NEIGHBORHOOD CAPITAL CORPORATION: Form 990, tax year 2023

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
NEIGHBORHOOD CAPITAL CORPORATION (EIN 84-1542593)
Tax period
2023-01-01 to 2023-12-31
Filed
2024-05-01
IRS object ID
202421229349300717
Schema version
2023v5.0
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2024-05-01T08:34:03-05:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2023-12-31TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN221478099PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1COHNREZNICK LLPBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line17501 WISCONSIN AVENUE SUITE 400EAddressLine1Txt
CityBETHESDACityNm
State AbbreviationMDStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP20814ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2023-01-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN841542593EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1NEIGHBORWORKS CAPITAL CORPORATIONBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlNEIGBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone2408211651PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line18484 GEORGIA AVE SUITE 330AddressLine1Txt
CitySILVER SPRINGCityNm
State AbbreviationMDStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP20910ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonJAMES PEFFLEYPersonNm
Person TitleCHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICERPersonTitleTxt
Phone2408211651PhoneNum
Signature2024-04-30SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (1)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Signing Officer SigningOfficerGrp

Person Full Name PersonFullName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Person FirstJAMESPersonFirstNm
Person LastPEFFLEYPersonLastNm
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
SSN999009999SSN
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
IRS Responsible Prty Info Curr0IRSResponsiblePrtyInfoCurrInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonLAURA KIELCZEWSKIPreparerPersonNm
PTINP00740769PTIN
Phone3016529100PhoneNum
Preparation2024-04-29PreparationDt

Additional Filer Information AdditionalFilerInformation

Trusted Customer TrustedCustomerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Trusted Customer2TrustedCustomerCd
Authentication Assurance LevelAAL1AuthenticationAssuranceLevelCd
Identity Assurance LevelIAL1IdentityAssuranceLevelCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2023TaxYr
Build TS2023-04-26 12:10:37ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerJAMES PEFFLEYPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line18484 GEORGIA AVE SUITE 330AddressLine1Txt
CitySILVER SPRINGCityNm
State AbbreviationMDStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP20910ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$11,831,758GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For Affiliates0GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501c3Yes (X)Organization501c3Ind
Website AddressWWW.NEIGHBORWORKSCAPITAL.ORGWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation2000FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateCOLegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionNEIGHBORWORKS CAPITAL DELIVERS THE FLEXIBLE CAPITAL NEEDED BY NEIGHBORWORKS AMERICA AFFILIATES TO PROVIDE AFFORDABLE HOMES AND STRENGTHEN COMMUNITIES.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body13VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent13VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee21TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers11TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$0TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$0NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$3,714,496PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$3,646,166CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$4,959,021PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$6,170,630CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$33,856PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$525,515CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$150,134PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$1,087,842CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$8,857,507PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$11,430,153CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$0PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$0CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$0PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$2,694,168PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$3,206,073CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$350,641CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$2,296,893PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$2,913,744CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$4,991,061PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$6,119,817CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$3,866,446PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$5,310,336CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$108,230,565TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$133,083,719TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$52,965,011TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$73,003,975TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$55,265,554NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$60,079,744NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
MissionNEIGHBORWORKS CAPITAL DELIVERS THE FLEXIBLE CAPITAL NEEDED BY NEIGHBORWORKS AMERICA AFFILIATES TO PROVIDE AFFORDABLE HOMES AND STRENGTHEN COMMUNITIES.MissionDesc
Significant New Program Srvc0SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant Change0SignificantChangeInd
Expense$5,100,250ExpenseAmt
Revenue$7,258,472RevenueAmt
DescPROVIDING FINANCING FOR THE ACQUISITION, DEVELOPMENT, AND REHABILITATION OF AFFORDABLE HOMES FOR SALE, RENTAL AND COMMERCIAL PROJECTS.Desc
Total Program Service Expenses$5,100,250TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt
Described In Section501c3Yes (1)DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B RequiredYes (1)ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign Acty0PoliticalCampaignActyInd
Lobbying Activities0LobbyingActivitiesInd
Subject To Proxy Tax0SubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised Fund0DonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation Easements0ConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of Art0CollectionsOfArtInd
Credit CounselingYes (1)CreditCounselingInd
Donor Rstr Or Quasi Endowments0DonorRstrOrQuasiEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (1)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other Sec0ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related InvstYes (1)ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other Assets0ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (1)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (1)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl Stmt0IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School Operating0SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign Office0ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign Activities0ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To Org0MoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To Individuals0MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional Fundraising0ProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising Activities0FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming Activities0GamingActivitiesInd
Operate Hospital0OperateHospitalInd
Grants To Organizations0GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To Individuals0GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (1)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt Bonds0TaxExemptBondsInd
Engaged In Excess Benefit Trans0EngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd
PY Excess Benefit Trans0PYExcessBenefitTransInd
Loan Outstanding0LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related Person0GrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org Mem0BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam Mem0BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With35 Ctrl Ent0BusinessRlnWith35CtrlEntInd
Deductible Non Cash Contri0DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art Contribution0DeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate Operations0TerminateOperationsInd
Partial Liquidation0PartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded EntityYes (1)DisregardedEntityInd
Related Entity0RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl Ent0RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd Org0TrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd
Activities Conducted Prtshp0ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (1)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document28IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (1)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee21EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (1)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over Limit0UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Foreign Financial Account0ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans0ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party Notification0TaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible Contributions0NondeductibleContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo Contributions0QuidProQuoContributionsInd
Form8282 Property Disposed Of0Form8282PropertyDisposedOfInd
Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0RcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0PayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Indoor Tanning Services0IndoorTanningServicesInd
Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht Pymt0SubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd
Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst Inc0SubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members13GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member13IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business Rln0FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt Duties0DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org Documents0ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or Misuse0MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or Stockholders0MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board Members0ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To Approva0DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (1)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (1)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing Address0OfficerMailingAddressInd
Local Chapters0LocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (1)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (1)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (1)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (1)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (1)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (1)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (1)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (1)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint Venture0InvestmentInJointVentureInd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1JAMES PEFFLEYBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Phone2408211651PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line18484 GEORGIA AVE SUITE 330AddressLine1Txt
CitySILVER SPRINGCityNm
State AbbreviationMDStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP20910ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (23 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtKey EmployeeKeyEmployeeIndHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd
ROSA RIOS VALDEZ
PRESIDENT1.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
MEGAN TEARE
VP & SECRETARY1.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
CAROLINE HORTON
TREASURER1.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
PETER DALY
DIRECTOR1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
JEFF REED
DIRECTOR1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
CHARLOTTE CROW
DIRECTOR1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MICHAEL CARROLL
DIRECTOR1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
FRED DODSON
DIRECTOR1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
GRACE CHIONUMA
DIRECTOR1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
ANDY MADEIRA
DIRECTOR1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
EMMANUEL KINARD
DIRECTOR1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
EILEEN NEELY
DIRECTOR1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
LEAH EVANS
DIRECTOR1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MATTHIAS GLATTING
CFO - INCOMING38.00Yes (X)$182,381$0$6,913
MARY DANA MOORE
CFO - OUTGOING22.50Yes (X)$84,641$0$5,079
JAMES PEFFLEY
CEO38.00Yes (X)$316,904$0$37,279
ELIZABETH O'LEARY
CHIEF PORTFOLIO OFFICER38.00$216,792$0$13,008Yes (X)
STEPHEN PEELOR
CHIEF LOAN OFFICER38.00$218,464$0$25,536Yes (X)
BRENT BOZMAN
CONTROLLER38.00$141,616$0$8,503Yes (X)
ADAM COILE
SENIOR PORTFOLIO MANAGER38.00$157,350$0$33,623Yes (X)
MAYA DICKENS
LOAN CLOSING MANAGER38.00$126,198$0$20,305Yes (X)
MICHAEL HAAS
SENIOR LOAN OFFICER38.00$147,057$0$23,746Yes (X)
LANIE WASSERMAN
SENIOR LOAN OFFICER38.00$152,087$0$29,968Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$1,743,490TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$203,960TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K11IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees Listed0FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (1)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other Srcs0CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp

Contractor Name ContractorName

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1NTIVABusinessNameLine1Txt

Contractor Address ContractorAddress

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line17900 WESTPARK DRIVE 100AddressLine1Txt
CityMCLEANCityNm
State AbbreviationVAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP22102ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
ServicesIT SUPPORTServicesDesc
Compensation$100,424CompensationAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K1CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Government Grants$646,166GovernmentGrantsAmt
All Other Contributions$3,000,000AllOtherContributionsAmt
Total Contributions$3,646,166TotalContributionsAmt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (3 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
LOAN INTEREST531390$5,531,488$5,531,488
LOAN FEES531390$635,400$635,400
LOAN SERVICE FEE531390$3,742$3,742
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$6,170,630TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$396,618TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$396,618ExclusionAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$530,502SecuritiesAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$401,605SecuritiesAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$128,897SecuritiesAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$128,897TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$128,897ExclusionAmt

Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescRECOVERY OF LOAN LOSSDesc
Business531390BusinessCd
Total Revenue Column$1,087,842TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$1,087,842RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total$1,087,842OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$11,430,153TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$7,258,472RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$525,515ExclusionAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,106,997TotalAmt
Program Services$818,922ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$189,892ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$98,183FundraisingAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,645,034TotalAmt
Program Services$1,216,945ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$282,186ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$145,903FundraisingAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$85,315TotalAmt
Program Services$63,113ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$14,635ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$7,567FundraisingAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$177,534TotalAmt
Program Services$131,334ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$30,453ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$15,747FundraisingAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$191,193TotalAmt
Program Services$141,439ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$32,797ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$16,957FundraisingAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$10,449TotalAmt
Program Services$1,826ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$1,437ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$7,186FundraisingAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$63,244TotalAmt
Program Services$25,169ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$25,555ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$12,520FundraisingAmt

Fees For Srvc Invst Mgmnt Fees FeesForSrvcInvstMgmntFeesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$25,871TotalAmt
Program Services$24,577ProgramServicesAmt
Fundraising$1,294FundraisingAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$136,370TotalAmt
Program Services$111,885ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$14,247ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$10,238FundraisingAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$64,543TotalAmt
Program Services$58,089ProgramServicesAmt
Fundraising$6,454FundraisingAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$50,887TotalAmt
Program Services$43,871ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$4,785ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$2,231FundraisingAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$145,238TotalAmt
Program Services$116,190ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$21,786ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$7,262FundraisingAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$123,728TotalAmt
Program Services$98,982ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$12,373ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$12,373FundraisingAmt

Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,710TotalAmt
Program Services$1,368ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$342ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,941,966TotalAmt
Program Services$1,941,966ProgramServicesAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$30,165TotalAmt
Program Services$22,624ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$6,033ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$1,508FundraisingAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$40,716TotalAmt
Program Services$34,608ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$4,072ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$2,036FundraisingAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmtProgram ServicesProgramServicesAmtManagement And GeneralManagementAndGeneralAmtFundraisingFundraisingAmt
REPAIRS AND MAINTENANCE$189,819$170,837$17,084$1,898
STAFF DEVELOPMENT$25,682$21,830$2,568$1,284
DUES$11,339$10,205$1,134
SERVICE FEE EXPENSE$1,708$1,708

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$50,309TotalAmt
Program Services$42,762ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$7,547ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$6,119,817TotalAmt
Program Services$5,100,250ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$668,926ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$350,641FundraisingAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,808,198BOYAmt
EOY$4,903,920EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$9,053,607BOYAmt
EOY$26,058,210EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$75,246BOYAmt
EOY$31,579EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$80,327BOYAmt
EOY$79,731EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$245,779LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$175,030LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$47,721BOYAmt
EOY$70,749EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$529,544BOYAmt

Investments Program Related InvestmentsProgramRelatedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$93,841,311BOYAmt
EOY$101,206,006EOYAmt

Intangible Assets IntangibleAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$561,499BOYAmt
EOY$432,510EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$233,112BOYAmt
EOY$301,014EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$108,230,565BOYAmt
EOY$133,083,719EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,059,247BOYAmt
EOY$1,335,396EOYAmt

Escrow Account Liability EscrowAccountLiabilityGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,566,402BOYAmt
EOY$2,587,781EOYAmt

Unsecured Notes Loans Payable UnsecuredNotesLoansPayableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$49,339,362BOYAmt
EOY$68,717,013EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$363,785EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$52,965,011BOYAmt
EOY$73,003,975EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Organization Follows FASB117Yes (X)OrganizationFollowsFASB117Ind

No Donor Restriction Net Assets NoDonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$28,899,871BOYAmt
EOY$33,997,792EOYAmt

Donor Restriction Net Assets DonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$26,365,683BOYAmt
EOY$26,081,952EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$55,265,554BOYAmt
EOY$60,079,744EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$108,230,565BOYAmt
EOY$133,083,719EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part XIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$5,310,336ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst$3,958NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets-$500,104OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or Review0AccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (1)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Consolidated Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)ConsolidatedBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (1)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit RequiredYes (1)FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd
Federal Grant Audit PerformedYes (1)FederalGrantAuditPerformedInd

Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Public Organization170Yes (X)PublicOrganization170Ind

Gifts Grants Contri Rcvd170 GiftsGrantsContriRcvd170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$2,475,000CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$2,500,000CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$4,330,265CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$3,714,496CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$3,646,166CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$16,665,927TotalAmt

Total Calendar Year170 TotalCalendarYear170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$2,475,000CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$2,500,000CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$4,330,265CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$3,714,496CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$3,646,166CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$16,665,927TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Public Support Total170$16,665,927PublicSupportTotal170Amt

Gross Investment Income170 GrossInvestmentIncome170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$49,849CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$41,522CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$16,747CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$33,856CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$396,618CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$538,592TotalAmt

Other Income170 OtherIncome170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$125CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$177,196CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$150,134CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$1,087,842CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$1,415,297TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Support$18,619,816TotalSupportAmt
Gross Receipts Rltd Activities$27,860,823GrossReceiptsRltdActivitiesAmt
Public Support CY1700.89510PublicSupportCY170Pct
Public Support PY1700.96950PublicSupportPY170Pct
Thirty Thr Pct Suprt Tests CY170Yes (X)ThirtyThrPctSuprtTestsCY170Ind

Form990 Schedule A Part VI Form990ScheduleAPartVIGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSCHEDULE A, PART II, LINE 10, EXPLANATION OF OTHER INCOME:FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationOTHER REVENUE - 2019 AMOUNT: $ 125. RECOVERY OF LOAN LOSS - 2021 AMOUNT: $ 177,196. 2022 AMOUNT: $ 150,134. 2023 AMOUNT: $ 1,087,842.ExplanationTxt

Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB

Contributor Information ContributorInformationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
ContributorRESTRICTEDContributorNum

Contributor Business Name ContributorBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1RESTRICTEDBusinessNameLine1

Contributor US Address ContributorUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1RESTRICTEDAddressLine1
Address Line2RESTRICTEDAddressLine2
CityRESTRICTEDCity
StateRESTRICTEDState
ZIP CodeRESTRICTEDZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total ContributionsRESTRICTEDTotalContributionsAmt

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Agent Trustee Etc0AgentTrusteeEtcInd
Incl Escrow Custodial Acct LiabYes (1)InclEscrowCustodialAcctLiabInd
Explanation ProvidedYes (X)ExplanationProvidedInd

Leasehold Improvements LeaseholdImprovementsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$12,844OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$8,541DepreciationAmt
Book Value$4,303BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$117,710OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$70,834DepreciationAmt
Book Value$46,876BookValueAmt

Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$115,225OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$95,655DepreciationAmt
Book Value$19,570BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$70,749TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Invst Program Related Org InvstProgramRelatedOrgGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescLOANS RECEIVABLEDesc
Book Value$101,206,006BookValueAmt
Method ValuationFMethodValuationCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Program Rltd$101,206,006TotalBookValueProgramRltdAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescPROVISION FOR UNFUNDED COMMITMENTSDesc
Amt$363,785Amt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$363,785TotalLiabilityAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$10,346,269TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Net Unrealized Gains Invst$3,958NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt
Revenue Not Reported$3,958RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$10,342,311RevenueSubtotalAmt
Other Revenues Not Included$1,087,842OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$1,087,842RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$11,430,153TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$5,532,079TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Other Expenses Included-$587,738OtherExpensesIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Reported-$587,738ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$6,119,817ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$0ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$6,119,817TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (4 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
PART IV, LINE 2B:THE ESCROW CASH ACCOUNTS ARE RESTRICTED CASH ACCOUNTS REPRESENTING RESERVE ACCOUNTS HELD FOR BORROWERS AND INTENDED FOR SPECIFIC PURPOSES AND ASSOCIATED WITH PERMANENT LOANS EXTENDED TO BORROWERS. RESERVES INCLUDE I) REPAIR AND REPLACEMENT RESERVES DESIGNATED FOR CAPITAL IMPROVEMENTS AS WELL AS II) INTEREST/OPERATING RESERVES.
PART X, LINE 2:THE ORGANIZATION HAS APPLIED FOR AND RECEIVED A DETERMINATION LETTER FROM THE INTERNAL REVENUE SERVICE ("IRS") TO BE TREATED AS A TAX-EXEMPT ENTITY PURSUANT TO SECTION 501(C)(3) OF THE INTERNAL REVENUE CODE. DUE TO ITS TAX-EXEMPT STATUS, THE ORGANIZATION IS NOT SUBJECT TO INCOME TAXES. THE ORGANIZATION IS REQUIRED TO FILE AND DOES FILE TAX RETURNS WITH THE IRS AND OTHER TAXING AUTHORITIES. ACCORDINGLY, THESE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS DO NOT REFLECT A PROVISION FOR INCOME TAXES, AND THE ORGANIZATION HAS NO OTHER TAX POSITIONS WHICH MUST BE CONSIDERED FOR DISCLOSURE. TAX RETURNS FILED BY THE ORGANIZATION ARE SUBJECT TO EXAMINATION BY THE IRS FOR A PERIOD OF THREE YEARS. WHILE NO TAX RETURNS OF THE ORGANIZATION ARE CURRENTLY BEING EXAMINED BY THE IRS, TAX RETURNS FILED SINCE 2020 REMAIN OPEN FOR EXAMINATION.
PART XI, LINE 4B - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:RECOVERY OF LOAN LOSS 1,087,842.
PART XII, LINE 2D - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:RECOVERY OF LOAN LOSS -587,738.

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form990 Of Other OrganizationsYes (X)Form990OfOtherOrganizationsInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance Payment0SeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr Plan0SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp Arrngm0EquityBasedCompArrngmInd
Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng Org0CompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd On Rev Related Orgs0CompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng Org0CompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd Orgs0CompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd
Any Non Fixed PaymentsYes (1)AnyNonFixedPaymentsInd
Initial Contract Exception0InitialContractExceptionInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (8 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
JAMES PEFFLEY
CEO$314,582$0$0$0$2,322$0$19,339$0$17,940$0$354,183$0$0$0
STEPHEN PEELOR
CHIEF LOAN OFFICER$207,439$0$10,010$0$1,015$0$13,245$0$12,291$0$244,000$0$0$0
ELIZABETH O'LEARY
CHIEF PORTFOLIO OFFICER$202,530$0$11,461$0$2,801$0$13,008$0$0$0$229,800$0$0$0
ADAM COILE
SENIOR PORTFOLIO MANAGER$145,082$0$12,000$0$268$0$9,728$0$23,895$0$190,973$0$0$0
MATTHIAS GLATTING
CFO - INCOMING$182,084$0$0$0$297$0$6,913$0$0$0$189,294$0$0$0
LANIE WASSERMAN
SENIOR LOAN OFFICER$140,660$0$11,000$0$427$0$9,356$0$20,612$0$182,055$0$0$0
MICHAEL HAAS
SENIOR LOAN OFFICER$135,811$0$11,000$0$246$0$9,021$0$14,725$0$170,803$0$0$0
BRENT BOZMAN
CONTROLLER$129,343$0$11,900$0$373$0$8,503$0$0$0$150,119$0$0$0

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePART I, LINE 7FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationPERSONS LISTED RECEIVED ANNUAL PERFORMANCE BONUSES BASED ON INDIVIDUAL AND OTHER CORPORATE GOAL ACHIEVEMENT.ExplanationTxt

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (5 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 11BUPON RECEIPT OF THE DRAFT 990, THE FINANCE COMMITTEE, CONSISTING OF AT LEAST ONE FINANCE PROFESSIONAL, REVIEWS THE 990 FOR ACCURACY. THE FORM 990 IS DISTRIBUTED TO ALL MEMBERS OF THE GOVERNING BODY PRIOR TO ITS SUBMISSION TO THE IRS.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 12CTHE ORGANIZATION ENFORCES A DUTY TO DISCLOSE THAT IN ANY ACTUAL OR POSSIBLE CONFLICT OF INTEREST, AN INTERESTED PERSON MUST BE GIVEN THE OPPORTUNITY TO DISCLOSE ALL MATERIAL FACTS TO THE DIRECTORS, WHEREUPON A DETERMINATION IS MADE REGARDING WHETHER A CONFLICT OF INTEREST EXISTS BY THE BOARD OR COMMITTEE ONCE THIS DISCLOSURE IS MADE. A WRITTEN AND SIGNED ANNUAL STATEMENT IS REQUIRED OF EACH DIRECTOR, PRINCIPAL OFFICER AND MEMBER OF A COMMITTEE WITH BOARD-DELEGATED POWERS. PERIODIC REVIEWS ARE CONDUCTED OF THESE ANNUAL STATEMENTS.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 15ANNUALLY THE CHAIR OF THE NEIGHBORWORKS CAPITAL BOARD OF DIRECTORS GAINS FEEDBACK FROM THE DIRECTORS ON CEO PERFORMANCE AND CONDUCTS AN ANNUAL WRITTEN REVIEW OF THE CEO. IN ADDITION, IT DETERMINES ANY BONUS EARNED AND APPROVES CEO COMPENSATION FOR THE UPCOMING CALENDAR YEAR. COMPENSATION INFORMATION USED BY THE BOARD INCLUDES A COMPENSATION SURVEY DONE BY NEIGHBORWORKS CAPITAL'S NATIONAL TRADE ASSOCIATION, OPPORTUNITY FINANCE NETWORK (OFN), AS WELL AS AN EXECUTIVE COMPENSATION REVIEW BY QUATT ASSOCIATES. THIS INCLUDES THE SALARIES OF THE SENIOR MANAGEMENT TEAM IN ADDITION TO THE CEO. THE CEO USES THE QUATT INFORMATION AS A GUIDE FOR THE SENIOR MANAGEMENT COMPENSATION.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION C, LINE 19FINANCIAL STATEMENTS ARE MADE AVAILABLE TO THE PUBLIC ON NEIGHBORWORKS CAPITAL'S WEBSITE.
FORM 990, PART XI, LINE 9:ADOPTION OF ASC 326 -500,104.

Schedule R IRS990ScheduleR

Id Disregarded Entities IdDisregardedEntitiesGrp (3 entries)

Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityUSAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPUSAddress/ZIPCdEINEINPrimary ActivitiesPrimaryActivitiesTxtLegal Domicile StateLegalDomicileStateCdTotal IncomeTotalIncomeAmtEnd Of Year AssetsEndOfYearAssetsAmtBusiness Name Line1DirectControllingEntityName/BusinessNameLine1Txt
NC PL LLC
8484 GEORGIA AVE SUITE 330SILVER SPRINGMD20910881421283LENDING FOR AFFORDABLE HOUSING PROJECTSMD$258,869$22,289,094NEIGHBORWORKS CAPITAL CORP
NEIGHBORWORKS CAPITAL GREEN LLC
8484 GEORGIA AVE SUITE 330SILVER SPRINGMD20910352825805ENVIRONMENT LENDING AND GRANTSDE$0$0NEIGHBORWORKS CAPITAL CORP
NEIGHBORWORKS CAPITAL CONSULTING
8484 GEORGIA AVE SUITE 330SILVER SPRINGMD20910990626570AFFORDABLE HOUSING INDUSTRY CONSULTINGDE$0$0NEIGHBORWORKS CAPITAL CORP

Comments

Anonymous: no account or email. Up to 2,000 characters, at most one link. Comments are checked automatically; some wait for review.