LUDWIG INSTITUTE FOR CANCER RESEARCH: Form 990, tax year 2023

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
LUDWIG INSTITUTE FOR CANCER RESEARCH (EIN 23-7121131)
Tax period
2023-01-01 to 2023-12-31
Filed
2024-11-05
IRS object ID
202433109349303148
Schema version
2023v5.1
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2024-11-05T15:56:02-06:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2023-12-31TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1PWC US TAX LLPBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1655 NEW YORK AVE NW STE 1100AddressLine1Txt
CityWASHINGTONCityNm
State AbbreviationDCStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP20001ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2023-01-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN237121131EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Ludwig Institute for Cancer Research LtdBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
In Care Of% URS KUNZInCareOfNm
Business Name ControlLUDWBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone2124501500PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1600 Third Avenue 32nd FloorAddressLine1Txt
CityNew YorkCityNm
State AbbreviationNYStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP10016ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonJonathan SkipperPersonNm
Person TitlePresidentPersonTitleTxt
Phone2124501500PhoneNum
Signature2024-10-31SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (true)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
IRS Responsible Prty Info CurrYes (true)IRSResponsiblePrtyInfoCurrInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonERIC M MCNEILPreparerPersonNm
PTINP00460263PTIN
Phone2024141000PhoneNum
Preparation2024-10-30PreparationDt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2023TaxYr
Build TS2024-10-15 13:58:12ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerJonathan SkipperPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1600 Third Avenue 32nd FloorAddressLine1Txt
CityNew YorkCityNm
State AbbreviationNYStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP10016ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$72,893,952GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For AffiliatesfalseGroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501c3Yes (X)Organization501c3Ind
Website Addresswww.ludwigcancerresearch.orgWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1971FormationYr
Legal Domicile CountrySZLegalDomicileCountryCd
Activity Or MissionThe Ludwig Institute for Cancer Research Ltd is a global non-profit institute committed to improving the under- standing & control of cancer through laboratory and clinical research.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body9VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent7VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee48TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers0TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$0TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$0NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$90,702,581PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$70,226,776CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$0PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$0CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$3,836PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$12,667CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$11,737,271PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$2,654,509CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$102,443,688PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$72,893,952CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$0PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$0CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$0PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$24,298,963PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$16,640,017CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$333,699CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$83,570,734PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$54,713,252CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$107,869,697PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$71,353,269CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses-$5,426,009PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$1,540,683CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$21,583,740TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$19,252,124TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$19,553,709TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$16,568,652TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$2,030,031NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$2,683,472NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
Info In Schedule O Part IIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartIIIInd
MissionThe Ludwig Institute for Cancer Research Ltd is an international not-for-profit organization committed to preventing and controlling cancer through integrated laboratory and clinical research.MissionDesc
Significant New Program SrvcfalseSignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant ChangefalseSignificantChangeInd
Expense$58,685,817ExpenseAmt
DescLaboratory research leading to clinical applications - see schedule ODesc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty2 ProgSrvcAccomActy2Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Expense$122,317ExpenseAmt
DescClinical research - see schedule ODesc
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Expenses$58,808,134TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt
Described In Section501c3Yes (true)DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B RequiredYes (true)ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign ActyfalsePoliticalCampaignActyInd
Lobbying ActivitiesYes (true)LobbyingActivitiesInd
Subject To Proxy TaxfalseSubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised FundfalseDonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation EasementsfalseConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of ArtfalseCollectionsOfArtInd
Credit CounselingfalseCreditCounselingInd
Donor Rstr Or Quasi EndowmentsfalseDonorRstrOrQuasiEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentfalseReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other SecYes (true)ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related InvstfalseReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other AssetsYes (true)ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (true)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnotefalseIncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (true)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl StmtYes (true)ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School OperatingfalseSchoolOperatingInd
Foreign OfficeYes (true)ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign ActivitiesYes (true)ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To OrgfalseMoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To IndividualsfalseMoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional FundraisingfalseProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising ActivitiesfalseFundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming ActivitiesfalseGamingActivitiesInd
Operate HospitalfalseOperateHospitalInd
Grants To OrganizationsfalseGrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To IndividualsfalseGrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (true)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt BondsfalseTaxExemptBondsInd
Engaged In Excess Benefit TransfalseEngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd
PY Excess Benefit TransfalsePYExcessBenefitTransInd
Loan OutstandingfalseLoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related PersonfalseGrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org MemfalseBusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam MemfalseBusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With35 Ctrl EntfalseBusinessRlnWith35CtrlEntInd
Deductible Non Cash ContrifalseDeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art ContributionfalseDeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate OperationsfalseTerminateOperationsInd
Partial LiquidationfalsePartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded EntityfalseDisregardedEntityInd
Related EntityYes (true)RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl EntYes (true)RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Transaction With Control EntYes (true)TransactionWithControlEntInd
Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd OrgfalseTrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd
Activities Conducted PrtshpfalseActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (true)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document44IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (true)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee48EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (true)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over LimitfalseUnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Foreign Financial AccountYes (true)ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Foreign CountryBEForeignCountryCd
Foreign CountrySZForeignCountryCd
Foreign CountryUKForeignCountryCd
Prohibited Tax Shelter TransfalseProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party NotificationfalseTaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible ContributionsfalseNondeductibleContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo ContributionsfalseQuidProQuoContributionsInd
Form8282 Property Disposed OffalseForm8282PropertyDisposedOfInd
Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft CntrctfalseRcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft CntrctfalsePayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Indoor Tanning ServicesfalseIndoorTanningServicesInd
Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht PymtYes (true)SubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd
Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst IncfalseSubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members9GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member7IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business RlnYes (true)FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt DutiesYes (true)DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org DocumentsfalseChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or MisusefalseMaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or StockholdersYes (true)MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersYes (true)ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To ApprovaYes (true)DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (true)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (true)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing AddressfalseOfficerMailingAddressInd
Local ChaptersYes (true)LocalChaptersInd
Policies Reference ChaptersYes (true)PoliciesReferenceChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (true)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (true)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (true)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (true)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (true)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (true)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (true)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (true)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint VenturefalseInvestmentInJointVentureInd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldCAStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldNYStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonURS KUNZPersonNm
Phone1442676277PhoneNum

Foreign Address ForeignAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1LICR LTD STADELHOFERSTR 22AddressLine1Txt
CityZURICHCityNm
CountrySZCountryCd
Foreign PostalCH-8001ForeignPostalCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part VIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIIInd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (19 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtAverage Hours Per Week Rltd OrgAverageHoursPerWeekRltdOrgRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeIndKey EmployeeKeyEmployeeInd
Dr Chi Van Dang
Director, Scientific Director50.02.0Yes (X)Yes (X)$1,051,303$0$75,277
Edward A McDermott Jr
Director, President44.04.0Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$951,807$93,653
Dr Jonathan Skipper
Exec Vice-Pres Tech Develop.45.00.0Yes (X)$791,046$0$75,277
Thomas Baenninger
Chief Financial Officer40.00.0Yes (X)$512,250$0$112,712
Richard White
Group Leader10.00.0$472,041$0$105,307Yes (X)
Yang Shi
Group Leader10.00.0$438,227$0$59,255Yes (X)
George Coukos
Branch Director40.00.0$403,977$0$86,003Yes (X)
Dr Bing Ren
Group Leader45.00.0$401,272$0$68,994Yes (X)
Dr Richard Kolodner
Group Leader50.00.0$416,477$0$51,279Yes (X)
Xin Lu
Branch Director10.00.0$382,032$0$51,267Yes (X)
Andrew Shiau
Group Leader50.00.0$361,737$0$61,491Yes (X)
Patrice Morin
Deputy Scient. Dir.45.00.0Yes (X)$313,974$0$73,833
John L Notter
Director, Board Chairperson8.03.0Yes (X)$28,701$127,788$0
John D Gordan III
Director2.02.0Yes (X)$10,934$82,788$0
Jedd Wolchok
DIRECTOR2.03.0Yes (X)$10,934$82,788$0
Dr Nancy Ellen Davidson
Director2.02.0Yes (X)$10,934$30,000$0
Judge Barbara S Jones
Director2.02.0Yes (X)$10,934$30,000$0
Alexandra Johnson
Director2.02.0Yes (X)$10,934$30,000$0
Nicolas Killen
Director2.02.0Yes (X)$10,934$30,000$0
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$5,638,641TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$1,365,171TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$914,348TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K38IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees ListedfalseFormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (true)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other SrcsfalseCompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/ForeignAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/ForeignAddress/CityNmProvince Or StateContractorAddress/ForeignAddress/ProvinceOrStateNmCountryContractorAddress/ForeignAddress/CountryCdForeign PostalContractorAddress/ForeignAddress/ForeignPostalCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmtAddress Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCd
University of Lausanne
BATIMENT UNICENTRELAUSANNE0SZCH-1015Research Services$15,971,597
University of Oxford
WELLINGTON SQUAREOXFORD0UKOX1 2JDResearch Services$11,074,386
Princeton University
RESEARCH SERVICES$8,994,250701 Carnegie CenterPRINCETONNJ08540
de Duve Institute
Avenue Hippocrate 75Bruxelles0BE1200RESEARCH SERVICES$2,997,938
The Ludwig Group Inc
Management services$2,841,039600 Third Avenue 32nd FloorNew YorkNY10016
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K16CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Related Organizations$69,000,000RelatedOrganizationsAmt
Government Grants$592,411GovernmentGrantsAmt
All Other Contributions$634,365AllOtherContributionsAmt
Noncash Contributions$0NoncashContributionsAmt
Total Contributions$70,226,776TotalContributionsAmt
Total Program Service Revenue$0TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$12,667TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$12,667ExclusionAmt

Incm From Invest Bond Proceeds IncmFromInvestBondProceedsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt

Royalties Revenue RoyaltiesRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$2,602,164TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$2,602,164ExclusionAmt

Rental Income Or Loss RentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$0RealAmt
Personal$0PersonalAmt

Net Rental Income Or Loss NetRentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Fundraising Gross Income$0FundraisingGrossIncomeAmt
Fundraising Direct Expenses$0FundraisingDirectExpensesAmt

Net Incm From Fundraising Evt NetIncmFromFundraisingEvtGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gaming Gross Income$0GamingGrossIncomeAmt
Gaming Direct Expenses$0GamingDirectExpensesAmt

Net Income From Gaming NetIncomeFromGamingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Sales Of Inventory$0GrossSalesOfInventoryAmt
Cost Of Goods Sold$0CostOfGoodsSoldAmt

Net Income Or Loss NetIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt

Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp (2 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtExclusionExclusionAmt
REIMBURSEMENT OF INSURANCE COSTS900099$42,950$42,950
VARIOUS COST RECOVERY900099$9,395$9,395
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total$52,345OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$72,893,952TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$2,667,176ExclusionAmt

Grants To Domestic Orgs GrantsToDomesticOrgsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Grants To Domestic Individuals GrantsToDomesticIndividualsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Foreign Grants ForeignGrantsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Benefits To Members BenefitsToMembersGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$4,029,990TotalAmt
Program Services$1,244,815ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$2,616,915ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$168,260FundraisingAmt

Comp Disqual Persons CompDisqualPersonsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$8,986,528TotalAmt
Program Services$6,261,144ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$2,641,040ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$84,344FundraisingAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$643,640TotalAmt
Program Services$412,329ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$224,366ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$6,945FundraisingAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,095,284TotalAmt
Program Services$782,624ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$1,296,068ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$16,592FundraisingAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$884,575TotalAmt
Program Services$634,543ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$247,661ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$2,371FundraisingAmt

Fees For Services Management FeesForServicesManagementGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,792,917TotalAmt
Program Services$752,700ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$2,019,815ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$20,402FundraisingAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$377,126TotalAmt
Program Services$32,469ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$341,267ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$3,390FundraisingAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$302,632TotalAmt
Management And General$300,606ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$2,026FundraisingAmt

Fees For Services Lobbying FeesForServicesLobbyingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Fees For Services Prof Fundraising FeesForServicesProfFundraising

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Fees For Srvc Invst Mgmnt Fees FeesForSrvcInvstMgmntFeesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$917,876TotalAmt
Program Services$376,347ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$541,529ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$116,105TotalAmt
Program Services$18,626ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$96,489ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$990FundraisingAmt

Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$548,543TotalAmt
Program Services$169,276ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$375,105ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$4,162FundraisingAmt

Royalties RoyaltiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$448,417TotalAmt
Program Services$448,417ProgramServicesAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,463,059TotalAmt
Program Services$1,643,354ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$799,691ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$20,014FundraisingAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$424,572TotalAmt
Program Services$22,253ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$398,313ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$4,006FundraisingAmt

Pymt Travel Entrtnmnt Pub Ofcl PymtTravelEntrtnmntPubOfclGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$22,898TotalAmt
Program Services$6,241ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$16,465ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$192FundraisingAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$461TotalAmt
Management And General$456ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$5FundraisingAmt

Payments To Affiliates PaymentsToAffiliatesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$260,487TotalAmt
Program Services$118,749ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$141,738ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmtProgram ServicesProgramServicesAmtManagement And GeneralManagementAndGeneralAmt
COLLABORATIVE PROGRAMS$43,003,574$43,003,574
LABORATORY EXPENSES$1,934,355$1,895,131$39,224
PATIENT AGENT FEES$648,000$648,000
RESEARCH EQUIPMENT$448,152$448,152

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$4,078TotalAmt
Program Services-$110,610ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$114,688ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$71,353,269TotalAmt
Program Services$58,808,134ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$12,211,436ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$333,699FundraisingAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$11,132,200BOYAmt
EOY$3,717,893EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$30,981BOYAmt
EOY$3,000,722EOYAmt

Pledges And Grants Receivable PledgesAndGrantsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$912,965BOYAmt
EOY$361,800EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$69,797BOYAmt
EOY$4,462,225EOYAmt

Receivables From Officers Etc ReceivablesFromOfficersEtcGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Rcvbl From Disqualified Prsn RcvblFromDisqualifiedPrsnGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Oth Notes Loans Receivable Net OthNotesLoansReceivableNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$523,554BOYAmt
EOY$520,000EOYAmt

Inventories For Sale Or Use InventoriesForSaleOrUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$784,060BOYAmt
EOY$484,684EOYAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$33BOYAmt
EOY$33EOYAmt

Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$5,405,283BOYAmt
EOY$5,290,937EOYAmt

Investments Program Related InvestmentsProgramRelatedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Intangible Assets IntangibleAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,724,867BOYAmt
EOY$1,413,830EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$21,583,740BOYAmt
EOY$19,252,124EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$15,643,897BOYAmt
EOY$15,401,322EOYAmt

Grants Payable GrantsPayableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Deferred Revenue DeferredRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,144,290BOYAmt
EOY$13,628EOYAmt

Tax Exempt Bond Liabilities TaxExemptBondLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Escrow Account Liability EscrowAccountLiabilityGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Loans From Officers Directors LoansFromOfficersDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Unsecured Notes Loans Payable UnsecuredNotesLoansPayableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,765,522BOYAmt
EOY$1,153,702EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$19,553,709BOYAmt
EOY$16,568,652EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Org Does Not Follow FASB117Yes (X)OrgDoesNotFollowFASB117Ind

Cap Stk Tr Prin Current Funds CapStkTrPrinCurrentFundsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$59,542BOYAmt
EOY$59,542EOYAmt

Pd In Cap Srpls Land Bldg Eqp Fund PdInCapSrplsLandBldgEqpFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Rtn Earn Endowment Incm Oth Fnds RtnEarnEndowmentIncmOthFndsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,970,489BOYAmt
EOY$2,623,930EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,030,031BOYAmt
EOY$2,683,472EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$21,583,740BOYAmt
EOY$19,252,124EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part XIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$1,540,683ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst-$114,999NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets-$772,243OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Info In Schedule O Part XIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIIInd
Method Of Accounting OtherYes (X)MethodOfAccountingOtherInd
Accountant Compile Or ReviewfalseAccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (true)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Consol And Sep Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)ConsolAndSepBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (true)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit RequiredYes (true)FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd
Federal Grant Audit PerformedYes (true)FederalGrantAuditPerformedInd

Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Medical Research OrganizationYes (X)MedicalResearchOrganizationInd

Hospital Name And Address HospitalNameAndAddressGrp (8 entries)

CityCityNmCountryCountryCdState AbbreviationStateAbbreviationCd
UNIVERSITY HOSPITAL CENTRE OF CANTON VAUD
LausanneSZ
UNIVERSITY CLINIC OF ST LUC
BrusselsBE
OXFORD UNIVERSITY HOSPITAL
OxfordUK
UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA SCHOOL OF MEDICINE
SAN DIEGOCA
RWJ BARNABAS HEALTH
PRINCETONNJ
RUTGERS CANCER INSTITUTE OF NEW JERSEY
NEW BRUNSWICKNJ
WEILL CORNELL MEDICAL COLLEGE
NEW YORKNY
JOHNS HOPKINS UNIVERSITY
BALTIMOREMD

Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB

Contributor Information ContributorInformationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
ContributorRESTRICTEDContributorNum

Contributor Business Name ContributorBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1RESTRICTEDBusinessNameLine1

Contributor US Address ContributorUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1RESTRICTEDAddressLine1
Address Line2RESTRICTEDAddressLine2
CityRESTRICTEDCity
StateRESTRICTEDState
ZIP CodeRESTRICTEDZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total ContributionsRESTRICTEDTotalContributionsAmt

Schedule C IRS990ScheduleC

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Grassroots LobbyingTotalGrassrootsLobbyingGrp
Total Direct LobbyingTotalDirectLobbyingGrp
Total Lobbying ExpendTotalLobbyingExpendGrp

Other Exempt Purpose Expend OtherExemptPurposeExpendGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Filing Organizations Total$71,353,269FilingOrganizationsTotalAmt

Total Exempt Purpose Expend TotalExemptPurposeExpendGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Filing Organizations Total$71,353,269FilingOrganizationsTotalAmt

Lobbying Nontaxable Amount LobbyingNontaxableAmountGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Filing Organizations Total$1,000,000FilingOrganizationsTotalAmt

Grassroots Nontaxable GrassrootsNontaxableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Filing Organizations Total$250,000FilingOrganizationsTotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tot Lbbyng Grassroot Mns Non TxTotLbbyngGrassrootMnsNonTxGrp
Tot Lbby Expend Mns Lbbyng Non TxTotLbbyExpendMnsLbbyngNonTxGrp

Avg Lobbying Nontaxable Amount AvgLobbyingNontaxableAmountGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Year Minus3$1,000,000CurrentYearMinus3Amt
Current Year Minus2$1,000,000CurrentYearMinus2Amt
Current Year Minus1$1,000,000CurrentYearMinus1Amt
Current Year$1,000,000CurrentYearAmt
Total$4,000,000TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Lobbying Ceiling$6,000,000LobbyingCeilingAmt

Avg Grassroots Nontaxable AvgGrassrootsNontaxableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Year Minus3$250,000CurrentYearMinus3Amt
Current Year Minus2$250,000CurrentYearMinus2Amt
Current Year Minus1$250,000CurrentYearMinus1Amt
Current Year$250,000CurrentYearAmt
Total$1,000,000TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grassroots Ceiling$1,500,000GrassrootsCeilingAmt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSCHEDULE C, PART II-AFormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationTHE ORGANIZATION MADE NO LOBBYING EXPENDITURES IN 2023. THEREFORE SCHEDULE C PART II-A, LINES 1A, 1B, 2C, AND 2F ARE ZERO.ExplanationTxt

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Art Public Exhibition AmountsArtPublicExhibitionAmountsGrp
Held Works ArtHeldWorksArtGrp
CY Minus3 Yr Endwmt FundCYMinus3YrEndwmtFundGrp
CY Minus4 Yr Endwmt FundCYMinus4YrEndwmtFundGrp
LandLandGrp
BuildingsBuildingsGrp
Leasehold ImprovementsLeaseholdImprovementsGrp
EquipmentEquipmentGrp
Other Land BuildingsOtherLandBuildingsGrp
Financial DerivativesFinancialDerivativesGrp
Closely Held Equity InterestsCloselyHeldEquityInterestsGrp

Other Securities OtherSecuritiesGrp (8 entries)

DescDescBook ValueBookValueAmtMethod ValuationMethodValuationCd
UNIVERSE TANKSHIPS, INC, SHARE$5,103,185C
VACCITECH ONCOLOGY LIMITED$185,000C
LIFE SCIENCES PHARMA. INC., SH$1,457C
RECEPTA INC., SHARES$327C
ARIMA GENOMICS, INC$210C
LUDWIG TECHNOLOGIES, INC SHARE$100C
EPIGENOME TECHNOLOGIES, INC$5C
PILATUS BIOSCIENCES, INC.$653C
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Securities$5,290,937TotalBookValueSecuritiesAmt

Other Assets Org OtherAssetsOrgGrp (5 entries)

DescDescBook ValueBookValueAmt
PENSION PLAN 457B$1,153,702
DEPOSITS$89,261
EXPENSE ADVANCES STAFF$661
MISCELLANEOUS$70,206
PROGRAM COST TO BE REFUNDED$100,000
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Other Assets$1,413,830TotalBookValueOtherAssetsAmt
Federal Income Tax Liability$0FederalIncomeTaxLiabilityAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescPENSION PLAN 457B PAYABLEDesc
Amt$1,153,702Amt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$1,153,702TotalLiabilityAmt
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$72,727,160TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Net Unrealized Gains Invst-$114,999NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt
Other Revenue-$51,793OtherRevenueAmt
Revenue Not Reported-$166,792RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$72,893,952RevenueSubtotalAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$72,893,952TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$72,073,719TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Losses Reported$720,450LossesReportedAmt
Expenses Not Reported$720,450ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$71,353,269ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$71,353,269TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSCHEDULE D, PART XI, LINE 2DFormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationRecovery of prior year expenses $ (51,793)ExplanationTxt

Schedule F IRS990ScheduleF

Account Activities Outside US AccountActivitiesOutsideUSGrp (6 entries)

RegionRegionTxtOfficesOfficesCntEmployeeEmployeeCntType Of Activities ConductedTypeOfActivitiesConductedTxtSpecific Services ProvidedSpecificServicesProvidedTxtRegion Total ExpendituresRegionTotalExpendituresAmt
Europe (Including Iceland and Greenland)231Program ServicesMedical Research$44,948,367
Europe (Including Iceland and Greenland)137Program ServicesMANAGEMENT$2,392,481
Europe (Including Iceland and Greenland)00Investments$185,000
East Asia and the Pacific06Program ServicesMEDICAL RESEARCH$1,020,795
Russia and the Newly Independent States00Program ServicesMEDICAL RESEARCH$90
South America01Program ServicesMEDICAL RESEARCH$37,951
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Subtotal Offices3SubtotalOfficesCnt
Subtotal Employees75SubtotalEmployeesCnt
Total Office3TotalOfficeCnt
Total Employee75TotalEmployeeCnt
Subtotal Spent$48,584,684SubtotalSpentAmt
Total Spent$48,584,684TotalSpentAmt
Transfer To Foreign CorpfalseTransferToForeignCorpInd
Interest In Foreign TrustfalseInterestInForeignTrustInd
Foreign Corp OwnershipYes (true)ForeignCorpOwnershipInd
Passive Foreign Investmest CofalsePassiveForeignInvestmestCoInd
Foreign PartnershipfalseForeignPartnershipInd
Boycott CountriesfalseBoycottCountriesInd

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceFORM 990, SCHEDULE F, PART I, LINE 3FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationRefer to Schedule O Disclosure for Part IV, Line 12A and Part XII, Line 1.ExplanationTxt

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Compensation CommitteeYes (X)CompensationCommitteeInd
Independent ConsultantYes (X)IndependentConsultantInd
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance PaymentfalseSeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr PlanYes (true)SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp ArrngmfalseEquityBasedCompArrngmInd
Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng OrgfalseCompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd On Rev Related OrgsfalseCompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng OrgfalseCompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd OrgsfalseCompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd
Any Non Fixed PaymentsfalseAnyNonFixedPaymentsInd
Initial Contract ExceptionfalseInitialContractExceptionInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (13 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
Edward A McDermott Jr
Director, President$0$951,807$0$0$0$0$0$53,026$0$44,188$0$1,049,021$0$0
Dr Chi Van Dang
Director, Scientific Director$957,375$0$0$0$93,928$0$34,650$0$42,996$0$1,128,949$0$0$0
John L Notter
Director, Board Chairperson$28,701$127,788$0$0$0$0$0$0$0$0$28,701$127,788$0$0
Thomas Baenninger
Chief Financial Officer$512,250$0$0$0$0$0$99,238$0$13,474$0$624,962$0$0$0
Dr Jonathan Skipper
Exec Vice-Pres Tech Develop.$729,137$0$0$0$61,909$0$34,650$0$44,135$0$869,831$0$0$0
George Coukos
Branch Director$403,977$0$0$0$0$0$81,996$0$4,007$0$489,980$0$0$0
Dr Richard Kolodner
Group Leader$414,005$0$0$0$2,472$0$34,660$0$21,922$0$473,059$0$0$0
Dr Bing Ren
Group Leader$398,775$0$0$0$2,497$0$45,375$0$28,116$0$474,763$0$0$0
Xin Lu
Branch Director$382,032$0$0$0$0$0$51,267$0$0$0$433,299$0$0$0
Patrice Morin
Deputy Scient. Dir.$313,974$0$0$0$0$0$33,206$0$42,550$0$389,730$0$0$0
Richard White
Group Leader$224,394$0$0$0$247,647$0$105,307$0$0$0$577,348$0$0$0
Yang Shi
Group Leader$438,227$0$0$0$0$0$59,255$0$0$0$497,482$0$0$0
Andrew Shiau
Group Leader$359,771$0$0$0$1,966$0$30,000$0$32,886$0$424,623$0$0$0

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (3 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Schedule J, Part I, Line 3Edward A. McDermott Jr. is employed by the Ludwig Group, Inc. which provides management and administrative services to the Ludwig Institute for Cancer Research Ltd, LICR Fund, Inc., and other organizations. The Ludwig Institute is invoiced by the Ludwig Group, Inc. for the provision of services based on the time records maintained by the Ludwig Group, Inc. The total level of compensation for Edward A. McDermott Jr. which is paid by the Ludwig Group, Inc. under an employment agreement, is set and approved by the compensation committee of the Ludwig Institute. In setting the level of compensation, the Ludwig Institute's compensation committee arranges for an independent compensation survey.
Schedule J, Part I, Line 4bEdward A. McDermott Jr. participated in a supplemental non qualified retirement plan maintained by the Ludwig Group, Inc., a related organization of the Institute. The purpose of the Ludwig Group, Inc.'s supplemental pension plan is to provide certain supplemental benefits to certain select management or highly compensated employees who are participants in the employee pension plan of the Ludwig Group, Inc. All benefits payable under the plan, which is intended to constitute both an unfunded excess benefit plan under section 3(36) of title I of the employee retirement income security act of 1974, as amended, ("ERISA"), and a non qualified, unfunded deferred compensation plan for a select group of management or highly compensated employees under ERISA, are payable from the general assets of the Ludwig Group, Inc. The Ludwig Group, Inc. may establish and fund a trust in order to aid it in providing benefits due under the plan. Within the amount disclosed on Part VII, Section A, Line 1a, Column F, USD 41,776 is attributable to this plan for Edward A. McDermott Jr.
Schedule J, Part II, Column BColumn (B) includes compensation paid outside the U.S. to non-U.S. persons for which no Form W-2 or 1099-MISC has been issued.

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (14 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Form 990, Part III - Statement of program service accomplishmentsLine 4a - Laboratory Research leading to clinical applications The Ludwig Institute for Cancer Research Ltd was founded in 1971 as an international not-for-profit research institute dedicated to improving the understanding, prevention, detection and treatment of cancer. The Ludwig Institute's scientists conduct innovative basic research and facilitate the translation of promising discoveries related to cancer into applications for human benefit. Making meaningful advances that will ultimately transform care for cancer patients is central to the Ludwig Institute's mission. The Ludwig Institute engages leading scientists and clinicians in an integrated laboratory and clinical research effort to confront the global challenge of cancer. All laboratory research financed by the Ludwig Institute is carried out by its in-house research staff or through research collaborations involving Institute staff and external investigators. The Ludwig Institute has a staff of around 481 full time equivalents scientists, clinicians and support personnel as of December 31, 2023, located in four countries and focused on multiple aspects of cancer research. More than 95% of the total cost of the Ludwig Institute is funded by own resources. In addition to self-generated income from intellectual property, a significant amount is received from the LICR Fund, Inc., a Delaware supporting organization dedicated to maintaining an investment portfolio for this purpose. This funding setup gives Ludwig Institute investigators the freedom to tackle innovative long-term research and encourages and enables multidisciplinary teams of investigators to address significant and relatively complex challenges posed by cancer. The research activities of the Ludwig Institute, together with those of the Ludwig Centers established at six U.S. academic institutions with funding from a trust under the will of Daniel K. Ludwig are designated collectively as "Ludwig Cancer Research," an international community of distinguished scientists dedicated to studying cancer and advancing its prevention, diagnosis and treatment. The development, protection and licensing of intellectual property generated by research and technology development is fundamental to the Ludwig Institute's commitment to translate its discoveries for patient benefit. Income from these activities financed research expenditures amounting to USD 2.6 million in 2023. The Ludwig Institute also manages its IP and patents for public benefit. This means that the IP is made freely available to the academic research community. In 2023, Ludwig Institute Investigators published 251 primary research articles and 61 reviews, book chapters and commentaries. Progress was made in the study of tumor biology, cancer genomics, cancer prevention, the tumor micro-environment and tumor immunology. In 2023, five new U.S. patents and two new European patents were issued. Eight new U.S. applications and a further nine new international patent applications were also filed.
Form 990, Part III - Statement of program service accomplishmentsLine 4B - Clinical Research The analysis of patient samples and evaluation of potential therapies in trials is essential to understanding cancer and exploring the therapeutic potential of new discoveries. Recognizing this, the Ludwig Institute takes responsibility for the discovery continuum from the laboratory to the early phase clinical trials. The Ludwig Institute believes that the same systematic investigative rigor that yielded the laboratory discovery in the first place should be applied in early-phase clinical trials to assess a discovery's therapeutic potential. Over the past few years, the Institute has moved away from centrally managed Ludwig-sponsored clinical trials overseen by a dedicated clinical trials management team in New York, in favor of having its clinical research implemented through locally sponsored, investigator-initiated clinical trials managed through its branch, collaborating institutions, or through non-profit clinical trial networks. The Ludwig Institute has licensing agreements with biotechnology and pharmaceutical companies that allow it to obtain proprietary investigational reagents and evaluate whether these agents might complement the therapeutic potential of the Ludwig Institute's own discoveries. The Ludwig Institute's interactions with industry are designed to protect its tax-exempt status to ensure that its discoveries are actively pursued as prognostic, diagnostic or therapeutic agents for human benefit.
Form 990, Part IV - Checklist of required schedulesLine 12A and Part XII - Financial statements and reporting, Line 1 The Ludwig Institute prepared consolidated financial statements in accordance with Swiss GAAP FER. The Ludwig Institute prepared statutory financial statements in accordance with the Swiss Code of Obligations. The Ludwig Institute prepared branch financial statements in accordance with the Swiss Code of Obligations for the following branches: Oxford (United Kingdom) and San Diego (United States). The submitted return 990 is based on the statutory financial statements in accordance with the Swiss code of Obligations. The following accounting principles apply: - Contributions are accounted for on the modified cash basis - Interest is accounted for on the accrual basis - External funding received from any outside source, whether of a cash or a non-cash nature is recorded in the Ludwig Institute's books of account on receipt. External funding received is taken to income when the corresponding expenditure is incurred. Any unspent income is deferred to future accounting periods. External funding pledged, but not received where expenditure has incurred, is taken into account as income and is accounted for as a grants receivable pending receipt. - License fees and royalties are accounted for on the modified cash basis. - Acquisition costs for research equipment, costs for leasehold improvements and costs for other assets are fully expensed in the year of acquisition. The Ludwig Institute prepared financial statements in accordance with office of management and budget circular A-133 for the San Diego branch (United States). The Ludwig Institute maintains accounting ledgers for the head office / administration and the research locations of Oxford and San Diego. Accounting ledgers are maintained in USD. When any expenditure / income or balance sheet transactions are recorded in the accounts, a non-USD currency is converted into USD reporting currency using the monthly exchange rate of the transaction month as published by the Swiss federal tax administration.
Form 990, Part VI - Governance, management and disclosureSection A - Governing body and management, Line 2 Edward A. McDermott Jr., director and officer of the Ludwig Institute for Cancer Research Ltd, and Dr. Jonathan Skipper, officer of the Ludwig Institute for Cancer Research Ltd, also serve as officers and board members of Ludwig Technologies, Inc. Each of the members of the board of directors of the Ludwig Institute is also a member of the board of directors of the LICR Fund, Inc.
Form 990, Part VI - Governance, management and disclosureSection A - Governing body and management, Line 3 The Ludwig Group, Inc., a 100% subsidiary of the Ludwig Institute for Cancer Research Ltd, provides management and administrative services to the Ludwig Institute and related organizations, including personnel services and related facilities and equipment support, under formal service agreements with them. Edward A. McDermott Jr, director and president of the Ludwig Institute, is employed and compensated by the Ludwig Group, Inc. His compensation listed on the form 990, part VII is paid by the Ludwig Group, Inc. The Institute's share of Edward A. McDermott Jr's services are billed to the Ludwig Institute by The Ludwig Group, Inc.
Form 990, Part VI - Governance, management and disclosureSection A - Governing body and management, Line 6 The Ludwig Institute is organized as a Swiss not-for-profit organization. 49 of the shares are held by the trustees of the LICR Charitable trust, a Bermuda trust recognized by the IRS as an exempt supporting organization of the Ludwig Institute under section 501(c)(3) and 509(a)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code, whose primary purpose is to administer, devote and apply its assets to further the charitable purposes of the Ludwig Institute. Pursuant to the provisions of the Ludwig Institute's statutes, the members of the board of directors are no longer required to be shareholders. Four of the trustees of the LICR Charitable Trust are members of the Institute board of directors. One of the four trustees of the LICR Charitable Trust is also an officer of the Ludwig Institute. One share is held by the Swiss confederation.
Form 990, Part VI - Governance, Management and disclosureSection A - Governing body and management, Line 7a The statutes of the Ludwig Institute confer on its shareholders the authority to elect and remove members of the board of directors and participate in proceedings, deliberations elections and votes at shareholder meetings. The shares do not confer proprietary rights or any entitlement to any share of the Ludwig Institute's net income or capital or any other asset owned or managed by the Ludwig Institute. The Ludwig Institute's statutes prohibit the payment of any dividends or distribution of income or capital to the shareholders.
Form 990, Part VI - Governance, management and disclosureSection A - Governing body and management, Line 7b The shareholders have the power to grant discharge to the members of the board of directors and the executive officers at the shareholders' annual meeting for their conduct of business. The annual financial statements are submitted to the shareholders by the board of directors for shareholder approval. The shareholders have the right to make resolutions in respect of mergers, dissolutions or liquidation of the company and of any change of the company's registered office.
Form 990, Part VI - Governance, management and disclosureSection B - Policies, Line 11B The Ludwig Institute's form 990 is reviewed at several levels. The Ludwig Institute's Zurich office senior staff, the vice president, finance, located in New York and external tax counsel review the draft form 990. Following these reviews, the chairperson of the audit committee and the president of the Ludwig Institute review the draft return prior to presenting it to the audit committee for further review. The final draft of form 990 is then presented to the Ludwig Institute's board of directors prior to its submission to the Internal Revenue Service.
Form 990, Part VI - Governance, management and disclosureSection B - Policies, Line 12c The Ludwig Institute has two conflict of interest policies - one for the Board members, Officers and Key Persons, and one for senior staff. Annually all members of the Board of Directors, Officers, Key Persons and senior staff are required to disclose any conflicts of interest. Board members, officers and key persons complete a conflict of interest questionnaire. Senior staff members complete a confidential disclosure form. The completed questionnaires of the members of the Board of Directors, Officers and Key Persons are reviewed by the compliance and risk officer. Those containing any disclosures or potential conflicts of interest are referred to the chairperson of the audit committee and, if appropriate, to the audit committee. At the same time it is confirmed to the audit committee chairperson that the other individuals had not reported any disclosures or potential conflicts of interest. Following this annual disclosure, if a conflict of interest is subsequently deemed to arise, it is the duty of the individual with the conflict to disclose it. For all cases where a conflict of interest exists, the matter is recorded in the minutes of the meeting of the audit committee or the board. Where the conflict concerns any board or committee member the individual(s) is (are) not permitted to participate in any vote or deliberation on the matter nor be counted in determining the existence of a quorum for the purposes of any action of the board or committee considering the matter. The annual disclosures by senior staff are reviewed by senior management and escalated as necessary. In addition, during the year, prior to involvement in activities that could be a potential or perceived conflict or interest, individuals are required to provide a written description of such activities to a committee of disinterested officers. Activities determined to be a conflict of interest that are not manageable may not be undertaken by the individual. For activities determined to be a conflict of interest that are manageable, details will be submitted to the audit committee of the Institute board of directors for approval.
Form 990, Part VI - Governance, management and disclosureSection B - Policies, Line 15 The compensation of the members of the board of directors, the executive officers and former directors and officers who are retained as employees or consultants of the Ludwig Institute is subject to review by the Ludwig Institute's compensation committee, which consists of independent members of the board. The compensation reviewed includes the compensation of the chief executive officer, Edward A. McDermott Jr., who is employed by Ludwig Group, Inc., which provides management services to the Ludwig Institute, the LICR Fund and other organizations. Independent compensation consultants provide comparability surveys to the committee. Organizations selected for peer analysis in the comparability surveys are intended to capture competitor organizations of similar size, revenue /operating budget and industry relevance to the Ludwig Institute. The studies last took place in Fall 2021 and are conducted approximately every three years. Minutes of the review and decisions made by the compensation committee are kept and, once approved by the committee at a subsequent meeting, are signed by the chairperson and the secretary to the board. The compensation committee's decisions are reported to the board of directors and recorded in the minutes of the board meetings, which are kept for all board meetings. Once approved by the board at a subsequent meeting, the minutes of meetings are signed by the chairperson and the secretary to the board.
Form 990, Part VI - Governance, management and disclosureSection C - Disclosure, Line 19 The annual research highlights, the annual financial reports and the governing documents are available on the website www.ludwigcancerresearch.org under Disclosures and on request at the administrative offices in New York and Zurich, Switzerland.
Form 990, Part VII - Compensation of officers, directors, key employeesSection A - Officers, directors, trustees, key employees and highest compensated employees, Line 1a As part of the annual preparation of the form 990, all board of directors and executive officers, as well as key employees and highest compensated employees, provide an estimate of hours worked for the Ludwig Institute and the related organizations (see part VII for hours devoted to related organizations). The related organizations report the respective compensation figures to the Ludwig Institute and provide copies of the submitted W-2 returns / 1099 returns.
Form 990, Part XI - Reconciliation of net assets, Line 9Other changes in net assets Net loss on foreign exchange due to operations $ (1,165,530) Net foreign exchange gain on capital and reserve $ 445,080 Recovery of prior year expenses $ (51,793) ----------- NET LOSS $ (772,243)

Schedule R IRS990ScheduleR

Id Related Tax Exempt Org IdRelatedTaxExemptOrgGrp (2 entries)

Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityUSAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPUSAddress/ZIPCdEINEINPrimary ActivitiesPrimaryActivitiesTxtLegal Domicile StateLegalDomicileStateCdExempt Code SectionExemptCodeSectionTxtPublic Charity StatusPublicCharityStatusTxtBusiness Name Line1DirectControllingEntityName/BusinessNameLine1TxtControlled OrganizationControlledOrganizationInd
LICR Fund Inc
600 Third Avenue 32nd FloorNew YorkNY10016133573053See Part VIIDE501(C)(3)12A - ILudwig InstYes (true)
LICR Charitable Trust
600 Third Avenue 32nd FloorNew YorkNY10016986039547See Part VIINY501(C)(3)12B - IINonefalse

Id Related Org Txbl Corp Tr IdRelatedOrgTxblCorpTrGrp (3 entries)

Address Line1ForeignAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityForeignAddress/CityNmCountryForeignAddress/CountryCdForeign PostalForeignAddress/ForeignPostalCdEINEINPrimary ActivitiesPrimaryActivitiesTxtLegal Domicile Foreign CountryLegalDomicileForeignCountryCdBusiness Name Line1DirectControllingEntityName/BusinessNameLine1TxtEntity TypeEntityTypeTxtShare Of Total IncomeShareOfTotalIncomeAmtShare Of EOY AssetsShareOfEOYAssetsAmtOwnershipOwnershipPctControlled OrganizationControlledOrganizationIndAddress Line1USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityUSAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPUSAddress/ZIPCdLegal Domicile StateLegalDomicileStateCd
Universe Tankships Inc UTI
Trust Complex Ajeltake IS AjeltakRd MajuroRMMH96960131603827HoldingRMLudwig InstC Corp$8,109,350$27,348,9511.00000Yes (true)
The Ludwig Group Inc
132808920Admin serviceUTIC Corp$8,534,522$18,464,3261.00000Yes (true)600 Third Avenue 32nd FloorNew YorkNY10016DE
Ludwig Technologies Inc
273166967Holding CoLudwig InstC Corp$0$2911.00000Yes (true)600 Third Avenue 32nd FloorNew YorkNY10016DE
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Receipt Of Int Annts Rnts RyltsfalseReceiptOfIntAnntsRntsRyltsInd
Gift Grnt Or Cap Contri To Oth OrgfalseGiftGrntOrCapContriToOthOrgInd
Gift Grnt Cap Contri From Oth OrgYes (true)GiftGrntCapContriFromOthOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees To Other OrgfalseLoansOrGuaranteesToOtherOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees From Oth OrgfalseLoansOrGuaranteesFromOthOrgInd
Asset Sale To Other OrgfalseAssetSaleToOtherOrgInd
Asset Purchase From Other OrgfalseAssetPurchaseFromOtherOrgInd
Asset ExchangefalseAssetExchangeInd
Rental Of Facilities To Oth OrgfalseRentalOfFacilitiesToOthOrgInd
Rental Of Fclts From Oth OrgfalseRentalOfFcltsFromOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services For Oth OrgfalsePerformOfServicesForOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services By Other OrgYes (true)PerformOfServicesByOtherOrgInd
Sharing Of FacilitiesYes (true)SharingOfFacilitiesInd
Paid Employees SharingfalsePaidEmployeesSharingInd
Reimbursement Paid To Other OrgYes (true)ReimbursementPaidToOtherOrgInd
Reimbursement Paid By Other OrgYes (true)ReimbursementPaidByOtherOrgInd
Transfer To Other OrgfalseTransferToOtherOrgInd
Transfer From Other OrgfalseTransferFromOtherOrgInd

Transactions Related Org TransactionsRelatedOrgGrp (4 entries)

Transaction TypeTransactionTypeTxtInvolvedInvolvedAmtMethod Of Amount DeterminationMethodOfAmountDeterminationTxt
LICR Fund Inc
c$69,000,000CASH
The Ludwig Group Inc
m$2,160,086INVOICE AMOUNTS
The Ludwig Group Inc
n$632,831INVOICE AMOUNTS
The Ludwig Group Inc
p$861,359INVOICE AMOUNTS

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePart II, Column 2B - Description of main activity related tax exempt orgFormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationTax exempt organizations LICR Fund, Inc. is a Delaware not-for-profit corporation and a supporting organization of the Ludwig Institute, which provides financial support for the Ludwig Institute's conduct of medical research activities. LICR Charitable Trust is a Bermudian trust whose mission is to maintain oversight and control of the management of the Ludwig Institute, including election of the Institute's board of directors.ExplanationTxt

Comments

Anonymous: no account or email. Up to 2,000 characters, at most one link. Comments are checked automatically; some wait for review.