UNIVERSITY OF MINNESOTA HEALTH CLINICS AND SURGERY CENTER INC: Form 990, tax year 2022

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
UNIVERSITY OF MINNESOTA HEALTH CLINICS AND SURGERY CENTER INC (EIN 46-5444821)
Tax period
2022-01-01 to 2022-12-31
Filed
2023-11-06
IRS object ID
202323109349303162
Schema version
2022v5.0
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2023-11-06T15:15:18-06:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2022-12-31TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN135565207PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1KPMG LLPBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line190 S 7TH ST STE 4200AddressLine1Txt
CityMINNEAPOLISCityNm
State AbbreviationMNStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP55402ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2022-01-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN465444821EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1UNIVERSITY OF MINNESOTA HEALTHBusinessNameLine1Txt
Business Name Line2CLINICS AND SURGERY CENTER INCBusinessNameLine2Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlUNIVBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone6128840600PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1909 FULTON STREET SEAddressLine1Txt
CityMINNEAPOLISCityNm
State AbbreviationMNStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP55414ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonWILLIAM SIBERTPersonNm
Person TitleCFOPersonTitleTxt
Phone6128840600PhoneNum
Signature2023-11-06SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (1)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Signing Officer SigningOfficerGrp

Person Full Name PersonFullName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Person FirstWILLIAMPersonFirstNm
Person LastSIBERTPersonLastNm
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
SSN999009999SSN
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
IRS Responsible Prty Info Curr0IRSResponsiblePrtyInfoCurrInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonHOLLY K MOENPreparerPersonNm
PTINP01800653PTIN
Phone6123055000PhoneNum

Additional Filer Information AdditionalFilerInformation

Trusted Customer TrustedCustomerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Trusted Customer2TrustedCustomerCd
Authentication Assurance LevelAAL1AuthenticationAssuranceLevelCd
Identity Assurance LevelIAL1IdentityAssuranceLevelCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2022TaxYr
Build TS2023-04-26 12:10:37ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerBEVAN YUEHPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1909 FULTON STREET SE SUITE 200AddressLine1Txt
CityMINNEAPOLISCityNm
State AbbreviationMNStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP55414ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$151,004,254GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For Affiliates0GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501c3Yes (X)Organization501c3Ind
Website AddressWWW.MHEALTH.ORGWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation2015FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateMNLegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionJOINT VENTURE TO PROVIDE BREAKTHROUGH MEDICINE AND TRANSFORM THE HEALTH OF THE COMMUNITY USING THE POWER OF AN INTEGRATED ACADEMIC HEALTH SYSTEM.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body6VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent6VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee0TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers0TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$0TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$0NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$88,833,306PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$0CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$144,578,277PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$151,004,254CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$0PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$0CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$0PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$0CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$233,411,583PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$151,004,254CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$0PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$0CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$0PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$0PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$0CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$0CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$187,565,108PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$194,199,203CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$187,565,108PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$194,199,203CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$45,846,475PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses-$43,194,949CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$176,197,118TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$134,296,737TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$170,927,226TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$172,221,794TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$5,269,892NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY-$37,925,057NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
Info In Schedule O Part IIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartIIIInd
MissionUNIVERSITY OF MINNESOTA HEALTH CLINICS & SURGERY CENTER, INC. (CSC) (THE CORPORATION) IS A MINNESOTA CORPORATION COMPRISED OF MULTIPLE PHYSICIAN SPECIALTIES (CLINICAL SERVICE UNITS). THE CORPORATION IS THE RESULT OF A JOINT-VENTURE AGREEMENT BETWEEN ITS MEMBERS, THE UNIVERSITY OF MINNESOTA PHYSICIANS, (UMPHYSICIANS) A MINNESOTA NOT-FOR-PROFIT CORPORATION AND FAIRVIEW HEALTH SERVICES (FAIRVIEW) A NOT-FOR-PROFIT ENTITY, COLLECTIVELY, THE MEMBERS.CSC THRU ITS MEMBER(S) IS AFFILIATED WITH VARIOUS MEDICAL DEPARTMENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF MINNESOTA'S SCHOOL OF MEDICINE (MEDICAL SCHOOL). THE RELATIONSHIP AFFILIATION DEFINES THE CORPORATION'S MAIN PURPOSE WHICH IS TO DEVELOP AND OPERATE AN AMBULATORY CARE CENTER DEDICATED TO ADVANCING MEDICAL RESEARCH AND EDUCATION AND PROVIDING HEALTH CARE SERVICES.MissionDesc
Significant New Program Srvc0SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant Change0SignificantChangeInd
Expense$194,074,595ExpenseAmt
Grant$0GrantAmt
Revenue$151,004,254RevenueAmt
DescTHE CORPORATION SUPPORTS THE EDUCATION AND RESEARCH MISSION OF THE UNIVERSITY'S ACADEMIC HEALTH CENTER AND ADVANCES EDUCATION AND RESEARCH EFFORTS OF THE UNIVERSITY'S MEDICAL SCHOOL AND OTHER SCHOOLS IN THE ACADEMIC HEALTH CENTER. SEE SCHEDULE O.Desc
Total Program Service Expenses$194,074,595TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt
Described In Section501c3Yes (1)DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B Required0ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign Acty0PoliticalCampaignActyInd
Lobbying Activities0LobbyingActivitiesInd
Subject To Proxy Tax0SubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised Fund0DonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation Easements0ConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of Art0CollectionsOfArtInd
Credit Counseling0CreditCounselingInd
Donor Rstr Or Quasi Endowments0DonorRstrOrQuasiEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (1)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other Sec0ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related Invst0ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other AssetsYes (1)ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (1)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (1)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt0ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School Operating0SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign Office0ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign Activities0ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To Org0MoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To Individuals0MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional Fundraising0ProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising Activities0FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming Activities0GamingActivitiesInd
Operate Hospital0OperateHospitalInd
Grants To Organizations0GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To Individuals0GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J Required0ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt Bonds0TaxExemptBondsInd
Engaged In Excess Benefit Trans0EngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd
PY Excess Benefit Trans0PYExcessBenefitTransInd
Loan Outstanding0LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related Person0GrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org Mem0BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam Mem0BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With35 Ctrl Ent0BusinessRlnWith35CtrlEntInd
Deductible Non Cash Contri0DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art Contribution0DeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate Operations0TerminateOperationsInd
Partial Liquidation0PartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded Entity0DisregardedEntityInd
Related EntityYes (1)RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl Ent0RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd Org0TrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd
Activities Conducted Prtshp0ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (1)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document23IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (1)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee0EmployeeCnt
Unrelated Bus Incm Over Limit0UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Foreign Financial Account0ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans0ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party Notification0TaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible Contributions0NondeductibleContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo Contributions0QuidProQuoContributionsInd
Form8282 Property Disposed Of0Form8282PropertyDisposedOfInd
Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0RcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0PayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Indoor Tanning Services0IndoorTanningServicesInd
Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht Pymt0SubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd
Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst Inc0SubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members6GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member6IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business Rln0FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt Duties0DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org Documents0ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or Misuse0MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or StockholdersYes (1)MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersYes (1)ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To Approva0DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (1)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (1)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing Address0OfficerMailingAddressInd
Local Chapters0LocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (1)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (1)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (1)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (1)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (1)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (1)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEO0CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process Other0CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint Venture0InvestmentInJointVentureInd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldMNStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1SEAN FREDRICKSONBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Phone6128840600PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1720 WASHINGTON AVENUE SE SUITE 200AddressLine1Txt
CityMINNEAPOLISCityNm
State AbbreviationMNStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP55414ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
No Listed Persons CompensatedYes (X)NoListedPersonsCompensatedInd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (8 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtAverage Hours Per Week Rltd OrgAverageHoursPerWeekRltdOrgRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmt
JAKUB TOLAR MD
BOARD CHAIR1.000.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
JAMES HEREFORD
TREASURER AND SECRETARY1.000.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
BEVAN YUEH
DIRECTOR1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MYRON FRANS
DIRECTOR1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
HAYES BATSON
DIRECTOR THRU AUG 20221.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
LAURA REED
DIRECTOR1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MARK WELTON
DIRECTOR1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
PETER MITSCH
DIRECTOR THRU AUG 20221.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$0TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$0TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K0IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees Listed0FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 K0TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other Srcs0CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
FAIRVIEW HEALTH SERVICES
PO BOX 1496MINNEAPOLISMN55440CLINICAL SERVICES$106,725,525
UNIVERSITY OF MINNESOTA PHYSICIANS
720 WASHINGTON AVENUE SEMINNEAPOLISMN55440LEASED EMPLOYEES$43,057,561
HHS LLC
12495 SILVER CREEK ROADDRIPPING SPRINGSTX78620FACILITIES MGMT$2,295,912
SIEMENS MEDICAL SOLUTIONS USA INC
40 LIBERTY BLVDMALVERNPA19355EQUIP RENTAL/MAINT$929,334
OLYMPUS AMERICA INC
PO BOX 200183PITTSBURGHPA152510183EQUIP RENTAL/MAINT$368,543
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K14CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (2 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
PATIENT REVENUE621400$149,068,320$149,068,320
OTHER REVENUE621400$1,935,934$1,935,934
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$151,004,254TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$151,004,254TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$151,004,254RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$0ExclusionAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$41,054TotalAmt
Management And General$41,054ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$83,554TotalAmt
Management And General$83,554ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$14,790,779TotalAmt
Program Services$14,790,779ProgramServicesAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,432TotalAmt
Program Services$2,432ProgramServicesAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,183,881TotalAmt
Program Services$2,183,881ProgramServicesAmt

Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$49,282TotalAmt
Program Services$49,282ProgramServicesAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$7,746,054TotalAmt
Program Services$7,746,054ProgramServicesAmt

Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$13,384TotalAmt
Program Services$13,384ProgramServicesAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,939,313TotalAmt
Program Services$3,939,313ProgramServicesAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,577,736TotalAmt
Program Services$2,577,736ProgramServicesAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$72,284TotalAmt
Program Services$72,284ProgramServicesAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmtProgram ServicesProgramServicesAmt
LEASED EMPLOYEES$117,402,860$117,402,860
MEDICAL SUPPLIES/DRUGS$25,748,749$25,748,749
GENERAL AND ADMIN EXPEN$14,208,491$14,208,491
ALL OTHER EXPENSES$2,819,387$2,819,387

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,519,963TotalAmt
Program Services$2,519,963ProgramServicesAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$194,199,203TotalAmt
Program Services$194,074,595ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$124,608ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$43,014,216BOYAmt
EOY$13,746,836EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Pledges And Grants Receivable PledgesAndGrantsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$30,555,191BOYAmt
EOY$17,978,643EOYAmt

Receivables From Officers Etc ReceivablesFromOfficersEtcGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Rcvbl From Disqualified Prsn RcvblFromDisqualifiedPrsnGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Oth Notes Loans Receivable Net OthNotesLoansReceivableNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Inventories For Sale Or Use InventoriesForSaleOrUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,265,615BOYAmt
EOY$2,405,747EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$8,406,810BOYAmt
EOY$8,076,790EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$41,103,898LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$34,439,757LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$91,955,286BOYAmt
EOY$6,664,141EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Investments Program Related InvestmentsProgramRelatedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Intangible Assets IntangibleAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$85,424,580EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$176,197,118BOYAmt
EOY$134,296,737EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$79,739,359BOYAmt
EOY$78,715,659EOYAmt

Grants Payable GrantsPayableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Deferred Revenue DeferredRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Tax Exempt Bond Liabilities TaxExemptBondLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Escrow Account Liability EscrowAccountLiabilityGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Loans From Officers Directors LoansFromOfficersDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Unsecured Notes Loans Payable UnsecuredNotesLoansPayableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$91,187,867BOYAmt
EOY$93,506,135EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$170,927,226BOYAmt
EOY$172,221,794EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Organization Follows FASB117Yes (X)OrganizationFollowsFASB117Ind

No Donor Restriction Net Assets NoDonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$5,269,892BOYAmt
EOY-$37,925,057EOYAmt

Donor Restriction Net Assets DonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$5,269,892BOYAmt
EOY-$37,925,057EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$176,197,118BOYAmt
EOY$134,296,737EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss-$43,194,949ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets$0OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or Review0AccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (1)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Separate Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (1)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit Required0FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd

Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
HospitalYes (X)HospitalInd

Form990 Schedule A Part VI Form990ScheduleAPartVIGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePART 1:FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationUNIVERSITY OF MINNESOTA HEALTH CLINICS AND SURGERY CENTER, INC. (CSC) IS RECOGNIZED AS A HOSPITAL BY THE INTERNAL REVENUE SERVICE UNDER IRC SECTION 170(B)(1)(A)(III). HOWEVER, CSC DOES NOT CURRENTLY OPERATE ANY LICENSED HOSPITAL FACILITIES; THEREFORE, NO SCHEDULE H IS REQUIRED.ExplanationTxt

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

Leasehold Improvements LeaseholdImprovementsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$1,681,577OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$355,902DepreciationAmt
Book Value$1,325,675BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$37,401,887OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$32,132,215DepreciationAmt
Book Value$5,269,672BookValueAmt

Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$2,020,434OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$1,951,640DepreciationAmt
Book Value$68,794BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$6,664,141TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Other Assets Org OtherAssetsOrgGrp (2 entries)

DescDescBook ValueBookValueAmt
FINANCE LEASE ROU ASSET$82,629,092
OPERATING LEASE ROU ASSET$2,795,488
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Other Assets$85,424,580TotalBookValueOtherAssetsAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (2 entries)

DescDescAmtAmt
LT LEASE LIABILITY$89,477,681
ST LEASE LIABILITY$4,028,454
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$93,506,135TotalLiabilityAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$148,484,291TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Revenue Not Reported$0RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$148,484,291RevenueSubtotalAmt
Other Revenues Not Included$2,519,963OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$2,519,963RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$151,004,254TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$191,679,240TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Expenses Not Reported$0ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$191,679,240ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Other Expenses Not Included$2,519,963OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$2,519,963ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$194,199,203TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (3 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
PART X, LINE 2:THE COMPANY IS A NONPROFIT CORPORATION AS DESCRIBED IN SECTION 501(C)(3) OF THE INTERNAL REVENUE CODE (IRC) AND IS EXEMPT FROM FEDERAL INCOME TAXES ON RELATED INCOME PURSUANT TO SECTION 501(A) OF THE IRC. THE COMPANY IS ALSO EXEMPT FROM STATE INCOME TAXES UNDER SIMILAR PROVISIONS IN THE MINNESOTA STATUTES. THE COMPANY HAS ADOPTED GUIDANCE IN THE INCOME TAX STANDARD REGARDING THE RECOGNITION AND MEASUREMENT OF UNCERTAIN TAX POSITIONS. THE STANDARD REQUIRES AN ORGANIZATION TO DETERMINE WHETHER IT IS MORE LIKELY THAN NOT THAT A TAX POSITION WILL BE SUSTAINED UPON EXAMINATION ON THE TECHNICAL MERITS OF THE POSITION, ASSUMING THE TAXING AUTHORITY HAS FULL KNOWLEDGE OF ALL INFORMATION. IF THE TAX POSITION DOES NOT MEET THE MORE-LIKELY THAN-NOT RECOGNITION THRESHOLD, THE BENEFIT OF THAT POSITION IS NOT RECOGNIZED IN THE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS. THE COMPANY EVALUATES ITS UNCERTAIN TAX POSITIONS. THERE ARE NO ASSETS OR LIABILITIES RELATED TO UNCERTAIN TAX POSITIONS OR UNRECOGNIZED TAX BENEFITS AS OF DECEMBER 31, 2022 AND 2021.
PART XI, LINE 4B - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:BAD DEBT EXPENSE 2,519,963.
PART XII, LINE 4B - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:BAD DEBT EXPENSE 2,519,963.

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (6 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
PART IV, LINE 34:AS PROVIDED IN THE CORPORATION'S ARTICLES OF INCORPORATION, FAIRVIEW AND UMPHYSICIANS ARE THE SOLE MEMBERS OF THE CORPORATION. BOTH FAIRVIEW AND UMPHYSICIANS ARE MINNESOTA NONPROFIT CORPORATIONS THAT ARE EXEMPT FROM FEDERAL INCOME TAXATION AS ORGANIZATIONS DESCRIBED IN SECTION 501(C)(3) OF THE INTERNAL REVENUE CODE. EACH MEMBER HAS A 50% MEMBERSHIP INTEREST IN THE CORPORATION. THE MEMBERS ARE NOT RELATED PER THE SCHEDULE R INSTRUCTIONS, BECAUSE NEITHER HAS A MAJORITY OWNERSHIP IN THE ORGANIZATION, AND THEREFORE ARE NOT LISTED ON SCHEDULE R, PART II.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 6THE CORPORATION IS THE RESULT OF A JOINT-VENTURE AGREEMENT ENTERED INTO ON DECEMBER 20, 2013 BETWEEN ITS MEMBERS, THE UNIVERSITY OF MINNESOTA PHYSICIANS, (UMPHYSICIANS) A MINNESOTA NOT-FOR-PROFIT CORPORATION AND FAIRVIEW HEALTH SERVICES (FAIRVIEW) A NOT-FOR-PROFIT ENTITY, COLLECTIVELY, THE MEMBERS.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 7AAS PROVIDED IN THE CORPORATION'S ARTICLES OF INCORPORATION, FAIRVIEW AND UMPHYSICIANS ARE THE SOLE MEMBERS OF THE CORPORATION. EACH MEMBER APPOINTS 50% OF THE GOVERNING BOARD, WITH UMP'S 50% OF APPOINTMENTS INCLUDING TWO REPRESENTATIVES OF THE MEDICAL SCHOOL, THE DEAN AND AN APPOINTEE OF THE DEAN.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 11BCSC WILL DELIVER A DRAFT OF THE FORM 990 TO MEMBERS OF ITS GOVERNING BODY, ELECTRONICALLY OR IN HARD COPY, BEFORE FILING THE RETURN.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 12CDIRECTORS AND OFFICERS ARE REQUIRED TO COMPLETE A CONFLICT OF INTEREST DISCLOSURE FORM WHICH IS ANNUALLY REVIEWED BY MANAGEMENT AND OUTSIDE LEGAL COUNSEL IF NECESSARY. IF ANY OFFICER, DIRECTOR OR COMMITTEE MEMBER OF THE CORPORATION IS CONSIDERED TO HAVE CONFLICT OF INTEREST, THEY SHOULD GIVE THE BOARD OF THE CORPORATION NOTICE OF SUCH INTEREST OR RELATIONSHIP AND SHALL THEREAFTER REFRAIN FROM VOTING OR OTHERWISE ATTEMPTING TO EXERT ANY INFLUENCE ON THE CORPORATION TO AFFECT ITS DECISION TO PARTICIPATE OR NOT PARTICIPATE IN SUCH TRANSACTION. THE INTERESTED OFFICER, DIRECTOR OR COMMITTEE MEMBER SHALL LEAVE ANY MEETING DURING ANY DISCUSSION OF A MATTER IN WHICH SUCH INDIVIDUAL IS CONSIDERED TO HAVE A CONFLICT OF INTEREST.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION C, LINE 19ALL GOVERNING DOCUMENTS, CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY AND FINANCIAL STATEMENTS ARE AVAILABLE TO THE PUBLIC FOR VIEWING AT THE MAIN OFFICE DURING NORMAL BUSINESS HOURS.

Schedule R IRS990ScheduleR

Id Related Org Txbl Partnership IdRelatedOrgTxblPartnershipGrp

Related Organization Name RelatedOrganizationName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1INTEGRATED STRUCTURE LLCBusinessNameLine1Txt

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1720 WASHINGTON AVE SE STE 200AddressLine1Txt
CityMINNEAPOLISCityNm
State AbbreviationMNStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP554142924ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Primary ActivitiesHOLDING COMPANYPrimaryActivitiesTxt
Legal Domicile StateMNLegalDomicileStateCd

Direct Controlling Entity Name DirectControllingEntityName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1NONEBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Disproportionate Allocations0DisproportionateAllocationsInd
General Or Managing Partner0GeneralOrManagingPartnerInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Receipt Of Int Annts Rnts Rylts0ReceiptOfIntAnntsRntsRyltsInd
Gift Grnt Or Cap Contri To Oth Org0GiftGrntOrCapContriToOthOrgInd
Gift Grnt Cap Contri From Oth Org0GiftGrntCapContriFromOthOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees To Other Org0LoansOrGuaranteesToOtherOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees From Oth Org0LoansOrGuaranteesFromOthOrgInd
Div Related Organization0DivRelatedOrganizationInd
Asset Sale To Other Org0AssetSaleToOtherOrgInd
Asset Purchase From Other Org0AssetPurchaseFromOtherOrgInd
Asset Exchange0AssetExchangeInd
Rental Of Facilities To Oth Org0RentalOfFacilitiesToOthOrgInd
Rental Of Fclts From Oth Org0RentalOfFcltsFromOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services For Oth Org0PerformOfServicesForOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services By Other Org0PerformOfServicesByOtherOrgInd
Sharing Of Facilities0SharingOfFacilitiesInd
Paid Employees Sharing0PaidEmployeesSharingInd
Reimbursement Paid To Other Org0ReimbursementPaidToOtherOrgInd
Reimbursement Paid By Other Org0ReimbursementPaidByOtherOrgInd
Transfer To Other Org0TransferToOtherOrgInd
Transfer From Other Org0TransferFromOtherOrgInd

Comments

Anonymous: no account or email. Up to 2,000 characters, at most one link. Comments are checked automatically; some wait for review.