THE KINGS UNIVERSITY: Form 990, tax year 2021

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
THE KINGS UNIVERSITY (EIN 95-4663290)
Tax period
2021-07-01 to 2022-06-30
Filed
2023-05-15
IRS object ID
202311359349311821
Schema version
2021v4.2
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2023-05-15T14:20:24-05:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2022-06-30TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN363990892PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Capin Crouse LLPBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line15605 N MacArthur Blvd Suite 210AddressLine1Txt
CityIrvingCityNm
State AbbreviationTXStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP75038ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2021-07-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN954663290EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1The King's UniversityBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlKINGBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone8175523700PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line12121 East Southlake BlvdAddressLine1Txt
CitySouthlakeCityNm
State AbbreviationTXStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP76092ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonAshley GreenPersonNm
Person TitleCFOPersonTitleTxt
Phone8175523700PhoneNum
Signature2023-05-15SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (1)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Signing Officer SigningOfficerGrp

Person Full Name PersonFullName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Person FirstAshleyPersonFirstNm
Person LastGreenPersonLastNm
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
SSN999009999SSN

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonDaren DaigaPreparerPersonNm
PTINP01074795PTIN
Phone5055022746PhoneNum

Additional Filer Information AdditionalFilerInformation

Trusted Customer TrustedCustomerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Trusted Customer3TrustedCustomerCd
Authentication Assurance LevelAAL1AuthenticationAssuranceLevelCd
Identity Assurance LevelIAL1IdentityAssuranceLevelCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2021TaxYr
Build TS2023-04-26 12:10:37ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerDr Jon ChasteenPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line12121 East Southlake BlvdAddressLine1Txt
CitySouthlakeCityNm
State AbbreviationTXStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP76092ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$11,747,990GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For Affiliates0GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501c3Yes (X)Organization501c3Ind
Website Addresswww.tku.eduWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1997FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateCALegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionPrepare and educate men and women for effective leadership and Christ-like servanthood.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body10VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent8VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee174TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers11TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$0TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$0NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$5,862,135PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$4,420,472CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$6,505,465PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$6,818,046CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$31,030PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$456,812CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue-$84,046PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue-$47,696CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$12,314,584PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$11,647,634CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$1,260,306PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$1,773,132CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$0PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$0PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$7,107,260CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$72,000PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$72,000CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$656,350CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$9,278,303PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$2,649,389CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$10,610,609PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$11,601,781CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$1,703,975PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$45,853CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$15,085,733TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$13,835,160TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$1,205,369TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$1,140,577TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$13,880,364NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$12,694,583NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
Info In Schedule O Part IIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartIIIInd
MissionThe King's University is a higher education and ministry leadership training center that exists to provide biblically and theologically sound preparation that equips men and women to become the next generation of Christ-like, Spirit-empowered, transformational leaders for the global church.MissionDesc
Significant New Program Srvc0SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant Change0SignificantChangeInd
Expense$7,708,088ExpenseAmt
Grant$1,773,132GrantAmt
Revenue$6,818,046RevenueAmt
DescThe University provides an undergraduate education and graduate level seminary education with a student enrollment of over 700: 363 undergraduate and 421 graduate. Degree programs include Associate of Christian Ministries, Associate of Worship Leadership, Bachelor of Biblical & Theological Studies (Theological Studies, Music & Worship, Messianic Jewish Studies), Bachelor of Biblical Counseling, Bachelor of Christian Ministries, Bachelor of Intercultural Studies (Evangelism & Missions), Bachelor of Media Arts, Bachelor of General Christian Studies, Bachelor of Worship Leadership, Master of Divinity (Messianic Jewish Studies, Theology), Master of Marriage & Family Therapy (MMFT) (Counseling), Master of Practical Theology (Ministry), Master of Organizational Leadership (Leadership) and Doctoral of Ministry.Desc
Total Program Service Expenses$7,708,088TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt
Described In Section501c3Yes (1)DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B RequiredYes (1)ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign Acty0PoliticalCampaignActyInd
Lobbying Activities0LobbyingActivitiesInd
Subject To Proxy Tax0SubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised Fund0DonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation Easements0ConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of Art0CollectionsOfArtInd
Credit Counseling0CreditCounselingInd
Donor Rstr Or Quasi EndowmentsYes (1)DonorRstrOrQuasiEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (1)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other Sec0ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related Invst0ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other Assets0ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (1)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 Footnote0IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl Stmt0IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School OperatingYes (1)SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign Office0ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign Activities0ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To Org0MoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To Individuals0MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional FundraisingYes (1)ProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising ActivitiesYes (1)FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming Activities0GamingActivitiesInd
Operate Hospital0OperateHospitalInd
Grants To Organizations0GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To IndividualsYes (1)GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (1)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt Bonds0TaxExemptBondsInd
Engaged In Excess Benefit Trans0EngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd
PY Excess Benefit Trans0PYExcessBenefitTransInd
Loan Outstanding0LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related Person0GrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org Mem0BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam MemYes (1)BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With35 Ctrl Ent0BusinessRlnWith35CtrlEntInd
Deductible Non Cash Contri0DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art Contribution0DeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate Operations0TerminateOperationsInd
Partial Liquidation0PartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded Entity0DisregardedEntityInd
Related EntityYes (1)RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl EntYes (1)RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Transaction With Control EntYes (1)TransactionWithControlEntInd
Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd Org0TrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd
Activities Conducted Prtshp0ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (1)ScheduleORequiredInd
Info In Schedule O Part VYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVInd
IRP Document812IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (1)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee174EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (1)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over Limit0UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Foreign Financial Account0ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans0ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party Notification0TaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible Contributions0NondeductibleContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo ContributionsYes (1)QuidProQuoContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo Contri DisclYes (1)QuidProQuoContriDisclInd
Form8282 Property Disposed Of0Form8282PropertyDisposedOfInd
Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0RcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0PayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Indoor Tanning Services0IndoorTanningServicesInd
Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht Pymt0SubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd
Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst Inc0SubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members10GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member8IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business Rln0FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt Duties0DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org Documents0ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or Misuse0MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or Stockholders0MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board Members0ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To Approva0DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (1)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (1)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing Address0OfficerMailingAddressInd
Local Chapters0LocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (1)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (1)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (1)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (1)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (1)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (1)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (1)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (1)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint Venture0InvestmentInJointVentureInd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldCAStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Ashley GreenBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Phone8177221700PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line12121 East Southlake BlvdAddressLine1Txt
CitySouthlakeCityNm
State AbbreviationTXStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP76092ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part VIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIIInd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (17 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtAverage Hours Per Week Rltd OrgAverageHoursPerWeekRltdOrgRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd
Dr Jon Chasteen
President39.001.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$268,166$166,769
Dr Irini Fambro
Trustee0.500.50Yes (X)$0$5,940$0
Dr Robert Morris
Chancellor/Trustee0.500.50Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
Pastor Kevin Grove
Chairman/Trustee3.001.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
Dr Kenneth Ulmer
Vice Chair/Trustee (Part Year)0.500.50Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
Dr Sterling Brackett
Trustee (Part Year)0.500.50Yes (X)$0$0$0
Larry Dantzler
Trustee0.500.50Yes (X)$0$0$0
Pastor Dan Hicks
Trustee0.500.50Yes (X)$0$0$0
Dr Howard Kaloogian
Trustee0.500.50Yes (X)$0$0$0
Rev Robert Stearns
Trustee0.500.50Yes (X)$0$0$0
Dr Jack Young
Trustee0.500.50Yes (X)$0$0$0
Pastor Tom Lane
Trustee0.500.50Yes (X)$0$0$0
Ashley Green
CFO39.001.00Yes (X)$0$114,674$23,118
Dr Jack Hayford
Chancellor Emeritus3.001.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Dr David Cole
Provost/CAO39.001.00$0$118,800$72,558Yes (X)
Dr Mitchell Land
Dean of Media Arts39.001.00$0$133,945$6,158Yes (X)
Rhonda Davis
VP Enrollment Management39.001.00$0$118,609$9,298Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$0TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$760,134TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$277,901TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K0IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees Listed0FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (1)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other Srcs0CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K0CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Fundraising$174,370FundraisingAmt
Government Grants$970,440GovernmentGrantsAmt
All Other Contributions$3,275,662AllOtherContributionsAmt
Total Contributions$4,420,472TotalContributionsAmt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (2 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Tuition and fees611310$6,668,185$6,668,185
Auxiliary revenue900099$149,861$149,861
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$6,818,046TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$159,844TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$159,844ExclusionAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$296,968SecuritiesAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$0SecuritiesAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$296,968SecuritiesAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$296,968TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$296,968ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Fundraising Gross Income$37,425FundraisingGrossIncomeAmt
Contri Rpt Fundraising Event$174,370ContriRptFundraisingEventAmt
Fundraising Direct Expenses$90,445FundraisingDirectExpensesAmt

Net Incm From Fundraising Evt NetIncmFromFundraisingEvtGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column-$53,020TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion-$53,020ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Sales Of Inventory$15,235GrossSalesOfInventoryAmt
Cost Of Goods Sold$9,911CostOfGoodsSoldAmt

Net Income Or Loss NetIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$5,324TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$5,324ExclusionAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$11,647,634TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$6,818,046RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$409,116ExclusionAmt

Grants To Domestic Individuals GrantsToDomesticIndividualsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,773,132TotalAmt
Program Services$1,773,132ProgramServicesAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$589,770TotalAmt
Program Services$49,791ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$320,725ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$219,254FundraisingAmt

Comp Disqual Persons CompDisqualPersonsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$22,620TotalAmt
Program Services$22,620ProgramServicesAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$5,447,955TotalAmt
Program Services$4,239,680ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$982,613ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$225,662FundraisingAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$112,164TotalAmt
Program Services$69,678ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$28,536ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$13,950FundraisingAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$639,388TotalAmt
Program Services$293,681ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$323,734ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$21,973FundraisingAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$295,363TotalAmt
Program Services$166,068ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$115,181ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$14,114FundraisingAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$61,137TotalAmt
Management And General$61,137ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$66,399TotalAmt
Management And General$66,399ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Prof Fundraising FeesForServicesProfFundraising

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$72,000TotalAmt
Fundraising$72,000FundraisingAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$549,709TotalAmt
Program Services$245,159ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$294,250ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$10,300FundraisingAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$166,056TotalAmt
Management And General$166,056ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$677,931TotalAmt
Program Services$339,182ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$304,655ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$34,094FundraisingAmt

Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$261,342TotalAmt
Program Services$38,346ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$216,552ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$6,444FundraisingAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$433,859TotalAmt
Program Services$290,502ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$116,051ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$27,306FundraisingAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$85,090TotalAmt
Program Services$50,769ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$33,413ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$908FundraisingAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$185,192TotalAmt
Program Services$129,480ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$45,367ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$10,345FundraisingAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (2 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmtManagement And GeneralManagementAndGeneralAmt
Bad debt expense$125,373$125,373
Accreditation expense$37,301$37,301

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$11,601,781TotalAmt
Program Services$7,708,088ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$3,237,343ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$656,350FundraisingAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,630,205BOYAmt
EOY$2,584,046EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,867,236BOYAmt
EOY$608,634EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$374,792BOYAmt
EOY$958,612EOYAmt

Inventories For Sale Or Use InventoriesForSaleOrUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$21,504BOYAmt
EOY$15,954EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$140,186BOYAmt
EOY$141,406EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$3,448,236LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$2,120,652LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,076,685BOYAmt
EOY$1,327,584EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$8,700,270BOYAmt
EOY$8,017,486EOYAmt

Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$274,855BOYAmt
EOY$181,438EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$15,085,733BOYAmt
EOY$13,835,160EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$491,389BOYAmt
EOY$404,950EOYAmt

Deferred Revenue DeferredRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$557,586BOYAmt
EOY$582,197EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$156,394BOYAmt
EOY$153,430EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,205,369BOYAmt
EOY$1,140,577EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Organization Follows FASB117Yes (X)OrganizationFollowsFASB117Ind

No Donor Restriction Net Assets NoDonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$6,966,404BOYAmt
EOY$7,325,341EOYAmt

Donor Restriction Net Assets DonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$6,913,960BOYAmt
EOY$5,369,242EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$13,880,364BOYAmt
EOY$12,694,583EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$15,085,733BOYAmt
EOY$13,835,160EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part XIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$45,853ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst-$1,224,622NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets-$7,012OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or Review0AccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (1)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Consolidated Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)ConsolidatedBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (1)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit RequiredYes (1)FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd
Federal Grant Audit PerformedYes (1)FederalGrantAuditPerformedInd

Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
SchoolYes (X)SchoolInd

Gifts Grants Contri Rcvd170 GiftsGrantsContriRcvd170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$2,415,529CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$3,366,098CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$6,307,712CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$5,862,135CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$4,271,572CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$22,223,046TotalAmt

Total Calendar Year170 TotalCalendarYear170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$2,415,529CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$3,366,098CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$6,307,712CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$5,862,135CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$4,271,572CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$22,223,046TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Public Support Total170$22,223,046PublicSupportTotal170Amt

Gross Investment Income170 GrossInvestmentIncome170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$102,805CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$175,688CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$121,681CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$139,773CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$159,844CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$699,791TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Support$22,922,837TotalSupportAmt
Gross Receipts Rltd Activities$32,411,000GrossReceiptsRltdActivitiesAmt
Public Support CY1700.96950PublicSupportCY170Pct
Public Support PY1700.96740PublicSupportPY170Pct
Thirty Thr Pct Suprt Tests CY170Yes (X)ThirtyThrPctSuprtTestsCY170Ind

Form990 Schedule A Part VI Form990ScheduleAPartVIGrp (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Schedule A, Part II:The organization is a school as described under 170(b)(1)(A)(ii) and is not required to complete a public support schedule. Schedule A, Part II is completed to verify the School can qualify under public charity status section 170(b)(1)(A)(vi) and, therefore, qualifies to use the first listed special rule for Schedule B reporting.
Schedule A, Part II, Columns (a) - (e):Per the instructions public support is measured using a 5-year computation period that includes the current and four prior tax years (including short years). The organization had a short year in 2018. The below chart clarifies the information represented in Schedule A, Part II: Column (a) - 11 month period ending 6/30/2018 Column (b) - Fiscal year ending 6/30/2019 Column (c) - Fiscal year ending 6/30/2020 Column (d) - Fiscal year ending 6/30/2021 Column (e) - Fiscal year ending 6/30/2022

Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB

Contributor Information ContributorInformationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
ContributorRESTRICTEDContributorNum

Contributor Business Name ContributorBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1RESTRICTEDBusinessNameLine1

Contributor US Address ContributorUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1RESTRICTEDAddressLine1
Address Line2RESTRICTEDAddressLine2
CityRESTRICTEDCity
StateRESTRICTEDState
ZIP CodeRESTRICTEDZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total ContributionsRESTRICTEDTotalContributionsAmt

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

CY Endwmt Fund CYEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$4,641,674BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$80,571ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses-$362,785InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$43,615GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
Other Expenditures$71,627OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$4,244,218EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus1 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus1YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$3,898,395BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$132,348ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$741,600InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$65,669GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
Other Expenditures$65,000OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$4,641,674EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus2 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus2YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$2,442,965BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$1,435,760ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$127,097InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$40,370GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
Other Expenditures$67,057OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$3,898,395EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus3 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus3YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$2,339,871BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$88,308ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$96,494InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$35,391GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
Other Expenditures$46,317OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$2,442,965EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus4 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus4YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$2,148,789BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$121,613ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$119,930InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$15,601GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
Other Expenditures$34,860OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$2,339,871EndYearBalanceAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Prmnnt Endowment Balance EOY1.00000PrmnntEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Endowments Held Unrelated Org0EndowmentsHeldUnrelatedOrgInd
Endowments Held Related Org0EndowmentsHeldRelatedOrgInd

Leasehold Improvements LeaseholdImprovementsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$273,692OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$127,565DepreciationAmt
Book Value$146,127BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$860,684OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$346,571DepreciationAmt
Book Value$514,113BookValueAmt

Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$2,313,860OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$1,646,516DepreciationAmt
Book Value$667,344BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$1,327,584TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (2 entries)

DescDescAmtAmt
Annuity obligations$106,805
Trust liability$46,625
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$153,430TotalLiabilityAmt
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$10,009,377TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Net Unrealized Gains Invst-$1,224,622NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt
Donated Services And Use Fclts$832,630DonatedServicesAndUseFcltsAmt
Other Revenue$83,432OtherRevenueAmt
Revenue Not Reported-$308,560RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$10,317,937RevenueSubtotalAmt
Other Revenues Not Included$1,329,697OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$1,329,697RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$11,647,634TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$11,195,158TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Donated Services Use Fclts$832,630DonatedServicesUseFcltsAmt
Other Expenses Included$90,444OtherExpensesIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Reported$923,074ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$10,272,084ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Other Expenses Not Included$1,329,697OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$1,329,697ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$11,601,781TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (5 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Part V, Line 4:The endowment funds are used for the funding of a professorial chair and scholarships.
Part XI, Line 2d - Other Adjustments:Direct fundraising events expenses reported on Pt. VIII 90,444. Change in value of split interest agreement -7,012.
Part XI, Line 4b - Other Adjustments:Scholarships and discounts reported with net tuition and fees 1,329,697.
Part XII, Line 2d - Other Adjustments:Direct fundraising events expenses reported on Pt. VIII 90,444.
Part XII, Line 4b - Other Adjustments:Scholarships and discounts reported with net tuition and fees 1,329,697.

Schedule E IRS990ScheduleE

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Nondiscriminatory Policy StmtYes (1)NondiscriminatoryPolicyStmtInd
Policy Stmt In Brochures EtcYes (1)PolicyStmtInBrochuresEtcInd
Plcy Pblczd Via Broadcast MediaYes (1)PlcyPblczdViaBroadcastMediaInd
Maintain Racial Comp RecsYes (1)MaintainRacialCompRecsInd
Maintain Scholarships RecsYes (1)MaintainScholarshipsRecsInd
Maintain Cpy Of Brochures EtcYes (1)MaintainCpyOfBrochuresEtcInd
Maintain Cpy Of All SolYes (1)MaintainCpyOfAllSolInd
Discriminate Race Stdnts Rghts0DiscriminateRaceStdntsRghtsInd
Discriminate Race Admiss Plcy0DiscriminateRaceAdmissPlcyInd
Discriminate Race Emplm Fculty0DiscriminateRaceEmplmFcultyInd
Discriminate Race Schs0DiscriminateRaceSchsInd
Discriminate Race Educ Plcy0DiscriminateRaceEducPlcyInd
Discriminate Race Use Of Fclts0DiscriminateRaceUseOfFcltsInd
Discriminate Race Athlt Prog0DiscriminateRaceAthltProgInd
Discriminate Race Other Acty0DiscriminateRaceOtherActyInd
Government Financial Aid RcvdYes (1)GovernmentFinancialAidRcvdInd
Government Financial Aid Rvkd0GovernmentFinancialAidRvkdInd
Compliance With Rev Proc7550Yes (1)ComplianceWithRevProc7550Ind

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Schedule E, Part I, Line 3The organization publicized its racially nondiscriminatory policy on the homepage of its website at all times during its tax year in a manner reasonably expected to be noticed by visitors. All solicitations for students contain a statement of the University's racially nondiscriminatory policy, as well as the student catalog available on the University's website.
Schedule E, Part I, Line 6The University receives funds for the Federal Direct Student Loan Program, Federal Pell Grants, Federal Supplemental Educational Opportunity Grant Program, and the Federal Work-Study Program, Higher Education Emergency Relief Fund.

Schedule G IRS990ScheduleG

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Mail SolicitationsYes (X)MailSolicitationsInd
Email SolicitationsYes (X)EmailSolicitationsInd
In Person SolicitationsYes (X)InPersonSolicitationsInd
Solicitation Of Non Govt GrantsYes (X)SolicitationOfNonGovtGrantsInd
Special Fundraising EventsYes (X)SpecialFundraisingEventsInd
Agrmt Prof Fundraising ActyYes (1)AgrmtProfFundraisingActyInd

Fundraiser Activity Info FundraiserActivityInfoGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonLee MimmsPersonNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line13909 Via PicaposteAddressLine1Txt
CityPalos Verdes EstatesCityNm
State AbbreviationCAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP90274ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
ActivityDonor relations consultingActivityTxt
Fundraiser Control Of Funds0FundraiserControlOfFundsInd
Gross Receipts$211,795GrossReceiptsAmt
Retained By Contractor$72,000RetainedByContractorAmt
Net To Organization$139,795NetToOrganizationAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Gross Receipts$211,795TotalGrossReceiptsAmt
Total Retained By Contractors$72,000TotalRetainedByContractorsAmt
Total Net To Organization$139,795TotalNetToOrganizationAmt
Licensed StatesCALicensedStatesCd
Licensed StatesTXLicensedStatesCd

Fundraising Event Information FundraisingEventInformationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Event12021 Fall DinnerEvent1Nm
Gross Receipts Event1$168,500GrossReceiptsEvent1Amt
Charitable Contri Event1$158,700CharitableContriEvent1Amt
Gross Revenue Event1$9,800GrossRevenueEvent1Amt
Rent Facility Costs Event1$19,779RentFacilityCostsEvent1Amt
Food And Beverage Event1$13,628FoodAndBeverageEvent1Amt
Other Direct Expenses Event1$42,621OtherDirectExpensesEvent1Amt
Event22021 Golf TournamentEvent2Nm
Gross Receipts Event2$43,295GrossReceiptsEvent2Amt
Charitable Contri Event2$15,670CharitableContriEvent2Amt
Gross Revenue Event2$27,625GrossRevenueEvent2Amt
Non Cash Prizes Event2$5,608NonCashPrizesEvent2Amt
Rent Facility Costs Event2$8,809RentFacilityCostsEvent2Amt
Gross Receipts Total$211,795GrossReceiptsTotalAmt
Charitable Contributions Tot$174,370CharitableContributionsTotAmt
Gross Revenue Total Events$37,425GrossRevenueTotalEventsAmt
Non Cash Prizes Total Events$5,608NonCashPrizesTotalEventsAmt
Rent Fclty Costs Total Events$28,588RentFcltyCostsTotalEventsAmt
Food And Beverage Total Events$13,628FoodAndBeverageTotalEventsAmt
Oth Direct Expnss Total Events$42,621OthDirectExpnssTotalEventsAmt
Direct Expense Summary Events$90,445DirectExpenseSummaryEventsAmt
Net Income Summary-$53,020NetIncomeSummaryAmt

Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant Records MaintainedYes (1)GrantRecordsMaintainedInd

Grants Other Asst To Indiv In US GrantsOtherAsstToIndivInUSGrp (2 entries)

Grant TypeGrantTypeTxtRecipientRecipientCntCash GrantCashGrantAmt
Scholarships/Financial Aid1721$1,329,697
HEERF Grants401$443,435

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePart I, Line 2:FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationFor individual grants, students submit an application for financial aid to the financial aid office. Applications are evaluated by the financial aid office and students are notified of awards they are to receive. The financial aid is applied directly against tuition. No cash changes hands. Scholarships are not refunded should the student fail to complete the required credit hours.ExplanationTxt

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Housing Allowance Or ResidenceYes (X)HousingAllowanceOrResidenceInd
Written Policy Ref T And E ExpnssYes (1)WrittenPolicyRefTAndEExpnssInd
Substantiation RequiredYes (1)SubstantiationRequiredInd
Form990 Of Other OrganizationsYes (X)Form990OfOtherOrganizationsInd
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance Payment0SeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr Plan0SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp Arrngm0EquityBasedCompArrngmInd
Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng Org0CompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd On Rev Related Orgs0CompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng Org0CompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd Orgs0CompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd
Any Non Fixed PaymentsYes (1)AnyNonFixedPaymentsInd
Initial Contract Exception0InitialContractExceptionInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (2 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
Dr Jon Chasteen
President$0$228,160$0$36,186$0$3,820$0$28,011$0$138,998$0$435,175$0$0
Dr David Cole
Provost/CAO$0$114,659$0$1,000$0$3,141$0$27,947$0$46,029$0$192,776$0$0

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Part I, Line 1aPursuant to Internal Revenue Code Section 107, ministerial housing allowances are provided for qualifying ministerial employees. This is not included in taxable compensation. Dr. Jon Chasteen, President, and Dr. David Cole, Provost, met the qualifications for and received a ministerial housing allowance during the tax year.
Part I, Line 7There were various discretionary bonus payments made during the fiscal year which were determined by the board of directors and provided to officers and employees as approved.

Schedule L IRS990ScheduleL

Bus Tr Involve Interested Prsn BusTrInvolveInterestedPrsnGrp

Name Of Interested NameOfInterested

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonRebecca BauerPersonNm
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Relationship DescriptionFamily member of Jack Hayford, OfficerRelationshipDescriptionTxt
Transaction$22,620TransactionAmt
TransactionEmployee compensationTransactionDesc
Sharing Of Revenues0SharingOfRevenuesInd

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (9 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Form 990, GeneralThe King's University (TKU) was originally incorporated in California in 1997, but relocated to Texas in 2014. In 2013, TKU created a separate Texas tax-exempt organization (TKU-TX) and TKU is in the process of liquidating the CA entity and moving all operations, assets and liabilities to TX entity. Until that liquidation is completed, TKU will file two separate 990's, one for California and one for Texas. For filing purposes, the Texas Form 990 reports all salary expenses for employees. The California Form 990 reports all educational activity and includes salary expenses as an employee lease back. Both organizations share the same program accomplishments reported on Part III and the same board reported on Part VII.
Form 990, Part V, Line 2aStaff are compensated by a related organization, The King's University - Texas (TKU-TX). TKU-TX files all required payroll information returns as required by the IRS. As such, due to common paymaster rules as instructed by the IRS, the number of employees reported represent the number of employees who work for the filing organization but are compensated by a related organization.
Form 990, Part VI, Section A, line 1aThe Executive Committee is composed of the Chairman, Vice-Chairman, Chancellor and President. The Committee is authorized to exercise any and all powers of the board of trustees, except any actions prohibited by law, the Articles and the Bylaws of the corporation. The Committee reports its activities and affairs to the board of trustees at the next meeting.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 11bThe Form 990 is prepared by an independent CPA firm and is first reviewed in detail by the Director of Finance and Chief Financial Officer. A full copy of the 990 is then provided to the board members prior to being filed with the IRS.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 12cThe conflict of interest policy requires each trustee and officer to disclose actual or possible conflicts of interest on an annual basis. The Executive Team, which consists of the President and two Vice Presidents, evaluates each disclosure to determine if an actual conflict exists; in the case that a member of the Executive Team is involved in the disclosure, the board will make the determination. Following the disclosure, the responsible person recuses him or herself from the discussion and vote on the transaction or arrangement involving the possible conflict of interest. The Chairperson has the authority to appoint a disinterested person or committee to investigate alternatives to the proposed transaction or arrangement. After exercising due diligence, the board and/or Executive Team shall determine whether the university can obtain with reasonable efforts a more advantageous transaction or arrangement from a person or entity that would not give rise to a conflict of interest.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 15Compensation for the President and other officers as reported on Part VII is paid by a related organization that shares the same Executive Committee as the filing organization. That compensation is determined by the independent members of the Executive Committee of the board. Comparability data is examined annually, including Form 990's from similar universities. Compensation deliberations are recorded in the Executive Committee minutes and in the board minutes.
Form 990, Part VI, Section C, line 19The organization's conflict of interest policiy, governing documents, and financial statements are available upon request.
Form 990, Part VII, Section A and Sch. J, Part IICompensation reported in Part VII, column D and Schedule J, Part II, column B is the amount reported on the individual's W-2, box 1 or 5 (whichever amount is greater) per the IRS instructions. In the case of minister's compensation when box 5 of the W-2 is not applicable, box 1 compensation is used. Employee deferrals to qualified retirement plans are normally captured in box 5, not box 1 of Form W-2. For reporting purposes we have included the minister's retirement plan deferrals in Part VII, column F and Schedule J, Part II, column C.
Form 990, Part XI, line 9:Change in value of split interest agreement -7,012.

Schedule R IRS990ScheduleR

Id Related Tax Exempt Org IdRelatedTaxExemptOrgGrp (2 entries)

Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityUSAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPUSAddress/ZIPCdEINEINPrimary ActivitiesPrimaryActivitiesTxtLegal Domicile StateLegalDomicileStateCdExempt Code SectionExemptCodeSectionTxtPublic Charity StatusPublicCharityStatusTxtBusiness Name Line1DirectControllingEntityName/BusinessNameLine1TxtControlled OrganizationControlledOrganizationInd
The King's University
2121 East Southlake BlvdSouthlakeTX76092464671972Private schoolTX501(c)(3)Line 2The King's University (CA)Yes (1)
ChurchEd
2121 East Southlake BlvdSouthlakeTX76092843384792Educational resourcesTX501(c)(3)Line 7The King's University (CA)Yes (1)

Id Related Org Txbl Corp Tr IdRelatedOrgTxblCorpTrGrp

Related Organization Name RelatedOrganizationName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Charitable remainder unitrust (1)BusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Primary ActivitiesHold assets & remit income to grantorsPrimaryActivitiesTxt
Legal Domicile StateCALegalDomicileStateCd

Direct Controlling Entity Name DirectControllingEntityName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1The King's UniversityBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Entity TypeTEntityTypeTxt
Controlled OrganizationYes (1)ControlledOrganizationInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Receipt Of Int Annts Rnts Rylts0ReceiptOfIntAnntsRntsRyltsInd
Gift Grnt Or Cap Contri To Oth Org0GiftGrntOrCapContriToOthOrgInd
Gift Grnt Cap Contri From Oth Org0GiftGrntCapContriFromOthOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees To Other Org0LoansOrGuaranteesToOtherOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees From Oth Org0LoansOrGuaranteesFromOthOrgInd
Div Related Organization0DivRelatedOrganizationInd
Asset Sale To Other Org0AssetSaleToOtherOrgInd
Asset Purchase From Other Org0AssetPurchaseFromOtherOrgInd
Asset Exchange0AssetExchangeInd
Rental Of Facilities To Oth Org0RentalOfFacilitiesToOthOrgInd
Rental Of Fclts From Oth Org0RentalOfFcltsFromOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services For Oth Org0PerformOfServicesForOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services By Other Org0PerformOfServicesByOtherOrgInd
Sharing Of FacilitiesYes (1)SharingOfFacilitiesInd
Paid Employees SharingYes (1)PaidEmployeesSharingInd
Reimbursement Paid To Other OrgYes (1)ReimbursementPaidToOtherOrgInd
Reimbursement Paid By Other Org0ReimbursementPaidByOtherOrgInd
Transfer To Other Org0TransferToOtherOrgInd
Transfer From Other Org0TransferFromOtherOrgInd

Transactions Related Org TransactionsRelatedOrgGrp (3 entries)

Transaction TypeTransactionTypeTxtInvolvedInvolvedAmtMethod Of Amount DeterminationMethodOfAmountDeterminationTxt
The King's University
N
The King's University
O
The King's University
P$7,107,260Cost

Comments

Anonymous: no account or email. Up to 2,000 characters, at most one link. Comments are checked automatically; some wait for review.