HARVARD FEDERAL CREDIT UNION: Form 990, tax year 2021

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
HARVARD FEDERAL CREDIT UNION (EIN 04-6017806)
Tax period
2021-01-01 to 2021-12-31
Filed
2022-05-11
IRS object ID
202221319349304257
Schema version
2021v4.2
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2022-05-11T13:24:42-05:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2021-12-31TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN042689883PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1WOLF & COMPANY PCBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1255 STATE STREETAddressLine1Txt
CityBOSTONCityNm
State AbbreviationMAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP02109ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2021-01-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN046017806EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1HARVARD UNIVERSITY EMPLOYEES CREDITBusinessNameLine1Txt
Business Name Line2UNIONBusinessNameLine2Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlHARVBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone6174954460PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1104 MT AUBURN ST 4TH FLOORAddressLine1Txt
CityCAMBRIDGECityNm
State AbbreviationMAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP02138ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonCRAIG E LEONARDPersonNm
Person TitlePRESIDENT & CEOPersonTitleTxt
Phone6174954460PhoneNum
Signature2022-05-11SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (1)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Signing Officer SigningOfficerGrp

Person Full Name PersonFullName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Person FirstCRAIGPersonFirstNm
Person LastLEONARDPersonLastNm
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
SSN000009874SSN

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonHARRY A KALAJIAN JR CPAPreparerPersonNm
PTINP00464296PTIN
Phone6174399700PhoneNum
Preparation2022-05-11PreparationDt

Additional Filer Information AdditionalFilerInformation

Trusted Customer TrustedCustomerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Trusted Customer3TrustedCustomerCd
Authentication Assurance LevelAAL1AuthenticationAssuranceLevelCd
Identity Assurance LevelIAL1IdentityAssuranceLevelCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2021TaxYr
Build TS2022-09-23 18:48:47ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerCRAIG E LEONARDPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1104 MT AUBURN ST 4TH FLOORAddressLine1Txt
CityCAMBRIDGECityNm
State AbbreviationMAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP02138ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$42,695,601GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For Affiliates0GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501cYes (X)Organization501cInd
Website AddressWWW.HUECU.ORGWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1939FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateMALegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionPROVIDE CONVENIENT FINANCIAL AND PERSONAL SERVICES IN THE BEST INTEREST OF OUR MEMBERS, AS WELL AS EDUCATING OUR COMMUNITY ABOUT FINANCES.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body15VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent15VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee155TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers15TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$0TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$0NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$0PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$0CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$34,877,413PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$36,887,045CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$8,196,424PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$5,808,556CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$0PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$0CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$43,073,837PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$42,695,601CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$172,850PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$225,484CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$0PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$13,587,038PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$14,841,789CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$0CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$21,348,091PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$18,512,683CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$35,107,979PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$33,579,956CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$7,965,858PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$9,115,645CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$936,760,234TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$1,037,994,144TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$856,766,941TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$950,224,242TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$79,993,293NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$87,769,902NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
Info In Schedule O Part IIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartIIIInd
MissionHARVARD UNIVERSITY EMPLOYEES CREDIT UNION ASPIRES TO BE A TRUSTED PARTNER IN OUR MEMBERS' FINANCIAL LIVES. WE ADD VALUE TO MEMBERSHIP BY OFFERING THE BEST POSSIBLE PRICE, THE HIGHEST QUALITY PERSONAL SERVICE, AND SINCERE, SOUND ADVICE.THE CREDIT UNION SEEKS TO BE KNOWN AS A COMMUNITY LEADER AND TO DEEPEN ITS LONG STANDING COMMITMENT TO HOUSING ISSUES, GREEN INITIATIVES, FINANCIAL LITERACY AND ACCESS TO CREDIT FOR LOW AND MODERATE INCOME BORROWERS. THE CREDIT UNION WORKS TOWARD TRANSFORMATIONAL GROWTH AND CHANGE WITHOUT RELINQUISHING THE CORE VALUES WE HOLD TODAY. WE ARE A NOT-FOR-PROFIT COOPERATIVE WHICH EXISTS SOLELY FOR THE BEST INTEREST OF OUR MEMBERS. WE VALUE INTEGRITY AND RESPONSIBILITY IN ALL OF OUR ACTIONS. WE STRIVE TO ENHANCE OUR COMMUNITIES AND CREATE SOLUTIONS FOR SOCIAL, ENVIRONMENTAL AND ECONOMIC ISSUES.MissionDesc
Significant New Program Srvc0SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant Change0SignificantChangeInd
DescHARVARD UNIVERSITY EMPLOYEES CREDIT UNION (THE "CREDIT UNION") IS A STATE-CHARTERED CREDIT UNION ORGANIZED UNDER THE PROVISIONS OF THE MASSACHUSETTS CREDIT UNION ACT. PARTICIPATION IN THE CREDIT UNION IS LIMITED TO THOSE INDIVIDUALS WHO QUALIFY FOR MEMBERSHIP. THE FIELD OF MEMBERSHIP IS DEFINED IN THE CREDIT UNION'S CHARTER AND BYLAWS. THE CREDIT UNION PROVIDES A VARIETY OF FINANCIAL SERVICES TO MEMBERS. ITS PRIMARY LENDING PRODUCTS ARE RESIDENTIAL REAL ESTATE AND CONSUMER LOANS AND ITS PRIMARY SHARE PRODUCTS ARE CHECKING, SAVINGS AND TERM CERTIFICATE ACCOUNTS. THE CREDIT UNION HAS OVER 50,000 MEMBERS. THE MEMBERSHIP IS PRIMARILY LIMITED TO THOSE EMPLOYEES, FACULTY, STUDENTS, AND ALUMNI OF HARVARD UNIVERSITY AND ITS AFFILIATED HOSPITALS.Desc
Described In Section501c30DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B Required0ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign Acty0PoliticalCampaignActyInd
Subject To Proxy Tax0SubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised Fund0DonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation Easements0ConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of Art0CollectionsOfArtInd
Credit CounselingYes (1)CreditCounselingInd
Donor Rstr Or Quasi Endowments0DonorRstrOrQuasiEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (1)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other Sec0ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related InvstYes (1)ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other Assets0ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (1)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (1)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt0ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School Operating0SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign Office0ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign Activities0ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To Org0MoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To Individuals0MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional Fundraising0ProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising Activities0FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming Activities0GamingActivitiesInd
Operate Hospital0OperateHospitalInd
Grants To OrganizationsYes (1)GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To IndividualsYes (1)GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (1)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt Bonds0TaxExemptBondsInd
Loan OutstandingYes (1)LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related Person0GrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org Mem0BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam Mem0BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With35 Ctrl Ent0BusinessRlnWith35CtrlEntInd
Deductible Non Cash Contri0DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art Contribution0DeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate Operations0TerminateOperationsInd
Partial Liquidation0PartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded Entity0DisregardedEntityInd
Related Entity0RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl Ent0RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Activities Conducted Prtshp0ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (1)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document15096IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (1)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee155EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (1)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over Limit0UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Foreign Financial Account0ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans0ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party Notification0TaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible Contributions0NondeductibleContributionsInd
Indoor Tanning Services0IndoorTanningServicesInd
Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht Pymt0SubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd
Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst Inc0SubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members15GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member15IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business Rln0FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt Duties0DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org Documents0ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or Misuse0MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or StockholdersYes (1)MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersYes (1)ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To ApprovaYes (1)DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (1)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (1)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing Address0OfficerMailingAddressInd
Local ChaptersYes (1)LocalChaptersInd
Policies Reference ChaptersYes (1)PoliciesReferenceChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (1)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (1)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (1)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (1)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (1)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (1)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (1)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (1)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint Venture0InvestmentInJointVentureInd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1CRAIG E LEONARDBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Phone6174963535PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1104 MT AUBURN ST 4TH FLOORAddressLine1Txt
CityCAMBRIDGECityNm
State AbbreviationMAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP02138ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (22 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtOfficerOfficerIndHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd
HARMAN KAUR
DIRECTOR1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
JASON LUKE
DIRECTOR1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
GONZALO MUNOZ SANZ
DIRECTOR1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
DENNIS CAMPBELL
DIRECTOR1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
SHAHAR ZIV
DIRECTOR1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
JOHN LICHTEN
TREASURER/DIRECTOR1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0Yes (X)
KARRIE FORD
DIRECTOR1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
ANNE DEXTER
DIRECTOR1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
DEE DEE CHEN
DIRECTOR1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
APRIL EDRINGTON
DIRECTOR1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
THOMAS LUCEY
DIRECTOR1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
JEREMIAH MURPHY
VICE-CHAIRMAN/DIRECTOR1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0Yes (X)
MARY STRAUB
CLERK/DIRECTOR1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0Yes (X)
GEOERGE WHITE
CHAIRMAN/DIRECTOR1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0Yes (X)
SUSAN G SIMON
DIRECTOR1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
CRAIG LEONARD
PRESIDENT & CEO40.00$738,327$0$59,259Yes (X)
THOMAS MONTILLI
EVP & CHIEF EXPERIENCE OFFICER40.00$307,212$0$54,892Yes (X)
DAISY J FAMILIA
MORTGAGE LOAN ORIGINATOR40.00$295,128$0$26,171Yes (X)
SHARON CUMMINGS
MORTGAGE LOAN ORIGINATOR40.00$368,756$0$26,851Yes (X)
PETER BUCHANAN
SVP, REAL ESTATE LENDING40.00$251,508$0$49,758Yes (X)
HELEN LASKARIS
MORTGAGE LOAN ORIGINATOR40.00$394,727$0$26,851Yes (X)
MICHAEL LEVINE
MORTGAGE LOAN ORIGINATOR40.00$348,790$0$27,240Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$2,704,448TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$271,022TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K27IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees Listed0FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (1)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other Srcs0CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
PSCU
560 CARILLON PARKWAYST PETERSBURGFL33716DATA PROCESSING$3,158,797
FISERV
PO BOX 99924GRAPEVINETX76099DATA PROCESSING$1,301,764
NATIONAL CREDIT UNION ADMINISTRATION
PO BOX 979069ST LOUISMO63197DEPOSIT INSURANCE PREMIUMS$880,106
ALKAMNI TECHNOLOGY
PO BOX 122223DALLASTX75312DATA PROCESSING$618,011
DIEBOLD NIXDORF INCORPORATED
PO BOX 643543PITTSBURGHPA152643543ATM SERVICING$383,630
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K23CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (2 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
INTEREST ON LOANS522100$32,143,892$32,143,892
VARIOUS BANK FEES522100$4,743,153$4,743,153
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$36,887,045TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$1,153,154TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$1,153,154ExclusionAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other$4,655,402OtherAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other$0OtherAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other$4,655,402OtherAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$4,655,402TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$4,655,402ExclusionAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$42,695,601TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$36,887,045RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$5,808,556ExclusionAmt

Grants To Domestic Orgs GrantsToDomesticOrgsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$215,484TotalAmt

Grants To Domestic Individuals GrantsToDomesticIndividualsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$10,000TotalAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,045,538TotalAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$9,894,790TotalAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,901,461TotalAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$50,200TotalAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$128,298TotalAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$461,956TotalAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$691,884TotalAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$703,941TotalAmt

Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$4,186,232TotalAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,542,099TotalAmt

Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$94,104TotalAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,848,065TotalAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$977,906TotalAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$377,645TotalAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmt
PROVISION FOR LOSSES$1,900,000
LOAN SERVICING EXPENSES$1,791,967
OTHER SERVICE CONTRACTS$264,110
EQUIPMENT$90,411

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$403,865TotalAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$33,579,956TotalAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$85,076,652BOYAmt
EOY$82,704,820EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$5,411,722BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Oth Notes Loans Receivable Net OthNotesLoansReceivableNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$761,372,450BOYAmt
EOY$839,672,260EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$900,173BOYAmt
EOY$971,874EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$9,650,751LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$5,874,110LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,565,013BOYAmt
EOY$3,776,641EOYAmt

Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$19,966,600BOYAmt
EOY$16,536,800EOYAmt

Investments Program Related InvestmentsProgramRelatedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$37,377,018BOYAmt
EOY$71,461,555EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$23,090,606BOYAmt
EOY$22,870,194EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$936,760,234BOYAmt
EOY$1,037,994,144EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$9,363,915BOYAmt
EOY$9,607,923EOYAmt

Escrow Account Liability EscrowAccountLiabilityGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$5,211,281BOYAmt
EOY$5,556,252EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$842,191,745BOYAmt
EOY$935,060,067EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$856,766,941BOYAmt
EOY$950,224,242EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Org Does Not Follow FASB117Yes (X)OrgDoesNotFollowFASB117Ind

Cap Stk Tr Prin Current Funds CapStkTrPrinCurrentFundsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Pd In Cap Srpls Land Bldg Eqp Fund PdInCapSrplsLandBldgEqpFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Rtn Earn Endowment Incm Oth Fnds RtnEarnEndowmentIncmOthFndsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$79,993,293BOYAmt
EOY$87,769,902EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$79,993,293BOYAmt
EOY$87,769,902EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$936,760,234BOYAmt
EOY$1,037,994,144EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$9,115,645ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst-$1,339,036NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets$0OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Info In Schedule O Part XIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIIInd
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or Review0AccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (1)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Separate Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (1)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit Required0FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Agent Trustee Etc0AgentTrusteeEtcInd
Incl Escrow Custodial Acct LiabYes (1)InclEscrowCustodialAcctLiabInd
Explanation ProvidedYes (X)ExplanationProvidedInd

Leasehold Improvements LeaseholdImprovementsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$3,191,927OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$2,482,543DepreciationAmt
Book Value$709,384BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$6,151,685OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$3,391,567DepreciationAmt
Book Value$2,760,118BookValueAmt

Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$307,139OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$307,139BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$3,776,641TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Invst Program Related Org InvstProgramRelatedOrgGrp (2 entries)

DescDescBook ValueBookValueAmtMethod ValuationMethodValuationCd
BONDS$53,372,243F
MBS AGENCIES$18,089,312F
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Program Rltd$71,461,555TotalBookValueProgramRltdAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (7 entries)

DescDescAmtAmt
SAVINGS ACCOUNTS$303,973,044
CHECKING ACCOUNTS$196,793,351
MONEY MARKET ACCOUNTS$205,485,716
CLUB ACCOUNTS$1,954,577
IRA ACCOUNTS$16,698,307
CERTIFICATES OF DEPOSITS$119,673,777
FHLB ADVANCES$90,481,295
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$935,060,067TotalLiabilityAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$41,356,565TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Net Unrealized Gains Invst-$1,339,036NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt
Revenue Not Reported-$1,339,036RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$42,695,601RevenueSubtotalAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$0RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$42,695,601TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$33,579,956TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Expenses Not Reported$0ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$33,579,956ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$0ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$33,579,956TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
PART IV, LINE 2B:AS PART OF THE MORTGAGE AGREEMENT, AN ESCROW ACCOUNT IS MAINTAINED FOR EACH MORTGAGE WHERE ESCROW OF REAL ESTATE TAXES & HOME OWNERS INSURANCE IS REQUIRED. THE CREDIT UNION COMPLIES WITH ALL FEDERAL & STATE LAWS REGARDING DISCLOSURES AND OPERATION OF THESE ACCOUNTS.
PART X, LINE 2:THE CREDIT UNION IS EXEMPT, BY STATUTE, FROM FEDERAL INCOME TAXES. HOWEVER, THE CREDIT UNION MAY BE SUBJECT TO UNRELATED BUSINESS INCOME TAX ("UBIT") AT THE STATE AND FEDERAL LEVEL. THE CREDIT UNION DID NOT HAVE A UBIT LIABILITY AT DECEMBER 31, 2021 AND 2020. THE CREDIT UNION HAS EVALUATED ITS TAX POSITIONS AS OF DECEMBER 31, 2021 AND 2020 AND CONCLUDED THAT THERE ARE NO UNCERTAIN TAX POSITIONS THAT REQUIRE ADJUSTMENT TO THE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS TO COMPLY WITH THE PROVISIONS OF THIS GUIDANCE. THE CREDIT UNION FILES FORM 990 IN THE U.S. FEDERAL JURISDICTION AND THE STATE OF MASSACHUSETTS. THE CREDIT UNION IS NO LONGER SUBJECT TO EXAMINATION BY THE INTERNAL REVENUE SERVICE FOR YEARS BEFORE 2018.

Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant Records Maintained0GrantRecordsMaintainedInd

Recipient Table RecipientTable (11 entries)

Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityUSAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPUSAddress/ZIPCdRecipient EINRecipientEINIRC SectionIRCSectionDescCash GrantCashGrantAmtNon Cash AssistanceNonCashAssistanceAmtPurpose Of GrantPurposeOfGrantTxt
COOPERATIVE CREDIT UNION ASSOCIATION
845 DONALD LYNCH BLVDMARLBOROUGHMA01752043403594501(C)(6)$8,800$0DONATION
CAMBRIDGE FAMILY & CHILDREN'S SERVICE
60 GORE STCAMBRIDGEMA02141042104057501(C)(3)$12,750$0DONATION
COALITION FOR THE HOMELESS
73 BUFFUM STLYNNMA01902222599662501(C)(3)$11,500$0DONATION
FOOD FOR FREE
11 INMAN STCAMBRIDGEMA02139222561771501(C)(3)$16,000$0DONATION
GREATER BOSTON FOOD BANK
70 S BAY AVEBOSTONMA02118042717782501(C)(3)$17,500$0DONATION
HARVARD VARSITY
65 N HARVARD STBOSTONMA02163042104295501(C)(3)$7,900$0DONATION
MOUNT AUBURN HOSPITAL
330 MT AUBURN STCAMBRIDGEMD02136042103606501(C)(3)$7,500$0DONATION
PHILLIPS BROOKS HOUSE ASSOCIATION
1 HARVARD YARDCAMBRIDGEMA20136046046123501(C)(3)$41,000$0DONATION
SOMERVILLE CAMBRIDGE ELDER SERVICES
61 MEDFORD STSOMERVILLEMA02143042515020501(C)(3)$10,000$0DONATION
SOMERVILLE HOMELESS COALITION
1 DAVIS SQUARESOMERVILLEMA02144042897447501(C)(3)$12,900$0DONATION
TUTORING PLUS
225 WINDSOR STCAMBRIDGEMA02139042485197501(C)(3)$5,300$0DONATION
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total501c3 Org10Total501c3OrgCnt
Total Other Org1TotalOtherOrgCnt

Grants Other Asst To Indiv In US GrantsOtherAsstToIndivInUSGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant TypeSCHOLARSHIPSGrantTypeTxt
Recipient10RecipientCnt
Cash Grant$10,000CashGrantAmt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePART I, LINE 2:FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationSCHOLARSHIP APPLICATIONS ARE REVIEWED FOR COMPLETION/INCLUSION OF ALL CATEGORIES SET FORTH BY THE CREDIT UNION. THE GRANT COMMITTEE MEMBERS PERFORM A FINAL REVIEW AND MAKE THE FINAL SELECTION BASED ON THE CRITERIA SET FORTH BY THE CREDIT UNION.ExplanationTxt

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Travel For CompanionsYes (X)TravelForCompanionsInd
Written Policy Ref T And E ExpnssYes (1)WrittenPolicyRefTAndEExpnssInd
Substantiation RequiredYes (1)SubstantiationRequiredInd
Compensation CommitteeYes (X)CompensationCommitteeInd
Independent ConsultantYes (X)IndependentConsultantInd
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance Payment0SeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr Plan0SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp Arrngm0EquityBasedCompArrngmInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (7 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
CRAIG LEONARD
PRESIDENT & CEO$438,327$0$100,000$0$200,000$0$32,277$0$26,982$0$797,586$0$200,000$0
HELEN LASKARIS
MORTGAGE LOAN ORIGINATOR$392,227$0$2,500$0$0$0$7,365$0$19,486$0$421,578$0$0$0
SHARON CUMMINGS
MORTGAGE LOAN ORIGINATOR$367,256$0$1,500$0$0$0$7,365$0$19,486$0$395,607$0$0$0
MICHAEL LEVINE
MORTGAGE LOAN ORIGINATOR$347,290$0$1,500$0$0$0$7,653$0$19,587$0$376,030$0$0$0
THOMAS MONTILLI
EVP & CHIEF EXPERIENCE OFFICER$248,462$0$58,750$0$0$0$32,277$0$22,615$0$362,104$0$0$0
DAISY J FAMILIA
MORTGAGE LOAN ORIGINATOR$293,628$0$1,500$0$0$0$6,862$0$19,309$0$321,299$0$0$0
PETER BUCHANAN
SVP, REAL ESTATE LENDING$211,508$0$40,000$0$0$0$27,993$0$21,765$0$301,266$0$0$0

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
TRAVEL FOR COMPANIONTHE CREDIT UNION PROVIDES SPOUSE TRAVEL FOR ITS DIRECTORS AND OFFICERS.
SCHEDULE J, PART II, COLUMN F:THE PRESIDENT/CEO RECEIVED A $200,000 RETENTION AWARD PAYOUT IN 2021.

Schedule L IRS990ScheduleL

Loans Btwn Org Interested Prsn LoansBtwnOrgInterestedPrsnGrp

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1SEE PART IVBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Loan From OrganizationYes (X)LoanFromOrganizationInd
Default0DefaultInd
Board Or Committee Approval0BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Written Agreement0WrittenAgreementInd

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSCHEDULE L, PART IIFormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationLOANS TO INTERESTED PERSONSTHE CREDIT UNION GRANTS LOANS TO INTERESTED PERSON (OFFICERS, DIRECTORS,TRUSTEES, KEY EMPLOYEES AND THE FIVE HIGHEST COMPENSATED EMPLOYEES) AT THE SAME TERMS AND CONDITIONS AS OFFERED TO OTHER MEMBERS OF THE CREDIT UNION. PER SCHEDULE L INSTRUCTION, THESE LOANS SHOULD NOT BE DISCLOSED.ExplanationTxt

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (8 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 6THE CREDIT UNION HAS APPROXIMATELY 50,000 MEMBERS IN ITS FIELD OF MEMBERSHIP.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 7AEACH MEMBER HAS ONE VOTING RIGHT TO CAST AT THE ANNUAL MEETING TO ELECT THE MEMBERS OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS. FIVE OF FIFTEEN DIRECTORS ARE VOTED IN EACH YEAR.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 7BANY BYLAW CHANGES MUST BE APPROVED BY THE MEMBERS AT THE ANNUAL MEETING. A SPECIAL MEETING MAY ALSO BE CALLED TO VOTE ON A BY LAW CHANGE.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 11BTHE 990 IS PREPARED BY THE OUTSIDE ACCOUNTING FIRM AND THEN REVIEWED BY THE CFO OF THE CREDIT UNION. THE 990 IS THEN PRESENTED TO THE AUDIT COMMITTEE FOR FINAL REVIEW PRIOR FILING WITH THE IRS.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 12CTHE CREDIT UNION HAS A CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY IN PLACE. THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS REVIEW THE CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY ANNUALLY.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 15EACH YEAR THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE AND PERSONNEL COMMITTEE REVIEW THE PERFORMANCE AND POSITION OF THE PRESIDENT/CEO. INDEPENDENT CREDIT UNION COMPENSATION DATA IS REFERENCED AND UTILIZED, AS WELL AS ENGAGING INDEPENDENT COMPENSATION CONSULTANTS, IN DETERMINING COMPENSATION. THE FINAL SALARY RECOMMENDATION IS PRESENTED AND APPROVED BY THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION C, LINE 19BYLAWS, CONFLICTS OF INTEREST POLICY, AND FINANCIAL STATEMENTS ARE AVAILABLE UPON REQUEST. FINANCIAL STATEMENTS ARE POSTED IN EACH BRANCH MONTHLY.
FORM 990, PART XII, LINE 2C:THERE WAS NO CHANGE IN THE OVERSIGHT PROCESS OR SELECTION PROCESS DURING THE TAX YEAR.

Comments

Anonymous: no account or email. Up to 2,000 characters, at most one link. Comments are checked automatically; some wait for review.