DANIELSON GROUP INC: Form 990, tax year 2021

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
DANIELSON GROUP INC (EIN 82-3776745)
Tax period
2021-01-01 to 2021-12-31
Filed
2022-11-11
IRS object ID
202243159349303594
Schema version
2021v4.0
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2022-11-11T10:13:13-08:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2021-12-31TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN134036703PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1SCHALL & ASHENFARB CPAS LLCBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1307 FIFTH AVE 15TH FLAddressLine1Txt
CityNEW YORKCityNm
State AbbreviationNYStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP10016ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2021-01-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN823776745EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1The Danielson Group IncBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlDANIBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone7088907106PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line11720 West Division StreetAddressLine1Txt
CityChicagoCityNm
State AbbreviationILStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP60622ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonJim FurmanPersonNm
Person TitleExecutive DirectorPersonTitleTxt
Signature2022-11-11SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (true)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Signing Officer SigningOfficerGrp

Person Full Name PersonFullName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Person FirstJimPersonFirstNm
Person LastFurmanPersonLastNm
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
SSN999009999SSN

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonMichael SchallPreparerPersonNm
PTINP02024184PTIN
Phone2122682800PhoneNum

Additional Filer Information AdditionalFilerInformation

Trusted Customer TrustedCustomerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Trusted Customer2TrustedCustomerCd
Authentication Assurance LevelAAL1AuthenticationAssuranceLevelCd
Identity Assurance LevelIAL1IdentityAssuranceLevelCd
Federated Assurance LevelFAL1FederatedAssuranceLevelCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2021TaxYr
Build TS2022-09-23 18:48:47ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerJim FurmanPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line11720 West Division StreetAddressLine1Txt
CityChicagoCityNm
State AbbreviationILStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP60622ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$2,553,928GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For AffiliatesfalseGroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501c3Yes (X)Organization501c3Ind
Website Addresshttps://danielsongroup.orgWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation2017FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateDELegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionTo create a just & flourishing society by promoting teaching that is joyful, humanizing, & focused on equity. Since 2003, we have worked with thousands of schools and tens of thousands of educators to advance the teaching profession in service of student learning and development.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body8VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent8VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee33TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers8TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$0TotalGrossUBIAmt
PY Contributions Grants$1,552,594PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$718,380CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$1,050,272PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$1,797,275CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Investment Income$0CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$30,746PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$38,273CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$2,633,612PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$2,553,928CYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$0CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$1,542,148PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$1,838,756CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$26,596CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$525,766PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$675,008CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$2,067,914PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$2,513,764CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$565,698PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$40,164CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$860,464TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$858,083TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$277,570TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$235,025TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$582,894NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$623,058NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
MissionOur mission is to create a just and flourishing society by promoting teaching that is joyful, humanizing, and focused on equity. We believe in education for the development of identity, intellect, and character, and in professional learning that honors the power, wisdom and moral leadership of teachers. The Danielson Group works with school systems across the country to bring out the best in their teachers by creating professional learning programs and policies that provide the right levels of support all along a teachers career path. Since its founding in 2003, the Danielson Group has worked with thousands of schools and tens of thousands of educators to advance the teaching profession in service of student learning and development.MissionDesc
Significant New Program SrvcfalseSignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant ChangefalseSignificantChangeInd
Expense$984,207ExpenseAmt
Revenue$1,797,275RevenueAmt
DescCURRICULM DEVELOPMENT In 2021 The Danielson Group developed online study guides to assit teachers in a hybrid virtual and person to person classroom. The Framework for Teaching Intellectual Engagement Guide, Observation Tool, and Self-Assessment and Reflection Tool, published in both English and Spanish, have been downloaded by more than 4,800 educators. In 2021, development of FFT Component Study Guides was begun. These focus guides are intended to elevate the importance of instructional imperatives as a critical means to the equitable access to rich, grade-level learning experiences for all students. At the close of 2021, the much anticipated update to the Danielson Framework for Teaching entered it final stages of editing for release in 2022.Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty2 ProgSrvcAccomActy2Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Expense$874,837ExpenseAmt
DescPARTNERSHIPSThe Danielson Group has augmented the face to face delivery of our educator training programs with virtual courses and online resources to offer schools and districts a deeper and more focused access to the Framework for Teaching. From 2020 to 2021, the services and resourses we provided to schools and school districts doubled, and the number of schools and districts we serve increased by 20%. Extending our reach still further in 2021, we received an award from the Department of Education to implement the Framework for Teaching in 2 Maryland school districts, among educators whose students are English language learners.Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty3 ProgSrvcAccomActy3Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Expense$130,040ExpenseAmt
DescDIRECT TO EDUCATOR SERVICE Our core Framework for Teaching courses are now available online, in self-paced formats that allow educators constant professional development support. Along with these courses, in partnership with other providers of high-quality instructional materials, we offer access to online video archives and Framework for Teaching support services and materials. Participation in our online learning system increased from 2020 by 216%.Desc
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Expenses$1,989,084TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt
Described In Section501c3Yes (true)DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B RequiredYes (true)ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign ActyfalsePoliticalCampaignActyInd
Lobbying ActivitiesfalseLobbyingActivitiesInd
Subject To Proxy TaxfalseSubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised FundfalseDonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation EasementsfalseConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of ArtfalseCollectionsOfArtInd
Credit CounselingfalseCreditCounselingInd
Donor Rstr Or Quasi EndowmentsfalseDonorRstrOrQuasiEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (true)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other SecfalseReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related InvstfalseReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other AssetsfalseReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesfalseReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (true)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (true)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl StmtfalseConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School OperatingfalseSchoolOperatingInd
Foreign OfficefalseForeignOfficeInd
Foreign ActivitiesfalseForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To OrgfalseMoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To IndividualsfalseMoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional FundraisingfalseProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising ActivitiesfalseFundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming ActivitiesfalseGamingActivitiesInd
Operate HospitalfalseOperateHospitalInd
Grants To OrganizationsfalseGrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To IndividualsfalseGrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (true)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt BondsfalseTaxExemptBondsInd
Engaged In Excess Benefit TransfalseEngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd
PY Excess Benefit TransfalsePYExcessBenefitTransInd
Loan OutstandingYes (true)LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related PersonfalseGrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org MemfalseBusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam MemfalseBusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With35 Ctrl EntYes (true)BusinessRlnWith35CtrlEntInd
Deductible Non Cash ContrifalseDeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art ContributionfalseDeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate OperationsfalseTerminateOperationsInd
Partial LiquidationfalsePartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded EntityfalseDisregardedEntityInd
Related EntityfalseRelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl EntfalseRelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd OrgfalseTrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd
Activities Conducted PrtshpfalseActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (true)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document9IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (true)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee33EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (true)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over LimitfalseUnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Foreign Financial AccountfalseForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter TransfalseProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party NotificationfalseTaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible ContributionsfalseNondeductibleContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo ContributionsfalseQuidProQuoContributionsInd
Form8282 Property Disposed OffalseForm8282PropertyDisposedOfInd
Form8282 Filed0Form8282FiledCnt
Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft CntrctfalseRcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft CntrctfalsePayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Form8899 FiledindfalseForm8899Filedind
Form1098 C FiledfalseForm1098CFiledInd
Indoor Tanning ServicesfalseIndoorTanningServicesInd
Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht PymtfalseSubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd
Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst IncfalseSubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members8GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member8IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business RlnfalseFamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt DutiesfalseDelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org DocumentsfalseChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or MisusefalseMaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or StockholdersfalseMembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersfalseElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To ApprovafalseDecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (true)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (true)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing AddressfalseOfficerMailingAddressInd
Local ChaptersfalseLocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (true)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (true)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (true)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (true)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (true)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (true)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (true)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (true)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint VenturefalseInvestmentInJointVentureInd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldILStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonJim S FurmanPersonNm
Phone7088907106PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line11720 West Division StreetAddressLine1Txt
CityChicagoCityNm
State AbbreviationILStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP60622ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (14 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtAverage Hours Per Week Rltd OrgAverageHoursPerWeekRltdOrgRtOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorInd
Jim Furman
Executive Dir.40.000.00Yes (X)$198,181$0$2,988
Mary Lee Kappes
Dir. Learning40.000.00$176,088$0$19,662
Shirley Hall
Dir. Partnerships40.000.00$174,403$0$7,605
Brian Johnson
Ast. Dir. Learning40.000.00$141,633$0$6,655
Karyn Wright
Ast. Dir. District40.000.00$133,890$0$4,382
Maria Akinyele
Ast. Dir. Strategy40.000.00$131,224$0$338
Kate Dickson
Chairman1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0Yes (X)
Jenn Vranek
Vice Chair1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0Yes (X)
Mark Atkinson
Treasurer1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0Yes (X)
Jennifer Cheatham
Secretary1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0Yes (X)
Charlotte Danielson
Director1.000.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
Christina Linder
Director1.000.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
Audrey Soglin
Director1.000.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
Ross Wiener
Director1.000.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$955,419TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$41,630TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K8IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees ListedfalseFormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (true)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other SrcsfalseCompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (2 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
Integral Ed Services LLC
422 State Street 16BrooklynNY11217Curriculum development$198,026
Larson Communications
1725 Pierce Street Suite 1San FranciscoCA94115Public relations reform$120,000
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K2CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Government Grants$318,380GovernmentGrantsAmt
All Other Contributions$400,000AllOtherContributionsAmt
Total Contributions$718,380TotalContributionsAmt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (2 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Conferences and events611430$4,012$4,012
Support services611710$1,793,263$1,793,263
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$1,797,275TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt

Incm From Invest Bond Proceeds IncmFromInvestBondProceedsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt

Royalties Revenue RoyaltiesRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$29,736TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$29,736ExclusionAmt

Net Rental Income Or Loss NetRentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt

Net Incm From Fundraising Evt NetIncmFromFundraisingEvtGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt

Net Income From Gaming NetIncomeFromGamingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt

Net Income Or Loss NetIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt

Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescOther revenueDesc
Business900099BusinessCd
Total Revenue Column$8,537TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$8,537RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total$8,537OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$2,553,928TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$1,805,812RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Exclusion$29,736ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part IXYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartIXInd

Grants To Domestic Orgs GrantsToDomesticOrgsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Grants To Domestic Individuals GrantsToDomesticIndividualsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Foreign Grants ForeignGrantsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Benefits To Members BenefitsToMembersGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$230,216TotalAmt
Program Services$116,040ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$91,412ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$22,764FundraisingAmt

Comp Disqual Persons CompDisqualPersonsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,425,874TotalAmt
Program Services$1,228,553ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$197,321ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$34,127TotalAmt
Program Services$27,708ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$5,950ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$469FundraisingAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$24,302TotalAmt
Program Services$19,731ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$4,237ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$334FundraisingAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$124,237TotalAmt
Program Services$100,869ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$21,660ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$1,708FundraisingAmt

Fees For Services Management FeesForServicesManagementGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$69,603TotalAmt
Management And General$69,603ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$28,248TotalAmt
Management And General$28,248ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Lobbying FeesForServicesLobbyingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Fees For Services Prof Fundraising FeesForServicesProfFundraising

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Fees For Srvc Invst Mgmnt Fees FeesForSrvcInvstMgmntFeesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$312,407TotalAmt
Program Services$279,969ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$32,438ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$165,902TotalAmt
Program Services$147,988ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$17,440ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$474FundraisingAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$4,923TotalAmt
Program Services$4,231ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$663ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$29FundraisingAmt

Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$33,314TotalAmt
Program Services$27,049ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$5,807ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$458FundraisingAmt

Royalties RoyaltiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$6,271TotalAmt
Program Services$5,092ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$1,093ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$86FundraisingAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$6,165TotalAmt
Program Services$5,410ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$755ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Pymt Travel Entrtnmnt Pub Ofcl PymtTravelEntrtnmntPubOfclGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,315TotalAmt
Program Services$2,315ProgramServicesAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Payments To Affiliates PaymentsToAffiliatesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$5,804TotalAmt
Management And General$5,804ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$17,308TotalAmt
Program Services$14,053ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$3,017ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$238FundraisingAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmtManagement And GeneralManagementAndGeneralAmtProgram ServicesProgramServicesAmtFundraisingFundraisingAmt
Bank fees and interest expense$7,737$7,737
Other expenses$6,641$395$6,244$2
Licenses and Permits$4,044$4,044
Professional Development$2,555$447$2,075$33

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,771TotalAmt
Program Services$1,757ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$13ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$1FundraisingAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,513,764TotalAmt
Program Services$1,989,084ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$498,084ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$26,596FundraisingAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$695,511BOYAmt
EOY$528,252EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EOY$0EOYAmt

Pledges And Grants Receivable PledgesAndGrantsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EOY$0EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$128,512BOYAmt
EOY$290,688EOYAmt

Receivables From Officers Etc ReceivablesFromOfficersEtcGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EOY$0EOYAmt

Rcvbl From Disqualified Prsn RcvblFromDisqualifiedPrsnGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EOY$0EOYAmt

Oth Notes Loans Receivable Net OthNotesLoansReceivableNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EOY$0EOYAmt

Inventories For Sale Or Use InventoriesForSaleOrUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EOY$0EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$13,541BOYAmt
EOY$18,402EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$25,448LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$8,977LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$16,311BOYAmt
EOY$16,471EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EOY$0EOYAmt

Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EOY$0EOYAmt

Investments Program Related InvestmentsProgramRelatedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EOY$0EOYAmt

Intangible Assets IntangibleAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EOY$0EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$6,589BOYAmt
EOY$4,270EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$860,464BOYAmt
EOY$858,083EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$72,326BOYAmt
EOY$84,781EOYAmt

Loans From Officers Directors LoansFromOfficersDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$55,000BOYAmt

Unsecured Notes Loans Payable UnsecuredNotesLoansPayableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$150,244BOYAmt
EOY$150,244EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$277,570BOYAmt
EOY$235,025EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Organization Follows FASB117Yes (X)OrganizationFollowsFASB117Ind

No Donor Restriction Net Assets NoDonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY-$19,073BOYAmt
EOY$511,677EOYAmt

Donor Restriction Net Assets DonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$601,967BOYAmt
EOY$111,381EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$582,894BOYAmt
EOY$623,058EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$860,464BOYAmt
EOY$858,083EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$40,164ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or ReviewfalseAccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (true)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Separate Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteefalseAuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit RequiredfalseFederalGrantAuditRequiredInd

Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Publicly Supported Org509a2Yes (X)PubliclySupportedOrg509a2Ind

Gifts Grants Contris Rcvd509 GiftsGrantsContrisRcvd509Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$106,746CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$1,976,994CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$1,552,594CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$718,380CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$4,354,714TotalAmt

Gross Receipts Admissions GrossReceiptsAdmissionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$9,509CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$16,083CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$1,050,272CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$1,797,275CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$2,873,139TotalAmt

Gross Receipts Non Unrlt Bus GrossReceiptsNonUnrltBusGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Tax Rev Levied Orgnztnl Bnft509 TaxRevLeviedOrgnztnlBnft509Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Govt Furn Srvc Fclts Vl509 GovtFurnSrvcFcltsVl509Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Total509 Total509Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$116,255CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$1,993,077CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$2,602,866CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$2,515,655CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$7,227,853TotalAmt

Amounts Rcvd Dsqlfy Person AmountsRcvdDsqlfyPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Substantial Contributors Amt SubstantialContributorsAmtGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Public Support Total509$7,227,853PublicSupportTotal509Amt

Gross Investment Income509 GrossInvestmentIncome509Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$13,996CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$7,720CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$29,736CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$51,452TotalAmt

Post1975 UBTI Post1975UBTIGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Investment Income And UBTI InvestmentIncomeAndUBTIGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$13,996CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$7,720CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$29,736CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$51,452TotalAmt

Net Income From Other UBI NetIncomeFromOtherUBIGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Other Income509 OtherIncome509Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$5,299CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$23,026CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$8,537CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$36,862TotalAmt

Total Support Calendar Year TotalSupportCalendarYearGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$121,554CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$2,007,073CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$2,633,612CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$2,553,928CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$7,316,167TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
First5 Years509Yes (X)First5Years509Ind
Public Support CY5090.00000PublicSupportCY509Pct
Investment Income CY0.00000InvestmentIncomeCYPct

Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB

Contributor Information ContributorInformationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
ContributorRESTRICTEDContributorNum

Contributor Business Name ContributorBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1RESTRICTEDBusinessNameLine1

Contributor US Address ContributorUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1RESTRICTEDAddressLine1
Address Line2RESTRICTEDAddressLine2
CityRESTRICTEDCity
StateRESTRICTEDState
ZIP CodeRESTRICTEDZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total ContributionsRESTRICTEDTotalContributionsAmt

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$25,448OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$8,977DepreciationAmt
Book Value$16,471BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$16,471TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$2,608,539TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Donated Services And Use Fclts$54,611DonatedServicesAndUseFcltsAmt
Revenue Not Reported$54,611RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$2,553,928RevenueSubtotalAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$2,553,928TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$2,568,375TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Donated Services Use Fclts$54,611DonatedServicesUseFcltsAmt
Expenses Not Reported$54,611ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$2,513,764ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$2,513,764TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePart X : FIN48 FootnoteFormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationThe Danielson Group does not believe its financial statements include any material, uncertain tax positions. Tax filings for periods ending December 31, 2019 and later are subject to examination by applicable taxing authorities.ExplanationTxt

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Independent ConsultantYes (X)IndependentConsultantInd
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance PaymentfalseSeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr PlanfalseSupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp ArrngmfalseEquityBasedCompArrngmInd
Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng OrgfalseCompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd On Rev Related OrgsfalseCompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng OrgfalseCompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd OrgsfalseCompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd
Any Non Fixed PaymentsfalseAnyNonFixedPaymentsInd
Initial Contract ExceptionfalseInitialContractExceptionInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (3 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmt
Jim Furman
Executive Dir.$198,181$2,175$813$201,169
Mary Lee Kappes
Dir. Learning$176,088$7,166$12,496$195,750
Shirley Hall
Dir. Partnerships$174,403$7,040$565$182,008

Schedule L IRS990ScheduleL

Loans Btwn Org Interested Prsn LoansBtwnOrgInterestedPrsnGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonDanielson CharlottePersonNm
Relationship With OrgBoard ChairRelationshipWithOrgTxt
Loan PurposeWorking CaLoanPurposeTxt
Loan To OrganizationYes (X)LoanToOrganizationInd
Original Principal$55,000OriginalPrincipalAmt
DefaultfalseDefaultInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (true)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Written AgreementYes (true)WrittenAgreementInd

Bus Tr Involve Interested Prsn BusTrInvolveInterestedPrsnGrp

Name Of Interested NameOfInterested

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonMark AtkinsonPersonNm
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Relationship DescriptionOwnerRelationshipDescriptionTxt
Transaction$97,990TransactionAmt
TransactionEducational servicesTransactionDesc
Sharing Of RevenuesfalseSharingOfRevenuesInd

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSchedule L, Part V Supplemental InformationFormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationDuring 2021, the Organization received $97,990 from a related entity, owned by a board member, to develop a Virtual Instructional Coaching Program for the states of Illinois and Idaho including content development, webinar facilitation, ongoing support, and project management. This is recognized as training and support services revenue on the statement of activities during 2021.ExplanationTxt

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (4 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Form 990, Part VI, Line 11b: Form 990 Review ProcessThe form 990 is presented to the Executive Committee of the Board of Directors by electronic distribution before it is filed with the IRS. The 990 is presented via electronic media to the Board for review alongside audited financials. Once approved by the EC, the 990 will be signed by the Executive Director and filed.
Form 990, Part VI, Line 12c: Explanation of Monitoring and Enforcement of ConflictsBoard memebrs annually complete a Disclosure Statement and are required to state any conflict of interest or transaction covered under the Conflict of Interest Policy with regard to matters brought before them for vote. Members agree to immediately disclose the existence and circumstances of covered transactions in writing, either to the Board or an authorized committee thereof; refrain from using personal influence to encourage the organization to enter into a covered transaction; and physically excuse himself or herself from participation in any discussions regardingcovered transactions. The Policy is administered by the Board. The Board is responsible for reviewing Disclosure Statements , receiving disclosures relating to conflcits of interest; reviewing covered transactions to determine whether they constitute conflicts of interest. The Organization may enter into a Covered Transaction if the Board, or any authorized committee thereof, determines, acting without the participation or influence of the covered person, and based on comparable market data (to the extent available and applicable), that such transaction is fair and reasonable to, and in the best interests of, the Corporation. The Board will document the basis for its determinations in the minutes of the meeting at which the covered transaction is considered.
Form 990, Part VI, Line 15a: Compensation Review & Approval Process - CEO, Top ManagementEvaluation and recruitment of the Executive Director is conducted by an independent search firm under the supervision of the Board of Directors. The search firm's due diligence includes the collection of data related to necessary qualifications of each candidate as well as compensation paid by similarly situated nonprofits. The Board uses best practices in their review of the data provided, and documents how it arrives at its decision, and this is recorded in the Minutes of the meeting of the Board. The Executive Director conducts the search for, and evaluates the qualifications of, members of the organizations leadership team, relying on external support to identify candidates and determine market comparability. Members of the leadership team are reviewed periodically and whenever a change is made to their compensation or other terms of their employment.
Form 990, Part VI, Line 19: Other Organization Documents Publicly AvailableNo documents available to the public.

Comments

Anonymous: no account or email. Up to 2,000 characters, at most one link. Comments are checked automatically; some wait for review.