GRANITE EDVANCE CORPORATION: Form 990, tax year 2020

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
GRANITE EDVANCE CORPORATION (EIN 02-0368776)
Tax period
2020-10-01 to 2021-09-30
Filed
2022-02-14
IRS object ID
202230459349301803
Schema version
2020v4.2
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2022-02-14T11:52:25-06:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2021-09-30TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN010494526PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Baker Newman & Noyes LLCBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1PO Box 507AddressLine1Txt
CityPortlandCityNm
State AbbreviationMEStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP04112ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2020-10-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN020368776EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1New Hampshire Higher EducationBusinessNameLine1Txt
Business Name Line2Loan CorporationBusinessNameLine2Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlNHHIBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone6032265829PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line14 Barrell Court PO Box 2111AddressLine1Txt
CityConcordCityNm
State AbbreviationNHStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP03302ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonScott RogersPersonNm
Person TitleChief Financial OfficerPersonTitleTxt
Phone6032265829PhoneNum
Signature2022-02-10SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (1)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Signing Officer SigningOfficerGrp

Person Full Name PersonFullName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Person FirstScottPersonFirstNm
Person LastRogersPersonLastNm
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
SSN999009999SSN

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonNicolas E PortoPreparerPersonNm
PTINP01310283PTIN
Phone2078792100PhoneNum
Preparation2022-02-10PreparationDt

Additional Filer Information AdditionalFilerInformation

Trusted Customer TrustedCustomerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Trusted Customer2TrustedCustomerCd
Authentication Assurance LevelAAL1AuthenticationAssuranceLevelCd
Identity Assurance LevelIAL1IdentityAssuranceLevelCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2020TaxYr
Build TS2022-09-23 18:48:47ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerChristiana ThorntonPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line14 Barrell Court PO Box 2111AddressLine1Txt
CityConcordCityNm
State AbbreviationNHStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP03302ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$148,440,860GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For Affiliates0GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501c3Yes (X)Organization501c3Ind
Website Addresswww.nhhelco.orgWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1983FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateNHLegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionFinancial assistance to eligible borrowersActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body12VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent11VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee220TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers12TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$0TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$0NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$32,150PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$56,000CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$54,188,769PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$69,154,478CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$593,340PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$5,900,484CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$0PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$0CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$54,814,259PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$75,110,962CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$14,000PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$40,500CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$0PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$7,456,835PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$16,275,018CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$0CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$48,605,719PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$45,781,122CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$56,076,554PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$62,096,640CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses-$1,262,295PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$13,014,322CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$867,907,952TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$910,620,336TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$599,081,263TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$621,618,405TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$268,826,689NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$289,001,931NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
MissionFinancial assistance to eligible borrowers and administrator/servicer of student loansMissionDesc
Significant New Program Srvc0SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant Change0SignificantChangeInd
Expense$47,142,333ExpenseAmt
Revenue$56,706,672RevenueAmt
DescThe Corporation was organized for the charitable and educational purpose of providing low-cost financial assistance primarily to eligible students attending college in New Hampshire or residents attending college out of state.Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty2 ProgSrvcAccomActy2Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Expense$9,198,504ExpenseAmt
Revenue$11,064,716RevenueAmt
DescService education loan programsDesc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty3 ProgSrvcAccomActy3Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Expense$1,149,813ExpenseAmt
Grant$40,500GrantAmt
Revenue$1,383,090RevenueAmt
DescAdminister the guaranteed student loan program in the state of NH in cooperation with NH lenders and secondary markets.Desc
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Expenses$57,490,650TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt
Described In Section501c3Yes (1)DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B RequiredYes (1)ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign Acty0PoliticalCampaignActyInd
Lobbying ActivitiesYes (1)LobbyingActivitiesInd
Subject To Proxy Tax0SubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised Fund0DonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation Easements0ConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of Art0CollectionsOfArtInd
Credit Counseling0CreditCounselingInd
Donor Rstr Or Quasi Endowments0DonorRstrOrQuasiEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (1)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other Sec0ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related Invst0ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other Assets0ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (1)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (1)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl Stmt0IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School Operating0SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign Office0ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign Activities0ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To Org0MoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To Individuals0MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional Fundraising0ProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising Activities0FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming Activities0GamingActivitiesInd
Operate Hospital0OperateHospitalInd
Grants To Organizations0GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To IndividualsYes (1)GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (1)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt Bonds0TaxExemptBondsInd
Engaged In Excess Benefit Trans0EngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd
PY Excess Benefit Trans0PYExcessBenefitTransInd
Loan Outstanding0LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related Person0GrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org Mem0BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam Mem0BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With35 Ctrl Ent0BusinessRlnWith35CtrlEntInd
Deductible Non Cash Contri0DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art Contribution0DeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate Operations0TerminateOperationsInd
Partial Liquidation0PartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded Entity0DisregardedEntityInd
Related EntityYes (1)RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl EntYes (1)RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Transaction With Control EntYes (1)TransactionWithControlEntInd
Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd Org0TrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd
Activities Conducted Prtshp0ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (1)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document48IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (1)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee220EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (1)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over Limit0UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Foreign Financial Account0ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans0ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party Notification0TaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible Contributions0NondeductibleContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo Contributions0QuidProQuoContributionsInd
Form8282 Property Disposed Of0Form8282PropertyDisposedOfInd
Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0RcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0PayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Indoor Tanning Services0IndoorTanningServicesInd
Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht Pymt0SubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd
Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst Inc0SubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members12GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member11IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business RlnYes (1)FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt DutiesYes (1)DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org Documents0ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or Misuse0MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or Stockholders0MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board Members0ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To Approva0DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (1)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (1)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing Address0OfficerMailingAddressInd
Local Chapters0LocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (1)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (1)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (1)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (1)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (1)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (1)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (1)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (1)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint Venture0InvestmentInJointVentureInd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldNHStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldCAStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Scott RogersBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Phone6032255867PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line14 Barrell CourtAddressLine1Txt
CityConcordCityNm
State AbbreviationNHStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP033022111ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part VIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIIInd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (24 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtAverage Hours Per Week Rltd OrgAverageHoursPerWeekRltdOrgRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtOfficerOfficerIndHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeIndFormer Ofcr Director TrusteeFormerOfcrDirectorTrusteeInd
Jamie Burnett
Trustee0.200.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Daniel Dubreuil
Trustee (end 9/21)0.200.20Yes (X)$0$0$0
Carol Houle
Trustee (start 9/21)0.200.20Yes (X)$0$0$0
Gordon Koff
Trustee0.200.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Chuck Lloyd
Trustee0.200.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Paul Provost
Trustee0.200.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Sandy Tracy
Trustee (start 9/21)0.200.20Yes (X)$0$0$0
Peter Burger
Chair (end 9/21)0.200.00Yes (X)$0$0$0Yes (X)
Susan Huard
Chair (start 9/21)0.200.20Yes (X)$0$0$0Yes (X)
Debby Miller
Vice Chair (start 9/21)0.200.00Yes (X)$0$0$0Yes (X)
Rick Elwell
Treasurer0.200.20Yes (X)$0$0$0Yes (X)
Susan Hollinger
Secretary0.200.00Yes (X)$0$0$0Yes (X)
Christiana Thornton
President & CEO36.004.00Yes (X)$320,939$85,938$31,339Yes (X)
John Flanders
VP & COO40.000.00$130,594$46,725$27,648Yes (X)
Linda Crump
CFO (end 2/21)36.004.00$144,539$18,838$0Yes (X)
Scott Rogers
CFO (start 5/21)40.000.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
Ann Marie Thomas
Chief Risk Officer (start 5/21)40.000.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
Erik Sobel
VP Information Services40.000.00$118,257$42,300$11,771Yes (X)
Daniel Coughlan
VP Finance40.000.00$93,893$33,034$24,190Yes (X)
Robert Woodburn
AVP, Business Systems40.000.00$91,544$37,411$22,853Yes (X)
Barton Nichelson
Database Administrator40.000.00$85,550$30,584$23,385Yes (X)
Carlton Lewis
Software Development Architect40.000.00$96,552$34,111$7,819Yes (X)
Tori Berube
Former VP CCP & Comm. Engagement0.000.00$101,974$33,509$11,542Yes (X)
Dean Grondin
Former VP & CFO0.000.00$80,644$59,503$0Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$1,264,486TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$421,953TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$160,547TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K5IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees ListedYes (1)FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (1)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other Srcs0CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
Nelnet Servicing LLC
PO Box 82561LincolnNE68501Loan Servicing$7,382,546
Credible Labs Inc
101 Green Street 2nd FloorSan FranciscoCA94111Loan Marketing$2,088,929
Campus Door Holdings Inc
1415 Ritner HighwayCarlislePA17013Loan Processing$1,375,682
Baker Newman Noyes
PO Box 507PortlandME04112Audit & Tax Services$527,512
Hinkley Allen Snyder LLP
650 Elm Street 500ManchesterNH03101Legal Services$303,675
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K9CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Government Grants$50,000GovernmentGrantsAmt
All Other Contributions$6,000AllOtherContributionsAmt
Total Contributions$56,000TotalContributionsAmt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (5 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Interest student loans522291$38,484,245$38,484,245
DL Service Fee Revenue522291$29,261,882$29,261,882
Contracted Services522291$1,029,700$1,029,700
Federal Interest Benefit522291$292,763$292,763
Late charges & other522291$85,888$85,888
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$69,154,478TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$1,534,351TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$1,534,351ExclusionAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$77,696,031SecuritiesAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$73,329,898SecuritiesAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$4,366,133SecuritiesAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$4,366,133TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$4,366,133ExclusionAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$75,110,962TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$69,154,478RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$5,900,484ExclusionAmt

Grants To Domestic Individuals GrantsToDomesticIndividualsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$40,500TotalAmt
Program Services$40,500ProgramServicesAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$641,105TotalAmt
Program Services$384,663ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$256,442ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$11,697,041TotalAmt
Program Services$11,103,067ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$593,974ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$475,926TotalAmt
Program Services$451,759ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$24,167ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,600,131TotalAmt
Program Services$2,468,097ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$132,034ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$860,815TotalAmt
Program Services$817,103ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$43,712ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,687,685TotalAmt
Management And General$1,687,685ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$300,208TotalAmt
Management And General$300,208ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Lobbying FeesForServicesLobbyingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$39,800TotalAmt
Program Services$39,800ProgramServicesAmt

Fees For Srvc Invst Mgmnt Fees FeesForSrvcInvstMgmntFeesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$308,989TotalAmt
Management And General$308,989ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$5,332,485TotalAmt
Program Services$5,016,654ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$315,831ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$353,174TotalAmt
Program Services$335,240ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$17,934ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,825,388TotalAmt
Program Services$1,732,695ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$92,693ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$12,086,526TotalAmt
Program Services$11,472,774ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$613,752ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$676,148TotalAmt
Program Services$641,813ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$34,335ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$25,162TotalAmt
Program Services$23,884ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$1,278ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$41,191TotalAmt
Program Services$40,769ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$422ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$15,905,504TotalAmt
Program Services$15,905,504ProgramServicesAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,043,135TotalAmt
Program Services$990,165ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$52,970ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$174,572TotalAmt
Program Services$165,707ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$8,865ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmtProgram ServicesProgramServicesAmtManagement And GeneralManagementAndGeneralAmt
Consolidation Loan Fee$1,916,603$1,916,603
Collections Expenses$1,848,277$1,727,578$120,699
Provision for Loan Loss$1,762,199$1,762,199
Bond Admin Expenses$454,076$454,076

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$62,096,640TotalAmt
Program Services$57,490,650ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$4,605,990ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$27,515,393BOYAmt
EOY$32,101,712EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,178,831BOYAmt
EOY$2,095,899EOYAmt

Oth Notes Loans Receivable Net OthNotesLoansReceivableNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$741,845,325BOYAmt
EOY$741,758,111EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$116,828BOYAmt
EOY$92,914EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$16,576,414LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$13,563,860LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,360,162BOYAmt
EOY$3,012,554EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$84,478,688BOYAmt
EOY$123,505,650EOYAmt

Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$8,412,725BOYAmt
EOY$8,053,496EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$867,907,952BOYAmt
EOY$910,620,336EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$4,617,680BOYAmt
EOY$10,174,533EOYAmt

Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$593,067,350BOYAmt
EOY$610,217,049EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,396,233BOYAmt
EOY$1,226,823EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$599,081,263BOYAmt
EOY$621,618,405EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Organization Follows FASB117Yes (X)OrganizationFollowsFASB117Ind

No Donor Restriction Net Assets NoDonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$268,826,689BOYAmt
EOY$289,001,931EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$268,826,689BOYAmt
EOY$289,001,931EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$867,907,952BOYAmt
EOY$910,620,336EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part XIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$13,014,322ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst$10,554,922NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets-$3,394,002OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or Review0AccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (1)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Consolidated Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)ConsolidatedBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (1)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit RequiredYes (1)FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd
Federal Grant Audit PerformedYes (1)FederalGrantAuditPerformedInd

Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Publicly Supported Org509a2Yes (X)PubliclySupportedOrg509a2Ind

Gifts Grants Contris Rcvd509 GiftsGrantsContrisRcvd509Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$32,150CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$56,000CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$88,150TotalAmt

Gross Receipts Admissions GrossReceiptsAdmissionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$39,520,425CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$45,713,273CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$53,630,528CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$54,188,769CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$69,154,478CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$262,207,473TotalAmt

Total509 Total509Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$39,520,425CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$45,713,273CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$53,630,528CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$54,220,919CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$69,210,478CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$262,295,623TotalAmt

Amounts Rcvd Dsqlfy Person AmountsRcvdDsqlfyPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Substantial Contributors Amt SubstantialContributorsAmtGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Subst And Dsqlfy Prsns Tot SubstAndDsqlfyPrsnsTotGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Public Support Total509$262,295,623PublicSupportTotal509Amt

Gross Investment Income509 GrossInvestmentIncome509Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$1,170,315CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$1,753,441CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$1,956,644CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$1,349,668CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$1,534,351CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$7,764,419TotalAmt

Investment Income And UBTI InvestmentIncomeAndUBTIGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$1,170,315CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$1,753,441CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$1,956,644CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$1,349,668CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$1,534,351CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$7,764,419TotalAmt

Total Support Calendar Year TotalSupportCalendarYearGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$40,690,740CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$47,466,714CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$55,587,172CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$55,570,587CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$70,744,829CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$270,060,042TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Public Support CY5090.97120PublicSupportCY509Pct
Public Support PY5090.96970PublicSupportPY509Pct
Investment Income CY0.02880InvestmentIncomeCYPct
Investment Income PY0.03030InvestmentIncomePYPct
Thirty Thr Pct Suprt Tests CY509Yes (X)ThirtyThrPctSuprtTestsCY509Ind

Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB

Contributor Information ContributorInformationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
ContributorRESTRICTEDContributorNum

Contributor Business Name ContributorBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1RESTRICTEDBusinessNameLine1

Contributor US Address ContributorUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1RESTRICTEDAddressLine1
Address Line2RESTRICTEDAddressLine2
CityRESTRICTEDCity
StateRESTRICTEDState
ZIP CodeRESTRICTEDZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total ContributionsRESTRICTEDTotalContributionsAmt

Schedule C IRS990ScheduleC

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Volunteers0VolunteersInd
Paid Staff Or Management0PaidStaffOrManagementInd
Media Advertisements0MediaAdvertisementsInd
Mailings Members0MailingsMembersInd
Publications Or Broadcast0PublicationsOrBroadcastInd
Grants Other OrganizationsYes (1)GrantsOtherOrganizationsInd
Grants Other Organizations$39,800GrantsOtherOrganizationsAmt
Direct Contact Legislators0DirectContactLegislatorsInd
Rallies Demonstrations0RalliesDemonstrationsInd
Other Activities0OtherActivitiesInd
Total Lobbying Expenditures$39,800TotalLobbyingExpendituresAmt
Not Described Section501c30NotDescribedSection501c3Ind

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePart II-B, Line 1:FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationA portion of dues paid to the Education Finance Council were available for lobbying. For the filing period, total dues paid were $45,000, of which $2,700 was available for lobbying. Additionally, the Organization paid $30,000 to Thompson & Coburn, a Washington, DC law firm and $7,100 to Gallagher & Gartrell, a Concord, NH law firm, in part for services related to lobbying activities and information on pending legislation that may impact the Organization.ExplanationTxt

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$687,587OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$687,587BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$9,341,461OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$8,247,553DepreciationAmt
Book Value$1,093,908BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$6,547,366OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$5,316,307DepreciationAmt
Book Value$1,231,059BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$3,012,554TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (2 entries)

DescDescAmtAmt
Accrued interest payable$281,164
Fees payable to U.S. government$945,659
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$1,226,823TotalLiabilityAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$51,706,311TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Net Unrealized Gains Invst$10,554,922NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt
Revenue Not Reported$10,554,922RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$41,151,389RevenueSubtotalAmt
Investment Expenses Not Incld$308,989InvestmentExpensesNotIncldAmt
Other Revenues Not Included$33,650,584OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$33,959,573RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$75,110,962TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$39,666,168TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Other Expenses Included$35,000OtherExpensesIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Reported$35,000ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$39,631,168ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Investment Expenses Not Incld2$308,989InvestmentExpensesNotIncld2Amt
Other Expenses Not Included$22,156,483OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$22,465,472ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$62,096,640TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (4 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Part X, Line 2:The Company has received a determination letter from the Internal Revenue Service stating that it qualifies for tax-exempt status under Section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code. Accordingly, no provision for income taxes has been included in the financial statements. Tax-exempt organizations could be required to record an obligation for income taxes as the result of a tax position they have historically taken on various tax exposure items including unrelated business income or tax status. Under guidance issued by the Financial Accounting Standards Board (FASB), assets and liabilities are established for uncertain tax positions taken or positions expected to be taken in income tax returns when such positions are judged to not meet the "more-likely-than-not" threshold, based upon the technical merits of the position. Estimated interest and penalties, if applicable, related to uncertain tax positions are included as a component of income tax expense. Under guidance issued by the FASB, assets and liabilities are established for uncertain tax positions taken or positions expected to be taken in income tax returns when such positions are judged to not meet the "more-likely-than-not" threshold, based upon the technical merits of the position. Estimated interest and penalties, if applicable, related to uncertain tax positions are included as a component of income tax expense. The Company has evaluated the positions taken on its filed tax returns. The Company has concluded no uncertain income tax positions exist at September 30, 2021 or 2020.
Part XI, Line 4b - Other Adjustments:Special Interest Allowance - U.S. Department of Education 3,359,002. Revenue from Discontinued Operations 30,291,582.
Part XII, Line 2d - Other Adjustments:Transfer to NHHEAF for Scholarships 35,000.
Part XII, Line 4b - Other Adjustments:Expenses from Discontinued Operations 22,156,483.

Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant Records MaintainedYes (1)GrantRecordsMaintainedInd

Grants Other Asst To Indiv In US GrantsOtherAsstToIndivInUSGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant TypeScholarshipsGrantTypeTxt
Recipient62RecipientCnt
Cash Grant$40,500CashGrantAmt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePart I, Line 2:FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationIn order to ensure that the scholarship recipient is using the funds for direct educational expenses at the Title IV institutions, the following procedures are in place: 1) verification of attendance at a Title IV institution 2) checks are not released until we have received confirmation of enrollment for the academic period for which the scholarship was granted 3) once the enrollment status is confirmed, a check is requested made payable to the postsecondary institution and the student.ExplanationTxt

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Compensation CommitteeYes (X)CompensationCommitteeInd
Form990 Of Other OrganizationsYes (X)Form990OfOtherOrganizationsInd
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance PaymentYes (1)SeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr Plan0SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp Arrngm0EquityBasedCompArrngmInd
Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng Org0CompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd On Rev Related Orgs0CompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng Org0CompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd Orgs0CompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd
Any Non Fixed Payments0AnyNonFixedPaymentsInd
Initial Contract Exception0InitialContractExceptionInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (8 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
Christiana Thornton
President & CEO$227,731$85,846$93,000$0$208$92$6,394$1,717$17,421$5,807$344,754$93,462$0$0
John Flanders
VP & COO$120,747$46,328$8,954$0$893$397$1,929$0$19,289$6,430$151,812$53,155$0$0
Erik Sobel
VP Information Services$109,811$42,088$7,968$0$478$212$1,948$0$7,367$2,456$127,572$44,756$0$0
Linda Crump
CFO (end 2/21)$0$0$0$0$144,539$18,838$0$0$0$0$144,539$18,838$0$0
Robert Woodburn
AVP, Business Systems$85,482$37,014$5,169$0$893$397$3,739$1,522$13,194$4,398$108,477$43,331$0$0
Daniel Coughlan
VP Finance$87,000$32,822$6,415$0$478$212$3,859$1,358$14,230$4,743$111,982$39,135$0$0
Tori Berube
Former VP CCP & Comm. Engagement$49,608$33,112$0$0$52,366$397$2,603$1,358$5,054$2,527$109,631$37,394$0$0
Dean Grondin
Former VP & CFO$0$0$0$0$80,644$59,503$0$0$0$0$80,644$59,503$0$0

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (3 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Part I, Line 3For the calendar year ending within the Organization's tax year covered by this return, the Organization's officers were compensated through a related organization, Granite State Management & Resources from 1/1/20 to 3/31/20; that organization used a compensation committee, Form 990 of other organizations, a compensation study, and board/compensation committee approval to establish the officers' compensation. From 4/1/20 to 12/31/20 the Organization's officers were compensated by New Hampshire Higher Education Loan Corporation, which also used a compensation committee, Form 990 of other organizations, a compensation study, and board/compensation committee approval to establish the officers' compensation.
Part I, Line 4aTori Berube, former Vice President of Community Engagement, and Dean Grondin, former Vice President & CFO, received severance payments of $37,727 and $80,644, respectively, from New Hampshire Higher Education Loan Corporation in 2020. These amounts were included in their 2020 W-2s and reported in Schedule J, Part II, Column B(iii). Mr. Grondin also received severance payments of $59,503 in 2020 from a related organization, Granite State Management & Resources. This amount was included in Mr. Grondin's 2020 W-2 and reported in Schedule J, Part II, Column B(iii). Additionally, Ms. Berube received a payment of $14,143 of accrued vacation time from New Hampshire Higher Education Loan Corporation earned over her tenure with the Organization. This amount was included in her W-2 and has been reported in Schedule J, Part II, Column B(iii).
Unrelated Organization CompensationLinda Crump, who served as Chief Financial Officer from October 2019 until February 2021, was a contracted employee through AMS Accounting & Professional Services of Candia, NH, an unrelated organization. Compensation in the amount of $144,539 was paid to AMS Accounting & Professional Services by New Hampshire Higher Education Loan Corporation for Ms. Crump's services in calendar year 2020. Additionally, Granite State Management & Resources, a related (though now dissolved) organization, paid $18,838 in calendar year 2020 to AMS Accounting & Professional Services for Ms. Crump's services to the organization.

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (8 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Form 990, Part VI, Section A, line 2Susan Huard, the board chair, and board member Chuck Lloyd had a business relationship during the year.
Form 990, Part VI, Section A, line 3Linda Crump, who served as Chief Financial Officer until February 2021, was a contract employee from October 2019 through February 2021 through AMS Accounting & Professional Services of Candia, NH, an unrelated organization. AMS Accounting & Professional Services paid Ms. Crump $163,377 as reported to her in her 2020 Form W-2, Box 5. This remuneration was paid to her entirely for her services to the Organization and its affiliates in her capacity as a contracted CFO. In accordance with IRS instructions, these fees have been reported as compensation paid by the Organization and its affiliates on Form 990, Part VII, Section A and Schedule J, Part II.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 11bA copy of the Form 990 was emailed to the board before filing. Board members had the opportunity to review the form and ask for questions and clarifications.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 12cAny conflicts of interest revealed in the annual survey or at any time throughout the year are addressed promptly and appropriately.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 15From 4/1/20 to 12/31/20 the Organization's officers were compensated by New Hampshire Higher Education Loan Corporation, which used a compensation committee, Form 990 of other organizations, a compensation study, and board/compensation committee approval to establish the officers' compensation. An on-going internal review of salaries is conducted by Human Resources Management of NHHELCO using salary surveys from local and national resources to compare salaries for positions in the organization to local market data. The compensation structure is adjusted based on the results of these reviews. An independent consultant completed the Affirmative Action Plan, which included a review of salary and hiring practices to ensure nondiscrimination. The Organization's internal review of market data for staff and executive salaries includes executive salaries for organizations of comparable size, structure, geographical location, operations and asset composition to NHHELCO. Based on this comparative market data, the Compensation Committee reviews the proposed CEO compensation package for reasonableness and fairness and makes a recommendation to the full board. In August 2020, an independent consultant was retained by the Board to provide an Executive Compensation Analysis Report. The purpose of the report was to ensure the Board met its fiduciary responsibilities as it relates to determining a reasonable market rate of compensation for the position of President and CEO. The report utilized multiple data sources to ensure a robust market assessment and to establish a rebuttable presumption of reasonableness for each member of the authorized body.
Form 990, Part VI, Section C, line 19The organization will make its governing documents, conflict of interest policy, and financial statements available to the public upon request.
Form 990, Part VII-A and Schedule J, Part II:In accordance with IRS instructions, compensation is to be reported for individuals listed on Form 990, Part VII, Section A based on the calendar year ending within the reportable fiscal year. Therefore, no compensation has been listed for Mr. Scott Rogers (who served as CFO beginning in May of 2021) and Ms. Ann Marie Thomas (who served as Chief Risk Officer beginning in May of 2021). Compensation information for Mr. Rogers and Ms. Thomas will be reported on the Organization's Form 990 for the fiscal year ending September 30, 2022.
Form 990, Part XI, line 9:Tranfer to NHHEAF for Scholarships -35,000. Special Interest Allowance - U.S. Department of Education -3,359,002.

Schedule R IRS990ScheduleR

Id Disregarded Entities IdDisregardedEntitiesGrp (3 entries)

Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityUSAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPUSAddress/ZIPCdEINEINPrimary ActivitiesPrimaryActivitiesTxtLegal Domicile StateLegalDomicileStateCdTotal IncomeTotalIncomeAmtEnd Of Year AssetsEndOfYearAssetsAmtBusiness Name Line1DirectControllingEntityName/BusinessNameLine1Txt
EDvestinU Private Education Loan Issue No 1 LLC
c/o NHHELCO 4 Barrell CourtConcordNH03301475156259Purchase private student loansNH$3,226,488$71,528,103New Hampshire Higher Education Loan Corporation
EdvestinU Private Education Loan Issue No 2 LLC
c/o NHHELCO 4 Barrell CourtConcordNH03301832287656Purchase private student loansDE$9,752,103$143,591,557New Hampshire Higher Education Loan Corporation
EDvestinU Private Education Loan Issue No 3 LLC
c/o NHHELCO 4 Barrell CourtConcordNH03301861733223Purchase private student loansDE$8,543,769$249,656,184New Hampshire Higher Education Loan Corporation

Id Related Tax Exempt Org IdRelatedTaxExemptOrgGrp (2 entries)

Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityUSAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPUSAddress/ZIPCdEINEINPrimary ActivitiesPrimaryActivitiesTxtLegal Domicile StateLegalDomicileStateCdExempt Code SectionExemptCodeSectionTxtPublic Charity StatusPublicCharityStatusTxtBusiness Name Line1DirectControllingEntityName/BusinessNameLine1TxtControlled OrganizationControlledOrganizationInd
New Hampshire Higher Education Assistance Foundation
4 Barrell CourtConcordNH033020877026007687Student loan guarantorNH501(c)(3)Line 10New Hampshire Higher Education Loan CorporationYes (1)
NHHEAF Network Education Foundation
4 Barrell CourtConcordNH033022111300289044Grants and scholarshipsNH501(c)(3)PFNew Hampshire Higher Education Loan CorporationYes (1)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Receipt Of Int Annts Rnts Rylts0ReceiptOfIntAnntsRntsRyltsInd
Gift Grnt Or Cap Contri To Oth Org0GiftGrntOrCapContriToOthOrgInd
Gift Grnt Cap Contri From Oth Org0GiftGrntCapContriFromOthOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees To Other Org0LoansOrGuaranteesToOtherOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees From Oth Org0LoansOrGuaranteesFromOthOrgInd
Div Related Organization0DivRelatedOrganizationInd
Asset Sale To Other Org0AssetSaleToOtherOrgInd
Asset Purchase From Other Org0AssetPurchaseFromOtherOrgInd
Asset Exchange0AssetExchangeInd
Rental Of Facilities To Oth Org0RentalOfFacilitiesToOthOrgInd
Rental Of Fclts From Oth Org0RentalOfFcltsFromOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services For Oth Org0PerformOfServicesForOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services By Other OrgYes (1)PerformOfServicesByOtherOrgInd
Sharing Of Facilities0SharingOfFacilitiesInd
Paid Employees SharingYes (1)PaidEmployeesSharingInd
Reimbursement Paid To Other OrgYes (1)ReimbursementPaidToOtherOrgInd
Reimbursement Paid By Other Org0ReimbursementPaidByOtherOrgInd
Transfer To Other Org0TransferToOtherOrgInd
Transfer From Other OrgYes (1)TransferFromOtherOrgInd

Transactions Related Org TransactionsRelatedOrgGrp

Other Organization Name OtherOrganizationName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Contracted Service Fees from NHHEAFBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Transaction TypeMTransactionTypeTxt
Involved$829,700InvolvedAmt
Method Of Amount DeterminationPer Audited Financial StatementsMethodOfAmountDeterminationTxt

Comments

Anonymous: no account or email. Up to 2,000 characters, at most one link. Comments are checked automatically; some wait for review.