COUNT BASIE THEATRE INC: Form 990, tax year 2022
View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗
- Organization
- COUNT BASIE THEATRE INC (EIN 22-1950890)
- Tax period
- 2022-07-01 to 2023-06-30
- Filed
- 2024-05-06
- IRS object ID
- 202411279349302711
- Schema version
- 2022v5.0
- Source
- Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica
Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.
Return header ReturnHeader
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Return | 2024-05-06T12:27:28-05:00 | ReturnTs |
| Tax Period End | 2023-06-30 | TaxPeriodEndDt |
Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp
Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | WITHUMSMITHBROWN PC | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 1411 BROADWAY 9TH FLOOR | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | NEW YORK | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | NY | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 10018 | ZIPCd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Return Type | 990 | ReturnTypeCd |
| Tax Period Begin | 2022-07-01 | TaxPeriodBeginDt |
Filer Filer
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| EIN | 221950890 | EIN |
Business Name BusinessName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | COUNT BASIE THEATRE INC | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| In Care Of | % ADAM PHILIPSON | InCareOfNm |
| Business Name Control | COUN | BusinessNameControlTxt |
| Phone | 7322248778 | PhoneNum |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 99 MONMOUTH STREET | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | RED BANK | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | NJ | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 07701 | ZIPCd |
Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Person | ADAM PHILIPSON | PersonNm |
| Person Title | CEO & PRESIDENT | PersonTitleTxt |
| Phone | 7322248778 | PhoneNum |
| Signature | 2024-05-02 | SignatureDt |
| Discuss With Paid Preparer | Yes (true) | DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd |
Signing Officer SigningOfficerGrp
Person Full Name PersonFullName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Person First | ADAM | PersonFirstNm |
| Person Last | PHILIPSON | PersonLastNm |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| SSN | 999009999 | SSN |
Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Preparer Person | CATHERINE BENDALL CPA | PreparerPersonNm |
| PTIN | P00521196 | PTIN |
| Phone | 2127519100 | PhoneNum |
| Preparation | 2024-05-02 | PreparationDt |
Additional Filer Information AdditionalFilerInformation
Trusted Customer TrustedCustomerGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Trusted Customer | 2 | TrustedCustomerCd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Tax | 2022 | TaxYr |
| Build TS | 2023-04-26 12:10:37Z | BuildTS |
Form 990 IRS990
Doing Business As Name DoingBusinessAsName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | COUNT BASIE CENTER FOR THE ARTS | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Principal Officer | ADAM PHILIPSON | PrincipalOfficerNm |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 99 MONMOUTH STREET | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | RED BANK | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | NJ | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 07701 | ZIPCd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Gross Receipts | $31,141,156 | GrossReceiptsAmt |
| Group Return For Affiliates | false | GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd |
| Organization501c3 | Yes (X) | Organization501c3Ind |
| Website Address | THEBASIE.ORG | WebsiteAddressTxt |
| Type Of Organization Corp | Yes (X) | TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd |
| Formation | 1972 | FormationYr |
| Legal Domicile State | NJ | LegalDomicileStateCd |
| Activity Or Mission | to inspire, educate and entertain through its distinct and engaging cultural and artistic offerings hat embrace and amplify the diversity of the region. | ActivityOrMissionDesc |
| Voting Members Governing Body | 39 | VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt |
| Voting Members Independent | 38 | VotingMembersIndependentCnt |
| Total Employee | 394 | TotalEmployeeCnt |
| Total Volunteers | 39 | TotalVolunteersCnt |
| Total Gross UBI | $206,011 | TotalGrossUBIAmt |
| Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm | $0 | NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt |
| PY Contributions Grants | $7,445,406 | PYContributionsGrantsAmt |
| CY Contributions Grants | $7,545,775 | CYContributionsGrantsAmt |
| PY Program Service Revenue | $15,139,109 | PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
| CY Program Service Revenue | $17,186,184 | CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
| PY Investment Income | $179,105 | PYInvestmentIncomeAmt |
| CY Investment Income | $218,100 | CYInvestmentIncomeAmt |
| PY Other Revenue | $159,258 | PYOtherRevenueAmt |
| CY Other Revenue | $206,011 | CYOtherRevenueAmt |
| PY Total Revenue | $22,922,878 | PYTotalRevenueAmt |
| CY Total Revenue | $25,156,070 | CYTotalRevenueAmt |
| PY Grants And Similar Paid | $0 | PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt |
| CY Grants And Similar Paid | $0 | CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt |
| PY Benefits Paid To Members | $0 | PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt |
| CY Benefits Paid To Members | $0 | CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt |
| PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid | $4,919,718 | PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt |
| CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid | $5,831,125 | CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt |
| PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns | $0 | PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt |
| CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns | $0 | CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt |
| CY Total Fundraising Expense | $1,595,916 | CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt |
| PY Other Expenses | $14,973,768 | PYOtherExpensesAmt |
| CY Other Expenses | $16,721,530 | CYOtherExpensesAmt |
| PY Total Expenses | $19,893,486 | PYTotalExpensesAmt |
| CY Total Expenses | $22,552,655 | CYTotalExpensesAmt |
| PY Revenues Less Expenses | $3,029,392 | PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt |
| CY Revenues Less Expenses | $2,603,415 | CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt |
| Total Assets BOY | $62,515,984 | TotalAssetsBOYAmt |
| Total Assets EOY | $69,340,268 | TotalAssetsEOYAmt |
| Total Liabilities BOY | $27,939,410 | TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt |
| Total Liabilities EOY | $30,218,511 | TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt |
| Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY | $34,576,574 | NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt |
| Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY | $39,121,757 | NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt |
| Info In Schedule O Part III | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartIIIInd |
| Mission | The Count Basie Center for the Arts is New Jersey's premier center for the cultural arts, dedicated to fostering powerful, inclusive artistic experiences and creative exchange of ideas. The Basie mission is to inspire, educate and entertain through its distinct and engaging cultural and artistic offerings that embrace and amplify the diversity of the region. As a nonprofit organization, the Basie is committed to enriching the community's quality of life by generating opportunities for participation in the arts, partnering with schools, collaborating with other mission-based organizations and driving regional economic prosperity. | MissionDesc |
| Significant New Program Srvc | false | SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd |
| Significant Change | false | SignificantChangeInd |
| Expense | $19,161,531 | ExpenseAmt |
| Revenue | $17,392,195 | RevenueAmt |
| Desc | The Count Basie Center for the Arts continues to persevere in its mission to Inspire, Educate and Entertain through our distinct and engaging cultural and artistic offerings, all of which aim to embrace and amplify the diversity of the region. In FY2023, the Count Basie Center Academy welcomed more than 1,000 students to our Red Bank campus, engaging them with a variety of performing arts experiences - from mainstage productions like Disney's Beauty and the Beast, Matilda, Newsies, Chicago and Annie, to acting, dancing and vocal lessons, instruction in auditioning for television and film, and more. At the Basie Center's Monmouth Conservatory of Music, nearly 100 students receive regular instruction in piano, classical guitar, woodwinds, strings and other instruments, in addition to group experiences such as ensembles and orchestra. In line with goals expressed in our ongoing 'Forever For Everyone' endowment campaign, the Basie Center organization offered 150 scholarships to its programs in FY23 - more than twice as many as the year prior. These scholarships have provided experiences to students who may otherwise have not had access to the performing arts. Also, in alignment with organizational values and strategic goals, the Count Basie Center has employed an organization-wide focus on initiatives tied to promoting Diversity, Equity, Inclusion, Access and Belonging including required training for all full- and part-time staff, an increase in culturally diverse programming and performing artists, hosting of a series of critical conversations, and the hiring of a director of community engagement. Firty area students participated in the annual Louis & Gia Maione Prima Music Camp, a free summer camp which introduces students to their very first musical instrument and provides them with an opportunity to participate in a public performance. Both the Count Basie Center Gospel Choir and the Calpulli Mexican Dance Company held classes and public performances on our stages, bringing cultural significance and authenticity to events such as our annual Cinco de Mayo or Juneteenth community celebrations. In late May, the annual Basie Awards ceremony took place, packing the Basie Center's Hackensack Meridian health Theatre with more than 1,500 fans on hand to celebrate excellence in Monmouth County high school theatre. Lastly, nearly more than 6,200 students visited the Count Basie Center campus as part of our 'Curtains Up For Kids' school show program, which was able to welcome 58 schools while subsidizing more than $38,000 worth of event tickets and $17,000 in bus transportation. | Desc |
| Total Program Service Expenses | $19,161,531 | TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt |
| Described In Section501c3 | Yes (true) | DescribedInSection501c3Ind |
| Schedule B Required | Yes (true) | ScheduleBRequiredInd |
| Political Campaign Acty | false | PoliticalCampaignActyInd |
| Lobbying Activities | false | LobbyingActivitiesInd |
| Subject To Proxy Tax | false | SubjectToProxyTaxInd |
| Donor Advised Fund | false | DonorAdvisedFundInd |
| Conservation Easements | false | ConservationEasementsInd |
| Collections Of Art | false | CollectionsOfArtInd |
| Credit Counseling | false | CreditCounselingInd |
| Donor Rstr Or Quasi Endowments | Yes (true) | DonorRstrOrQuasiEndowmentsInd |
| Report Land Building Equipment | Yes (true) | ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd |
| Report Investments Other Sec | Yes (true) | ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd |
| Report Program Related Invst | false | ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd |
| Report Other Assets | false | ReportOtherAssetsInd |
| Report Other Liabilities | Yes (true) | ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd |
| Include FIN48 Footnote | Yes (true) | IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd |
| Independent Audit Fincl Stmt | Yes (true) | IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd |
| Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt | false | ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd |
| School Operating | false | SchoolOperatingInd |
| Foreign Office | false | ForeignOfficeInd |
| Foreign Activities | false | ForeignActivitiesInd |
| More Than5000 K To Org | false | MoreThan5000KToOrgInd |
| More Than5000 K To Individuals | false | MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd |
| Professional Fundraising | false | ProfessionalFundraisingInd |
| Fundraising Activities | Yes (true) | FundraisingActivitiesInd |
| Gaming Activities | false | GamingActivitiesInd |
| Operate Hospital | false | OperateHospitalInd |
| Grants To Organizations | false | GrantsToOrganizationsInd |
| Grants To Individuals | false | GrantsToIndividualsInd |
| Schedule J Required | Yes (true) | ScheduleJRequiredInd |
| Tax Exempt Bonds | false | TaxExemptBondsInd |
| Engaged In Excess Benefit Trans | false | EngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd |
| PY Excess Benefit Trans | false | PYExcessBenefitTransInd |
| Loan Outstanding | false | LoanOutstandingInd |
| Grant To Related Person | false | GrantToRelatedPersonInd |
| Business Rln With Org Mem | false | BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd |
| Business Rln With Fam Mem | false | BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd |
| Business Rln With35 Ctrl Ent | false | BusinessRlnWith35CtrlEntInd |
| Deductible Non Cash Contri | Yes (true) | DeductibleNonCashContriInd |
| Deductible Art Contribution | false | DeductibleArtContributionInd |
| Terminate Operations | false | TerminateOperationsInd |
| Partial Liquidation | false | PartialLiquidationInd |
| Disregarded Entity | false | DisregardedEntityInd |
| Related Entity | false | RelatedEntityInd |
| Related Organization Ctrl Ent | false | RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd |
| Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd Org | false | TrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd |
| Activities Conducted Prtshp | false | ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd |
| Schedule O Required | false | ScheduleORequiredInd |
| IRP Document | 224 | IRPDocumentCnt |
| IRP Document W2 G | 0 | IRPDocumentW2GCnt |
| Employee | 394 | EmployeeCnt |
| Employment Tax Returns Filed | Yes (true) | EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd |
| Unrelated Bus Incm Over Limit | Yes (true) | UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd |
| Form990 T Filed | Yes (true) | Form990TFiledInd |
| Foreign Financial Account | false | ForeignFinancialAccountInd |
| Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans | false | ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd |
| Taxable Party Notification | false | TaxablePartyNotificationInd |
| Nondeductible Contributions | false | NondeductibleContributionsInd |
| Quid Pro Quo Contributions | Yes (true) | QuidProQuoContributionsInd |
| Quid Pro Quo Contri Discl | Yes (true) | QuidProQuoContriDisclInd |
| Form8282 Property Disposed Of | false | Form8282PropertyDisposedOfInd |
| Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft Cntrct | false | RcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd |
| Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft Cntrct | false | PayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd |
| Form8899 Filedind | false | Form8899Filedind |
| Form1098 C Filed | false | Form1098CFiledInd |
| Indoor Tanning Services | false | IndoorTanningServicesInd |
| Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht Pymt | false | SubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd |
| Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst Inc | false | SubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd |
| Info In Schedule O Part VI | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd |
| Governing Body Voting Members | 39 | GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt |
| Independent Voting Member | 38 | IndependentVotingMemberCnt |
| Family Or Business Rln | Yes (true) | FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd |
| Delegation Of Mgmt Duties | false | DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd |
| Change To Org Documents | false | ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd |
| Material Diversion Or Misuse | false | MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd |
| Members Or Stockholders | false | MembersOrStockholdersInd |
| Election Of Board Members | false | ElectionOfBoardMembersInd |
| Decisions Subject To Approva | false | DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd |
| Minutes Of Governing Body | Yes (true) | MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd |
| Minutes Of Committees | Yes (true) | MinutesOfCommitteesInd |
| Officer Mailing Address | false | OfficerMailingAddressInd |
| Local Chapters | false | LocalChaptersInd |
| Form990 Provided To Gvrn Body | Yes (true) | Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd |
| Conflict Of Interest Policy | Yes (true) | ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd |
| Annual Disclosure Covered Prsn | Yes (true) | AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd |
| Regular Monitoring Enfrc | Yes (true) | RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd |
| Whistleblower Policy | Yes (true) | WhistleblowerPolicyInd |
| Document Retention Policy | Yes (true) | DocumentRetentionPolicyInd |
| Compensation Process CEO | Yes (true) | CompensationProcessCEOInd |
| Compensation Process Other | Yes (true) | CompensationProcessOtherInd |
| Investment In Joint Venture | false | InvestmentInJointVentureInd |
| States Where Copy Of Return Is Fld | NJ | StatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd |
| Upon Request | Yes (X) | UponRequestInd |
Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Person | ADAM PHILIPSON | PersonNm |
| Phone | 7322248778 | PhoneNum |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 99 MONMOUTH STREET | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | RED BANK | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | NJ | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 07701 | ZIPCd |
Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (46 entries)
| TitleTitleTxt | Average Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRt | Average Hours Per Week Rltd OrgAverageHoursPerWeekRltdOrgRt | OfficerOfficerInd | Reportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmt | Reportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmt | Other CompensationOtherCompensationAmt | Highest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd | Individual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorInd |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Adam Philipson | ||||||||
| CEO & PRESIDENT | 60.0 | 0.0 | Yes (X) | $431,643 | $0 | $28,284 | ||
| Karen Franklin | ||||||||
| Chief Financial Officer | 40.0 | 0.0 | Yes (X) | $224,197 | $0 | $19,042 | ||
| Jonathan E Vena | ||||||||
| Chief Marketing Officer | 40.0 | 0.0 | $188,429 | $0 | $18,397 | Yes (X) | ||
| Isidore Sackowitz | ||||||||
| Chief Operating Officer | 40.0 | 0.0 | $188,478 | $0 | $863 | Yes (X) | ||
| Lysa J Israel | ||||||||
| sr. Director of Development | 40.0 | 0.0 | $143,301 | $0 | $306 | Yes (X) | ||
| Ann Marie Keenan | ||||||||
| Human Resources Director | 40.0 | 0.0 | $112,500 | $0 | $11,511 | Yes (X) | ||
| Samantha Giustiniani | ||||||||
| VP, Education & Outreach | 40.0 | 0.0 | $113,066 | $0 | $6,043 | Yes (X) | ||
| Jeremy Grunin | ||||||||
| CHAIRPERSON | 5.0 | 0.0 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | Yes (X) | |
| Maggie Riker | ||||||||
| Co-Vice Chairperson | 5.0 | 0.0 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | Yes (X) | |
| Stephen Cutler | ||||||||
| TREASURER | 5.0 | 0.0 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | Yes (X) | |
| Maria Maher | ||||||||
| CO-SECRETARY | 5.0 | 0.0 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | Yes (X) | |
| Michael Parent | ||||||||
| Co-Vice Chairperson | 5.0 | 0.0 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | Yes (X) | |
| SoVonna Day-Goins | ||||||||
| CO-SECRETARY | 5.0 | 0.0 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | Yes (X) | |
| Robin Klein | ||||||||
| Governance Chair | 5.0 | 0.0 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | Yes (X) | |
| Claudia Dulac | ||||||||
| dei officer | 5.0 | 0.0 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | Yes (X) | |
| Stuart Alderoty | ||||||||
| Board Member | 1.0 | 0.0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | Yes (X) | ||
| Mitchell Ansell | ||||||||
| Board Member | 1.0 | 0.0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | Yes (X) | ||
| Alison Banks-Moore | ||||||||
| Board Member | 1.0 | 0.0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | Yes (X) | ||
| Tom Bernard | ||||||||
| Board Member | 1.0 | 0.0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | Yes (X) | ||
| Sarah Bradley | ||||||||
| Board Member | 1.0 | 0.0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | Yes (X) | ||
| Michael Bruno | ||||||||
| Board Member | 1.0 | 0.0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | Yes (X) | ||
| Heather Burke | ||||||||
| Board Member | 1.0 | 0.0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | Yes (X) | ||
| James M Cadet | ||||||||
| Board Member | 1.0 | 0.0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | Yes (X) | ||
| Puja Choudhry | ||||||||
| Board Member | 1.0 | 0.0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | Yes (X) | ||
| Jerry Conaty | ||||||||
| Board Member | 1.0 | 0.0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | Yes (X) | ||
| Craig Cummings | ||||||||
| Board Member | 1.0 | 0.0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | Yes (X) | ||
| Mollie Giamanco | ||||||||
| Board Member | 1.0 | 0.0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | Yes (X) | ||
| Lauren Goldfarb | ||||||||
| Board Member | 1.0 | 0.0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | Yes (X) | ||
| Yvonne Grayson | ||||||||
| Board Member | 1.0 | 0.0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | Yes (X) | ||
| Mark Hogan | ||||||||
| Board Member | 1.0 | 0.0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | Yes (X) | ||
| Jason Jurgens | ||||||||
| Board Member | 1.0 | 0.0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | Yes (X) | ||
| Nancy Karpf | ||||||||
| Board Member | 1.0 | 0.0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | Yes (X) | ||
| Marshall Knopf | ||||||||
| Board Member | 1.0 | 0.0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | Yes (X) | ||
| Mario Monello | ||||||||
| Board Member | 1.0 | 0.0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | Yes (X) | ||
| Mark Rohl | ||||||||
| Board Member | 1.0 | 0.0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | Yes (X) | ||
| Peter T Roselle | ||||||||
| Board Member | 1.0 | 0.0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | Yes (X) | ||
| Matthew J Saker | ||||||||
| Board Member | 1.0 | 0.0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | Yes (X) | ||
| Peter Seligman | ||||||||
| Board Member | 1.0 | 0.0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | Yes (X) | ||
| Richard Spengler | ||||||||
| Board Member | 1.0 | 0.0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | Yes (X) | ||
| Carol Stillwell | ||||||||
| Board Member | 1.0 | 0.0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | Yes (X) | ||
| Fran Turner | ||||||||
| Board Member | 1.0 | 0.0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | Yes (X) | ||
| Joe Wajda | ||||||||
| Board Member | 1.0 | 0.0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | Yes (X) | ||
| Tom Widener | ||||||||
| Board Member | 1.0 | 0.0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | Yes (X) | ||
| Darrell Lawrence Willis Sr | ||||||||
| Board Member | 1.0 | 0.0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | Yes (X) | ||
| Kaye Wise | ||||||||
| Board Member | 1.0 | 0.0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | Yes (X) | ||
| Edward Zipprich | ||||||||
| Board Member | 1.0 | 0.0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | Yes (X) | ||
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Reportable Comp From Org | $1,401,614 | TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt |
| Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org | $0 | TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt |
| Total Other Compensation | $84,446 | TotalOtherCompensationAmt |
| Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K | 7 | IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt |
| Former Ofcr Employees Listed | false | FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd |
| Total Comp Greater Than150 K | Yes (true) | TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd |
| Compensation From Other Srcs | false | CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd |
Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)
| Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1Txt | CityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNm | State AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCd | ZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCd | ServicesServicesDesc | CompensationCompensationAmt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Thoroughbred Management of NJ LLC | |||||
| 12 Gansett Court | LONG BRANCH | NJ | 07740 | Consulting | $304,700 |
| Light of Day Foundation | |||||
| PO Box 105 | ALLENHURST | NJ | 07711 | Artist Fee | $206,892 |
| ICM Partners | |||||
| 10250 Constellation Blvd 7th Floor | LOS ANGELES | CA | 90067 | Artist Fee | $178,721 |
| WME | |||||
| 9601 Wilshire Blvd 3rd Floor | BEVERLY HILLS | CA | 90210 | Artist Fee | $152,333 |
| Bertam Publishing Company | |||||
| 4123 Lanker shim Blvd | NORTH HOLLYWOOD | CA | 91602 | Artist Fee | $125,000 |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K | 6 | CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt |
| Fundraising | $28,050 | FundraisingAmt |
| Government Grants | $2,080,948 | GovernmentGrantsAmt |
| All Other Contributions | $5,436,777 | AllOtherContributionsAmt |
| Noncash Contributions | $466,981 | NoncashContributionsAmt |
| Total Contributions | $7,545,775 | TotalContributionsAmt |
Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (5 entries)
| DescDesc | BusinessBusinessCd | Total Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmt | Related Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt |
|---|---|---|---|
| BOX OFFICE INCOME | 711110 | $13,435,461 | $13,435,461 |
| THEATRE RENTAL INCOME | 532000 | $1,387,595 | $1,387,595 |
| CONCESSION INCOME | 711110 | $1,389,127 | $1,389,127 |
| WORKSHOP INCOME | 711110 | $665,511 | $665,511 |
| CONSERVATORY INCOME | 711110 | $244,233 | $244,233 |
Total Oth Program Service Rev TotalOthProgramServiceRevGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $64,257 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Related Or Exempt Func Income | $64,257 | RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Program Service Revenue | $17,186,184 | TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $253,271 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Exclusion | $253,271 | ExclusionAmt |
Incm From Invest Bond Proceeds IncmFromInvestBondProceedsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $0 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
Royalties Revenue RoyaltiesRevenueGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $0 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
Rental Income Or Loss RentalIncomeOrLossGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Real | $0 | RealAmt |
| Personal | $0 | PersonalAmt |
Net Rental Income Or Loss NetRentalIncomeOrLossGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $0 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Securities | $5,877,935 | SecuritiesAmt |
Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Securities | $5,913,106 | SecuritiesAmt |
Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Securities | -$35,171 | SecuritiesAmt |
Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | -$35,171 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Exclusion | -$35,171 | ExclusionAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Fundraising Gross Income | $71,980 | FundraisingGrossIncomeAmt |
| Contri Rpt Fundraising Event | $28,050 | ContriRptFundraisingEventAmt |
| Fundraising Direct Expenses | $71,980 | FundraisingDirectExpensesAmt |
| Gaming Gross Income | $0 | GamingGrossIncomeAmt |
| Gaming Direct Expenses | $0 | GamingDirectExpensesAmt |
Net Income From Gaming NetIncomeFromGamingGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $0 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Gross Sales Of Inventory | $0 | GrossSalesOfInventoryAmt |
| Cost Of Goods Sold | $0 | CostOfGoodsSoldAmt |
Net Income Or Loss NetIncomeOrLossGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $0 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp (2 entries)
| DescDesc | BusinessBusinessCd | Total Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmt | Unrelated Business RevenueUnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt |
|---|---|---|---|
| ADVERTISING | 511190 | $71,011 | $71,011 |
| CONSULTING INCOME | 541618 | $135,000 | $135,000 |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Revenue Total | $206,011 | OtherRevenueTotalAmt |
Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $25,156,070 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Related Or Exempt Func Income | $17,186,184 | RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt |
| Unrelated Business Revenue | $206,011 | UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt |
| Exclusion | $218,100 | ExclusionAmt |
Grants To Domestic Orgs GrantsToDomesticOrgsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $0 | TotalAmt |
Grants To Domestic Individuals GrantsToDomesticIndividualsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $0 | TotalAmt |
Foreign Grants ForeignGrantsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $0 | TotalAmt |
Benefits To Members BenefitsToMembersGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $0 | TotalAmt |
Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $762,073 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $228,622 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $289,689 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $243,762 | FundraisingAmt |
Comp Disqual Persons CompDisqualPersonsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $0 | TotalAmt |
Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $4,125,027 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $3,222,955 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $116,529 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $785,543 | FundraisingAmt |
Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $0 | TotalAmt |
Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $419,109 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $306,979 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $32,314 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $79,816 | FundraisingAmt |
Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $524,916 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $384,478 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $40,471 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $99,967 | FundraisingAmt |
Fees For Services Management FeesForServicesManagementGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $0 | TotalAmt |
Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $105,223 | TotalAmt |
| Management And General | $105,223 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $116,102 | TotalAmt |
| Management And General | $116,102 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Fees For Services Lobbying FeesForServicesLobbyingGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $0 | TotalAmt |
Fees For Services Prof Fundraising FeesForServicesProfFundraising
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $0 | TotalAmt |
Fees For Srvc Invst Mgmnt Fees FeesForSrvcInvstMgmntFeesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $47,178 | TotalAmt |
| Management And General | $47,178 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $497,234 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $338,004 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $139,490 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $19,740 | FundraisingAmt |
Advertising AdvertisingGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $685,389 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $663,486 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $14,602 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $7,301 | FundraisingAmt |
Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $80,409 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $54,829 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $13,519 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $12,061 | FundraisingAmt |
Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $0 | TotalAmt |
Royalties RoyaltiesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $0 | TotalAmt |
Occupancy OccupancyGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $531,103 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $504,548 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $13,278 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $13,277 | FundraisingAmt |
Travel TravelGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $164,197 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $21,233 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $21,232 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $121,732 | FundraisingAmt |
Pymt Travel Entrtnmnt Pub Ofcl PymtTravelEntrtnmntPubOfclGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $0 | TotalAmt |
Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $125,326 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $80,511 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $24,813 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $20,002 | FundraisingAmt |
Interest InterestGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $691,292 | TotalAmt |
| Management And General | $691,292 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Payments To Affiliates PaymentsToAffiliatesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $0 | TotalAmt |
Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $1,909,909 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $1,786,659 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $76,233 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $47,017 | FundraisingAmt |
Insurance InsuranceGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $184,976 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $175,729 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $4,624 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $4,623 | FundraisingAmt |
Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)
| DescDesc | TotalTotalAmt | Program ServicesProgramServicesAmt | Management And GeneralManagementAndGeneralAmt |
|---|---|---|---|
| ARTISTIC FEES | $7,171,755 | $7,171,755 | |
| THEATRE EXPENSES | $2,301,745 | $2,301,745 | |
| WORKSHOP & CONSERVATORY COSTS | $1,140,171 | $1,140,171 | |
| LICENSE, FEES AND DUES | $334,702 | $319,156 | $15,546 |
All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $634,819 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $460,671 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $33,073 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $141,075 | FundraisingAmt |
Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $22,552,655 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $19,161,531 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $1,795,208 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $1,595,916 | FundraisingAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Info In Schedule O Part X | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartXInd |
Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $769,511 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $1,369,911 | EOYAmt |
Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $11,170,963 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $4,642,712 | EOYAmt |
Pledges And Grants Receivable PledgesAndGrantsReceivableGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $4,248,198 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $6,977,411 | EOYAmt |
Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $115,012 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $54,013 | EOYAmt |
Receivables From Officers Etc ReceivablesFromOfficersEtcGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $0 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $0 | EOYAmt |
Rcvbl From Disqualified Prsn RcvblFromDisqualifiedPrsnGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $0 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $0 | EOYAmt |
Oth Notes Loans Receivable Net OthNotesLoansReceivableNetGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $0 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $0 | EOYAmt |
Inventories For Sale Or Use InventoriesForSaleOrUseGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $59,748 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $63,599 | EOYAmt |
Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $291,372 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $473,106 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss | $58,763,083 | LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt |
| Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec | $13,970,783 | LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt |
Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $41,603,763 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $44,792,300 | EOYAmt |
Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $3,479,585 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $10,511,057 | EOYAmt |
Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $91,322 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $126,826 | EOYAmt |
Investments Program Related InvestmentsProgramRelatedGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $0 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $0 | EOYAmt |
Intangible Assets IntangibleAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $0 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $0 | EOYAmt |
Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $686,510 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $329,333 | EOYAmt |
Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $62,515,984 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $69,340,268 | EOYAmt |
Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $1,232,277 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $1,123,523 | EOYAmt |
Grants Payable GrantsPayableGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $0 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $750,000 | EOYAmt |
Deferred Revenue DeferredRevenueGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $3,876,897 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $5,073,907 | EOYAmt |
Tax Exempt Bond Liabilities TaxExemptBondLiabilitiesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $0 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $0 | EOYAmt |
Escrow Account Liability EscrowAccountLiabilityGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $0 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $0 | EOYAmt |
Loans From Officers Directors LoansFromOfficersDirectorsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $0 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $0 | EOYAmt |
Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $22,342,988 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $22,954,741 | EOYAmt |
Unsecured Notes Loans Payable UnsecuredNotesLoansPayableGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $0 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $0 | EOYAmt |
Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $487,248 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $316,340 | EOYAmt |
Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $27,939,410 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $30,218,511 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Organization Follows FASB117 | Yes (X) | OrganizationFollowsFASB117Ind |
No Donor Restriction Net Assets NoDonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $32,903,836 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $34,735,233 | EOYAmt |
Donor Restriction Net Assets DonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $1,672,738 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $4,386,524 | EOYAmt |
Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $34,576,574 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $39,121,757 | EOYAmt |
Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $62,515,984 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $69,340,268 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Info In Schedule O Part XI | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd |
| Reconcilation Revenue Expnss | $2,603,415 | ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt |
| Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst | $585,579 | NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt |
| Other Changes In Net Assets | $1,356,189 | OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt |
| Info In Schedule O Part XII | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartXIIInd |
| Method Of Accounting Accrual | Yes (X) | MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd |
| Accountant Compile Or Review | false | AccountantCompileOrReviewInd |
| FS Audited | Yes (true) | FSAuditedInd |
FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Separate Basis Fincl Stmt | Yes (X) | SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Audit Committee | Yes (true) | AuditCommitteeInd |
| Federal Grant Audit Required | false | FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd |
Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Public Organization170 | Yes (X) | PublicOrganization170Ind |
Gifts Grants Contri Rcvd170 GiftsGrantsContriRcvd170Grp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Current Tax Year Minus4 Years | $7,134,822 | CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus3 Years | $2,494,008 | CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus2 Years | $10,485,067 | CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus1 Year | $7,445,405 | CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt |
| Current Tax Year | $7,545,775 | CurrentTaxYearAmt |
| Total | $35,105,077 | TotalAmt |
Tax Rev Levied Orgnztnl Bnft170 TaxRevLeviedOrgnztnlBnft170Grp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $0 | TotalAmt |
Govt Furn Srvc Fclts Vl170 GovtFurnSrvcFcltsVl170Grp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $0 | TotalAmt |
Total Calendar Year170 TotalCalendarYear170Grp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Current Tax Year Minus4 Years | $7,134,822 | CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus3 Years | $2,494,008 | CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus2 Years | $10,485,067 | CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus1 Year | $7,445,405 | CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt |
| Current Tax Year | $7,545,775 | CurrentTaxYearAmt |
| Total | $35,105,077 | TotalAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Substantial Contributors Tot | $2,629,581 | SubstantialContributorsTotAmt |
| Public Support Total170 | $32,475,496 | PublicSupportTotal170Amt |
Gross Investment Income170 GrossInvestmentIncome170Grp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Current Tax Year Minus4 Years | $78,980 | CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus3 Years | $58,860 | CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus2 Years | $85,886 | CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus1 Year | $128,911 | CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt |
| Current Tax Year | $253,271 | CurrentTaxYearAmt |
| Total | $605,908 | TotalAmt |
Unrelated Business Net Incm170 UnrelatedBusinessNetIncm170Grp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $0 | TotalAmt |
Other Income170 OtherIncome170Grp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Current Tax Year Minus4 Years | $2,375 | CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus3 Years | $31,380 | CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus2 Years | $2,560 | CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus1 Year | $57,519 | CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt |
| Current Tax Year | $64,257 | CurrentTaxYearAmt |
| Total | $158,091 | TotalAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Support | $35,869,076 | TotalSupportAmt |
| Gross Receipts Rltd Activities | $56,898,692 | GrossReceiptsRltdActivitiesAmt |
| Public Support CY170 | 0.90539 | PublicSupportCY170Pct |
| Public Support PY170 | 0.94920 | PublicSupportPY170Pct |
| Thirty Thr Pct Suprt Tests CY170 | Yes (X) | ThirtyThrPctSuprtTestsCY170Ind |
Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB
Contributor Information ContributorInformationGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Contributor | RESTRICTED | ContributorNum |
Contributor Business Name ContributorBusinessName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | RESTRICTED | BusinessNameLine1 |
Contributor US Address ContributorUSAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | RESTRICTED | AddressLine1 |
| Address Line2 | RESTRICTED | AddressLine2 |
| City | RESTRICTED | City |
| State | RESTRICTED | State |
| ZIP Code | RESTRICTED | ZIPCode |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Contributions | RESTRICTED | TotalContributionsAmt |
Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Art Public Exhibition Amounts | ArtPublicExhibitionAmountsGrp | |
| Held Works Art | HeldWorksArtGrp |
CY Endwmt Fund CYEndwmtFundGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Beginning Year Balance | $1,271,214 | BeginningYearBalanceAmt |
| Contributions | $392,537 | ContributionsAmt |
| Investment Earnings Or Losses | $240,141 | InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt |
| Administrative Expenses | $329,587 | AdministrativeExpensesAmt |
| End Year Balance | $1,574,305 | EndYearBalanceAmt |
CY Minus1 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus1YrEndwmtFundGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Beginning Year Balance | $1,018,071 | BeginningYearBalanceAmt |
| Contributions | $320,000 | ContributionsAmt |
| Investment Earnings Or Losses | -$67,057 | InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt |
| End Year Balance | $1,271,014 | EndYearBalanceAmt |
CY Minus2 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus2YrEndwmtFundGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Beginning Year Balance | $879,975 | BeginningYearBalanceAmt |
| Investment Earnings Or Losses | $205,096 | InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt |
| Administrative Expenses | $67,000 | AdministrativeExpensesAmt |
| End Year Balance | $1,018,071 | EndYearBalanceAmt |
CY Minus3 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus3YrEndwmtFundGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Beginning Year Balance | $933,983 | BeginningYearBalanceAmt |
| Investment Earnings Or Losses | $11,992 | InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt |
| Administrative Expenses | $66,000 | AdministrativeExpensesAmt |
| End Year Balance | $879,975 | EndYearBalanceAmt |
CY Minus4 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus4YrEndwmtFundGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Beginning Year Balance | $999,042 | BeginningYearBalanceAmt |
| Investment Earnings Or Losses | $44,941 | InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt |
| Administrative Expenses | $110,000 | AdministrativeExpensesAmt |
| End Year Balance | $933,983 | EndYearBalanceAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Prmnnt Endowment Balance EOY | 1.00000 | PrmnntEndowmentBalanceEOYPct |
Land LandGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Cost Or Other Basis | $3,923,828 | OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Book Value | $3,923,828 | BookValueAmt |
Buildings BuildingsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Cost Or Other Basis | $52,486,755 | OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Depreciation | $12,897,643 | DepreciationAmt |
| Book Value | $39,589,112 | BookValueAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Leasehold Improvements | LeaseholdImprovementsGrp |
Equipment EquipmentGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Cost Or Other Basis | $2,267,284 | OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Depreciation | $1,073,140 | DepreciationAmt |
| Book Value | $1,194,144 | BookValueAmt |
Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Cost Or Other Basis | $85,216 | OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Depreciation | $0 | DepreciationAmt |
| Book Value | $85,216 | BookValueAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Book Value Land Buildings | $44,792,300 | TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt |
| Federal Income Tax Liability | $0 | FederalIncomeTaxLiabilityAmt |
Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Desc | DEFERRED LEASE LIABILITY | Desc |
| Amt | $316,340 | Amt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Liability | $316,340 | TotalLiabilityAmt |
| Footnote Text | Yes (X) | FootnoteTextInd |
| Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt | $27,055,081 | TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt |
| Net Unrealized Gains Invst | $585,579 | NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt |
| Donated Services And Use Fclts | $4,421 | DonatedServicesAndUseFcltsAmt |
| Other Revenue | $1,356,189 | OtherRevenueAmt |
| Revenue Not Reported | $1,946,189 | RevenueNotReportedAmt |
| Revenue Subtotal | $25,108,892 | RevenueSubtotalAmt |
| Investment Expenses Not Incld | $47,178 | InvestmentExpensesNotIncldAmt |
| Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt | $47,178 | RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt |
| Total Revenue Per Form990 | $25,156,070 | TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt |
| Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt | $22,509,898 | TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt |
| Donated Services Use Fclts | $4,421 | DonatedServicesUseFcltsAmt |
| Expenses Not Reported | $4,421 | ExpensesNotReportedAmt |
| Expenses Subtotal | $22,505,477 | ExpensesSubtotalAmt |
| Investment Expenses Not Incld2 | $47,178 | InvestmentExpensesNotIncld2Amt |
| Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt | $47,178 | ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt |
| Total Expenses Per Form990 | $22,552,655 | TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt |
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (3 entries)
| Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDesc | ExplanationExplanationTxt |
|---|---|
| PART X, LINE 2: | THE ORGANIZATION BELIEVES THAT IT HAS APPROPRIATE SUPPORT FOR ANY TAX POSITIONS TAKEN, AND AS SUCH, DOES NOT HAVE ANY UNCERTAIN TAX POSITIONS. |
| PART V, LINE 4: | The Endowment balance held by the Organization as of June 30, 2023 consists of: - Arts Education Endowment of $861,568 - to support the Organization's mission by providing valuable and life-enhancing education programs. - Forever for Everyone Endowment of $631,737 - to offer scholarships in perpetuity for the Basie Center Academy programs; to promote diversity, equity and inclusion within the performing arts; to fund the Organization's goals for strategic growth; and to create an emergency fund for upkeep of its campus, including its 96-year-old historic theater. - Charlie Puth Performance Scholarship Fund of $81,000 - to provide scholarships to students at the Count Basie Center Academy. |
| part xi, line 2d: | On January 4, 2023, the Organization entered an agreement to acquire Phoenix Productions, Inc. (the "Phoenix"). The Phoenix was a New Jersey not-for-profit corporation that was a theatrical presenter. The Organization acquired Phoenix for no consideration and assumed all of its assets and liabilities with the intention that it would combine and solidify their regional impact on the performing arts. As a result, the Organization has recorded an inherent contribution (inherent contribution is assets acquired exceed liabilities assumed and consideration paid, if any) of $1,356,189 for the year ended June 30, 2023 in the consolidated statements of activities for this transaction which contained net assets with restrictions of $56,981 and net assets without restrictions of $1,299,208. There are no contingent considerations applicable to this acquisition. |
Schedule G IRS990ScheduleG
Fundraising Event Information FundraisingEventInformationGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Event1 | golf outing | Event1Nm |
| Gross Receipts Event1 | $100,030 | GrossReceiptsEvent1Amt |
| Charitable Contri Event1 | $28,050 | CharitableContriEvent1Amt |
| Gross Revenue Event1 | $71,980 | GrossRevenueEvent1Amt |
| Other Direct Expenses Event1 | $71,980 | OtherDirectExpensesEvent1Amt |
| Other Events Total | 0 | OtherEventsTotalCnt |
| Gross Receipts Total | $100,030 | GrossReceiptsTotalAmt |
| Charitable Contributions Tot | $28,050 | CharitableContributionsTotAmt |
| Gross Revenue Total Events | $71,980 | GrossRevenueTotalEventsAmt |
| Oth Direct Expnss Total Events | $71,980 | OthDirectExpnssTotalEventsAmt |
| Direct Expense Summary Events | $71,980 | DirectExpenseSummaryEventsAmt |
Persons With Books US Address PersonsWithBooksUSAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 99 MONMOUTH STREET | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | RED BANK | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | NJ | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 07701 | ZIPCd |
Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Compensation Committee | Yes (X) | CompensationCommitteeInd |
| Form990 Of Other Organizations | Yes (X) | Form990OfOtherOrganizationsInd |
| Board Or Committee Approval | Yes (X) | BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd |
| Severance Payment | false | SeverancePaymentInd |
| Supplemental Nonqual Rtr Plan | false | SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd |
| Equity Based Comp Arrngm | false | EquityBasedCompArrngmInd |
| Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng Org | false | CompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd |
| Comp Bsd On Rev Related Orgs | false | CompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd |
| Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng Org | false | CompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd |
| Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd Orgs | false | CompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd |
| Any Non Fixed Payments | false | AnyNonFixedPaymentsInd |
| Initial Contract Exception | false | InitialContractExceptionInd |
Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (4 entries)
| TitleTitleTxt | Base Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmt | Bonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmount | Other Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmt | Deferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmt | Nontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmt | Total Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmt | Comp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Adam Philipson | |||||||
| CEO & PRESIDENT | $294,643 | $137,000 | $0 | $0 | $28,284 | $459,927 | $0 |
| Karen Franklin | |||||||
| Chief Financial Officer | $200,584 | $23,613 | $0 | $0 | $19,042 | $243,239 | $0 |
| Isidore Sackowitz | |||||||
| Chief Operating Officer | $175,978 | $12,500 | $0 | $0 | $863 | $189,341 | $0 |
| Jonathan E Vena | |||||||
| Chief Marketing Officer | $164,417 | $24,012 | $0 | $0 | $18,397 | $206,826 | $0 |
Schedule M IRS990ScheduleM
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Works Of Art | WorksOfArtGrp | |
| Art Historical Treasures | ArtHistoricalTreasuresGrp | |
| Art Fractional Interest | ArtFractionalInterestGrp | |
| Books And Publications | BooksAndPublicationsGrp | |
| Clothing And Household Goods | ClothingAndHouseholdGoodsGrp | |
| Cars And Other Vehicles | CarsAndOtherVehiclesGrp | |
| Boats And Planes | BoatsAndPlanesGrp | |
| Intellectual Property | IntellectualPropertyGrp |
Securities Publicly Traded SecuritiesPubliclyTradedGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Non Cash Checkbox | Yes (X) | NonCashCheckboxInd |
| Contribution | 4 | ContributionCnt |
| Noncash Contributions Rpt F990 | $466,981 | NoncashContributionsRptF990Amt |
| Method Of Determining Revenues | MARKET VALUE | MethodOfDeterminingRevenuesTxt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Securities Closely Held Stock | SecuritiesCloselyHeldStockGrp | |
| Secur Prtnrshp Trust Intrsts | SecurPrtnrshpTrustIntrstsGrp | |
| Securities Miscellaneous | SecuritiesMiscellaneousGrp | |
| Qualified Contrib Hist Struct | QualifiedContribHistStructGrp | |
| Qualified Contrib Other | QualifiedContribOtherGrp | |
| Real Estate Residential | RealEstateResidentialGrp | |
| Real Estate Commercial | RealEstateCommercialGrp | |
| Real Estate Other | RealEstateOtherGrp | |
| Collectibles | CollectiblesGrp | |
| Food Inventory | FoodInventoryGrp | |
| Drugs And Medical Supplies | DrugsAndMedicalSuppliesGrp | |
| Taxidermy | TaxidermyGrp | |
| Historical Artifacts | HistoricalArtifactsGrp | |
| Scientific Specimens | ScientificSpecimensGrp | |
| Archaeological Artifacts | ArchaeologicalArtifactsGrp | |
| Any Property That Must Be Held | false | AnyPropertyThatMustBeHeldInd |
| Review Process Unusual NC Gifts | false | ReviewProcessUnusualNCGiftsInd |
| Third Parties Used | false | ThirdPartiesUsedInd |
Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (6 entries)
| Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDesc | ExplanationExplanationTxt |
|---|---|
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 11: | A DRAFT OF FORM 990 IS SENT TO THE FULL BOARD MEMBERS FOR REVIEW AND APPROVAL. |
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 12C: | THE ORGANIZATION REQUESTS ALL BOARD MEMBERS AND KEY EMPLOYEES TO SIGN AN ANNUAL CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY CERTIFICATION. IN ADDITION, BOARD MEMBERS AND KEY EMPLOYEES ARE REQUESTED TO COMPLETE AN ANNUAL FORM 990 DISCLOSURE, WHICH REQUESTS DISCLOSURE OF ANY INTEREST THAT COULD GIVE RISE TO CONFLICTS. |
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 15: | COMPENSATION OF ALL KEY EMPLOYEES IS DISCUSSED AND APPROVED BY THE BOARD AND/OR COMMITTEE. COMPENSATION IS GENERALLY BASED ON INDUSTRY STANDARD. |
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION C, LINE 19: | FORM 990 IS AVAILABLE ONLINE AT WWW.GUIDESTAR.ORG. ALL DOCUMENTS ARE AVAILABLE UPON REQUEST. |
| FORM 990, PART XII, LINE 2C: | THE BOARD HAS APPROVED THE AUDIT COMMITTEE FOR OVERSIGHT OF THE AUDIT. |
| FORM 990, PART XI, LINE 9: | On January 4, 2023, the Organization entered an agreement to acquire Phoenix Productions, Inc. (the "Phoenix"). The Phoenix was a New Jersey not-for-profit corporation that was a theatrical presenter. The Organization acquired Phoenix for no consideration and assumed all of its assets and liabilities with the intention that it would combine and solidify their regional impact on the performing arts. As a result, the Organization has recorded an inherent contribution (inherent contribution is assets acquired exceed liabilities assumed and consideration paid, if any) of $1,356,189 for the year ended June 30, 2023 in the consolidated statements of activities for this transaction which contained net assets with restrictions of $56,981 and net assets without restrictions of $1,299,208. There are no contingent considerations applicable to this acquisition. |
Comments