SHELTON LANDMARK FOUNDATION: Form 990, tax year 2022

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
SHELTON LANDMARK FOUNDATION (EIN 20-2532325)
Tax period
2022-06-01 to 2023-05-31
Filed
2024-04-09
IRS object ID
202431009349300743
Schema version
2022v5.0
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2024-04-09T13:11:28-05:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2023-05-31TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN751044330PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1LANE GORMAN TRUBITT LLCBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line12626 HOWELL ST SUITE 700AddressLine1Txt
CityDALLASCityNm
State AbbreviationTXStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP75204ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2022-06-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN202532325EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1SHELTON LANDMARK FOUNDATIONBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlSHELBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone9727741772PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line117301 PRESTON ROADAddressLine1Txt
CityDALLASCityNm
State AbbreviationTXStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP75252ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonKELLY VAN DEN HANDELPersonNm
Person TitleCFOPersonTitleTxt
Phone9727741772PhoneNum
Signature2024-04-04SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (1)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Signing Officer SigningOfficerGrp

Person Full Name PersonFullName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Person FirstKELLYPersonFirstNm
Person LastVAN DEN HANDELPersonLastNm
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
SSNXXX-XX-XXXXSSN
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
IRS Responsible Prty Info CurrYes (1)IRSResponsiblePrtyInfoCurrInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonKEVIN WARNEKEPreparerPersonNm
PTINP01294950PTIN
Phone2148717500PhoneNum

Additional Filer Information AdditionalFilerInformation

Trusted Customer TrustedCustomerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Trusted Customer2TrustedCustomerCd
Authentication Assurance LevelAAL1AuthenticationAssuranceLevelCd
Identity Assurance LevelIAL1IdentityAssuranceLevelCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2022TaxYr
Build TS2023-04-26 12:10:37ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerJAMES B REEDERPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line117301 PRESTON ROADAddressLine1Txt
CityDALLASCityNm
State AbbreviationTXStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP75252ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$8,197,482GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For Affiliates0GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501c3Yes (X)Organization501c3Ind
Website AddressN/AWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation2005FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateTXLegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionTO SUPPORT AND BENEFIT THE JUNE SHELTON SCHOOL AND EVALUATION CENTERActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body8VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent7VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee0TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers7TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$0TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$0NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$7,377,814PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$615,808CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$2,059,200PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$2,059,200CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$472,380PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$452,157CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$0PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$196,272CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$9,909,394PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$3,323,437CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$0PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$0CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$0PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$0PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$0CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$0CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$4,951,692PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$5,571,959CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$4,951,692PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$5,571,959CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$4,957,702PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses-$2,248,522CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$120,539,366TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$113,293,258TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$56,246,854TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$50,125,175TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$64,292,512NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$63,168,083NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
MissionTO SUPPORT AND BENEFIT THE JUNE SHELTON SCHOOL AND EVALUATION CENTER BY SOLICITING, RECEIVING, AND HOLDING REAL PROPERTY TO BENEFIT THE LONG-TERM GOALS, PURPOSES, AND OBJECTIVES OF THE SCHOOL.MissionDesc
Significant New Program Srvc0SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant Change0SignificantChangeInd
Expense$5,460,161ExpenseAmt
Revenue$2,255,472RevenueAmt
DescTO SUPPORT THE JUNE SHELTON SCHOOL AND EVALUATION CENTER BY PROVIDING MANAGEMENT AND OVERSIGHT OF THE REAL PROPERTY. SHELTON SCHOOL IS AN INDEPENDENT, NONSECTARIAN, COEDUCATIONAL, NONPROFIT SCHOOL WHOSE PURPOSE IS TO PROVIDE EXCELLENCE IN EDUCATION TO STUDENTS OFAVERAGE TO ABOVE- AVERAGE INTELLIGENCE WITH LEARNING DIFFERENCES FROM PRESCHOOL THROUGH GRADE 12. THE SCHOOL OFFERS A COMPREHENSIVE CURRICULUM WITH A STRONG ACADEMIC ORIENTATION AND A NURTURING FAMILY ATMOSPHERE THAT CONSIDERS THE PHYSICAL, INTELLECTUAL, EMOTIONAL AND SOCIAL GROWTH OF EACH STUDENT. SHELTON SERVES ABOUT 1,088 STUDENTS ANNUALLY.Desc
Total Program Service Expenses$5,460,161TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt
Described In Section501c3Yes (1)DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B RequiredYes (1)ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign Acty0PoliticalCampaignActyInd
Lobbying Activities0LobbyingActivitiesInd
Subject To Proxy Tax0SubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised Fund0DonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation Easements0ConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of Art0CollectionsOfArtInd
Credit Counseling0CreditCounselingInd
Donor Rstr Or Quasi EndowmentsYes (1)DonorRstrOrQuasiEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (1)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other Sec0ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related Invst0ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other Assets0ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other Liabilities0ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (1)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School Operating0SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign Office0ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign Activities0ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To Org0MoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To Individuals0MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional Fundraising0ProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising Activities0FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming Activities0GamingActivitiesInd
Operate Hospital0OperateHospitalInd
Grants To Organizations0GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To Individuals0GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (1)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt BondsYes (1)TaxExemptBondsInd
Invest Tax Exempt Bonds0InvestTaxExemptBondsInd
Escrow Account0EscrowAccountInd
On Behalf Of Issuer0OnBehalfOfIssuerInd
Engaged In Excess Benefit Trans0EngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd
PY Excess Benefit Trans0PYExcessBenefitTransInd
Loan Outstanding0LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related Person0GrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org Mem0BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam Mem0BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With35 Ctrl Ent0BusinessRlnWith35CtrlEntInd
Deductible Non Cash Contri0DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art Contribution0DeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate Operations0TerminateOperationsInd
Partial Liquidation0PartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded Entity0DisregardedEntityInd
Related EntityYes (1)RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl Ent0RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd Org0TrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd
Activities Conducted Prtshp0ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (1)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document0IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Employee0EmployeeCnt
Unrelated Bus Incm Over Limit0UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Foreign Financial Account0ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans0ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party Notification0TaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible Contributions0NondeductibleContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo Contributions0QuidProQuoContributionsInd
Form8282 Property Disposed Of0Form8282PropertyDisposedOfInd
Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0RcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0PayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Indoor Tanning Services0IndoorTanningServicesInd
Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht Pymt0SubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd
Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst Inc0SubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members8GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member7IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business Rln0FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt Duties0DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org Documents0ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or Misuse0MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or Stockholders0MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board Members0ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To Approva0DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (1)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (1)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing Address0OfficerMailingAddressInd
Local Chapters0LocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn Body0Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (1)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (1)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (1)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (1)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (1)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (1)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (1)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint Venture0InvestmentInJointVentureInd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1KELLY VAN DEN HANDELBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Phone9727741772PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line117301 PRESTON ROADAddressLine1Txt
CityDALLASCityNm
State AbbreviationTXStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP75252ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (10 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtAverage Hours Per Week Rltd OrgAverageHoursPerWeekRltdOrgRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmt
JAMES B REEDER
CHAIRMAN1.001.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
GARY L WEBB
VICE CHAIRMAN1.002.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
ROBERT L WALKER
SECRETARY1.001.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
PAUL NEUBACH
TRUSTEE1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
CINDY WARD
TRUSTEE1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
PAUL BILLINGS
TRUSTEE1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
ED COPELAND
TRUSTEE1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
SUZANNE STELL
EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR1.0041.00Yes (X)$0$364,066$34,601
KELLY VAN DEN HANDEL
TREASURER1.0041.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$159,992$26,649
JOYCE S PICKERING
EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR EMERITA1.0031.00Yes (X)$0$196,321$7,783
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$0TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$720,379TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$69,033TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K0IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees Listed0FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (1)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other Srcs0CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp

Contractor Name ContractorName

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1LEE LEWIS CONSTRUCTIONBusinessNameLine1Txt

Contractor Address ContractorAddress

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line117177 PRESTON RD STE 160AddressLine1Txt
CityDALLASCityNm
State AbbreviationTXStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP75248ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
ServicesCONSTRUCTION SERVICESServicesDesc
Compensation$403,749CompensationAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K1CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Related Organizations$268,761RelatedOrganizationsAmt
All Other Contributions$347,047AllOtherContributionsAmt
Total Contributions$615,808TotalContributionsAmt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescRENTAL INCOMEDesc
Business531190BusinessCd
Total Revenue Column$2,059,200TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$2,059,200RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$2,059,200TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$16,406TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$16,406ExclusionAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$5,309,796SecuritiesAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$4,874,045SecuritiesAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$435,751SecuritiesAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$435,751TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$435,751ExclusionAmt

Miscellaneous Revenue MiscellaneousRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$196,272TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$196,272RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total$196,272OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$3,323,437TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$2,255,472RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$452,157ExclusionAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$18,246TotalAmt
Management And General$18,246ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$31,925TotalAmt
Management And General$31,925ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Srvc Invst Mgmnt Fees FeesForSrvcInvstMgmntFeesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$61,574TotalAmt
Management And General$61,574ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$53TotalAmt
Management And General$53ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$9,288TotalAmt
Program Services$9,288ProgramServicesAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,523,162TotalAmt
Program Services$2,523,162ProgramServicesAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,927,711TotalAmt
Program Services$2,927,711ProgramServicesAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$5,571,959TotalAmt
Program Services$5,460,161ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$111,798ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,102,061BOYAmt
EOY$415,089EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$6,374,765BOYAmt
EOY$1,857,778EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$95,028,413LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$7,828,951LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$90,021,114BOYAmt
EOY$87,199,462EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$22,028,702BOYAmt
EOY$22,719,685EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$12,724BOYAmt
EOY$1,101,244EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$120,539,366BOYAmt
EOY$113,293,258EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$631,758BOYAmt
EOY$290,028EOYAmt

Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$55,615,096BOYAmt
EOY$49,835,147EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$56,246,854BOYAmt
EOY$50,125,175EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Organization Follows FASB117Yes (X)OrganizationFollowsFASB117Ind

No Donor Restriction Net Assets NoDonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$60,140,009BOYAmt
EOY$61,267,588EOYAmt

Donor Restriction Net Assets DonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$4,152,503BOYAmt
EOY$1,900,495EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$64,292,512BOYAmt
EOY$63,168,083EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$120,539,366BOYAmt
EOY$113,293,258EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part XIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss-$2,248,522ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst$1,405,343NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets-$281,250OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Info In Schedule O Part XIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIIInd
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or Review0AccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (1)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Consol And Sep Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)ConsolAndSepBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (1)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit Required0FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd

Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Supporting Organization509a3Yes (X)SupportingOrganization509a3Ind
Supporting Org Type1Yes (X)SupportingOrgType1Ind
Supported Organizations1SupportedOrganizationsCnt

Supported Org Information SupportedOrgInformationGrp

Supported Organization Name SupportedOrganizationName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1JUNE SHELTON SCHOOL AND EVALUATION CENTERBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN751507280EIN
Organization Type2OrganizationTypeCd
Governing Document ListedYes (1)GoverningDocumentListedInd
Support$0SupportAmt
Other Support$0OtherSupportAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Supported Organizations Total1SupportedOrganizationsTotalCnt
Support Sum$0SupportSumAmt
Other Support Sum$0OtherSupportSumAmt

Form990 Sch A Supporting Org Form990SchASupportingOrgGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Listed By Name Governing DocYes (1)ListedByNameGoverningDocInd
Suprt Org No IRS Determination0SuprtOrgNoIRSDeterminationInd
Supported Org Section C4560SupportedOrgSectionC456Ind
Supported Org Not Organized US0SupportedOrgNotOrganizedUSInd
Organization Change Suprt Org0OrganizationChangeSuprtOrgInd
Support Non Supported Org0SupportNonSupportedOrgInd
Payment Substantial Contribtr0PaymentSubstantialContribtrInd
Loan Disqualified Person0LoanDisqualifiedPersonInd
Controlled Disqualified Prsn0ControlledDisqualifiedPrsnInd
Disqualified Prsn Controll Int0DisqualifiedPrsnControllIntInd
Disqualified Prsn Ownr Int0DisqualifiedPrsnOwnrIntInd
Excess Business Holdings Rules0ExcessBusinessHoldingsRulesInd
Contribution Controller0ContributionControllerInd
Contribution Family0ContributionFamilyInd
Contribution35 Controlled0Contribution35ControlledInd

Form990 Sch A Type1 Suprt Org Form990SchAType1SuprtOrgGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Power Appoint Majority Dir TrstYes (1)PowerAppointMajorityDirTrstInd
Operate Benefit Non Suprt Org0OperateBenefitNonSuprtOrgInd

Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB

Contributor Information ContributorInformationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
ContributorRESTRICTEDContributorNum

Contributor Business Name ContributorBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1RESTRICTEDBusinessNameLine1

Contributor US Address ContributorUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1RESTRICTEDAddressLine1
Address Line2RESTRICTEDAddressLine2
CityRESTRICTEDCity
StateRESTRICTEDState
ZIP CodeRESTRICTEDZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total ContributionsRESTRICTEDTotalContributionsAmt

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

CY Endwmt Fund CYEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$9,929,191BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$170,319ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses-$40,492InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Administrative Expenses$29,914AdministrativeExpensesAmt
End Year Balance$10,029,104EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus1 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus1YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$10,666,481BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$174,969ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses-$884,014InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Administrative Expenses$28,245AdministrativeExpensesAmt
End Year Balance$9,929,191EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus2 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus2YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$8,226,850BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$70,051ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$2,383,784InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Administrative Expenses$14,204AdministrativeExpensesAmt
End Year Balance$10,666,481EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus3 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus3YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$7,786,349BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$97,060ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$357,160InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Administrative Expenses$13,719AdministrativeExpensesAmt
End Year Balance$8,226,850EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus4 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus4YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$7,722,946BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$99,507ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses-$22,926InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Administrative Expenses$13,178AdministrativeExpensesAmt
End Year Balance$7,786,349EndYearBalanceAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Board Designated Balance EOY0.71050BoardDesignatedBalanceEOYPct
Prmnnt Endowment Balance EOY0.07100PrmnntEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Term Endowment Balance EOY0.21850TermEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Endowments Held Unrelated Org0EndowmentsHeldUnrelatedOrgInd
Endowments Held Related OrgYes (1)EndowmentsHeldRelatedOrgInd
Related Org List Sch RYes (1)RelatedOrgListSchRInd

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$11,737,674OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$11,737,674BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$83,290,739OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$7,828,951DepreciationAmt
Book Value$75,461,788BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$87,199,462TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$5,048,808TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Net Unrealized Gains Invst$1,405,343NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt
Donated Services And Use Fclts$381,602DonatedServicesAndUseFcltsAmt
Revenue Not Reported$1,786,945RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$3,261,863RevenueSubtotalAmt
Investment Expenses Not Incld$61,574InvestmentExpensesNotIncldAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$61,574RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$3,323,437TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$6,173,237TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Donated Services Use Fclts$381,602DonatedServicesUseFcltsAmt
Other Expenses Included$281,250OtherExpensesIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Reported$662,852ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$5,510,385ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Investment Expenses Not Incld2$61,574InvestmentExpensesNotIncld2Amt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$61,574ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$5,571,959TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (3 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
PART V, LINE 4:INTENDED USES OF THE ORGANIZATION'S ENDOWMENT FUNDS THE ENDOWMENT FUNDS REPORTED CONSIST OF THE ENTIRE ACTIVITY OF THE JUNE F. SHELTON LEGACY FOUNDATION, WHICH IS ORGANIZED AND OPERATED EXCLUSIVELY FOR THE BENEFIT OF THE JUNE SHELTON SCHOOL AND EVALUATION CENTER. THE JUNE F. SHELTON LEGACY FOUNDATION IS A TEXAS NONPROFIT CORPORATION, THE PRINCIPAL PURPOSES OF WHICH ARE TO SUPPORT, BENEFIT AND FURTHER THE PURPOSES OF SHELTON SCHOOL, PRIMARILY BY RAISING, PRESERVING, MANAGING AND INVESTING FUNDS FOR THE BENEFIT OF SHELTON SCHOOL. THE FOUNDATION'S ENDOWMENTS ACCORDING TO GAAP DEFINITIONS CONSIST OF ONLY A SINGLE FUND ESTABLISHED AND USED FOR FINANCIAL AID. CURRENTLY THE FOUNDATION CONSIDERS DONOR RESTRICTED ENDOWMENT FUNDS, ACCORDING TO GAAP, AS PERMANENTLY RESTRICTED NET ASSETS IN THE AMOUNT OF $712,602 AS OF MAY 31, 2023.
PART X, LINE 2:FIN 48 (ASC 740) AUDITED FINANCIAL STATEMENT FOOTNOTE THE FOUNDATION IS EXEMPT FROM FEDERAL INCOME TAXES UNDER SECTION 501(C)(3) OF THE UNITED STATES INTERNAL REVENUE CODE ACCORDING TO THE UNITED STATES INTERNAL REVENUE SERVICE ("IRS") DETERMINATION LETTER DATED JULY 17, 2012, EXCEPT TO THE EXTENT IT HAS UNRELATED BUSINESS INCOME. FOR THE YEARS ENDED MAY 31, 2023 AND 2022, UNRELATED BUSINESS INCOME DID NOT RESULT IN ANY MATERIAL NET TAXABLE INCOME, THEREFORE NO PROVISION FOR INCOME TAX HAS BEEN PROVIDED IN THE ACCOMPANYING FINANCIAL STATEMENTS. THE FOUNDATION IS REQUIRED TO FILE AN ANNUAL FORM 990-T WITH THE IRS FOR ANY UNRELATED BUSINESS INCOME. GAAP REQUIRES THE EVALUATION OF TAX POSITIONS TAKEN OR EXPECTED TO BE TAKEN IN THE COURSE OF PREPARING THE FOUNDATION'S FINANCIAL STATEMENTS TO DETERMINE WHETHER THE TAX POSITIONS ARE MORE LIKELY THAN NOT OF BEING SUSTAINED BY THE APPLICABLE TAX AUTHORITY. TAX POSITIONS NOT DEEMED TO MEET THE MORE LIKELY THAN NOT THRESHOLD WOULD BE RECORDED AS A TAX BENEFIT OR EXPENSE IN THE CURRENT YEAR. A RECONCILIATION IS NOT PROVIDED HEREIN, AS THE BEGINNING AND ENDING AMOUNTS OF UNRECOGNIZED BENEFITS ARE ZERO, WITH NO INTERIM ADDITIONS, REDUCTIONS, OR SETTLEMENTS. THE FOUNDATION IS RELYING ON ITS TAX-EXEMPT STATUS AND ITS ADHERENCE TO ALL APPLICABLE LAWS AND REGULATIONS TO PRESERVE THAT STATUS. HOWEVER, THE CONCLUSIONS REGARDING THE UNCERTAINTY IN INCOME TAXES WILL BE SUBJECT TO REVIEW AND MAY BE ADJUSTED AT A LATER DATE BASED ON FACTORS INCLUDING, BUT NOT LIMITED TO, ONGOING ANALYSIS OF TAX LAWS, REGULATIONS, AND INTERPRETATIONS THEREOF. THE FOUNDATION RECOGNIZES INTEREST AND PENALTIES, IF ANY, RELATED TO UNCERTAIN TAX POSITIONS AS INCOME TAX EXPENSE. THE FOUNDATION'S INFORMATIONAL RETURNS FILED WITH THE IRS ARE GENERALLY SUBJECT TO EXAMINATION FOR THREE YEARS AFTER THE LATER OF THE DUE DATE OR DATE OF FILING.
PART XII, LINE 2D - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:LOSSES ON UNCOLLECTIBLE PLEDGES 281,250.

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Severance Payment0SeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr Plan0SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp Arrngm0EquityBasedCompArrngmInd
Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng Org0CompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd On Rev Related Orgs0CompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng Org0CompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd Orgs0CompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd
Any Non Fixed Payments0AnyNonFixedPaymentsInd
Initial Contract Exception0InitialContractExceptionInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (3 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
SUZANNE STELL
EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR$0$314,066$0$50,000$0$0$0$24,400$0$10,201$0$398,667$0$0
JOYCE S PICKERING
EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR EMERITA$0$171,321$0$25,000$0$0$0$7,240$0$543$0$204,104$0$0
KELLY VAN DEN HANDEL
TREASURER$0$145,777$0$14,215$0$0$0$9,366$0$17,283$0$186,641$0$0

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePART I, LINE 3:FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationRELATED ORGANIZATION COMPENSATION REVIEW SHELTON LANDMARK FOUNDATION DOES NOT HAVE ANY EMPLOYEE DIRECTLY RELATED TO THE FOUNDATION. THE FOUNDATION USES EMPLOYEES FROM THE JUNE SHELTON SCHOOL, WHICH USES A COMPENSATION COMMITTEE, WRITTEN EMPLOYMENT CONTRACT, COMPENSATION SURVEY OR STUDY AND APPROVAL BY THE BOARD OR COMPENSATION COMMITTEE TO DETERMINE THE ORGANIZATION'S CEO/EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR COMPENSATION.ExplanationTxt

Schedule K IRS990ScheduleK

Tax Exempt Bonds Issues TaxExemptBondsIssuesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond ReferenceABondReferenceCd

Issuer Name IssuerName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1ARLINGTON HIGHER EDUCATION FINANCE CORPORATIONBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond Issuer EIN273906171BondIssuerEIN
Bond Issued2017-10-25BondIssuedDt
Issue Price$31,350,000IssuePriceAmt
PurposePROPERTY PURCHASEPurposeDesc
Defeased0DefeasedInd
On Behalf Of Issuer0OnBehalfOfIssuerInd
Pool Financing0PoolFinancingInd

Tax Exempt Bonds Proceeds TaxExemptBondsProceedsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond ReferenceABondReferenceCd
Retired$2,291,605RetiredAmt
Total Proceeds$31,350,000TotalProceedsAmt
Issuance Costs From Proceeds$219,000IssuanceCostsFromProceedsAmt
Capital Expenditures$31,131,000CapitalExpendituresAmt
Substantial Completion2017SubstantialCompletionYr
Refunding Tax Exempt Bonds0RefundingTaxExemptBondsInd
Refunding Taxable Bonds0RefundingTaxableBondsInd
Final Allocation MadeYes (1)FinalAllocationMadeInd
Adequate Books And Rec MaintYes (1)AdequateBooksAndRecMaintInd

Tax Exempt Bonds Arbitrage TaxExemptBondsArbitrageGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond ReferenceABondReferenceCd
Form8038 T FiledYes (1)Form8038TFiledInd
Variable Rate IssueYes (1)VariableRateIssueInd
Hedge Identified In Bks And RecYes (1)HedgeIdentifiedInBksAndRecInd

Hedge Provider Name HedgeProviderName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1FROST BANKBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Term Of Hedge10.000000000000TermOfHedgePct
Superintegrated HedgeYes (1)SuperintegratedHedgeInd
Hedge Terminated0HedgeTerminatedInd
Gross Proceeds Invested In GIC0GrossProceedsInvestedInGICInd
Gross Proceeds Invested0GrossProceedsInvestedInd
Written Proc To Monitor Reqs0WrittenProcToMonitorReqsInd

Procedures Corrective Action ProceduresCorrectiveActionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond ReferenceABondReferenceCd
Procedures Corrective Action0ProceduresCorrectiveActionInd

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (6 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 11BREVIEW PROCESS OF FORM 990 THE 990 IS REVIEWED BY THE ORGANIZATION'S CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER AND EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 12CCONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY ANY DECLARED CONFLICTS ARE REPORTED TO THE BOARD. IF THERE IS A CONFLICT, THAT MEMBER IS NOT ALLOWED TO PARTICIPATE IN ANY DISCUSSIONS OR VOTES.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 15DETERMINATION OF COMPENSATION THE SHELTON LANDMARK FOUNDATION DOES NOT DIRECTLY COMPENSATE ANY BOARD MEMBERS OR OFFICERS LISTED IN PART VII. THE RELATED ORGANIZATION, JUNE SHELTON SCHOOL AND EVALUATION CENTER, UTILIZES PUBLISHED INFORMATION FROM THEIR ACCREDITING BODY AS TO SALARY STRUCTURES BY POSITION. THE SCHOOL ALSO USES LOCAL PUBLIC SCHOOLS AS A BENCHMARK. THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE APPROVES THE EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR'S SALARY, WHICH IS DOCUMENTED IN THE COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION C, LINE 19AVAILABILITY OF DOCUMENTS THE ORGANIZATION'S GOVERNING DOCUMENTS, CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY, AND FINANCIAL STATEMENTS ARE AVAILABLE TO THE PUBLIC UPON REQUEST.
FORM 990, PART XI, LINE 9:WRITE OFF OF UNCOLLECTIBLE PLEDGES -281,250.
FORM 990, PART XII, LINE 2C:AUDIT OVERSIGHT BOARD NO CHANGE HAS BEEN MADE TO THE ORGANIZATION'S AUDIT OVERSIGHT PROCESS OR SELECTION PROCESS.

Schedule R IRS990ScheduleR

Id Related Tax Exempt Org IdRelatedTaxExemptOrgGrp (2 entries)

Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityUSAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPUSAddress/ZIPCdEINEINPrimary ActivitiesPrimaryActivitiesTxtLegal Domicile StateLegalDomicileStateCdExempt Code SectionExemptCodeSectionTxtPublic Charity StatusPublicCharityStatusTxtBusiness Name Line1DirectControllingEntityName/BusinessNameLine1TxtControlled OrganizationControlledOrganizationIndDirect Controlling NADirectControllingNACd
JUNE F SHELTON LEGACY FOUNDATION
17301 PRESTON ROADDALLASTX75252202131507SUPPORTTX501(C)(3)LINE 12A, ISCHOOL0
JUNE SHELTON SCHOOL & EVALUATION CENTER
17301 PRESTON ROADDALLASTX75252751507280N/ATX501(C)(3)LINE 20N/A
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Receipt Of Int Annts Rnts Rylts0ReceiptOfIntAnntsRntsRyltsInd
Gift Grnt Or Cap Contri To Oth Org0GiftGrntOrCapContriToOthOrgInd
Gift Grnt Cap Contri From Oth OrgYes (1)GiftGrntCapContriFromOthOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees To Other Org0LoansOrGuaranteesToOtherOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees From Oth Org0LoansOrGuaranteesFromOthOrgInd
Div Related Organization0DivRelatedOrganizationInd
Asset Sale To Other Org0AssetSaleToOtherOrgInd
Asset Purchase From Other Org0AssetPurchaseFromOtherOrgInd
Asset Exchange0AssetExchangeInd
Rental Of Facilities To Oth OrgYes (1)RentalOfFacilitiesToOthOrgInd
Rental Of Fclts From Oth Org0RentalOfFcltsFromOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services For Oth Org0PerformOfServicesForOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services By Other Org0PerformOfServicesByOtherOrgInd
Sharing Of FacilitiesYes (1)SharingOfFacilitiesInd
Paid Employees SharingYes (1)PaidEmployeesSharingInd
Reimbursement Paid To Other Org0ReimbursementPaidToOtherOrgInd
Reimbursement Paid By Other Org0ReimbursementPaidByOtherOrgInd
Transfer To Other Org0TransferToOtherOrgInd
Transfer From Other Org0TransferFromOtherOrgInd

Transactions Related Org TransactionsRelatedOrgGrp (3 entries)

Transaction TypeTransactionTypeTxtInvolvedInvolvedAmtMethod Of Amount DeterminationMethodOfAmountDeterminationTxt
JUNE SHELTON SCHOOL & EVALUATION CENTER
C$268,761FAIR MARKET VALUE
JUNE SHELTON SCHOOL & EVALUATION CENTER
J$2,059,200FAIR MARKET VALUE
JUNE SHELTON SCHOOL & EVALUATION CENTER
O$381,602FAIR MARKET VALUE

Comments

Anonymous: no account or email. Up to 2,000 characters, at most one link. Comments are checked automatically; some wait for review.