GIVENS ESTATES INC: Form 990, tax year 2023

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
GIVENS ESTATES INC (EIN 51-0199312)
Tax period
2023-01-01 to 2023-12-31
Filed
2024-11-12
IRS object ID
202433179349302213
Schema version
2023v5.1
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2024-11-12T09:00:12+00:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2023-12-31TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN440160260PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Forvis Mazars LLPBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1500 Ridgefield CourtAddressLine1Txt
CityAshevilleCityNm
State AbbreviationNCStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP28806ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2023-01-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN510199312EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1THE GIVENS ESTATES INCBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlGIVEBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone8282744800PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line12360 SWEETEN CREEK ROADAddressLine1Txt
CityAshevilleCityNm
State AbbreviationNCStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP28803ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonKevin SchwabPersonNm
Person TitleCEOPersonTitleTxt
Phone8282744800PhoneNum
Signature2024-11-12SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (true)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
IRS Responsible Prty Info CurrYes (true)IRSResponsiblePrtyInfoCurrInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonAmy BibbyPreparerPersonNm
PTINP00445891PTIN
Phone8282542254PhoneNum
Preparation2024-11-12PreparationDt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2023TaxYr
Build TS2024-10-15 13:58:12ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

Principal Ofcr Business Name PrincipalOfcrBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Kevin SchwabBusinessNameLine1Txt

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line12360 SWEETEN CREEK ROADAddressLine1Txt
CityAshevilleCityNm
State AbbreviationNCStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP28803ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$80,113,226GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For AffiliatesfalseGroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501c3Yes (X)Organization501c3Ind
Website Addresswww.givensestates.orgWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1975FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateNCLegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionVISION STATEMENT: EXPANDING THE POSSIBILITIES FOR AGINGActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body28VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent28VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee876TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers140TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$0TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$0NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$5,397,462PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$2,062,465CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$66,572,356PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$74,604,869CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income-$912,186PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$2,585,902CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$399,165PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$740,320CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$71,456,797PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$79,993,556CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$978,034PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$2,015,930CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$28,664,212PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$33,944,016CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$0CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$28,710,203PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$32,948,996CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$58,352,449PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$68,908,942CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$13,104,348PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$11,084,614CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$353,131,640TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$383,968,447TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$269,328,055TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$282,343,762TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$83,803,585NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$101,624,685NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
MissionIMPROVING LIVES THROUGH COMMUNITIES, SERVICES, AND OUTREACH CORE VALUES OUR CORE VALUES ARE COMMITMENT, CARING, COURAGE AND COLLABORATION.MissionDesc
Significant New Program SrvcfalseSignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant ChangefalseSignificantChangeInd
Expense$59,852,517ExpenseAmt
Grant$2,015,930GrantAmt
Revenue$74,604,869RevenueAmt
DescGivens provides housing, support and health and wellness services for approximately 1,450 seniors on its four campuses. This is done by providing housing and health care for seniors of all economic levels. This effort requires assistance funds which are secured through charitable support, earnings from endowments, and operating revenues. Through outreach endeavors Givens impacts approximately 6,000 individuals annually through wellness and health education, medication assistance, meal sites, medical equipment loan closets, baby equipment and resources closets, diabetes and other chronic disease management education, and a community nurse to help our lower income residents navigate the healthcare environment.Desc
Total Program Service Expenses$59,852,517TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt
Described In Section501c3Yes (true)DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B RequiredYes (true)ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign ActyfalsePoliticalCampaignActyInd
Lobbying ActivitiesYes (true)LobbyingActivitiesInd
Donor Advised FundfalseDonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation EasementsYes (true)ConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of ArtfalseCollectionsOfArtInd
Credit CounselingfalseCreditCounselingInd
Donor Rstr Or Quasi EndowmentsfalseDonorRstrOrQuasiEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (true)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other SecfalseReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related InvstfalseReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other AssetsfalseReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (true)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (true)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (true)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl StmtfalseConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School OperatingfalseSchoolOperatingInd
Foreign OfficefalseForeignOfficeInd
Foreign ActivitiesfalseForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To OrgfalseMoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To IndividualsfalseMoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional FundraisingfalseProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising ActivitiesfalseFundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming ActivitiesfalseGamingActivitiesInd
Operate HospitalfalseOperateHospitalInd
Grants To OrganizationsYes (true)GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To IndividualsYes (true)GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (true)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt BondsYes (true)TaxExemptBondsInd
Invest Tax Exempt BondsfalseInvestTaxExemptBondsInd
Escrow AccountfalseEscrowAccountInd
On Behalf Of IssuerfalseOnBehalfOfIssuerInd
Engaged In Excess Benefit TransfalseEngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd
PY Excess Benefit TransfalsePYExcessBenefitTransInd
Loan OutstandingfalseLoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related PersonfalseGrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org MemfalseBusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam MemfalseBusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With35 Ctrl EntfalseBusinessRlnWith35CtrlEntInd
Deductible Non Cash ContrifalseDeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art ContributionYes (true)DeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate OperationsfalseTerminateOperationsInd
Partial LiquidationfalsePartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded EntityYes (true)DisregardedEntityInd
Related EntityYes (true)RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl EntYes (true)RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Transaction With Control EntYes (true)TransactionWithControlEntInd
Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd OrgfalseTrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd
Activities Conducted PrtshpfalseActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (true)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document118IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (true)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee876EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (true)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over LimitfalseUnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Foreign Financial AccountfalseForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter TransfalseProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party NotificationfalseTaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible ContributionsfalseNondeductibleContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo ContributionsfalseQuidProQuoContributionsInd
Form8282 Property Disposed OffalseForm8282PropertyDisposedOfInd
Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft CntrctfalseRcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft CntrctfalsePayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Indoor Tanning ServicesfalseIndoorTanningServicesInd
Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht PymtfalseSubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd
Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst IncfalseSubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members28GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member28IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business RlnfalseFamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt DutiesfalseDelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org DocumentsfalseChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or MisusefalseMaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or StockholdersfalseMembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersYes (true)ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To ApprovafalseDecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (true)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (true)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing AddressfalseOfficerMailingAddressInd
Local ChaptersfalseLocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (true)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (true)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (true)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (true)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (true)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (true)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (true)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (true)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint VentureYes (true)InvestmentInJointVentureInd
Written Policy Or ProcedureYes (true)WrittenPolicyOrProcedureInd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1ALLEN SQUIRESBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Phone8282744800PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line12360 SWEETEN CREEK ROADAddressLine1Txt
CityAshevilleCityNm
State AbbreviationNCStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP28803ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (38 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtAverage Hours Per Week Rltd OrgAverageHoursPerWeekRltdOrgRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtOfficerOfficerIndKey EmployeeKeyEmployeeIndHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd
Adam K Ennis
Director1.01.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Alfred J Whitesides Jr
Director1.01.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Alison J Brown
Director1.01.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Charles L Frederick
Director1.01.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Charles Pine
Director1.01.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Connie B Martin
Director1.01.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
David C whilden
Director1.01.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Donna A Broadwell
Director1.01.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Dr Margaret A Kuhn
Director1.01.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
F Patrick McGuire
Director1.01.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
G Edward Towson II
Director1.01.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Horace S Jennings
Director1.01.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Joseph P McGuire
Director1.01.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Judy L Phillips
Director1.01.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Kelli R Brown
Director1.01.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Kenneth W Swayze Jr
Director1.01.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Larry B Harris
Director1.01.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Murphy Horne Fletcher
Director1.01.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Rebekah M Lowe
Director1.01.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Rev Karen L Easter Bayne
Director1.01.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Rev Mary W Brown
Director1.01.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Rev R Keith Turman
Director1.01.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Rev Robert E Shepherd
Director1.01.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Robert M McKown
Director1.01.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Russell Moxley
Director1.01.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Sarah-Ann Smith
Director1.01.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Suzanne E Landis
Director1.01.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
William Mance
Director1.01.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Allen Squires
CFO40.0$369,551$0$68,069Yes (X)
Kevin Schwab
CEO40.0$467,106$0$106,261Yes (X)
Scott Farkas
COO40.0$64,186$0$3,654Yes (X)
John Cowan
Executive Director - GE40.0$382,713$0$64,151Yes (X)
Ken Kramer
Executive Director - Givens Highland Farms40.0$212,074$0$73,352Yes (X)
Brian Guengerich
VP Development40.0$136,546$0$29,015Yes (X)
Christian Grunder
VP HR40.0$151,029$0$39,808Yes (X)
David Kerestes
Controller40.0$156,689$0$39,879Yes (X)
Neal Lail
VP Marketing40.0$197,616$0$7,080Yes (X)
Ricky Foor
VP IT40.0$148,145$0$31,927Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$2,285,655TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$463,196TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K27IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees ListedfalseFormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (true)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other SrcsfalseCompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
Frank L Blum Construction
PO Box 4153WinstonSalemNC27115Construction$21,774,160
US Foodservice
PO Box 602292CharlotteNC28260Food Service$2,394,884
HealthPro-Heritage
1 Marcus Drive STE 102GreenvilleSC29615Therapy$1,430,908
RLPS II
250 Valleybrook DriveLancasterPA17601Architecture$1,339,018
Prime Time Healthcare LLC
CO American National BankOmahaNE68103Nursing Staffing$998,411
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K42CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
All Other Contributions$2,062,465AllOtherContributionsAmt
Noncash Contributions$13,373NoncashContributionsAmt
Total Contributions$2,062,465TotalContributionsAmt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (5 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Residential Revenue623000$46,871,167$46,871,167
Long-term Care Revenue623000$16,378,875$16,378,875
Assisted Living Revenue623000$4,223,956$4,223,956
Food Services Revenue623000$3,637,496$3,637,496
Other Resident Revenue623000$3,082,442$3,082,442

Total Oth Program Service Rev TotalOthProgramServiceRevGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$410,933TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$410,933RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$0ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$74,604,869TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$1,805,049TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$1,805,049ExclusionAmt

Rental Income Or Loss RentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$0RealAmt
Personal$0PersonalAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$900,523SecuritiesAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other$119,670OtherAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$900,523SecuritiesAmt
Other-$119,670OtherAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$780,853TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$780,853ExclusionAmt

Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescMiscellaneous RevenueDesc
Business900099BusinessCd
Total Revenue Column$740,320TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$740,320ExclusionAmt

Miscellaneous Revenue MiscellaneousRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$0RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$0ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total$740,320OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$79,993,556TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$74,604,869RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$3,326,222ExclusionAmt

Grants To Domestic Orgs GrantsToDomesticOrgsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,447,272TotalAmt
Program Services$1,447,272ProgramServicesAmt

Grants To Domestic Individuals GrantsToDomesticIndividualsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$568,658TotalAmt
Program Services$568,658ProgramServicesAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,504,630TotalAmt
Program Services$0ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$1,504,630ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$25,878,450TotalAmt
Program Services$21,813,583ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$4,064,867ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$867,211TotalAmt
Program Services$690,827ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$176,384ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,731,909TotalAmt
Program Services$2,972,869ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$759,040ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,961,816TotalAmt
Program Services$1,562,798ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$399,018ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$39,588TotalAmt
Management And General$39,588ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$7,600TotalAmt
Management And General$7,600ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$5,426,140TotalAmt
Program Services$5,363,022ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$63,118ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,374,529TotalAmt
Program Services$154,227ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$1,220,302ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$4,592,247TotalAmt
Program Services$4,355,289ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$236,958ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,244,306TotalAmt
Program Services$1,240,722ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$3,584ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,955,240TotalAmt
Program Services$3,955,240ProgramServicesAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$189,958TotalAmt
Program Services$179,840ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$10,118ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,999,415TotalAmt
Program Services$1,999,415ProgramServicesAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$9,589,320TotalAmt
Program Services$9,589,320ProgramServicesAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$771,175TotalAmt
Program Services$300,282ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$470,893ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmtProgram ServicesProgramServicesAmtManagement And GeneralManagementAndGeneralAmt
Food Expense$2,230,435$2,230,435
Medical Supplies$696,504$696,504
Bad Debt$257,719$257,719
Continuing Education$231,662$215,162$16,500

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$343,158TotalAmt
Program Services$259,333ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$83,825ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$68,908,942TotalAmt
Program Services$59,852,517ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$9,056,425ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,119BOYAmt
EOY$502,995EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$11,875,470BOYAmt
EOY$27,051,222EOYAmt

Pledges And Grants Receivable PledgesAndGrantsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$248,672BOYAmt
EOY$380,930EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$7,596,194BOYAmt
EOY$8,406,907EOYAmt

Receivables From Officers Etc ReceivablesFromOfficersEtcGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EOY$0EOYAmt

Rcvbl From Disqualified Prsn RcvblFromDisqualifiedPrsnGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EOY$0EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,207,905BOYAmt
EOY$1,165,470EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$320,548,857LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$93,352,438LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$202,928,388BOYAmt
EOY$227,196,419EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$125,376,725BOYAmt
EOY$116,413,627EOYAmt

Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt

Investments Program Related InvestmentsProgramRelatedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt

Intangible Assets IntangibleAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,275,115BOYAmt
EOY$1,365,069EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,621,052BOYAmt
EOY$1,485,808EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$353,131,640BOYAmt
EOY$383,968,447EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$10,059,331BOYAmt
EOY$13,077,163EOYAmt

Deferred Revenue DeferredRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$149,800,590BOYAmt
EOY$163,737,954EOYAmt

Tax Exempt Bond Liabilities TaxExemptBondLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$91,026,575BOYAmt
EOY$87,796,177EOYAmt

Loans From Officers Directors LoansFromOfficersDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EOY$0EOYAmt

Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$16,952,811BOYAmt
EOY$15,916,130EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,488,748BOYAmt
EOY$1,816,338EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$269,328,055BOYAmt
EOY$282,343,762EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Organization Follows FASB117Yes (X)OrganizationFollowsFASB117Ind

No Donor Restriction Net Assets NoDonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$73,404,184BOYAmt
EOY$89,809,400EOYAmt

Donor Restriction Net Assets DonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$10,399,401BOYAmt
EOY$11,815,285EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$83,803,585BOYAmt
EOY$101,624,685EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$353,131,640BOYAmt
EOY$383,968,447EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$11,084,614ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst$6,736,486NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets$0OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Info In Schedule O Part XIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIIInd
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or ReviewfalseAccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (true)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Separate Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (true)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit RequiredfalseFederalGrantAuditRequiredInd

Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Publicly Supported Org509a2Yes (X)PubliclySupportedOrg509a2Ind

Gifts Grants Contris Rcvd509 GiftsGrantsContrisRcvd509Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$1,399,100CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$2,880,633CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$9,826,588CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$5,397,462CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$2,062,465CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$21,566,248TotalAmt

Gross Receipts Admissions GrossReceiptsAdmissionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$58,414,084CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$59,683,429CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$58,597,853CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$66,572,356CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$74,604,869CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$317,872,591TotalAmt

Gross Receipts Non Unrlt Bus GrossReceiptsNonUnrltBusGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$430,469CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$380,409CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$380,042CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$399,165CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$740,320CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$2,330,405TotalAmt

Tax Rev Levied Orgnztnl Bnft509 TaxRevLeviedOrgnztnlBnft509Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Govt Furn Srvc Fclts Vl509 GovtFurnSrvcFcltsVl509Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Total509 Total509Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$60,243,653CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$62,944,471CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$68,804,483CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$72,368,983CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$77,407,654CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$341,769,244TotalAmt

Amounts Rcvd Dsqlfy Person AmountsRcvdDsqlfyPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$56,802CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$134,691CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$11,000CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$113,952CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$205,895CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$522,340TotalAmt

Substantial Contributors Amt SubstantialContributorsAmtGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$0CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$0CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$0CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$0CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$0CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$0TotalAmt

Subst And Dsqlfy Prsns Tot SubstAndDsqlfyPrsnsTotGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$56,802CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$134,691CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$11,000CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$113,952CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$205,895CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$522,340TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Public Support Total509$341,246,904PublicSupportTotal509Amt

Gross Investment Income509 GrossInvestmentIncome509Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$1,122,122CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$1,026,436CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$929,137CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$1,341,051CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$1,805,049CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$6,223,795TotalAmt

Post1975 UBTI Post1975UBTIGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Investment Income And UBTI InvestmentIncomeAndUBTIGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$1,122,122CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$1,026,436CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$929,137CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$1,341,051CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$1,805,049CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$6,223,795TotalAmt

Net Income From Other UBI NetIncomeFromOtherUBIGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$267CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years-$84CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Total$183TotalAmt

Other Income509 OtherIncome509Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$0CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$0CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$0CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$0CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$0CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$0TotalAmt

Total Support Calendar Year TotalSupportCalendarYearGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$61,366,042CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$63,970,823CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$69,733,620CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$73,710,034CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$79,212,703CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$347,993,222TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Public Support CY5090.9806PublicSupportCY509Pct
Public Support PY5090.9818PublicSupportPY509Pct
Investment Income CY0.02InvestmentIncomeCYPct
Investment Income PY0.0162InvestmentIncomePYPct
Thirty Thr Pct Suprt Tests CY509Yes (X)ThirtyThrPctSuprtTestsCY509Ind

Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB

Contributor Information ContributorInformationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
ContributorRESTRICTEDContributorNum

Contributor Business Name ContributorBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1RESTRICTEDBusinessNameLine1

Contributor US Address ContributorUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1RESTRICTEDAddressLine1
Address Line2RESTRICTEDAddressLine2
CityRESTRICTEDCity
StateRESTRICTEDState
ZIP CodeRESTRICTEDZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total ContributionsRESTRICTEDTotalContributionsAmt

Schedule C IRS990ScheduleC

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
VolunteersfalseVolunteersInd
Paid Staff Or ManagementfalsePaidStaffOrManagementInd
Media AdvertisementsfalseMediaAdvertisementsInd
Mailings MembersfalseMailingsMembersInd
Publications Or BroadcastfalsePublicationsOrBroadcastInd
Grants Other OrganizationsfalseGrantsOtherOrganizationsInd
Direct Contact LegislatorsfalseDirectContactLegislatorsInd
Rallies DemonstrationsfalseRalliesDemonstrationsInd
Other ActivitiesYes (true)OtherActivitiesInd
Other Activities$1,800OtherActivitiesAmt
Total Lobbying Expenditures$1,800TotalLobbyingExpendituresAmt
Not Described Section501c3falseNotDescribedSection501c3Ind

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSchedule C, Part II-B, Line 1 DETAILED DESCRIPTION OF THE LOBBYING ACTIVITYFormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationThe organization pays dues to Leading Age NC. Approximately $1,800 were used for lobbying purposes.ExplanationTxt

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Protection Natural HabitatYes (X)ProtectionNaturalHabitatInd
Total Easements4TotalEasementsCnt
Total Acreage1.94TotalAcreageCnt
Historic Strctr Easements Aftr4HistoricStrctrEasementsAftrCnt
States Easements Held1StatesEasementsHeldCnt
Written Policy MonitoringYes (true)WrittenPolicyMonitoringInd
Section170h Rqr StsfdYes (true)Section170hRqrStsfdInd

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$10,109,746OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$10,109,746BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$271,502,531OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$77,302,820DepreciationAmt
Book Value$194,199,711BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$21,123,343OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$14,303,522DepreciationAmt
Book Value$6,819,821BookValueAmt

Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$17,813,237OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$1,746,096DepreciationAmt
Book Value$16,067,141BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$227,196,419TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (2 entries)

DescDescAmtAmt
Advance Admission Deposits$1,733,434
Bond Interest Payable$82,904
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$1,816,338TotalLiabilityAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$86,161,229TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Net Unrealized Gains Invst$6,736,486NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt
Other Revenue$0OtherRevenueAmt
Revenue Not Reported$6,736,486RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$79,424,743RevenueSubtotalAmt
Other Revenues Not Included$568,813OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$568,813RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$79,993,556TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$68,340,129TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Other Expenses Included$0OtherExpensesIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Reported$0ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$68,340,129ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Other Expenses Not Included$568,813OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$568,813ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$68,908,942TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (3 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Schedule D, Part X, Line 2 FIN 48 (ASC 740) footnoteThe Company is exempt from federal income taxes under Section 501 (c) (3) of the Internal Revenue code; accordingly, the accompanying consolidated financial statements do not reflect a provision or liability for federal and state income taxes. The Company has determined that it does not have any material unrecognized tax benefits or obligations as of December 31, 2023.
Schedule D, Part XI, Line 4(b) Other revenues in form 990 not in audited financial statementsGrants in Revenue - 568813
Schedule D, Part XII, Line 4(b) Other expenses in form 990 not in audited financial statementsGrants in Revenues - 568813

Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant Records MaintainedYes (true)GrantRecordsMaintainedInd

Recipient Table RecipientTable (7 entries)

Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityUSAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPUSAddress/ZIPCdRecipient EINRecipientEINIRC SectionIRCSectionDescCash GrantCashGrantAmtPurpose Of GrantPurposeOfGrantTxt
MemoryCare
100 Far Horizon LaneAshevilleNC28803562178294501(c)(3)$30,974Community Improvement
Four Seasons Foundation
211 Maint StHendersonvilleNC28801475508988501(c)(3)$10,000Community Improvement
United Methodist Committee on Relief
458 Ponce De Leon AvenueATLANTAGA30308300989628501(c)(3)$11,631Community Improvement
Haywood Street Congregation
297 Haywood StAshevilleNC28801455301549501(c)(3)$11,631community improvement
LeadingAge NC
PO Box 27527RaleighNC27611561541496501(c)(3)$40,000Community Improvement
Blue Ridge Pride Center
PO Box 2044AshevilleNC28802501(c)(3)$5,000Community Improvement
Swannanoa Valley Christian Ministry
101 N Ridgeway AveBlack MountainNC28711501(c)(3)$5,100Community Improvement
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total501c3 Org7Total501c3OrgCnt
Total Other Org0TotalOtherOrgCnt

Grants Other Asst To Indiv In US GrantsOtherAsstToIndivInUSGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant TypeResident AssistanceGrantTypeTxt
Recipient42RecipientCnt
Cash Grant$568,658CashGrantAmt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSchedule I, Part I, Line 2 Procedures for monitoring use of grant funds.FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationGRANTS TO INDIVIDUALS: SOCIAL WORKERS IDENTIFY RESIDENTS WITH FINANCIAL OR OTHER NEEDS AND REQUEST ASSISTANCE. THESE REQUESTS ARE REVIEWED BY MANAGERS TO ENSURE THAT THE INDIVIDUALS SELECTED MEET THE REQUIREMENTS APPROVED BY GIVENS ESTATES AND LIFEMINISTRIES FOR ASSISTANCE. GRANTS TO ORGANIZATIONS: MANAGEMENTS REVIEWS THESE GRANTS TO DETERMINE THAT THEY ARE CONSISTENT WITH GIVENS ESTATES' MISSION BEFORE THE GRANTS ARE APPROVED AND AWARDED.ExplanationTxt

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Idemnification Gross Up PmtsYes (X)IdemnificationGrossUpPmtsInd
Written Policy Ref T And E ExpnssYes (true)WrittenPolicyRefTAndEExpnssInd
Substantiation RequiredYes (true)SubstantiationRequiredInd
Independent ConsultantYes (X)IndependentConsultantInd
Form990 Of Other OrganizationsYes (X)Form990OfOtherOrganizationsInd
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance PaymentYes (true)SeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr PlanYes (true)SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp ArrngmfalseEquityBasedCompArrngmInd
Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng OrgfalseCompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd On Rev Related OrgsfalseCompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng OrgfalseCompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd OrgsfalseCompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd
Any Non Fixed PaymentsfalseAnyNonFixedPaymentsInd
Initial Contract ExceptionfalseInitialContractExceptionInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (9 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
Kevin Schwab
CEO$408,737$0$57,740$0$629$0$82,908$0$23,353$0$573,367$0$0$0
Allen Squires
CFO$322,177$0$24,451$0$22,923$0$52,769$0$15,300$0$437,620$0$0$0
John Cowan
Executive Director - GE$270,752$0$96,139$0$15,822$0$49,781$0$14,370$0$446,864$0$0$0
Ken Kramer
Executive Director - Givens Highland Farms$193,881$0$17,588$0$605$0$50,000$0$23,352$0$285,426$0$0$0
Neal Lail
VP Marketing$178,395$0$18,090$0$1,131$0$0$0$7,080$0$204,696$0$0$0
David Kerestes
Controller$154,554$0$1,740$0$395$0$16,527$0$23,352$0$196,568$0$0$0
Christian Grunder
VP HR$147,952$0$2,840$0$237$0$16,456$0$23,352$0$190,837$0$0$0
Ricky Foor
VP IT$144,910$0$2,840$0$395$0$6,760$0$25,167$0$180,072$0$0$0
Brian Guengerich
VP Development$134,193$0$2,090$0$263$0$5,663$0$23,352$0$165,561$0$0$0

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (3 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Schedule J, Part I, Line 1a Tax indemnification and gross-up paymentsOfficers receive a bonus to pay for taxes associated with the 162 life insurance plan. The Minister receives a housing allowance.
Schedule J, Part I, Line 4a Severance or change-of-control paymentDuring the year John Cowan received $143,670 related to his retirement.
Schedule J, Part I, Line 4b Supplemental nonqualified retirement planKen Kramer received $20,000 and Kevin Schwab received $30,000 in 457(f) plans.

Schedule K IRS990ScheduleK

Tax Exempt Bonds Issues TaxExemptBondsIssuesGrp (2 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdBond Issuer EINBondIssuerEINBond IssuedBondIssuedDtIssue PriceIssuePriceAmtPurposePurposeDescDefeasedDefeasedIndOn Behalf Of IssuerOnBehalfOfIssuerIndPool FinancingPoolFinancingIndCUSIPCUSIPNum
PUBLIC FINANCE AUTHORITY
A2738661242017-04-05$52,980,000REFUNDING BONDS - SERIES 2017falsefalsefalse
Public Finance Authority
B2738661242021-10-06$54,216,248Retirement Facilities Revenue Bonds - Series 2021falsefalsefalse74444vbb5

Tax Exempt Bonds Proceeds TaxExemptBondsProceedsGrp (2 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdRetiredRetiredAmtTotal ProceedsTotalProceedsAmtIssuance Costs From ProceedsIssuanceCostsFromProceedsAmtOther Spent ProceedsOtherSpentProceedsAmtRefunding Tax Exempt BondsRefundingTaxExemptBondsIndRefunding Taxable BondsRefundingTaxableBondsIndFinal Allocation MadeFinalAllocationMadeIndAdequate Books And Rec MaintAdequateBooksAndRecMaintIndCapital ExpendituresCapitalExpendituresAmtSubstantial CompletionSubstantialCompletionYr
A$11,850,000$52,721,348$258,652$52,721,348Yes (true)Yes (true)Yes (true)Yes (true)
B$54,261,424$804,487falsefalsefalsefalse$53,411,7612024

Tax Exempt Bonds Private Bus Use TaxExemptBondsPrivateBusUseGrp (2 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdOwning Bond Financed PropertyOwningBondFinancedPropertyIndAny Lease ArrangementsAnyLeaseArrangementsIndMgmt Contract Bond Fincd PropMgmtContractBondFincdPropIndAny Research AgreementsAnyResearchAgreementsIndTotal Private Business UseTotalPrivateBusinessUsePctBond Iss Meet Prvt Sec Pymt TestBondIssMeetPrvtSecPymtTestIndChange In Use Bond Financed PropChangeInUseBondFinancedPropIndProcs Nonqualified Bond RemdtdProcsNonqualifiedBondRemdtdInd
Afalsefalsefalsefalse0.0falsefalsefalse
Bfalsefalsefalsefalse0.0falsefalseYes (true)

Tax Exempt Bonds Arbitrage TaxExemptBondsArbitrageGrp (2 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdForm8038 T FiledForm8038TFiledIndRebate Not Due YetRebateNotDueYetIndException To RebateExceptionToRebateIndNo Rebate DueNoRebateDueIndVariable Rate IssueVariableRateIssueIndHedge Identified In Bks And RecHedgeIdentifiedInBksAndRecIndGross Proceeds Invested In GICGrossProceedsInvestedInGICIndGross Proceeds InvestedGrossProceedsInvestedIndWritten Proc To Monitor ReqsWrittenProcToMonitorReqsInd
AfalsefalsefalseYes (true)falsefalsefalsefalsefalse
BfalsefalsefalsefalsefalsefalsefalsefalseYes (true)

Procedures Corrective Action ProceduresCorrectiveActionGrp (2 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdProcedures Corrective ActionProceduresCorrectiveActionInd
AYes (true)
BYes (true)

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Schedule K, Part IV, Line 2c COLUMN AIssuer name: PUBLIC FINANCE AUTHORITY The calculation for computing no rebate due was performed on 03/31/2022
Schedule K, Part V Different Procedures to Undertake Corrective ActionIssuer name: Public Finance Authority Difference Between schedule K part I proceeds of issuance and schedule k part II line 3 is due to interest earned.

Schedule M IRS990ScheduleM

Works Of Art WorksOfArtGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Non Cash CheckboxYes (X)NonCashCheckboxInd
Contribution27ContributionCnt
Noncash Contributions Rpt F990$2,500NoncashContributionsRptF990Amt
Method Of Determining RevenuesMarket valueMethodOfDeterminingRevenuesTxt

Securities Publicly Traded SecuritiesPubliclyTradedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Non Cash CheckboxYes (X)NonCashCheckboxInd
Contribution1ContributionCnt
Noncash Contributions Rpt F990$7,415NoncashContributionsRptF990Amt
Method Of Determining RevenuesMarket valueMethodOfDeterminingRevenuesTxt

Other Non Cash Contri Table OtherNonCashContriTableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Non Cash CheckboxYes (X)NonCashCheckboxInd
DescMeal DonationsDesc
Contribution4ContributionCnt
Noncash Contributions Rpt F990$3,458NoncashContributionsRptF990Amt
Method Of Determining RevenuesMarket valueMethodOfDeterminingRevenuesTxt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Any Property That Must Be HeldfalseAnyPropertyThatMustBeHeldInd
Review Process Unusual NC GiftsYes (true)ReviewProcessUnusualNCGiftsInd
Third Parties UsedfalseThirdPartiesUsedInd

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSchedule M, Part I Explanations of reporting method for number of contributionsFormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationArt - Works of art - Number of items received Other - Meal Donations number of donors Securities - Publicly traded - number of contributorsExplanationTxt

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (9 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Form 990, Part VI, Line 1a Delegate broad authority to a committeeTHE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE SHALL CONSIST OF THE CHAIRPERSON, VICE CHAIRPERSON, SECRETARY AND TREASURER OF THE CORPORATION AND THE CHAIRPERSON OF SUCH STANDING COMMITTEES OF THE BOARD AS THE BOARD MAY FROM TIME TO TIME DESIGNATE AS BEING ADDITIONAL MEMBERS OF THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE. EXCEPT AS TO SUCH POWERS AS THE BOARD MAY EXPRESSLY RESERVE TO ITSELF BY FORMAL RESOLUTION, THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE SHALL EXERCISE THE POWERS OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS WHEN THE BOARD IS NOT IN SESSION IN ACCORDANCE WITH AND AS LIMITED BY THE POLICIES AND BUDGETS ESTABLISHED BY THE ENTIRE BOARD. THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE'S ACTIONS SHALL BE REPORTED TO THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS AT THE NEXT REGULAR OR SPECIAL MEETING OF THE BOARD.
Form 990, Part VI, Line 7a Members or stockholders electing members of governing bodyTHE AFFAIRS OF THE CORPORATION SHALL BE MANAGED BY ITS BOARD OF DIRECTORS, WHICH SHALL CONSIST OF A MINIMUM OF TWENTY FOUR PERSONS IN NUMBER FROM TIME TO TIME AND WHO SHALL BE APPROVED BY THE WESTERN NORTH CAROLINA ANNUAL CONFERENCE OF THE UNITED METHODIST CHURCH.
Form 990, Part VI, Line 11b Review of form 990 by governing bodyTHE FORM 990 WAS REVIEWED BY MANAGEMENT AND THE AUDIT COMMITTEE. THE RETURN WAS DISTRIBUTED TO BOARD MEMBERS PRIOR TO FILING AND REVIEWED AT A SUBSEQUENT MEETING.
Form 990, Part VI, Line 12c Conflict of interest policyTHE BOARD IS REQUIRED TO SIGN A CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY ANNUALLY. WHEN AN INDIVIDUAL BECOMES AWARE OF A NEW CONFLICT, HE OR SHE MUST FILL OUT ANOTHER CONFLICT OF INTEREST FORM. IF A BOARD MEMBER DOES HAVE A CONFLICT, HE OR SHE SHOULD ACKNOWLEDGE THE CONFLICT AND EXCUSE THEMSELVES FROM DISCUSSING OR VOTING ON AN ISSUE WHERE THERE IS A CONFLICT. IF ANYONE BECOMES AWARE OF A BOARD MEMBER NOT ACKNOWLEDGING A CONFLICT, WE MAKE THE BOARD CHAIRPERSON AWARE OF THE ISSUE AND ACT ACCORDINGLY.
Form 990, Part VI, Line 15a Process to establish compensation of top management officialTHE GIVENS ESTATES HAS DEVELOPED AN EXECUTIVE COMPENSATION POLICY THAT PROVIDES A BROAD-BASED FOUNDATION FOR A FAIR, REASONABLE, AND COMPETITIVE COMPENSATION PACKAGE FOR THE EXECUTIVE LEADERSHIP. THE COMPENSATION PACKAGES ARE DETERMINED ANNUALLY COMMENSURATE WITH THEIR PERFORMANCE EVALUATIONS. THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE REVIEWS JOB PERFORMANCE AND COMPARATIVE COMPENSATION MARKET DATA TO MAKE RECOMMENDATIONS TO THE FULL BOARD FOR APPROVAL. OUTSIDE INDEPENDENT CONSULTANTS ARE ENGAGED TO ENSURE REASONABLENESS OF THE COMPENSATION PACKAGES.
Form 990, Part VI, Line 15b Process to establish compensation of other employeesTHE GIVENS ESTATES HAS DEVELOPED AN EXECUTIVE COMPENSATION POLICY THAT PROVIDES A BROAD-BASED FOUNDATION FOR A FAIR, REASONABLE, AND COMPETITIVE COMPENSATION PACKAGE FOR THE EXECUTIVE LEADERSHIP. THE COMPENSATION PACKAGES ARE DETERMINED ANNUALLY COMMENSURATE WITH THEIR PERFORMANCE EVALUATIONS. THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE REVIEWS JOB PERFORMANCE AND COMPARATIVE COMPENSATION MARKET DATA TO MAKE RECOMMENDATIONS TO THE FULL BOARD FOR APPROVAL. OUTSIDE INDEPENDENT CONSULTANTS ARE ENGAGED TO ENSURE REASONABLENESS OF THE COMPENSATION PACKAGES.
Form 990, Part VI, Line 19 Required documents available to the publicTHE ORGANIZATION'S GOVERNING DOCUMENTS, FINANCIAL STATEMENTS AND CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY ARE MADE AVAILABLE UPON REQUEST AT THE ADMINISTRATIVE OFFICE. THE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS ARE POSTED ON EMMA WEBSITE AND GUIDESTAR WEBSITE AS WELL.
Form 990, Part VIII, Line 2f Other Program Service RevenueLife Ministries Revenue - Total Revenue: 410933, Related or Exempt Function Revenue: 410933, Unrelated Business Revenue: , Revenue Excluded from Tax Under Sections 512, 513, or 514: ;
Form 990, Part XII, Line 1 Change of accounting method or other type of acounting methodThe process has not changed since the prior year.

Schedule R IRS990ScheduleR

Id Disregarded Entities IdDisregardedEntitiesGrp (4 entries)

Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityUSAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPUSAddress/ZIPCdEINEINPrimary ActivitiesPrimaryActivitiesTxtLegal Domicile StateLegalDomicileStateCdTotal IncomeTotalIncomeAmtEnd Of Year AssetsEndOfYearAssetsAmtBusiness Name Line1DirectControllingEntityName/BusinessNameLine1Txt
LIFEMINISTRIES OUTREACH LLC
2360 SWEETEN CREEK RDAshevilleNC28803202098413EDUCATING LOW-INCOME SENIORS TO ACCESS NEEDED HEALTH AND AGING SERVICESNC$410,778$427,392Givens Estates Inc
GIVENS HIGHLAND FARMS LLC
2360 Sweeten CreekAshevilleNC28806460962122Senior Living and CareNC$20,729,616$118,183,348Givens Estates Inc
Givens Gerber Park II LLC
2360 Sweeten CreekAshevilleNC28803364851537Senior Living and CareNC$2,392,768$12,434,134Givens Estates Inc
Givens Choice
2360 Sweeten Creek RoadAshevilleNC28803home careNC$379,849$3,057,822Givens Estates Inc

Id Related Tax Exempt Org IdRelatedTaxExemptOrgGrp

Disregarded Entity Name DisregardedEntityName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1GIVENS AFFORDABLE COMMUNITIES INCBusinessNameLine1Txt

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line12360 Sweeten CreekAddressLine1Txt
CityAshevilleCityNm
State AbbreviationNCStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP28803ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN364784099EIN
Primary ActivitiesTo Assist in Certain Activities for Givens EstatesPrimaryActivitiesTxt
Legal Domicile StateNCLegalDomicileStateCd
Exempt Code Section501(c)(3)ExemptCodeSectionTxt
Public Charity StatusType IIPublicCharityStatusTxt

Direct Controlling Entity Name DirectControllingEntityName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Givens Estates IncBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Controlled OrganizationYes (true)ControlledOrganizationInd

Id Related Org Txbl Partnership IdRelatedOrgTxblPartnershipGrp

Related Organization Name RelatedOrganizationName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Gerber Park of Asheville IIIBusinessNameLine1Txt

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line12360 Sweeten Creek RoadAddressLine1Txt
CityAshevilleCityNm
State AbbreviationNCStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP28803ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN510199312EIN
Primary ActivitiesReal Estate - RentalPrimaryActivitiesTxt
Legal Domicile StateNCLegalDomicileStateCd
Direct Controlling NAN/ADirectControllingNACd
Predominant Income TypeExcludedPredominantIncomeTypeTxt
Share Of Total Income-$14ShareOfTotalIncomeAmt
Share Of EOY Assets-$138ShareOfEOYAssetsAmt
Disproportionate AllocationsfalseDisproportionateAllocationsInd
General Or Managing PartnerYes (true)GeneralOrManagingPartnerInd
Ownership0.49OwnershipPct
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Receipt Of Int Annts Rnts RyltsfalseReceiptOfIntAnntsRntsRyltsInd
Gift Grnt Or Cap Contri To Oth OrgYes (true)GiftGrntOrCapContriToOthOrgInd
Gift Grnt Cap Contri From Oth OrgYes (true)GiftGrntCapContriFromOthOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees To Other OrgfalseLoansOrGuaranteesToOtherOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees From Oth OrgfalseLoansOrGuaranteesFromOthOrgInd
Div Related OrganizationfalseDivRelatedOrganizationInd
Asset Sale To Other OrgfalseAssetSaleToOtherOrgInd
Asset Purchase From Other OrgfalseAssetPurchaseFromOtherOrgInd
Asset ExchangefalseAssetExchangeInd
Rental Of Facilities To Oth OrgYes (true)RentalOfFacilitiesToOthOrgInd
Rental Of Fclts From Oth OrgfalseRentalOfFcltsFromOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services For Oth OrgYes (true)PerformOfServicesForOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services By Other OrgfalsePerformOfServicesByOtherOrgInd
Sharing Of FacilitiesYes (true)SharingOfFacilitiesInd
Paid Employees SharingYes (true)PaidEmployeesSharingInd
Reimbursement Paid To Other OrgYes (true)ReimbursementPaidToOtherOrgInd
Reimbursement Paid By Other OrgYes (true)ReimbursementPaidByOtherOrgInd
Transfer To Other OrgYes (true)TransferToOtherOrgInd
Transfer From Other OrgfalseTransferFromOtherOrgInd

Transactions Related Org TransactionsRelatedOrgGrp

Other Organization Name OtherOrganizationName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Givens Affordable HousingBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Transaction TypeRTransactionTypeTxt
Involved$898,937InvolvedAmt
Method Of Amount DeterminationCostMethodOfAmountDeterminationTxt

Comments

Anonymous: no account or email. Up to 2,000 characters, at most one link. Comments are checked automatically; some wait for review.