THE NARBHA INSTITUTE: Form 990, tax year 2021
View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗
- Organization
- THE NARBHA INSTITUTE (EIN 86-6037149)
- Tax period
- 2021-10-01 to 2022-09-30
- Filed
- 2023-08-09
- IRS object ID
- 202342219349301514
- Schema version
- 2021v4.2
- Source
- Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica
Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.
Return header ReturnHeader
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Return | 2023-08-09T12:33:57-05:00 | ReturnTs |
| Tax Period End | 2022-09-30 | TaxPeriodEndDt |
Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Preparer Firm EIN | 341884125 | PreparerFirmEIN |
Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | CBIZ MHM LLC | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 4722 N 24TH ST STE 300 | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | PHOENIX | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | AZ | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 85016 | ZIPCd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Return Type | 990 | ReturnTypeCd |
| Tax Period Begin | 2021-10-01 | TaxPeriodBeginDt |
Filer Filer
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| EIN | 866037149 | EIN |
Business Name BusinessName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | THE NARBHA INSTITUTE INC | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Control | NARB | BusinessNameControlTxt |
| Phone | 9282338667 | PhoneNum |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 616 N BEAVER STREET | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | FLAGSTAFF | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | AZ | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 86001 | ZIPCd |
Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Person | MARY JO GREGORY | PersonNm |
| Person Title | CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER | PersonTitleTxt |
| Phone | 9282338667 | PhoneNum |
| Signature | 2023-08-08 | SignatureDt |
| Discuss With Paid Preparer | Yes (1) | DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd |
Signing Officer SigningOfficerGrp
Person Full Name PersonFullName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Person First | MARY | PersonFirstNm |
| Person Last | JO GREGORY | PersonLastNm |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| SSN | 999009999 | SSN |
Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Preparer Person | AMY A O'LOUGHLIN | PreparerPersonNm |
| PTIN | P00869687 | PTIN |
| Phone | 6022646835 | PhoneNum |
| Preparation | 2023-08-08 | PreparationDt |
Additional Filer Information AdditionalFilerInformation
Trusted Customer TrustedCustomerGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Trusted Customer | 3 | TrustedCustomerCd |
| Authentication Assurance Level | AAL1 | AuthenticationAssuranceLevelCd |
| Identity Assurance Level | IAL1 | IdentityAssuranceLevelCd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Tax | 2021 | TaxYr |
| Build TS | 2023-04-26 12:10:37Z | BuildTS |
Form 990 IRS990
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Principal Officer | MARY JO GREGORY | PrincipalOfficerNm |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 616 N BEAVER STREET | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | FLAGSTAFF | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | AZ | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 86001 | ZIPCd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Gross Receipts | $10,538,708 | GrossReceiptsAmt |
| Group Return For Affiliates | 0 | GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd |
| Organization501c3 | Yes (X) | Organization501c3Ind |
| Website Address | WWW.NARBHAINSTITUTE.ORG | WebsiteAddressTxt |
| Type Of Organization Corp | Yes (X) | TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd |
| Formation | 1967 | FormationYr |
| Legal Domicile State | AZ | LegalDomicileStateCd |
| Activity Or Mission | MEDICAID MANAGED CARE SUBCONTRACTOR, SUPPORTED HOUSING, BEHAVIORAL CARE VIA AFFILIATE | ActivityOrMissionDesc |
| Voting Members Governing Body | 4 | VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt |
| Voting Members Independent | 2 | VotingMembersIndependentCnt |
| Total Employee | 12 | TotalEmployeeCnt |
| Total Volunteers | 2 | TotalVolunteersCnt |
| Total Gross UBI | $0 | TotalGrossUBIAmt |
| Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm | $0 | NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt |
| PY Contributions Grants | $3,367,373 | PYContributionsGrantsAmt |
| CY Contributions Grants | $3,805,583 | CYContributionsGrantsAmt |
| PY Program Service Revenue | $6,910,967 | PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
| CY Program Service Revenue | $4,201,903 | CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
| PY Investment Income | $1,105,898 | PYInvestmentIncomeAmt |
| CY Investment Income | $745,715 | CYInvestmentIncomeAmt |
| PY Other Revenue | $557 | PYOtherRevenueAmt |
| CY Other Revenue | $0 | CYOtherRevenueAmt |
| PY Total Revenue | $11,384,795 | PYTotalRevenueAmt |
| CY Total Revenue | $8,753,201 | CYTotalRevenueAmt |
| PY Grants And Similar Paid | $7,232,628 | PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt |
| CY Grants And Similar Paid | $4,024,170 | CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt |
| PY Benefits Paid To Members | $0 | PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt |
| CY Benefits Paid To Members | $0 | CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt |
| PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid | $2,005,908 | PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt |
| CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid | $2,223,252 | CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt |
| PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns | $0 | PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt |
| CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns | $0 | CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt |
| CY Total Fundraising Expense | $0 | CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt |
| PY Other Expenses | $2,286,381 | PYOtherExpensesAmt |
| CY Other Expenses | $2,518,506 | CYOtherExpensesAmt |
| PY Total Expenses | $11,524,917 | PYTotalExpensesAmt |
| CY Total Expenses | $8,765,928 | CYTotalExpensesAmt |
| PY Revenues Less Expenses | -$140,122 | PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt |
| CY Revenues Less Expenses | -$12,727 | CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt |
| Total Assets BOY | $73,143,393 | TotalAssetsBOYAmt |
| Total Assets EOY | $66,577,625 | TotalAssetsEOYAmt |
| Total Liabilities BOY | $1,216,818 | TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt |
| Total Liabilities EOY | $773,529 | TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt |
| Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY | $71,926,575 | NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt |
| Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY | $65,804,096 | NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt |
| Info In Schedule O Part III | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartIIIInd |
| Mission | SERVE MEDICAID MANAGED CARE SUBCONTRACT, SUPPORTED HOUSING FOR MENTALLY ILL, CONVENER/SUPPORTER IN HEALTH/SOCIAL DETERMINANTS. DRIVE IMPROVED MENTAL HEALTH OUTCOMES FOR VULNERABLE POPULATIONS VIA AFFILIATED AGENCY PROVIDING OUTPATIENT, INPATIENT & RESIDENTIAL SVS. | MissionDesc |
| Significant New Program Srvc | 0 | SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd |
| Significant Change | 0 | SignificantChangeInd |
| Expense | $4,211,153 | ExpenseAmt |
| Grant | $3,004,803 | GrantAmt |
| Revenue | $1,817,582 | RevenueAmt |
| Desc | THE NARBHA INSTITUTE'S LARGEST PROGRAM IS ITS PROVISION OF SERVICES, SUPPORT AND GRANTS TO HEALTHCARE PROVIDERS WHO SERVE PRIMARILY MEDICAID BENIFICIARIES AND INDIGENT POPULATIONS. THIS INCLUDES GRANTS TO SUCH ORGANIZATIONS TO ACHIEVE HEALTH AND HEALTH RELATED SOCIAL OUTCOMES SUCH AS EMPLOYMENT, MEDICAID ELIGIBILITY COMPLIANCE, TIMELY MENTAL HEALTH ASSESSMENTS, PAITIENT SATISFACTION, HOUSING, CRIMINIAL JUSTICE COORDINATION AND CULTURALLY-COMPETENT SERVICES. | Desc |
Prog Srvc Accom Acty2 ProgSrvcAccomActy2Grp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Expense | $1,603,160 | ExpenseAmt |
| Grant | $906,367 | GrantAmt |
| Revenue | $2,287,793 | RevenueAmt |
| Desc | EFFECTIVE AUGUST 27, 2018, THE NARBHA INSTITUTE ENTERED INTO AN AFFILIATION AGREEMENT WITH THE GUIDANCE CENTER (TGC), A SEPARATE 501(C)(3) ORGANIZATION, IN WHICH NARBHA BECAME ITS SOLE MEMBER. THERE IS A SEPARATE BOARD TO OVERSEE MANAGEMNET OF TGC. THE GUIDANCE CENTER PROVIDES INPATIENT AND OUTPATIENT BEHAVIORAL HEALTH SERVICES IN THE FLAGSTAFF REGION. UNDER THE AFFILIATION AGREEMENTS, NARBHA PROVIDES SUBSTANTIAL FINANCIAL AND IN-KIND SUPPORT AND APPOINTS A MAJORITY OF ITS GOVERNING BOARD. | Desc |
Prog Srvc Accom Acty3 ProgSrvcAccomActy3Grp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Expense | $514,530 | ExpenseAmt |
| Revenue | $96,528 | RevenueAmt |
| Desc | THROUGH A DISREGARDED ENTITY (WELL NORTH COMMUNITIES LLC), THE NARBHA INTITUTE PROVIDES PERMANENT SUPPORTED HOUSING TO APPROXIMATELY 40 INDIVIDUALS AND FAMILILES LIVING WITH SERIOUS MENTAL ILLNESS IN NORTHERN ARIZONA. TENANTS PAY AN INCOME-ADJUSTED PORTION OF RENT (WHICH IS OFTEN ZERO) AND RESIDE IN APARTMENTS PURCHSED WITH FUNDING FROM THE ARIZONA DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH SERIVCES. WHILE NOT LISTED ON THE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS AS AN EXPENSE, THE OPPORTUNITY COST OF THESE HEAVILY DESCOUNTED RENTS IS OVER $244,000 PER YEAR EXCLUDING UTILITIES, BASED ON HUD AND SURVEY DATA. | Desc |
Prog Srvc Accom Acty Other ProgSrvcAccomActyOtherGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Expense | $162,402 | ExpenseAmt |
| Grant | $113,000 | GrantAmt |
| Desc | THE SUSTAINABLE ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT INITIATIVE (SEDI) IS A RELATED ORGANIZATION THAT FILES A SEPARATE FORM 990. SEDI PROVIDES ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT SERVICES RELATED TO THE NARBHA INSTITUTE'S MISSION TO PROMOTE EMPLOYMENT AS A KEY SOCIAL DETERMINANT OF HEALTH. | Desc |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Other Prog Srvc Expense | $162,402 | TotalOtherProgSrvcExpenseAmt |
| Total Other Prog Srvc Grant | $113,000 | TotalOtherProgSrvcGrantAmt |
| Total Program Service Expenses | $6,491,245 | TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt |
| Described In Section501c3 | Yes (1) | DescribedInSection501c3Ind |
| Schedule B Required | Yes (1) | ScheduleBRequiredInd |
| Political Campaign Acty | 0 | PoliticalCampaignActyInd |
| Lobbying Activities | 0 | LobbyingActivitiesInd |
| Subject To Proxy Tax | 0 | SubjectToProxyTaxInd |
| Donor Advised Fund | 0 | DonorAdvisedFundInd |
| Conservation Easements | 0 | ConservationEasementsInd |
| Collections Of Art | 0 | CollectionsOfArtInd |
| Credit Counseling | 0 | CreditCounselingInd |
| Donor Rstr Or Quasi Endowments | 0 | DonorRstrOrQuasiEndowmentsInd |
| Report Land Building Equipment | Yes (1) | ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd |
| Report Investments Other Sec | 0 | ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd |
| Report Program Related Invst | 0 | ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd |
| Report Other Assets | Yes (1) | ReportOtherAssetsInd |
| Report Other Liabilities | 0 | ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd |
| Include FIN48 Footnote | Yes (1) | IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd |
| Independent Audit Fincl Stmt | 0 | IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd |
| Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt | Yes (1) | ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd |
| School Operating | 0 | SchoolOperatingInd |
| Foreign Office | 0 | ForeignOfficeInd |
| Foreign Activities | 0 | ForeignActivitiesInd |
| More Than5000 K To Org | 0 | MoreThan5000KToOrgInd |
| More Than5000 K To Individuals | 0 | MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd |
| Professional Fundraising | 0 | ProfessionalFundraisingInd |
| Fundraising Activities | 0 | FundraisingActivitiesInd |
| Gaming Activities | 0 | GamingActivitiesInd |
| Operate Hospital | 0 | OperateHospitalInd |
| Grants To Organizations | Yes (1) | GrantsToOrganizationsInd |
| Grants To Individuals | 0 | GrantsToIndividualsInd |
| Schedule J Required | Yes (1) | ScheduleJRequiredInd |
| Tax Exempt Bonds | 0 | TaxExemptBondsInd |
| Engaged In Excess Benefit Trans | 0 | EngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd |
| PY Excess Benefit Trans | 0 | PYExcessBenefitTransInd |
| Loan Outstanding | 0 | LoanOutstandingInd |
| Grant To Related Person | 0 | GrantToRelatedPersonInd |
| Business Rln With Org Mem | 0 | BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd |
| Business Rln With Fam Mem | 0 | BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd |
| Business Rln With35 Ctrl Ent | 0 | BusinessRlnWith35CtrlEntInd |
| Deductible Non Cash Contri | 0 | DeductibleNonCashContriInd |
| Deductible Art Contribution | 0 | DeductibleArtContributionInd |
| Terminate Operations | 0 | TerminateOperationsInd |
| Partial Liquidation | 0 | PartialLiquidationInd |
| Disregarded Entity | Yes (1) | DisregardedEntityInd |
| Related Entity | Yes (1) | RelatedEntityInd |
| Related Organization Ctrl Ent | Yes (1) | RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd |
| Transaction With Control Ent | 0 | TransactionWithControlEntInd |
| Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd Org | 0 | TrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd |
| Activities Conducted Prtshp | 0 | ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd |
| Schedule O Required | Yes (1) | ScheduleORequiredInd |
| IRP Document | 30 | IRPDocumentCnt |
| IRP Document W2 G | 0 | IRPDocumentW2GCnt |
| Backup Wthld Compliance | Yes (1) | BackupWthldComplianceInd |
| Employee | 12 | EmployeeCnt |
| Employment Tax Returns Filed | Yes (1) | EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd |
| Unrelated Bus Incm Over Limit | 0 | UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd |
| Foreign Financial Account | 0 | ForeignFinancialAccountInd |
| Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans | 0 | ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd |
| Taxable Party Notification | 0 | TaxablePartyNotificationInd |
| Nondeductible Contributions | 0 | NondeductibleContributionsInd |
| Quid Pro Quo Contributions | 0 | QuidProQuoContributionsInd |
| Form8282 Property Disposed Of | 0 | Form8282PropertyDisposedOfInd |
| Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft Cntrct | 0 | RcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd |
| Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft Cntrct | 0 | PayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd |
| Indoor Tanning Services | 0 | IndoorTanningServicesInd |
| Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht Pymt | 0 | SubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd |
| Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst Inc | 0 | SubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd |
| Info In Schedule O Part VI | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd |
| Governing Body Voting Members | 4 | GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt |
| Independent Voting Member | 2 | IndependentVotingMemberCnt |
| Family Or Business Rln | 0 | FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd |
| Delegation Of Mgmt Duties | 0 | DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd |
| Change To Org Documents | 0 | ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd |
| Material Diversion Or Misuse | 0 | MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd |
| Members Or Stockholders | 0 | MembersOrStockholdersInd |
| Election Of Board Members | 0 | ElectionOfBoardMembersInd |
| Decisions Subject To Approva | 0 | DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd |
| Minutes Of Governing Body | Yes (1) | MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd |
| Minutes Of Committees | Yes (1) | MinutesOfCommitteesInd |
| Officer Mailing Address | 0 | OfficerMailingAddressInd |
| Local Chapters | 0 | LocalChaptersInd |
| Form990 Provided To Gvrn Body | 0 | Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd |
| Conflict Of Interest Policy | Yes (1) | ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd |
| Annual Disclosure Covered Prsn | Yes (1) | AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd |
| Regular Monitoring Enfrc | Yes (1) | RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd |
| Whistleblower Policy | Yes (1) | WhistleblowerPolicyInd |
| Document Retention Policy | Yes (1) | DocumentRetentionPolicyInd |
| Compensation Process CEO | Yes (1) | CompensationProcessCEOInd |
| Compensation Process Other | Yes (1) | CompensationProcessOtherInd |
| Investment In Joint Venture | 0 | InvestmentInJointVentureInd |
| Upon Request | Yes (X) | UponRequestInd |
Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Person | DENISE TAYLOR | PersonNm |
| Phone | 9282338667 | PhoneNum |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 616 N BEAVER STREET | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | FLAGSTAFF | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | AZ | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 86001 | ZIPCd |
Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (11 entries)
| TitleTitleTxt | Average Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRt | Individual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorInd | OfficerOfficerInd | Reportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmt | Reportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmt | Other CompensationOtherCompensationAmt | Key EmployeeKeyEmployeeInd | Highest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| MARY JO GREGORY | ||||||||
| PRESIDENT & CEO | 47.00 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $568,443 | $0 | $25,613 | ||
| JAMES DYKES | ||||||||
| DIRECTOR & VP 01/2020 | 4.00 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| CELESTE IRONS | ||||||||
| DIRECTOR | 2.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| VINCENT BERKLEY | ||||||||
| DIRECTOR | 2.00 | Yes (X) | $19,000 | $0 | $0 | |||
| MICHAEL KUZMIN | ||||||||
| TNI-CFO | 20.00 | Yes (X) | $281,082 | $0 | $17,928 | |||
| JON PEREZ | ||||||||
| VP WNC LIVABLE COMMUNITIES | 40.00 | $196,583 | $0 | $25,829 | Yes (X) | |||
| NATHAN JONES | ||||||||
| GENERAL COUNSEL | 20.00 | $232,475 | $0 | $13,038 | Yes (X) | |||
| TERESA BERTSCH | ||||||||
| TNI VP MEDICAL OPERATIONS | 12.00 | $367,099 | $0 | $25,614 | Yes (X) | |||
| LAUREN LAUDER | ||||||||
| TNI VP PATIENT SVCS | 2.00 | $325,710 | $0 | $42,906 | Yes (X) | |||
| JUDITH MARFECHUK | ||||||||
| CHIEF ACCOUNTING OFFICER | 34.00 | $195,497 | $0 | $13,466 | Yes (X) | |||
| DEVON FORREST | ||||||||
| TNI DIRECTOR OF SUPPORT SVCS | 1.00 | $139,508 | $0 | $0 | Yes (X) | |||
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Reportable Comp From Org | $2,325,397 | TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt |
| Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org | $0 | TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt |
| Total Other Compensation | $164,394 | TotalOtherCompensationAmt |
| Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K | 9 | IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt |
| Former Ofcr Employees Listed | 0 | FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd |
| Total Comp Greater Than150 K | Yes (1) | TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd |
| Compensation From Other Srcs | 0 | CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd |
Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (2 entries)
| Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1Txt | CityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNm | State AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCd | ZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCd | ServicesServicesDesc | CompensationCompensationAmt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| STRATEGIC HEALTH ADVISORS INC | |||||
| 90 DORNOCH WAY | COTO DE CAZA | CA | 92679 | CONSULTING | $195,000 |
| LINE OF FLIGHT-DANIEL COWAN | |||||
| 124 BUENA VISTA DR | RINGWOOD | NJ | 07456 | FILM MAKING | $139,560 |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K | 2 | CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt |
| Government Grants | $3,805,583 | GovernmentGrantsAmt |
| Total Contributions | $3,805,583 | TotalContributionsAmt |
Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (3 entries)
| DescDesc | BusinessBusinessCd | Total Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmt | Related Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt |
|---|---|---|---|
| GUIDANCE CENTER INC | 621400 | $2,287,793 | $2,287,793 |
| CONSULTING INCOME | 541610 | $1,175,000 | $1,175,000 |
| RENTAL INCOME | 531110 | $739,110 | $739,110 |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Program Service Revenue | $4,201,903 | TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $554,930 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Exclusion | $554,930 | ExclusionAmt |
Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Securities | $1,976,292 | SecuritiesAmt |
Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Securities | $1,785,507 | SecuritiesAmt |
Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Securities | $190,785 | SecuritiesAmt |
Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $190,785 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Exclusion | $190,785 | ExclusionAmt |
Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $8,753,201 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Related Or Exempt Func Income | $4,201,903 | RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt |
| Unrelated Business Revenue | $0 | UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt |
| Exclusion | $745,715 | ExclusionAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Info In Schedule O Part IX | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartIXInd |
Grants To Domestic Orgs GrantsToDomesticOrgsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $4,024,170 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $4,024,170 | ProgramServicesAmt |
Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $1,274,636 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $387,814 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $886,822 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $764,024 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $548,784 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $215,240 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $95,648 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $69,156 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $26,492 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $88,944 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $47,506 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $41,438 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Fees For Services Management FeesForServicesManagementGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $64,452 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $64,452 | ProgramServicesAmt |
Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $31,020 | TotalAmt |
| Management And General | $31,020 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Fees For Srvc Invst Mgmnt Fees FeesForSrvcInvstMgmntFeesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $239,421 | TotalAmt |
| Management And General | $239,421 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $890,690 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $322,902 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $567,788 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $105,271 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $83,253 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $22,018 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $36,275 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $26,072 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $10,203 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Occupancy OccupancyGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $327,338 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $305,009 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $22,329 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Travel TravelGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $74,015 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $68,669 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $5,346 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $150,268 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $106,984 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $43,284 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $409,779 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $388,910 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $20,869 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Insurance InsuranceGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $126,536 | TotalAmt |
| Management And General | $126,536 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (2 entries)
| DescDesc | TotalTotalAmt | Program ServicesProgramServicesAmt | Management And GeneralManagementAndGeneralAmt |
|---|---|---|---|
| DUES & SUBSCRIPTIONS | $57,413 | $41,640 | $15,773 |
| MISCELLANEOUS EXPENSES | $6,028 | $5,924 | $104 |
Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $8,765,928 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $6,491,245 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $2,274,683 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $0 | FundraisingAmt |
Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $11,466,263 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $8,198,982 | EOYAmt |
Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $843,104 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $558,955 | EOYAmt |
Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $124,132 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $152,977 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss | $12,624,919 | LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt |
| Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec | $5,009,976 | LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt |
Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $7,397,461 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $7,614,943 | EOYAmt |
Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $33,731,028 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $28,139,718 | EOYAmt |
Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $788,353 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $831,205 | EOYAmt |
Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $18,793,052 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $21,080,845 | EOYAmt |
Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $73,143,393 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $66,577,625 | EOYAmt |
Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $1,215,985 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $773,529 | EOYAmt |
Deferred Revenue DeferredRevenueGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $833 | BOYAmt |
Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $1,216,818 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $773,529 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Organization Follows FASB117 | Yes (X) | OrganizationFollowsFASB117Ind |
No Donor Restriction Net Assets NoDonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $71,926,575 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $65,548,874 | EOYAmt |
Donor Restriction Net Assets DonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| EOY | $255,222 | EOYAmt |
Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $71,926,575 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $65,804,096 | EOYAmt |
Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $73,143,393 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $66,577,625 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Info In Schedule O Part XI | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd |
| Reconcilation Revenue Expnss | -$12,727 | ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt |
| Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst | -$6,134,782 | NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt |
| Other Changes In Net Assets | $25,030 | OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt |
| Method Of Accounting Accrual | Yes (X) | MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd |
| Accountant Compile Or Review | 0 | AccountantCompileOrReviewInd |
| FS Audited | Yes (1) | FSAuditedInd |
FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Consolidated Basis Fincl Stmt | Yes (X) | ConsolidatedBasisFinclStmtInd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Audit Committee | Yes (1) | AuditCommitteeInd |
| Federal Grant Audit Required | 0 | FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd |
Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Public Organization170 | Yes (X) | PublicOrganization170Ind |
Gifts Grants Contri Rcvd170 GiftsGrantsContriRcvd170Grp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Current Tax Year Minus4 Years | $4,276,240 | CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus3 Years | $3,376,329 | CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus2 Years | $4,830,876 | CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus1 Year | $3,367,373 | CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt |
| Current Tax Year | $3,805,583 | CurrentTaxYearAmt |
| Total | $19,656,401 | TotalAmt |
Total Calendar Year170 TotalCalendarYear170Grp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Current Tax Year Minus4 Years | $4,276,240 | CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus3 Years | $3,376,329 | CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus2 Years | $4,830,876 | CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus1 Year | $3,367,373 | CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt |
| Current Tax Year | $3,805,583 | CurrentTaxYearAmt |
| Total | $19,656,401 | TotalAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Public Support Total170 | $19,656,401 | PublicSupportTotal170Amt |
Gross Investment Income170 GrossInvestmentIncome170Grp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Current Tax Year Minus4 Years | $589,759 | CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus3 Years | $772,792 | CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus2 Years | $689,421 | CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus1 Year | $556,494 | CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt |
| Current Tax Year | $554,930 | CurrentTaxYearAmt |
| Total | $3,163,396 | TotalAmt |
Other Income170 OtherIncome170Grp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Current Tax Year Minus4 Years | $672 | CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus3 Years | $30,956 | CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus2 Years | $84 | CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus1 Year | $557 | CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt |
| Total | $32,269 | TotalAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Support | $22,852,066 | TotalSupportAmt |
| Gross Receipts Rltd Activities | $23,038,137 | GrossReceiptsRltdActivitiesAmt |
| Public Support CY170 | 0.86020 | PublicSupportCY170Pct |
| Public Support PY170 | 0.86140 | PublicSupportPY170Pct |
| Thirty Thr Pct Suprt Tests CY170 | Yes (X) | ThirtyThrPctSuprtTestsCY170Ind |
Form990 Schedule A Part VI Form990ScheduleAPartVIGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Form And Line Reference | SCHEDULE A, PART II, LINE 10, EXPLANATION OF OTHER INCOME: | FormAndLineReferenceDesc |
| Explanation | MISCELLANEOUS INCOME - 2017 AMOUNT: $ 672. 2018 AMOUNT: $ 30,956. 2019 AMOUNT: $ 84. 2020 AMOUNT: $ 557. AHIP REFUND - | ExplanationTxt |
Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB
Contributor Information ContributorInformationGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Contributor | RESTRICTED | ContributorNum |
Contributor Business Name ContributorBusinessName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | RESTRICTED | BusinessNameLine1 |
Contributor US Address ContributorUSAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | RESTRICTED | AddressLine1 |
| Address Line2 | RESTRICTED | AddressLine2 |
| City | RESTRICTED | City |
| State | RESTRICTED | State |
| ZIP Code | RESTRICTED | ZIPCode |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Contributions | RESTRICTED | TotalContributionsAmt |
Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD
Land LandGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Cost Or Other Basis | $2,605,017 | OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Book Value | $2,605,017 | BookValueAmt |
Buildings BuildingsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Cost Or Other Basis | $9,789,316 | OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Depreciation | $4,779,390 | DepreciationAmt |
| Book Value | $5,009,926 | BookValueAmt |
Equipment EquipmentGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Cost Or Other Basis | $230,586 | OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Depreciation | $230,586 | DepreciationAmt |
| Book Value | $0 | BookValueAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Book Value Land Buildings | $7,614,943 | TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt |
Other Assets Org OtherAssetsOrgGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Desc | INVESTMENT IN THE GUIDANCE CENTER | Desc |
| Book Value | $21,080,845 | BookValueAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Book Value Other Assets | $21,080,845 | TotalBookValueOtherAssetsAmt |
| Footnote Text | Yes (X) | FootnoteTextInd |
| Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt | $23,559,409 | TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt |
| Net Unrealized Gains Invst | -$6,134,782 | NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt |
| Other Revenue | $24,869,376 | OtherRevenueAmt |
| Revenue Not Reported | $18,734,594 | RevenueNotReportedAmt |
| Revenue Subtotal | $4,824,815 | RevenueSubtotalAmt |
| Investment Expenses Not Incld | $239,421 | InvestmentExpensesNotIncldAmt |
| Other Revenues Not Included | $3,688,965 | OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt |
| Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt | $3,928,386 | RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt |
| Total Revenue Per Form990 | $8,753,201 | TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt |
| Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt | $29,682,128 | TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt |
| Other Expenses Included | $22,556,793 | OtherExpensesIncludedAmt |
| Expenses Not Reported | $22,556,793 | ExpensesNotReportedAmt |
| Expenses Subtotal | $7,125,335 | ExpensesSubtotalAmt |
| Investment Expenses Not Incld2 | $239,421 | InvestmentExpensesNotIncld2Amt |
| Other Expenses Not Included | $1,401,172 | OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt |
| Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt | $1,640,593 | ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt |
| Total Expenses Per Form990 | $8,765,928 | TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt |
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (5 entries)
| Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDesc | ExplanationExplanationTxt |
|---|---|
| PART X, LINE 2: | THE NARBHA INSTITUTE QUALIFIES AS A TAX-EXEMPT ORGANIZATION UNDER SECTION 501(C)(3) OF THE INTERNAL REVENUE CODE (THE CODE) AND, THEREFORE, THERE IS NO PROVISION FOR INCOME TAXES IN THE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS. IN ADDITION, THE NARBHA INSTITUTE QUALIFIES FOR THE CHARITABLE CONTRIBUTION DEDUCTION UNDER SECTION 170 OF THE CODE AND HAS BEEN CLASSIFIED AS AN ORGANIZATION THAT IS NOT A PRIVATE FOUNDATION. INCOME DETERMINED TO BE UNRELATED BUSINESS TAXABLE INCOME (UBTI) WOULD BE TAXABLE. MANAGEMENT DOES NOT BELIEVE THE NARBHA INSTITUTE HAS ANY UBTI FOR THE YEAR ENDED SEPTEMBER 30, 2022. THE NARBHA INSTITUTE EVALUATES ITS UNCERTAIN TAX POSITIONS, IF ANY, ON A CONTINUAL BASIS THROUGH REVIEW OF ITS POLICIES AND PROCEDURES, REVIEW OF ITS REGULAR TAX FILINGS, AND DISCUSSIONS WITH OUTSIDE EXPERTS. THE NARBHA INSTITUTE'S FEDERAL RETURN OF ORGANIZATIONS EXEMPT FROM INCOME TAX (FORM 990) FOR FISCAL 2021, 2020, AND 2019 ARE SUBJECT TO EXAMINATION BY THE IRS GENERALLY FOR THREE YEARS AFTER THEY WERE FILED. |
| PART XI, LINE 2D - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS: | REVENUE FROM SUSTAINABLE ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT INITIATIVE (RELATED ENTITY) 113,941. REVENUE FROM THE GUIDANCE CENTER (RELATED ENTITY) 24,755,405. REVENUE FROM THE ALLIANCE 30. |
| PART XI, LINE 4B - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS: | INCOME FROM INVESTMENT IN TGC 2,287,793. ELIMINATIONS 1,401,172. |
| PART XII, LINE 2D - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS: | EXPENSES FROM SUSTAINABLE ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT INITIATIVE (RELATED ENTITY) 89,181. EXPENSES FROM THE GUIDANCE CENTER (RELATED ENTITY) 22,467,612. |
| PART XII, LINE 4B - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS: | ELIMINATIONS 1,401,172. |
Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Grant Records Maintained | Yes (1) | GrantRecordsMaintainedInd |
Recipient Table RecipientTable (25 entries)
| Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1Txt | CityUSAddress/CityNm | State AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCd | ZIPUSAddress/ZIPCd | Recipient EINRecipientEIN | IRC SectionIRCSectionDesc | Cash GrantCashGrantAmt | Non Cash AssistanceNonCashAssistanceAmt | Purpose Of GrantPurposeOfGrantTxt | Non Cash AssistanceNonCashAssistanceDesc |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| AZ FOUNDATION FOR THE FUTURE NURSING | |||||||||
| PO BOX 1108 | LITCHFIELD PARK | AZ | 85340 | 263341660 | 501(C)(3) | $56,000 | $0 | PROGRAM SUPPORT | |
| CENTRAL AZ DENTAL FOUNDATION | |||||||||
| 5300 N CENTRAL STE 200 | PHOENIX | AZ | 85012 | 274537263 | 501(C)(3) | $12,000 | $0 | PROGRAM SUPPORT | |
| COCONINO COMM COLLEGE FOUNDATION | |||||||||
| 2800 S LONE TREE ROAD | FLAGSTAFF | AZ | 86005 | 860717956 | 501(C)(3) | $10,500 | $0 | PROGRAM SUPPORT | |
| FLAGSTAFF FAMILY FOOD CENTER | |||||||||
| PO BOX P | FLAGSTAFF | AZ | 86002 | 860754044 | 501(C)(3) | $10,000 | $0 | PROGRAM SUPPORT | |
| FLAGSTAFF SYMPHONY ORCHESTRA | |||||||||
| PO BOX 122 | FLAGSTAFF | AZ | 86002 | 860186038 | 501(C)(3) | $25,000 | $0 | PROGRAM SUPPORT | |
| GRAND CANYON YOUTH | |||||||||
| 2131 N FIRST ST | FLAGSTAFF | AZ | 86004 | 860905180 | 501(C)(3) | $17,506 | $0 | PROGRAM SUPPORT | |
| HEALTH CURRENT | |||||||||
| 3877 N 7TH ST STE150 | PHOENIX | AZ | 85014 | 208381131 | S CORP | $183,323 | $0 | PROGRAM SUPPORT | |
| HOPE LIVES VIVE LA ESPERANZA | |||||||||
| 1551 WEST VAN BUREN STREET | PHOENIX | AZ | 85007 | 452300190 | 501(C)(3) | $64,376 | $0 | PROGRAM SUPPORT | |
| HUSHABYE NURSERY | |||||||||
| 3003 EAST MCDOWELL ROAD | PHOENIX | AZ | 85008 | 822737849 | 501(C)(3) | $200,000 | $0 | PROGRAM SUPPORT | |
| IDEAS COLLIDE | |||||||||
| 6125 E INDIAN SCHOOL RD 1001 | SCOTTSDALE | AZ | 85251 | 204419257 | S CORP | $20,000 | $0 | PROGRAM SUPPORT | |
| INSTITUTE FOR HEALTHCARE IMPROVEMENT | |||||||||
| 53 STATE STREET 19TH FLOOR | BOSTON | MA | 02109 | 383017223 | 501(C)(3) | $25,000 | $0 | PROGRAM SUPPORT | |
| LITTLE COLORADO BEHAVIORAL HEALTH CENTERS INC | |||||||||
| PO BOX 579 | ST JOHNS | AZ | 85936 | 860250938 | 501(C)(3) | $17,500 | $0 | PROGRAM SUPPORT | |
| LOCAL INITIATIVES SUPPORT CORPORATION | |||||||||
| 28 LIBERTY STREET 34TH FLOOR | NEW YORK | NY | 10005 | 133030229 | 501(C)(3) | $100,000 | $0 | PROGRAM SUPPORT | |
| NAMI ARIZONA | |||||||||
| 5025 E WASHINGTON ST | PHOENIX | AZ | 85034 | 860464872 | 501(C)(3) | $20,000 | $0 | PROGRAM SUPPORT | |
| NAU FOUNDATION | |||||||||
| PO BOX 4094 | FLAGSTAFF | AZ | 86011 | 860193726 | 501(C)(3) | $240,734 | $0 | PROGRAM SUPPORT | |
| NORTH COUNTRY HEALTHCARE | |||||||||
| PO BOX 3630 | FLAGSTAFF | AZ | 86003 | 860663432 | 501(C)(3) | $600,000 | $0 | PROGRAM SUPPORT | |
| OLD CONCHO COMMUNITY ASSISTANCE CENTER | |||||||||
| PO BOX 50 | CONCHO | AZ | 85924 | 860907044 | 501(C)(3) | $60,000 | $0 | PROGRAM SUPPORT | |
| SEDI | |||||||||
| 616 N BEAVER STREET | FLAGSTAFF | AZ | 86001 | 261077054 | 501(C)(3) | $50,449 | $62,551 | PROGRAM SUPPORT | |
| SOUTHWEST BEHAVIORAL & HEALTH SERVICES INC | |||||||||
| 3450 N 3RD STREET | PHOENIX | AZ | 85012 | 860290033 | 501(C)(3) | $56,510 | $0 | PROGRAM SUPPORT | |
| SPECTRUM HEALTHCARE GROUP INC | |||||||||
| 8 EAST COTTONWOOD STREET | COTTONWOOD | AZ | 86326 | 860207499 | 501(C)(3) | $87,695 | $0 | PROGRAM SUPPORT | |
| STEPS TO RECOVERY HOMES | |||||||||
| DAMIEN BROWNING | COTTONWOOD | AZ | 86326 | 463225513 | 501(C)(3) | $10,000 | $0 | PROGRAM SUPPORT | |
| THE GUIDANCE CENTER INC | |||||||||
| 2187 N VICKEY STREET | FLAGSTAFF | AZ | 86004 | 860223720 | 501(C)(3) | $148,414 | $1,288,199 | PROGRAM SUPPORT | THE INSTITUTE PAID WAGES, EMPLOYEE RELATED EXPENSES, AND RENOVATIONS. |
| THE TRANSLATIONAL GENOMICS RESEARCH INSTITUTE | |||||||||
| ACCOUNTS RECEIVABLE | PHOENIX | AZ | 85004 | 753065445 | 501(C)(3) | $500,000 | $0 | PROGRAM SUPPORT | |
| WEST YAVAPAI GUIDANCE CLINIC INC | |||||||||
| 3343 N WINDSONG DRIVE | PRESCOTT VALLEY | AZ | 86314 | 860206928 | 501(C)(3) | $33,178 | $0 | PROGRAM SUPPORT | |
| WILLIAMS UNIFIED SCHOOL DISTRICT #2 | |||||||||
| 636 SOUTH 7TH STREET | WILLIAMS | AZ | 86046 | 860592836 | EXEMPT-GOV | $25,000 | $0 | PROGRAM SUPPORT | |
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Form And Line Reference | PART I, LINE 2: | FormAndLineReferenceDesc |
| Explanation | THE NARBHA INSTITUTE BOARD APPROVES A BUDGET THAT INCLUDES GRANTS AND SPONSORSHIPS. STAFF REVIEW GRANT APPLICATIONS FOR CONSISTENCY WITH THE NARBHA INSTITUTE'S MISSION AND CHARITABLE PURPOSE, SCREEN FOR CONFLICTS OF INTEREST, ASCERTAIN WHETHER THE GRANTEE IS A PUBLIC CHARITY OR GOVERNMENTAL ENTITY, AND MAKE A FINAL RECOMMENDATION TO THE BOARD OR CHIEF EXECUTIVE AS APPROPRIATE. IF AN AWARD IS MADE, THE REPRESENTATIONS MADE IN THE APPLICATION ARE MADE CONTRACTUALLY BINDING AND FUNDING IS RESTRICTED TO THE PURPOSE DESCRIBED IN THE GRANT. SOME SMALLER GRANTS (PRIMARILY EVENT SPONSORSHIPS) DO NOT FOLLOW THE FORMAL APPLICATION PROCESS BUT ARE MONITORED BY HAVING STAFF VERIFY THE PUBLIC CHARITY STATUS OF THE COMPANY HOSTING THE EVENT, HAVING STAFF ATTEND THE EVENT, AND REVIEWING EVENT INFORMATION AND MATERIALS. THE NARBHA INSTITUTE MAY RELY ON THE PUBLIC CHARITY STATUS OF THE GRANTEE TO ENSURE THAT THE GRANT IS CONSISTENT WITH CHARITABLE PURPOSES, OR IT MAY REQUIRE (OR IN THE RARE CASE OF A GRANT TO AN ENTITY WHICH IS NOT A PUBLIC CHARITY OR GOVERNMENTAL UNIT, WILL REQUIRE) REPORTS AND MEASURED OUTCOMES DEMONSTRATING THE USE OF FUNDS CONSISTENT WITH THE NARBHA INSTITUTE'S CHARITABLE PURPOSE AND MISSION. | ExplanationTxt |
Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Independent Consultant | Yes (X) | IndependentConsultantInd |
| Form990 Of Other Organizations | Yes (X) | Form990OfOtherOrganizationsInd |
| Written Employment Contract | Yes (X) | WrittenEmploymentContractInd |
| Compensation Survey | Yes (X) | CompensationSurveyInd |
| Board Or Committee Approval | Yes (X) | BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd |
| Severance Payment | 0 | SeverancePaymentInd |
| Supplemental Nonqual Rtr Plan | 0 | SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd |
| Equity Based Comp Arrngm | 0 | EquityBasedCompArrngmInd |
| Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng Org | 0 | CompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd |
| Comp Bsd On Rev Related Orgs | 0 | CompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd |
| Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng Org | 0 | CompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd |
| Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd Orgs | 0 | CompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd |
| Any Non Fixed Payments | Yes (1) | AnyNonFixedPaymentsInd |
| Initial Contract Exception | 0 | InitialContractExceptionInd |
Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (7 entries)
| TitleTitleTxt | Base Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmt | Compensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmt | Bonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmount | Bonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmt | Other Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmt | Other Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmt | Deferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmt | Deferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmt | Nontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmt | Nontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmt | Total Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmt | Total Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmt | Comp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmt | Comp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| MARY JO GREGORY | ||||||||||||||
| PRESIDENT & CEO | $543,443 | $0 | $25,000 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $25,613 | $0 | $594,056 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| TERESA BERTSCH | ||||||||||||||
| TNI VP MEDICAL OPERATIONS | $358,479 | $0 | $8,620 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $25,614 | $0 | $392,713 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| LAUREN LAUDER | ||||||||||||||
| TNI VP PATIENT SVCS | $311,724 | $0 | $1,512 | $0 | $12,474 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $42,906 | $0 | $368,616 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| MICHAEL KUZMIN | ||||||||||||||
| TNI-CFO | $262,236 | $0 | $8,620 | $0 | $10,226 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $17,928 | $0 | $299,010 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| NATHAN JONES | ||||||||||||||
| GENERAL COUNSEL | $222,372 | $0 | $1,533 | $0 | $8,570 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $13,038 | $0 | $245,513 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| JON PEREZ | ||||||||||||||
| VP WNC LIVABLE COMMUNITIES | $189,096 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $7,487 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $25,829 | $0 | $222,412 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| JUDITH MARFECHUK | ||||||||||||||
| CHIEF ACCOUNTING OFFICER | $145,234 | $0 | $44,577 | $0 | $5,686 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $13,466 | $0 | $208,963 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)
| Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDesc | ExplanationExplanationTxt |
|---|---|
| PART I, LINE 3 | BASED ON COMPARABILITY DATA FOR SIMILARLY QUALIFIED PERSONS IN FUNCTIONALLY COMPARABLE POSITIONS AT SIMILARLY SITUATED ORGANIZATIONS, THE COMPENSATION OF THE CEO AND KEY EMPLOYEES WAS REVIEWED AND APPROVED BY THE ORGANIZATION'S GOVERNING BODY, COMPOSED OF INDEPENDENT MEMBERS WITHOUT CONFLICTS. THE CEO'S COMPENSATION IS SET BY CONTRACT AND THE APPROVAL OF THE INDEPENDENT DIRECTORS IS BASED ON THE ADVICE OF INDEPENDENT COMPENSATION CONSULTANTS SPECIFICALLY CONTRACTED TO ENSURE THAT COMPENSATION IS NOT EXCESSIVE. |
| PART I, LINE 7 | BONUS PAYMENTS ARE MADE BASED ON MEETING ORGANIZATIONAL GOALS AND ARE AT THE DISCRETION OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS. |
Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (6 entries)
| Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDesc | ExplanationExplanationTxt |
|---|---|
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 11B | CORPORATE PRACTICES REQUIRE REVIEW OF FORM 990 BY THE PRESIDENT AND VICE-PRESIDENT OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS ON BEHALF OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS PRIOR TO FILING THE ORGANIZATION'S 990 RETURN. |
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 12C | THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS ADOPTED THE IRS MODEL POLICY WHICH PROVIDES FOR ANNUAL DISCLOSURE BY "ANY DIRECTOR, PRINCIPAL OFFICER, OR MEMBER OF A COMMITTEE WITH GOVERNING BOARD DELEGATED POWERS." THE GENERAL COUNSEL ENSURES ANNUAL COMPLETION OF DISCLOSURES AND ENFORCES THE POLICY, WHICH ENSURES THAT NO INTERESTED PERSON WILL BE INVOLVED IN ANY DISCUSSION OR VOTE ON ANY MATTER ABOUT WHICH THEY HAVE DISCLOSED AN INTEREST. VIOLATIONS OF THE CONFLICTS POLICY MAY RESULT IN SANCTIONS UP TO AND INCLUDING REMOVAL. |
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 15 | THE NARBHA INSTITUTE HAS ENGAGED THE SERVICES OF INDEPENDENT COMPENSATION CONSULTANTS FOR BOTH THE CEO AND KEY EMPLOYEES, AND HAS ALSO DONE ORGANIZATION-WIDE COMPENSATION STUDIES. COMPENSATION OF THE CEO IS DETERMINED BY INDEPENDENT DIRECTORS BASED ON SUCH COMPENSATION STUDIES. |
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION C, LINE 19 | THE ORGANIZATION'S ARTICLES OF INCORPORATION, BY-LAWS, CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY AND FINANCIAL STATEMENTS ARE MADE AVAILABLE TO THE PUBLIC UPON REQUEST. |
| FORM 990, PART IX, LINE 11G | OTHER FEES: PROGRAM SERVICE EXPENSES 322,902. MANAGEMENT AND GENERAL EXPENSES 567,788. FUNDRAISING EXPENSES 0. TOTAL EXPENSES 890,690. |
| FORM 990, PART XI, LINE 9: | DUE FROM NARBHA ALLIANCE 25,000. INVESTMENT IN NARBHA ALLIANCE 30. |
Schedule R IRS990ScheduleR
Id Disregarded Entities IdDisregardedEntitiesGrp (2 entries)
| Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1Txt | CityUSAddress/CityNm | State AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCd | ZIPUSAddress/ZIPCd | EINEIN | Primary ActivitiesPrimaryActivitiesTxt | Legal Domicile StateLegalDomicileStateCd | Total IncomeTotalIncomeAmt | End Of Year AssetsEndOfYearAssetsAmt | Business Name Line1DirectControllingEntityName/BusinessNameLine1Txt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| WELL NORTH COMMUNITIES LLC | |||||||||
| 616 N BEAVER STREET | FLAGSTAFF | AZ | 86001 | 866037149 | PROPERTY OWNERSHIP AND PROVIDING AFFORDABLE HOUSING | AZ | $395,240 | $2,018,012 | THE NARBHA INSTITUTE |
| THE NARBHA ALLIANCE | |||||||||
| 616 N BEAVER STREET | FLAGSTAFF | AZ | 86001 | 866037149 | HEALTHCARE | AZ | $0 | $34,970 | THE NARBHA INSTITUTE |
Id Related Tax Exempt Org IdRelatedTaxExemptOrgGrp (2 entries)
| Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1Txt | CityUSAddress/CityNm | State AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCd | ZIPUSAddress/ZIPCd | EINEIN | Primary ActivitiesPrimaryActivitiesTxt | Legal Domicile StateLegalDomicileStateCd | Exempt Code SectionExemptCodeSectionTxt | Public Charity StatusPublicCharityStatusTxt | Business Name Line1DirectControllingEntityName/BusinessNameLine1Txt | Controlled OrganizationControlledOrganizationInd |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| COCONINO COUNTY SUSTAINABLE ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT INITIATIVE | ||||||||||
| 616 N BEAVER STREET | FLAGSTAFF | AZ | 86001 | 261077054 | MICRO-LOANS | AZ | 501(C)(3) | LINE 7 | THE NARBHA INSTITUTE | Yes (1) |
| THE GUIDANCE CENTER INC | ||||||||||
| 2187 N VICKEY STREET | FLAGSTAFF | AZ | 86004 | 860223720 | BEHAVIORAL HEALTH SERVICES | AZ | 501(C)(3) | LINE 7 | THE NARBHA INSTITUTE | Yes (1) |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Receipt Of Int Annts Rnts Rylts | 0 | ReceiptOfIntAnntsRntsRyltsInd |
| Gift Grnt Or Cap Contri To Oth Org | Yes (1) | GiftGrntOrCapContriToOthOrgInd |
| Gift Grnt Cap Contri From Oth Org | 0 | GiftGrntCapContriFromOthOrgInd |
| Loans Or Guarantees To Other Org | 0 | LoansOrGuaranteesToOtherOrgInd |
| Loans Or Guarantees From Oth Org | 0 | LoansOrGuaranteesFromOthOrgInd |
| Div Related Organization | 0 | DivRelatedOrganizationInd |
| Asset Sale To Other Org | 0 | AssetSaleToOtherOrgInd |
| Asset Purchase From Other Org | 0 | AssetPurchaseFromOtherOrgInd |
| Asset Exchange | 0 | AssetExchangeInd |
| Rental Of Facilities To Oth Org | 0 | RentalOfFacilitiesToOthOrgInd |
| Rental Of Fclts From Oth Org | 0 | RentalOfFcltsFromOthOrgInd |
| Perform Of Services For Oth Org | 0 | PerformOfServicesForOthOrgInd |
| Perform Of Services By Other Org | 0 | PerformOfServicesByOtherOrgInd |
| Sharing Of Facilities | 0 | SharingOfFacilitiesInd |
| Paid Employees Sharing | Yes (1) | PaidEmployeesSharingInd |
| Reimbursement Paid To Other Org | 0 | ReimbursementPaidToOtherOrgInd |
| Reimbursement Paid By Other Org | 0 | ReimbursementPaidByOtherOrgInd |
| Transfer To Other Org | 0 | TransferToOtherOrgInd |
| Transfer From Other Org | 0 | TransferFromOtherOrgInd |
Transactions Related Org TransactionsRelatedOrgGrp (2 entries)
| Transaction TypeTransactionTypeTxt | InvolvedInvolvedAmt | Method Of Amount DeterminationMethodOfAmountDeterminationTxt |
|---|---|---|
| THE GUIDANCE CENTER INC | ||
| B | $1,436,613 | FMV |
| COCONINO COUNTY SUSTAINABLE ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT INITIATIVE | ||
| B | $113,000 | FMV |
Comments