UNIVERSITY OF MARY WASHINGTON FOUNDATION: Form 990, tax year 2020

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
UNIVERSITY OF MARY WASHINGTON FOUNDATION (EIN 54-0169627)
Tax period
2020-07-01 to 2021-06-30
Filed
2022-05-13
IRS object ID
202201339349301405
Schema version
2020v4.2
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2022-05-13T07:12:12-05:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2021-06-30TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN560574444PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1CHERRY BEKAERT LLPBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1200 SOUTH 10TH ST STE 900AddressLine1Txt
CityRICHMONDCityNm
State AbbreviationVAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP23219ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2020-07-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN540169627EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1UNIVERSITY OF MARY WASHINGTON FOUNDATIONBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlUNIVBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone5404791893PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line11125 EMANCIPATION HIGHWAY NO 200AddressLine1Txt
CityFREDERICKSBURGCityNm
State AbbreviationVAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP22401ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonGREGORY A BRANNERPersonNm
Person TitleCFO/TREASURERPersonTitleTxt
Phone5404791892PhoneNum
Signature2022-05-10SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (1)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Signing Officer SigningOfficerGrp

Person Full Name PersonFullName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Person FirstGREGORYPersonFirstNm
Person LastBRANNERPersonLastNm
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
SSN999009999SSN

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonAMANDA ADAMSPreparerPersonNm
PTINP00748038PTIN
Phone8046735700PhoneNum

Additional Filer Information AdditionalFilerInformation

Trusted Customer TrustedCustomerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Trusted Customer2TrustedCustomerCd
Authentication Assurance LevelAAL1AuthenticationAssuranceLevelCd
Identity Assurance LevelIAL1IdentityAssuranceLevelCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2020TaxYr
Build TS2022-09-23 18:48:47ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address ChangeYes (X)AddressChangeInd
Principal OfficerJEFF W ROUNTREEPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line11125 EMANCIPATION HIGHWAY NO 200AddressLine1Txt
CityFREDERICKSBURGCityNm
State AbbreviationVAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP22401ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$127,261,126GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For Affiliates0GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501c3Yes (X)Organization501c3Ind
Website AddressWWW.UMWF.ORGWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1975FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateVALegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionTO RECEIVE, HOLD, AND ADMINISTER FUNDS AND PROPERTY OF ALL KINDS, FOR THE FURTHERANCE OF THE OBJECTIVES OF THE UNIVERSITY OF MARY WASHINGTON.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Contract TerminationYes (X)ContractTerminationInd
Voting Members Governing Body37VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent37VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee5TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers0TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$2,432,426TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$0NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$7,859,927PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$5,723,783CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$7,778,278PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$5,695,907CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$1,888,267PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$35,892,830CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$2,388,563PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$228,880CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$19,915,035PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$47,541,400CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$4,447,579PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$3,626,509CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$0PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$2,572,470PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$1,978,634CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$259,549CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$11,796,177PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$8,498,881CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$18,816,226PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$14,104,024CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$1,098,809PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$33,437,376CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$186,636,934TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$131,725,158TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$159,067,619TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$54,118,253TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$27,569,315NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$77,606,905NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
MissionTO RECEIVE, HOLD, INVEST, ADMINISTER AND DISTRIBUTE FUNDS AND PROPERTY OF ALL KINDS, EXCLUSIVELY IN FURTHERANCE OF THE EDUCATIONAL ACTIVITIES AND OBJECTIVES OF THE UNIVERSITY OF MARY WASHINGTON.MissionDesc
Significant New Program Srvc0SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant Change0SignificantChangeInd
Expense$12,393,434ExpenseAmt
Grant$3,626,509GrantAmt
Revenue$5,695,907RevenueAmt
DescTHE UMW FOUNDATION SERVES AS THE PRIVATE ASSET MANAGER FOR THE UNIVERSITY OF MARY WASHINGTON. THE FOUNDATION MANAGES ALL OF THE UNIVERSITY'S PRIVATELY DONATED CASH AND INVESTMENTS AS WELL AS BEING ENGAGED IN REAL ESTATE ACQUISITION, DEVELOPMENT AND MANAGEMENT ON BEHALF OF THE INSTITUTION.Desc
Total Program Service Expenses$12,393,434TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt
Described In Section501c3Yes (1)DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B RequiredYes (1)ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign Acty0PoliticalCampaignActyInd
Lobbying ActivitiesYes (1)LobbyingActivitiesInd
Subject To Proxy Tax0SubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised Fund0DonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation Easements0ConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of Art0CollectionsOfArtInd
Credit Counseling0CreditCounselingInd
Donor Rstr Or Quasi EndowmentsYes (1)DonorRstrOrQuasiEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (1)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other SecYes (1)ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related Invst0ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other Assets0ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (1)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 Footnote0IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl Stmt0IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School Operating0SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign Office0ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign ActivitiesYes (1)ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To Org0MoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To Individuals0MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional Fundraising0ProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising Activities0FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming Activities0GamingActivitiesInd
Operate Hospital0OperateHospitalInd
Grants To OrganizationsYes (1)GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To Individuals0GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (1)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt BondsYes (1)TaxExemptBondsInd
Invest Tax Exempt Bonds0InvestTaxExemptBondsInd
Escrow Account0EscrowAccountInd
On Behalf Of Issuer0OnBehalfOfIssuerInd
Engaged In Excess Benefit Trans0EngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd
PY Excess Benefit Trans0PYExcessBenefitTransInd
Loan Outstanding0LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related Person0GrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org Mem0BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam Mem0BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With35 Ctrl Ent0BusinessRlnWith35CtrlEntInd
Deductible Non Cash ContriYes (1)DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art ContributionYes (1)DeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate Operations0TerminateOperationsInd
Partial LiquidationYes (1)PartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded EntityYes (1)DisregardedEntityInd
Related Entity0RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl Ent0RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd Org0TrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd
Activities Conducted Prtshp0ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (1)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document93IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (1)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee5EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (1)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over LimitYes (1)UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Form990 T FiledYes (1)Form990TFiledInd
Foreign Financial Account0ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans0ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party Notification0TaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible Contributions0NondeductibleContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo Contributions0QuidProQuoContributionsInd
Form8282 Property Disposed Of0Form8282PropertyDisposedOfInd
Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0RcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0PayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Indoor Tanning Services0IndoorTanningServicesInd
Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht Pymt0SubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd
Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst Inc0SubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members37GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member37IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business Rln0FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt Duties0DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org Documents0ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or Misuse0MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or Stockholders0MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board Members0ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To Approva0DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (1)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (1)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing Address0OfficerMailingAddressInd
Local Chapters0LocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (1)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (1)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (1)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (1)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (1)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (1)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (1)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (1)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint Venture0InvestmentInJointVentureInd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldVAStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
Own WebsiteYes (X)OwnWebsiteInd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1GREGORY A BRANNERBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Phone5404791893PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line11125 EMANCIPATION HWY STE 200AddressLine1Txt
CityFREDERICKSBURGCityNm
State AbbreviationVAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP22401ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (40 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd
EDWARD V ALLISON JR
CHAIRMAN0.30Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
DORI EGLEVSKY
VICE CHAIRMAN0.30Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
KATHLEEN S MEHFOUD
IMMEDIATE PAST CHAIRMAN0.30Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
ROBERT J BARRY
SECRETARY0.10Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
ABAS ADENAN
DIRECTOR0.10Yes (X)$0$0$0
MONA D ALBERTINE
DIRECTOR0.10Yes (X)$0$0$0
LLOYD T BACKSTROM
DIRECTOR0.10Yes (X)$0$0$0
JENNIFER BLAIR
DIRECTOR0.10Yes (X)$0$0$0
ROSS BIERKAN
DIRECTOR0.10Yes (X)$0$0$0
LISA J BOWLING
DIRECTOR0.10Yes (X)$0$0$0
SUE BRIDI
DIRECTOR0.10Yes (X)$0$0$0
MICHAEL A CIRAMI
DIRECTOR0.10Yes (X)$0$0$0
DANIEL CLENDENIN
DIRECTOR0.10Yes (X)$0$0$0
HEATHER M CRISLIP
DIRECTOR0.10Yes (X)$0$0$0
KEVIN ELY
DIRECTOR0.10Yes (X)$0$0$0
SAMUEL C HARDING JR
DIRECTOR0.10Yes (X)$0$0$0
FORIAN N HOFER
DIRECTOR0.10Yes (X)$0$0$0
LEE E KELLEY
DIRECTOR0.10Yes (X)$0$0$0
PATRICIA B KEMP
DIRECTOR0.10Yes (X)$0$0$0
DIANA R LIVINGSTON
DIRECTOR0.10Yes (X)$0$0$0
CAROL M MARTEL
DIRECTOR0.10Yes (X)$0$0$0
PAUL MESSPLAY
DIRECTOR0.10Yes (X)$0$0$0
DONALD H NEWLIN
DIRECTOR0.10Yes (X)$0$0$0
TROY D PAINO
DIRECTOR0.10Yes (X)$0$0$0
ANDREW PAINTER
DIRECTOR0.10Yes (X)$0$0$0
JAMES H REVERE
DIRECTOR0.10Yes (X)$0$0$0
XAVIER R RICHARDSON
DIRECTOR0.10Yes (X)$0$0$0
MONECIA H SHELTON
DIRECTOR0.10Yes (X)$0$0$0
LISA B SOLTIS
DIRECTOR0.10Yes (X)$0$0$0
ANNE MARIE STEEN
DIRECTOR0.10Yes (X)$0$0$0
STEVE STEINBERG
DIRECTOR0.10Yes (X)$0$0$0
SARAH STRASSHEIM
DIRECTOR0.10Yes (X)$0$0$0
LESLIE TILGHMAN
DIRECTOR0.10Yes (X)$0$0$0
SEAN M TUFFY
DIRECTOR0.10Yes (X)$0$0$0
H CONRAD WARLICK
DIRECTOR0.10Yes (X)$0$0$0
VICKY WILDER
DIRECTOR0.10Yes (X)$0$0$0
SYLVIA H M WOODCOCK
DIRECTOR0.10Yes (X)$0$0$0
JEFF W ROUNTREE
CEO65.00Yes (X)$301,879$0$45,259
GREGORY A BRANNER
CFO/TREASURER60.00Yes (X)$149,385$0$39,785
SHANNON C WILLIAMS
CONTROLLER45.00$100,271$0$12,707Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$551,535TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$97,751TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K3IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees Listed0FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (1)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other Srcs0CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (3 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
TENNIS COURTS INC
PO BOX 297AYLETTVA23009TENNIS COURT RESURFACING AND REPAIR$843,095
MINDPOWER INC
337 GEORGIA AVENUE SEATLANTAGA30312CONSULTING UNIVERSITY BRANDING$295,847
ARTEMIS WEALTH ADVISORS LLC
168 5TH AVENEW YORKNY10010INVESTMENT CONSULTING$275,099
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K3CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
All Other Contributions$5,723,783AllOtherContributionsAmt
Noncash Contributions$149,214NoncashContributionsAmt
Total Contributions$5,723,783TotalContributionsAmt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (2 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
STUDENT DORM RENTAL532000$5,009,786$5,009,786
UNIVERSITY RENTAL INCOME532000$686,121$686,121
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$5,695,907TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$962,459TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$19,358UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$943,101ExclusionAmt

Gross Rents GrossRentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$2,346,400RealAmt

Less Rental Expenses LessRentalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$4,620,740RealAmt

Rental Income Or Loss RentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real-$2,274,340RealAmt

Net Rental Income Or Loss NetRentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column-$2,274,340TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion-$2,274,340ExclusionAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$17,762,030SecuritiesAmt
Other$92,267,327OtherAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$15,633,627SecuritiesAmt
Other$59,465,359OtherAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$2,128,403SecuritiesAmt
Other$32,801,968OtherAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$34,930,371TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$34,930,371ExclusionAmt

Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescHOTELDesc
Business721110BusinessCd
Total Revenue Column$2,413,068TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$2,413,068UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt

Miscellaneous Revenue MiscellaneousRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$90,152TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$90,152ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total$2,503,220OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$47,541,400TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$5,695,907RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$2,432,426UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$33,689,284ExclusionAmt

Grants To Domestic Orgs GrantsToDomesticOrgsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,626,509TotalAmt
Program Services$3,626,509ProgramServicesAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$631,716TotalAmt
Management And General$631,716ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,216,890TotalAmt
Program Services$1,150,482ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$66,304ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$104FundraisingAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$19,116TotalAmt
Program Services$19,116ProgramServicesAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$110,912TotalAmt
Program Services$70,288ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$40,615ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$9FundraisingAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$48,988TotalAmt
Management And General$48,988ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$60,938TotalAmt
Management And General$60,938ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Srvc Invst Mgmnt Fees FeesForSrvcInvstMgmntFeesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$461,074TotalAmt
Management And General$461,074ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$281,826TotalAmt
Program Services$240,588ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$41,238ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$277,592TotalAmt
Program Services$246,719ProgramServicesAmt
Fundraising$30,873FundraisingAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$52,599TotalAmt
Management And General$52,599ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$728TotalAmt
Fundraising$728FundraisingAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,594,573TotalAmt
Program Services$1,594,573ProgramServicesAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$43,220TotalAmt
Fundraising$43,220FundraisingAmt

Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$9,137TotalAmt
Fundraising$9,137FundraisingAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,847,039TotalAmt
Program Services$2,846,907ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$132ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,884,490TotalAmt
Program Services$1,882,951ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$623ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$916FundraisingAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$348,260TotalAmt
Program Services$335,614ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$12,646ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmtProgram ServicesProgramServicesAmtFundraisingFundraisingAmt
REAL ESTATE TAXES$236,536$236,536
DEPARTMENTAL OPERATING$174,562$174,562
HOTEL FOOD & BEVERAGE$90,137$90,137
BOND AND TRUSTEE FEES$50,637$50,637

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$36,545TotalAmt
Program Services$2,377ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$34,168ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$14,104,024TotalAmt
Program Services$12,393,434ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$1,451,041ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$259,549FundraisingAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$5,024,251BOYAmt
EOY$5,909,604EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$7,296,990BOYAmt
EOY$2,626,809EOYAmt

Pledges And Grants Receivable PledgesAndGrantsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$785,777BOYAmt
EOY$834,207EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$972,079BOYAmt
EOY$934,788EOYAmt

Oth Notes Loans Receivable Net OthNotesLoansReceivableNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$75,000BOYAmt
EOY$75,000EOYAmt

Inventories For Sale Or Use InventoriesForSaleOrUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,426BOYAmt
EOY$1,704EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$310,641BOYAmt
EOY$353,657EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$73,749,668LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$17,422,245LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$118,768,700BOYAmt
EOY$56,327,423EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$44,908,467BOYAmt
EOY$55,013,320EOYAmt

Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$7,051,469BOYAmt
EOY$8,390,335EOYAmt

Intangible Assets IntangibleAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$304,861BOYAmt
EOY$251,613EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,137,273BOYAmt
EOY$1,006,698EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$186,636,934BOYAmt
EOY$131,725,158EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,093,498BOYAmt
EOY$543,798EOYAmt

Deferred Revenue DeferredRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$374,938BOYAmt
EOY$366,891EOYAmt

Tax Exempt Bond Liabilities TaxExemptBondLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$77,315,000BOYAmt
EOY$1,710,612EOYAmt

Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$48,466,707BOYAmt
EOY$47,632,368EOYAmt

Unsecured Notes Loans Payable UnsecuredNotesLoansPayableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$279,320BOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$31,538,156BOYAmt
EOY$3,864,584EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$159,067,619BOYAmt
EOY$54,118,253EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Organization Follows FASB117Yes (X)OrganizationFollowsFASB117Ind

No Donor Restriction Net Assets NoDonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY-$46,263,768BOYAmt
EOY-$8,504,674EOYAmt

Donor Restriction Net Assets DonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$73,833,083BOYAmt
EOY$86,111,579EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$27,569,315BOYAmt
EOY$77,606,905EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$186,636,934BOYAmt
EOY$131,725,158EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part XIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$33,437,376ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst$8,492,951NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets$8,107,263OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or Review0AccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (1)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Consolidated Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)ConsolidatedBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (1)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit Required0FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd

Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
College OrganizationYes (X)CollegeOrganizationInd

Gifts Grants Contri Rcvd170 GiftsGrantsContriRcvd170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$5,847,449CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$4,871,076CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$5,365,105CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$7,859,927CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$5,723,783CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$29,667,340TotalAmt

Govt Furn Srvc Fclts Vl170 GovtFurnSrvcFcltsVl170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$1,426,795CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$1,582,848CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$1,547,576CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$1,491,893CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$1,352,746CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$7,401,858TotalAmt

Total Calendar Year170 TotalCalendarYear170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$7,274,244CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$6,453,924CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$6,912,681CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$9,351,820CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$7,076,529CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$37,069,198TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Substantial Contributors Tot$4,132,687SubstantialContributorsTotAmt
Public Support Total170$32,936,511PublicSupportTotal170Amt

Gross Investment Income170 GrossInvestmentIncome170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$3,444,545CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$3,515,856CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$3,364,664CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$3,290,367CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$3,308,859CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$16,924,291TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Support$53,993,489TotalSupportAmt
Gross Receipts Rltd Activities$40,480,420GrossReceiptsRltdActivitiesAmt
Public Support CY1700.61000PublicSupportCY170Pct
Public Support PY1700.59480PublicSupportPY170Pct
Thirty Thr Pct Suprt Tests CY170Yes (X)ThirtyThrPctSuprtTestsCY170Ind

Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB

Contributor Information ContributorInformationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
ContributorRESTRICTEDContributorNum

Contributor Business Name ContributorBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1RESTRICTEDBusinessNameLine1

Contributor US Address ContributorUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1RESTRICTEDAddressLine1
Address Line2RESTRICTEDAddressLine2
CityRESTRICTEDCity
StateRESTRICTEDState
ZIP CodeRESTRICTEDZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total ContributionsRESTRICTEDTotalContributionsAmt

Schedule C IRS990ScheduleC

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Volunteers0VolunteersInd
Paid Staff Or Management0PaidStaffOrManagementInd
Media Advertisements0MediaAdvertisementsInd
Mailings Members0MailingsMembersInd
Publications Or Broadcast0PublicationsOrBroadcastInd
Grants Other Organizations0GrantsOtherOrganizationsInd
Direct Contact LegislatorsYes (1)DirectContactLegislatorsInd
Direct Contact Legislators$55,100DirectContactLegislatorsAmt
Rallies Demonstrations0RalliesDemonstrationsInd
Other Activities0OtherActivitiesInd
Total Lobbying Expenditures$55,100TotalLobbyingExpendituresAmt
Not Described Section501c30NotDescribedSection501c3Ind

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePART II-B, LINE 1:FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationDURING THIS FISCAL YEAR, THE STATE LEGISLATURE WAS CONSIDERING BILLS TO PROVIDE FUNDING TO THE UNIVERSITY OF MARY WASHINGTON AND OTHER HIGHER EDUCATION INSTITUTIONS IN VIRGINIA. THE FOUNDATION, ON BEHALF OF THE UNIVERSITY, SUPPORTED THE COST OF CONSULTANTS WHO MADE DIRECT CONTACT WITH MEMBERS OF THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OR THEIR STAFF. THE CONSULTANTS ALSO MONITORED LEGISLATION AND ADVISED UNIVERSITY MANAGEMENT OF THE STATUS OF THE LEGISLATION. ALSO INCLUDED ARE OUT-OF-POCKET COSTS PAID TO THE CONSULTANTS FOR COPYING, PHONE CALLS AND LOBBYIST'S REGISTRATION FEES.ExplanationTxt

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

CY Endwmt Fund CYEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$58,837,581BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$3,520,722ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$10,365,338InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$1,590,198OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$71,133,443EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus1 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus1YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$55,478,737BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$2,294,132ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$2,781,566InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$1,716,854OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$58,837,581EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus2 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus2YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$51,841,274BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$2,779,803ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$2,494,644InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$1,636,984OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$55,478,737EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus3 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus3YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$49,208,514BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$2,236,407ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$2,325,977InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$1,929,624OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$51,841,274EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus4 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus4YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$43,653,068BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$3,773,647ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$4,162,936InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$2,381,137OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$49,208,514EndYearBalanceAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Prmnnt Endowment Balance EOY1.00000PrmnntEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Endowments Held Unrelated Org0EndowmentsHeldUnrelatedOrgInd
Endowments Held Related Org0EndowmentsHeldRelatedOrgInd

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Investment Cost Or Other Basis$11,176,264InvestmentCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Other Cost Or Other Basis$20,009,607OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$31,185,871BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Investment Cost Or Other Basis$20,255,585InvestmentCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Other Cost Or Other Basis$14,021,464OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$10,326,220DepreciationAmt
Book Value$23,950,829BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Investment Cost Or Other Basis$3,417,694InvestmentCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Other Cost Or Other Basis$139,334OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$3,314,844DepreciationAmt
Book Value$242,184BookValueAmt

Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Investment Cost Or Other Basis$2,508,811InvestmentCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Other Cost Or Other Basis$2,220,909OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$3,781,181DepreciationAmt
Book Value$948,539BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$56,327,423TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Other Securities OtherSecuritiesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescBook ValueBookValueAmtMethod ValuationMethodValuationCd
HEDGE FUNDS$4,992,919F
PRIVATE EQUITY FUNDS$495,996F
REAL ASSET FUNDS$2,813,381F
STOCK FUNDS$88,039F
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Securities$8,390,335TotalBookValueSecuritiesAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (3 entries)

DescDescAmtAmt
GIFT ANNUITY LIABILITY$578,647
OTHER LIABILITIES$252,568
DUE TO UNIVERSITY OF MARY WASHINGTON$3,033,369
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$3,864,584TotalLiabilityAmt
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$69,654,026TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Net Unrealized Gains Invst$8,492,951NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt
Donated Services And Use Fclts$1,352,746DonatedServicesAndUseFcltsAmt
Other Revenue$8,107,263OtherRevenueAmt
Revenue Not Reported$17,952,960RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$51,701,066RevenueSubtotalAmt
Investment Expenses Not Incld$461,074InvestmentExpensesNotIncldAmt
Other Revenues Not Included-$4,620,740OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt-$4,159,666RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$47,541,400TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$19,616,436TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Donated Services Use Fclts$1,352,746DonatedServicesUseFcltsAmt
Other Expenses Included$4,620,740OtherExpensesIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Reported$5,973,486ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$13,642,950ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Investment Expenses Not Incld2$461,074InvestmentExpensesNotIncld2Amt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$461,074ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$14,104,024TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (4 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
PART V, LINE 4:THE FOUNDATION'S ENDOWMENT CONSISTS OF MULTIPLE FUNDS. THE ENDOWED FUNDS ARE ALL DONOR-RESTRICTED ENDOWMENTS CONSISTING OF STUDENT SCHOLARSHIPS AND AWARDS, FACULTY SUPPORT, AND OTHER SUPPORT OF THE ARTS AND PROGRAM OPERATIONS. THE ENDOWMENT ALSO INCLUDES TWO PARCELS OF REAL ESTATE THAT ARE RESTRICTED AS TO USE. THE PERCENTAGE REPORTED FOR PERMANENT ENDOWMENTS INCLUDES AMOUNTS THAT MUST BE MAINTAINED IN PERPETUITY AS WELL AS ACCUMULATED EARNINGS ON SUCH AMOUNTS THAT HAVE NOT YET BEEN APPROPRIATED FOR EXPENDITURE.
PART XI, LINE 2D - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:UNREALIZED GAIN ON INTEREST RATE SWAP CONTRACTS 8,121,233. CHANGE IN VALUE OF SPLIT-INTEREST AGREEMENTS -38,138. CHANGE IN CSV LIFE INSURANCE 24,168.
PART XI, LINE 4B - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:RENTAL EXPENSES NETTED AGAINST REVENUE ON RETURN -4,620,740.
PART XII, LINE 2D - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:RENTAL EXPENSES NETTED AGAINST REVENUE ON RETURN 4,620,740.

Schedule F IRS990ScheduleF

Account Activities Outside US AccountActivitiesOutsideUSGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
RegionCENTRAL AMERICA AND THE CARIBBEANRegionTxt
Offices0OfficesCnt
Employee0EmployeeCnt
Type Of Activities ConductedINVESTMENTSTypeOfActivitiesConductedTxt
Region Total Expenditures$5,080,958RegionTotalExpendituresAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Subtotal Offices0SubtotalOfficesCnt
Subtotal Employees0SubtotalEmployeesCnt
Continuation Total Office0ContinuationTotalOfficeCnt
Continuation Total Employee0ContinuationTotalEmployeeCnt
Total Office0TotalOfficeCnt
Total Employee0TotalEmployeeCnt
Subtotal Spent$5,080,958SubtotalSpentAmt
Continuation Spent$0ContinuationSpentAmt
Total Spent$5,080,958TotalSpentAmt
Transfer To Foreign CorpYes (1)TransferToForeignCorpInd
Interest In Foreign Trust0InterestInForeignTrustInd
Foreign Corp OwnershipYes (1)ForeignCorpOwnershipInd
Passive Foreign Investmest CoYes (1)PassiveForeignInvestmestCoInd
Foreign PartnershipYes (1)ForeignPartnershipInd
Boycott Countries0BoycottCountriesInd

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
PART I, LINE 3:AMOUNT REPORTED IN PART I REPRESENTS THE FAIR MARKET VALUE OF INVESTMENTS HELD IN THE REGION AS OF THE END OF THE FOUNDATION'S FISCAL YEAR.
PART III ACCOUNTING METHOD:

Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant Records MaintainedYes (1)GrantRecordsMaintainedInd

Recipient Table RecipientTable (2 entries)

Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityUSAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPUSAddress/ZIPCdRecipient EINRecipientEINIRC SectionIRCSectionDescCash GrantCashGrantAmtPurpose Of GrantPurposeOfGrantTxt
UNIVERSITY OF MARY WASHINGTON
1301 COLLEGE AVENUEFREDERICKSBURGVA22401546001757170(B)(1)(A)(V)$3,516,728STUDENT SCHOLARSHIPS, FACULTY AWARDS AND OTHER SUPPORT OF UNIVERSITY SERVICES
UNIVERSITY OF MARY WASHINGTON ALUMNI ASSOCIATION
1119 HANOVER STREETFREDERICKSBURGVA22401540471667501(C)(3)$109,781DONATION TO SUPPORT UNIVERSITY SERVICES AND PROGRAMS
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total501c3 Org2Total501c3OrgCnt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePART I, LINE 2:FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationUMW PROVIDES ADEQUATE DOCUMENTATION AND AUDIT TRAILS FOR SCHOLARSHIP PAYMENTS TO STUDENTS. THE UNIVERSITY DEPARTMENT OF FINANCIAL AID IS RESPONSIBLE FOR DETERMINING ELIGIBILITY OF STUDENTS UNDER TERMS OF ENDOWMENTS, AND FOR AWARDING FINANCIAL AID THROUGH THE DEPARTMENT OF STUDENT ACCOUNTS. THE FOUNDATION FIRST ADVANCES THE UNIVERSITY THE DESIGNATED AMOUNT OF FUNDS WHICH ALLOWS THE UNIVERSITY TO PAY OUT THE SCHOLARSHIPS. ALL DISBURSEMENTS ARE APPROVED BY THE CEO OF THE FOUNDATION. THE FOUNDATION PERIODICALLY COMPARES THE UMW SCHOLARSHIP SYSTEM REPORT WHICH SHOWS WHAT THE UNIVERSITY HAS PAID OUT TO THE FOUNDATION'S SCHOLARSHIPS AND AWARD PAYMENT HISTORY. DIFFERENCES ARE INVESTIGATED AND CORRECTED. OTHER ASSISTANCE TO THE UNIVERSITY IS APPROVED IN ADVANCE OF FUNDING TO THE UNIVERSITY OR PAID DIRECTLY BY THE FOUNDATION ON THE UNIVERSITY'S BEHALF.ExplanationTxt

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Compensation CommitteeYes (X)CompensationCommitteeInd
Written Employment ContractYes (X)WrittenEmploymentContractInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance Payment0SeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr PlanYes (1)SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp Arrngm0EquityBasedCompArrngmInd
Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng Org0CompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd On Rev Related Orgs0CompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng Org0CompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd Orgs0CompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd
Any Non Fixed Payments0AnyNonFixedPaymentsInd
Initial Contract Exception0InitialContractExceptionInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (2 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
JEFF W ROUNTREE
CEO$241,871$0$0$0$60,008$0$33,289$0$11,970$0$347,138$0$60,008$0
GREGORY A BRANNER
CFO/TREASURER$149,385$0$0$0$0$0$17,024$0$22,761$0$189,170$0$0$0

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePART I, LINE 4BFormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationTHE FOUNDATION ESTABLISHED A NON-QUALIFIED DEFERRED COMPENSATION 457(F) PLAN FOR ITS CEO DURING FYE 2017. DURING 6/30/2021, THE FOUNDATION DID NOT MAKE CONTRIBUTION TO THE PLAN. IN JULY, 2020, THE CEO BECAME VESTED IN $60,008 WHICH WAS DISTRIBUTED FROM THE PLAN AND TREATED AS TAXABLE COMPENSATION TO HIM.ExplanationTxt

Schedule K IRS990ScheduleK

Tax Exempt Bonds Issues TaxExemptBondsIssuesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond ReferenceABondReferenceCd

Issuer Name IssuerName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1INDUSTRIAL DEVELOPMENT AUTHORITY STAFFORD COUNTYBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond Issuer EIN412119657BondIssuerEIN
CUSIP852412LR4CUSIPNum
Bond Issued2007-08-08BondIssuedDt
Issue Price$2,500,000IssuePriceAmt
Purpose1201 WILLIAM STREET PURCHASE APurposeDesc
Defeased0DefeasedInd
On Behalf Of Issuer0OnBehalfOfIssuerInd
Pool Financing0PoolFinancingInd

Tax Exempt Bonds Proceeds TaxExemptBondsProceedsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond ReferenceABondReferenceCd
Retired$710,000RetiredAmt
Total Proceeds$2,500,000TotalProceedsAmt
Issuance Costs From Proceeds$148,081IssuanceCostsFromProceedsAmt
Capital Expenditures$2,351,919CapitalExpendituresAmt
Substantial Completion2008SubstantialCompletionYr
Refunding Tax Exempt Bonds0RefundingTaxExemptBondsInd
Refunding Taxable Bonds0RefundingTaxableBondsInd
Final Allocation MadeYes (1)FinalAllocationMadeInd
Adequate Books And Rec MaintYes (1)AdequateBooksAndRecMaintInd

Tax Exempt Bonds Private Bus Use TaxExemptBondsPrivateBusUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond ReferenceABondReferenceCd
Owning Bond Financed Property0OwningBondFinancedPropertyInd
Any Lease Arrangements0AnyLeaseArrangementsInd
Mgmt Contract Bond Fincd Prop0MgmtContractBondFincdPropInd
Any Research Agreements0AnyResearchAgreementsInd
Private Bus Use By Others0.00000PrivateBusUseByOthersPct
Private Bus Concerning UBI0.00000PrivateBusConcerningUBIPct
Total Private Business Use0.00000TotalPrivateBusinessUsePct
Bond Iss Meet Prvt Sec Pymt Test0BondIssMeetPrvtSecPymtTestInd
Change In Use Bond Financed Prop0ChangeInUseBondFinancedPropInd
Procs Nonqualified Bond Remdtd0ProcsNonqualifiedBondRemdtdInd

Tax Exempt Bonds Arbitrage TaxExemptBondsArbitrageGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond ReferenceABondReferenceCd
Form8038 T Filed0Form8038TFiledInd
Rebate Not Due Yet0RebateNotDueYetInd
Exception To Rebate0ExceptionToRebateInd
No Rebate DueYes (1)NoRebateDueInd
Variable Rate Issue0VariableRateIssueInd
Hedge Identified In Bks And Rec0HedgeIdentifiedInBksAndRecInd
Gross Proceeds Invested In GIC0GrossProceedsInvestedInGICInd
Gross Proceeds Invested0GrossProceedsInvestedInd
Written Proc To Monitor Reqs0WrittenProcToMonitorReqsInd

Procedures Corrective Action ProceduresCorrectiveActionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond ReferenceABondReferenceCd
Procedures Corrective ActionYes (1)ProceduresCorrectiveActionInd

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceDATE REBATE COMPUTATION PERFORMEDFormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationISSUER NAME: INDUSTRIAL DEVELOPMENT AUTHORITY, STAFFORD COUNTY DATE THE REBATE COMPUTATION WAS PERFORMED: 08/08/2012ExplanationTxt

Schedule M IRS990ScheduleM

Art Historical Treasures ArtHistoricalTreasuresGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Non Cash CheckboxYes (X)NonCashCheckboxInd
Contribution1ContributionCnt
Noncash Contributions Rpt F990$14,000NoncashContributionsRptF990Amt
Method Of Determining RevenuesAPPRAISALMethodOfDeterminingRevenuesTxt

Securities Publicly Traded SecuritiesPubliclyTradedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Non Cash CheckboxYes (X)NonCashCheckboxInd
Contribution45ContributionCnt
Noncash Contributions Rpt F990$135,214NoncashContributionsRptF990Amt
Method Of Determining RevenuesFMVMethodOfDeterminingRevenuesTxt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form8283 Received0Form8283ReceivedCnt
Any Property That Must Be Held0AnyPropertyThatMustBeHeldInd
Review Process Unusual NC GiftsYes (1)ReviewProcessUnusualNCGiftsInd
Third Parties Used0ThirdPartiesUsedInd

Schedule N IRS990ScheduleN

Disposition Of Assets Detail DispositionOfAssetsDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Assets Distri Or Expnss PaidSALE OF STUDENT HOUSING FACILITIES AND A PEDESTRIAN BRIDGEAssetsDistriOrExpnssPaidDesc
Distribution2021-06-30DistributionDt
Fair Market Value Of Asset$92,267,327FairMarketValueOfAssetAmt
Method Of FMV DeterminationSALES PROCEEDSMethodOfFMVDeterminationTxt
EIN546001757EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1UNIVERSITY OF MARY WASHINGTONBusinessNameLine1Txt

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line11301 COLLEGE AVEAddressLine1Txt
CityFREDERICKSBURGCityNm
State AbbreviationVAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP22401ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
IRC SectionGOVERNMENTIRCSectionTxt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Director Of Successor20DirectorOfSuccessor2Ind
Employee Of Successor20EmployeeOfSuccessor2Ind
Owner Of Successor20OwnerOfSuccessor2Ind
Receive Compensation20ReceiveCompensation2Ind

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (6 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 1AS OUTLINED IN THE BYLAWS OF UMW FOUNDATION, THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS IS EMPOWERED TO ACT ON BEHALF OF THE FULL BOARD FOR DECISIONS AND ACTIONS REQUIRED BETWEEN BOARD MEETINGS. IN PRACTICE, MOST EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE ACTIONS RELATE TO REAL ESTATE TRANSACTIONS.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 11BUPON FINAL REVIEW BY THE CFO AND CEO OF THE FOUNDATION, THE 990 (IN DRAFT FORM) WILL BE SUBMITTED SIMULTANEOUSLY TO THE CHAIRMAN OF THE AUDIT COMMITTEE AND ALL MEMBERS OF THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE. THE AUDIT COMMITTEE WILL MAKE ANY NEEDED ALTERATIONS AND APPROVE THE FORM 990 AND FORM 990-T. A COPY OF THE RETURN WILL THEN BE SENT TO THE ENTIRE BOARD OF DIRECTORS PRIOR TO FILING.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 12CAT THE FIRST ANNUAL BOARD MEETING AND AT SUCH OTHER TIMES AS THE BOARD OR COMMITTEE MAY DEEM APPROPRIATE, THE BOARD OR COMMITTEE OF DIRECTORS SHALL CONDUCT A REVIEW OF THE UMW FOUNDATION'S ACTIVITIES TO ENSURE THAT THE FOUNDATION IS OPERATING IN A MANNER CONSISENT WITH ACCOMPLISHING ITS CHARITABLE PURPOSES AND THAT ITS OPERATIONS DO NOT RESULT IN PRIVATE INUREMENT OR IMPERMISSIBLE BENEFIT TO PRIVATE INTEREST.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 15THE BOARD'S COMPENSATION COMMITTEE RESEARCHES VARIOUS SALARY STUDIES FOR COMPARABLE DATA IT USES IN ESTABLISHING THE CEO'S SALARY. THE CEO, IN COLLABORATION WITH THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS, RESEARCHES VARIOUS INDEPENDENT SALARY STUDIES FOR COMPARABLE DATA THE FOUNDATION THEN USES FOR ESTABLISHING THE SALARIES OF OTHER OFFICERS.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION C, LINE 19THE ORGANIZATION MAKES ITS GOVERNING DOCUMENTS, CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY AND FINANCIAL STATEMENTS AVAILABLE TO THE PUBLIC.
FORM 990, PART XI, LINE 9:CHANGE IN VALUE OF SPLIT-INTEREST AGREEMENTS -38,138. UNREALIZED LOSS ON INTEREST RATE SWAP CONTRACTS 8,121,233. CHANGE IN CSV LIFE INSURANCE 24,168.

Schedule R IRS990ScheduleR

Id Disregarded Entities IdDisregardedEntitiesGrp (10 entries)

Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityUSAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPUSAddress/ZIPCdEINEINPrimary ActivitiesPrimaryActivitiesTxtLegal Domicile StateLegalDomicileStateCdTotal IncomeTotalIncomeAmtEnd Of Year AssetsEndOfYearAssetsAmtBusiness Name Line1DirectControllingEntityName/BusinessNameLine1Txt
EAGLE PROPERTY HOLDINGS LLC
1125 EMANCIPATION HIGHWAY STE 200FREDERICKSBURGVA22401300491606REAL ESTATE HOLDING COMPANYVA$353,304$19,058,419UNIVERSITY OF MARY WASHINGTON FOUNDATION
EAGLE HOUSING LLC
1125 EMANCIPATION HIGHWAY STE 200FREDERICKSBURGVA22401263699705STUDENT HOUSING PROJECTS HOLDING COMPANYVA$47,356,345$15,327,002UNIVERSITY OF MARY WASHINGTON FOUNDATION
EAGLE VILLAGE I LLC
1125 EMANCIPATION HIGHWAY STE 200FREDERICKSBURGVA22401261479875RENTAL PROPERTY-RETAILVA$1,153,246$9,176,650EAGLE PROPERTY HOLDINGS LLC
SNOWDEN STREET LLC
1125 EMANCIPATION HIGHWAY STE 200FREDERICKSBURGVA22401300491606REAL ESTATEVA$0$1,753,290EAGLE PROPERTY HOLDINGS LLC
EAGLE PIZZA LLC
1125 EMANCIPATION HIGHWAY STE 200FREDERICKSBURGVA22401271592906REAL ESTATEVA$121,844$2,230,667EAGLE PROPERTY HOLDINGS LLC
EAGLE VILLAGE - ROGER DODGER LLC
1125 EMANCIPATION HIGHWAY STE 200FREDERICKSBURGVA22401261729320REAL ESTATEVA$245,031$2,494,164EAGLE PROPERTY HOLDINGS LLC
TRANSITIONAL PROPERTIES LLC
1125 EMANCIPATION HIGHWAY STE 200FREDERICKSBURGVA22401271592853REAL ESTATEVA$35,625$313,010EAGLE PROPERTY HOLDINGS LLC
EAGLE DEVELOPERS LLC
1125 EMANCIPATION HIGHWAY STE 200FREDERICKSBURGVA22401364710338REAL ESTATE DEVELOPMENTVA$0$0EAGLE PROPERTY HOLDINGS LLC
EAGLE HOSPITALITY LLC
1125 EMANCIPATION HIGHWAY STE 200FREDERICKSBURGVA22401453538218SELECT SERVICE HOTELVA$2,413,070$14,337,013EAGLE PROPERTY HOLDINGS LLC
ACADEMIC VILLAGE LLC
1125 EMANCIPATION HIGHWAY STE 200FREDERICKSBURGVA22401472547586REAL ESTATEVA$0$0EAGLE PROPERTY HOLDINGS LLC

Comments

Anonymous: no account or email. Up to 2,000 characters, at most one link. Comments are checked automatically; some wait for review.