BOSTON CHILDRENS HEART FOUNDATION: Form 990, tax year 2022

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
BOSTON CHILDRENS HEART FOUNDATION (EIN 04-2790699)
Tax period
2022-10-01 to 2023-09-30
Filed
2024-08-12
IRS object ID
202442259349300709
Schema version
2022v5.0
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2024-08-12T07:54:00-05:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2023-09-30TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN010494526PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Baker Newman & Noyes LLCBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1280 Fore StreetAddressLine1Txt
CityPortlandCityNm
State AbbreviationMEStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP04101ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2022-10-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN042790699EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Boston Children's Heart Foundation IncBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlBOSTBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone6173554895PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1300 Longwood Avenue PAV 2AddressLine1Txt
CityBostonCityNm
State AbbreviationMAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP02115ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonTal Geva MDPersonNm
Person TitlePresidentPersonTitleTxt
Phone6173554895PhoneNum
Signature2024-08-09SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid Preparer0DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
IRS Responsible Prty Info CurrYes (1)IRSResponsiblePrtyInfoCurrInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonNicholas E PortoPreparerPersonNm
PTINP01310283PTIN
Phone8002447444PhoneNum
Preparation2024-08-09PreparationDt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2022TaxYr
Build TS2024-08-08 14:25:15ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerTal Geva MDPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1300 Longwood Avenue PAV 2AddressLine1Txt
CityBostonCityNm
State AbbreviationMAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP02115ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$78,694,629GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For Affiliates0GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501c3Yes (X)Organization501c3Ind
Website AddressN/AWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1983FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateMALegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionThe Foundation provides an extensive range of evaluation services for patients (see Schedule O) with heart diseases, medical research, and educational services to Boston Children's Hospital and Harvard Medical School. The Foundation also provides care for patients in need of cardiology services, regardless of their ability to pay, as well as providing community based services.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body9VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent0VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee95TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers0TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$28,244TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$4,184NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$1,102,000PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$603,000CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$67,376,526PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$77,015,658CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$63,659PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$122,524CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$1,657,738PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$953,447CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$70,199,923PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$78,694,629CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$2,842,440PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$160,209CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$0PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$52,811,328PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$58,195,593CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$0CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$9,518,103PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$14,295,854CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$65,171,871PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$72,651,656CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$5,028,051PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$6,042,973CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$119,898,157TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$142,002,293TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$20,262,709TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$25,426,057TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$99,635,448NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$116,576,236NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
Info In Schedule O Part IIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartIIIInd
MissionThe Foundation provides cardiology services primarily to patients at Boston Children's Hospital and at satellite locations. The Foundation carries on and promotes basic and applied medical research and education in the field of cardiology by teaching (see Schedule O) students and other medical and scientific personnel. The Foundation also provides care for patients regardless of their ability to pay.MissionDesc
Significant New Program Srvc0SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant Change0SignificantChangeInd
Expense$68,102,353ExpenseAmt
Grant$160,209GrantAmt
Revenue$75,879,585RevenueAmt
DescThe Foundation provides cardiology services primarily to patients at Boston Children's Hospital and at satellite locations. The Foundation may charge for patient care and other medical services, provided that any net income be used for the charitable, scientific, and educational purposes for which the Foundation was created. The Foundation also provides care for patients regardless of their ability to pay, as well as providing hospital and community based services that are either unavailable or limited elsewhere in the community.Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty2 ProgSrvcAccomActy2Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Expense$1,019,632ExpenseAmt
Revenue$1,136,073RevenueAmt
DescThe Foundation receives income from Boston Children's Hospital for providing administration, supervision, and teaching services. The Foundation carries on and promotes basic and applied medical research and education in the field of cardiology by teaching students and other medical and scientific personnel; by providing or supplementing income to research personnel through fellowships, research grants, and stipends; and by giving lectures and publishing information concerning conditions and research results in the field of pediatric cardiology in order to educate the general public and the medical profession.Desc
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Expenses$69,121,985TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt
Described In Section501c3Yes (1)DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B RequiredYes (1)ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign Acty0PoliticalCampaignActyInd
Lobbying Activities0LobbyingActivitiesInd
Subject To Proxy Tax0SubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised Fund0DonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation Easements0ConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of Art0CollectionsOfArtInd
Credit Counseling0CreditCounselingInd
Donor Rstr Or Quasi EndowmentsYes (1)DonorRstrOrQuasiEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (1)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other SecYes (1)ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related Invst0ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other AssetsYes (1)ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (1)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (1)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl Stmt0IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School Operating0SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign Office0ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign Activities0ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To Org0MoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To Individuals0MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional Fundraising0ProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising Activities0FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming Activities0GamingActivitiesInd
Operate Hospital0OperateHospitalInd
Grants To OrganizationsYes (1)GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To Individuals0GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (1)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt Bonds0TaxExemptBondsInd
Engaged In Excess Benefit Trans0EngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd
PY Excess Benefit Trans0PYExcessBenefitTransInd
Loan OutstandingYes (1)LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related Person0GrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org Mem0BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam Mem0BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With35 Ctrl Ent0BusinessRlnWith35CtrlEntInd
Deductible Non Cash Contri0DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art Contribution0DeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate Operations0TerminateOperationsInd
Partial Liquidation0PartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded Entity0DisregardedEntityInd
Related EntityYes (1)RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl Ent0RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd Org0TrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd
Activities Conducted Prtshp0ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (1)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document1IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (1)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee95EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (1)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over LimitYes (1)UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Form990 T FiledYes (1)Form990TFiledInd
Foreign Financial Account0ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans0ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party Notification0TaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible Contributions0NondeductibleContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo Contributions0QuidProQuoContributionsInd
Form8282 Property Disposed Of0Form8282PropertyDisposedOfInd
Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0RcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0PayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Indoor Tanning Services0IndoorTanningServicesInd
Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht Pymt0SubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd
Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst Inc0SubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members9GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member0IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business Rln0FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt DutiesYes (1)DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org Documents0ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or Misuse0MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or StockholdersYes (1)MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersYes (1)ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To ApprovaYes (1)DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (1)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (1)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing Address0OfficerMailingAddressInd
Local Chapters0LocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (1)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (1)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (1)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (1)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (1)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (1)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (1)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (1)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint Venture0InvestmentInJointVentureInd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldMAStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1John Triedman MDBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Phone6173554895PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1300 Longwood AvenueAddressLine1Txt
CityBostonCityNm
State AbbreviationMAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP02115ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (18 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtAverage Hours Per Week Rltd OrgAverageHoursPerWeekRltdOrgRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtInstitutional TrusteeInstitutionalTrusteeIndKey EmployeeKeyEmployeeIndHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd
Tal Geva MD
President55.005.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$817,695$0$71,682
John Triedman MD
Treasurer60.000.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$529,793$0$85,366
Sarah D de Ferranti MD
Secretary/Clerk60.000.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$433,330$0$115,407
Rahul Rathod MD
Director60.000.00Yes (X)$360,044$0$99,284
David Schidlow MD
Director60.000.00Yes (X)$351,413$0$97,615
Elizabeth DeWitt MD
Director60.000.00Yes (X)$303,379$0$96,656
David Kane MD
Director60.000.00Yes (X)$340,597$0$98,276
Christina VanderPluym MD
Director60.000.00Yes (X)$348,343$0$93,781
Kimberly Mills MD
Director60.000.00Yes (X)$491,101$0$97,086
Physicians Org at CH Inc
Institutional Trustee2.000.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
Jane Newburger MD
Dept. Chief60.000.00$548,626$0$74,850Yes (X)
Ravi Thiagarajan MD
Dept. Chief60.000.00$534,149$0$113,311Yes (X)
Roger E Breitbart MD
Dept. Chief60.000.00$448,137$0$138,350Yes (X)
Edward P Walsh MD
Cardiologist60.000.00$534,545$0$85,366Yes (X)
John Kheir MD
Cardiologist60.000.00$496,356$0$100,424Yes (X)
Kathy J Jenkins MD
Cardiologist60.000.00$508,027$0$51,634Yes (X)
William T Pu MD
Cardiologist60.000.00$499,946$0$119,271Yes (X)
Andrew J Powell MD
Cardiologist60.000.00$494,916$0$118,449Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$8,040,397TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$1,656,808TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K84IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees Listed0FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (1)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other Srcs0CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp

Contractor Name ContractorName

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Boston Medical Center Health SystemBusinessNameLine1Txt

Contractor Address ContractorAddress

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1801 Albany Street 3rd FloorAddressLine1Txt
CityBostonCityNm
State AbbreviationMAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP02119ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
ServicesPediatric ServiceServicesDesc
Compensation$166,774CompensationAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K1CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Related Organizations$603,000RelatedOrganizationsAmt
Total Contributions$603,000TotalContributionsAmt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (4 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Net Patient Service Revenue621300$66,717,459$66,717,459
Clinical and other revenue621990$6,316,647$6,316,647
Research Revenue611710$2,845,479$2,845,479
Admin, Supervision, & Teaching611710$1,136,073$1,136,073
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$77,015,658TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$122,524TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$28,244UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$94,280ExclusionAmt

Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescNon-operating pension gainsDesc
Business900099BusinessCd
Total Revenue Column$953,447TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$953,447ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total$953,447OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$78,694,629TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$77,015,658RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$28,244UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$1,047,727ExclusionAmt

Grants To Domestic Orgs GrantsToDomesticOrgsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$160,209TotalAmt
Program Services$160,209ProgramServicesAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$7,947,201TotalAmt
Program Services$7,947,201ProgramServicesAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$38,182,340TotalAmt
Program Services$37,036,870ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$1,145,470ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$4,961,155TotalAmt
Program Services$4,812,320ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$148,835ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$5,682,368TotalAmt
Program Services$5,511,897ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$170,471ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,422,529TotalAmt
Program Services$1,380,000ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$42,529ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$20,893TotalAmt
Management And General$20,893ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Srvc Invst Mgmnt Fees FeesForSrvcInvstMgmntFeesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$83,322TotalAmt
Management And General$83,322ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,752,920TotalAmt
Program Services$15,354ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$1,737,566ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,793,680TotalAmt
Program Services$1,700,262ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$93,418ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$202,816TotalAmt
Program Services$202,816ProgramServicesAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,662,951TotalAmt
Program Services$1,662,951ProgramServicesAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$26,497TotalAmt
Program Services$26,497ProgramServicesAmt

Pymt Travel Entrtnmnt Pub Ofcl PymtTravelEntrtnmntPubOfclGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$311,783TotalAmt
Program Services$311,783ProgramServicesAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$59,555TotalAmt
Program Services$59,555ProgramServicesAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,195,437TotalAmt
Program Services$1,108,270ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$87,167ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmtProgram ServicesProgramServicesAmt
Billing and collection$2,391,906$2,391,906
PO management services$1,395,470$1,395,470
Net Patient Service Rev$1,334,349$1,334,349
Recruitment expense$1,048,634$1,048,634

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,015,641TotalAmt
Program Services$1,015,641ProgramServicesAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$72,651,656TotalAmt
Program Services$69,121,985ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$3,529,671ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,498,027BOYAmt
EOY$5,795,305EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$4,977,117BOYAmt
EOY$1,237,372EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$8,830,610BOYAmt
EOY$10,185,139EOYAmt

Receivables From Officers Etc ReceivablesFromOfficersEtcGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$57,806BOYAmt
EOY$47,376EOYAmt

Oth Notes Loans Receivable Net OthNotesLoansReceivableNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,258,542BOYAmt
EOY$3,060,771EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$247,970BOYAmt
EOY$304,629EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$349,780LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$345,854LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$63,480BOYAmt
EOY$3,926EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$23,303,610BOYAmt
EOY$25,626,834EOYAmt

Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$61,212,091BOYAmt
EOY$73,875,861EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$15,448,904BOYAmt
EOY$21,865,080EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$119,898,157BOYAmt
EOY$142,002,293EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$4,172,631BOYAmt
EOY$4,508,922EOYAmt

Grants Payable GrantsPayableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,833,330BOYAmt
EOY$166,660EOYAmt

Deferred Revenue DeferredRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$110,884BOYAmt
EOY$117,894EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$14,145,864BOYAmt
EOY$20,632,581EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$20,262,709BOYAmt
EOY$25,426,057EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Organization Follows FASB117Yes (X)OrganizationFollowsFASB117Ind

No Donor Restriction Net Assets NoDonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$97,527,032BOYAmt
EOY$115,328,536EOYAmt

Donor Restriction Net Assets DonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,108,416BOYAmt
EOY$1,247,700EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$99,635,448BOYAmt
EOY$116,576,236EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$119,898,157BOYAmt
EOY$142,002,293EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part XIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$6,042,973ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst$8,084,191NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets$2,813,624OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Info In Schedule O Part XIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIIInd
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or Review0AccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (1)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Consolidated Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)ConsolidatedBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (1)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit Required0FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd

Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Publicly Supported Org509a2Yes (X)PubliclySupportedOrg509a2Ind

Gifts Grants Contris Rcvd509 GiftsGrantsContrisRcvd509Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$5,000CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$1,027,735CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$1,037,805CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$1,102,000CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$603,000CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$3,775,540TotalAmt

Gross Receipts Admissions GrossReceiptsAdmissionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$60,748,228CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$53,272,035CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$67,327,145CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$67,376,526CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$77,015,658CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$325,739,592TotalAmt

Total509 Total509Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$60,753,228CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$54,299,770CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$68,364,950CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$68,478,526CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$77,618,658CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$329,515,132TotalAmt

Amounts Rcvd Dsqlfy Person AmountsRcvdDsqlfyPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Substantial Contributors Amt SubstantialContributorsAmtGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Subst And Dsqlfy Prsns Tot SubstAndDsqlfyPrsnsTotGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Public Support Total509$329,515,132PublicSupportTotal509Amt

Gross Investment Income509 GrossInvestmentIncome509Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$152,467CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$121,916CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$53,483CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$64,660CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$94,280CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$486,806TotalAmt

Post1975 UBTI Post1975UBTIGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years-$17,574CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years-$37,634CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$502CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year-$1,001CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$28,244CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total-$27,463TotalAmt

Investment Income And UBTI InvestmentIncomeAndUBTIGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$134,893CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$84,282CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$53,985CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$63,659CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$122,524CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$459,343TotalAmt

Other Income509 OtherIncome509Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$146,786CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$215,392CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$1,657,738CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$953,447CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$2,973,363TotalAmt

Total Support Calendar Year TotalSupportCalendarYearGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$60,888,121CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$54,530,838CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$68,634,327CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$70,199,923CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$78,694,629CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$332,947,838TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Public Support CY5090.98970PublicSupportCY509Pct
Public Support PY5090.99030PublicSupportPY509Pct
Investment Income CY0.00140InvestmentIncomeCYPct
Investment Income PY0.00220InvestmentIncomePYPct
Thirty Thr Pct Suprt Tests CY509Yes (X)ThirtyThrPctSuprtTestsCY509Ind

Form990 Schedule A Part VI Form990ScheduleAPartVIGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSchedule A, Part III, Line 12, Explanation of Other Income:FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationInsurance Rebate - 2019 Amount: $ 253,940. Non-operating pension losses gains - 2019 Amount: $ -107,154. 2020 Amount: $ 215,392. 2021 Amount: $ 1,657,738. 2022 Amount: $ 953,447.ExplanationTxt

Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB

Contributor Information ContributorInformationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
ContributorRESTRICTEDContributorNum

Contributor Business Name ContributorBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1RESTRICTEDBusinessNameLine1

Contributor US Address ContributorUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1RESTRICTEDAddressLine1
Address Line2RESTRICTEDAddressLine2
CityRESTRICTEDCity
StateRESTRICTEDState
ZIP CodeRESTRICTEDZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total ContributionsRESTRICTEDTotalContributionsAmt

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

CY Endwmt Fund CYEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$2,108,416BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$603,000ContributionsAmt
Other Expenditures$1,463,716OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$1,247,700EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus1 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus1YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$1,588,611BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$1,102,000ContributionsAmt
Other Expenditures$582,195OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$2,108,416EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus2 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus2YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$2,229,994BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$1,037,805ContributionsAmt
Other Expenditures$1,679,188OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$1,588,611EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus3 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus3YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$2,965,772BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$1,027,735ContributionsAmt
Other Expenditures$1,763,513OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$2,229,994EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus4 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus4YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$3,574,714BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Other Expenditures$608,942OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$2,965,772EndYearBalanceAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Board Designated Balance EOY0.00000BoardDesignatedBalanceEOYPct
Prmnnt Endowment Balance EOY0.00000PrmnntEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Term Endowment Balance EOY1.00000TermEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Endowments Held Unrelated Org0EndowmentsHeldUnrelatedOrgInd
Endowments Held Related Org0EndowmentsHeldRelatedOrgInd

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$349,780OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$345,854DepreciationAmt
Book Value$3,926BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$3,926TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Other Securities OtherSecuritiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescInterest in the P.O. Pooled Investment FundDesc
Book Value$73,875,861BookValueAmt
Method ValuationFMethodValuationCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Securities$73,875,861TotalBookValueSecuritiesAmt

Other Assets Org OtherAssetsOrgGrp (5 entries)

DescDescBook ValueBookValueAmt
Due from Boston Children's Hospital$1,329,294
Due from Physicians Organization at Children's Hospital, Inc.$1,881,918
Other Receivables$580,329
Other Assets$3,795,544
Prepaid benefit plan obligations$14,277,995
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Other Assets$21,865,080TotalBookValueOtherAssetsAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (8 entries)

DescDescAmtAmt
Due to Boston Children's Hospital$11,366,492
Accrued professional liability$5,516,448
Deferred compensation plan$156,396
Due to Physicians Organization at Children's Hospital, Inc.$259,626
Due to employees$87,632
Due to affiliates$329,089
Retention plan liability$2,910,040
Due to others$6,858
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$20,632,581TotalLiabilityAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$89,592,444TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Net Unrealized Gains Invst$8,084,191NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt
Other Revenue$2,813,624OtherRevenueAmt
Revenue Not Reported$10,897,815RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$78,694,629RevenueSubtotalAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$0RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$78,694,629TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$72,651,656TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Expenses Not Reported$0ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$72,651,656ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$0ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$72,651,656TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (3 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Part V, Line 4:Assets limited to use represent assets held in trust that are available to pay for future benefits to participants for deferred compensation benefit plans and investments whose use has been restricted by donors to a specific time period or purpose.
Part X, Line 2:The Foundation is a tax-exempt corporation as described in Section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code (the Code), and is exempt from federal income taxes on related income pursuant to Section 501(a) of the Code. In addition, the Foundation qualifies for the charitable contribution deduction under Section 170(b)(1)(A), and has been classified as an organization that is not a private foundation under Section 509(a)(2). Tax-exempt organizations could be required to record an obligation for income taxes as the result of a tax position they have historically taken on various tax exposure items, including unrelated business income or tax status. Management of the Foundation has evaluated the positions taken on the Foundation's filed tax returns and has concluded that no uncertain income tax positions exist at September 30, 2023.
Part XI, Line 2d - Other Adjustments:Pension adjustment 2,813,624.

Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant Records MaintainedYes (1)GrantRecordsMaintainedInd

Recipient Table RecipientTable

Recipient Business Name RecipientBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Boston Children's HospitalBusinessNameLine1Txt

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1300 Longwood AvenueAddressLine1Txt
CityBostonCityNm
State AbbreviationMAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP02115ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Recipient EIN042774441RecipientEIN
IRC Section501(c)(3)IRCSectionDesc
Cash Grant$142,709CashGrantAmt
Non Cash Assistance$0NonCashAssistanceAmt
Valuation Method UsedN/AValuationMethodUsedDesc
Non Cash AssistanceN/ANonCashAssistanceDesc
Purpose Of GrantGeneral supportPurposeOfGrantTxt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total501c3 Org1Total501c3OrgCnt
Total Other Org0TotalOtherOrgCnt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePart I, Line 2:FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationMonitoring is provided by Boston Children's Heart Foundation, Inc. (the Foundation) through oversight of the terms and conditions of a written grant agreement. Multiyear agreements require yearly progress and financial reports for continuation of funding. During the year ended September 30, 2023, the Foundation only provided grant donations to other 501(c)(3) organizations.ExplanationTxt

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Idemnification Gross Up PmtsYes (X)IdemnificationGrossUpPmtsInd
Written Policy Ref T And E ExpnssYes (1)WrittenPolicyRefTAndEExpnssInd
Substantiation RequiredYes (1)SubstantiationRequiredInd
Compensation CommitteeYes (X)CompensationCommitteeInd
Independent ConsultantYes (X)IndependentConsultantInd
Form990 Of Other OrganizationsYes (X)Form990OfOtherOrganizationsInd
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance Payment0SeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr Plan0SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp Arrngm0EquityBasedCompArrngmInd
Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng Org0CompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd On Rev Related Orgs0CompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng Org0CompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd Orgs0CompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd
Any Non Fixed PaymentsYes (1)AnyNonFixedPaymentsInd
Initial Contract Exception0InitialContractExceptionInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (17 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
Tal Geva MD
President$655,277$0$105,860$0$56,558$0$29,000$0$42,682$0$889,377$0$0$0
Ravi Thiagarajan MD
Dept. Chief$348,239$0$50,000$0$135,910$0$86,445$0$26,866$0$647,460$0$0$0
Jane Newburger MD
Dept. Chief$466,834$0$50,000$0$31,792$0$29,000$0$45,850$0$623,476$0$0$0
Edward P Walsh MD
Cardiologist$458,155$0$50,000$0$26,390$0$29,000$0$56,366$0$619,911$0$0$0
William T Pu MD
Cardiologist$398,982$0$50,000$0$50,964$0$73,421$0$45,850$0$619,217$0$0$0
John Triedman MD
Treasurer$413,159$0$50,000$0$66,634$0$29,000$0$56,366$0$615,159$0$0$0
Andrew J Powell MD
Cardiologist$365,291$0$50,000$0$79,625$0$72,599$0$45,850$0$613,365$0$0$0
John Kheir MD
Cardiologist$301,749$0$50,000$0$144,607$0$51,657$0$48,767$0$596,780$0$0$0
Kimberly Mills MD
Director$231,687$0$150,000$0$109,414$0$43,888$0$53,198$0$588,187$0$0$0
Roger E Breitbart MD
Dept. Chief$344,895$0$50,000$0$53,242$0$92,500$0$45,850$0$586,487$0$0$0
Kathy J Jenkins MD
Cardiologist$376,826$0$85,257$0$45,944$0$29,000$0$22,634$0$559,661$0$0$0
Sarah D de Ferranti MD
Secretary/Clerk$311,181$0$50,000$0$72,149$0$72,725$0$42,682$0$548,737$0$0$0
Rahul Rathod MD
Director$291,199$0$50,000$0$18,845$0$56,602$0$42,682$0$459,328$0$0$0
David Schidlow MD
Director$204,742$0$50,000$0$96,671$0$51,765$0$45,850$0$449,028$0$0$0
Christina VanderPluym MD
Director$250,863$0$50,000$0$47,480$0$51,099$0$42,682$0$442,124$0$0$0
David Kane MD
Director$230,241$0$50,000$0$60,356$0$52,426$0$45,850$0$438,873$0$0$0
Elizabeth DeWitt MD
Director$194,646$0$50,000$0$58,733$0$40,290$0$56,366$0$400,035$0$0$0

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Part I, Line 1aBoston Children's Heart Foundation, Inc. (the Foundation) established a Tuition Assistance Plan that superseded the previous Tuition Plan effective January 1, 2007. The plan provides annual contribution payments for eligible participants, based on years of membership service to the Foundation and number of children, to a qualified state tuition program described in Section 529 of the Internal Revenue Code 1986 as amended. The plan provides an income tax gross-up equal to 30% of such contributions to assist participants in defraying the cost of income taxes. The Plan provides for a transition for those participants who received benefits under the previous plan, or those who were Foundation members for more than three years and had at least one child who had attained age 14 as of July 1, 2007. These members will not have the same interest accrual advantage as those with younger children, and can elect to have a lump-sum contribution or can elect to have tuition reimbursement up to the amount of tuition established by Harvard University, plus an income tax gross-up based on years of membership service as an Assistant Professor or higher up to a maximum of 34%. The following participated in the plans for September 30, 2023: Kimberly Mills, MD; David Shidlow, MD; Elizabeth DeWitt, MD; David Kane, MD; and Christina VanderPluym, MD. These amounts are included in the recipients' W-2.
Part I, Line 7Bonus compensation amounts are determined by the Chief of Boston Children's Heart Foundation, Inc. (the Foundation). The amounts are discretionary based on job performance and on the financial performance of the Foundation.

Schedule L IRS990ScheduleL

Loans Btwn Org Interested Prsn LoansBtwnOrgInterestedPrsnGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonRahul Rathod MDPersonNm
Relationship With OrgDirectorRelationshipWithOrgTxt
Loan PurposePhysician RetentionLoanPurposeTxt
Loan From OrganizationYes (X)LoanFromOrganizationInd
Original Principal$156,000OriginalPrincipalAmt
Balance Due$47,376BalanceDueAmt
Default0DefaultInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (1)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Written AgreementYes (1)WrittenAgreementInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Balance Due$47,376TotalBalanceDueAmt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSchedule L, Part II, Loans to and from Interested Persons:FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationBoston Children's Heart Foundation, Inc. (the Foundation) has provided several secured and unsecured loans to employees. The loans bear interest at rates up to 4.89%. The loans were made for recruitment and retention purposes, to assist physician employees in the purchase of their primary residence. The amounts for the recruitment loans were determined by restricted donations provided by Boston Children's Hospital for use in recruitment. The loans will be forgiven over the terms of the notes if the recipients remain employed at the Foundation or its affiliates. The amount of the loan forgiveness will be included with accrued interest, if applicable, as compensation in the year forgiven. The balance of the loans outstanding are $2,608,147 at September 30, 2023. Future principal amounts due are as follows: $762,530 in 2024; $798,603 in 2025; $501,422 in 2026; $127,090 in 2027; $68,702 in 2028; and $349,800 thereafter.ExplanationTxt

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (11 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Form 990, Part VI, Section A, line 1aA majority of Boston Children's Heart Foundation, Inc.'s (the Foundation's) board members are physicians who are not independent from the Foundation. However, the Foundation is part of an integrated delivery system with Boston Children's Hospital (the Hospital) which does have a community board. The Foundation was organized in 1983. At that time, the board was composed entirely of physicians, a board structure that was approved by the Internal Revenue Service. The Foundation has since adjusted the board structure to make it more responsive to the Hospital by adding the Physicians Organization at Children's Hospital Inc. (the PO) as a member. See Schedule O, Part VI, Questions 3, 6, 7b, and 12 for more details on the PO's rights.
Form 990, Part VI, Section A, line 3The Physicians Organization at Children's Hospital, Inc. (the PO) is the Class "C" member of Boston Children's Heart Foundation, Inc. (the Foundation). The PO is responsible for providing management services to the Foundation. The PO has the power to approve the independent auditor and legal counsel of the Foundation from an approved list of firms mutually agreed to by the PO and the Foundation. The PO also has the right to review the annual budgets and review and approve the by-law changes of the Foundation. Lastly, Boston Children's Hospital has the right to review for compliance with applicable law, the general terms of and any modification to physician compensation and benefit plans for all physician employees of the Foundation.
Form 990, Part VI, Section A, line 6Boston Children's Heart Foundation, Inc. (the Foundation) has three classes of members. The Chief of the Department of Cardiology (the Chief) of Boston Children's Hospital (the Hospital) is the Class "A" member. Any member (other than the Chief) who holds a medical staff appointment from the Hospital, a full-time faculty appointment in cardiology from Harvard Medical School, and who is geographically full-time at the Hospital shall be a Class "B" member. The Physicians Organization at Children's Hospital, Inc. is the Class "C" member of the Foundation.
Form 990, Part VI, Section A, line 7aThe Cardiologist-in-Chief of Boston Children's Hospital (the Hospital) is the Class "A" member of Boston Children's Heart Foundation, Inc. (the Foundation). Every member of the Foundation who holds a medical staff appointment from the Hospital, has a full-time faculty appointment under the auspices of the Cardiologist-in-Chief from Harvard University Medical School, and who practices medicine primarily at the Hospital, shall be a Class "B" member. According to the Articles of Organization, the Class "A and "B" members appoint/elect the board members of the Foundation at the annual meeting.
Form 990, Part VI, Section A, line 7bThe Physicians Organization at Children's Hospital, Inc. (the PO) is the Class "C" member of Boston Children's Heart Foundation, Inc. (the Foundation). The PO is responsible for providing management services to the Foundation. The PO has the power to approve the independent auditor and legal counsel of the Foundation from an approved list of firms mutually agreed to by the PO and the Foundation. The PO also has the right to review the annual budgets and review and approve the by-law changes of the Foundation. Lastly, Boston Children's Hospital has the right to review for compliance with applicable laws, the general terms of and any modification to physician compensation and benefit plans for all physician employees of the Foundation.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 11bThe detailed review will be conducted by the President of the Foundation, Tal Geva, MD; the administrator, Marissa Densmore; and the financial reporting manager, Joseph Cantlin. A copy of Form 990 will be available to the board. The detailed review will be conducted before filing the return with the Internal Revenue Service.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 12cThe Physicians Organization at Children's Hospital, Inc. (the PO) and Boston Children's Hospital (the Hospital) administer an annual conflict of interest disclosure process to all of its member Foundations, which asks physicians (officers, top management, and highly compensated employees) and selected Foundation staff to disclose potential conflicts. A disclosure statement will be circulated annually to members of the PO. The audit committee shall determine those individuals (including medical staff members) who shall be required to complete the disclosure statement. The audit committee, at its discretion, may either: 1) refer any or all disclosure statements to the Board of Directors; 2) appoint an ad hoc committee to review and resolve any conflict of interest issues; or 3) review and resolve any conflict of interest issues personally or through a designee(s). Any person not receiving a disclosure statement nevertheless has an affirmative obligation to disclose to the PO President, PO General Counsel, or his/her supervisor whenever he/she believes he/she has or may have a conflict of interest. Similarly, each person completing a disclosure statement has an affirmative obligation to update the statement any time circumstances change and/or he/she believes that a conflict of interest may exist. In the event a conflict of interest is found to exist, the Foundation prohibits the member from voting on any matter to which the conflict relates or otherwise influence the voting on such matter.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 15Faculty compensation must comply with the Boston Children's Hospital (the Hospital) Physician Compensation Guidelines. These guidelines are developed in consultation with an independent external compensation consulting firm and are approved by the independent Compensation Committee of the Board of Children's Medical Center Corporation and the Hospital. The guidelines set the maximum compensation limits based on a peer group analysis for Boston Children's Heart Foundation, Inc. (the Foundation). The maximum compensation limits are based on pediatric specialty, sub-specialty, academic rank and approved by the independent Compensation Committee of the Board of the Hospital. Annual compensation for individual faculty members is set by the President of the Foundation, reviewed and approved by the Foundation in accordance with the Foundation's compensation policies and procedures. The Foundation's President's compensation is reviewed and approved annually on a prospective basis by the Hospital's President/Chief Executive Officer.
Form 990, Part VI, Section C, line 19The Foundation maintains all financial records, conflict of interest policies, and governing documents at its main office at 300 Longwood Avenue, Boston, MA 02115. The documents are available upon request.
Form 990, Part XI, line 9:Pension adjustment 2,813,624.
Form 990, Part XII, Line 2c:The audit process and scope has not changed from the prior year.

Schedule R IRS990ScheduleR

Id Related Tax Exempt Org IdRelatedTaxExemptOrgGrp (2 entries)

Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityUSAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPUSAddress/ZIPCdEINEINPrimary ActivitiesPrimaryActivitiesTxtLegal Domicile StateLegalDomicileStateCdExempt Code SectionExemptCodeSectionTxtPublic Charity StatusPublicCharityStatusTxtDirect Controlling NADirectControllingNACdControlled OrganizationControlledOrganizationInd
Boston Children's Hospital
300 Longwood AvenueBostonMA02115042774441HospitalMA501(c)(3)Line 3N/A0
Physicians Organization at Children's Hospital Inc
300 Longwood AvenueBostonMA02115043266103Management servicesMA501(c)(3)Line 12c, III-FIN/A0
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Receipt Of Int Annts Rnts Rylts0ReceiptOfIntAnntsRntsRyltsInd
Gift Grnt Or Cap Contri To Oth OrgYes (1)GiftGrntOrCapContriToOthOrgInd
Gift Grnt Cap Contri From Oth Org0GiftGrntCapContriFromOthOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees To Other Org0LoansOrGuaranteesToOtherOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees From Oth Org0LoansOrGuaranteesFromOthOrgInd
Div Related Organization0DivRelatedOrganizationInd
Asset Sale To Other Org0AssetSaleToOtherOrgInd
Asset Purchase From Other Org0AssetPurchaseFromOtherOrgInd
Asset Exchange0AssetExchangeInd
Rental Of Facilities To Oth Org0RentalOfFacilitiesToOthOrgInd
Rental Of Fclts From Oth OrgYes (1)RentalOfFcltsFromOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services For Oth OrgYes (1)PerformOfServicesForOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services By Other OrgYes (1)PerformOfServicesByOtherOrgInd
Sharing Of FacilitiesYes (1)SharingOfFacilitiesInd
Paid Employees SharingYes (1)PaidEmployeesSharingInd
Reimbursement Paid To Other OrgYes (1)ReimbursementPaidToOtherOrgInd
Reimbursement Paid By Other OrgYes (1)ReimbursementPaidByOtherOrgInd
Transfer To Other Org0TransferToOtherOrgInd
Transfer From Other Org0TransferFromOtherOrgInd

Comments

Anonymous: no account or email. Up to 2,000 characters, at most one link. Comments are checked automatically; some wait for review.