AMERICAN SOCIETY FOR PHARMACOLOGY AND EXPERIMENTAL THERAPEUTICS INC: Form 990, tax year 2023
View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗
- Organization
- AMERICAN SOCIETY FOR PHARMACOLOGY AND EXPERIMENTAL THERAPEUTICS INC (EIN 58-6032060)
- Tax period
- 2023-01-01 to 2023-12-31
- Filed
- 2024-11-13
- IRS object ID
- 202433189349306393
- Schema version
- 2023v5.1
- Source
- Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica
Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.
Return header ReturnHeader
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Return | 2024-11-13T13:29:37-06:00 | ReturnTs |
| Tax Period End | 2023-12-31 | TaxPeriodEndDt |
Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Preparer Firm EIN | 521711839 | PreparerFirmEIN |
Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | COUNCILOR BUCHANAN & MITCHELL PC | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 7910 WOODMONT AVE STE 500 | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | BETHESDA | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | MD | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 20814 | ZIPCd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Return Type | 990 | ReturnTypeCd |
| Tax Period Begin | 2023-01-01 | TaxPeriodBeginDt |
Filer Filer
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| EIN | 586032060 | EIN |
Business Name BusinessName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | AMERICAN SOCIETY FOR PHARMACOLOGY & | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
| Business Name Line2 | EXPERIMENTAL THERAPEUTICS | BusinessNameLine2Txt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Control | AMER | BusinessNameControlTxt |
| Phone | 3016347065 | PhoneNum |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 1801 ROCKVILLE PIKE 210 | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | ROCKVILLE | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | MD | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 20852 | ZIPCd |
Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Person | DAVID JACKSON | PersonNm |
| Person Title | EXECUTIVE OFFICER | PersonTitleTxt |
| Phone | 3016347060 | PhoneNum |
| Signature | 2024-11-08 | SignatureDt |
| Discuss With Paid Preparer | Yes (1) | DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| IRS Responsible Prty Info Curr | Yes (1) | IRSResponsiblePrtyInfoCurrInd |
Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Preparer Person | REEMA A PATEL | PreparerPersonNm |
| PTIN | P01595848 | PTIN |
| Phone | 3019860600 | PhoneNum |
| Preparation | 2024-11-08 | PreparationDt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Tax | 2023 | TaxYr |
| Build TS | 2024-10-15 13:58:12Z | BuildTS |
Form 990 IRS990
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Principal Officer | DAVID JACKSON | PrincipalOfficerNm |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 1801 ROCKVILLE PIKE 210 | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | ROCKVILLE | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | MD | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 20852 | ZIPCd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Gross Receipts | $11,050,330 | GrossReceiptsAmt |
| Group Return For Affiliates | 0 | GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd |
| Organization501c3 | Yes (X) | Organization501c3Ind |
| Website Address | WWW.ASPET.ORG | WebsiteAddressTxt |
| Type Of Organization Corp | Yes (X) | TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd |
| Formation | 1933 | FormationYr |
| Legal Domicile State | MD | LegalDomicileStateCd |
| Activity Or Mission | THE AMERICAN SOCIETY FOR PHARMACOLOGY AND EXPERIMENTAL THERAPEUTICS (ASPET) IS A 4,000 MEMBER SCIENTIFIC SOCIETY WHOSE MEMBERS CONDUCT BASIC AND CLINICAL PHARMACOLOGICAL RESEARCH AND WORK FOR ACADEMIA, GOVERNMENT, LARGE PHARMACEUTICAL COMPANIES, SMALL BIOTECH COMPANIES, AND NON-PROFIT ORGANIZATIONS. | ActivityOrMissionDesc |
| Voting Members Governing Body | 9 | VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt |
| Voting Members Independent | 8 | VotingMembersIndependentCnt |
| Total Employee | 22 | TotalEmployeeCnt |
| Total Volunteers | 100 | TotalVolunteersCnt |
| Total Gross UBI | -$1,330 | TotalGrossUBIAmt |
| Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm | $13,788 | NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt |
| PY Contributions Grants | $11,810 | PYContributionsGrantsAmt |
| CY Contributions Grants | $10,917 | CYContributionsGrantsAmt |
| PY Program Service Revenue | $3,828,616 | PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
| CY Program Service Revenue | $4,259,079 | CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
| PY Investment Income | $571,075 | PYInvestmentIncomeAmt |
| CY Investment Income | $1,405,014 | CYInvestmentIncomeAmt |
| PY Other Revenue | $51,773 | PYOtherRevenueAmt |
| CY Other Revenue | $37,363 | CYOtherRevenueAmt |
| PY Total Revenue | $4,463,274 | PYTotalRevenueAmt |
| CY Total Revenue | $5,712,373 | CYTotalRevenueAmt |
| PY Grants And Similar Paid | $144,000 | PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt |
| CY Grants And Similar Paid | $369,000 | CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt |
| PY Benefits Paid To Members | $0 | PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt |
| CY Benefits Paid To Members | $0 | CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt |
| PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid | $2,335,626 | PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt |
| CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid | $3,186,162 | CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt |
| PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns | $0 | PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt |
| CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns | $0 | CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt |
| CY Total Fundraising Expense | $0 | CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt |
| PY Other Expenses | $2,634,893 | PYOtherExpensesAmt |
| CY Other Expenses | $3,589,043 | CYOtherExpensesAmt |
| PY Total Expenses | $5,114,519 | PYTotalExpensesAmt |
| CY Total Expenses | $7,144,205 | CYTotalExpensesAmt |
| PY Revenues Less Expenses | -$651,245 | PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt |
| CY Revenues Less Expenses | -$1,431,832 | CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt |
| Total Assets BOY | $29,344,018 | TotalAssetsBOYAmt |
| Total Assets EOY | $30,249,773 | TotalAssetsEOYAmt |
| Total Liabilities BOY | $3,506,639 | TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt |
| Total Liabilities EOY | $3,630,822 | TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt |
| Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY | $25,837,379 | NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt |
| Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY | $26,618,951 | NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt |
| Info In Schedule O Part III | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartIIIInd |
| Mission | THE AMERICAN SOCIETY FOR PHARMACOLOGY AND EXPERIMENTAL THERAPEUTICS (ASPET) IS A 4,000 MEMBER SCIENTIFIC SOCIETY WHOSE MEMBERS CONDUCT BASIC AND CLINICAL PHARMACOLOGICAL RESEARCH AND WORK FOR ACADEMIA, GOVERNMENT, LARGE PHARMACEUTICAL COMPANIES, SMALL BIOTECH COMPANIES, AND NON-PROFIT ORGANIZATIONS. | MissionDesc |
| Significant New Program Srvc | 0 | SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd |
| Significant Change | 0 | SignificantChangeInd |
| Expense | $2,037,723 | ExpenseAmt |
| Grant | $0 | GrantAmt |
| Revenue | $3,487,135 | RevenueAmt |
| Desc | PUBLICATIONS - THE SOCIETY PUBLISHES SCIENTIFIC AND EDUCATIONAL JOURNALS AND OTHER PUBLICATIONS FOR THE SCIENTIFIC COMMUNITY INCLUDING THE FOLLOWING:JOURNAL OF PHARMACOLOGY AND EXPERIMENTAL THERAPEUTICS - MONTHLY RESEARCH PUBLICATION COVERING TOPICS INCLUDING THE INTERACTIONS OF CHEMICALS WITH BIOLOGICAL SYSTEMS, INCLUDING AUTONOMIC, BEHAVIORAL, CARDIOVASCULAR, CELLULAR, CLINICAL, DEVELOPMENTAL, GASTROINTESTINAL, IMMUNO-, NEURO-, PULMONARY AND RENAL PHARMACOLOGY, AS WELL AS ANALGESICS, DRUG ABUSE, METABOLISM AND DISPOSITION, CHEMOTHERAPY, AND TOXICOLOGY.PHARMACOLOGICAL REVIEWS - QUARTERLY REVIEW JOURNAL COVERING CONCENTRATIONS IN PHARMACOLOGY, EXPERIMENTAL THERAPEUTICS, TOXICOLOGY, AND CHEMOTHERAPY.MOLECULAR PHARMACOLOGY - MONTHLY PUBLICATION WITH AN EMPHASIS ON RESEARCH OF DRUG ACTION AND SELECTIVE TOXICITY AT THE MOLECULAR LEVEL. ORIGINAL APPLICATIONS OF BIOCHEMISTRY, BIOPHYSICS, GENETICS AND MOLECULAR BIOLOGY ARE COMBINED WITH PHARMACOLOGIC RESEARCH TO SOLVE BASIC PROBLEMS IN PHARMACOLOGY AND TOXICOLOGY.DRUG METABOLISM AND DISPOSITION - MONTHLY PUBLICATION COVERING THE FIELDS OF PHARMACOKINETICS, PHARMACODYNAMICS AND MECHANISMS, GENETIC NUTRITIONAL OR HORMONAL FACTORS AFFECTING THE BIOLOGICAL FATE OF CHEMICALS, AND THE TOXICOLOGICAL CONSEQUENCES OF XENOBIOTIC METABOLISM.THE PHARMACOLOGIST - QUARTERLY PUBLICATION WITH THE PURPOSE OF INFORMING PHARMACOLOGISTS ABOUT SOCIETY AFFAIRS AND OTHER MATTERS OF PROFESSIONAL INTEREST. DISTRIBUTED ELECTRONICALLY TO ASPET MEMBERS AND MAILED TO NONMEMBER SUBSCRIBERS AS WELL AS MEMBERS WHO PAY FOR A PRINT SUBSCRIPTION. | Desc |
Prog Srvc Accom Acty2 ProgSrvcAccomActy2Grp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Expense | $1,224,620 | ExpenseAmt |
| Grant | $0 | GrantAmt |
| Revenue | $422,767 | RevenueAmt |
| Desc | MEETINGS - THE SOCIETY HOSTS AN ANNUAL MEETING EACH YEAR IN A DIFFERENT PART OF THE US PROVIDING A FORUM FOR SCIENTISTS TO COMMUNICATE AND EXCHANGE PHARMACOLOGICAL KNOWLEDGE THROUGH SCIENTIFIC SESSIONS. SMALLER FOCUSED MEETINGS ARE HELD ON AN OCCASIONAL BASIS AS THE NEED ARISES. | Desc |
Prog Srvc Accom Acty3 ProgSrvcAccomActy3Grp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Expense | $770,910 | ExpenseAmt |
| Grant | $369,000 | GrantAmt |
| Revenue | $0 | RevenueAmt |
| Desc | AWARDS - THE SOCIETY OFFERS THREE TYPES OF AWARDS TO DISTINGUISHED PHARMACOLOGISTS AND TO STUDENTS AND YOUNG SCIENTISTS IN THE FIELD. SCIENTIFIC AWARDS ARE PROVIDED TO RECOGNIZE AND ENCOURAGE OUTSTANDING RESEARCH BY PROMINENT PHARMACOLOGISTS AND TO STIMULATE FUNDAMENTAL RESEARCH BY YOUNG INVESTIGATORS. BEST POSTER AWARDS ARE PRESENTED TO MEETING ATTENDEES WHO HAVE SUBMITTED AN OUTSTANDING RESEARCH ABSTRACT FOR PRESENTATION AT THE MEETING. TRAVEL AWARDS ARE GRANTED TO STUDENTS AS AN EDUCATIONAL TOOL TO ATTEND SCIENTIFIC MEETINGS. | Desc |
Prog Srvc Accom Acty Other ProgSrvcAccomActyOtherGrp (4 entries)
| ExpenseExpenseAmt | GrantGrantAmt | RevenueRevenueAmt | DescDesc |
|---|---|---|---|
| $582,383 | $0 | $0 | MARKETING - TO PROMOTE ASPET'S PROGRAMS AND SERVICES, PRODUCE THE PHARMACOLOGIST, ASPET'S MONTHLY NEWSLETTER, PROMOTE MEMBERSHIPS AND THE ANNUAL MEETING. |
| $512,660 | $0 | $349,177 | MEMBER SERVICES - INCLUDES MEMBERSHIP COMMUNICATIONS AND DIVISIONS TO ADDRESS SPECIFIC AREAS OF CONCERN OR INTEREST TO THE MEMBER PHARMACOLOGISTS IN THE SOCIETY. NOMINATION AND ELECTION OF NEW MEMBERS, DEVELOPMENT OF EDUCATIONAL ACTIVITIES RELEVANT TO THE PROMOTION AND ADVANCEMENT OF THE SCIENTIFIC DISCIPLINE. WEB SITE PROVIDES AN INTERFACE BETWEEN MEMBERS AND THE SOCIETY AS WELL AS INFORMATION TO INDIVIDUALS WISHING TO LEARN MORE ABOUT THE FIELD OF PHARMACOLOGY. |
| $206,460 | $0 | $0 | EDUCATIONAL AFFAIRS - SUPPORTS SUMMER UNDERGRADUATE RESEARCH FELLOWSHIPS IN THE FIELD OF PHARMACOLOGY. |
| $185,403 | $0 | $0 | PUBLIC SERVICES - PROVIDES INFORMATION TO THE GENERAL PUBLIC ABOUT PHARMACOLOGY AND SCIENTIFIC ACHIEVEMENTS AND NEEDS IN THE FIELD. OFFICERS AND MEMBERS PROVIDE A RESOURCE TO THE COMMUNITY WHEN THERE IS A NEED FOR SPECIALIZED EXPERTISE. THE EDUCATION DIVISION CONDUCTS SPECIAL SESSIONS DEVOTED TO IMPROVING EDUCATION IN THE PHARMACOLOGICAL SCIENCES. |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Other Prog Srvc Expense | $1,486,906 | TotalOtherProgSrvcExpenseAmt |
| Total Other Prog Srvc Grant | $0 | TotalOtherProgSrvcGrantAmt |
| Total Other Prog Srvc Revenue | $349,177 | TotalOtherProgSrvcRevenueAmt |
| Total Program Service Expenses | $5,520,159 | TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt |
| Described In Section501c3 | Yes (1) | DescribedInSection501c3Ind |
| Schedule B Required | 0 | ScheduleBRequiredInd |
| Political Campaign Acty | 0 | PoliticalCampaignActyInd |
| Lobbying Activities | 0 | LobbyingActivitiesInd |
| Subject To Proxy Tax | 0 | SubjectToProxyTaxInd |
| Donor Advised Fund | 0 | DonorAdvisedFundInd |
| Conservation Easements | 0 | ConservationEasementsInd |
| Collections Of Art | 0 | CollectionsOfArtInd |
| Credit Counseling | Yes (1) | CreditCounselingInd |
| Donor Rstr Or Quasi Endowments | Yes (1) | DonorRstrOrQuasiEndowmentsInd |
| Report Land Building Equipment | Yes (1) | ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd |
| Report Investments Other Sec | 0 | ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd |
| Report Program Related Invst | 0 | ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd |
| Report Other Assets | 0 | ReportOtherAssetsInd |
| Report Other Liabilities | Yes (1) | ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd |
| Include FIN48 Footnote | Yes (1) | IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd |
| Independent Audit Fincl Stmt | Yes (1) | IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd |
| Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt | 0 | ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd |
| School Operating | 0 | SchoolOperatingInd |
| Foreign Office | 0 | ForeignOfficeInd |
| Foreign Activities | 0 | ForeignActivitiesInd |
| More Than5000 K To Org | 0 | MoreThan5000KToOrgInd |
| More Than5000 K To Individuals | 0 | MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd |
| Professional Fundraising | 0 | ProfessionalFundraisingInd |
| Fundraising Activities | 0 | FundraisingActivitiesInd |
| Gaming Activities | 0 | GamingActivitiesInd |
| Operate Hospital | 0 | OperateHospitalInd |
| Grants To Organizations | Yes (1) | GrantsToOrganizationsInd |
| Grants To Individuals | 0 | GrantsToIndividualsInd |
| Schedule J Required | Yes (1) | ScheduleJRequiredInd |
| Tax Exempt Bonds | 0 | TaxExemptBondsInd |
| Engaged In Excess Benefit Trans | 0 | EngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd |
| PY Excess Benefit Trans | 0 | PYExcessBenefitTransInd |
| Loan Outstanding | 0 | LoanOutstandingInd |
| Grant To Related Person | 0 | GrantToRelatedPersonInd |
| Business Rln With Org Mem | 0 | BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd |
| Business Rln With Fam Mem | 0 | BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd |
| Business Rln With35 Ctrl Ent | 0 | BusinessRlnWith35CtrlEntInd |
| Deductible Non Cash Contri | 0 | DeductibleNonCashContriInd |
| Deductible Art Contribution | 0 | DeductibleArtContributionInd |
| Terminate Operations | 0 | TerminateOperationsInd |
| Partial Liquidation | 0 | PartialLiquidationInd |
| Disregarded Entity | 0 | DisregardedEntityInd |
| Related Entity | 0 | RelatedEntityInd |
| Related Organization Ctrl Ent | 0 | RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd |
| Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd Org | 0 | TrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd |
| Activities Conducted Prtshp | 0 | ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd |
| Schedule O Required | Yes (1) | ScheduleORequiredInd |
| IRP Document | 37 | IRPDocumentCnt |
| IRP Document W2 G | 0 | IRPDocumentW2GCnt |
| Backup Wthld Compliance | Yes (1) | BackupWthldComplianceInd |
| Employee | 22 | EmployeeCnt |
| Employment Tax Returns Filed | Yes (1) | EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd |
| Unrelated Bus Incm Over Limit | Yes (1) | UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd |
| Form990 T Filed | Yes (1) | Form990TFiledInd |
| Foreign Financial Account | 0 | ForeignFinancialAccountInd |
| Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans | 0 | ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd |
| Taxable Party Notification | 0 | TaxablePartyNotificationInd |
| Nondeductible Contributions | 0 | NondeductibleContributionsInd |
| Quid Pro Quo Contributions | 0 | QuidProQuoContributionsInd |
| Form8282 Property Disposed Of | 0 | Form8282PropertyDisposedOfInd |
| Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft Cntrct | 0 | RcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd |
| Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft Cntrct | 0 | PayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd |
| Indoor Tanning Services | 0 | IndoorTanningServicesInd |
| Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht Pymt | 0 | SubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd |
| Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst Inc | 0 | SubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd |
| Info In Schedule O Part VI | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd |
| Governing Body Voting Members | 9 | GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt |
| Independent Voting Member | 8 | IndependentVotingMemberCnt |
| Family Or Business Rln | 0 | FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd |
| Delegation Of Mgmt Duties | 0 | DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd |
| Change To Org Documents | 0 | ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd |
| Material Diversion Or Misuse | 0 | MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd |
| Members Or Stockholders | Yes (1) | MembersOrStockholdersInd |
| Election Of Board Members | Yes (1) | ElectionOfBoardMembersInd |
| Decisions Subject To Approva | Yes (1) | DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd |
| Minutes Of Governing Body | Yes (1) | MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd |
| Minutes Of Committees | Yes (1) | MinutesOfCommitteesInd |
| Officer Mailing Address | 0 | OfficerMailingAddressInd |
| Local Chapters | Yes (1) | LocalChaptersInd |
| Policies Reference Chapters | 0 | PoliciesReferenceChaptersInd |
| Form990 Provided To Gvrn Body | Yes (1) | Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd |
| Conflict Of Interest Policy | Yes (1) | ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd |
| Annual Disclosure Covered Prsn | Yes (1) | AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd |
| Regular Monitoring Enfrc | Yes (1) | RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd |
| Whistleblower Policy | Yes (1) | WhistleblowerPolicyInd |
| Document Retention Policy | Yes (1) | DocumentRetentionPolicyInd |
| Compensation Process CEO | Yes (1) | CompensationProcessCEOInd |
| Compensation Process Other | Yes (1) | CompensationProcessOtherInd |
| Investment In Joint Venture | 0 | InvestmentInJointVentureInd |
| States Where Copy Of Return Is Fld | MD | StatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd |
| States Where Copy Of Return Is Fld | VA | StatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd |
| Upon Request | Yes (X) | UponRequestInd |
Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail
Business Name BusinessName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | THE ORGANIZATION | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Phone | 3016347060 | PhoneNum |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 1801 ROCKVILLE PIKE 210 | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | ROCKVILLE | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | MD | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 20852 | ZIPCd |
Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (17 entries)
| TitleTitleTxt | Average Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRt | Individual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorInd | OfficerOfficerInd | Reportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmt | Reportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmt | Other CompensationOtherCompensationAmt | Highest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| XINXIN DING | |||||||
| SEC/TREAS ELECT, THEN SEC/TREAS | 5.00 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $35,000 | $0 | $0 | |
| MICHAEL L JARVIS | |||||||
| PRESIDENT, THEN PAST PRESIDENT | 5.00 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |
| NAMANDJE BUMPUS | |||||||
| PRESIDENT ELECT, THEN PRESIDENT | 5.00 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |
| MARGARET GNEGY | |||||||
| PAST PREDIDENT | 5.00 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |
| KATHRYN CUNNINGHAM | |||||||
| SEC/TREAS, THEN PAST SEC/TREAS | 5.00 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |
| CAROL BECK | |||||||
| PAST SEC/TREAS, THEN PRES ELECT | 5.00 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |
| PAM HORNBY | |||||||
| SEC/TREAS ELECT | 5.00 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |
| RANDY HALL | |||||||
| COUNCILOR | 5.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| JOHN TRAYNOR | |||||||
| COUNCILOR | 5.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| NINA ISOHERRANEN | |||||||
| COUNCILOR | 5.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| DAVID JACKSON | |||||||
| EXECUTIVE OFFICER | 40.00 | Yes (X) | $305,502 | $0 | $10,959 | ||
| ROBERT STANLEY | |||||||
| CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER | 40.00 | Yes (X) | $203,566 | $0 | $40,419 | ||
| MELISSA HUSTON | |||||||
| MEETINGS DIRECTOR | 40.00 | $150,741 | $0 | $28,675 | Yes (X) | ||
| MARIA PASHO | |||||||
| JOURNAL DIRECTOR | 40.00 | $161,777 | $0 | $22,365 | Yes (X) | ||
| LYNNE HARRIS | |||||||
| MARKETING DIRECTOR | 40.00 | $152,835 | $0 | $15,170 | Yes (X) | ||
| CATHERINE FRY | |||||||
| EDUCATION DIRECTOR | 40.00 | $152,636 | $0 | $33,727 | Yes (X) | ||
| CARTER ALLEMAN | |||||||
| GOVT AFFAIRS & SCIENCE POL DIRECTOR | 40.00 | $146,577 | $0 | $5,103 | Yes (X) | ||
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Reportable Comp From Org | $1,308,634 | TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt |
| Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org | $0 | TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt |
| Total Other Compensation | $156,418 | TotalOtherCompensationAmt |
| Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K | 9 | IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt |
| Former Ofcr Employees Listed | 0 | FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd |
| Total Comp Greater Than150 K | Yes (1) | TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd |
| Compensation From Other Srcs | 0 | CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd |
Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (4 entries)
| Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1Txt | CityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNm | State AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCd | ZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCd | ServicesServicesDesc | CompensationCompensationAmt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| FASEB | |||||
| 6120 EXECUTIVE BLVD STE 230 | ROCKVILLE | MD | 20852 | BENEFITS & HR SERVICES | $857,499 |
| ST LOUIS-UNION STATION HOTEL | |||||
| 1820 MARKET ST | ST LOUIS | MO | 63103 | HOSTING SITE FOR ANNUAL MEETING | $558,755 |
| KNOWLEDGEWORKS GLOBAL LTD | |||||
| PO BOX 74007142 | CHICAGO | IL | 60674 | SERVICES FOR JOURNAL PRODUCTION | $346,197 |
| MPS NORTH AMERICA | |||||
| 5728 MAJOR BLVD STE 528 | ORLANDO | FL | 32819 | ONLINE PEER REVIEW & JOURNALS | $295,864 |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K | 4 | CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt |
| All Other Contributions | $10,917 | AllOtherContributionsAmt |
| Total Contributions | $10,917 | TotalContributionsAmt |
Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (3 entries)
| DescDesc | BusinessBusinessCd | Total Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmt | Related Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt | Unrelated Business RevenueUnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| PUBLICATIONS | 513120 | $3,487,135 | $3,488,465 | -$1,330 |
| SOCIETY MEETINGS | 900099 | $422,767 | $422,767 | |
| MEMBER DUES | 900099 | $349,177 | $349,177 |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Program Service Revenue | $4,259,079 | TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $642,853 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Exclusion | $642,853 | ExclusionAmt |
Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Securities | $6,100,118 | SecuritiesAmt |
Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Securities | $5,337,957 | SecuritiesAmt |
Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Securities | $762,161 | SecuritiesAmt |
Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $762,161 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Exclusion | $762,161 | ExclusionAmt |
Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Desc | MISCELLANEOUS | Desc |
| Business | 900099 | BusinessCd |
| Total Revenue Column | $37,363 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Related Or Exempt Func Income | $37,363 | RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Revenue Total | $37,363 | OtherRevenueTotalAmt |
Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $5,712,373 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Related Or Exempt Func Income | $4,297,772 | RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt |
| Unrelated Business Revenue | -$1,330 | UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt |
| Exclusion | $1,405,014 | ExclusionAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Info In Schedule O Part IX | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartIXInd |
Grants To Domestic Orgs GrantsToDomesticOrgsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $369,000 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $369,000 | ProgramServicesAmt |
Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $560,446 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $456,053 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $104,393 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $2,010,688 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $1,636,160 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $374,528 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $209,646 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $170,595 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $39,051 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $232,944 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $189,555 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $43,389 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $172,438 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $140,318 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $32,120 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $6,174 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $2,358 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $3,816 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $45,235 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $17,275 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $27,960 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Fees For Srvc Invst Mgmnt Fees FeesForSrvcInvstMgmntFeesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $164,939 | TotalAmt |
| Management And General | $164,939 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $1,276,220 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $913,066 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $363,154 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Advertising AdvertisingGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $66,400 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $66,400 | ProgramServicesAmt |
Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $134,660 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $100,678 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $33,982 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $223,762 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $127,553 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $96,209 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Occupancy OccupancyGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $208,376 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $89,164 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $119,212 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Travel TravelGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $348,628 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $316,907 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $31,721 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $673,427 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $643,170 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $30,257 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Interest InterestGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $168 | TotalAmt |
| Management And General | $168 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $49,322 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $21,538 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $27,784 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Insurance InsuranceGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $43,535 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $5,400 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $38,135 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (3 entries)
| DescDesc | TotalTotalAmt | Program ServicesProgramServicesAmt | Management And GeneralManagementAndGeneralAmt |
|---|---|---|---|
| DUES & SUBSCRIPTIONS | $145,372 | $67,055 | $78,317 |
| HONORARIA & AWARDS | $118,373 | $118,373 | |
| MISCELLANEOUS | $84,452 | $69,541 | $14,911 |
Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $7,144,205 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $5,520,159 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $1,624,046 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $0 | FundraisingAmt |
Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $1,088,371 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $1,061,544 | EOYAmt |
Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $52,953 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $52,953 | EOYAmt |
Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $40,241 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $83,508 | EOYAmt |
Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $172,396 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $196,772 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss | $867,825 | LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt |
| Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec | $618,791 | LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt |
Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $284,721 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $249,034 | EOYAmt |
Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $26,613,179 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $27,673,092 | EOYAmt |
Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $1,092,157 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $932,870 | EOYAmt |
Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $29,344,018 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $30,249,773 | EOYAmt |
Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $306,184 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $546,225 | EOYAmt |
Deferred Revenue DeferredRevenueGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $1,589,880 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $1,684,716 | EOYAmt |
Escrow Account Liability EscrowAccountLiabilityGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $52,991 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $57,001 | EOYAmt |
Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $1,557,584 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $1,342,880 | EOYAmt |
Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $3,506,639 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $3,630,822 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Organization Follows FASB117 | Yes (X) | OrganizationFollowsFASB117Ind |
No Donor Restriction Net Assets NoDonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $23,551,162 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $24,488,897 | EOYAmt |
Donor Restriction Net Assets DonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $2,286,217 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $2,130,054 | EOYAmt |
Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $25,837,379 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $26,618,951 | EOYAmt |
Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $29,344,018 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $30,249,773 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Reconcilation Revenue Expnss | -$1,431,832 | ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt |
| Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst | $2,213,404 | NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt |
| Other Changes In Net Assets | $0 | OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt |
| Info In Schedule O Part XII | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartXIIInd |
| Method Of Accounting Accrual | Yes (X) | MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd |
| Accountant Compile Or Review | 0 | AccountantCompileOrReviewInd |
| FS Audited | Yes (1) | FSAuditedInd |
FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Separate Basis Fincl Stmt | Yes (X) | SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Audit Committee | Yes (1) | AuditCommitteeInd |
| Federal Grant Audit Required | 0 | FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd |
Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Publicly Supported Org509a2 | Yes (X) | PubliclySupportedOrg509a2Ind |
Gifts Grants Contris Rcvd509 GiftsGrantsContrisRcvd509Grp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Current Tax Year Minus4 Years | $68,690 | CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus3 Years | $36,214 | CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus2 Years | $394,918 | CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus1 Year | $11,810 | CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt |
| Current Tax Year | $10,917 | CurrentTaxYearAmt |
| Total | $522,549 | TotalAmt |
Gross Receipts Admissions GrossReceiptsAdmissionsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Current Tax Year Minus4 Years | $4,341,366 | CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus3 Years | $3,970,176 | CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus2 Years | $3,923,669 | CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus1 Year | $3,809,481 | CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt |
| Current Tax Year | $4,260,409 | CurrentTaxYearAmt |
| Total | $20,305,101 | TotalAmt |
Total509 Total509Grp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Current Tax Year Minus4 Years | $4,410,056 | CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus3 Years | $4,006,390 | CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus2 Years | $4,318,587 | CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus1 Year | $3,821,291 | CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt |
| Current Tax Year | $4,271,326 | CurrentTaxYearAmt |
| Total | $20,827,650 | TotalAmt |
Amounts Rcvd Dsqlfy Person AmountsRcvdDsqlfyPersonGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Current Tax Year Minus4 Years | $5,325 | CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus3 Years | $3,800 | CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus2 Years | $2,725 | CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus1 Year | $2,700 | CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt |
| Current Tax Year | $3,600 | CurrentTaxYearAmt |
| Total | $18,150 | TotalAmt |
Substantial Contributors Amt SubstantialContributorsAmtGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $0 | TotalAmt |
Subst And Dsqlfy Prsns Tot SubstAndDsqlfyPrsnsTotGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Current Tax Year Minus4 Years | $5,325 | CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus3 Years | $3,800 | CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus2 Years | $2,725 | CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus1 Year | $2,700 | CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt |
| Current Tax Year | $3,600 | CurrentTaxYearAmt |
| Total | $18,150 | TotalAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Public Support Total509 | $20,809,500 | PublicSupportTotal509Amt |
Gross Investment Income509 GrossInvestmentIncome509Grp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Current Tax Year Minus4 Years | $512,115 | CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus3 Years | $502,804 | CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus2 Years | $513,143 | CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus1 Year | $556,591 | CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt |
| Current Tax Year | $642,853 | CurrentTaxYearAmt |
| Total | $2,727,506 | TotalAmt |
Investment Income And UBTI InvestmentIncomeAndUBTIGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Current Tax Year Minus4 Years | $512,115 | CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus3 Years | $502,804 | CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus2 Years | $513,143 | CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus1 Year | $556,591 | CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt |
| Current Tax Year | $642,853 | CurrentTaxYearAmt |
| Total | $2,727,506 | TotalAmt |
Net Income From Other UBI NetIncomeFromOtherUBIGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Current Tax Year Minus4 Years | $34,209 | CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus3 Years | $18,763 | CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus2 Years | $18,473 | CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus1 Year | $12,070 | CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt |
| Current Tax Year | -$1,330 | CurrentTaxYearAmt |
| Total | $82,185 | TotalAmt |
Other Income509 OtherIncome509Grp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Current Tax Year Minus4 Years | $5,729 | CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus3 Years | $3,674 | CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus2 Years | $11,088 | CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus1 Year | $51,773 | CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt |
| Current Tax Year | $37,363 | CurrentTaxYearAmt |
| Total | $109,627 | TotalAmt |
Total Support Calendar Year TotalSupportCalendarYearGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Current Tax Year Minus4 Years | $4,962,109 | CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus3 Years | $4,531,631 | CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus2 Years | $4,861,291 | CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus1 Year | $4,441,725 | CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt |
| Current Tax Year | $4,950,212 | CurrentTaxYearAmt |
| Total | $23,746,968 | TotalAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Public Support CY509 | 0.87630 | PublicSupportCY509Pct |
| Public Support PY509 | 0.88170 | PublicSupportPY509Pct |
| Investment Income CY | 0.11490 | InvestmentIncomeCYPct |
| Investment Income PY | 0.10940 | InvestmentIncomePYPct |
| Thirty Thr Pct Suprt Tests CY509 | Yes (X) | ThirtyThrPctSuprtTestsCY509Ind |
Form990 Schedule A Part VI Form990ScheduleAPartVIGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Form And Line Reference | SCHEDULE A, PART III, LINE 12, EXPLANATION OF OTHER INCOME: | FormAndLineReferenceDesc |
| Explanation | MISCELLANEOUS - 2019 AMOUNT: $ 5,729. 2020 AMOUNT: $ 3,674. 2021 AMOUNT: $ 11,088. 2022 AMOUNT: $ 51,773. 2023 AMOUNT: $ 37,363. | ExplanationTxt |
Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Agent Trustee Etc | 0 | AgentTrusteeEtcInd |
| Incl Escrow Custodial Acct Liab | Yes (1) | InclEscrowCustodialAcctLiabInd |
| Explanation Provided | Yes (X) | ExplanationProvidedInd |
CY Endwmt Fund CYEndwmtFundGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Beginning Year Balance | $1,353,759 | BeginningYearBalanceAmt |
| Contributions | $1,265 | ContributionsAmt |
| Investment Earnings Or Losses | $170,884 | InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt |
| Grants Or Scholarships | $112,087 | GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt |
| End Year Balance | $1,413,821 | EndYearBalanceAmt |
CY Minus1 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus1YrEndwmtFundGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Beginning Year Balance | $1,633,028 | BeginningYearBalanceAmt |
| Investment Earnings Or Losses | -$204,363 | InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt |
| Grants Or Scholarships | $74,906 | GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt |
| End Year Balance | $1,353,759 | EndYearBalanceAmt |
CY Minus2 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus2YrEndwmtFundGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Beginning Year Balance | $1,573,400 | BeginningYearBalanceAmt |
| Investment Earnings Or Losses | $235,683 | InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt |
| Grants Or Scholarships | $176,055 | GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt |
| End Year Balance | $1,633,028 | EndYearBalanceAmt |
CY Minus3 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus3YrEndwmtFundGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Beginning Year Balance | $1,576,460 | BeginningYearBalanceAmt |
| Investment Earnings Or Losses | $173,242 | InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt |
| Grants Or Scholarships | $176,302 | GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt |
| End Year Balance | $1,573,400 | EndYearBalanceAmt |
CY Minus4 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus4YrEndwmtFundGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Beginning Year Balance | $1,390,936 | BeginningYearBalanceAmt |
| Investment Earnings Or Losses | $268,846 | InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt |
| Grants Or Scholarships | $83,322 | GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt |
| End Year Balance | $1,576,460 | EndYearBalanceAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Prmnnt Endowment Balance EOY | 0.98315 | PrmnntEndowmentBalanceEOYPct |
| Term Endowment Balance EOY | 0.01685 | TermEndowmentBalanceEOYPct |
| Endowments Held Unrelated Org | 0 | EndowmentsHeldUnrelatedOrgInd |
| Endowments Held Related Org | 0 | EndowmentsHeldRelatedOrgInd |
Equipment EquipmentGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Cost Or Other Basis | $867,825 | OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Depreciation | $618,791 | DepreciationAmt |
| Book Value | $249,034 | BookValueAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Book Value Land Buildings | $249,034 | TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt |
Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (2 entries)
| DescDesc | AmtAmt |
|---|---|
| OPERATING LEASE LIABILITY | $1,332,088 |
| FINANCE LEASE LIABILITY | $10,792 |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Liability | $1,342,880 | TotalLiabilityAmt |
| Footnote Text | Yes (X) | FootnoteTextInd |
| Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt | $7,760,838 | TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt |
| Net Unrealized Gains Invst | $2,213,404 | NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt |
| Revenue Not Reported | $2,213,404 | RevenueNotReportedAmt |
| Revenue Subtotal | $5,547,434 | RevenueSubtotalAmt |
| Investment Expenses Not Incld | $164,939 | InvestmentExpensesNotIncldAmt |
| Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt | $164,939 | RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt |
| Total Revenue Per Form990 | $5,712,373 | TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt |
| Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt | $6,979,266 | TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt |
| Expenses Not Reported | $0 | ExpensesNotReportedAmt |
| Expenses Subtotal | $6,979,266 | ExpensesSubtotalAmt |
| Investment Expenses Not Incld2 | $164,939 | InvestmentExpensesNotIncld2Amt |
| Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt | $164,939 | ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt |
| Total Expenses Per Form990 | $7,144,205 | TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt |
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (3 entries)
| Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDesc | ExplanationExplanationTxt |
|---|---|
| PART IV, LINE 2B: | THE SOCIETY ACTS IN A CUSTODIAL CAPACITY FOR IUPHAR SECTION ON DRUG METABOLISM (THE SECTION) AND AMSPC. THE SOCIETY RECEIVES FUNDS AND PAYS APPROVED EXPENSES ON BEHALF OF THE SECTION AND AMSPC. |
| PART V, LINE 4: | ORGANIZATION'S ENDOWMENT FUNDS ARE BROKEN INTO TEMPORARILY AND PERMANENTLY RESTRICTED NET ASSETS. TEMPORARILY RESTRICTED FUNDS ARE TO BE USED FOR ORGANIZATIONAL USE. PERMANENTLY RESTRICTED FUNDS ARE INTENDED TO REMAIN AND GENERATE INCOME FOR USES SPECIFIED BY THE DONOR, PRINCIPALLY FOR FELLOWSHIPS. |
| PART X, LINE 2: | THE SOCIETY IS EXEMPT FROM FEDERAL INCOME TAXES UNDER SECTION 501(C)(3) OF THE INTERNAL REVENUE CODE AND APPLICABLE STATE LAW. THE ACCOUNTING STANDARD ON ACCOUNTING FOR UNCERTAINTY IN INCOME TAXES ADDRESSES THE DETERMINATION OF WHETHER TAX BENEFITS CLAIMED OR EXPECTED TO BE CLAIMED ON A TAX RETURN SHOULD BE RECORDED IN THE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS. UNDER THAT GUIDANCE, THE SOCIETY MAY RECOGNIZE THE TAX BENEFIT FROM AN UNCERTAIN TAX POSITION ONLY IF IT IS MORE LIKELY THAN NOT THAT THE TAX POSITION WILL BE SUSTAINED ON EXAMINATION BY TAXING AUTHORITIES BASED ON THE TECHNICAL MERITS OF THE POSITION. EXAMPLES OF TAX POSITIONS INCLUDE THE TAX-EXEMPT STATUS OF THE SOCIETY AND VARIOUS POSITIONS RELATED TO THE POTENTIAL SOURCES OF UNRELATED BUSINESS TAXABLE INCOME (UBTI). THE TAX BENEFITS RECOGNIZED IN THE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS FROM SUCH A POSITION ARE MEASURED BASED ON THE LARGEST BENEFIT THAT HAS A GREATER THAN 50% LIKELIHOOD OF BEING REALIZED UPON ULTIMATE SETTLEMENT. THERE WERE NO UNRECOGNIZED TAX BENEFITS IDENTIFIED OR RECORDED AS LIABILITIES FOR THE YEARS ENDED DECEMBER 31, 2023 AND 2022. THE SOCIETY'S POLICY WOULD BE TO RECOGNIZE INTEREST AND PENALTIES, IF ANY, ON TAX POSITIONS RELATED TO ITS UNRECOGNIZED TAX BENEFITS IN INCOME TAX EXPENSE IN THE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS. NO INTEREST AND PENALTIES WERE ASSESSED OR RECORDED DURING CALENDAR YEARS ENDED DECEMBER 31, 2023 AND 2022. THE SOCIETY'S FORMS 990, RETURN OF ORGANIZATION EXEMPT FROM INCOME TAX, ARE SUBJECT TO EXAMINATION BY THE INTERNAL REVENUE SERVICE, GENERALLY FOR THREE YEARS AFTER THEY WERE FILED. |
Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Grant Records Maintained | Yes (1) | GrantRecordsMaintainedInd |
Recipient Table RecipientTable (19 entries)
| Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1Txt | CityUSAddress/CityNm | State AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCd | ZIPUSAddress/ZIPCd | Recipient EINRecipientEIN | IRC SectionIRCSectionDesc | Cash GrantCashGrantAmt | Non Cash AssistanceNonCashAssistanceAmt | Purpose Of GrantPurposeOfGrantTxt | Address Line2USAddress/AddressLine2Txt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| CASE WESTERN RESERVE UNIVERSITY | |||||||||
| 2109 ADELBERT RD WOOD BLDG W151C | CLEVELAND | OH | 44106 | 341018992 | 501(C)(3) | $0 | $27,000 | INSTITUTIONAL SURF AWARD | |
| DUKE UNIVERSITY | |||||||||
| PO BOX 602651 | CHARLOTTE | NC | 28260 | 560532129 | 501(C)(3) | $0 | $18,000 | INSTITUTIONAL SURF AWARD | |
| LSU HEALTH SHREVEPORT | |||||||||
| RM 1-214 PO BOX 33932 | SHREVEPORT | CA | 71130 | 720702002 | 501(C)(3) | $0 | $9,000 | INSTITUTIONAL SURF AWARD | |
| MICHIGAN STATE UNIVERSITY | |||||||||
| B346 LIFE SCIENCES BLDG EAST | LANSING | MI | 48824 | 386005984 | 501(C)(3) | $0 | $18,000 | INSTITUTIONAL SURF AWARD | |
| RUTGERS UNIVERSITY | |||||||||
| 170 FRELINGHUYSEN RD EOHSI 426 | PISCATAWAY | NJ | 08854 | 226001086 | 501(C)(3) | $0 | $27,000 | INSTITUTIONAL SURF AWARD | |
| THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF THE UNIVERSITY OF ILLINOIS | |||||||||
| 809 S MARSHFIELD AVE M/C 551 | CHICAGO | IL | 60612 | 376000511 | 501(C)(3) | $0 | $18,000 | INSTITUTIONAL SURF AWARD | |
| THE RESEARCH FOUNDATION OF SUNY | |||||||||
| 520 LEE ENTRANCE STE 211 | AMHERST | NY | 14228 | 141368361 | 501(C)(3) | $0 | $27,000 | INSTITUTIONAL SURF AWARD | |
| THE UNIVERSITY OF FLORIDA BOARD OF TRUSTEES | |||||||||
| PO BOX 115500 | GAINESVILLE | FL | 32611 | 596002052 | 501(C)(3) | $0 | $27,000 | INSTITUTIONAL SURF AWARD | |
| THE UNIVERSITY OF MICHIGAN MEDICAL SCHOOL | |||||||||
| 2301 MEDICAL SCIENCE RESEARCH | ANN ARBOR | MI | 48109 | 386006309 | 501(C)(3) | $0 | $18,000 | INSTITUTIONAL SURF AWARD | BUILDING III |
| UNIVERSITY OF ARIZONA | |||||||||
| 1303 E UNIVERSITY BLVD PO BOX 3 | TUSCON | AZ | 85719 | 742652689 | 501(C)(3) | $0 | $27,000 | INSTITUTIONAL SURF AWARD | |
| UNIVERSITY OF CINCINNATI | |||||||||
| PO BOX 932641 | CLEVELAND | OH | 44193 | 316000989 | 501(C)(3) | $0 | $27,000 | INSTITUTIONAL SURF AWARD | |
| UNIVERSITY OF NORTH DAKOTA | |||||||||
| 264 CENTENNIAL DR STOP 7306 | GRAND FORKS | ND | 58202 | 456002491 | 501(C)(3) | $0 | $27,000 | INSTITUTIONAL SURF AWARD | |
| UNIVERSITY OF PITTSBURGH | |||||||||
| PO BOX 371220 | PITTSBURGH | PA | 15251 | 250965591 | 501(C)(3) | $0 | $18,000 | INSTITUTIONAL SURF AWARD | |
| UTHSCSA | |||||||||
| 7703 FLOYD CURL DR MC 7828 | SAN ANOTNIO | TX | 78229 | 741586031 | 501(C)(3) | $0 | $9,000 | INSTITUTIONAL SURF AWARD | |
| WASHINGTON STATE UNIVERSITY | |||||||||
| 412 E SPOKANE FALLS BLVD | SPOKANE | WA | 99202 | 916001108 | 501(C)(3) | $0 | $9,000 | INSTITUTIONAL SURF AWARD | |
| PACIFIC UNIVERSITY | |||||||||
| 2043 COLLEGE WAY | FOREST GROVE | OR | 97116 | 930386892 | 501(C)(3) | $0 | $9,000 | INSTITUTIONAL SURF AWARD | |
| UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA AT SAN DIEGO | |||||||||
| 9500 GILMAN DR | LA JOLLA | CA | 92093 | 956006144 | 501(C)(3) | $0 | $9,000 | INSTITUTIONAL SURF AWARD | |
| UNIVERSITY OF NORTH CAROLINA | |||||||||
| 104 AIRPORT DR | CHAPEL HILL | NC | 27599 | 566001393 | 501(C)(3) | $0 | $27,000 | INSTITUTIONAL SURF AWARD | |
| UNIVERSITY OF VIRGINIA | |||||||||
| 1001 NORTH EMMET ST | CHARLOTTESVILLE | VA | 22904 | 546001796 | 501(C)(3) | $0 | $18,000 | INSTITUTIONAL SURF AWARD | |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total501c3 Org | 19 | Total501c3OrgCnt |
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Form And Line Reference | PART I, LINE 2: | FormAndLineReferenceDesc |
| Explanation | THE SOCIETY OFFERS AWARDS TO DISTINGUISHED PHARMACOLOGISTS AND TO STUDENTS AND YOUNG SCIENTISTS IN THE FIELD. SCIENTIFIC AWARDS ARE PROVIDED TO RECOGNIZE AND ENCOURAGE OUTSTANDING RESEARCH BY PROMINENT PHARMACOLOGISTS AND TO STIMULATE FUNDAMENTAL RESEARCH BY YOUNG INVESTIGATORS. BEST POSTER AWARDS ARE PRESENTED TO MEETING ATTENDEES WHO HAVE SUBMITTED AN OUTSTANDING RESEARCH ABSTRACT FOR PRESENTATION AT THE MEETING. TRAVEL AWARDS ARE GRANTED TO STUDENTS AS AN EDUCATIONAL TOOL TO ATTEND SCIENTIFIC MEETINGS. | ExplanationTxt |
Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Independent Consultant | Yes (X) | IndependentConsultantInd |
| Written Employment Contract | Yes (X) | WrittenEmploymentContractInd |
| Compensation Survey | Yes (X) | CompensationSurveyInd |
| Board Or Committee Approval | Yes (X) | BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd |
| Severance Payment | 0 | SeverancePaymentInd |
| Supplemental Nonqual Rtr Plan | 0 | SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd |
| Equity Based Comp Arrngm | 0 | EquityBasedCompArrngmInd |
| Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng Org | 0 | CompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd |
| Comp Bsd On Rev Related Orgs | 0 | CompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd |
| Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng Org | 0 | CompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd |
| Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd Orgs | 0 | CompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd |
| Any Non Fixed Payments | 0 | AnyNonFixedPaymentsInd |
| Initial Contract Exception | 0 | InitialContractExceptionInd |
Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (7 entries)
| TitleTitleTxt | Base Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmt | Compensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmt | Bonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmount | Bonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmt | Other Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmt | Other Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmt | Deferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmt | Deferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmt | Nontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmt | Nontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmt | Total Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmt | Total Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmt | Comp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmt | Comp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| DAVID JACKSON | ||||||||||||||
| EXECUTIVE OFFICER | $305,502 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $9,095 | $0 | $1,864 | $0 | $316,461 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| ROBERT STANLEY | ||||||||||||||
| CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER | $203,566 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $9,551 | $0 | $30,868 | $0 | $243,985 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| CATHERINE FRY | ||||||||||||||
| EDUCATION DIRECTOR | $152,636 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $20,652 | $0 | $13,075 | $0 | $186,363 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| MARIA PASHO | ||||||||||||||
| JOURNAL DIRECTOR | $161,777 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $8,701 | $0 | $13,664 | $0 | $184,142 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| MELISSA HUSTON | ||||||||||||||
| MEETINGS DIRECTOR | $150,741 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $3,833 | $0 | $24,842 | $0 | $179,416 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| LYNNE HARRIS | ||||||||||||||
| MARKETING DIRECTOR | $152,835 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $11,050 | $0 | $4,120 | $0 | $168,005 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| CARTER ALLEMAN | ||||||||||||||
| GOVT AFFAIRS & SCIENCE POL DIRECTOR | $146,577 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $3,716 | $0 | $1,387 | $0 | $151,680 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (10 entries)
| Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDesc | ExplanationExplanationTxt |
|---|---|
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 6 | MEMBERSHIP CONSISTS OF REGULAR MEMBERS, RETIRED MEMBERS, AFFILIATE MEMBERS, POSTDOCTORAL, AND STUDENT MEMBERS. |
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 7A | THE BOARD IS ELECTED FROM A SLATE BY ALL ELIGIBLE MEMBERS. BOARD MEMBERS ARE ALSO MEMBERS OF THE SOCIETY AND THEREFORE, CAN VOTE IN THE ELECTION THAT ELECTS THEM. |
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 7B | CHANGES TO THE BY-LAWS ARE SUBJECT TO APPROVAL BY THE MEMBERSHIP. |
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 10B | WHILE THE SOCIETY DOES NOT DIRECTLY GOVERN THE CHAPTER ACTIVITIES, IT DOES PROVIDE PROCEDURAL GUIDELINES TO THE CHAPTERS AND HAS OTHER STEPS IN PLACE TO EVALUATE THAT THE CHAPTERS ACTIVITIES ARE CONSISTENT WITH THE SOCIETY'S TAX-EXEMPT PURPOSES. SUCH AS, BUT NOT LIMITED TO: INTERESTED CHAPTER GROUPS MUST SUBMIT A PETITION TO THE SOCIETY'S EXECUTIVE OFFICER FOR APPROVAL; CHAPTERS MUST SUBMIT ANNUAL REPORTS TO THE EXECUTIVE OFFICER.; THE PRESIDENT OF THE CHAPTER MUST ALSO BE A REGULAR MEMBER OF THE SOCIETY. |
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 11B | THE EXECUTIVE OFFICER REVIEWED THE RETURN AND FORWARDED COPIES TO COUNCIL MEMBERS PRIOR TO FILING. |
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 12C | EACH MEMBER OF THE COUNCIL ANNUALLY FILLS OUT THE CONFLICT OF INTEREST QUESTIONNAIRE. THE CHAIR ASKS THE COUNCIL AT THE START OF EACH MEETING IF THERE ARE ANY CONFLICTS. IF SO, THE PERSON IN CONFLICT IS ASKED TO RECUSE THEMSELVES FOR THE DISCUSSION. |
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 15 | IN 2022, THE SOCIETY CONDUCTED A PROCESS IN CONCERT WITH AN OUTSIDE HR CONSULTANT TO UPDATE JOB DESCRIPTIONS AND USE AT LEAST TWO INDEPENDENT COMPENSATION STUDIES FOR SIMILAR POSITIONS IN THE WASHINGTON METROPOLITAN AREA TO ARRIVE AT AT A COMPETITIVE SALARY FOR EACH OF THE SOCIETY'S STAFF POSITIONS. THE SOCIETY THEN WENT THROUGH A SALARY ADJUSTMENT PROCESS FOR STARTING SALARIES BEGINNING IN 2023, |
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION C, LINE 19 | THE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS ARE AVAILABLE UPON REQUEST. |
| FORM 990, PART IX, LINE 11G | PUBLICATIONS AND COMMISSIONS AND CONSULTING: PROGRAM SERVICE EXPENSES 741,858. MANAGEMENT AND GENERAL EXPENSES 86,041. FUNDRAISING EXPENSES 0. TOTAL EXPENSES 827,899. CONTRACTED SERVICES: PROGRAM SERVICE EXPENSES 171,208. MANAGEMENT AND GENERAL EXPENSES 277,113. FUNDRAISING EXPENSES 0. TOTAL EXPENSES 448,321. |
| FORM 990, PART XII, LINE 2C: | THE OVERSIGHT PROCESS HAS NOT CHANGED FROM THE PRIOR YEAR. THE FINANCE COMMITTEE REVIEWS AND APPROVES THE DRAFT AUDIT REPORT. |
Comments