OPERATION HOPE INC: Form 990, tax year 2021

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
OPERATION HOPE INC (EIN 95-4378084)
Tax period
2021-01-01 to 2021-12-31
Filed
2022-07-25
IRS object ID
202202069349301060
Schema version
2021v4.0
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2022-07-25T09:05:26-07:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2021-12-31TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN201403280PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1FULTON & KOZAK LLCBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line17187 JONESBORO RD STE 100AAddressLine1Txt
CityMORROWCityNm
State AbbreviationGAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP30260ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2021-01-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN954378084EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1OPERATION HOPE INCBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlOPERBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone4049412919PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1191 PEACHTREE STREET NE 3840AddressLine1Txt
CityATLANTACityNm
State AbbreviationGAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP30303ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonBRIAN BETTSPersonNm
Person TitlePRESIDENT/CFOPersonTitleTxt
Signature2022-07-25SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (true)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Signing Officer SigningOfficerGrp

Person Full Name PersonFullName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Person FirstBRIANPersonFirstNm
Person LastBETTSPersonLastNm
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
SSN999009999SSN

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonSHEILA M KOZAK CPAPreparerPersonNm
PTINP00687026PTIN
Phone7709614200PhoneNum

Additional Filer Information AdditionalFilerInformation

Trusted Customer TrustedCustomerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Trusted Customer3TrustedCustomerCd
Authentication Assurance LevelAAL1AuthenticationAssuranceLevelCd
Identity Assurance LevelIAL1IdentityAssuranceLevelCd
Federated Assurance LevelFAL1FederatedAssuranceLevelCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2021TaxYr
Build TS2022-09-23 18:48:47ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerBRIAN BETTSPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1191 PEACHTREE STREET NE 3840AddressLine1Txt
CityATLANTACityNm
State AbbreviationGAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP30303ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$45,439,283GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For AffiliatesfalseGroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501c3Yes (X)Organization501c3Ind
Website AddressWWW.OPERATIONHOPE.ORGWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1992FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateCALegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionOperation hope is a for-purpose organization working to disrupt poverty and empower inclusion for low and moderate-income youth and adults.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body10VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent9VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee272TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers343TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$0TotalGrossUBIAmt
PY Contributions Grants$25,956,479PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$45,433,407CYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$0CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$3,106PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income-$7,810CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$18,000PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$2,142CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$25,977,585PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$45,427,739CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$1,698,236PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$1,817,016CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$13,675,539PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$18,111,421CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$1,572,181CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$3,934,062PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$6,028,047CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$19,307,837PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$25,956,484CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$6,669,748PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$19,471,255CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$21,688,476TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$42,513,861TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$6,145,521TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$7,522,773TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$15,542,955NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$34,991,088NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
MissionOperation hope is a for-purpose organization working to disrupt poverty and empower inclusion for low and moderate-income youth and adults.MissionDesc
Significant New Program SrvcfalseSignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant ChangefalseSignificantChangeInd
Expense$19,229,831ExpenseAmt
Grant$1,573,324GrantAmt
DescAdult HOPE Inside gives clients the resources to improve their financial situations. Through our 700-credit score initiative, we approve clients as soon as they seek assistance, commit to the resolution of primary credit denial factors, and work to raise FICO scores on average of 47 points. Programs offered: Financial Literacy Workshops, Entrepreneurial Training and counseling for Foreclosure Prevention, Money Management, Homeownership, Small Business and Credit. In 2021, HOPE provided 193,899 adult services and expanded out HOPE Inside network to 182 locations. Our clients achieved the following: increased savings by $295, reduced debt by $2,632, obtained $278 million in mortgage loans and started 909 new small businesses, of which 78% were owned by women and minorities.Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty2 ProgSrvcAccomActy2Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Expense$1,629,871ExpenseAmt
Grant$243,692GrantAmt
DescDisaster HOPE is a national partner of FEMA, addressing financial disaster preparedness, response, and recovery. Other disaster partners include the American Red Cross, the Economic Development Administration (EDA), corporations and other volunteer organizations. Since 2001, HOPE has helped over 1.5 million individuals with pre-disaster financial preparedness and counseling, post disaster financial recovery, and FEMA application assistance to families affected in 148 major disasters across 30 states and Puerto Rico. In 2021, HOPE provided 63,364 disaster recovery services.Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty3 ProgSrvcAccomActy3Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Expense$282,167ExpenseAmt
DescYouth HOPEs Banking on our Future (BOOF) program has operated in 304 U.S. cities, 3 provinces in South Africa, and has educated over 1 million youth. The program is the recipient of the 11th John Sherman Award for Financial Education given by the US Treasury Department. HOPEs Business in A Box Academies (HBIABA) is a national initiative to harness the economic energy of Youth and bring positive role models into underserved communities. In 2021, HOPE provided 5,993 youth financial educational services.Desc
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Expenses$21,141,869TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt
Described In Section501c3Yes (true)DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B RequiredYes (true)ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign ActyfalsePoliticalCampaignActyInd
Lobbying ActivitiesfalseLobbyingActivitiesInd
Subject To Proxy TaxfalseSubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised FundfalseDonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation EasementsfalseConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of ArtfalseCollectionsOfArtInd
Credit CounselingfalseCreditCounselingInd
Donor Rstr Or Quasi EndowmentsfalseDonorRstrOrQuasiEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (true)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other SecfalseReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related InvstfalseReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other AssetsfalseReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesfalseReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (true)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (true)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl StmtfalseConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School OperatingfalseSchoolOperatingInd
Foreign OfficefalseForeignOfficeInd
Foreign ActivitiesfalseForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To OrgfalseMoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To IndividualsfalseMoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional FundraisingfalseProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising ActivitiesfalseFundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming ActivitiesfalseGamingActivitiesInd
Operate HospitalfalseOperateHospitalInd
Grants To OrganizationsYes (true)GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To IndividualsYes (true)GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (true)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt BondsfalseTaxExemptBondsInd
Engaged In Excess Benefit TransfalseEngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd
PY Excess Benefit TransfalsePYExcessBenefitTransInd
Loan OutstandingfalseLoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related PersonfalseGrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org MemfalseBusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam MemfalseBusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With35 Ctrl EntYes (true)BusinessRlnWith35CtrlEntInd
Deductible Non Cash ContrifalseDeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art ContributionfalseDeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate OperationsfalseTerminateOperationsInd
Partial LiquidationfalsePartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded EntityYes (true)DisregardedEntityInd
Related EntityfalseRelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl EntfalseRelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd OrgfalseTrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd
Activities Conducted PrtshpfalseActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (true)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document102IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld CompliancefalseBackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee272EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (true)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over LimitfalseUnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Foreign Financial AccountYes (true)ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Foreign CountryOCForeignCountryCd
Prohibited Tax Shelter TransfalseProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party NotificationfalseTaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible ContributionsfalseNondeductibleContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo ContributionsfalseQuidProQuoContributionsInd
Form8282 Property Disposed OffalseForm8282PropertyDisposedOfInd
Form8282 Filed0Form8282FiledCnt
Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft CntrctfalseRcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft CntrctfalsePayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Form8899 FiledindfalseForm8899Filedind
Form1098 C FiledfalseForm1098CFiledInd
Indoor Tanning ServicesfalseIndoorTanningServicesInd
Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht PymtfalseSubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd
Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst IncfalseSubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members10GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member9IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business RlnfalseFamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt DutiesfalseDelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org DocumentsYes (true)ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or MisusefalseMaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or StockholdersfalseMembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersfalseElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To ApprovafalseDecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (true)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (true)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing AddressfalseOfficerMailingAddressInd
Local ChaptersfalseLocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (true)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (true)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (true)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (true)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (true)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (true)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (true)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (true)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint VenturefalseInvestmentInJointVentureInd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldAKStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldALStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldARStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldCAStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldCOStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldCTStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldDCStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldFLStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldGAStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldHIStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldILStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldKSStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldKYStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldMAStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldMDStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldMEStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldMIStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldMNStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldMOStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldMSStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldNCStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldNDStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldNHStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldNJStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldNMStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldNVStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldNYStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldOHStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldOKStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldORStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldPAStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldRIStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldSCStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldTNStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldUTStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldVAStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldWAStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldWIStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldWVStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
Own WebsiteYes (X)OwnWebsiteInd
Other WebsiteYes (X)OtherWebsiteInd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonBRIAN BETTS PRESIDENT CFOPersonNm
Phone4049412920PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1191 PEACHTREE ST STE 3840AddressLine1Txt
CityATLANTACityNm
State AbbreviationGAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP30303ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (22 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtAverage Hours Per Week Rltd OrgAverageHoursPerWeekRltdOrgRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmt
JOHN BRYANT
Chairman/CEO40.000.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$559,947$0$17,403
BRIAN BETTS
PRESIDENT/CFO40.000.00Yes (X)$335,421$0$14,345
RACHAEL DOFF
SEVP/CAO40.000.00Yes (X)$277,003$0$12,506
MARY HAGERTY
EVP, PARTNERSHIP40.000.00$213,397$0$15,453
LANCE TRIGGS
EVP, PROGRAMS40.000.00$210,977$0$9,815
JENNIFER WOLFORD
EVP, CHIEF OPERATING OFFICER40.000.00$183,527$0$4,216
KEVIN BOUCHER
EVP, RELATIONSHIP MANAGEMENT DIRECT40.000.00$183,416$0$1,066
ELAINE HUNGENBERG
EVP, HOPE RESEARCH AND IMPACT40.000.00$167,379$0$4,446
NICOLE PIETRO
SVP, CHIEF DEVELOPMENT OFFICER40.000.00$161,935$0$660
JENA ROSCOE
SVP, GOVT AFFAIRS40.000.00$132,052$0$8,559
BILL FAIR
DIR OF PRODUCT DEV40.000.00$126,433$0$6,897
JESSICA BERGERON
SVP, INNOV & LEARN40.000.00$110,987$0$8,479
EVELYN DUCOULOMBIER
SVP, C&C AFFAIRS40.000.00$106,989$0$6,388
LISA BORDERS
BOARD MEMBER1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MICHAEL AROUGHETI
BOARD MEMBER1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
BRYAN JORDAN
BOARD MEMBER1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
JEFF SCHMID
BOARD MEMBER1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
JED YORK
BOARD MEMBER1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
TIMOTHY WENNES
BOARD MEMBER1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
BRAD HANSON
BOARD MEMBER1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
FRANK MARTELL
BOARD MEMBER1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
STEPHEN RYAN ESQ
BOARD MEMBER1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$2,769,463TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$110,233TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K13IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees ListedfalseFormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (true)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other SrcsfalseCompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (2 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
ROB MCGREW
8306 WILSHIRE BLVD SUITE 484BEVERLY HILLSCA90211CONSULTATION$125,000
JODI SMITH
8033 W SUNSET BLVD 1021LOS ANGELESCA90046DIGITAL PROGRAM$141,600
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K2CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Government Grants$4,054,921GovernmentGrantsAmt
All Other Contributions$41,378,486AllOtherContributionsAmt
Noncash Contributions$23,860NoncashContributionsAmt
Total Contributions$45,433,407TotalContributionsAmt
Total Program Service Revenue$0TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$3,734TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$3,734ExclusionAmt

Incm From Invest Bond Proceeds IncmFromInvestBondProceedsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt

Royalties Revenue RoyaltiesRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt

Gross Rents GrossRentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$1,500RealAmt

Rental Income Or Loss RentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$1,500RealAmt

Net Rental Income Or Loss NetRentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$1,500TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$1,500ExclusionAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other$11,544OtherAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other-$11,544OtherAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column-$11,544TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion-$11,544ExclusionAmt

Net Incm From Fundraising Evt NetIncmFromFundraisingEvtGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt

Net Income From Gaming NetIncomeFromGamingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt

Net Income Or Loss NetIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt

Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescOTHER INCOMEDesc
Total Revenue Column$642TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$642ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total$642OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$45,427,739TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion-$5,668ExclusionAmt

Grants To Domestic Orgs GrantsToDomesticOrgsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$23,802TotalAmt
Program Services$23,802ProgramServicesAmt

Grants To Domestic Individuals GrantsToDomesticIndividualsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,793,214TotalAmt
Program Services$1,793,214ProgramServicesAmt

Foreign Grants ForeignGrantsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Benefits To Members BenefitsToMembersGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,879,696TotalAmt
Program Services$1,535,303ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$706,906ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$637,487FundraisingAmt

Comp Disqual Persons CompDisqualPersonsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$13,053,878TotalAmt
Program Services$11,530,554ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$1,127,511ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$395,813FundraisingAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,031,122TotalAmt
Program Services$879,445ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$103,307ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$48,370FundraisingAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,146,725TotalAmt
Program Services$942,629ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$130,981ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$73,115FundraisingAmt

Fees For Services Management FeesForServicesManagementGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$81,513TotalAmt
Management And General$81,513ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$22,977TotalAmt
Management And General$22,977ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Lobbying FeesForServicesLobbyingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Fees For Services Prof Fundraising FeesForServicesProfFundraising

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Fees For Srvc Invst Mgmnt Fees FeesForSrvcInvstMgmntFeesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,772,563TotalAmt
Program Services$1,438,303ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$295,034ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$39,226FundraisingAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$301,549TotalAmt
Program Services$207,266ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$51,106ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$43,177FundraisingAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$424,587TotalAmt
Program Services$309,401ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$68,259ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$46,927FundraisingAmt

Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Royalties RoyaltiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$205,567TotalAmt
Program Services$90,854ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$114,713ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$155,809TotalAmt
Program Services$71,917ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$26,231ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$57,661FundraisingAmt

Pymt Travel Entrtnmnt Pub Ofcl PymtTravelEntrtnmntPubOfclGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$785,980TotalAmt
Program Services$655,724ProgramServicesAmt
Fundraising$130,256FundraisingAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$223,874TotalAmt
Management And General$223,874ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Payments To Affiliates PaymentsToAffiliatesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$504,845TotalAmt
Program Services$476,012ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$21,277ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$7,556FundraisingAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$221,418TotalAmt
Program Services$170,189ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$33,346ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$17,883FundraisingAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmtProgram ServicesProgramServicesAmtManagement And GeneralManagementAndGeneralAmtFundraisingFundraisingAmt
CONTRACT LABOR$630,892$483,251$134,451$13,190
COMPUTER EXPENSES$393,322$286,618$63,231$43,473
TELECOMMUNICATION$234,493$191,427$29,983$13,083
Postage and Shipping$35,013$25,514$5,629$3,870

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$33,645TotalAmt
Program Services$30,446ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$2,105ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$1,094FundraisingAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$25,956,484TotalAmt
Program Services$21,141,869ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$3,242,434ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$1,572,181FundraisingAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,124,052BOYAmt
EOY$2,324,675EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$4,777,077BOYAmt
EOY$9,465,561EOYAmt

Pledges And Grants Receivable PledgesAndGrantsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$12,928,326BOYAmt
EOY$27,990,096EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EOY$0EOYAmt

Receivables From Officers Etc ReceivablesFromOfficersEtcGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EOY$0EOYAmt

Rcvbl From Disqualified Prsn RcvblFromDisqualifiedPrsnGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EOY$0EOYAmt

Oth Notes Loans Receivable Net OthNotesLoansReceivableNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EOY$0EOYAmt

Inventories For Sale Or Use InventoriesForSaleOrUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EOY$0EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$99,421BOYAmt
EOY$170,612EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$5,007,508LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$2,802,815LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,720,248BOYAmt
EOY$2,204,693EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$30,956BOYAmt
EOY$333,603EOYAmt

Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EOY$0EOYAmt

Investments Program Related InvestmentsProgramRelatedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EOY$0EOYAmt

Intangible Assets IntangibleAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EOY$0EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$8,396BOYAmt
EOY$24,621EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$21,688,476BOYAmt
EOY$42,513,861EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,256,526BOYAmt
EOY$3,219,410EOYAmt

Deferred Revenue DeferredRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EOY$352,570EOYAmt

Unsecured Notes Loans Payable UnsecuredNotesLoansPayableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$4,888,995BOYAmt
EOY$3,950,793EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$6,145,521BOYAmt
EOY$7,522,773EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Organization Follows FASB117Yes (X)OrganizationFollowsFASB117Ind

No Donor Restriction Net Assets NoDonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY-$767,116BOYAmt
EOY-$1,121,776EOYAmt

Donor Restriction Net Assets DonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$16,310,071BOYAmt
EOY$36,112,864EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$15,542,955BOYAmt
EOY$34,991,088EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$21,688,476BOYAmt
EOY$42,513,861EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part XIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$19,471,255ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst$26,878NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets-$50,000OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or ReviewfalseAccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (true)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Separate Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (true)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit RequiredYes (true)FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd
Federal Grant Audit PerformedYes (true)FederalGrantAuditPerformedInd

Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Public Organization170Yes (X)PublicOrganization170Ind

Gifts Grants Contri Rcvd170 GiftsGrantsContriRcvd170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$16,382,671CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$18,672,742CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$18,619,174CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$25,931,479CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$45,408,407CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$125,014,473TotalAmt

Tax Rev Levied Orgnztnl Bnft170 TaxRevLeviedOrgnztnlBnft170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Govt Furn Srvc Fclts Vl170 GovtFurnSrvcFcltsVl170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Total Calendar Year170 TotalCalendarYear170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$16,382,671CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$18,672,742CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$18,619,174CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$25,931,479CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$45,408,407CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$125,014,473TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Substantial Contributors Tot$35,937,624SubstantialContributorsTotAmt
Public Support Total170$89,076,849PublicSupportTotal170Amt

Gross Investment Income170 GrossInvestmentIncome170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$167CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$264CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$13,689CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$21,106CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$5,234CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$40,460TotalAmt

Unrelated Business Net Incm170 UnrelatedBusinessNetIncm170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Other Income170 OtherIncome170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$9,242CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$1,321CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$5,295CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year$642CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$16,500TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Support$125,071,433TotalSupportAmt
Public Support CY1700.71220PublicSupportCY170Pct
Public Support PY1700.68110PublicSupportPY170Pct
Thirty Thr Pct Suprt Tests CY170Yes (X)ThirtyThrPctSuprtTestsCY170Ind

Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB

Contributor Information ContributorInformationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
ContributorRESTRICTEDContributorNum

Contributor Business Name ContributorBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1RESTRICTEDBusinessNameLine1

Contributor US Address ContributorUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1RESTRICTEDAddressLine1
Address Line2RESTRICTEDAddressLine2
CityRESTRICTEDCity
StateRESTRICTEDState
ZIP CodeRESTRICTEDZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total ContributionsRESTRICTEDTotalContributionsAmt

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

Leasehold Improvements LeaseholdImprovementsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$1,206,364OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$765,723DepreciationAmt
Book Value$440,641BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$3,666,705OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$2,034,104DepreciationAmt
Book Value$1,632,601BookValueAmt

Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$134,439OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$2,988DepreciationAmt
Book Value$131,451BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$2,204,693TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$50,741,862TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Net Unrealized Gains Invst$26,878NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt
Donated Services And Use Fclts$5,275,701DonatedServicesAndUseFcltsAmt
Other Revenue$11,544OtherRevenueAmt
Revenue Not Reported$5,314,123RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$45,427,739RevenueSubtotalAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$45,427,739TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$31,293,729TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Donated Services Use Fclts$5,275,701DonatedServicesUseFcltsAmt
Losses Reported$11,544LossesReportedAmt
Other Expenses Included$50,000OtherExpensesIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Reported$5,337,245ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$25,956,484ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$25,956,484TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (3 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Part X : FIN48 FootnoteHOPEs application of ASC 740 regarding uncertain tax positions had no effect on its financial position as management believes HOPE has no material unrecognized income tax benefits, including any potential risk of loss of its not-for-profit status. HOPE would account for any potential interest or penalties related to possible future liabilities for unrecognized income tax benefits as income tax expense. HOPE is no longer subject to examination by federal, state or local tax authorities for periods before 2018.
Part XI, Line 2d: Other revenue amounts included in F/S but not included on form 990LOSS ON SALE OF FIXED ASSETS $11544
Part XII, Line 2d: Other expenses and losses per audited F/SBAD DEBT $50000

Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant Records MaintainedYes (true)GrantRecordsMaintainedInd

Recipient Table RecipientTable

Recipient Business Name RecipientBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1MORGAN STATE UNIVERSITYBusinessNameLine1Txt

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line11700 E COLD SPRING LANEAddressLine1Txt
CityBALTIMORECityNm
State AbbreviationMDStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP21251ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Recipient EIN526002033RecipientEIN
IRC SectionGOVERNMENTIRCSectionDesc
Cash Grant$23,802CashGrantAmt
Non Cash Assistance$0NonCashAssistanceAmt
Purpose Of GrantECONOMIC ADJUSTMENT ASSISTANCEPurposeOfGrantTxt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total501c3 Org1Total501c3OrgCnt
Total Other Org0TotalOtherOrgCnt

Grants Other Asst To Indiv In US GrantsOtherAsstToIndivInUSGrp (3 entries)

Grant TypeGrantTypeTxtRecipientRecipientCntCash GrantCashGrantAmtValuation Method UsedValuationMethodUsedDesc
CLIENT ASSISTANCE-CCAP1119$1,511,963FMV
CLIENT ASSISTANCE-COVID-19260$243,692FMV
CLIENT INCENTIVES50$37,559FMV

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceGrantmaker's Description of How Grants are UsedFormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationCCAPOperation HOPE created a partnership with Fulton Financial Services to provide down payment and closing assistance to low and moderate-income individuals purchasing residential real estate. HOPE will accept referrals from Fulton Financial or other sources. The primary geographical area includes but not limited to Maryland, New Jersey, Pennsylvania and Virginia. The referral applications are reviewed by a HOPE Program manager to determine eligibility and amount of assistance to be provided, which ranges from $1,000 to $2,500. An acceptance letter is generated and returned to the referral source. The referral partner then provides wiring instructions from the closing attorney through secured email. HOPEs accounting department will then create a wire in a bank account maintained at Fulton Bank. Once the wire is entered, an approval code is sent to the CFO. The CFO will then approve the wire and release of funds to the closing attorney.Covid-19 Mini GrantsWith the onset of the global pandemic and a surge in unemployment, Operation HOPE created our COVID-19 mini-grant program to assist our clients to focus on long-term financial health vs. their immediate financial crisis. Clients submitted applications through a private portal provided by their financial wellbeing coaches. HOPEs administration department reviewed applications for compliance with predetermined qualification criteria. Once approved, the administration department would work with the client to obtain support to process payments directly to their landlords, utility or credit card companies. Accounting received the requests and supporting documents to review and process payments. The CFO provided payment approvals prior to distribution of funds.Client IncentivesOPERATION HOPE PROVIDED AN INCENTIVE TO WINNING PARTICIPANTS IN A PITCH COMPETITION HELD IN DECEMBER 2021. PARTICIPANTS PITCHED THEIR BUSINESSES TO A PANEL OF EXPERT JUDGES. THE JUDGES RANKED THE VARIOUS WINNERS WHO WOULD THEN RECEIVE THE INCENTIVE. THE LIST OF WINNERS AND SUPPORTING DOCUMENTATION WERE PROVIDED TO THE ACCOUNTING DEPARTMENT FROM THE HOPE COACH OVER THE PROGRAM TO REVIEW AND PROCESS THE PAYMENTS. THE CFO PROVIDED PAYMENT APPROVALS PRIOR TO DISTRIBUTION OF FUNDS.ExplanationTxt

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Substantiation RequiredYes (true)SubstantiationRequiredInd
Compensation CommitteeYes (X)CompensationCommitteeInd
Written Employment ContractYes (X)WrittenEmploymentContractInd
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance PaymentfalseSeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr PlanfalseSupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp ArrngmfalseEquityBasedCompArrngmInd
Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng OrgfalseCompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd On Rev Related OrgsfalseCompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng OrgfalseCompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd OrgsfalseCompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd
Any Non Fixed PaymentsfalseAnyNonFixedPaymentsInd
Initial Contract ExceptionfalseInitialContractExceptionInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (9 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmt
BRIAN BETTS
PRESIDENT/CFO$270,421$65,000$8,700$5,645$349,766
ELAINE HUNGENBERG
EVP, HOPE RESEARCH AND IMPACT$144,879$22,500$4,189$257$171,825
JENNIFER WOLFORD
EVP, CHIEF OPERATING OFFICER$183,527$4,159$57$187,743
JOHN BRYANT
Chairman/CEO$520,197$39,750$8,700$8,703$577,350
KEVIN BOUCHER
EVP, RELATIONSHIP MANAGEMENT DIRECT$148,416$35,000$917$149$184,482
LANCE TRIGGS
EVP, PROGRAMS$168,477$42,500$1,112$8,703$220,792
MARY HAGERTY
EVP, PARTNERSHIP$168,397$45,000$6,750$8,703$228,850
NICOLE PIETRO
SVP, CHIEF DEVELOPMENT OFFICER$161,935$603$57$162,595
RACHAEL DOFF
SEVP/CAO$214,503$62,500$6,886$5,620$289,509

Schedule L IRS990ScheduleL

Bus Tr Involve Interested Prsn BusTrInvolveInterestedPrsnGrp

Name Of Interested NameOfInterested

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonJOHN BRYANTPersonNm
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Relationship DescriptionFOUNDER, CHAIR,CEORelationshipDescriptionTxt
Transaction$39,164TransactionAmt
TransactionSEE PART VTransactionDesc
Sharing Of RevenuesfalseSharingOfRevenuesInd

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSchedule L, Part V Supplemental InformationFormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationThe Promise Homes CompanyOperation HOPE received $25,000 and $0 in membership from The Promise Homes Company (TPHC) in 2021 and 2020 respectively. As a member, TPHC provided their residents with access to Operation HOPEs financial coaching services.Operation HOPE received $2,414 and $18,314 in 2021 and 2020 respectively for rent and office expenses associated with two workspaces provided for The Promise Homes Company. Operation HOPE received $11,750 and $0 in 2021 and 2020 respectively for HOPE Inside Adult workshops and sessions as well as Youth programming to residents of The Promise Homes Company.The Founder, Chairman and CEO of Operation HOPE served in a similar capacity with The Promise Homes Company (TPHC), which is an owner of single-family residential properties for working class and middle-class communities. He is also an employee and receives compensation from TPHC. There is also an individual that serves on both boards.John and Chaitra BryantOperation HOPE received a multi-year pledge of $2,500,000 from John and Chaitra Bryant in 2021.The pledge was restricted to $1,250,000 directed to the benefit of employees, $750,000 to fund Operation HOPEs endowment, $200,000 for Operation HOPEs One Million Black Businesses (1MBB) initiative, $200,000 for Operation HOPEs Financial Literacy For All (FL4A) initiative, and $100,000 for capacity building.Board MembersHOPEs board members included representatives from banks where the debt is held.Many of HOPEs board members are representatives from banks where HOPEs programs are offered. As part of the program, HOPE has donated office space at some bank locations. In addition, the banks make annual donations to HOPE for these programs.ExplanationTxt

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (7 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Form 990, Part VI, Line 4: Description of Significant Changes to Organizational DocumentsThe By-law changes pertain to:1. Establishment of board classes (Class i, Class II, and Class III)2. Statement that the board terms are based on the calendar year.3. Board giving (give or get) without mention of amount expectations. BOard giving also establishes the director as a hope member. Articles of Incorporation were updated to expand the service offering and remove the geographical coverage area.
Form 990, Part VI, Line 11b: Form 990 Review ProcessTHE 990 IS REVIEWED AND APPROVED BY THE CFO AND AUDIT COMMITTEE PRIOR TO SUBMISSION TO THE GOVERNING BOARD FOR FINAL APPROVAL BEFORE FILING.
Form 990, Part VI, Line 12c: Explanation of Monitoring and Enforcement of ConflictsDirectors are required to submit conflict of interest questionnaires to the board's governance comittee. Directors are also requested to notify the full board if any conflicts of interest arises between surveys.
Form 990, Part VI, Line 15a: Compensation Review & Approval Process - CEO, Top Managementthe exec compensation committee of the board of directors reviews the compensation annually for the officers and executive leadership.
Form 990, Part VI, Line 15b: Compensation Review and Approval Process for Officers and Key Employeesthe exec compensation committee of the board of directors reviews the compensation annually for the officers and executive leadership.
Form 990, Part VI, Line 19: Other Organization Documents Publicly AvailableTHE ORGANIZATION'S ACCOUNTANT PROVIDES A COPY OF FORM 990 SPECIFICALLY FOR PUBLIC INSPECTION. THE ORGANIZATION POSTS A COPY OF FORM 990 TO GUIDESTAR.ORG. THIS COPY IS ALSO AVAILABLE UPON REQUEST.
Other Changes In Net Assets Or Fund Balances - Other DecreasesBAD DEBT = -$50000

Schedule R IRS990ScheduleR

Id Disregarded Entities IdDisregardedEntitiesGrp

Disregarded Entity Name DisregardedEntityName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1HOPE ADVISORS LLCBusinessNameLine1Txt

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1191 PEACHTREE ST NE STE 3840AddressLine1Txt
CityATLANTACityNm
State AbbreviationGAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP30303ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN208380765EIN
Primary ActivitiesCONSULTINGPrimaryActivitiesTxt
Legal Domicile StateGALegalDomicileStateCd

Direct Controlling Entity Name DirectControllingEntityName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1OPERATION HOPE INCBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Receipt Of Int Annts Rnts RyltsfalseReceiptOfIntAnntsRntsRyltsInd
Gift Grnt Or Cap Contri To Oth OrgfalseGiftGrntOrCapContriToOthOrgInd
Gift Grnt Cap Contri From Oth OrgfalseGiftGrntCapContriFromOthOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees To Other OrgfalseLoansOrGuaranteesToOtherOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees From Oth OrgfalseLoansOrGuaranteesFromOthOrgInd
Div Related OrganizationfalseDivRelatedOrganizationInd
Asset Sale To Other OrgfalseAssetSaleToOtherOrgInd
Asset Purchase From Other OrgfalseAssetPurchaseFromOtherOrgInd
Asset ExchangefalseAssetExchangeInd
Rental Of Facilities To Oth OrgfalseRentalOfFacilitiesToOthOrgInd
Rental Of Fclts From Oth OrgfalseRentalOfFcltsFromOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services For Oth OrgfalsePerformOfServicesForOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services By Other OrgfalsePerformOfServicesByOtherOrgInd
Sharing Of FacilitiesfalseSharingOfFacilitiesInd
Paid Employees SharingfalsePaidEmployeesSharingInd
Reimbursement Paid To Other OrgfalseReimbursementPaidToOtherOrgInd
Reimbursement Paid By Other OrgfalseReimbursementPaidByOtherOrgInd
Transfer To Other OrgfalseTransferToOtherOrgInd
Transfer From Other OrgfalseTransferFromOtherOrgInd

Comments

Anonymous: no account or email. Up to 2,000 characters, at most one link. Comments are checked automatically; some wait for review.