EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1WASHINGTON LEADERSHIP ACADEMY PUBLICBusinessNameLine1Txt
Business Name Line2CHARTER SCHOOLBusinessNameLine2Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlWASHBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone2405803371PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line13015 4TH STREET NEAddressLine1Txt
CityWASHINGTONCityNm
State AbbreviationDCStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP20017ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonANASTASIA KANEPersonNm
Person TitleEXECUTIVE DIRECTORPersonTitleTxt
Phone2405803371PhoneNum
Signature2021-03-16SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (1)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonFRANK H SMITHPreparerPersonNm
PTINP00639053PTIN
Phone2022274000PhoneNum
Preparation2021-03-16PreparationDt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2019TaxYr
Build TS2022-09-23 18:48:47ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerANASTASIA KANEPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line13015 4TH STREET NEAddressLine1Txt
CityWASHINGTONCityNm
State AbbreviationDCStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP20017ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$11,815,618GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For Affiliates0GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501c3Yes (X)Organization501c3Ind
Website AddressWWW.WASHINGTONLEADERSHIPACADEMY.ORGWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation2014FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateDCLegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionTO PREPARE OUR KIDS TO THRIVE IN THE WORLD AND CHANGE IT FOR THE BETTER.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body13VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent13VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee84TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers15TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$0TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$0NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$7,069,531PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$11,794,170CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$0PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$0CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$408PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$9,157CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$19,826PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$12,291CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$7,089,765PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$11,815,618CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$1,058PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$8,820CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$0PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$4,219,813PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$6,156,161CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$27,829CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$3,603,896PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$3,704,899CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$7,824,767PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$9,869,880CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses-$735,002PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$1,945,738CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$2,731,696TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$5,568,188TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$365,169TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$1,255,923TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$2,366,527NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$4,312,265NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
MissionWLA COMBINES BEST PRACTICES IN TEACHING AND LEARNING, WITH THE LATEST IN EDUCATIONAL TECHNOLOGY TO CREATE AN UNPARALLELED HIGH SCHOOL EXPERIENCE. STUDENTS WILL GRADUATE FROM WLA PREPARED FOR COLLEGE, CAREER, AND LIVES OF PUBLIC LEADERSHIP.MissionDesc
Significant New Program Srvc0SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant Change0SignificantChangeInd
Expense$8,481,123ExpenseAmt
Grant$8,820GrantAmt
DescWASHINGTON LEADERSHIP ACADEMY (WLA) IS A 9-12 PUBLIC CHARTER SCHOOL PROVIDING ITS STUDENTS WITH A RIGOROUS COLLEGE PREPARATORY CURRICULUM WITH AN EMPHASIS ON PUBLIC LEADERSHIP AND TECHNOLOGY. STUDENTS LEARN FOUR YEARS OF COMPUTER SCIENCE AND HAVE OPPORTUNITIES TO WORK WITH AND LEARN FROM LOCAL ORGANIZATIONS.Desc
Total Program Service Expenses$8,481,123TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt
Described In Section501c3Yes (1)DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B RequiredYes (1)ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign Acty0PoliticalCampaignActyInd
Lobbying Activities0LobbyingActivitiesInd
Subject To Proxy Tax0SubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised Fund0DonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation Easements0ConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of Art0CollectionsOfArtInd
Credit Counseling0CreditCounselingInd
Donor Rstr Or Quasi Endowments0DonorRstrOrQuasiEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (1)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other Sec0ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related Invst0ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other Assets0ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (1)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (1)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt0ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School OperatingYes (1)SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign Office0ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign Activities0ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To Org0MoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To Individuals0MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional Fundraising0ProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising Activities0FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming Activities0GamingActivitiesInd
Operate Hospital0OperateHospitalInd
Grants To Organizations0GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To IndividualsYes (1)GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (1)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt Bonds0TaxExemptBondsInd
Engaged In Excess Benefit Trans0EngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd
PY Excess Benefit Trans0PYExcessBenefitTransInd
Loan Outstanding0LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related Person0GrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org Mem0BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam Mem0BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With35 Ctrl Ent0BusinessRlnWith35CtrlEntInd
Deductible Non Cash Contri0DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art Contribution0DeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate Operations0TerminateOperationsInd
Partial Liquidation0PartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded Entity0DisregardedEntityInd
Related Entity0RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl Ent0RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd Org0TrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd
Activities Conducted Prtshp0ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (1)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document24IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (1)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee84EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (1)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over Limit0UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Foreign Financial Account0ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans0ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party Notification0TaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible Contributions0NondeductibleContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo Contributions0QuidProQuoContributionsInd
Form8282 Property Disposed Of0Form8282PropertyDisposedOfInd
Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0RcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0PayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Indoor Tanning Services0IndoorTanningServicesInd
Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht Pymt0SubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd
Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst Inc0SubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members13GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member13IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business Rln0FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt Duties0DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org Documents0ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or Misuse0MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or Stockholders0MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board Members0ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To Approva0DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (1)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of Committees0MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing Address0OfficerMailingAddressInd
Local Chapters0LocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (1)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (1)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (1)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (1)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (1)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (1)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (1)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process Other0CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint Venture0InvestmentInJointVentureInd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1NATALIE GOULDBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Phone2405803371PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line13015 4TH STREET NEAddressLine1Txt
CityWASHINGTONCityNm
State AbbreviationDCStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP20017ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (18 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtKey EmployeeKeyEmployeeIndHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeIndIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorInd
ANASTASIA KANE
EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR40.00Yes (X)$179,225$0$8,931
STEPHANIE YOUNG
PRINCIPAL40.00$150,692$0$11,165Yes (X)
JORDAN BUDISANTOSO
COMPUTER SCIENCE TEACHER40.00$102,214$0$2,986Yes (X)
RACHEL TORRES
CHAIR - UNTIL 01/20205.00Yes (X)$0$0$0Yes (X)
JIM DOYLE BOARD MEMBER
INTERIM CHAIR - AS OF 01/20205.00Yes (X)$0$0$0Yes (X)
MARIO SUTTON
VICE CHAIR - UNTIL 06/20204.00Yes (X)$0$0$0Yes (X)
NICOLE LATIMER WOOD BOARD
MEMBER, VICE CHAIR - AS OF 06/20201.00Yes (X)$0$0$0Yes (X)
ARYA PARVIZI
TREASURER4.00Yes (X)$0$0$0Yes (X)
ANDREA SPARKS-BROWN
SECRETARY4.00Yes (X)$0$0$0Yes (X)
TAMA AGA
BOARD MEMBER1.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
MASHEA ASHTON
BOARD MEMBER1.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
MARVETTE COFIELD
BOARD MEMBER1.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
ARTHUR MCKEE
BOARD MEMBER1.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
BISI OYEDELE
BOARD MEMBER1.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
SIMON RODBERG
BOARD MEMBER1.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
AARON SAUNDERS
BOARD MEMBER1.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
VERONICA TONEY
BOARD MEMBER1.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
ANTONIO WILLIAMS
BOARD MEMBER1.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$432,131TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$23,082TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K3IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees Listed0FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (1)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other Srcs0CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (3 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
COMMONLIT
660 PENNSYLVANIA AVENUE SE SUITEWASHINGTONDC20003CURRICULUM DEVELOPMENT$800,000
TOP SPANISH CAFE & CATERING INC
3541 GEORGIA AVENUE NWWASHINGTONDC20010FOOD SERVICE PROVIDER$194,117
CAPITOL INTERACTIVE
2055 L STREET NW SUITE 400 - ALLEWASHINGTONDC20036CURRICULUM DEVELOPMENT$163,723
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K3CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Government Grants$9,772,193GovernmentGrantsAmt
All Other Contributions$2,021,977AllOtherContributionsAmt
Total Contributions$11,794,170TotalContributionsAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$9,157TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$9,157ExclusionAmt

Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp (2 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtExclusionExclusionAmt
STUDENT SERVICES900099$8,429$8,429
REFUNDS/REBATES900099$3,862$3,862
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total$12,291OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$11,815,618TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$0RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$21,448ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part IXYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartIXInd

Grants To Domestic Individuals GrantsToDomesticIndividualsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$8,820TotalAmt
Program Services$8,820ProgramServicesAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$280,615TotalAmt
Program Services$139,030ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$132,468ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$9,117FundraisingAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$4,954,224TotalAmt
Program Services$4,512,637ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$435,644ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$5,943FundraisingAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$121,248TotalAmt
Program Services$107,230ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$13,611ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$407FundraisingAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$360,278TotalAmt
Program Services$311,830ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$47,031ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$1,417FundraisingAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$439,796TotalAmt
Program Services$380,609ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$57,469ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$1,718FundraisingAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$32,916TotalAmt
Program Services$32,916ProgramServicesAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$129,828TotalAmt
Management And General$129,828ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,199,101TotalAmt
Program Services$1,172,968ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$25,624ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$509FundraisingAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,243TotalAmt
Program Services$1,243ProgramServicesAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$346,764TotalAmt
Program Services$247,208ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$96,186ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$3,370FundraisingAmt

Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$48,695TotalAmt
Program Services$42,142ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$6,363ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$190FundraisingAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,395,910TotalAmt
Program Services$1,208,051ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$182,701ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$5,158FundraisingAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$15,567TotalAmt
Program Services$15,567ProgramServicesAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$276TotalAmt
Management And General$276ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$117,318TotalAmt
Management And General$117,318ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$27,230TotalAmt
Management And General$27,230ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmtProgram ServicesProgramServicesAmtManagement And GeneralManagementAndGeneralAmt
STUDENT FOOD SERVICE$182,869$182,869
DUES AND FEES$96,753$7,574$89,179
STUDENT MATERIALS$66,642$66,642
STUDENT ASSESSMENTS$43,787$43,787

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$9,869,880TotalAmt
Program Services$8,481,123ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$1,360,928ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$27,829FundraisingAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,214,258BOYAmt
EOY$3,822,180EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$102,340BOYAmt
EOY$1,111,496EOYAmt

Pledges And Grants Receivable PledgesAndGrantsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$94,433BOYAmt
EOY$133,474EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$35,911BOYAmt
EOY$67,747EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$74,352BOYAmt
EOY$57,967EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$741,714LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$371,390LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$205,402BOYAmt
EOY$370,324EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$5,000BOYAmt
EOY$5,000EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,731,696BOYAmt
EOY$5,568,188EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$356,731BOYAmt
EOY$374,738EOYAmt

Deferred Revenue DeferredRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,633BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Unsecured Notes Loans Payable UnsecuredNotesLoansPayableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EOY$877,200EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$6,805BOYAmt
EOY$3,985EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$365,169BOYAmt
EOY$1,255,923EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Organization Follows FASB117Yes (X)OrganizationFollowsFASB117Ind

No Donor Restriction Net Assets NoDonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,214,234BOYAmt
EOY$3,574,664EOYAmt

Donor Restriction Net Assets DonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$152,293BOYAmt
EOY$737,601EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,366,527BOYAmt
EOY$4,312,265EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,731,696BOYAmt
EOY$5,568,188EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$1,945,738ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets$0OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or Review0AccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (1)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Separate Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (1)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit Required0FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd

Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
SchoolYes (X)SchoolInd

Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB

Contributor Information ContributorInformationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
ContributorRESTRICTEDContributorNum

Contributor Business Name ContributorBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1RESTRICTEDBusinessNameLine1

Contributor US Address ContributorUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1RESTRICTEDAddressLine1
Address Line2RESTRICTEDAddressLine2
CityRESTRICTEDCity
StateRESTRICTEDState
ZIP CodeRESTRICTEDZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total ContributionsRESTRICTEDTotalContributionsAmt

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

Leasehold Improvements LeaseholdImprovementsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$11,241OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$4,313DepreciationAmt
Book Value$6,928BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$335,533OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$208,392DepreciationAmt
Book Value$127,141BookValueAmt

Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$394,940OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$158,685DepreciationAmt
Book Value$236,255BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$370,324TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescCAPITAL LEASE OBLIGATIONDesc
Amt$3,985Amt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$3,985TotalLiabilityAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$12,179,394TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Donated Services And Use Fclts$363,776DonatedServicesAndUseFcltsAmt
Revenue Not Reported$363,776RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$11,815,618RevenueSubtotalAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$0RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$11,815,618TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$10,233,656TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Donated Services Use Fclts$363,776DonatedServicesUseFcltsAmt
Expenses Not Reported$363,776ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$9,869,880ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$0ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$9,869,880TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePART X, LINE 2:FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationWLA PERFORMED AN EVALUATION OF UNCERTAINTY IN INCOME TAXES FOR THE YEAR ENDED JUNE 30, 2020, AND DETERMINED THAT THERE WERE NO MATTERS THAT WOULD REQUIRE RECOGNITION IN THE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS OR THAT MAY HAVE ANY EFFECT ON ITS TAX-EXEMPT STATUS.ExplanationTxt

Schedule E IRS990ScheduleE

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Nondiscriminatory Policy StmtYes (1)NondiscriminatoryPolicyStmtInd
Policy Stmt In Brochures Etc0PolicyStmtInBrochuresEtcInd
Plcy Pblczd Via Broadcast Media0PlcyPblczdViaBroadcastMediaInd
Maintain Racial Comp RecsYes (1)MaintainRacialCompRecsInd
Maintain Scholarships Recs0MaintainScholarshipsRecsInd
Maintain Cpy Of Brochures EtcYes (1)MaintainCpyOfBrochuresEtcInd
Maintain Cpy Of All Sol0MaintainCpyOfAllSolInd
Discriminate Race Stdnts Rghts0DiscriminateRaceStdntsRghtsInd
Discriminate Race Admiss Plcy0DiscriminateRaceAdmissPlcyInd
Discriminate Race Emplm Fculty0DiscriminateRaceEmplmFcultyInd
Discriminate Race Schs0DiscriminateRaceSchsInd
Discriminate Race Educ Plcy0DiscriminateRaceEducPlcyInd
Discriminate Race Use Of Fclts0DiscriminateRaceUseOfFcltsInd
Discriminate Race Athlt Prog0DiscriminateRaceAthltProgInd
Discriminate Race Other Acty0DiscriminateRaceOtherActyInd
Government Financial Aid RcvdYes (1)GovernmentFinancialAidRcvdInd
Government Financial Aid Rvkd0GovernmentFinancialAidRvkdInd
Compliance With Rev Proc75500ComplianceWithRevProc7550Ind

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (4 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
SCHEDULE E, PART I, LINE 3WLA IS A PUBLIC CHARTER SCHOOL AND IS OPERATING UNDER A CONTRACT WITH THE DC GOVERNMENT. REVENUE PROCEDURE 75-50 DOES NOT APPLY TO PUBLIC CHARTER SCHOOLS.
SCHEDULE E, PART I, LINE 4REVENUE PROCEDURE 75-50 DOES NOT APPLY TO PUBLIC CHARTER SCHOOLS.
SCHEDULE E, PART I, LINE 6WLA RECEIVES GRANT REVENUE FROM DC'S OFFICE OF THE STATE SUPERINTENDENT OF EDUCATION, THE U.S. DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION, THE U.S. DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE, AND THE FEDERAL COMMUNICATIONS COMMISSION.
SCHEDULE E, PART I, LINE 7WLA IS A PUBLIC CHARTER SCHOOL AND IS OPERATING UNDER A CONTRACT WITH THE DC GOVERNMENT. REVENUE PROCEDURE 75-50 DOES NOT APPLY TO PUBLIC CHARTER SCHOOLS.

Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant Records MaintainedYes (1)GrantRecordsMaintainedInd

Grants Other Asst To Indiv In US GrantsOtherAsstToIndivInUSGrp (2 entries)

Grant TypeGrantTypeTxtRecipientRecipientCntCash GrantCashGrantAmt
EMERGENCY FUND10$5,500
SCHOLARSHIPS9$3,320

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePART I, LINE 2:FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationFOR ITS COLLEGE SUPPORT, WLA MAKES PAYMENTS DIRECTLY TO COLLEGES AND UNIVERSITIES ON BEHALF OF STUDENTS IN NEED. TO QUALIFY, STUDENTS MUST COMPLETE A BRIEF APPLICATION, AND HAVE DEMONSTRATED NEED AS DETERMINED BY THE COLLEGE AND CAREER TEAM. FOR THE EMERGENCY FUND PAYMENTS, FAMILIES EXPERIENCING AN ACUTE NEED SUBMIT AN APPLICATION INCLUDING PROOF OF AN OUTSTANDING BILL AND MEET WITH THE WLA SOCIAL WORKER. THOSE WHO QUALIFY RECEIVE UP TO $500 OF SUPPORT.ExplanationTxt

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Independent ConsultantYes (X)IndependentConsultantInd
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance Payment0SeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr Plan0SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp Arrngm0EquityBasedCompArrngmInd
Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng Org0CompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd On Rev Related Orgs0CompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng Org0CompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd Orgs0CompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd
Any Non Fixed PaymentsYes (1)AnyNonFixedPaymentsInd
Initial Contract Exception0InitialContractExceptionInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (2 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
ANASTASIA KANE
EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR$177,625$0$1,000$0$600$0$8,931$0$0$0$188,156$0$0$0
STEPHANIE YOUNG
PRINCIPAL$144,167$0$1,000$0$5,525$0$7,258$0$3,907$0$161,857$0$0$0

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePART I, LINE 7FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationALL EMPLOYEES RECEIVED TWO BONUSES, ONE AT THE END OF THE CALENDAR YEAR AND ONE AT THE END OF THE SCHOOL YEAR. THE BONUSES ARE NON-FIXED AMOUNTS, DETERMINED ANNUALLY BY MANAGEMENT.ExplanationTxt

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (6 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 8BWLA HAS NO COMMITTEES WITH AUTHORITY TO ACT ON BEHALF OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 11BWLA'S FEDERAL FORM 990 IS REVIEWED BY THE EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR (HEAD OF SCHOOL), THEN SENT TO THE TREASURER FOR REVIEW. AFTER THE TREASURER'S QUESTIONS HAVE BEEN ANSWERED, IT IS SENT TO THE ENTIRE BOARD OF DIRECTORS FOR REVIEW. THE BOARD HOLDS A FINAL VOTE OF APPROVAL ONCE ALL COMMENTS AND EDITS HAVE BEEN ADDRESSED. THE FORM 990 IS THEN SIGNED AND FILED WITH THE INTERNAL REVENUE SERVICE.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 12CEACH DIRECTOR, OFFICER AND EMPLOYEE SHALL COMPLETE A PERSONAL DISCLOSURE STATEMENT PRIOR TO COMMENCING SERVICE FOR WLA AND ON AT LEAST AN ANNUAL BASIS THEREAFTER. DISCLOSURE STATEMENTS SHALL TAKE SUCH FORM AND CONTAIN SUCH INFORMATION AS MAY BE REQUIRED BY THE CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY AND IN ANY SUBSEQUENT ACTION OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS. THE EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR AND THE SECRETARY WILL MONITOR AND ENFORCE COMPLIANCE WITH THE POLICY.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 15ATHE SALARY OF THE EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR IS DETERMINED BASED ON OBSERVING SALARY LEVELS OF OTHER SIMILAR ORGANIZATIONS. WLA WORKED WITH AN INDEPENDENT COMPENSATION CONSULTANT TO PERFORM THIS COMPENSATION SURVEY. ANY SALARY CHANGES ARE REVIEWED AND APPROVED BY THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS AND DOCUMENTED IN THE BOARD OF DIRECTOR'S MEETING MINUTES. THE LAST COMPENSATION REVIEW WAS PERFORMED IN 2018.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION C, LINE 19WLA'S GOVERNING DOCUMENTS ARE MADE AVAILABLE TO THE PUBLIC UPON REQUEST.
FORM 990, PART IX, LINE 11GELA CURRICULUM DESIGN PROJECT: PROGRAM SERVICE EXPENSES 800,000. MANAGEMENT AND GENERAL EXPENSES 0. FUNDRAISING EXPENSES 0. TOTAL EXPENSES 800,000. CONTRACTED INSTRUCTION: PROGRAM SERVICE EXPENSES 151,011. MANAGEMENT AND GENERAL EXPENSES 0. FUNDRAISING EXPENSES 0. TOTAL EXPENSES 151,011. PROFESSIONAL DEVELOPMENT: PROGRAM SERVICE EXPENSES 88,093. MANAGEMENT AND GENERAL EXPENSES 13,302. FUNDRAISING EXPENSES 398. TOTAL EXPENSES 101,793. CONTRACTED LABOR: PROGRAM SERVICE EXPENSES 74,480. MANAGEMENT AND GENERAL EXPENSES 8,695. FUNDRAISING EXPENSES 3. TOTAL EXPENSES 83,178. OTHER PROFESSIONAL FEES: PROGRAM SERVICE EXPENSES 59,384. MANAGEMENT AND GENERAL EXPENSES 3,627. FUNDRAISING EXPENSES 108. TOTAL EXPENSES 63,119.

Comments

Anonymous: no account or email. Up to 2,000 characters, at most one link. Comments are checked automatically; some wait for review.