COAL COUNTRY COMMUNITY HEALTH CENTER: Form 990, tax year 2022

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
COAL COUNTRY COMMUNITY HEALTH CENTER (EIN 11-3686120)
Tax period
2022-05-01 to 2023-04-30
Filed
2024-01-17
IRS object ID
202400179349301800
Schema version
2022v5.0
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2024-01-17T15:11:54-06:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2023-04-30TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN450250958PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Eide Bailly LLPBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1PO Box 1914AddressLine1Txt
CityBismarckCityNm
State AbbreviationNDStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP585021914ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2022-05-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN113686120EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Coal Country Community Health CenterBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlCOALBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone7018737788PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line11312 Highway 49 NAddressLine1Txt
CityBeulahCityNm
State AbbreviationNDStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP585236038ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonKurt WaldbillingPersonNm
Person TitleCEOPersonTitleTxt
Phone7018737788PhoneNum
Signature2024-01-15SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (1)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Signing Officer SigningOfficerGrp

Person Full Name PersonFullName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Person FirstKurtPersonFirstNm
Person LastWaldbillingPersonLastNm
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
SSN999009999SSN
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
IRS Responsible Prty Info CurrYes (1)IRSResponsiblePrtyInfoCurrInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonLisa Chaffee CPAPreparerPersonNm
PTINP00193453PTIN
Phone7012551091PhoneNum
Preparation2024-01-15PreparationDt

Additional Filer Information AdditionalFilerInformation

Trusted Customer TrustedCustomerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Trusted Customer2TrustedCustomerCd
Authentication Assurance LevelAAL1AuthenticationAssuranceLevelCd
Identity Assurance LevelIAL1IdentityAssuranceLevelCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2022TaxYr
Build TS2023-04-26 12:10:37ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerKurt WaldbillingPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line11312 Highway 49 NAddressLine1Txt
CityBeulahCityNm
State AbbreviationNDStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP585236038ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$16,373,356GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For Affiliates0GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501c3Yes (X)Organization501c3Ind
Website Addresswww.coalcountryhealth.comWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation2003FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateNDLegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionCCCHC provides and promotes quality health care to the medically underserved population in the North Dakota counties of Mercer, Dunn, and Oliver.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body12VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent11VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee133TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers11TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$0TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$0NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$4,190,746PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$4,741,649CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$11,148,299PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$11,567,539CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$0PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$0CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$66,368PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$64,168CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$15,405,413PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$16,373,356CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$0PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$0CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$0PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$9,112,621PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$10,045,033CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$0CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$5,703,053PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$6,050,015CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$14,815,674PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$16,095,048CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$589,739PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$278,308CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$16,617,016TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$17,189,852TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$4,366,701TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$4,661,229TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$12,250,315NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$12,528,623NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
Info In Schedule O Part IIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartIIIInd
MissionWorking together as partners to enhance the lives of area residents by providing a neighborhood of patient centered healthcare services that promote wellness, prevention and care coordination.MissionDesc
Significant New Program SrvcYes (1)SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant Change0SignificantChangeInd
Expense$13,323,039ExpenseAmt
Revenue$11,567,539RevenueAmt
DescCoal Country Community Health Center is part of a family of over 1,400 health centers nationally that provide care to more than 30 million people in the United States. Community health centers are local, non-profit health care providers serving low income and medically underserved communities. Also known as Federally-Qualified Health Centers (FQHCs), they are located in areas where care is needed, and improve access to care for millions of Americans. Their costs of care rank among the lowest, and their focus on prevention reduces the need for more expensive in-patient and specialty care, saving billions of dollars for taxpayers. (Continued on Schedule O)The focus of the care we provide can be summed up in one word - community. Coal Country is governed by a board of members from the communities we serve, and every decision they make has the best interest of the community in mind. Our medical staff and support staff are also your neighbors, helping us truly understand you and the health care issues that are important to you.The team of providers delivers primary care for the entire community. Funded by a federal grant, our sliding fee scale allows patients to pay according to their individual ability. This and other efforts ensure that no one in the community goes without proper health care services. That's what we're all about.Coal Country Community Health Center has clinics in Beulah, Center, Hazen, and Killdeer. Furthermore, Coal Country remains a member of health care networks in the region.At Coal Country Community Health Center, our top priority is to provide complete health care services for the entire community.With a background in every area of medicine, our primary care physicians provide continuing and comprehensive care, from preventative care to diagnosis and treatment of health conditions. A full list of services provided by Coal Country Community Health Center can be obtained at www.coalcountryhealth.comCCCHC opened a seasonal school medical clinic located in Killdeer and Hazen School Districts. Services began in the Spring 2023 and will continue annually September through May indefinitely.Desc
Total Program Service Expenses$13,323,039TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt
Described In Section501c3Yes (1)DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B RequiredYes (1)ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign Acty0PoliticalCampaignActyInd
Lobbying Activities0LobbyingActivitiesInd
Subject To Proxy Tax0SubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised Fund0DonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation Easements0ConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of Art0CollectionsOfArtInd
Credit Counseling0CreditCounselingInd
Donor Rstr Or Quasi Endowments0DonorRstrOrQuasiEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (1)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other Sec0ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related Invst0ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other Assets0ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other Liabilities0ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (1)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt0ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School Operating0SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign Office0ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign Activities0ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To Org0MoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To Individuals0MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional Fundraising0ProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising Activities0FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming Activities0GamingActivitiesInd
Operate Hospital0OperateHospitalInd
Grants To Organizations0GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To Individuals0GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (1)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt Bonds0TaxExemptBondsInd
Engaged In Excess Benefit Trans0EngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd
PY Excess Benefit Trans0PYExcessBenefitTransInd
Loan Outstanding0LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related Person0GrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org Mem0BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam MemYes (1)BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With35 Ctrl Ent0BusinessRlnWith35CtrlEntInd
Deductible Non Cash Contri0DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art Contribution0DeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate Operations0TerminateOperationsInd
Partial Liquidation0PartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded Entity0DisregardedEntityInd
Related Entity0RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl Ent0RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd Org0TrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd
Activities Conducted Prtshp0ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (1)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document28IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (1)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee133EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (1)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over Limit0UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Foreign Financial Account0ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans0ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party Notification0TaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible Contributions0NondeductibleContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo Contributions0QuidProQuoContributionsInd
Form8282 Property Disposed Of0Form8282PropertyDisposedOfInd
Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0RcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0PayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Indoor Tanning Services0IndoorTanningServicesInd
Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht Pymt0SubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd
Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst Inc0SubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members12GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member11IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business Rln0FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt Duties0DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org Documents0ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or Misuse0MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or Stockholders0MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board Members0ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To Approva0DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (1)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (1)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing Address0OfficerMailingAddressInd
Local Chapters0LocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (1)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (1)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (1)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (1)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (1)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (1)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (1)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process Other0CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint Venture0InvestmentInJointVentureInd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Victoria OberlanderBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Phone7018737788PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line11312 Hwy 49 NAddressLine1Txt
CityBeulahCityNm
State AbbreviationNDStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP585236038ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (21 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd
Dr DJ Erickson
Chair1.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
Kathy Kelsch
Vice Chair1.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
Arlene Helling
Secretary/Treasurer1.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
Fred Stern
Director1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Jody Doe
Director (May - June 2022)1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Anna Mae Batke
Director1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Myria Perry
Director1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Heidi Moore
Director1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Wayne Hoffner
Director1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Sharon Rud
Director1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Sarah Duttenhefner
Director (Began April 2023)1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
William Suter
Director (Began April 2023)1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Carl Blackhurst
Director1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Victoria Oberlander
CFO40.00Yes (X)$132,412$0$27,117
Darrold Bertsch
Interim CEO (Began April 2023)40.00Yes (X)$28,434$0$10,675
Brian Williams
CEO40.00Yes (X)$258,220$0$49,507
Aaron Garman MD
Physician40.00$391,894$0$50,726Yes (X)
Jacinta-Jon Klindworth MD
Physician40.00$305,643$0$48,482Yes (X)
Michelle Placke
Physician40.00$303,718$0$49,035Yes (X)
Kelsey Lambrecht
Physician40.00$336,124$0$37,970Yes (X)
Rodney Zimmerman
Physician40.00$179,602$0$36,316Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$1,936,047TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$309,828TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K21IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees Listed0FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (1)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other Srcs0CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
Beulah Drug
147 W MainBeulahND58523Contract Pharmacy Dispensing Fees$960,126
Comstock Construction Inc
PO Box 1145WhapetonND58074Construction General Contractor$559,556
Sakakawea Medical Center
510 8th Avenue NEHazenND58545Rent for Hazen Clinic, Shared Staff: HR,$441,882
Altru Health System
PO Box 6002Grand ForksND582066002Software Subscription & Support$224,241
Trisha Walker DBA A Fresh Start LLC
639 S Main AveDickinsonND58601Housekeeping Services$189,032
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K7CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Government Grants$4,728,609GovernmentGrantsAmt
All Other Contributions$13,040AllOtherContributionsAmt
Total Contributions$4,741,649TotalContributionsAmt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (3 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Patient Service Revenue621110$7,717,594$7,717,594
340B Program Revenue621110$3,094,905$3,094,905
Other Program Revenue621110$755,040$755,040
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$11,567,539TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Gross Rents GrossRentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$64,168RealAmt

Less Rental Expenses LessRentalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$0RealAmt

Rental Income Or Loss RentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$64,168RealAmt

Net Rental Income Or Loss NetRentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$64,168TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$64,168ExclusionAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$16,373,356TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$11,567,539RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$64,168ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part IXYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartIXInd

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$359,845TotalAmt
Management And General$359,845ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Comp Disqual Persons CompDisqualPersonsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$21,860TotalAmt
Program Services$21,860ProgramServicesAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$7,812,414TotalAmt
Program Services$7,238,918ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$573,496ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$286,460TotalAmt
Program Services$209,672ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$76,788ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,006,749TotalAmt
Program Services$772,776ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$233,973ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$557,705TotalAmt
Program Services$392,562ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$165,143ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$17,403TotalAmt
Management And General$17,403ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$103,678TotalAmt
Management And General$103,678ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,994,914TotalAmt
Program Services$1,784,564ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$210,350ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$61,864TotalAmt
Management And General$61,864ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$626,637TotalAmt
Program Services$446,288ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$180,349ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$696,075TotalAmt
Program Services$521,811ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$174,264ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$136,356TotalAmt
Program Services$70,732ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$65,624ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$64,623TotalAmt
Program Services$16,827ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$47,796ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$31,764TotalAmt
Program Services$31,764ProgramServicesAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$864,274TotalAmt
Program Services$810,047ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$54,227ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$68,463TotalAmt
Program Services$4,000ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$64,463ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (3 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmtProgram ServicesProgramServicesAmtManagement And GeneralManagementAndGeneralAmt
Medical Supplies$897,034$897,034
Dues & Subscriptions$60,173$13,670$46,503
Licenses$30,539$30,208$331

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$396,218TotalAmt
Program Services$60,306ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$335,912ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$16,095,048TotalAmt
Program Services$13,323,039ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$2,772,009ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$7,560,753BOYAmt
EOY$6,726,159EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,425,532BOYAmt
EOY$1,663,867EOYAmt

Oth Notes Loans Receivable Net OthNotesLoansReceivableNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EOY$12,963EOYAmt

Inventories For Sale Or Use InventoriesForSaleOrUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$57,035BOYAmt
EOY$83,307EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$112,034BOYAmt
EOY$240,426EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$12,308,257LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$4,314,476LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$7,340,381BOYAmt
EOY$7,993,781EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$121,281BOYAmt
EOY$469,349EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$16,617,016BOYAmt
EOY$17,189,852EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,114,425BOYAmt
EOY$1,232,718EOYAmt

Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,252,276BOYAmt
EOY$3,428,511EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$4,366,701BOYAmt
EOY$4,661,229EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Organization Follows FASB117Yes (X)OrganizationFollowsFASB117Ind

No Donor Restriction Net Assets NoDonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$12,250,315BOYAmt
EOY$12,528,623EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$12,250,315BOYAmt
EOY$12,528,623EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$16,617,016BOYAmt
EOY$17,189,852EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$278,308ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets$0OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or Review0AccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (1)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Separate Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (1)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit RequiredYes (1)FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd
Federal Grant Audit PerformedYes (1)FederalGrantAuditPerformedInd

Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Public Organization170Yes (X)PublicOrganization170Ind

Gifts Grants Contri Rcvd170 GiftsGrantsContriRcvd170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$2,524,057CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$2,925,137CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$5,431,566CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$4,190,746CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$4,741,649CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$19,813,155TotalAmt

Total Calendar Year170 TotalCalendarYear170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$2,524,057CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$2,925,137CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$5,431,566CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$4,190,746CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$4,741,649CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$19,813,155TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Public Support Total170$19,813,155PublicSupportTotal170Amt

Gross Investment Income170 GrossInvestmentIncome170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$30,248CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$66,860CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$65,968CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$66,368CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$64,168CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$293,612TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Support$20,106,767TotalSupportAmt
Gross Receipts Rltd Activities$52,691,309GrossReceiptsRltdActivitiesAmt
Public Support CY1700.98540PublicSupportCY170Pct
Public Support PY1700.98720PublicSupportPY170Pct
Thirty Thr Pct Suprt Tests CY170Yes (X)ThirtyThrPctSuprtTestsCY170Ind

Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB

Contributor Information ContributorInformationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
ContributorRESTRICTEDContributorNum

Contributor Business Name ContributorBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1RESTRICTEDBusinessNameLine1

Contributor US Address ContributorUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1RESTRICTEDAddressLine1
Address Line2RESTRICTEDAddressLine2
CityRESTRICTEDCity
StateRESTRICTEDState
ZIP CodeRESTRICTEDZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total ContributionsRESTRICTEDTotalContributionsAmt

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$9,567,401OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$3,022,470DepreciationAmt
Book Value$6,544,931BookValueAmt

Leasehold Improvements LeaseholdImprovementsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$33,136OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$20,362DepreciationAmt
Book Value$12,774BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$1,738,606OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$1,100,824DepreciationAmt
Book Value$637,782BookValueAmt

Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$969,114OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$170,820DepreciationAmt
Book Value$798,294BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$7,993,781TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$16,373,356TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Revenue Not Reported$0RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$16,373,356RevenueSubtotalAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$0RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$16,373,356TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$16,095,048TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Expenses Not Reported$0ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$16,095,048ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$0ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$16,095,048TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePart X, Line 2:FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationThe Health Center believes that it has appropriate support for any tax positions taken affecting its annual filing requirements, and as such, does not have any uncertain tax positions that are material to the financial statements. The Health Center would recognize future accrued interest and penalties related to unrecognized tax benefits and liabilities in income tax expense if such interest and penalties are incurred.ExplanationTxt

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Compensation CommitteeYes (X)CompensationCommitteeInd
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance Payment0SeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr Plan0SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp Arrngm0EquityBasedCompArrngmInd
Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng Org0CompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd On Rev Related Orgs0CompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng Org0CompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd Orgs0CompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd
Any Non Fixed Payments0AnyNonFixedPaymentsInd
Initial Contract Exception0InitialContractExceptionInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (7 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
Aaron Garman MD
Physician$293,943$0$96,709$0$1,242$0$12,237$0$39,907$0$444,038$0$0$0
Kelsey Lambrecht
Physician$253,300$0$53,133$0$29,691$0$9,253$0$30,032$0$375,409$0$0$0
Jacinta-Jon Klindworth MD
Physician$235,019$0$69,382$0$1,242$0$11,712$0$38,189$0$355,544$0$0$0
Michelle Placke
Physician$234,818$0$68,414$0$486$0$11,608$0$38,846$0$354,172$0$0$0
Brian Williams
CEO$256,258$0$0$0$1,962$0$10,542$0$40,281$0$309,043$0$0$0
Rodney Zimmerman
Physician$152,647$0$20,928$0$6,027$0$6,265$0$31,067$0$216,934$0$0$0
Victoria Oberlander
CFO$111,203$0$21,000$0$209$0$5,722$0$22,023$0$160,157$0$0$0

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSchedule J, Part II:FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationBrian Williams is an employee of Coal Country Community Health Center (CCCHC) and also provides services to Sakakawea Medical Center (SMC). The compensation reported in Part VII, and Part II of the Schedule J, reflects total compensation Brian received from CCCHC for services to both SMC and CCCHC. 49% of his compensation is reimbursed by SMC as a shared services agreement.ExplanationTxt

Schedule L IRS990ScheduleL

Bus Tr Involve Interested Prsn BusTrInvolveInterestedPrsnGrp

Name Of Interested NameOfInterested

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonAmber BlackhurstPersonNm
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Relationship DescriptionSpouse of Board Member, Carl BlackhurstRelationshipDescriptionTxt
Transaction$21,860TransactionAmt
TransactionEmployee Wages and BenefitsTransactionDesc
Sharing Of Revenues0SharingOfRevenuesInd

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (7 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Form 990, Part III, line 2CCCHC opened a seasonal school medical clinic located in Killdeer and Hazen School Districts. Services began in the Spring 2023 and will continue annually September through May indefinitely.
Form 990, Part VI, Section A, line 1aThe Executive Committee shall consist of at least five (5) voting members, including the Chair, Vice Chair, Secretary, Treasurer, and one (1) at-large member. The Executive Director of the Corporation shall serve without voting powers. The Executive Committee shall have the power to transact all business of the Corporation during the interim between meetings of the Board of Directors, provided that any action so taken shall not conflict with the policies and express wishes of the Board of Directors, and that it shall refer all matters of major importance to the full Board of Directors, including any amendments to the Articles and Bylaws.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 11bThe full copy of the Form 990 is provided to the board via email. The Form 990 is reviewed and approved by the board and signed by the CEO after approval.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 12cThe conflict of interest and compensation disclosure statements are completed annually. All board members and officers of CCCHC are covered by the policy. The annual conflict of interest and compensation disclosure statements obtained from board members and officers of CCCHC are reviewed by the CEO and Administration staff of CCCHC. It is at this review that the determination is made as to whether a conflict exists. Actual conflicts of interest identified are brought before the Board Executive Committee or the entire Board, depending on the situation and circumstances. Board members and officers of CCCHC are required to recuse themselves from voting on issues where it has been determined that a conflict of interest does exist. If the conflict of interest is pervasive, the Board Executive Committee or the entire Board will determine if further actions are needed. In all situations, the Board will document the restrictions imposed or acted upon.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 15aTo determine compensation, the organization uses the following salary surveys for both the CEO and CFO as well as other positions within the organization: National Community Health Center Association (NACHC), Community Healthcare Association of the Mountain Plain States (CHAMPS), Medical Group Management Association (MGMA), and state of ND. The board of directors determines the salary of the CEO. CEO Salary adjustments are documented on a payroll notification form, signed by the board chair and forwarded to the accounting department for entry into the accounting/payroll system. Compensation for the CFO is reviewed and approved by the CEO. The board of directors approves an annual budget to provide guidance for expenditures which includes personnel salaries. In addition, annual salary adjustments are presented to the board for approval through the budgetary process. Personnel salary adjustments are documented on a payroll notification form signed by the CEO or Human Resources and forwarded to the accounting department for entry into the accounting/payroll system. The process for determining compensation is undertaken annually before the new fiscal year in May begins.
Form 990, Part VI, Section C, line 19The organization makes its governing documents, conflict of interest policy, and financial statements available to the public upon request.
Form 990, Part IX, line 11gOther Medical Service Fees: Program service expenses 1,784,564. Management and general expenses 210,350. Fundraising expenses 0. Total expenses 1,994,914.

Comments

Anonymous: no account or email. Up to 2,000 characters, at most one link. Comments are checked automatically; some wait for review.