MARK DAY SCHOOL: Form 990, tax year 2021
View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗
- Organization
- MARK DAY SCHOOL (EIN 94-2598891)
- Tax period
- 2021-07-01 to 2022-06-30
- Filed
- 2023-04-03
- IRS object ID
- 202300939349300520
- Schema version
- 2021v4.2
- Source
- Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica
Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.
- Return header
- Form 990
- Schedule A
- Schedule B
- Schedule D
- Schedule E
- Schedule F
- Schedule I
- Schedule J
- Schedule K
- Schedule M
- Schedule O
Return header ReturnHeader
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Return | 2023-04-03T11:57:30-05:00 | ReturnTs |
| Tax Period End | 2022-06-30 | TaxPeriodEndDt |
Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Preparer Firm EIN | 946214841 | PreparerFirmEIN |
Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | ARMANINO LLP | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 12657 ALCOSTA BLVD STE 500 | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | SAN RAMON | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | CA | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 945834600 | ZIPCd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Return Type | 990 | ReturnTypeCd |
| Tax Period Begin | 2021-07-01 | TaxPeriodBeginDt |
Filer Filer
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| EIN | 942598891 | EIN |
Business Name BusinessName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | MARK DAY SCHOOL | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Control | MARK | BusinessNameControlTxt |
| Phone | 4154728000 | PhoneNum |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 39 TRELLIS DRIVE | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | SAN RAFAEL | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | CA | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 94903 | ZIPCd |
Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Person | JOSEPH HARVEY | PersonNm |
| Person Title | HEAD OF SCHOOL | PersonTitleTxt |
| Phone | 4154728000 | PhoneNum |
| Signature | 2023-03-28 | SignatureDt |
| Discuss With Paid Preparer | Yes (1) | DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd |
Signing Officer SigningOfficerGrp
Person Full Name PersonFullName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Person First | JOSEPH | PersonFirstNm |
| Person Last | HARVEY | PersonLastNm |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| SSN | 999009999 | SSN |
Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Preparer Person | MATTHEW PETROSKI | PreparerPersonNm |
| PTIN | P00853132 | PTIN |
| Phone | 9257902600 | PhoneNum |
| Preparation | 2023-03-28 | PreparationDt |
Additional Filer Information AdditionalFilerInformation
Trusted Customer TrustedCustomerGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Trusted Customer | 3 | TrustedCustomerCd |
| Authentication Assurance Level | AAL1 | AuthenticationAssuranceLevelCd |
| Identity Assurance Level | IAL1 | IdentityAssuranceLevelCd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Tax | 2021 | TaxYr |
| Build TS | 2023-04-26 12:10:37Z | BuildTS |
Form 990 IRS990
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Principal Officer | JOSEPH HARVEY | PrincipalOfficerNm |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 39 TRELLIS DRIVE | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | SAN RAFAEL | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | CA | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 94903 | ZIPCd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Gross Receipts | $20,917,968 | GrossReceiptsAmt |
| Group Return For Affiliates | 0 | GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd |
| Organization501c3 | Yes (X) | Organization501c3Ind |
| Website Address | WWW.MARKDAYSCHOOL.ORG | WebsiteAddressTxt |
| Type Of Organization Corp | Yes (X) | TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd |
| Formation | 1979 | FormationYr |
| Legal Domicile State | CA | LegalDomicileStateCd |
| Activity Or Mission | TO OPERATE A COEDUCATIONAL SCHOOL FOR STUDENTS IN KINDERGARTEN THROUGH 8TH GRADES. | ActivityOrMissionDesc |
| Voting Members Governing Body | 31 | VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt |
| Voting Members Independent | 30 | VotingMembersIndependentCnt |
| Total Employee | 126 | TotalEmployeeCnt |
| Total Volunteers | 70 | TotalVolunteersCnt |
| Total Gross UBI | $0 | TotalGrossUBIAmt |
| Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm | $0 | NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt |
| PY Contributions Grants | $3,080,789 | PYContributionsGrantsAmt |
| CY Contributions Grants | $1,949,617 | CYContributionsGrantsAmt |
| PY Program Service Revenue | $14,469,922 | PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
| CY Program Service Revenue | $15,764,908 | CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
| PY Investment Income | $1,185,484 | PYInvestmentIncomeAmt |
| CY Investment Income | $729,499 | CYInvestmentIncomeAmt |
| PY Other Revenue | $0 | PYOtherRevenueAmt |
| CY Other Revenue | $0 | CYOtherRevenueAmt |
| PY Total Revenue | $18,736,195 | PYTotalRevenueAmt |
| CY Total Revenue | $18,444,024 | CYTotalRevenueAmt |
| PY Grants And Similar Paid | $2,745,340 | PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt |
| CY Grants And Similar Paid | $2,740,010 | CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt |
| PY Benefits Paid To Members | $0 | PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt |
| CY Benefits Paid To Members | $0 | CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt |
| PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid | $9,687,527 | PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt |
| CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid | $10,331,073 | CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt |
| PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns | $0 | PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt |
| CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns | $0 | CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt |
| CY Total Fundraising Expense | $446,428 | CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt |
| PY Other Expenses | $3,896,084 | PYOtherExpensesAmt |
| CY Other Expenses | $4,378,647 | CYOtherExpensesAmt |
| PY Total Expenses | $16,328,951 | PYTotalExpensesAmt |
| CY Total Expenses | $17,449,730 | CYTotalExpensesAmt |
| PY Revenues Less Expenses | $2,407,244 | PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt |
| CY Revenues Less Expenses | $994,294 | CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt |
| Total Assets BOY | $47,346,873 | TotalAssetsBOYAmt |
| Total Assets EOY | $46,409,583 | TotalAssetsEOYAmt |
| Total Liabilities BOY | $21,207,585 | TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt |
| Total Liabilities EOY | $21,808,372 | TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt |
| Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY | $26,139,288 | NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt |
| Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY | $24,601,211 | NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt |
| Info In Schedule O Part III | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartIIIInd |
| Mission | MARK DAY SCHOOL (FORMERLY SAINT MARK'S SCHOOL) DISCOVERS AND NURTURES WHAT IS FINEST IN EACH CHILD IN A VIBRANT, INCLUSIVE, NON-SECTARIAN LEARNING COMMUNITY. INNOVATIVE AND FULL OF HEART, MARK DAY SCHOOL STRIVES TO DEVELOP WELL-ROUNDED CRITICAL THINKERS IN A CHALLENGING PROGRAM THAT FOSTERS ACADEMIC EXCELLENCE AND RESPONSIBLE WORLD CITIZENSHIP. OUR MEDIA LITERACY PROGRAM, OUR ONE-ON-ONE LAPTOP PROGRAM, AND OUR GLOBAL PARTNERSHIPS WITH ESIBONSWENI, BEJING EXPERIMENTAL SCHOOL #2, AND THE CANAL ALLIANCE REMAIN VIBRANT AND SIGNIFICANT PARTS OF OUR CURRICULUM. MARK DAY SCHOOL ALSO INTRODUCED OUR SOCIAL EMOTIONAL LEARNING PROGRAM THROUGHOUT ALL GRADES WITH RESOUNDING SUCCESS. | MissionDesc |
| Significant New Program Srvc | 0 | SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd |
| Significant Change | 0 | SignificantChangeInd |
| Expense | $13,778,143 | ExpenseAmt |
| Grant | $2,740,010 | GrantAmt |
| Revenue | $15,764,908 | RevenueAmt |
| Desc | MARK DAY SCHOOL IS AN INDEPENDENT, NON-SECTARIAN, COEDUCATIONAL SCHOOL SERVING 380 STUDENTS IN KINDERGARTEN THROUGH EIGHTH GRADE. MARK DAY SCHOOL STUDENTS PARTICIPATE IN A CHALLENGING AND ACTIVE HANDS-ON ACADEMIC PROGRAM, PREPARING THEM FOR SUCCESS IN FUTURE SCHOOLING AND IN LIFE. MARK DAY SCHOOL ACADEMICS INCLUDES TRADITIONAL SKILLS AND COMPETENCIES OF FOUNDATIONAL LITERACIES SUCH AS MATH AND THE HUMANITIES, AS WELL AS FOUR CROSS-DISCIPLINARY LITERACIES THAT ARE INTERWOVEN INTO THE CURRICULUM. THE FOUR CROSS-DISCIPLINARY LITERACIES ARE; MEDIA AND INFORMATION, SOCIAL AND EMOTIONAL, ECOLOGICAL AND CROSS-CULTURAL. CROSS-CULTURAL LITERACY IS ENHANCED THROUGH OUR FORMALIZED PARTNERSHIPS WITH FOREIGN SCHOOLS IN CHINA, COSTA RICA AND SOUTH AFRICA. FOLLOWING GRADUATION, MARK DAY SCHOOL ALUMNI MATRICULATE AT EXCELLENT INDEPENDENT, PUBLIC AND PAROCHIAL HIGH SCHOOLS IN THE BAY AREA AND AT BOARDING SCHOOLS AROUND THE COUNTRY. MARK DAY SCHOOL GRADUATES ARE CONSIDERED AMONG THE BEST PREPARED STUDENTS AT THOSE SCHOOLS. | Desc |
| Total Program Service Expenses | $13,778,143 | TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt |
| Described In Section501c3 | Yes (1) | DescribedInSection501c3Ind |
| Schedule B Required | Yes (1) | ScheduleBRequiredInd |
| Political Campaign Acty | 0 | PoliticalCampaignActyInd |
| Lobbying Activities | 0 | LobbyingActivitiesInd |
| Subject To Proxy Tax | 0 | SubjectToProxyTaxInd |
| Donor Advised Fund | 0 | DonorAdvisedFundInd |
| Conservation Easements | 0 | ConservationEasementsInd |
| Collections Of Art | 0 | CollectionsOfArtInd |
| Credit Counseling | 0 | CreditCounselingInd |
| Donor Rstr Or Quasi Endowments | Yes (1) | DonorRstrOrQuasiEndowmentsInd |
| Report Land Building Equipment | Yes (1) | ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd |
| Report Investments Other Sec | 0 | ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd |
| Report Program Related Invst | 0 | ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd |
| Report Other Assets | 0 | ReportOtherAssetsInd |
| Report Other Liabilities | 0 | ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd |
| Include FIN48 Footnote | Yes (1) | IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd |
| Independent Audit Fincl Stmt | Yes (1) | IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd |
| Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt | 0 | ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd |
| School Operating | Yes (1) | SchoolOperatingInd |
| Foreign Office | 0 | ForeignOfficeInd |
| Foreign Activities | Yes (1) | ForeignActivitiesInd |
| More Than5000 K To Org | Yes (1) | MoreThan5000KToOrgInd |
| More Than5000 K To Individuals | 0 | MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd |
| Professional Fundraising | 0 | ProfessionalFundraisingInd |
| Fundraising Activities | 0 | FundraisingActivitiesInd |
| Gaming Activities | 0 | GamingActivitiesInd |
| Operate Hospital | 0 | OperateHospitalInd |
| Grants To Organizations | 0 | GrantsToOrganizationsInd |
| Grants To Individuals | Yes (1) | GrantsToIndividualsInd |
| Schedule J Required | Yes (1) | ScheduleJRequiredInd |
| Tax Exempt Bonds | Yes (1) | TaxExemptBondsInd |
| Invest Tax Exempt Bonds | 0 | InvestTaxExemptBondsInd |
| Escrow Account | 0 | EscrowAccountInd |
| On Behalf Of Issuer | 0 | OnBehalfOfIssuerInd |
| Engaged In Excess Benefit Trans | 0 | EngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd |
| PY Excess Benefit Trans | 0 | PYExcessBenefitTransInd |
| Loan Outstanding | 0 | LoanOutstandingInd |
| Grant To Related Person | 0 | GrantToRelatedPersonInd |
| Business Rln With Org Mem | 0 | BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd |
| Business Rln With Fam Mem | 0 | BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd |
| Business Rln With35 Ctrl Ent | 0 | BusinessRlnWith35CtrlEntInd |
| Deductible Non Cash Contri | Yes (1) | DeductibleNonCashContriInd |
| Deductible Art Contribution | 0 | DeductibleArtContributionInd |
| Terminate Operations | 0 | TerminateOperationsInd |
| Partial Liquidation | 0 | PartialLiquidationInd |
| Disregarded Entity | 0 | DisregardedEntityInd |
| Related Entity | 0 | RelatedEntityInd |
| Related Organization Ctrl Ent | 0 | RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd |
| Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd Org | 0 | TrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd |
| Activities Conducted Prtshp | 0 | ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd |
| Schedule O Required | Yes (1) | ScheduleORequiredInd |
| IRP Document | 30 | IRPDocumentCnt |
| IRP Document W2 G | 0 | IRPDocumentW2GCnt |
| Backup Wthld Compliance | Yes (1) | BackupWthldComplianceInd |
| Employee | 126 | EmployeeCnt |
| Employment Tax Returns Filed | Yes (1) | EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd |
| Unrelated Bus Incm Over Limit | 0 | UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd |
| Foreign Financial Account | 0 | ForeignFinancialAccountInd |
| Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans | 0 | ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd |
| Taxable Party Notification | 0 | TaxablePartyNotificationInd |
| Nondeductible Contributions | 0 | NondeductibleContributionsInd |
| Quid Pro Quo Contributions | 0 | QuidProQuoContributionsInd |
| Form8282 Property Disposed Of | 0 | Form8282PropertyDisposedOfInd |
| Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft Cntrct | 0 | RcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd |
| Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft Cntrct | 0 | PayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd |
| Indoor Tanning Services | 0 | IndoorTanningServicesInd |
| Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht Pymt | 0 | SubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd |
| Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst Inc | 0 | SubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd |
| Info In Schedule O Part VI | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd |
| Governing Body Voting Members | 31 | GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt |
| Independent Voting Member | 30 | IndependentVotingMemberCnt |
| Family Or Business Rln | 0 | FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd |
| Delegation Of Mgmt Duties | 0 | DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd |
| Change To Org Documents | 0 | ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd |
| Material Diversion Or Misuse | 0 | MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd |
| Members Or Stockholders | 0 | MembersOrStockholdersInd |
| Election Of Board Members | 0 | ElectionOfBoardMembersInd |
| Decisions Subject To Approva | 0 | DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd |
| Minutes Of Governing Body | Yes (1) | MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd |
| Minutes Of Committees | Yes (1) | MinutesOfCommitteesInd |
| Officer Mailing Address | 0 | OfficerMailingAddressInd |
| Local Chapters | 0 | LocalChaptersInd |
| Form990 Provided To Gvrn Body | Yes (1) | Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd |
| Conflict Of Interest Policy | Yes (1) | ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd |
| Annual Disclosure Covered Prsn | Yes (1) | AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd |
| Regular Monitoring Enfrc | Yes (1) | RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd |
| Whistleblower Policy | Yes (1) | WhistleblowerPolicyInd |
| Document Retention Policy | Yes (1) | DocumentRetentionPolicyInd |
| Compensation Process CEO | Yes (1) | CompensationProcessCEOInd |
| Compensation Process Other | 0 | CompensationProcessOtherInd |
| Investment In Joint Venture | 0 | InvestmentInJointVentureInd |
| States Where Copy Of Return Is Fld | CA | StatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd |
| Upon Request | Yes (X) | UponRequestInd |
Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail
Business Name BusinessName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | BELLA CHANG DIRECTOR OF FINANCE & OPERATIONS | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Phone | 4154728000 | PhoneNum |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 39 TRELLIS DRIVE | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | SAN RAFAEL | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | CA | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 94903 | ZIPCd |
Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (41 entries)
| TitleTitleTxt | Average Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRt | Individual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorInd | OfficerOfficerInd | Reportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmt | Reportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmt | Other CompensationOtherCompensationAmt | Key EmployeeKeyEmployeeInd | Highest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| JOSEPH HARVEY | ||||||||
| HEAD OF SCHOOL | 40.00 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $374,300 | $0 | $106,979 | ||
| ETHAN DORNHELM | ||||||||
| PRESIDENT | 10.00 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| ROBERT HEE | ||||||||
| PRESIDENT (THRU 06/21) | 5.00 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| AIMEE FOREMAN | ||||||||
| VICE PRESIDENT | 5.00 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| JULIAN ALLEN | ||||||||
| TREASURER | 2.00 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| CHELSEA IALEGGIO | ||||||||
| ASST. TREASURER | 2.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| SHARINA BELANI | ||||||||
| TRUSTEE | 2.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| LINDSAY BARTSH | ||||||||
| TRUSTEE | 2.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| RYAN BROWN | ||||||||
| TRUSTEE | 2.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| PRATHAP DENDI | ||||||||
| TRUSTEE | 2.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| SCOTT FABER | ||||||||
| TRUSTEE | 2.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| ALEXANDER FRASER | ||||||||
| TRUSTEE | 2.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| REETIKA GREWAL | ||||||||
| TRUSTEE | 2.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| ANDREW KAWAHARA | ||||||||
| TRUSTEE | 2.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| CHRIS MAZZOLA | ||||||||
| TRUSTEE | 2.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| ASHLEY RANSOM | ||||||||
| TRUSTEE | 2.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| DAVID SHAPIRO | ||||||||
| TRUSTEE | 2.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| PAM EMO | ||||||||
| TRUSTEE (AS OF 07/21) | 2.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| SARA EGIDE | ||||||||
| TRUSTEE (AS OF 07/21) | 2.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| RIKA GOPINATH | ||||||||
| TRUSTEE (AS OF 07/21) | 2.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| MEGAN MARIANI | ||||||||
| TRUSTEE (AS OF 07/21) | 2.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| SCOTT LAMSON | ||||||||
| TRUSTEE (AS OF 07/21) | 2.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| SILVIA BUCKLEY | ||||||||
| TRUSTEE (AS OF 07/21) | 2.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| NISH BUDHRAJA | ||||||||
| TRUSTEE (THRU 06/21) | 2.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| MICHELLE MULKEY | ||||||||
| TRUSTEE (THRU 06/21) | 2.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| STEVE POLSKY | ||||||||
| TRUSTEE (THRU 06/21) | 2.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| CARL REICHARDT | ||||||||
| TRUSTEE (THRU 06/21) | 2.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| SHALU SALUJA | ||||||||
| TRUSTEE (THRU 06/21) | 2.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| DAVID ST MARTIN | ||||||||
| TRUSTEE (THRU 06/21) | 2.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| RACHEL STREET | ||||||||
| TRUSTEE (THRU 06/21) | 2.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| PETER SUPINO | ||||||||
| TRUSTEE (THRU 06/21) | 2.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| BELLA CHANG | ||||||||
| DIRECTOR OF FINANCE AND OPERATIONS | 40.00 | Yes (X) | $233,817 | $0 | $35,036 | |||
| BONNIE NISHIHARA | ||||||||
| ASSISTANT HEAD OF SCHOOL | 40.00 | Yes (X) | $169,997 | $0 | $36,691 | |||
| DAVID HICKMAN | ||||||||
| HEAD OF UPPER SCHOOL | 40.00 | $178,283 | $0 | $36,211 | Yes (X) | |||
| WENDY LEVINE | ||||||||
| DIRECTOR OF DEVELOPMENT | 40.00 | $168,928 | $0 | $21,644 | Yes (X) | |||
| THADDEUS REICHLEY | ||||||||
| HEAD OF LOWER SCHOOL | 40.00 | $153,155 | $0 | $34,760 | Yes (X) | |||
| KATHERINE KELSO | ||||||||
| DIRECTOR OF ADMISSION | 40.00 | $130,262 | $0 | $32,125 | Yes (X) | |||
| GENEVA CONWAY | ||||||||
| FIRST GRADE TEACHER | 40.00 | $125,466 | $0 | $32,984 | Yes (X) | |||
| KELLY LAFAYE | ||||||||
| SPANISH TEACHER | 40.00 | $126,741 | $0 | $30,321 | Yes (X) | |||
| FERNANDA PERNAMBUCO | ||||||||
| DIRECTOR OF PARTNERSHIP, EQUITY, AND INCLUSION | 40.00 | $122,143 | $0 | $31,018 | Yes (X) | |||
| LISA BECKER | ||||||||
| FIRST GRADE TEACHER | 40.00 | $120,125 | $0 | $31,681 | Yes (X) | |||
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Reportable Comp From Org | $1,903,217 | TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt |
| Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org | $0 | TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt |
| Total Other Compensation | $429,450 | TotalOtherCompensationAmt |
| Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K | 32 | IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt |
| Former Ofcr Employees Listed | 0 | FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd |
| Total Comp Greater Than150 K | Yes (1) | TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd |
| Compensation From Other Srcs | 0 | CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd |
Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (3 entries)
| Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1Txt | CityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNm | State AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCd | ZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCd | ServicesServicesDesc | CompensationCompensationAmt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| STEYER LOWENTHAL BOODROOKAS ALVAREZ & SM | |||||
| 235 PINE ST 15TH FLOOR | SAN FRANCISCO | CA | 94104 | LEGAL SERVICES | $162,182 |
| NATURALISTS AT LARGE | |||||
| PO BOX 3517 | VENTURA | CA | 93006 | OUTDOOR EDUCATION | $150,612 |
| MICHAEL'S TRANSPORTATION SERVICES INC | |||||
| 140 YOLANO DRIVE | VALLEJO | CA | 94589 | TRANSPORTATION/SCHOOL BUS SERVICES | $125,552 |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K | 3 | CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt |
| Government Grants | $85,620 | GovernmentGrantsAmt |
| All Other Contributions | $1,863,997 | AllOtherContributionsAmt |
| Noncash Contributions | $100,333 | NoncashContributionsAmt |
| Total Contributions | $1,949,617 | TotalContributionsAmt |
Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (2 entries)
| DescDesc | BusinessBusinessCd | Total Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmt | Related Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt |
|---|---|---|---|
| TUITION AND FEES | 611600 | $15,354,259 | $15,354,259 |
| AUX AND OTHER PROGRAMS | 611600 | $410,649 | $410,649 |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Program Service Revenue | $15,764,908 | TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $243,083 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Exclusion | $243,083 | ExclusionAmt |
Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Securities | $2,960,360 | SecuritiesAmt |
Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Securities | $2,473,944 | SecuritiesAmt |
Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Securities | $486,416 | SecuritiesAmt |
Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $486,416 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Exclusion | $486,416 | ExclusionAmt |
Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $18,444,024 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Related Or Exempt Func Income | $15,764,908 | RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt |
| Unrelated Business Revenue | $0 | UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt |
| Exclusion | $729,499 | ExclusionAmt |
Grants To Domestic Individuals GrantsToDomesticIndividualsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $2,740,010 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $2,740,010 | ProgramServicesAmt |
Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $1,641,539 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $868,214 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $513,242 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $260,083 | FundraisingAmt |
Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $6,636,883 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $5,314,324 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $1,286,088 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $36,471 | FundraisingAmt |
Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $526,591 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $393,272 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $114,455 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $18,864 | FundraisingAmt |
Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $921,663 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $688,322 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $200,325 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $33,016 | FundraisingAmt |
Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $604,397 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $451,379 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $131,367 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $21,651 | FundraisingAmt |
Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $103,876 | TotalAmt |
| Management And General | $103,876 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $55,000 | TotalAmt |
| Management And General | $55,000 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Fees For Srvc Invst Mgmnt Fees FeesForSrvcInvstMgmntFeesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $30,157 | TotalAmt |
| Management And General | $30,157 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $78,660 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $9,000 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $47,467 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $22,193 | FundraisingAmt |
Advertising AdvertisingGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $63,318 | TotalAmt |
| Management And General | $63,318 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $110,735 | TotalAmt |
| Management And General | $110,735 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Occupancy OccupancyGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $1,318,214 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $1,192,718 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $97,343 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $28,153 | FundraisingAmt |
Travel TravelGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $269,191 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $269,191 | ProgramServicesAmt |
Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $136,460 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $79,004 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $57,456 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Interest InterestGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $211,492 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $175,510 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $31,840 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $4,142 | FundraisingAmt |
Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $915,807 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $819,133 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $77,339 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $19,335 | FundraisingAmt |
Insurance InsuranceGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $119,361 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $106,761 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $10,080 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $2,520 | FundraisingAmt |
Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)
| DescDesc | TotalTotalAmt | Program ServicesProgramServicesAmt | Management And GeneralManagementAndGeneralAmt |
|---|---|---|---|
| OTHER EXPENSES | $389,580 | $94,509 | $295,071 |
| CURRICULUM, FIELD TRIPS | $350,384 | $350,384 | |
| OUTDOOR EDUCATION | $163,683 | $163,683 | |
| AUXILLARY | $62,729 | $62,729 |
Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $17,449,730 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $13,778,143 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $3,225,159 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $446,428 | FundraisingAmt |
Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $456,623 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $476,180 | EOYAmt |
Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $14,951,371 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $15,561,837 | EOYAmt |
Pledges And Grants Receivable PledgesAndGrantsReceivableGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $271,338 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $53,808 | EOYAmt |
Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $5,471,080 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $5,740,832 | EOYAmt |
Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $311,707 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $141,727 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss | $22,214,447 | LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt |
| Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec | $9,019,462 | LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt |
Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $13,859,632 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $13,194,985 | EOYAmt |
Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $12,025,122 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $11,240,214 | EOYAmt |
Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $47,346,873 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $46,409,583 | EOYAmt |
Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $1,598,543 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $1,626,529 | EOYAmt |
Deferred Revenue DeferredRevenueGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $12,515,757 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $13,327,947 | EOYAmt |
Tax Exempt Bond Liabilities TaxExemptBondLiabilitiesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $7,093,285 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $6,853,896 | EOYAmt |
Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $21,207,585 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $21,808,372 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Organization Follows FASB117 | Yes (X) | OrganizationFollowsFASB117Ind |
No Donor Restriction Net Assets NoDonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $19,409,465 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $18,671,348 | EOYAmt |
Donor Restriction Net Assets DonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $6,729,823 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $5,929,863 | EOYAmt |
Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $26,139,288 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $24,601,211 | EOYAmt |
Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $47,346,873 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $46,409,583 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Reconcilation Revenue Expnss | $994,294 | ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt |
| Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst | -$2,532,371 | NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt |
| Other Changes In Net Assets | $0 | OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt |
| Method Of Accounting Accrual | Yes (X) | MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd |
| Accountant Compile Or Review | 0 | AccountantCompileOrReviewInd |
| FS Audited | Yes (1) | FSAuditedInd |
FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Separate Basis Fincl Stmt | Yes (X) | SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Audit Committee | Yes (1) | AuditCommitteeInd |
| Federal Grant Audit Required | 0 | FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd |
Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| School | Yes (X) | SchoolInd |
Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB
Contributor Information ContributorInformationGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Contributor | RESTRICTED | ContributorNum |
Contributor Business Name ContributorBusinessName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | RESTRICTED | BusinessNameLine1 |
Contributor US Address ContributorUSAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | RESTRICTED | AddressLine1 |
| Address Line2 | RESTRICTED | AddressLine2 |
| City | RESTRICTED | City |
| State | RESTRICTED | State |
| ZIP Code | RESTRICTED | ZIPCode |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Contributions | RESTRICTED | TotalContributionsAmt |
Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Agent Trustee Etc | Yes (1) | AgentTrusteeEtcInd |
| Incl Escrow Custodial Acct Liab | 0 | InclEscrowCustodialAcctLiabInd |
CY Endwmt Fund CYEndwmtFundGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Beginning Year Balance | $11,890,349 | BeginningYearBalanceAmt |
| Contributions | $1,185,764 | ContributionsAmt |
| Investment Earnings Or Losses | -$1,707,163 | InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt |
| Other Expenditures | $624,093 | OtherExpendituresAmt |
| End Year Balance | $10,744,857 | EndYearBalanceAmt |
CY Minus1 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus1YrEndwmtFundGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Beginning Year Balance | $9,824,812 | BeginningYearBalanceAmt |
| Contributions | $114,255 | ContributionsAmt |
| Investment Earnings Or Losses | $2,334,383 | InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt |
| Other Expenditures | $383,101 | OtherExpendituresAmt |
| End Year Balance | $11,890,349 | EndYearBalanceAmt |
CY Minus2 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus2YrEndwmtFundGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Beginning Year Balance | $9,478,651 | BeginningYearBalanceAmt |
| Contributions | $129,788 | ContributionsAmt |
| Investment Earnings Or Losses | $546,719 | InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt |
| Other Expenditures | $330,346 | OtherExpendituresAmt |
| End Year Balance | $9,824,812 | EndYearBalanceAmt |
CY Minus3 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus3YrEndwmtFundGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Beginning Year Balance | $9,037,634 | BeginningYearBalanceAmt |
| Contributions | $148,845 | ContributionsAmt |
| Investment Earnings Or Losses | $581,672 | InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt |
| Other Expenditures | $289,500 | OtherExpendituresAmt |
| End Year Balance | $9,478,651 | EndYearBalanceAmt |
CY Minus4 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus4YrEndwmtFundGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Beginning Year Balance | $8,421,018 | BeginningYearBalanceAmt |
| Contributions | $269,280 | ContributionsAmt |
| Investment Earnings Or Losses | $601,704 | InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt |
| Other Expenditures | $254,368 | OtherExpendituresAmt |
| End Year Balance | $9,037,634 | EndYearBalanceAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Board Designated Balance EOY | 0.48190 | BoardDesignatedBalanceEOYPct |
| Prmnnt Endowment Balance EOY | 0.39890 | PrmnntEndowmentBalanceEOYPct |
| Term Endowment Balance EOY | 0.11920 | TermEndowmentBalanceEOYPct |
| Endowments Held Unrelated Org | 0 | EndowmentsHeldUnrelatedOrgInd |
| Endowments Held Related Org | 0 | EndowmentsHeldRelatedOrgInd |
Buildings BuildingsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Cost Or Other Basis | $18,477,472 | OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Depreciation | $5,917,597 | DepreciationAmt |
| Book Value | $12,559,875 | BookValueAmt |
Leasehold Improvements LeaseholdImprovementsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Cost Or Other Basis | $1,224,207 | OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Depreciation | $1,106,233 | DepreciationAmt |
| Book Value | $117,974 | BookValueAmt |
Equipment EquipmentGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Cost Or Other Basis | $1,214,220 | OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Depreciation | $897,981 | DepreciationAmt |
| Book Value | $316,239 | BookValueAmt |
Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Cost Or Other Basis | $1,298,548 | OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Depreciation | $1,097,651 | DepreciationAmt |
| Book Value | $200,897 | BookValueAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Book Value Land Buildings | $13,194,985 | TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt |
| Footnote Text | Yes (X) | FootnoteTextInd |
| Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt | $13,141,486 | TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt |
| Net Unrealized Gains Invst | -$2,532,371 | NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt |
| Revenue Not Reported | -$2,532,371 | RevenueNotReportedAmt |
| Revenue Subtotal | $15,673,857 | RevenueSubtotalAmt |
| Investment Expenses Not Incld | $30,157 | InvestmentExpensesNotIncldAmt |
| Other Revenues Not Included | $2,740,010 | OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt |
| Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt | $2,770,167 | RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt |
| Total Revenue Per Form990 | $18,444,024 | TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt |
| Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt | $14,679,563 | TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt |
| Expenses Not Reported | $0 | ExpensesNotReportedAmt |
| Expenses Subtotal | $14,679,563 | ExpensesSubtotalAmt |
| Investment Expenses Not Incld2 | $30,157 | InvestmentExpensesNotIncld2Amt |
| Other Expenses Not Included | $2,740,010 | OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt |
| Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt | $2,770,167 | ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt |
| Total Expenses Per Form990 | $17,449,730 | TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt |
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (5 entries)
| Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDesc | ExplanationExplanationTxt |
|---|---|
| PART IV, LINE 1B: | THE SCHOOL WORKS WITH PARTNERS AT ESIBONESWENI PRIMAR ORPHANS PROJECT AND CONTRIBUTES $4,500 TO AFRICA EACH QUARTER. DURING 2021 TAX YEAR, THERE WAS TOTAL $18,000 FUNDS COLLECTED AS A PASS-THROUGH WITH THE SCHOOL. THE DONATIONS ARE COLLECTED TO SUPPORT EDUCATION AT ESIBONESWENI, HELD AS A LIABILITY BECAUSE IT IS A PASSTHROUGH, AND THEN PASSED THROUGH TO THE FOREIGN ORGANIZATIONS IN AFRICA. |
| PART V, LINE 4: | OUR ENDOWMENT FUNDS ARE USED FOR STUDENT FINANCIAL ASSISTANCE, FACULTY SALARIES, AND ADDITIONS TO PROGRAMS AND CAPITAL IMPROVEMENTS. |
| PART X, LINE 2: | THE SCHOOL IS A QUALIFIED SCHOOL EXEMPT FROM FEDERAL INCOME AND CALIFORNIA FRANCHISE TAXES UNDER THE PROVISIONS OF SECTIONS 501(C)(3) OF THE INTERNAL REVENUE CODE AND 23701(D) OF THE CALIFORNIA REVENUE AND TAXATION CODE, RESPECTIVELY. THE SCHOOL HAS EVALUATED ITS CURRENT TAX POSITIONS AND HAS CONCLUDED THAT AS OF JUNE 30, 2022, THE SCHOOL DOES NOT HAVE ANY SIGNIFICANT UNCERTAIN TAX POSITIONS FOR WHICH A RESERVE WOULD BE NECESSARY. |
| PART XI, LINE 4B - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS: | TUITION ASSISTANCE 2,740,010. |
| PART XII, LINE 4B - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS: | TUITION ASSISTANCE 2,740,010. |
Schedule E IRS990ScheduleE
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Nondiscriminatory Policy Stmt | Yes (1) | NondiscriminatoryPolicyStmtInd |
| Policy Stmt In Brochures Etc | Yes (1) | PolicyStmtInBrochuresEtcInd |
| Plcy Pblczd Via Broadcast Media | Yes (1) | PlcyPblczdViaBroadcastMediaInd |
| Maintain Racial Comp Recs | Yes (1) | MaintainRacialCompRecsInd |
| Maintain Scholarships Recs | Yes (1) | MaintainScholarshipsRecsInd |
| Maintain Cpy Of Brochures Etc | Yes (1) | MaintainCpyOfBrochuresEtcInd |
| Maintain Cpy Of All Sol | Yes (1) | MaintainCpyOfAllSolInd |
| Discriminate Race Stdnts Rghts | 0 | DiscriminateRaceStdntsRghtsInd |
| Discriminate Race Admiss Plcy | 0 | DiscriminateRaceAdmissPlcyInd |
| Discriminate Race Emplm Fculty | 0 | DiscriminateRaceEmplmFcultyInd |
| Discriminate Race Schs | 0 | DiscriminateRaceSchsInd |
| Discriminate Race Educ Plcy | 0 | DiscriminateRaceEducPlcyInd |
| Discriminate Race Use Of Fclts | 0 | DiscriminateRaceUseOfFcltsInd |
| Discriminate Race Athlt Prog | 0 | DiscriminateRaceAthltProgInd |
| Discriminate Race Other Acty | 0 | DiscriminateRaceOtherActyInd |
| Government Financial Aid Rcvd | 0 | GovernmentFinancialAidRcvdInd |
| Government Financial Aid Rvkd | 0 | GovernmentFinancialAidRvkdInd |
| Compliance With Rev Proc7550 | Yes (1) | ComplianceWithRevProc7550Ind |
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Form And Line Reference | SCHEDULE E, PART I, LINE 3 | FormAndLineReferenceDesc |
| Explanation | MARK DAY SCHOOL PUBLISHES ITS RACIALLY NONDISCRIMINATORY POLICY ON THE ORGANIZATION'S WEBSITE HOMEPAGE AT ALL TIMES. | ExplanationTxt |
Schedule F IRS990ScheduleF
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Grant Records Maintained | Yes (1) | GrantRecordsMaintainedInd |
Account Activities Outside US AccountActivitiesOutsideUSGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Region | SUB-SAHARAN AFRICA - SOUTH AFRICA | RegionTxt |
| Offices | 0 | OfficesCnt |
| Employee | 0 | EmployeeCnt |
| Type Of Activities Conducted | GRANTMAKING | TypeOfActivitiesConductedTxt |
| Region Total Expenditures | $18,000 | RegionTotalExpendituresAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Subtotal Offices | 0 | SubtotalOfficesCnt |
| Subtotal Employees | 0 | SubtotalEmployeesCnt |
| Continuation Total Office | 0 | ContinuationTotalOfficeCnt |
| Continuation Total Employee | 0 | ContinuationTotalEmployeeCnt |
| Total Office | 0 | TotalOfficeCnt |
| Total Employee | 0 | TotalEmployeeCnt |
| Subtotal Spent | $18,000 | SubtotalSpentAmt |
| Continuation Spent | $0 | ContinuationSpentAmt |
| Total Spent | $18,000 | TotalSpentAmt |
Grants To Org Outside US GrantsToOrgOutsideUSGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Region | SUB-SAHARAN AFRICA - SOUTH AFRICA | RegionTxt |
| Purpose Of Grant | TO SUPPORT EDUCATION AT ESIBONESWENI | PurposeOfGrantTxt |
| Cash Grant | $18,000 | CashGrantAmt |
| Manner Of Cash Disbursement | WIRE | MannerOfCashDisbursementTxt |
| Non Cash Assistance | $0 | NonCashAssistanceAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total501c3 Org | 1 | Total501c3OrgCnt |
| Total Other Org | 0 | TotalOtherOrgCnt |
| Transfer To Foreign Corp | 0 | TransferToForeignCorpInd |
| Interest In Foreign Trust | 0 | InterestInForeignTrustInd |
| Foreign Corp Ownership | 0 | ForeignCorpOwnershipInd |
| Passive Foreign Investmest Co | 0 | PassiveForeignInvestmestCoInd |
| Foreign Partnership | 0 | ForeignPartnershipInd |
| Boycott Countries | 0 | BoycottCountriesInd |
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)
| Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDesc | ExplanationExplanationTxt |
|---|---|
| PART I, LINE 2: | WE WORK WITH OUR PARTNERS AT ESIBONESWENI PRIMAR ORPHANS PROJECT OF $4.5K PER QUARTER. IT IS TO THE ORGANIZATION AS A WHOLE. NO CHANGE FROM PRIOR YEAR. THE RECIPIENTS REPORT ON THEIR USE OF CONTRIBUTED FUNDS TO THE SCHOOLS. |
| PART III ACCOUNTING METHOD: |
Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Grant Records Maintained | Yes (1) | GrantRecordsMaintainedInd |
Grants Other Asst To Indiv In US GrantsOtherAsstToIndivInUSGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Grant Type | TUITION ASSISTANCE | GrantTypeTxt |
| Recipient | 102 | RecipientCnt |
| Non Cash Assistance | $2,740,010 | NonCashAssistanceAmt |
| Valuation Method Used | FMV | ValuationMethodUsedDesc |
| Non Cash Assistance | DIRECT CREDIT TO STUDENT ACCOUNT | NonCashAssistanceDesc |
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Form And Line Reference | PART I, LINE 2: | FormAndLineReferenceDesc |
| Explanation | ALL FUNDS ARE USED TO REDUCE THE AMOUNT OF TUITION AND FEES PAID BY THE RECIPIENT TO THE SCHOOL. NO CASH IS GIVEN FOR FINANCIAL AID AWARDS. A CREDIT IS APPLIED TO THE STUDENT'S ACCOUNT IN THE AMOUNT OF THE AWARD. | ExplanationTxt |
Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Housing Allowance Or Residence | Yes (X) | HousingAllowanceOrResidenceInd |
| Written Policy Ref T And E Expnss | Yes (1) | WrittenPolicyRefTAndEExpnssInd |
| Substantiation Required | Yes (1) | SubstantiationRequiredInd |
| Independent Consultant | Yes (X) | IndependentConsultantInd |
| Written Employment Contract | Yes (X) | WrittenEmploymentContractInd |
| Compensation Survey | Yes (X) | CompensationSurveyInd |
| Board Or Committee Approval | Yes (X) | BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd |
| Severance Payment | 0 | SeverancePaymentInd |
| Supplemental Nonqual Rtr Plan | Yes (1) | SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd |
| Equity Based Comp Arrngm | 0 | EquityBasedCompArrngmInd |
| Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng Org | 0 | CompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd |
| Comp Bsd On Rev Related Orgs | 0 | CompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd |
| Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng Org | 0 | CompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd |
| Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd Orgs | 0 | CompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd |
| Any Non Fixed Payments | 0 | AnyNonFixedPaymentsInd |
| Initial Contract Exception | 0 | InitialContractExceptionInd |
Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (11 entries)
| TitleTitleTxt | Base Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmt | Compensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmt | Bonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmount | Bonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmt | Other Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmt | Other Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmt | Deferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmt | Deferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmt | Nontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmt | Nontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmt | Total Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmt | Total Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmt | Comp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmt | Comp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| JOSEPH HARVEY | ||||||||||||||
| HEAD OF SCHOOL | $323,300 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $51,000 | $0 | $59,650 | $0 | $47,329 | $0 | $481,279 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| BELLA CHANG | ||||||||||||||
| DIRECTOR OF FINANCE AND OPERATIONS | $233,817 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $14,483 | $0 | $20,553 | $0 | $268,853 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| DAVID HICKMAN | ||||||||||||||
| HEAD OF UPPER SCHOOL | $178,283 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $12,404 | $0 | $23,807 | $0 | $214,494 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| BONNIE NISHIHARA | ||||||||||||||
| ASSISTANT HEAD OF SCHOOL | $169,997 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $16,348 | $0 | $20,343 | $0 | $206,688 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| WENDY LEVINE | ||||||||||||||
| DIRECTOR OF DEVELOPMENT | $168,928 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $10,301 | $0 | $11,343 | $0 | $190,572 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| THADDEUS REICHLEY | ||||||||||||||
| HEAD OF LOWER SCHOOL | $153,155 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $11,358 | $0 | $23,402 | $0 | $187,915 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| KATHERINE KELSO | ||||||||||||||
| DIRECTOR OF ADMISSION | $130,262 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $7,940 | $0 | $24,185 | $0 | $162,387 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| GENEVA CONWAY | ||||||||||||||
| FIRST GRADE TEACHER | $125,466 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $8,937 | $0 | $24,047 | $0 | $158,450 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| KELLY LAFAYE | ||||||||||||||
| SPANISH TEACHER | $126,741 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $8,925 | $0 | $21,396 | $0 | $157,062 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| FERNANDA PERNAMBUCO | ||||||||||||||
| DIRECTOR OF PARTNERSHIP, EQUITY, AND | $122,143 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $7,329 | $0 | $23,689 | $0 | $153,161 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| LISA BECKER | ||||||||||||||
| FIRST GRADE TEACHER | $120,125 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $8,139 | $0 | $23,542 | $0 | $151,806 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)
| Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDesc | ExplanationExplanationTxt |
|---|---|
| PART I, LINE 1A | THE HEAD OF SCHOOL RECEIVES HOUSING ALLOWANCE OF $51,000 (INCLUDED IN THE AMOUNT ON SCH. J, PART II, COLUMN B(III)). |
| PART I, LINE 4B | THE SCHOOL ESTABLISHED A 457(F) SUPPLEMENTAL EXECUTIVE RETIREMENT PLAN WITH ONE OF ITS EXECUTIVE EMPLOYEES. THE AMOUNT ACCRUED DURING 2021 CALENDAR YEAR WAS $50,000. |
Schedule K IRS990ScheduleK
Tax Exempt Bonds Issues TaxExemptBondsIssuesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Bond Reference | A | BondReferenceCd |
Issuer Name IssuerName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | CALIFORNIA PUBLIC FINANCE AUTHORITY | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Bond Issuer EIN | 474447476 | BondIssuerEIN |
| Bond Issued | 2020-06-10 | BondIssuedDt |
| Issue Price | $7,647,000 | IssuePriceAmt |
| Purpose | REFINANCE PRIOR BOND ISSUE | PurposeDesc |
| Defeased | 0 | DefeasedInd |
| On Behalf Of Issuer | 0 | OnBehalfOfIssuerInd |
| Pool Financing | 0 | PoolFinancingInd |
Tax Exempt Bonds Proceeds TaxExemptBondsProceedsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Bond Reference | A | BondReferenceCd |
| Retired | $482,642 | RetiredAmt |
| Total Proceeds | $7,647,000 | TotalProceedsAmt |
| Issuance Costs From Proceeds | $87,905 | IssuanceCostsFromProceedsAmt |
| Other Spent Proceeds | $7,559,095 | OtherSpentProceedsAmt |
| Substantial Completion | 2018 | SubstantialCompletionYr |
| Refunding Tax Exempt Bonds | Yes (1) | RefundingTaxExemptBondsInd |
| Refunding Taxable Bonds | 0 | RefundingTaxableBondsInd |
| Final Allocation Made | Yes (1) | FinalAllocationMadeInd |
| Adequate Books And Rec Maint | Yes (1) | AdequateBooksAndRecMaintInd |
Tax Exempt Bonds Private Bus Use TaxExemptBondsPrivateBusUseGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Bond Reference | A | BondReferenceCd |
| Owning Bond Financed Property | 0 | OwningBondFinancedPropertyInd |
| Any Lease Arrangements | 0 | AnyLeaseArrangementsInd |
| Mgmt Contract Bond Fincd Prop | 0 | MgmtContractBondFincdPropInd |
| Any Research Agreements | 0 | AnyResearchAgreementsInd |
| Private Bus Use By Others | 0.00000 | PrivateBusUseByOthersPct |
| Private Bus Concerning UBI | 0.00000 | PrivateBusConcerningUBIPct |
| Total Private Business Use | 0.00000 | TotalPrivateBusinessUsePct |
| Bond Iss Meet Prvt Sec Pymt Test | 0 | BondIssMeetPrvtSecPymtTestInd |
| Change In Use Bond Financed Prop | 0 | ChangeInUseBondFinancedPropInd |
| Procs Nonqualified Bond Remdtd | Yes (1) | ProcsNonqualifiedBondRemdtdInd |
Tax Exempt Bonds Arbitrage TaxExemptBondsArbitrageGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Bond Reference | A | BondReferenceCd |
| Form8038 T Filed | 0 | Form8038TFiledInd |
| Rebate Not Due Yet | 0 | RebateNotDueYetInd |
| Exception To Rebate | Yes (1) | ExceptionToRebateInd |
| No Rebate Due | 0 | NoRebateDueInd |
| Variable Rate Issue | 0 | VariableRateIssueInd |
| Hedge Identified In Bks And Rec | 0 | HedgeIdentifiedInBksAndRecInd |
| Gross Proceeds Invested In GIC | 0 | GrossProceedsInvestedInGICInd |
| Gross Proceeds Invested | 0 | GrossProceedsInvestedInd |
| Written Proc To Monitor Reqs | Yes (1) | WrittenProcToMonitorReqsInd |
Procedures Corrective Action ProceduresCorrectiveActionGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Bond Reference | A | BondReferenceCd |
| Procedures Corrective Action | Yes (1) | ProceduresCorrectiveActionInd |
Schedule M IRS990ScheduleM
Securities Publicly Traded SecuritiesPubliclyTradedGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Non Cash Checkbox | Yes (X) | NonCashCheckboxInd |
| Contribution | 17 | ContributionCnt |
| Noncash Contributions Rpt F990 | $100,333 | NoncashContributionsRptF990Amt |
| Method Of Determining Revenues | FMV | MethodOfDeterminingRevenuesTxt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Form8283 Received | 0 | Form8283ReceivedCnt |
| Any Property That Must Be Held | 0 | AnyPropertyThatMustBeHeldInd |
| Review Process Unusual NC Gifts | Yes (1) | ReviewProcessUnusualNCGiftsInd |
| Third Parties Used | 0 | ThirdPartiesUsedInd |
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Form And Line Reference | PART I, COLUMN (B): | FormAndLineReferenceDesc |
| Explanation | THIS NUMBER REPRESENTS THE NUMBER OF CONTRIBUTIONS, NOT THE NUMBER OF ITEMS CONTRIBUTED. | ExplanationTxt |
Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (4 entries)
| Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDesc | ExplanationExplanationTxt |
|---|---|
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 11B | THE FINANCE COMMITTEE OF THE BOARD RECEIVES THE DRAFT FORM 990 PRIOR TO FILING. THE BOARD RECEIVES A COPY OF THE COMPLETED 990 AFTER THE FORM HAS BEEN FILED. |
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 12C | ALL BOARD MEMBERS SIGN A CONFLICT OF INTEREST AND CONFIDENTIALITY STATEMENT. WE ARE AWARE OF THE EMPLOYERS OF ALL OUR BOARD MEMBERS AS WELL AND THAT IS TAKEN INTO CONSIDERATION. SHOULD A CONFLICT ARISE THAT BOARD MEMBER WOULD BE ASKED TO RECUSE THEMSELVES FROM ALL DISCUSSION AND DECISIONS REGARDING THE PARTIES INVOLVED 7.04 OF OUR PERSONNEL POLICY MANUAL COVERS CONFLICT OF INTEREST FOR ALL EMPLOYEES. EACH EMPLOYEE IS REQUIRED TO SIGN A STATEMENT THAT IS HAS BEEN READ. |
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 15A | COMPARISON DATA FOR PEER BAY AREA SCHOOLS FROM NAIS AND/OR CAL-ISBOA ARE USED TO EVALUATE AND DETERMINE THE REASONABLE COMPENSATION. THE COMPARISON DATA IS EVALUATED, AND DECISIONS ARE DOCUMENTED AND EXECUTED VIA ANNUAL NOTIFICATIONS. THE COMPENSATION FOR THE HEAD OF SCHOOL IS ESTABLISHED BY THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS. THE HEAD OF SCHOOL ESTABLISHES THE COMPENSATION FOR ADMINISTRATIVE TEAM. |
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION C, LINE 19 | ALL DOCUMENTS ARE AVAILABLE IN THE BUSINESS OFFICE AND IN THE OFFICE OF THE HEAD OF SCHOOL AND PROVIDED UPON REQUEST. |
Comments