KENT STATE UNIVERSITY FOUNDATION: Form 990, tax year 2020

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
KENT STATE UNIVERSITY FOUNDATION (EIN 34-6576307)
Tax period
2020-07-01 to 2021-06-30
Filed
2022-04-25
IRS object ID
202231159349300048
Schema version
2020v4.1
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2022-04-25T13:21:23-04:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2021-06-30TaxPeriodEndDt
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2020-07-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN346576307EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1KENT STATE UNIVERSITY FOUNDATIONBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlKENTBusinessNameControlTxt

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1PO BOX 5190AddressLine1Txt
CityKentCityNm
State AbbreviationOHStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP44242ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonJESSICA VARGOPersonNm
Person TitleCPAPersonTitleTxt
Phone3306720432PhoneNum
Signature2022-04-07SignatureDt

Signing Officer SigningOfficerGrp

Person Full Name PersonFullName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Person FirstJESSICAPersonFirstNm
Person LastVARGOPersonLastNm
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
SSNXXX-XX-XXXXSSN

Additional Filer Information AdditionalFilerInformation

Trusted Customer TrustedCustomerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Trusted Customer0TrustedCustomerCd
OOB Security Verification00OOBSecurityVerificationCd
Authentication Assurance LevelAAL1AuthenticationAssuranceLevelCd
Identity Assurance LevelIAL1IdentityAssuranceLevelCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2020TaxYr
Build TS2022-09-23 18:48:47ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerVALOREE VARGOPrincipalOfficerNm
Gross Receipts$76,750,255GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For AffiliatesfalseGroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501c3Yes (X)Organization501c3Ind
Website AddressWWW.KENT.EDU/ADVANCEMENT/KSUFOUNDATIONWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1965FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateOHLegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionTHE KENT STATE UNIVERSITY FOUNDATION PROVIDES LEADERSHIP, PRIVATE SECTOR FUNDING AND STEWARDSHIP OF GIFTS TO SUPPORT KENT STATE UNIVERSITY. MEET ITS NEEDS AND ACHIEVE ITS PRIORITES.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body38VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent32VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee0TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers39TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$0TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$0NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$15,618,881PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$16,881,344CYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$0CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$13,477,994PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$3,269,673CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$13,235PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$1,279,930CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$29,110,110PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$21,430,947CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$14,694,861PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$15,023,938CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$0CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$382,448CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$1,758,966PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$3,558,708CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$16,453,827PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$18,582,646CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$12,656,283PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$2,848,301CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$246,962,161TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$301,481,915TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$24,914,411TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$26,783,439TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$222,047,750NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$274,698,476NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
MissionTHE KENT STATE UNIVERSITY FOUNDATION PROVIDES LEADERSHIP, PRIVATE SECTOR FUNDING AND STEWARDSHIP OF GIFTS TO SUPPORT KENT STATE UNIVERSITY. MEET ITS NEEDS AND ACHIEVE ITS PRIORITES.MissionDesc
Significant New Program SrvcfalseSignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant ChangefalseSignificantChangeInd
Expense$15,023,938ExpenseAmt
Grant$15,023,938GrantAmt
DescTHE KENT STATE UNIVERSITY FOUNDATION PROVIDED GRANTS TO KENT STATE UNIVERSITY TO FURTHER THE UNIVERSITYS ACADEMIC, RESEARCH, AND PUBLIC SERVICE PROGRAMS.Desc
Total Program Service Expenses$15,023,938TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt
Described In Section501c3Yes (true)DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B RequiredYes (true)ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign ActyfalsePoliticalCampaignActyInd
Lobbying ActivitiesfalseLobbyingActivitiesInd
Subject To Proxy TaxfalseSubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised FundfalseDonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation EasementsfalseConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of ArtfalseCollectionsOfArtInd
Credit CounselingfalseCreditCounselingInd
Donor Rstr Or Quasi EndowmentsYes (true)DonorRstrOrQuasiEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (true)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other SecYes (true)ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related InvstfalseReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other AssetsfalseReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (true)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnotefalseIncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (true)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl StmtYes (true)ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School OperatingfalseSchoolOperatingInd
Foreign OfficefalseForeignOfficeInd
Foreign ActivitiesfalseForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To OrgfalseMoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To IndividualsfalseMoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional FundraisingfalseProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising ActivitiesfalseFundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming ActivitiesfalseGamingActivitiesInd
Operate HospitalfalseOperateHospitalInd
Grants To OrganizationsYes (true)GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To IndividualsfalseGrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredfalseScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt BondsfalseTaxExemptBondsInd
Engaged In Excess Benefit TransfalseEngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd
PY Excess Benefit TransfalsePYExcessBenefitTransInd
Loan OutstandingfalseLoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related PersonfalseGrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org MemfalseBusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam MemfalseBusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With35 Ctrl EntfalseBusinessRlnWith35CtrlEntInd
Deductible Non Cash ContriYes (true)DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art ContributionYes (true)DeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate OperationsfalseTerminateOperationsInd
Partial LiquidationfalsePartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded EntityfalseDisregardedEntityInd
Related EntityfalseRelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl EntfalseRelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd OrgfalseTrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd
Activities Conducted PrtshpfalseActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (true)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document99IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (true)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee0EmployeeCnt
Unrelated Bus Incm Over LimitYes (true)UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Form990 T FiledYes (true)Form990TFiledInd
Foreign Financial AccountfalseForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter TransfalseProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party NotificationfalseTaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible ContributionsfalseNondeductibleContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo ContributionsYes (true)QuidProQuoContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo Contri DisclYes (true)QuidProQuoContriDisclInd
Form8282 Property Disposed OfYes (true)Form8282PropertyDisposedOfInd
Form8282 Filed1Form8282FiledCnt
Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft CntrctfalseRcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft CntrctfalsePayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Form1098 C FiledYes (true)Form1098CFiledInd
Indoor Tanning ServicesfalseIndoorTanningServicesInd
Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht PymtfalseSubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd
Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst IncfalseSubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members38GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member32IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business RlnYes (true)FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt DutiesfalseDelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org DocumentsfalseChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or MisusefalseMaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or StockholdersfalseMembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersfalseElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To ApprovafalseDecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (true)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (true)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing AddressfalseOfficerMailingAddressInd
Local ChaptersfalseLocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (true)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (true)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (true)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (true)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyfalseWhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyfalseDocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOfalseCompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherfalseCompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint VenturefalseInvestmentInJointVentureInd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldOHStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldSCStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonJESSICA VARGOPersonNm
Phone3306722222PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1PO BOX 5190AddressLine1Txt
CityKentCityNm
State AbbreviationOHStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP44242ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
No Listed Persons CompensatedYes (X)NoListedPersonsCompensatedInd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (39 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtAverage Hours Per Week Rltd OrgAverageHoursPerWeekRltdOrgRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtOfficerOfficerInd
SCOTT MCKINNEY
DIRECTOR1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MARGARET MAY
DIRECTOR1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
STUART NEIDUS
DIRECTOR1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
STEPHEN MILKOVICH
DIRECTOR1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
DALE LEPPO
DIRECTOR1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
JUDIE FALL LASSER
DIRECTOR1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
STEFFANY MATTICOLA LARKINS
DIRECTOR1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MARK LUCAS
DIRECTOR1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MELODY TANKERSLEY
DIRECTOR1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
DIANA STRONGOSKY
DIRECTOR1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
DANIEL WOLFE
DIRECTOR1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MICHELLE THOMAS
DIRECTOR1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
ROB RISMAN
DIRECTOR1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MARK POLATAJKO
DIRECTOR1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
BARB SMITH
DIRECTOR1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
ROBERT ROSS
DIRECTOR1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
RICHARD KRUMEL
DIRECTOR1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
CHRISTINA BLOEBAUM
DIRECTOR1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
GARY BRAHLER
DIRECTOR1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
HEATHER CERBONE
DIRECTOR1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
JAMES BAILEY
DIRECTOR1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
VIRGINIA ADDICOTT
DIRECTOR1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
RAJ AGGARWAL
DIRECTOR1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
LAWRENCE ARMSTRONG
DIRECTOR1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
EDMUND COOKE
DIRECTOR1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
CATHY HEMMING
DIRECTOR1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
CANDICE HUGHES
DIRECTOR1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
GREG INNA
DIRECTOR1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
RICHARD FRENCHIE
DIRECTOR1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
TODD DIACON
DIRECTOR1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
TIMOTHY EIPPERT
DIRECTOR1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
BARRY FETTERMAN
DIRECTOR1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
CATHERINE HACKNEY
BOARD SECRETARY2.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0Yes (X)
GREGORY LONG
TREASURER2.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0Yes (X)
VALOREE VARGO
EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR2.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0Yes (X)
NORA JACOBS
IMMEDIATE PAST CHAIR2.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0Yes (X)
JESSICA VARGO
ASSISTANT TREASURER2.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0Yes (X)
JOHN ELLIOT
BOARD CHAIR2.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0Yes (X)
PETER HOLWAY
BOARD CHAIR ELECT2.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$0TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$0TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K0IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees ListedfalseFormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KfalseTotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other SrcsfalseCompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp

Contractor Name ContractorName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonPWC CAPITAL HOLDINGS LP AGILITYPersonNm
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
ServicesOUTSOURCED CIOServicesDesc
Compensation$850,468CompensationAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K1CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
All Other Contributions$16,881,344AllOtherContributionsAmt
Noncash Contributions$2,339,394NoncashContributionsAmt
Total Contributions$16,881,344TotalContributionsAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$1,332,572TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$1,332,572RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt

Gross Rents GrossRentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$1,220,847RealAmt

Less Rental Expenses LessRentalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$1,863,703RealAmt

Rental Income Or Loss RentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real-$642,856RealAmt

Net Rental Income Or Loss NetRentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column-$642,856TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income-$642,856RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$55,392,706SecuritiesAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$53,455,605SecuritiesAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$1,937,101SecuritiesAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$1,937,101TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$1,937,101RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt

Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescLEASE RESTRUCTURE GAINDesc
Business900099BusinessCd
Total Revenue Column$1,922,786TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$1,922,786RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total$1,922,786OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$21,430,947TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$4,549,603RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$0ExclusionAmt

Grants To Domestic Orgs GrantsToDomesticOrgsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$15,023,938TotalAmt
Program Services$15,023,938ProgramServicesAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$43,287TotalAmt
Management And General$43,287ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$41,023TotalAmt
Management And General$41,023ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Srvc Invst Mgmnt Fees FeesForSrvcInvstMgmntFeesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,045,280TotalAmt
Management And General$2,045,280ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$879,112TotalAmt
Management And General$879,112ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,882TotalAmt
Management And General$3,882ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$123TotalAmt
Management And General$123ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$7,258TotalAmt
Management And General$7,258ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$213,124TotalAmt
Management And General$36,017ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$177,107FundraisingAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$247,101TotalAmt
Management And General$41,760ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$205,341FundraisingAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$13,291TotalAmt
Management And General$13,291ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmtManagement And GeneralManagementAndGeneralAmt
BANK FEES$56,434$56,434
OTHER PROF FEES$200$200
PROPERTY TAXES$10$10
ANNUAL REPORT$228$228

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$8,355TotalAmt
Management And General$8,355ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$18,582,646TotalAmt
Program Services$15,023,938ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$3,176,260ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$382,448FundraisingAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,672,203BOYAmt
EOY$6,443,881EOYAmt

Pledges And Grants Receivable PledgesAndGrantsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$16,924,460BOYAmt
EOY$14,873,952EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EOY$165,404EOYAmt

Oth Notes Loans Receivable Net OthNotesLoansReceivableNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$11,061,000BOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EOY$219,323EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$18,166,676LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$944,064LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$11,212,347BOYAmt
EOY$17,222,612EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$20,703,316BOYAmt
EOY$22,374,173EOYAmt

Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$179,068,368BOYAmt
EOY$240,182,570EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$5,320,467BOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$246,962,161BOYAmt
EOY$301,481,915EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$559,901BOYAmt
EOY$323,087EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$24,354,510BOYAmt
EOY$26,460,352EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$24,914,411BOYAmt
EOY$26,783,439EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Organization Follows FASB117Yes (X)OrganizationFollowsFASB117Ind

No Donor Restriction Net Assets NoDonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$18,630,737BOYAmt
EOY$19,446,731EOYAmt

Donor Restriction Net Assets DonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$203,417,013BOYAmt
EOY$255,251,745EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$222,047,750BOYAmt
EOY$274,698,476EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$246,962,161BOYAmt
EOY$301,481,915EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part XIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$2,848,301ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst$59,715,800NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets-$9,913,375OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or ReviewfalseAccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (true)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Separate Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (true)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit RequiredfalseFederalGrantAuditRequiredInd

Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
College OrganizationYes (X)CollegeOrganizationInd

Gifts Grants Contri Rcvd170 GiftsGrantsContriRcvd170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$24,947,532CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$25,616,604CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$17,377,758CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$15,618,881CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$16,881,344CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$100,442,119TotalAmt

Total Calendar Year170 TotalCalendarYear170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$24,947,532CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$25,616,604CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$17,377,758CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$15,618,881CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$16,881,344CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$100,442,119TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Substantial Contributors Tot$10,232,119SubstantialContributorsTotAmt
Public Support Total170$90,210,000PublicSupportTotal170Amt

Gross Investment Income170 GrossInvestmentIncome170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$3,027,703CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$7,688,145CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$4,330,281CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$267,181CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$1,332,572CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$16,645,882TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Support$117,088,001TotalSupportAmt
Public Support CY1700.77040PublicSupportCY170Pct
Public Support PY1700.80010PublicSupportPY170Pct
Thirty Thr Pct Suprt Tests CY170Yes (X)ThirtyThrPctSuprtTestsCY170Ind

Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB

Contributor Information ContributorInformationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
ContributorRESTRICTEDContributorNum

Contributor Business Name ContributorBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1RESTRICTEDBusinessNameLine1

Contributor US Address ContributorUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1RESTRICTEDAddressLine1
Address Line2RESTRICTEDAddressLine2
CityRESTRICTEDCity
StateRESTRICTEDState
ZIP CodeRESTRICTEDZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total ContributionsRESTRICTEDTotalContributionsAmt

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

CY Endwmt Fund CYEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$138,113,132BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$8,414,836ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$47,409,291InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$6,154,566GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
End Year Balance$187,782,693EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus1 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus1YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$136,600,303BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$7,771,699ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses-$177,946InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$6,080,924GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
End Year Balance$138,113,132EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus2 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus2YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$138,117,510BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$6,334,070ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$2,838,502InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$5,887,484GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
End Year Balance$141,402,598EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus3 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus3YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$129,069,236BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$5,295,046ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$9,709,616InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$5,956,388GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
End Year Balance$138,117,510EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus4 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus4YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$110,746,799BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$9,033,662ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$14,637,489InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$5,348,714GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
End Year Balance$129,069,236EndYearBalanceAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Board Designated Balance EOY0.02000BoardDesignatedBalanceEOYPct
Prmnnt Endowment Balance EOY0.35000PrmnntEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Term Endowment Balance EOY0.64000TermEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Endowments Held Unrelated OrgYes (true)EndowmentsHeldUnrelatedOrgInd
Endowments Held Related OrgfalseEndowmentsHeldRelatedOrgInd

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Investment Cost Or Other Basis$549,121InvestmentCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Other Cost Or Other Basis$1,886,823OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$2,435,944BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$15,730,732OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$944,064DepreciationAmt
Book Value$14,786,668BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$17,222,612TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Other Securities OtherSecuritiesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescBook ValueBookValueAmtMethod ValuationMethodValuationCd
PRIVATE EQUITY$29,319,432F
HEDGE FUNDS$2,498,977F
REAL ASSETS$8,576,344F
COMINGLED ASSET FUNDS$199,787,817F
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Securities$240,182,570TotalBookValueSecuritiesAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (4 entries)

DescDescAmtAmt
FUNDS HELD AS AGENT$14,156,138
CPAE BULDING LEASE$8,362,968
ACTUARIAL LIABILITES$3,348,728
PPP LOAN$592,518
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$26,460,352TotalLiabilityAmt
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$80,867,255TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Net Unrealized Gains Invst$59,715,800NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt
Other Revenue-$97,915OtherRevenueAmt
Revenue Not Reported$59,617,885RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$21,249,370RevenueSubtotalAmt
Investment Expenses Not Incld$2,045,280InvestmentExpensesNotIncldAmt
Other Revenues Not Included-$1,863,703OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$181,577RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$21,430,947TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$18,401,069TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Expenses Subtotal$18,401,069ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Investment Expenses Not Incld2$2,045,280InvestmentExpensesNotIncld2Amt
Other Expenses Not Included-$1,863,703OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$181,577ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$18,582,646TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (3 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Other revenues not included on Form 990 (Part XI, line 2d)CHANGE IN ACTUARIAL LIABILITES
Other revenues included on Form 990 (Part XI, line 4b)HOTEL RENTAL EXPENSES
Other expenses included on Form 990 (Part XII, line 4b)HOTEL RENTAL EXPENSES

Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant Records MaintainedYes (true)GrantRecordsMaintainedInd

Recipient Table RecipientTable

Recipient Business Name RecipientBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1KENT STATE UNIVERSITYBusinessNameLine1Txt

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1PO BOX 5190AddressLine1Txt
CityKentCityNm
State AbbreviationOHStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP44242ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Recipient EIN316402079RecipientEIN
IRC Section115aIRCSectionDesc
Cash Grant$15,023,938CashGrantAmt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceMonitoring procedures (Part I, line 2)FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationTHE KENT STATE UNIVERSITY FOUNDATION REFERS TO DONORS MOU TO ENSURE MONIES ARE USED PROPERLY.ExplanationTxt

Schedule M IRS990ScheduleM

Works Of Art WorksOfArtGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Non Cash CheckboxYes (X)NonCashCheckboxInd
Contribution8ContributionCnt
Noncash Contributions Rpt F990$0NoncashContributionsRptF990Amt

Cars And Other Vehicles CarsAndOtherVehiclesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Non Cash CheckboxYes (X)NonCashCheckboxInd
Contribution182ContributionCnt
Noncash Contributions Rpt F990$156,763NoncashContributionsRptF990Amt
Method Of Determining RevenuesAUCTIONMethodOfDeterminingRevenuesTxt

Securities Publicly Traded SecuritiesPubliclyTradedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Non Cash CheckboxYes (X)NonCashCheckboxInd
Contribution61ContributionCnt
Noncash Contributions Rpt F990$2,161,159NoncashContributionsRptF990Amt

Securities Closely Held Stock SecuritiesCloselyHeldStockGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Non Cash CheckboxYes (X)NonCashCheckboxInd
Contribution2ContributionCnt
Noncash Contributions Rpt F990$21,473NoncashContributionsRptF990Amt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form8283 Received1Form8283ReceivedCnt
Any Property That Must Be HeldfalseAnyPropertyThatMustBeHeldInd
Review Process Unusual NC GiftsYes (true)ReviewProcessUnusualNCGiftsInd
Third Parties UsedYes (true)ThirdPartiesUsedInd

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (5 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Officer directors etc family relationship Part VI line 2BOARD MEMBER IS AN OFFICER OF AN INSURANCE COMPANY THAT PROVIDES SERVICES TO KENT STATE UNIVERSTIY.
Form 990 governing body review Part VI line 11A COMPLETE COPY OF FORM 990 WAS SENT ELECTRONICALLY TO ALL MEMBERS OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS FOR REVIEW BEFORE IT WAS FILED WITH THE IRS.
Conflict of interest policy compliance Part VI line 12cANNUALLY, BOARD MEMBERS OF THE KENT STATE UNIVERSITY FOUNDATION MUST REVIEW THE CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY, DISCLOSE ANY CONFLICTS AND ACKNOWLEDGE THIS BY SIGNING A LETTER STATING ADHERENCE TO THE POLICY. MEMBERS WHO HAVE A CONFLICT OF INTERST WITH A PROPOSED TRANSACTION MUST EXCUSE THEMSELVES FROM DISCUSSION OF, AND VOTING ON, THE TRANSACTION.
Governing documents etc available to public Part VI line 19THE KENT STATE UNIVERSITY FOUNDATION MAKES ITS GOVERNING DOCUMENTS, CONFLICT OF INTERST POLICY, AND FINANCIAL STATEMENTS AVAILABLE TO THE PUBLIC UPON REQUEST. ALL REQUESTS NEED TO BE IN WRITING AND DELIVERED BY HAND, US MAIL, OR EMAIL.
Explanation of other changes in net assets or fund balances Part XI line 91. CHANGE IN ACTUARIAL LIABILITY - $97,915. 2. LOSS ON ACQUSITION OF DOWNTOWN HOTEL, LLC - $9,815,460

Comments

Anonymous: no account or email. Up to 2,000 characters, at most one link. Comments are checked automatically; some wait for review.