LANGLEY SCHOOL INC: Form 990, tax year 2021

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
LANGLEY SCHOOL INC (EIN 54-0673568)
Tax period
2021-07-01 to 2022-06-30
Filed
2023-05-12
IRS object ID
202301329349307590
Schema version
2021v4.2
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2023-05-12T15:19:35-05:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2022-06-30TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN420714325PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1RSM US LLPBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line11250 H STREET SUITE 700AddressLine1Txt
CityWASHINGTONCityNm
State AbbreviationDCStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP20005ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2021-07-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN540673568EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1THE LANGLEY SCHOOL INCBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlLANGBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone7033561920PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line11411 BALLS HILL ROADAddressLine1Txt
CityMCLEANCityNm
State AbbreviationVAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP221013499ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonGREG BOKMANPersonNm
Person TitleCHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICERPersonTitleTxt
Phone7033561920PhoneNum
Signature2023-05-04SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (1)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Signing Officer SigningOfficerGrp

Person Full Name PersonFullName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Person FirstGREGPersonFirstNm
Person LastBOKMANPersonLastNm
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
SSNXXX-XX-XXXXSSN

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonMEREDITH BELLPreparerPersonNm
PTINP01696827PTIN
Phone2022932200PhoneNum
Preparation2023-05-04PreparationDt

Additional Filer Information AdditionalFilerInformation

Trusted Customer TrustedCustomerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Trusted Customer3TrustedCustomerCd
Authentication Assurance LevelAAL1AuthenticationAssuranceLevelCd
Identity Assurance LevelIAL1IdentityAssuranceLevelCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2021TaxYr
Build TS2023-04-26 12:10:37ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerMICHELE CLAEYSPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line11411 BALLS HILL ROADAddressLine1Txt
CityMCLEANCityNm
State AbbreviationVAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP221013499ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$27,836,359GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For Affiliates0GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501c3Yes (X)Organization501c3Ind
Website AddressWWW.LANGLEYSCHOOL.ORGWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1942FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateVALegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionTO PROVIDE EDUCATION TO PRESCHOOL THROUGH 8TH GRADE STUDENTS.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body17VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent16VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee175TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers100TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$0TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$0NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$1,533,526PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$4,850,362CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$18,954,627PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$21,115,983CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income-$1,957,087PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$314,507CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$98,174PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$100,962CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$18,629,240PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$26,381,814CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$2,207,053PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$2,277,997CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$0PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$13,509,100PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$14,067,768CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$95,000PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$695,591CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$3,780,887PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$4,340,766CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$19,592,040PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$20,686,531CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses-$962,800PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$5,695,283CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$63,128,940TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$77,858,701TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$23,191,554TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$34,021,634TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$39,937,386NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$43,837,067NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
MissionTHE LANGLEY SCHOOL FOSTERS PURPOSEFUL INQUIRY-BASED AND SOCIAL-EMOTIONAL LEARNING FOR CHILDREN IN PRESCHOOL THROUGH GRADE EIGHT IN A JOYFUL, CONNECTED COMMUNITY. WE EMPOWER ALL STUDENTS AS CURIOUS, CONFIDENT, AND RESILIENT LEADERS, THINKERS, AND CREATORS.MissionDesc
Significant New Program Srvc0SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant Change0SignificantChangeInd
Expense$16,093,596ExpenseAmt
Grant$2,277,997GrantAmt
Revenue$21,115,983RevenueAmt
DescOPERATION OF A PRIVATE SCHOOL FOR GRADES PRESCHOOL THROUGH 8TH SERVING OVER 500 STUDENTS.Desc
Total Program Service Expenses$16,093,596TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt
Described In Section501c3Yes (1)DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B RequiredYes (1)ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign Acty0PoliticalCampaignActyInd
Lobbying Activities0LobbyingActivitiesInd
Subject To Proxy Tax0SubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised Fund0DonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation Easements0ConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of Art0CollectionsOfArtInd
Credit Counseling0CreditCounselingInd
Donor Rstr Or Quasi EndowmentsYes (1)DonorRstrOrQuasiEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (1)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other SecYes (1)ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related Invst0ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other Assets0ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other Liabilities0ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (1)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt0ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School OperatingYes (1)SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign Office0ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign Activities0ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To Org0MoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To Individuals0MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional Fundraising0ProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising ActivitiesYes (1)FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming Activities0GamingActivitiesInd
Operate Hospital0OperateHospitalInd
Grants To Organizations0GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To IndividualsYes (1)GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (1)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt BondsYes (1)TaxExemptBondsInd
Invest Tax Exempt Bonds0InvestTaxExemptBondsInd
Escrow Account0EscrowAccountInd
On Behalf Of Issuer0OnBehalfOfIssuerInd
Engaged In Excess Benefit Trans0EngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd
PY Excess Benefit Trans0PYExcessBenefitTransInd
Loan Outstanding0LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related PersonYes (1)GrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org Mem0BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam Mem0BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With35 Ctrl Ent0BusinessRlnWith35CtrlEntInd
Deductible Non Cash ContriYes (1)DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art Contribution0DeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate Operations0TerminateOperationsInd
Partial Liquidation0PartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded Entity0DisregardedEntityInd
Related Entity0RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl Ent0RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd Org0TrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd
Activities Conducted Prtshp0ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (1)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document27IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (1)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee175EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (1)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over Limit0UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Foreign Financial Account0ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans0ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party Notification0TaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible Contributions0NondeductibleContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo ContributionsYes (1)QuidProQuoContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo Contri DisclYes (1)QuidProQuoContriDisclInd
Form8282 Property Disposed Of0Form8282PropertyDisposedOfInd
Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0RcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0PayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Indoor Tanning Services0IndoorTanningServicesInd
Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht Pymt0SubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd
Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst Inc0SubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members17GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member16IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business Rln0FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt Duties0DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org Documents0ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or Misuse0MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or Stockholders0MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board Members0ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To Approva0DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (1)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (1)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing Address0OfficerMailingAddressInd
Local Chapters0LocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn Body0Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (1)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (1)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (1)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (1)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (1)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (1)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process Other0CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint Venture0InvestmentInJointVentureInd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldVAStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1GREG BOKMANBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Phone7033561920PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line11411 BALLS HILL ROADAddressLine1Txt
CityMCLEANCityNm
State AbbreviationVAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP221013499ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (25 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeIndFormer Ofcr Director TrusteeFormerOfcrDirectorTrusteeInd
SARA MAGNER
CHAIR2.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
DENISE HASELHORST
VICE CHAIR/TREASURER2.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
ALISTAIR MILLER
SECRETARY2.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
JACK BALLINGHOFF
BOARD MEMBER2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
I-MIN CHAO
BOARD MEMBER2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
JOHN GILLILAND
BOARD MEMBER2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
DAVID HALWIG
BOARD MEMBER2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MAKIKO HARRISON
BOARD MEMBER2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
RUCHI JALLA
BOARD MEMBER2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
PRESTON MILLER
BOARD MEMBER2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
NICOLE MORRILL
BOARD MEMBER2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
LARA RAMSEY
BOARD MEMBER2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
THOMAS RICKETTS
BOARD MEMBER2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
GERRY SALEMME
BOARD MEMBER2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
JAMES SAMUEL
BOARD MEMBER2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
BARBARA TOOHILL
BOARD MEMBER2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
SHIREEN ZAMAN
BOARD MEMBER2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MICHELE CLAEYS
HEAD OF SCHOOL40.00Yes (X)$187,212$0$15,748
GREGORY BOKMAN
CFO40.00Yes (X)$233,301$0$50,162
SARAH BECK
HEAD OF LOWER SCHOOL40.00$192,930$0$15,422Yes (X)
PHILLIP PETRU
ASST HEAD OF SCHOOL40.00$181,500$0$30,176Yes (X)
SARAH SUMWALT
DIR STUDENT SUPPORT/SEL40.00$136,320$0$34,137Yes (X)
MARGARET DWIGHT
DIR HUMAN RESOURCES40.00$144,085$0$12,133Yes (X)
KURT KLUNDER
IT DIRECTOR40.00$142,585$0$11,353Yes (X)
ELINOR SCULLY
FORMER HEAD OF SCHOOL40.00$318,250$0$43,452Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$1,536,183TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$212,583TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K25IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees ListedYes (1)FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (1)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other Srcs0CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
COAKLEY & WILLIAMS CONSTRUCTION
7475 WISCONSIN AVE 900BETHESDAMD20814CONSTRUCTION$4,295,234
KATCHMARK CONSTRUCTION
3856-A DULLES SOUTH COURTCHANTILLYVA20151CONSTRUCTION$226,811
GBR CLEANING SERVICES
3399 BENBOW COURTWOODBRIDGEVA22193JANITORIAL$198,665
COX GRAAE & SPACK ARCHITECTS
2909 M STREET NWWASHINGTONDC20007ARCHITECT$164,908
HEFFRON COMPANY
4940 NICHOLSON COURTKENSINGTONMD20895HVAC$160,294
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K6CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Fundraising$273,350FundraisingAmt
Government Grants$223,900GovernmentGrantsAmt
All Other Contributions$4,353,112AllOtherContributionsAmt
Noncash Contributions$47,447NoncashContributionsAmt
Total Contributions$4,850,362TotalContributionsAmt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (2 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
TUITION & FEES900099$20,514,959$20,514,959
AUXILIARY SERVICES900099$601,024$601,024
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$21,115,983TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$336,084TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$336,084ExclusionAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other$1,277,515OtherAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other$1,299,092OtherAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other-$21,577OtherAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column-$21,577TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion-$21,577ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Fundraising Gross Income$256,415FundraisingGrossIncomeAmt
Contri Rpt Fundraising Event$273,350ContriRptFundraisingEventAmt
Fundraising Direct Expenses$155,453FundraisingDirectExpensesAmt

Net Incm From Fundraising Evt NetIncmFromFundraisingEvtGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$100,962TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$100,962ExclusionAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$26,381,814TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$21,115,983RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$415,469ExclusionAmt

Grants To Domestic Individuals GrantsToDomesticIndividualsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,277,997TotalAmt
Program Services$2,277,997ProgramServicesAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$719,919TotalAmt
Program Services$512,755ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$177,462ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$29,702FundraisingAmt

Comp Disqual Persons CompDisqualPersonsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$14,152TotalAmt
Program Services$10,183ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$3,385ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$584FundraisingAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$10,444,424TotalAmt
Program Services$7,515,527ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$2,498,008ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$430,889FundraisingAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$781,565TotalAmt
Program Services$501,188ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$248,114ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$32,263FundraisingAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,296,002TotalAmt
Program Services$831,077ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$411,426ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$53,499FundraisingAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$811,706TotalAmt
Program Services$520,517ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$257,682ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$33,507FundraisingAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$14,988TotalAmt
Management And General$14,988ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$76,062TotalAmt
Management And General$76,062ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Srvc Invst Mgmnt Fees FeesForSrvcInvstMgmntFeesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$30,498TotalAmt
Management And General$30,498ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$26,419TotalAmt
Management And General$15,269ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$11,150FundraisingAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$60,498TotalAmt
Program Services$46,189ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$5,510ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$8,799FundraisingAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$223,219TotalAmt
Program Services$170,424ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$20,329ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$32,466FundraisingAmt

Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$356,952TotalAmt
Program Services$344,881ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$9,657ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$2,414FundraisingAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$778,978TotalAmt
Program Services$753,889ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$20,071ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$5,018FundraisingAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$205,737TotalAmt
Program Services$205,737ProgramServicesAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$147,889TotalAmt
Program Services$142,622ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$4,214ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$1,053FundraisingAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$893,111TotalAmt
Program Services$864,347ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$23,011ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$5,753FundraisingAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$239,375TotalAmt
Program Services$230,921ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$6,764ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$1,690FundraisingAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmtProgram ServicesProgramServicesAmtManagement And GeneralManagementAndGeneralAmtFundraisingFundraisingAmt
INSTRUCTIONAL MATERIALS$761,921$761,921
PROF. DEVELOPMENT$203,325$157,735$45,590
HOSPITALITY$126,207$96,357$11,494$18,356
DUES & SUBSCRIPTIONS$89,114$68,037$8,116$12,961

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$106,473TotalAmt
Program Services$81,292ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$9,694ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$15,487FundraisingAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$20,686,531TotalAmt
Program Services$16,093,596ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$3,897,344ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$695,591FundraisingAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$500BOYAmt
EOY$500EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$18,190,251BOYAmt
EOY$16,688,591EOYAmt

Pledges And Grants Receivable PledgesAndGrantsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,324,865BOYAmt
EOY$4,782,928EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$6,566,049BOYAmt
EOY$7,634,839EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$193,257BOYAmt
EOY$178,954EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$46,968,598LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$16,768,083LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$18,679,457BOYAmt
EOY$30,200,515EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$13,819,561BOYAmt
EOY$14,090,314EOYAmt

Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,355,000BOYAmt
EOY$4,282,060EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$63,128,940BOYAmt
EOY$77,858,701EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,286,644BOYAmt
EOY$2,742,672EOYAmt

Deferred Revenue DeferredRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$16,923,570BOYAmt
EOY$17,579,795EOYAmt

Tax Exempt Bond Liabilities TaxExemptBondLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,981,340BOYAmt
EOY$13,699,167EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$23,191,554BOYAmt
EOY$34,021,634EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Organization Follows FASB117Yes (X)OrganizationFollowsFASB117Ind

No Donor Restriction Net Assets NoDonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$28,939,803BOYAmt
EOY$31,355,445EOYAmt

Donor Restriction Net Assets DonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$10,997,583BOYAmt
EOY$12,481,622EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$39,937,386BOYAmt
EOY$43,837,067EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$63,128,940BOYAmt
EOY$77,858,701EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$5,695,283ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst-$1,795,602NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets$0OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or Review0AccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (1)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Separate Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (1)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit Required0FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd

Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
SchoolYes (X)SchoolInd

Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB

Contributor Information ContributorInformationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
ContributorRESTRICTEDContributorNum

Contributor Business Name ContributorBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1RESTRICTEDBusinessNameLine1

Contributor US Address ContributorUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1RESTRICTEDAddressLine1
Address Line2RESTRICTEDAddressLine2
CityRESTRICTEDCity
StateRESTRICTEDState
ZIP CodeRESTRICTEDZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total ContributionsRESTRICTEDTotalContributionsAmt

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

CY Endwmt Fund CYEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$7,186,713BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$3,672,146ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses-$1,025,752InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$266,634OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$9,566,473EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus1 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus1YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$5,715,778BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$73,000ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$1,614,189InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$216,254OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$7,186,713EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus2 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus2YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$5,466,583BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$243,169ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$189,201InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$183,175OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$5,715,778EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus3 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus3YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$4,923,159BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$625,060ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$370,349InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$451,985OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$5,466,583EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus4 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus4YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$3,777,016BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$945,170ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$342,297InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$141,324OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$4,923,159EndYearBalanceAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Board Designated Balance EOY0.38000BoardDesignatedBalanceEOYPct
Prmnnt Endowment Balance EOY0.53000PrmnntEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Term Endowment Balance EOY0.09000TermEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Endowments Held Unrelated Org0EndowmentsHeldUnrelatedOrgInd
Endowments Held Related Org0EndowmentsHeldRelatedOrgInd

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$209,494OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$209,494BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$27,515,272OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$12,223,356DepreciationAmt
Book Value$15,291,916BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$3,381,035OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$2,861,736DepreciationAmt
Book Value$519,299BookValueAmt

Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$15,862,797OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$1,682,991DepreciationAmt
Book Value$14,179,806BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$30,200,515TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Other Securities OtherSecuritiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Desc446513-BROWN ADVISORY (BAFZX)Desc
Book Value$4,282,060BookValueAmt
Method ValuationCMethodValuationCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Securities$4,282,060TotalBookValueSecuritiesAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$22,316,470TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Net Unrealized Gains Invst-$1,795,602NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt
Other Revenue-$2,260,821OtherRevenueAmt
Revenue Not Reported-$4,056,423RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$26,372,893RevenueSubtotalAmt
Investment Expenses Not Incld$30,498InvestmentExpensesNotIncldAmt
Other Revenues Not Included-$21,577OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$8,921RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$26,381,814TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$18,395,212TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Expenses Not Reported$0ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$18,395,212ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Investment Expenses Not Incld2$30,498InvestmentExpensesNotIncld2Amt
Other Expenses Not Included$2,260,821OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$2,291,319ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$20,686,531TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (5 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
PART V, LINE 4:PERMANENTLY RESTRICTED ASSETS ARE RESTRICTED IN PERPETUITY. CUMULATIVE INVESTMENT EARNINGS ARE AVAILABLE TO SUPPORT FACULTY DEVELOPMENT, GENERAL OPERATIONS, FINANCIAL AID SCHOLARSHIPS AND OTHER PURPOSES AS DESIGNATED BY THE GRANTOR OR THE BOARD.
PART X, LINE 2:THE SCHOOL IS GENERALLY EXEMPT FROM FEDERAL INCOME TAXES UNDER THE PROVISIONS OF SECTION 501(C)(3) OF THE INTERNAL REVENUE CODE. IN ADDITION, THE SCHOOL QUALIFIES FOR CHARITABLE CONTRIBUTIONS DEDUCTIONS AND HAS BEEN CLASSIFIED AS AN ORGANIZATION THAT IS NOT A PRIVATE FOUNDATION. BUSINESS INCOME WHICH IS NOT RELATED TO EXEMPT PURPOSES, LESS APPLICABLE DEDUCTIONS, IS SUBJECT TO FEDERAL AND STATE CORPORATE INCOME TAXES. FOR THE YEAR ENDED JUNE 30, 2022, THE SCHOOL HAD NO NET UNRELATED BUSINESS INCOME AND ACCORDINGLY, NO PROVISION FOR INCOME TAXES IS REQUIRED IN THE ACCOMPANYING FINANCIAL STATEMENTS. MANAGEMENT EVALUATED THE SCHOOL'S TAX POSITIONS AND CONCLUDED THAT THE SCHOOL HAD TAKEN NO UNCERTAIN TAX POSITIONS THAT REQUIRE ADJUSTMENT TO THE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS. THE SCHOOL FILES INCOME TAX RETURNS IN THE U.S. FEDERAL JURISDICTION. WITH FEW EXCEPTIONS, THE SCHOOL IS NO LONGER SUBJECT TO INCOME TAX EXAMINATIONS BY THE U.S. FEDERAL, STATE OR LOCAL TAX AUTHORITIES FOR YEARS BEFORE 2019.
PART XI, LINE 2D - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:FINANCIAL AID NETTED AGAINST TUITION & FEES IN THE FINANCIAL STATEMENT -2,260,821.
PART XI, LINE 4B - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:LOSS ON RETIREMENT OF PROPERTY & EQUIPMENT REPORTED IN PART VIII, LN 7C -21,577.
PART XII, LINE 4B - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:FINANCIAL AID NETTED AGAINST TUITION & FEES IN THE FINANCIAL STATEMENT 2,260,821.

Schedule E IRS990ScheduleE

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Nondiscriminatory Policy StmtYes (1)NondiscriminatoryPolicyStmtInd
Policy Stmt In Brochures EtcYes (1)PolicyStmtInBrochuresEtcInd
Plcy Pblczd Via Broadcast MediaYes (1)PlcyPblczdViaBroadcastMediaInd
Maintain Racial Comp RecsYes (1)MaintainRacialCompRecsInd
Maintain Scholarships RecsYes (1)MaintainScholarshipsRecsInd
Maintain Cpy Of Brochures EtcYes (1)MaintainCpyOfBrochuresEtcInd
Maintain Cpy Of All SolYes (1)MaintainCpyOfAllSolInd
Discriminate Race Stdnts Rghts0DiscriminateRaceStdntsRghtsInd
Discriminate Race Admiss Plcy0DiscriminateRaceAdmissPlcyInd
Discriminate Race Emplm Fculty0DiscriminateRaceEmplmFcultyInd
Discriminate Race Schs0DiscriminateRaceSchsInd
Discriminate Race Educ Plcy0DiscriminateRaceEducPlcyInd
Discriminate Race Use Of Fclts0DiscriminateRaceUseOfFcltsInd
Discriminate Race Athlt Prog0DiscriminateRaceAthltProgInd
Discriminate Race Other Acty0DiscriminateRaceOtherActyInd
Government Financial Aid RcvdYes (1)GovernmentFinancialAidRcvdInd
Government Financial Aid Rvkd0GovernmentFinancialAidRvkdInd
Compliance With Rev Proc7550Yes (1)ComplianceWithRevProc7550Ind

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
SCHEDULE E, PART I, LINE 3A NOTICE WAS PLACED IN THE WASHINGTON POST NEWSPAPER ON FRIDAY, NOVEMBER 26, 2021, ANNOUNCING THE SCHOOL'S NON-DISCRIMINATION POLICY. THE LANGLEY SCHOOL IS COMPOSED OF STUDENTS, TEACHERS, PARENTS, AND STAFF WHO SUPPORT THE BELIEF THAT A DIVERSE SCHOOL COMMUNITY PROMOTES LEARNING AND GROWTH, PREPARING STUDENTS FOR RESPONSIBLE AND COMPASSIONATE CITIZENSHIP IN THE GLOBAL COMMUNITY. WE ADMINISTER ALL PROGRAMS AND POLICIES WITHOUT DISCRIMINATION BASED ON RACE, COLOR, RELIGION, NATIONAL ORIGIN, SEX, DISABILITY, AGE, GENETICS, SEXUAL ORIENTATION, GENDER IDENTITY, MILITARY STATUS, OR ANY OTHER CATEGORY TO THE EXTENT PROTECTED BY APPLICABLE LAWS.
SCHEDULE E, PART I, LINE 6THE SCHOOL RECEIVED GRANT REVENUE FROM THE AMERICAN RESCUE PLAN ACT (ARPA), ADMINISTERED BY VIRGINIA DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION (VDOE) FOR OPERATING A LICENSED CHILD CARE CENTER WHICH FOLLOWED THE HEALTH GUIDELINES DURING THE PANDEMIC.

Schedule G IRS990ScheduleG

Fundraising Event Information FundraisingEventInformationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Event1SPRING AUCTIONEvent1Nm
Gross Receipts Event1$515,913GrossReceiptsEvent1Amt
Charitable Contri Event1$273,350CharitableContriEvent1Amt
Gross Revenue Event1$242,563GrossRevenueEvent1Amt
Food And Beverage Event1$87,150FoodAndBeverageEvent1Amt
Entertainment Event1$3,750EntertainmentEvent1Amt
Other Direct Expenses Event1$49,731OtherDirectExpensesEvent1Amt
Event2FALL FAIREvent2Nm
Gross Receipts Event2$13,852GrossReceiptsEvent2Amt
Gross Revenue Event2$13,852GrossRevenueEvent2Amt
Rent Facility Costs Event2$1,900RentFacilityCostsEvent2Amt
Food And Beverage Event2$320FoodAndBeverageEvent2Amt
Entertainment Event2$2,300EntertainmentEvent2Amt
Other Direct Expenses Event2$10,302OtherDirectExpensesEvent2Amt
Gross Receipts Total$529,765GrossReceiptsTotalAmt
Charitable Contributions Tot$273,350CharitableContributionsTotAmt
Gross Revenue Total Events$256,415GrossRevenueTotalEventsAmt
Rent Fclty Costs Total Events$1,900RentFcltyCostsTotalEventsAmt
Food And Beverage Total Events$87,470FoodAndBeverageTotalEventsAmt
Entertainment Total Events$6,050EntertainmentTotalEventsAmt
Oth Direct Expnss Total Events$60,033OthDirectExpnssTotalEventsAmt
Direct Expense Summary Events$155,453DirectExpenseSummaryEventsAmt
Net Income Summary$100,962NetIncomeSummaryAmt

Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant Records MaintainedYes (1)GrantRecordsMaintainedInd

Grants Other Asst To Indiv In US GrantsOtherAsstToIndivInUSGrp (2 entries)

Grant TypeGrantTypeTxtRecipientRecipientCntCash GrantCashGrantAmt
FINANCIAL AID96$2,260,821
SUMMER GRANTS6$17,176

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePART I, LINE 2:FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationA LANGLEY SCHOOL EDUCATION REPRESENTS A SIGNIFICANT FINANCIAL INVESTMENT IN A CHILD'S FUTURE. WE FEEL STRONGLY THAT FINANCIAL CONSIDERATIONS SHOULD NOT BE THE DETERMINING FACTOR IN WHETHER A CHILD ATTENDS THE LANGLEY SCHOOL. FINANCIAL ASSISTANCE IS AVAILABLE TO STUDENTS IN ALL GRADES, PRESCHOOL THROUGH GRADE 8. FAMILIES CAN APPLY FOR FINANCIAL AID THROUGH THE SCHOOL'S THIRD-PARTY, INDEPENDENT PROCESSING COMPANY. THE INDEPENDENT PROCESSING COMPANY MAKES FINANCIAL AID RECOMMENDATIONS BASED ON MULTIPLE FACTORS WHICH INCLUDE THE FAMILY'S EARNINGS AND OTHER FINANCIAL INFORMATION. THESE RECOMMENDATIONS ARE REPORTED TO LANGLEY AND ARE REVIEWED BY THE SCHOOL'S FINANCIAL AID COMMITTEE. THE COMMITTEE MAKES THE FINAL MONETARY AWARD DECISION BASED ON THE FAMILY'S OVERALL FINANCIAL AID APPLICATION. THE SCHOOL COMMUNICATES FINANCIAL AID AWARDS TO THE FAMILY FOR THEIR CONSIDERATION DURING THE ENROLLMENT PROCESS. AWARDS ARE ONLY GRANTED FOR ONE FISCAL YEAR AND AN UPDATED APPLICATION IS REQUIRED ANNUALLY.ExplanationTxt

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Housing Allowance Or ResidenceYes (X)HousingAllowanceOrResidenceInd
Written Policy Ref T And E ExpnssYes (1)WrittenPolicyRefTAndEExpnssInd
Substantiation RequiredYes (1)SubstantiationRequiredInd
Compensation CommitteeYes (X)CompensationCommitteeInd
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance Payment0SeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr Plan0SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp Arrngm0EquityBasedCompArrngmInd
Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng Org0CompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd On Rev Related Orgs0CompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng Org0CompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd Orgs0CompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd
Any Non Fixed PaymentsYes (1)AnyNonFixedPaymentsInd
Initial Contract Exception0InitialContractExceptionInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (8 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
ELINOR SCULLY
FORMER HEAD OF SCHOOL$269,882$0$30,000$0$18,368$0$38,997$0$4,760$0$362,007$0$0$0
GREGORY BOKMAN
CFO$227,261$0$5,000$0$1,040$0$19,704$0$32,566$0$285,571$0$0$0
PHILLIP PETRU
ASST HEAD OF SCHOOL$176,248$0$5,000$0$252$0$7,580$0$23,199$0$212,279$0$0$0
SARAH BECK
HEAD OF LOWER SCHOOL$187,775$0$5,000$0$155$0$15,422$0$592$0$208,944$0$0$0
MICHELE CLAEYS
HEAD OF SCHOOL$186,936$0$0$0$276$0$15,000$0$948$0$203,160$0$0$0
SARAH SUMWALT
DIR STUDENT SUPPORT/SEL$131,215$0$5,000$0$105$0$11,944$0$27,709$0$175,973$0$0$0
MARGARET DWIGHT
DIR HUMAN RESOURCES$138,354$0$5,000$0$731$0$11,494$0$1,163$0$156,742$0$0$0
KURT KLUNDER
IT DIRECTOR$141,914$0$0$0$671$0$11,353$0$525$0$154,463$0$0$0

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
PART I, LINE 1AELINOR SCULLY, FORMER HEAD OF SCHOOL RECEIVED A TAXABLE HOUSING ALLOWANCE OF $18,000 REPORTED IN PART II, COLUMN(B)(III).
PART I, LINE 7FORMER HEAD OF SCHOOL WAS PAID AN ANNUAL BONUS AS STATED PER THE EMPLOYMENT CONTRACT. BONUS WAS APPROVED BY THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE OF THE BOARD. IN ADDITION TO THE ANNUAL BONUS, THE FORMER HEAD OF SCHOOL WAS PAID A SABBATICAL APPROVED BY THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE OF THE BOARD. FORMER HEAD OF SCHOOL APPROVED BONUSES FOR THE SENIOR ADMINISTRATION TEAM FOR THEIR WORK DURING THE PANDEMIC.

Schedule K IRS990ScheduleK

Tax Exempt Bonds Issues TaxExemptBondsIssuesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond ReferenceABondReferenceCd

Issuer Name IssuerName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1FAIRFAX COUNTY ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT AUTHORITY SERIES 2020A AND 2020BBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond Issuer EIN540787833BondIssuerEIN
Bond Issued2020-02-27BondIssuedDt
Issue Price$20,399,000IssuePriceAmt
PurposeREFINANCE OUTSTANDING 2011 DEBT; NEW DEBT FOR CONSTRUCTION OF BUILDINGPurposeDesc
Defeased0DefeasedInd
On Behalf Of Issuer0OnBehalfOfIssuerInd
Pool Financing0PoolFinancingInd

Tax Exempt Bonds Proceeds TaxExemptBondsProceedsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond ReferenceABondReferenceCd
Retired$187,000RetiredAmt
Total Proceeds$20,399,000TotalProceedsAmt
Issuance Costs From Proceeds$395,679IssuanceCostsFromProceedsAmt
Capital Expenditures$9,837,699CapitalExpendituresAmt
Other Spent Proceeds$4,003,320OtherSpentProceedsAmt
Unspent$6,162,301UnspentAmt
Refunding Tax Exempt BondsYes (1)RefundingTaxExemptBondsInd
Refunding Taxable Bonds0RefundingTaxableBondsInd
Final Allocation Made0FinalAllocationMadeInd
Adequate Books And Rec MaintYes (1)AdequateBooksAndRecMaintInd

Tax Exempt Bonds Private Bus Use TaxExemptBondsPrivateBusUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond ReferenceABondReferenceCd
Owning Bond Financed Property0OwningBondFinancedPropertyInd
Any Lease Arrangements0AnyLeaseArrangementsInd
Mgmt Contract Bond Fincd Prop0MgmtContractBondFincdPropInd
Any Research Agreements0AnyResearchAgreementsInd
Private Bus Use By Others0.00000PrivateBusUseByOthersPct
Private Bus Concerning UBI0.00000PrivateBusConcerningUBIPct
Total Private Business Use0.00000TotalPrivateBusinessUsePct
Bond Iss Meet Prvt Sec Pymt Test0BondIssMeetPrvtSecPymtTestInd
Change In Use Bond Financed Prop0ChangeInUseBondFinancedPropInd
Procs Nonqualified Bond RemdtdYes (1)ProcsNonqualifiedBondRemdtdInd

Tax Exempt Bonds Arbitrage TaxExemptBondsArbitrageGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond ReferenceABondReferenceCd
Form8038 T Filed0Form8038TFiledInd
Rebate Not Due YetYes (1)RebateNotDueYetInd
Exception To Rebate0ExceptionToRebateInd
No Rebate Due0NoRebateDueInd
Variable Rate Issue0VariableRateIssueInd
Hedge Identified In Bks And Rec0HedgeIdentifiedInBksAndRecInd
Gross Proceeds Invested In GIC0GrossProceedsInvestedInGICInd
Gross Proceeds Invested0GrossProceedsInvestedInd
Written Proc To Monitor Reqs0WrittenProcToMonitorReqsInd

Procedures Corrective Action ProceduresCorrectiveActionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond ReferenceABondReferenceCd
Procedures Corrective ActionYes (1)ProceduresCorrectiveActionInd

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSCHEDULE K, PART I, BOND ISSUES:FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationON FEBRUARY 27, 2020, THE SCHOOL REFINANCED THE 2011 SERIES A-1, A-2 BOND DEBT AND ISSUED FAIRFAX COUNTY ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT AUTHORITY REVENUE BOND, SERIES 2020 A AND SERIES 2020 B FOR $4,399,000 AND $16,000,000, RESPECTIVELY. THE SCHOOL PAID OFF THE EXISTING BOND DEBT, INTEREST RATE SWAPS, AND LINE OF CREDIT OUTSTANDING BALANCE RESULTING IN A LOSS ON EARLY DEBT EXTINGUISHMENT OF $28,152 FOR THE YEAR ENDED JUNE 30, 2020, WHICH REPRESENTS THE WRITE-OFF OF THE REMAINING UNAMORTIZED COSTS OF THE BOND ISSUANCE COSTS FROM THE PAID OFF BONDS. THE REFINANCING WAS COMPLETED IN ORDER TO FUND SCHOOL IMPROVEMENTS. SANDY SPRING BANK PURCHASED THE SERIES 2020 A AND SERIES 2020 B REVENUE BONDS WITH A FIXED INTEREST RATE OF 2.635%. THE SCHOOL DREW THE FULL AMOUNT OF THE SERIES 2020 A BOND, BUT HAS ONLY DRAWN $9,837,692 ON THE SERIES 2020 B BONDS AS OF JUNE 30, 2022. BECAUSE THE FULL AMOUNT OF THE SERIES 2020 B BOND WAS NOT DRAWN ON OR BEFORE JUNE 1, 2023, THE SCHOOL WILL PROVIDE MONTHLY INSTALLMENTS OF PRINCIPAL AND INTEREST ON THE OUTSTANDING BALANCE IN AN AMOUNT SUFFICIENT TO AMORTIZE THE OUTSTANDING PRINCIPAL AMOUNT AS OF JULY 1, 2023, TO MATURITY. ADDITIONALLY, THE NOTE IS SUBJECT TO MANDATORY REDEMPTION ON MARCH 1, 2040, WHICH WOULD BE AN AMOUNT EQUAL TO THE PRINCIPAL AMOUNT TO BE REDEEMED, PLUS ANY APPLICABLE PREMIUM, PLUS ALL UNPAID INTEREST ACCRUED TO THE DATE FIXED FOR REDEMPTION. THE AMOUNT OUTSTANDING AT JUNE 30, 2022, FOR SERIES 2020A AND 2020B WAS $4,178,998 AND $9,837,692, RESPECTIVELY, WITH A MATURITY DATE OF MARCH 1, 2050. THE TOTAL INTEREST EXPENSE, OTHER BOND RELATED FEES, AND AMORTIZATION OF DEBT ISSUANCE COSTS, WAS $147,890 FOR THE YEAR ENDED JUNE 30, 2022. IN CONNECTION WITH THE BONDS, THE SCHOOL HAS AGREED, AMONG OTHER THINGS, TO: (1) MAINTAIN A MINIMUM DEBT SERVICE COVERAGE RATIO, AND (2) MAINTAIN A MINIMUM AMOUNT OF UNRESTRICTED LIQUIDITY. THE BONDS ARE SECURED BY THE REAL ESTATE AND PLEDGED RECEIPTS.ExplanationTxt

Schedule L IRS990ScheduleL

Grnt Asst Bnft Interested Prsn GrntAsstBnftInterestedPrsnGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cash Grant$71,796CashGrantAmt
Type Of AssistanceFINANCIAL AIDTypeOfAssistanceTxt
Assistance PurposeTUITIONAssistancePurposeTxt

Schedule M IRS990ScheduleM

Securities Publicly Traded SecuritiesPubliclyTradedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Non Cash CheckboxYes (X)NonCashCheckboxInd
Contribution5ContributionCnt
Noncash Contributions Rpt F990$47,447NoncashContributionsRptF990Amt
Method Of Determining RevenuesFAIR MARKET VALUEMethodOfDeterminingRevenuesTxt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form8283 Received0Form8283ReceivedCnt
Any Property That Must Be Held0AnyPropertyThatMustBeHeldInd
Review Process Unusual NC GiftsYes (1)ReviewProcessUnusualNCGiftsInd
Third Parties Used0ThirdPartiesUsedInd

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePART I, COLUMN (B):FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationREPORTING THE NUMBER OF CONTRIBUTIONSExplanationTxt

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (4 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 11BTHE ORGANIZATION REVIEWS THE DRAFT FORM 990 IN THEIR ENTIRETY THROUGH CAREFUL EXAMINATION BY THE SCHOOL'S CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER, CONTROLLER, HEAD OF SCHOOL, BOARD CHAIR AND CHAIR OF THE AUDIT COMMITTEE. THE DRAFT FORMS WITH DONOR NAMES REDACTED IS ALSO REVIEWED BY THE AUDIT COMMITTEE, WHICH SUBJECT TO CHANGES AND CORRECTIONS, ACCEPTS THE REPORTS ON BEHALF OF THE BOARD. THE REDACTED FORM IS THEN MADE AVAILABLE TO THE SCHOOL'S BOARD OF TRUSTEES' FOR THEIR REVIEW PRIOR TO FILING.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 12CTHE ORGANIZATION REGULARLY MONITORS AND ENFORCES COMPLIANCE WITH THE WRITTEN CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY. THIS IS DONE BY REQUIRING EACH MEMBER OF THE ORGANIZATION'S GOVERNING BODY, ITS BOARD OF DIRECTORS, TO COMPLETE A CONFLICT OF INTEREST QUESTIONNAIRE BEFORE SERVING ON THE BOARD. THIS CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY IS REQUIRED TO BE SUBMITTED ANNUALLY.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 15ATHE PROCESS FOR DETERMINING COMPENSATION FOR THE HEAD OF SCHOOL INCLUDES A REVIEW BY THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF THE APPROPRIATE LEVEL OF COMPENSATION THROUGH BENCHMARKING AGAINST PEER SCHOOLS WITHIN THE AREA. DATA IS COLLECTED FROM ASSOCIATIONS WHICH PROVIDE THE SUPPORT IN MAKING THIS FINAL DECISION. FOR ALL OTHER EMPLOYEES, THE HEAD OF SCHOOL, AND DIRECTOR OF HUMAN RESOURCES UTILIZE SIMILAR BENCHMARKS TO DETERMINE APPROPRIATE LEVELS OF COMPENSATION FOR EMPLOYEES. ALL PAYROLL DECISIONS ARE MADE WITHIN THE PARAMETERS OF A BOARD OF TRUSTEES' APPROVED FISCAL BUDGET.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION C, LINE 19GOVERNING DOCUMENTS INCLUDING THE ORGANIZATION'S BYLAWS AND CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY ARE AVAILABLE TO MEMBERS OF THE SCHOOL THROUGH INSPECTION AT THE SCHOOL'S ADMINISTRATION BUILDING. THE "MEMBERS" ARE THE PARENTS OR GUARDIANS OF LANGLEY STUDENTS WHO HAVE SIGNED ENROLLMENT AGREEMENTS FOR THE CURRENT SCHOOL YEAR. MEMBERSHIP IS FOR TWELVE MONTHS AND ONLY RENEWS UPON SIGNING A NEW CONTRACT. FINANCIAL STATEMENT SUMMARIES ARE MAILED ANNUALLY TO ALL MEMBERS WITHIN THE SCHOOL'S ANNUAL REPORT AND COPIES ARE AVAILABLE TO THE PUBLIC UPON REQUEST FOR THE SAME PERIOD OF DISCLOSURE AS SET FORTH IN SECTION 26 U.S. CODE 6104(D) OF THE INTERNAL REVENUE CODE.

Comments

Anonymous: no account or email. Up to 2,000 characters, at most one link. Comments are checked automatically; some wait for review.