BROWNING SCHOOL: Form 990, tax year 2020

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
BROWNING SCHOOL (EIN 13-1623918)
Tax period
2020-07-01 to 2021-06-30
Filed
2022-05-04
IRS object ID
202201249349301475
Schema version
2020v4.1
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2022-05-04T10:51:53-07:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2021-06-30TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1O'KEEFE CPA LLCBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1375 FULTON STAddressLine1Txt
CityFARMINGDALECityNm
State AbbreviationNYStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP11735ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2020-07-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN131623918EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1The Browning SchoolBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlBROWBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone2122496879PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line152 E 62nd StreetAddressLine1Txt
CityNew YorkCityNm
State AbbreviationNYStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP10065ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonJohn CampbellPersonNm
Person TitleCFOPersonTitleTxt
Phone2122496879PhoneNum
Signature2022-04-06SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (true)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Signing Officer SigningOfficerGrp

Person Full Name PersonFullName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Person FirstJohnPersonFirstNm
Person LastCampbellPersonLastNm
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
SSNXXX-XX-XXXXSSN

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonTimothy O'KeefePreparerPersonNm
PTINP01399081PTIN
Phone5165864940PhoneNum
Preparation2022-05-04PreparationDt

Additional Filer Information AdditionalFilerInformation

Trusted Customer TrustedCustomerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Trusted Customer3TrustedCustomerCd
Authentication Assurance LevelAAL1AuthenticationAssuranceLevelCd
Identity Assurance LevelIAL1IdentityAssuranceLevelCd
Federated Assurance LevelFAL1FederatedAssuranceLevelCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2020TaxYr
Build TS2022-09-23 18:48:47ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerJohn BottiPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line152 E 62nd StAddressLine1Txt
CityNew YorkCityNm
State AbbreviationNYStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP10065ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$33,124,214GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For AffiliatesfalseGroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501c3Yes (X)Organization501c3Ind
Website Addresswww.browning.eduWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1888FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateNYLegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionA college preparatory school for boys instilling the pursuit of academic excellence, a lifelong love of learning, the belief in the dignity of the individual, the development of personal integrity, and a responsibility to the broader community.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body23VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent22VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee169TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers270TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$0TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$0NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$3,489,130PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$2,984,448CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$22,779,678PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$23,211,242CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$1,866,023PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$3,989,516CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$37,119PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$0CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$28,171,950PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$30,185,206CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$3,422,403PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$3,697,930CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$14,354,427PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$15,588,617CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$61,075PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$1,257,896CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$6,737,657PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$7,352,547CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$24,575,562PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$26,639,094CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$3,596,388PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$3,546,112CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$90,551,349TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$105,416,355TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$8,493,671TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$10,812,158TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$82,057,678NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$94,604,197NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
MissionA college preparatory school for boys instilling the pursuit of academic excellence, a lifelong love of learning, the belief in the dignity of the individual, the development of personal integrity, and a responsibility to the broader community.MissionDesc
Significant New Program SrvcfalseSignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant ChangefalseSignificantChangeInd
Expense$18,844,865ExpenseAmt
Grant$3,697,930GrantAmt
Revenue$23,211,242RevenueAmt
DescChartered Boys School with grades from pre-primary through fourth year high school.Desc
Total Program Service Expenses$18,844,865TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt
Described In Section501c3Yes (true)DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B RequiredYes (true)ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign ActyfalsePoliticalCampaignActyInd
Lobbying ActivitiesfalseLobbyingActivitiesInd
Subject To Proxy TaxfalseSubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised FundfalseDonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation EasementsfalseConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of ArtfalseCollectionsOfArtInd
Credit CounselingfalseCreditCounselingInd
Donor Rstr Or Quasi EndowmentsYes (true)DonorRstrOrQuasiEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (true)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other SecfalseReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related InvstfalseReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other AssetsfalseReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (true)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (true)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (true)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl StmtfalseConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School OperatingYes (true)SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign OfficefalseForeignOfficeInd
Foreign ActivitiesfalseForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To OrgfalseMoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To IndividualsfalseMoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional FundraisingfalseProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising ActivitiesfalseFundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming ActivitiesfalseGamingActivitiesInd
Operate HospitalfalseOperateHospitalInd
Grants To OrganizationsfalseGrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To IndividualsYes (true)GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (true)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt BondsfalseTaxExemptBondsInd
Engaged In Excess Benefit TransfalseEngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd
PY Excess Benefit TransfalsePYExcessBenefitTransInd
Loan OutstandingfalseLoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related PersonfalseGrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org MemfalseBusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam MemfalseBusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With35 Ctrl EntfalseBusinessRlnWith35CtrlEntInd
Deductible Non Cash ContriYes (true)DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art ContributionfalseDeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate OperationsfalseTerminateOperationsInd
Partial LiquidationfalsePartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded EntityfalseDisregardedEntityInd
Related EntityfalseRelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl EntfalseRelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Transaction With Control EntfalseTransactionWithControlEntInd
Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd OrgfalseTrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd
Activities Conducted PrtshpfalseActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (true)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document66IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (true)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee169EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (true)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over LimitfalseUnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Foreign Financial AccountfalseForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter TransfalseProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party NotificationfalseTaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible ContributionsfalseNondeductibleContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo ContributionsfalseQuidProQuoContributionsInd
Form8282 Property Disposed OffalseForm8282PropertyDisposedOfInd
Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft CntrctfalseRcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft CntrctfalsePayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Indoor Tanning ServicesfalseIndoorTanningServicesInd
Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht PymtfalseSubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd
Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst IncfalseSubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members23GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member22IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business RlnfalseFamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt DutiesfalseDelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org DocumentsfalseChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or MisusefalseMaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or StockholdersfalseMembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersfalseElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To ApprovafalseDecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (true)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (true)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing AddressfalseOfficerMailingAddressInd
Local ChaptersfalseLocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (true)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (true)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (true)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (true)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (true)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (true)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (true)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherfalseCompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint VenturefalseInvestmentInJointVentureInd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldNYStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
Other WebsiteYes (X)OtherWebsiteInd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonJohn CampbellPersonNm
Phone2122496879PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line152 East 62nd StreetAddressLine1Txt
CityNew YorkCityNm
State AbbreviationNYStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP10065ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (37 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtKey EmployeeKeyEmployeeIndHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeIndFormer Ofcr Director TrusteeFormerOfcrDirectorTrusteeInd
John M Botti
Head of School40.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$822,904$0$91,570
Stephanie Hessler
Trustee2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Sandra Buergi
Trustee2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Maria L Dell'Oro
President. Parents Association2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
J Mocco
Trustee2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
John M Liftin
Trustee2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
James S Chanos
Honorary Trustee2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Allan Gropper
Honorary Trustee2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
John Campbell
CFO40.00Yes (X)$435,522$0$77,620
Wendy Brooks
Trustee2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Elizabeth Granville-Smith
Trustee2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Andrew E Vogel
Trustee2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Stuart A Orenstein
Trustee, Pres/Alumni Association2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
David Glaymon
Trustee2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Alka Singh
Vice President, Secretary2.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
Christine S Callahan
Trustee, Vice Pres PA2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Jodi J Schwartz
Trustee2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Federico Infantino
Trustee2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Michael P Beys
Trustee2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Philip Hofmann
Trustee2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
David Liptak
Trustee2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Jeffrey Landes
Trustee2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Mimi Basso
Trustee2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Valda M Witt
President2.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
Deborah C van Eck
Trustee2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Raul Pineda
Trustee, Treasurer2.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
Nazmi Oztanir
Trustee2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Andrew M Snyder
Trustee2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Elizabeth Miller
Trustee2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Bobbi Mark
Chief Advancement Officer40.00$287,532$0$14,690Yes (X)
Aaron Grill
Dir Technology40.00$178,181$0$43,031Yes (X)
Eugene Campbell
US Head40.00$213,444$0$44,070Yes (X)
Danielle Passno
MS Head40.00$201,857$0$44,070Yes (X)
Kenneth Marshall
Dir Facilities/Security40.00$188,451$0$32,837Yes (X)
Michael Ingrisani
Teacher40.00$174,287$0$36,519Yes (X)
Gerald Protheroe
Teacher40.00$158,776$0$43,364Yes (X)
Maureen Linehan
Nurse40.00$146,157$0$34,682Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$2,807,111TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$462,453TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K10IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees ListedYes (true)FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (true)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other SrcsfalseCompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (4 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
Cater To You Inc
665 BroadwayNew YorkNY10012Food service$473,983
40 E 62nd Condo Assoc
201 W 91stNew YorkNY10024Condo related$356,683
Pawley Interior Contracting Inc
336 East 94th StreetNew YorkNY10128Contractor$232,136
Donnelly Mechanical
96-59 222nd STreetNew YorkNY11419Contractor$176,813
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K4CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Government Grants$815,202GovernmentGrantsAmt
All Other Contributions$2,169,246AllOtherContributionsAmt
Noncash Contributions$114,030NoncashContributionsAmt
Total Contributions$2,984,448TotalContributionsAmt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (5 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtUnrelated Business RevenueUnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmtExclusionExclusionAmt
Tuition611600$22,479,316$0$0
PA Activity & dues611600$102,611$0$0
Encore,Camp, After School611600$338,590$0$0
Application Fees611600$22,575$0$0
Other611600$268,150$0$0
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$23,211,242TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$1,417,603TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$1,417,603ExclusionAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$5,510,921SecuritiesAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$2,939,008SecuritiesAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$2,571,913SecuritiesAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$2,571,913TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$0RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$2,571,913ExclusionAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$30,185,206TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$23,211,242RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$3,989,516ExclusionAmt

Grants To Domestic Individuals GrantsToDomesticIndividualsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,697,930TotalAmt
Program Services$3,697,930ProgramServicesAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,795,287TotalAmt
Program Services$0ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$1,486,026ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$309,261FundraisingAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$10,557,635TotalAmt
Program Services$7,225,715ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$2,880,058ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$451,862FundraisingAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$410,051TotalAmt
Program Services$302,394ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$84,877ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$22,780FundraisingAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,019,195TotalAmt
Program Services$1,251,439ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$662,651ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$105,105FundraisingAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$806,449TotalAmt
Program Services$517,794ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$241,905ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$46,750FundraisingAmt

Fees For Services Management FeesForServicesManagementGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$22,731TotalAmt
Program Services$22,731ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$0ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$89,153TotalAmt
Program Services$0ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$89,153ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$30,750TotalAmt
Program Services$0ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$30,750ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$124,848TotalAmt
Program Services$51,571ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$61,158ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$12,119FundraisingAmt

Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$201,327TotalAmt
Program Services$187,877ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$6,725ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$6,725FundraisingAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,532,911TotalAmt
Program Services$1,903,788ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$535,266ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$93,857FundraisingAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,165,222TotalAmt
Program Services$932,178ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$116,522ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$116,522FundraisingAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$272,206TotalAmt
Program Services$190,515ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$57,877ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$23,814FundraisingAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmtProgram ServicesProgramServicesAmtManagement And GeneralManagementAndGeneralAmtFundraisingFundraisingAmt
Lunch Expense$632,706$632,706$0$0
Supplies & fees$587,345$582,875$2,473$1,997
Athletic Facility$117,517$117,517$0$0
Other$1,575,831$1,227,835$280,892$67,104

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$26,639,094TotalAmt
Program Services$18,844,865ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$6,536,333ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$1,257,896FundraisingAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$617,615BOYAmt
EOY$4,603,591EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$8,953,498BOYAmt
EOY$6,138,855EOYAmt

Pledges And Grants Receivable PledgesAndGrantsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$146,384BOYAmt
EOY$121,384EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$337,934BOYAmt
EOY$286,562EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$180,136BOYAmt
EOY$309,481EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$42,972,892LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$13,091,243LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$30,223,004BOYAmt
EOY$29,881,649EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$49,382,234BOYAmt
EOY$62,761,948EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$710,544BOYAmt
EOY$1,312,885EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$90,551,349BOYAmt
EOY$105,416,355EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,897,262BOYAmt
EOY$2,169,007EOYAmt

Deferred Revenue DeferredRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$6,006,836BOYAmt
EOY$7,764,095EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$589,573BOYAmt
EOY$879,056EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$8,493,671BOYAmt
EOY$10,812,158EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Organization Follows FASB117Yes (X)OrganizationFollowsFASB117Ind

No Donor Restriction Net Assets NoDonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$52,023,176BOYAmt
EOY$57,766,774EOYAmt

Donor Restriction Net Assets DonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$30,034,502BOYAmt
EOY$36,837,423EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$82,057,678BOYAmt
EOY$94,604,197EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$90,551,349BOYAmt
EOY$105,416,355EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$3,546,112ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst$9,000,407NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or ReviewfalseAccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (true)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Separate Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (true)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit RequiredfalseFederalGrantAuditRequiredInd

Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
SchoolYes (X)SchoolInd
Other Support Sum$0OtherSupportSumAmt
Public Support CY1700PublicSupportCY170Pct
Public Support Total509$0PublicSupportTotal509Amt
Public Support CY5090PublicSupportCY509Pct
Investment Income CY0InvestmentIncomeCYPct

Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB

Contributor Information ContributorInformationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
ContributorRESTRICTEDContributorNum

Contributor Business Name ContributorBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1RESTRICTEDBusinessNameLine1

Contributor US Address ContributorUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1RESTRICTEDAddressLine1
Address Line2RESTRICTEDAddressLine2
CityRESTRICTEDCity
StateRESTRICTEDState
ZIP CodeRESTRICTEDZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total ContributionsRESTRICTEDTotalContributionsAmt

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

CY Endwmt Fund CYEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$46,428,875BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$155,830ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$12,797,539InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
End Year Balance$59,382,244EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus1 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus1YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$44,032,991BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$182,800ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$2,920,751InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$707,667OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$46,428,875EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus2 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus2YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$41,565,828BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$247,363ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$2,368,985InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$149,185OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$44,032,991EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus3 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus3YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$46,925,878BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$1,012,301ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$4,093,842InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$10,466,193OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$41,565,828EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus4 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus4YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$41,704,734BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$305,930ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$4,915,214InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
End Year Balance$46,925,878EndYearBalanceAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Board Designated Balance EOY0.40900BoardDesignatedBalanceEOYPct
Prmnnt Endowment Balance EOY0.36200PrmnntEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Term Endowment Balance EOY0.22900TermEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Endowments Held Unrelated OrgfalseEndowmentsHeldUnrelatedOrgInd
Endowments Held Related OrgfalseEndowmentsHeldRelatedOrgInd

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Investment Cost Or Other Basis$0InvestmentCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Other Cost Or Other Basis$319,272OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$319,272BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$38,686,032OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$9,767,929DepreciationAmt
Book Value$28,918,103BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$3,967,588OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$3,323,314DepreciationAmt
Book Value$644,274BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$29,881,649TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (2 entries)

DescDescAmtAmt
Other$227,331
Deferred compensation payable$651,725
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$879,056TotalLiabilityAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$35,487,683TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Net Unrealized Gains Invst$9,000,407NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt
Revenue Not Reported$9,000,407RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$26,487,276RevenueSubtotalAmt
Other Revenues Not Included$3,697,930OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$3,697,930RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$30,185,206TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$22,941,164TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Expenses Subtotal$22,941,164ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Other Expenses Not Included$3,697,930OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$3,697,930ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$26,639,094TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (6 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Pt XI, Line 2dDirect benefits
Pt XI, Line 4bFinancial Aid/Rounding
Pt XII, Line 2dDirect benefits
Pt XII, Line 4bFinancial Aid/Rounding
Pt X, Line 2Accounting Standards Codification ("ASC") 740-10-05 relates to the accounting and reporting of uncertainties in income taxes and, for the School, could be applicable to the incurrence of unrelated business income tax. The School has not identified or provided for any such instances.
Pt V, Line 4To comply with donor imposed restrictions and to defray operational costs.

Schedule E IRS990ScheduleE

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Nondiscriminatory Policy StmtYes (true)NondiscriminatoryPolicyStmtInd
Policy Stmt In Brochures EtcYes (true)PolicyStmtInBrochuresEtcInd
Plcy Pblczd Via Broadcast MediaYes (true)PlcyPblczdViaBroadcastMediaInd
Maintain Racial Comp RecsYes (true)MaintainRacialCompRecsInd
Maintain Scholarships RecsYes (true)MaintainScholarshipsRecsInd
Maintain Cpy Of Brochures EtcYes (true)MaintainCpyOfBrochuresEtcInd
Maintain Cpy Of All SolYes (true)MaintainCpyOfAllSolInd
Discriminate Race Stdnts RghtsfalseDiscriminateRaceStdntsRghtsInd
Discriminate Race Admiss PlcyfalseDiscriminateRaceAdmissPlcyInd
Discriminate Race Emplm FcultyfalseDiscriminateRaceEmplmFcultyInd
Discriminate Race SchsfalseDiscriminateRaceSchsInd
Discriminate Race Educ PlcyfalseDiscriminateRaceEducPlcyInd
Discriminate Race Use Of FcltsfalseDiscriminateRaceUseOfFcltsInd
Discriminate Race Athlt ProgfalseDiscriminateRaceAthltProgInd
Discriminate Race Other ActyfalseDiscriminateRaceOtherActyInd
Government Financial Aid RcvdYes (true)GovernmentFinancialAidRcvdInd
Government Financial Aid RvkdfalseGovernmentFinancialAidRvkdInd
Compliance With Rev Proc7550Yes (true)ComplianceWithRevProc7550Ind

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Line 6bThe School receives reimbursment for NYS Mandated Services.
Line 3Annually published statement of racially non-discriminatory policy in "Metro Kids". Annually published statement of racially non-discriminatory policy in "Metro Kids".

Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant Records MaintainedYes (true)GrantRecordsMaintainedInd

Grants Other Asst To Indiv In US GrantsOtherAsstToIndivInUSGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant TypeFinancial AidGrantTypeTxt
Recipient70RecipientCnt
Cash Grant$0CashGrantAmt
Non Cash Assistance$3,697,930NonCashAssistanceAmt
Valuation Method UsedApplied AmountValuationMethodUsedDesc
Non Cash AssistanceFinancial AidNonCashAssistanceDesc

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePt I Line 2FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationFinancial Aid is applied to particular students.ExplanationTxt

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Compensation CommitteeYes (X)CompensationCommitteeInd
Independent ConsultantYes (X)IndependentConsultantInd
Form990 Of Other OrganizationsYes (X)Form990OfOtherOrganizationsInd
Written Employment ContractYes (X)WrittenEmploymentContractInd
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance PaymentfalseSeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr PlanYes (true)SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp ArrngmfalseEquityBasedCompArrngmInd
Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng OrgfalseCompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd On Rev Related OrgsfalseCompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng OrgfalseCompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd OrgsfalseCompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd
Any Non Fixed PaymentsfalseAnyNonFixedPaymentsInd
Initial Contract ExceptionfalseInitialContractExceptionInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (10 entries)

Base Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
John M Botti
$580,000$0$0$0$242,904$0$58,000$0$33,570$0$914,474$0$0$0
John Campbell
$435,522$0$0$0$0$0$44,050$0$33,570$0$513,142$0$0$0
Bobbi Mark
$287,532$0$0$0$0$0$13,991$0$699$0$302,222$0$0$0
Aaron Grill
$178,181$0$0$0$0$0$9,461$0$33,570$0$221,212$0$0$0
Eugene Campbell
$213,444$0$0$0$0$0$10,500$0$33,570$0$257,514$0$0$0
Danielle Passno
$201,857$0$0$0$0$0$10,500$0$33,570$0$245,927$0$0$0
Kenneth Marshall
$188,451$0$0$0$0$0$9,461$0$23,402$0$221,314$0$0$0
Michael Ingrisani
$174,287$0$0$0$0$0$12,178$0$24,341$0$210,806$0$0$0
Gerald Protheroe
$158,776$0$0$0$0$0$8,106$0$35,258$0$202,140$0$0$0
Maureen Linehan
$146,157$0$0$0$0$0$10,342$0$24,341$0$180,840$0$0$0

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePt I Line 4bFormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationPayments for nonqualified deferred compensation plan for John Botti and for John Campbell.ExplanationTxt

Schedule M IRS990ScheduleM

Securities Publicly Traded SecuritiesPubliclyTradedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Non Cash CheckboxYes (X)NonCashCheckboxInd
Contribution12ContributionCnt
Noncash Contributions Rpt F990$114,030NoncashContributionsRptF990Amt
Method Of Determining RevenuesFMVMethodOfDeterminingRevenuesTxt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Any Property That Must Be HeldfalseAnyPropertyThatMustBeHeldInd
Review Process Unusual NC GiftsYes (true)ReviewProcessUnusualNCGiftsInd
Third Parties UsedYes (true)ThirdPartiesUsedInd

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePt I Line 32bFormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationDonated stocks sold through Vanguard.ExplanationTxt

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (4 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Pt VI, Line 11bThe School's audit committee reviews the Form 990 and reports to the Board which then reviews and approves the Form for final submission.
Pt VI, Line 12cThe School maintains a written conflict of interest policy. A questionnaire is submitted to the Board requiring the disclosure of any conflicts. Any issues are referred to the Board for resolution as circumstances arise.
Pt VI, Line 15aFor the Head of School's compensation, the Board appoints members of the Finance Committee which, having various indications of compensation comparability, makes a formal recommendation to the Board for final approval.
Pt VI, Line 19Available upon request.

Comments

Anonymous: no account or email. Up to 2,000 characters, at most one link. Comments are checked automatically; some wait for review.