SAW INC: Form 990, tax year 2021
View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗
- Organization
- SAW INC (EIN 34-1049486)
- Tax period
- 2021-01-01 to 2021-12-31
- Filed
- 2022-11-14
- IRS object ID
- 202223189349311942
- Schema version
- 2021v4.2
- Source
- Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica
Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.
Return header ReturnHeader
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Return | 2022-11-14T14:17:16-06:00 | ReturnTs |
| Tax Period End | 2021-12-31 | TaxPeriodEndDt |
Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Preparer Firm EIN | 381357951 | PreparerFirmEIN |
Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | PLANTE & MORAN PLLC | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 1111 SUPERIOR AVE SUITE 1250 | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | CLEVELAND | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | OH | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 44114 | ZIPCd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Return Type | 990 | ReturnTypeCd |
| Tax Period Begin | 2021-01-01 | TaxPeriodBeginDt |
Filer Filer
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| EIN | 341049486 | EIN |
Business Name BusinessName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | SAW INC | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Control | SAWI | BusinessNameControlTxt |
| Phone | 2168610250 | PhoneNum |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 14775 BROADWAY AVE | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | MAPLE HEIGHTS | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | OH | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 44137 | ZIPCd |
Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Person | TIMOTHY J CLEMENS | PersonNm |
| Person Title | PRESIDENT | PersonTitleTxt |
| Phone | 2168610250 | PhoneNum |
| Signature | 2022-11-11 | SignatureDt |
| Discuss With Paid Preparer | Yes (1) | DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd |
Signing Officer SigningOfficerGrp
Person Full Name PersonFullName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Person First | TIMOTHY | PersonFirstNm |
| Person Last | CLEMENS | PersonLastNm |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| SSN | 999009999 | SSN |
Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Preparer Person | JEREMY S HERMAN | PreparerPersonNm |
| PTIN | P00745789 | PTIN |
| Phone | 2165231010 | PhoneNum |
| Preparation | 2022-11-11 | PreparationDt |
Additional Filer Information AdditionalFilerInformation
Trusted Customer TrustedCustomerGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Trusted Customer | 3 | TrustedCustomerCd |
| Authentication Assurance Level | AAL1 | AuthenticationAssuranceLevelCd |
| Identity Assurance Level | IAL1 | IdentityAssuranceLevelCd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Tax | 2021 | TaxYr |
| Build TS | 2022-09-23 18:48:47Z | BuildTS |
Form 990 IRS990
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Principal Officer | JUDITH CAREY | PrincipalOfficerNm |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 14775 BROADWAY AVE | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | MAPLE HEIGHTS | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | OH | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 44137 | ZIPCd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Gross Receipts | $11,660,271 | GrossReceiptsAmt |
| Group Return For Affiliates | 0 | GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd |
| Organization501c3 | Yes (X) | Organization501c3Ind |
| Website Address | WWW.SAWINC.ORG | WebsiteAddressTxt |
| Type Of Organization Corp | Yes (X) | TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd |
| Formation | 1969 | FormationYr |
| Legal Domicile State | OH | LegalDomicileStateCd |
| Activity Or Mission | TO SECURE EMPLOYMENT OPPORTUNITIES FOR PEOPLE WITH DEVELOPMENTAL DISABILITIES. | ActivityOrMissionDesc |
| Voting Members Governing Body | 8 | VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt |
| Voting Members Independent | 8 | VotingMembersIndependentCnt |
| Total Employee | 552 | TotalEmployeeCnt |
| Total Volunteers | 8 | TotalVolunteersCnt |
| Total Gross UBI | $0 | TotalGrossUBIAmt |
| Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm | $0 | NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt |
| PY Contributions Grants | $734,623 | PYContributionsGrantsAmt |
| CY Contributions Grants | $3,192,331 | CYContributionsGrantsAmt |
| PY Program Service Revenue | $5,236,093 | PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
| CY Program Service Revenue | $7,260,713 | CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
| PY Investment Income | $81,757 | PYInvestmentIncomeAmt |
| CY Investment Income | $47,728 | CYInvestmentIncomeAmt |
| PY Other Revenue | $604,352 | PYOtherRevenueAmt |
| CY Other Revenue | $459,754 | CYOtherRevenueAmt |
| PY Total Revenue | $6,656,825 | PYTotalRevenueAmt |
| CY Total Revenue | $10,960,526 | CYTotalRevenueAmt |
| PY Grants And Similar Paid | $0 | PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt |
| CY Grants And Similar Paid | $0 | CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt |
| PY Benefits Paid To Members | $0 | PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt |
| CY Benefits Paid To Members | $0 | CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt |
| PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid | $6,390,779 | PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt |
| CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid | $6,893,089 | CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt |
| PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns | $0 | PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt |
| CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns | $0 | CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt |
| CY Total Fundraising Expense | $0 | CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt |
| PY Other Expenses | $1,470,429 | PYOtherExpensesAmt |
| CY Other Expenses | $1,549,011 | CYOtherExpensesAmt |
| PY Total Expenses | $7,861,208 | PYTotalExpensesAmt |
| CY Total Expenses | $8,442,100 | CYTotalExpensesAmt |
| PY Revenues Less Expenses | -$1,204,383 | PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt |
| CY Revenues Less Expenses | $2,518,426 | CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt |
| Total Assets BOY | $5,812,502 | TotalAssetsBOYAmt |
| Total Assets EOY | $6,395,410 | TotalAssetsEOYAmt |
| Total Liabilities BOY | $2,380,565 | TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt |
| Total Liabilities EOY | $479,495 | TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt |
| Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY | $3,431,937 | NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt |
| Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY | $5,915,915 | NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt |
| Info In Schedule O Part III | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartIIIInd |
| Mission | IT IS THE MISSION OF S.A.W, INC. TO PROVIDE EMPLOYMENT TRAINING, CAREER GROWTH AND CUSTOMIZED SUPPORTS FOR PERSONS WITH DEVELOPMENTAL DISABILITIES; TO ENCOURAGE GREATER INDEPENDENCE AND TO IMPROVE THE QUALITY OF THE INDIVIDUAL'S WORK AND PERSONAL LIFE. | MissionDesc |
| Significant New Program Srvc | 0 | SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd |
| Significant Change | Yes (1) | SignificantChangeInd |
| Expense | $3,077,053 | ExpenseAmt |
| Revenue | $4,034,805 | RevenueAmt |
| Desc | PROVIDED OPERATIONS OF 5 ADULT ACTIVITY CENTERS TO ASSIST INDIVIDUALS WITH DEVELOPMENTAL DISABILITIES IN CHOOSING AND ACHIEVING A LIFE OF INCREASING CAPABILITY. EMPLOYED 255 OF THESE INDIVIDUALS DURING 2021. | Desc |
Prog Srvc Accom Acty2 ProgSrvcAccomActy2Grp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Expense | $1,621,438 | ExpenseAmt |
| Revenue | $1,072,539 | RevenueAmt |
| Desc | JUST A BUCK OPERATED 2 DOLLAR STORES, WHICH SERVED AS RETAIL TRAINING CENTERS FOR SAW EMPLOYEES. EMPLOYED 28 OF THESE INDIVIDUALS DURING 2021. EACH STORE EQUIPS EMPLOYEES WITH THE SKILLS NECESSARY TO BE RELIABLE EMPLOYEES IN THE RETAIL ENVIRONMENT. BOTH STORES CLOSED 12-31-21. | Desc |
Prog Srvc Accom Acty3 ProgSrvcAccomActy3Grp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Expense | $2,248,146 | ExpenseAmt |
| Revenue | $2,613,123 | RevenueAmt |
| Desc | GROUP EMPLOYMENT ACTIVITIES WHICH SERVE AS TRAINING GROUNDS FOR SAW EMPLOYEES IN THE COMMUNITY IN THE AREAS OF CUSTODIAL MAINTENANCE, GROUNDS MAINTENANCE AND COMMUNITY ENCLAVES. EMPLOYED 141 OF THESE INDIVIDUALS DURING 2021. | Desc |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Program Service Expenses | $6,946,637 | TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt |
| Described In Section501c3 | Yes (1) | DescribedInSection501c3Ind |
| Schedule B Required | Yes (1) | ScheduleBRequiredInd |
| Political Campaign Acty | 0 | PoliticalCampaignActyInd |
| Lobbying Activities | 0 | LobbyingActivitiesInd |
| Subject To Proxy Tax | 0 | SubjectToProxyTaxInd |
| Donor Advised Fund | 0 | DonorAdvisedFundInd |
| Conservation Easements | 0 | ConservationEasementsInd |
| Collections Of Art | 0 | CollectionsOfArtInd |
| Credit Counseling | 0 | CreditCounselingInd |
| Donor Rstr Or Quasi Endowments | 0 | DonorRstrOrQuasiEndowmentsInd |
| Report Land Building Equipment | Yes (1) | ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd |
| Report Investments Other Sec | 0 | ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd |
| Report Program Related Invst | 0 | ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd |
| Report Other Assets | 0 | ReportOtherAssetsInd |
| Report Other Liabilities | 0 | ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd |
| Include FIN48 Footnote | 0 | IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd |
| Independent Audit Fincl Stmt | Yes (1) | IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd |
| Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt | 0 | ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd |
| School Operating | 0 | SchoolOperatingInd |
| Foreign Office | 0 | ForeignOfficeInd |
| Foreign Activities | 0 | ForeignActivitiesInd |
| More Than5000 K To Org | 0 | MoreThan5000KToOrgInd |
| More Than5000 K To Individuals | 0 | MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd |
| Professional Fundraising | 0 | ProfessionalFundraisingInd |
| Fundraising Activities | 0 | FundraisingActivitiesInd |
| Gaming Activities | 0 | GamingActivitiesInd |
| Operate Hospital | 0 | OperateHospitalInd |
| Grants To Organizations | 0 | GrantsToOrganizationsInd |
| Grants To Individuals | 0 | GrantsToIndividualsInd |
| Schedule J Required | 0 | ScheduleJRequiredInd |
| Tax Exempt Bonds | 0 | TaxExemptBondsInd |
| Engaged In Excess Benefit Trans | 0 | EngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd |
| PY Excess Benefit Trans | 0 | PYExcessBenefitTransInd |
| Loan Outstanding | 0 | LoanOutstandingInd |
| Grant To Related Person | 0 | GrantToRelatedPersonInd |
| Business Rln With Org Mem | 0 | BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd |
| Business Rln With Fam Mem | 0 | BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd |
| Business Rln With35 Ctrl Ent | 0 | BusinessRlnWith35CtrlEntInd |
| Deductible Non Cash Contri | 0 | DeductibleNonCashContriInd |
| Deductible Art Contribution | 0 | DeductibleArtContributionInd |
| Terminate Operations | 0 | TerminateOperationsInd |
| Partial Liquidation | 0 | PartialLiquidationInd |
| Disregarded Entity | 0 | DisregardedEntityInd |
| Related Entity | Yes (1) | RelatedEntityInd |
| Related Organization Ctrl Ent | 0 | RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd |
| Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd Org | 0 | TrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd |
| Activities Conducted Prtshp | 0 | ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd |
| Schedule O Required | Yes (1) | ScheduleORequiredInd |
| IRP Document | 8 | IRPDocumentCnt |
| IRP Document W2 G | 0 | IRPDocumentW2GCnt |
| Backup Wthld Compliance | Yes (1) | BackupWthldComplianceInd |
| Employee | 552 | EmployeeCnt |
| Employment Tax Returns Filed | Yes (1) | EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd |
| Unrelated Bus Incm Over Limit | 0 | UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd |
| Foreign Financial Account | 0 | ForeignFinancialAccountInd |
| Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans | 0 | ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd |
| Taxable Party Notification | 0 | TaxablePartyNotificationInd |
| Nondeductible Contributions | 0 | NondeductibleContributionsInd |
| Quid Pro Quo Contributions | 0 | QuidProQuoContributionsInd |
| Form8282 Property Disposed Of | 0 | Form8282PropertyDisposedOfInd |
| Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft Cntrct | 0 | RcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd |
| Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft Cntrct | 0 | PayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd |
| Indoor Tanning Services | 0 | IndoorTanningServicesInd |
| Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht Pymt | 0 | SubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd |
| Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst Inc | 0 | SubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd |
| Info In Schedule O Part VI | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd |
| Governing Body Voting Members | 8 | GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt |
| Independent Voting Member | 8 | IndependentVotingMemberCnt |
| Family Or Business Rln | 0 | FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd |
| Delegation Of Mgmt Duties | 0 | DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd |
| Change To Org Documents | 0 | ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd |
| Material Diversion Or Misuse | 0 | MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd |
| Members Or Stockholders | 0 | MembersOrStockholdersInd |
| Election Of Board Members | 0 | ElectionOfBoardMembersInd |
| Decisions Subject To Approva | 0 | DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd |
| Minutes Of Governing Body | Yes (1) | MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd |
| Minutes Of Committees | Yes (1) | MinutesOfCommitteesInd |
| Officer Mailing Address | 0 | OfficerMailingAddressInd |
| Local Chapters | 0 | LocalChaptersInd |
| Form990 Provided To Gvrn Body | Yes (1) | Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd |
| Conflict Of Interest Policy | Yes (1) | ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd |
| Annual Disclosure Covered Prsn | Yes (1) | AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd |
| Regular Monitoring Enfrc | Yes (1) | RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd |
| Whistleblower Policy | 0 | WhistleblowerPolicyInd |
| Document Retention Policy | Yes (1) | DocumentRetentionPolicyInd |
| Compensation Process CEO | 0 | CompensationProcessCEOInd |
| Compensation Process Other | 0 | CompensationProcessOtherInd |
| Investment In Joint Venture | 0 | InvestmentInJointVentureInd |
| States Where Copy Of Return Is Fld | OH | StatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd |
| Upon Request | Yes (X) | UponRequestInd |
Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail
Business Name BusinessName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | JUDITH CAREY | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Phone | 2168610250 | PhoneNum |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 14775 BROADWAY AVE | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | MAPLE HEIGHTS | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | OH | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 44137 | ZIPCd |
Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (10 entries)
| TitleTitleTxt | Average Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRt | Average Hours Per Week Rltd OrgAverageHoursPerWeekRltdOrgRt | Individual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorInd | OfficerOfficerInd | Reportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmt | Reportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmt | Other CompensationOtherCompensationAmt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| TIMOTHY CLEMENS | |||||||
| PRESIDENT | 1.00 | 0.00 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| RANDY GRAHAM | |||||||
| VICE PRESIDENT | 1.00 | 0.00 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| DICK AMBROSE | |||||||
| SECRETARY | 1.00 | 0.00 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| ELLEN MINADEO | |||||||
| TREASURER | 1.00 | 0.00 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| GEORGETTE JACKSON | |||||||
| TRUSTEE | 1.00 | 0.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |
| RUSSEL BENGHIAT | |||||||
| TRUSTEE | 1.00 | 0.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |
| SUE PEPLOWSKI | |||||||
| TRUSTEE (UNTIL 03/22) | 1.00 | 0.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |
| TODD BARSON | |||||||
| TRUSTEE | 1.00 | 0.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |
| STACEY MCKINLEY | |||||||
| TRUSTEE | 1.00 | 0.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |
| JUDITH CAREY | |||||||
| EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR | 40.00 | 0.00 | Yes (X) | $121,500 | $0 | $9,610 | |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Reportable Comp From Org | $121,500 | TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt |
| Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org | $0 | TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt |
| Total Other Compensation | $9,610 | TotalOtherCompensationAmt |
| Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K | 1 | IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt |
| Former Ofcr Employees Listed | 0 | FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd |
| Total Comp Greater Than150 K | 0 | TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd |
| Compensation From Other Srcs | 0 | CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd |
| Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K | 0 | CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt |
| Government Grants | $3,190,096 | GovernmentGrantsAmt |
| All Other Contributions | $2,235 | AllOtherContributionsAmt |
| Total Contributions | $3,192,331 | TotalContributionsAmt |
Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (3 entries)
| DescDesc | BusinessBusinessCd | Total Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmt | Related Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt |
|---|---|---|---|
| MEDICAID REVENUE | 624310 | $5,449,676 | $5,449,676 |
| SALES REVENUE | 624310 | $1,772,953 | $1,772,953 |
| STANARD FARM RENTS | 624310 | $38,084 | $38,084 |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Program Service Revenue | $7,260,713 | TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $47,728 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Exclusion | $47,728 | ExclusionAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Gross Sales Of Inventory | $1,072,539 | GrossSalesOfInventoryAmt |
| Cost Of Goods Sold | $699,745 | CostOfGoodsSoldAmt |
Net Income Or Loss NetIncomeOrLossGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $372,794 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Related Or Exempt Func Income | $372,794 | RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt |
Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp (3 entries)
| DescDesc | BusinessBusinessCd | Total Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmt | Related Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt |
|---|---|---|---|
| COVID REIMBURSEMENTS | 900099 | $40,000 | $40,000 |
| WORKERS' COMPENSATION REFUND | 900099 | $20,989 | $20,989 |
| WITHHOLDINGS | 900099 | $12,061 | $12,061 |
Miscellaneous Revenue MiscellaneousRevenueGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $13,910 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Related Or Exempt Func Income | $13,910 | RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Revenue Total | $86,960 | OtherRevenueTotalAmt |
Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $10,960,526 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Related Or Exempt Func Income | $7,720,467 | RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt |
| Unrelated Business Revenue | $0 | UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt |
| Exclusion | $47,728 | ExclusionAmt |
Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $131,110 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $131,110 | ProgramServicesAmt |
Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $4,975,559 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $4,050,739 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $924,820 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $1,375,341 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $1,375,341 | ProgramServicesAmt |
Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $411,079 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $411,079 | ProgramServicesAmt |
Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $13,622 | TotalAmt |
| Management And General | $13,622 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $41,350 | TotalAmt |
| Management And General | $41,350 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $193,439 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $125,584 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $67,855 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Advertising AdvertisingGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $52,668 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $36,881 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $15,787 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $469,221 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $275,750 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $193,471 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Occupancy OccupancyGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $466,800 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $235,311 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $231,489 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Travel TravelGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $11,624 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $11,624 | ProgramServicesAmt |
Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $63,913 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $56,844 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $7,069 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Insurance InsuranceGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $97,626 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $97,626 | ProgramServicesAmt |
Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)
| DescDesc | TotalTotalAmt | Program ServicesProgramServicesAmt |
|---|---|---|
| BAD DEBT | $61,388 | $61,388 |
| PAYROLL PROCESSING FEES | $44,807 | $44,807 |
| ADULT DAY SERVICES | $3,946 | $3,946 |
| SUPPLIES | $1,413 | $1,413 |
All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $27,194 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $27,194 | ProgramServicesAmt |
Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $8,442,100 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $6,946,637 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $1,495,463 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $0 | FundraisingAmt |
Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $2,236,720 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $2,970,019 | EOYAmt |
Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $374,260 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $144,971 | EOYAmt |
Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $719,739 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $758,661 | EOYAmt |
Inventories For Sale Or Use InventoriesForSaleOrUseGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $136,384 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $0 | EOYAmt |
Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $59,084 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $54,435 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss | $3,953,026 | LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt |
| Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec | $3,344,506 | LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt |
Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $672,436 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $608,520 | EOYAmt |
Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $1,613,879 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $1,858,804 | EOYAmt |
Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $5,812,502 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $6,395,410 | EOYAmt |
Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $424,680 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $475,894 | EOYAmt |
Deferred Revenue DeferredRevenueGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $187,285 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $3,601 | EOYAmt |
Unsecured Notes Loans Payable UnsecuredNotesLoansPayableGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $1,768,600 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $0 | EOYAmt |
Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $2,380,565 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $479,495 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Organization Follows FASB117 | Yes (X) | OrganizationFollowsFASB117Ind |
No Donor Restriction Net Assets NoDonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $3,431,937 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $5,915,915 | EOYAmt |
Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $3,431,937 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $5,915,915 | EOYAmt |
Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $5,812,502 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $6,395,410 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Reconcilation Revenue Expnss | $2,518,426 | ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt |
| Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst | -$34,448 | NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt |
| Other Changes In Net Assets | $0 | OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt |
| Info In Schedule O Part XII | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartXIIInd |
| Method Of Accounting Accrual | Yes (X) | MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd |
| Accountant Compile Or Review | 0 | AccountantCompileOrReviewInd |
| FS Audited | Yes (1) | FSAuditedInd |
FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Separate Basis Fincl Stmt | Yes (X) | SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Audit Committee | Yes (1) | AuditCommitteeInd |
| Federal Grant Audit Required | 0 | FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd |
Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Public Organization170 | Yes (X) | PublicOrganization170Ind |
Gifts Grants Contri Rcvd170 GiftsGrantsContriRcvd170Grp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Current Tax Year Minus4 Years | $87,363 | CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus3 Years | $32,090 | CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus2 Years | $597,532 | CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus1 Year | $734,623 | CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt |
| Current Tax Year | $3,192,331 | CurrentTaxYearAmt |
| Total | $4,643,939 | TotalAmt |
Govt Furn Srvc Fclts Vl170 GovtFurnSrvcFcltsVl170Grp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Current Tax Year Minus4 Years | $3,644,600 | CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus3 Years | $2,629,200 | CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus2 Years | $4,813,105 | CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus1 Year | $501,301 | CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt |
| Current Tax Year | $304,429 | CurrentTaxYearAmt |
| Total | $11,892,635 | TotalAmt |
Total Calendar Year170 TotalCalendarYear170Grp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Current Tax Year Minus4 Years | $3,731,963 | CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus3 Years | $2,661,290 | CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus2 Years | $5,410,637 | CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus1 Year | $1,235,924 | CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt |
| Current Tax Year | $3,496,760 | CurrentTaxYearAmt |
| Total | $16,536,574 | TotalAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Public Support Total170 | $16,536,574 | PublicSupportTotal170Amt |
Gross Investment Income170 GrossInvestmentIncome170Grp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Current Tax Year Minus4 Years | $107,284 | CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus3 Years | $112,431 | CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus2 Years | $41,088 | CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus1 Year | $81,757 | CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt |
| Current Tax Year | $47,728 | CurrentTaxYearAmt |
| Total | $390,288 | TotalAmt |
Other Income170 OtherIncome170Grp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Current Tax Year Minus4 Years | $1,597,317 | CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus3 Years | $1,324,549 | CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus2 Years | $1,284,774 | CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus1 Year | $763,210 | CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt |
| Current Tax Year | $1,072,539 | CurrentTaxYearAmt |
| Total | $6,042,389 | TotalAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Support | $22,969,251 | TotalSupportAmt |
| Gross Receipts Rltd Activities | $22,709,798 | GrossReceiptsRltdActivitiesAmt |
| Public Support CY170 | 0.71990 | PublicSupportCY170Pct |
| Public Support PY170 | 0.70490 | PublicSupportPY170Pct |
| Thirty Thr Pct Suprt Tests CY170 | Yes (X) | ThirtyThrPctSuprtTestsCY170Ind |
Form990 Schedule A Part VI Form990ScheduleAPartVIGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Form And Line Reference | SCHEDULE A, PART II, LINE 10, EXPLANATION OF OTHER INCOME: | FormAndLineReferenceDesc |
| Explanation | JUST A BUCK STORE OPERATIONS - 2017 AMOUNT: $ 1,597,317. 2018 AMOUNT: $ 1,324,549. 2019 AMOUNT: $ 1,284,774. 2020 AMOUNT: $ 763,210. 2021 AMOUNT: $ 1,072,539. | ExplanationTxt |
Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB
Contributor Information ContributorInformationGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Contributor | RESTRICTED | ContributorNum |
Contributor Business Name ContributorBusinessName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | RESTRICTED | BusinessNameLine1 |
Contributor US Address ContributorUSAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | RESTRICTED | AddressLine1 |
| Address Line2 | RESTRICTED | AddressLine2 |
| City | RESTRICTED | City |
| State | RESTRICTED | State |
| ZIP Code | RESTRICTED | ZIPCode |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Contributions | RESTRICTED | TotalContributionsAmt |
Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD
Buildings BuildingsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Cost Or Other Basis | $854,007 | OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Depreciation | $312,464 | DepreciationAmt |
| Book Value | $541,543 | BookValueAmt |
Leasehold Improvements LeaseholdImprovementsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Cost Or Other Basis | $408,355 | OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Depreciation | $408,355 | DepreciationAmt |
| Book Value | $0 | BookValueAmt |
Equipment EquipmentGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Cost Or Other Basis | $2,504,364 | OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Depreciation | $2,439,103 | DepreciationAmt |
| Book Value | $65,261 | BookValueAmt |
Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Cost Or Other Basis | $186,300 | OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Depreciation | $184,584 | DepreciationAmt |
| Book Value | $1,716 | BookValueAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Book Value Land Buildings | $608,520 | TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt |
| Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt | $10,712,274 | TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt |
| Net Unrealized Gains Invst | -$34,448 | NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt |
| Donated Services And Use Fclts | $304,429 | DonatedServicesAndUseFcltsAmt |
| Other Revenue | $699,745 | OtherRevenueAmt |
| Revenue Not Reported | $969,726 | RevenueNotReportedAmt |
| Revenue Subtotal | $9,742,548 | RevenueSubtotalAmt |
| Other Revenues Not Included | $1,217,978 | OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt |
| Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt | $1,217,978 | RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt |
| Total Revenue Per Form990 | $10,960,526 | TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt |
| Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt | $7,832,980 | TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt |
| Donated Services Use Fclts | $304,429 | DonatedServicesUseFcltsAmt |
| Other Expenses Included | $699,745 | OtherExpensesIncludedAmt |
| Expenses Not Reported | $1,004,174 | ExpensesNotReportedAmt |
| Expenses Subtotal | $6,828,806 | ExpensesSubtotalAmt |
| Other Expenses Not Included | $1,613,294 | OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt |
| Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt | $1,613,294 | ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt |
| Total Expenses Per Form990 | $8,442,100 | TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt |
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (4 entries)
| Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDesc | ExplanationExplanationTxt |
|---|---|
| PART XI, LINE 2D - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS: | COST OF GOODS SOLD 699,745. |
| PART XI, LINE 4B - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS: | REVENUE FROM DISCONTINUED OPERATIONS 1,217,978. |
| PART XII, LINE 2D - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS: | COST OF GOODS SOLD 699,745. |
| PART XII, LINE 4B - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS: | EXPENSES FROM DISCONTINUED OPERATIONS 1,613,294. |
Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (6 entries)
| Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDesc | ExplanationExplanationTxt |
|---|---|
| FORM 990, PART III, LINE 3 | THE TWO JUST A BUCK DOLLAR STORES CLOSED EFFECTIVE DECEMBER 31, 2021. |
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 11B | A COPY OF THE FORM 990 WAS PROVIDED TO THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS FOR THEIR REVIEW PRIOR TO FILING. |
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 12C | EMPLOYEES ARE REQUIRED TO REPORT ANY POTENTIAL CONFLICT OF INTEREST TO THE HR DEPARTMENT WITHIN 14 DAYS OF KNOWLEDGE OF THE POTENTIAL CONFLICT. HR WILL MONITOR AND ENFORCE THE POLICY. |
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 15 | AN ANNUAL REVIEW IS CONDUCTED BY S.A.W. MANAGEMENT WITH INPUT FROM S.A.W. INC'S BOARD OF DIRECTORS. A RANGE OF PAY IS DETERMINED FOR EACH POSITION AND THE S.A.W. BOARD APPROVES ANY BONUSES OR PAY INCREASES. |
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION C, LINE 19 | THE ORGANIZATION MAKES ITS GOVERNING DOCUMENTS AND FINANCIAL STATEMENTS AVAILABLE TO THE PUBLIC UPON REQUEST. |
| FORM 990, PART XII, LINE 2C: | THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS APPROVES THE HIRING AND PAYMENT OF THE INDEPENDENT ACCOUNTANT USED TO PERFORM THE YEARLY AUDIT. THE PROCESS HAS NOT CHANGED FROM THE PRIOR YEAR. |
Schedule R IRS990ScheduleR
Id Related Tax Exempt Org IdRelatedTaxExemptOrgGrp
Disregarded Entity Name DisregardedEntityName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | CUYAHOGA COUNTY BOARD OF DD | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 1275 LAKESIDE AVE | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | CLEVELAND | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | OH | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 44114 | ZIPCd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| EIN | 346000817 | EIN |
| Primary Activities | SERVE INDIVIDUALS WITH DEVELOPMENTAL DISABILITIES | PrimaryActivitiesTxt |
| Legal Domicile State | OH | LegalDomicileStateCd |
| Exempt Code Section | GOVERNMENT ENTITY | ExemptCodeSectionTxt |
| Public Charity Status | N/A | PublicCharityStatusTxt |
| Direct Controlling NA | N/A | DirectControllingNACd |
| Controlled Organization | 0 | ControlledOrganizationInd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Receipt Of Int Annts Rnts Rylts | 0 | ReceiptOfIntAnntsRntsRyltsInd |
| Gift Grnt Or Cap Contri To Oth Org | 0 | GiftGrntOrCapContriToOthOrgInd |
| Gift Grnt Cap Contri From Oth Org | 0 | GiftGrntCapContriFromOthOrgInd |
| Loans Or Guarantees To Other Org | 0 | LoansOrGuaranteesToOtherOrgInd |
| Loans Or Guarantees From Oth Org | 0 | LoansOrGuaranteesFromOthOrgInd |
| Div Related Organization | 0 | DivRelatedOrganizationInd |
| Asset Sale To Other Org | 0 | AssetSaleToOtherOrgInd |
| Asset Purchase From Other Org | 0 | AssetPurchaseFromOtherOrgInd |
| Asset Exchange | 0 | AssetExchangeInd |
| Rental Of Facilities To Oth Org | 0 | RentalOfFacilitiesToOthOrgInd |
| Rental Of Fclts From Oth Org | Yes (1) | RentalOfFcltsFromOthOrgInd |
| Perform Of Services For Oth Org | 0 | PerformOfServicesForOthOrgInd |
| Perform Of Services By Other Org | 0 | PerformOfServicesByOtherOrgInd |
| Sharing Of Facilities | Yes (1) | SharingOfFacilitiesInd |
| Paid Employees Sharing | Yes (1) | PaidEmployeesSharingInd |
| Reimbursement Paid To Other Org | Yes (1) | ReimbursementPaidToOtherOrgInd |
| Reimbursement Paid By Other Org | Yes (1) | ReimbursementPaidByOtherOrgInd |
| Transfer To Other Org | 0 | TransferToOtherOrgInd |
| Transfer From Other Org | 0 | TransferFromOtherOrgInd |
Comments