FURP.ORG / PUBLIC DATA EXPLORER

CRANE FAMILY FOUNDATION INC

Cite this

Plain text CRANE FAMILY FOUNDATION INC. furp.org, nonprofit organization profile, tax years 2014–2024. https://furp.org/org/521755504. Retrieved 2026-10-21.

APA furp.org. (n.d.). CRANE FAMILY FOUNDATION INC [Nonprofit organization profile; tax years 2014–2024]. Retrieved October 21, 2026, from https://furp.org/org/521755504

MLA “CRANE FAMILY FOUNDATION INC.” furp.org, tax years 2014–2024, https://furp.org/org/521755504. Accessed 21 Oct. 2026.

Retrieved 2026-10-21; covers tax years 2014–2024. Data: furp.org, CC BY 4.0.

2024 · Form 990PF · revenue $6.2M · expenses $7.1M · assets $32.5M

EIN
52-1755504
Address
5750 PARK HEIGHTS AVE, BALTIMORE, MD 21215-3930
Website
THECRANEFOUNDATION.ORG
NTEE code
-
Subsection
501(c)(3)
Ruling year
1992
Cross-check
ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer

Each tax year counts once: when a return was amended, only the latest return for that period is used below (superseded returns stay listed, greyed, under Finances).

People paid by the organization

2 people paid across every filing: current people first, then by total pay from this organization. Organizations counts every nonprofit each person appears on.

NameLatest titleYearsLatest year payTotal pay from hereOrganizations
Laurence M Katz DIRECTOR2014-2024 $353,125$1,030,625 1
Lawrence M Ziffer CEO2022-2024 $150,000$343,883 1

Officers and directors, no compensation reported

8 people listed on the returns with $0 (or no amount) in every compensation column: current people first. Hours are as filed on the latest return each person appears on.

NameLatest titleYearsHrs/wk (latest)CompensationOrganizations
Shale Stiller VICE PRESIDENT2014-2024 5 $0 reported 2
Benjamin Greeenwald PRESIDENT2024 10 $0 reported 1
Amy Macht VICE PRESIDENT2014-2024 5 $0 reported 1
Hinda Dubin VICE PRESIDENT2020-2024 5 $0 reported 1
David Kinkopf SECRETARY2014-2024 5 $0 reported 1
Darrell D Friedman TREASURER2014-2024 5 $0 reported 1
Benjamin Greenwald (former) PRESIDENT2014-2023 1 $0 reported 1
David And Hinda Dubin (former) VICE PRESIDENTS2014 0 $0 reported 1

People by year

2024 · 8 people listed · 2 paid, $503K
NameTitleHrs/wkFrom orgFrom relatedOtherTotalOrgs
LAURENCE M KATZ DIRECTOR5 $353,125-$0 $353,1251
LAWRENCE M ZIFFER CEO40 $150,000-$0 $150,0001
BENJAMIN GREEENWALD PRESIDENT10 $0-$0 $01
SHALE STILLER VICE PRESIDENT5 $0-$0 $02
AMY MACHT VICE PRESIDENT5 $0-$0 $01
HINDA DUBIN VICE PRESIDENT5 $0-$0 $01
DAVID KINKOPF SECRETARY5 $0-$0 $01
DARRELL D FRIEDMAN TREASURER5 $0-$0 $01
2023 · 8 people listed · 2 paid, $197K
NameTitleHrs/wkFrom orgFrom relatedOtherTotalOrgs
LAWRENCE ZIFFER CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER30 $131,667-$0 $131,6671
LAURENCE M KATZ DIRECTOR AND IMMEDIATE PAST PRESIDENT20 $65,000-$0 $65,0001
SHALE D STILLER VICE PRESIDENT1 $0-$0 $02
AMY MACHT VICE PRESIDENT1 $0-$0 $01
DAVID W KINKOPF SECRETARY1 $0-$0 $01
DARRELL D FRIEDMAN TREASURER1 $0-$0 $01
BENJAMIN GREENWALD PRESIDENT1 $0-$0 $01
HINDA DUBIN VICE PRESIDENT1 $0-$0 $01
2022 · 8 people listed · 2 paid, $193K
NameTitleHrs/wkFrom orgFrom relatedOtherTotalOrgs
LAURENCE M KATZ PRESIDENT20 $131,250-$0 $131,2501
LAWRENCE ZIFFER EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR30 $62,216-$0 $62,2161
SHALE D STILLER VICE PRESIDENT0 $0-$0 $02
AMY MACHT VICE PRESIDENT0 $0-$0 $01
DAVID W KINKOPF DIRECTOR0 $0-$0 $01
DARRELL D FRIEDMAN SECRETARY0 $0-$0 $01
BENJAMIN GREENWALD TREASURER0 $0-$0 $01
HINDA DUBIN VICE PRESIDENT0 $0-$0 $01
2021 · 7 people listed · 1 paid, $200K
NameTitleHrs/wkFrom orgFrom relatedOtherTotalOrgs
LAURENCE M KATZ PRESIDENT40 $200,000-$0 $200,0001
SHALE D STILLER VICE PRESIDENT0 $0-$0 $02
AMY MACHT VICE PRESIDENT0 $0-$0 $01
DAVID W KINKOPF DIRECTOR0 $0-$0 $01
DARRELL D FRIEDMAN SECRETARY0 $0-$0 $01
BENJAMIN GREENWALD TREASURER0 $0-$0 $01
HINDA DUBIN VICE PRESIDENT0 $0-$0 $01
2020 · 7 people listed · 1 paid, $181K
NameTitleHrs/wkFrom orgFrom relatedOtherTotalOrgs
LAURENCE M KATZ PRESIDENT40 $181,250-$0 $181,2501
SHALE D STILLER VICE PRESIDENT0 $0-$0 $02
AMY MACHT VICE PRESIDENT0 $0-$0 $01
DAVID W KINKOPF DIRECTOR0 $0-$0 $01
DARRELL D FRIEDMAN SECRETARY0 $0-$0 $01
BENJAMIN GREENWALD TREASURER0 $0-$0 $01
HINDA DUBIN VICE PRESIDENT0 $0-$0 $01
2014 · 7 people listed · 1 paid, $100K
NameTitleHrs/wkFrom orgFrom relatedOtherTotalOrgs
LAURENCE M KATZ PRESIDENT40 $100,000-$0 $100,0001
SHALE D STILLER VICE PRESIDENT0 $0-$0 $02
AMY MACHT VICE PRESIDENT0 $0-$0 $01
DAVID W KINKOPF DIRECTOR0 $0-$0 $01
DARRELL D FRIEDMAN SECRETARY0 $0-$0 $01
BENJAMIN GREENWALD TREASURER0 $0-$0 $01
DAVID AND HINDA DUBIN VICE PRESIDENTS0 $0-$0 $01

Highest-paid independent contractors

2023 · 1 contractor · $60K
NameLocationServicePaid
THE ASSOCIATED JEWISH FEDERATION OF BALTIMOREBALTIMORE, MDINVESTMENT SUPPORT SERVICES$60,085
2022 · 1 contractor · $50K
NameLocationServicePaid
DLA PIPER LLPBALTIMORE, MDLEGAL$50,213
2021 · 1 contractor · $50K
NameLocationServicePaid
DLA PIPER LLPBALTIMORE, MDLEGAL$50,186

Who the money went to

Grants this organization reported paying: Schedule I Part II of the Form 990, or the grants-paid list on the 990-PF. Open a year for every recipient. Recipients link to their own page when the grant names an EIN we have (990-PF grants list no EIN, so those link only on an exact, unique name and state). Grants to individuals are counted; their names are not shown.

2024 · 102 grants to organizations · $6.4M
2023 · 89 grants to organizations · $4.0M
2022 · 86 grants to organizations · $4.5M
2021 · 89 grants to organizations · $4.1M
2020 · 72 grants to organizations · $3.7M
2014 · 52 grants to organizations · $2.6M

Negative amounts are returned or refunded grants; they are listed last and left out of the totals of grants paid.

Who gave

No contributors are listed on Schedule B in the e-filed returns we have for this organization.

Finances

Newest first. Each filing: its name on one row, its figures on the row beneath. Greyed filings are superseded by a later return for the same period and are left out everywhere else on this page.

RevenueExpensesAssetsNet assetsContributionsProgram revenueOfficer payEmployeesVolunteers
2024 · Form 990PF period ending 2024-12-31 · view filing · original 990 ↗
$6,189,034$7,059,742 $32,459,278$32,112,291 -- $485,110--
2023 · Form 990PF period ending 2023-12-31 · view filing · original 990 ↗
$5,758,742$4,388,197 $33,290,783$33,134,320 -- $196,667--
2022 · Form 990PF period ending 2022-12-31 · view filing · original 990 ↗
$5,112,935$5,090,915 $31,816,333$31,663,775 -- $193,466--
2021 · Form 990PF period ending 2021-12-31 · view filing · original 990 ↗
$4,910,328$4,711,825 $31,772,838$31,641,755 -- $200,000--
2020 · Form 990PF period ending 2020-12-31 · view filing · original 990 ↗
$4,631,540$4,436,615 $31,537,333$31,443,252 -- $181,250--
2014 · Form 990PF period ending 2014-12-31 · view filing · original 990 ↗
$3,070,126$3,827,334 $33,321,595$33,321,595 -- $100,000--

Funders of this organization

Not reported: no grants to this organization appear in the filings we have (tax years 2010 to 2025).

Similar organizations

Ranked without any AI: same NTEE code first, then the same NTEE group; then revenue within 2x, 5x or 10x; then the same state; then similar name and mission text. Same state only · More (100)

OrganizationStateNTEELatest revenueLatest expensesTop-paid titleTop payWhy similar
CHU FAMILY FOUNDATION INCGAT30 $3,978,672$681,583 PRESIDENT$0 Similar name, revenue within 2x
HALLORAN FAMILY FOUNDATION INCNYP99 $6,279,611$2,184,578 PRESIDENT$0 Similar name, revenue within 2x
HE FAMILY FOUNDATIONTNT22 $4,397,077$401,015 SECRETARY$50,000 Similar name, revenue within 2x
AK FAMILY FOUNDATIONNHNot reported $9,964,755$0 TRUSTEE$0 Similar name, revenue within 2x
CB FOUNDATION INCALT20 $5,088,953$988,401 BOARD MEMBER$0 Similar name, revenue within 2x
ZINK FAMILY FOUNDATIONOKNot reported $5,269,717$3,001,986 Trustee$0 Similar name, revenue within 2x
WOODY FAMILY FOUNDATIONDET22 $5,810,610$8,000 Dir, Sec, Treas$0 Similar name, revenue within 2x
KRESA FAMILY FOUNDATIONNJZ99 $4,240,641$737,480 PRESIDENT$0 Similar name, revenue within 2x
KOTULA FAMILY FOUNDATIONWIT22 $3,760,323$119,724 DIRECTOR$0 Similar name, revenue within 2x
SCHEIDT FAMILY FOUNDATION INCTNNot reported $1,461,675$825,035 VICE PRES$0 Similar name, revenue within 5x
WINTRODE FAMILY FOUNDATION INCNJT22 $1,642,812$521,146 President$0 Similar name, revenue within 5x
ENCRANTZ FAMILY FOUNDATIONCAT22 $1,250,000$1,204,314 PRESIDENT/DIRECTOR$0 Similar name, revenue within 5x
FAMILY HEALTHCARE FOUNDATION INCFLE70 $3,086,115$2,904,166 EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR$101,006 Similar name, revenue within 5x
HEMANT SHAH FAMILY FOUNDATION INCNJT20 $1,363,805$465,637 PRESIDENT$0 Similar name, revenue within 5x
CEPA FOUNDATION INCDEQ22 $1,451,206$1,447,181 BOARD MEMBER$0 Similar name, revenue within 5x
CICP FOUNDATION INCINS11 $29,580,011$28,537,091 CEO, CICP$765,873 Similar name, revenue within 5x
DHONT FAMILY FOUNDATIONCAT20 $3,063,304$2,176,422 PRESIDENT$134,657 Similar name, revenue within 5x
KLING FAMILY FOUNDATIONCAT20 $2,678,409$2,667,023 Treasurer$25,000 Similar name, revenue within 5x
RUCKS FAMILY FOUNDATIONLAT22 $1,837,052$959,963 DIRECTOR$0 Similar name, revenue within 5x
SMITH FAMILY FOUNDATIONNVT20 $1,534,544$294,849 TRUSTEE$0 Similar name, revenue within 5x
CROCKETT FOUNDATION INCFLT20 $2,552,768$2,695,719 VICE PRESIDENT$25,000 Similar name, revenue within 5x
STAMPS FAMILY CHARITABLE FOUNDATION INCMANot reported $15,425,331$19,884,917 President$0 Similar name, revenue within 5x
SNYDER FAMILY FOUNDATIONCAT20 $1,454,103$1,467,532 DIRECTOR$0 Similar name, revenue within 5x
BROOKS FAMILY FOUNDATIONMAT22 $1,240,691$2,392,814 Trustee$0 Similar name, revenue within 5x
THE ALPER FAMILY FOUNDATION INCMDT22 $790,529$441,391 DIRECTOR, PRESIDENT, SECRETARY$0 Similar name, revenue within 10x, same state

Who funds organizations like this

Grantors that funded the 100 most similar organizations. Ranked by total given to them. Foundations (990-PF) and donor-advised fund sponsors only. Same matching as Funders above (by EIN, or by name for foundations).

GrantorTypeTotal givenGrantsOrganizations fundedYearsWhich ones
LILLY ENDOWMENT INC Private foundation$233,844,25172 12010–2025 CICP FOUNDATION INC
WALTON FAMILY FOUNDATION INC Private foundation$2,571,0004 12020–2024 CICP FOUNDATION INC
AMERICAN ONLINE GIVING FOUNDATION INC DAF sponsor$750,1503 12021–2023 CICP FOUNDATION INC
CENTRAL INDIANA COMMUNITY FOUNDATION INC DAF sponsor$425,3808 12011–2023 CICP FOUNDATION INC
COMMUNITY FOUNDATION OF BROWARD INC DAF sponsor$370,8695 12020–2024 CROCKETT FOUNDATION INC
JPMORGAN CHASE FOUNDATION Private foundation$320,0002 12013–2023 CICP FOUNDATION INC
HAMILTON COUNTY COMMUNITY FOUNDATION INC DAF sponsor$257,00012 12012–2024 CICP FOUNDATION INC
INDIANAPOLIS FOUNDATION INC DAF sponsor$229,6507 12015–2024 CICP FOUNDATION INC
INFOSYS FOUNDATION USA Private foundation$200,0001 12023–2023 CICP FOUNDATION INC
ROCKEFELLER PHILANTHROPY ADVISORS INC DAF sponsor$150,0001 12015–2015 CICP FOUNDATION INC
FIDELITY INVESTMENTS CHARITABLE GIFT FUND DAF sponsor$130,7505 22021–2024 M FAMILY FOUNDATION INC; CROCKETT FOUNDATION INC
WINSTON-SALEM FOUNDATION DAF sponsor$120,0002 12020–2023 CROCKETT FOUNDATION INC
ASTROS FOUNDATION Private foundation$101,9551 12020–2020 CORREA FAMILY FOUNDATION
LACY FOUNDATION Private foundation$94,5004 12020–2024 CICP FOUNDATION INC
NATIONAL CHRISTIAN CHARITABLE FOUNDATION DAF sponsor$75,0001 12024–2024 FATHOM FAMILY FOUNDATION INC

The full list · all similar organizations

Where the money went

Every expense line on each return, biggest first: Form 990 Part IX (with its program, management and fundraising columns), 990-EZ Part I, or 990-PF Part I. Event marks lines the organization itself describes as events. “Events” in each summary adds those lines, conferences and meetings, and the direct costs of fundraising events. Unusual is not the same as improper. Many of these patterns have ordinary explanations. Check the filing.

2024 · Form 990PF · $7,059,742 spent · pay $485,110 · grants $6,449,962 · events $1,033
LineAs describedTotalShare
Contributions, gifts, grants paid $6,449,962 91.4%
Pay: officers, directors, trustees $485,110 6.9%
Other expenses $56,120 0.8%
Fees: other professional $35,074 0.5%
Taxes $21,699 0.3%
Fees: accounting $9,450 0.1%
Fees: legal $1,294 0.0%
Travel, conferences and meetings $1,033 0.0%
Total$7,059,742100%

View the filing

2023 · Form 990PF · $4,388,197 spent · pay $196,667 · grants $3,986,168 · events $2,512
LineAs describedTotalShare
Contributions, gifts, grants paid $3,986,168 90.8%
Pay: officers, directors, trustees $196,667 4.5%
Other expenses $113,825 2.6%
Fees: other professional $60,085 1.4%
Taxes $24,180 0.6%
Fees: accounting $3,675 0.1%
Travel, conferences and meetings $2,512 0.1%
Printing and publications $682 0.0%
Fees: legal $403 0.0%
Total$4,388,197100%

View the filing

2022 · Form 990PF · $5,090,915 spent · pay $207,782 · grants $4,504,500 · events $1,108
LineAs describedTotalShare
Contributions, gifts, grants paid $4,504,500 88.5%
Pay: officers, directors, trustees $193,466 3.8%
Taxes $176,608 3.5%
Other expenses $139,485 2.7%
Fees: legal $52,204 1.0%
Pension plans and employee benefits $14,316 0.3%
Fees: accounting $8,925 0.2%
Travel, conferences and meetings $1,108 0.0%
Fees: other professional $303 0.0%
Total$5,090,915100%

View the filing

2021 · Form 990PF · $4,711,825 spent · pay $200,000 · grants $4,064,980 · events $369
LineAs describedTotalShare
Contributions, gifts, grants paid $4,064,980 86.3%
Taxes $244,885 5.2%
Pay: officers, directors, trustees $200,000 4.2%
Other expenses $108,215 2.3%
Fees: legal $50,186 1.1%
Fees: other professional $35,000 0.7%
Fees: accounting $8,190 0.2%
Travel, conferences and meetings $369 0.0%
Total$4,711,825100%

View the filing

2020 · Form 990PF · $4,436,615 spent · pay $181,250 · grants $3,652,914 · events $0
LineAs describedTotalShare
Contributions, gifts, grants paid $3,652,914 82.3%
Taxes $376,722 8.5%
Pay: officers, directors, trustees $181,250 4.1%
Other expenses $131,469 3.0%
Fees: legal $48,160 1.1%
Fees: other professional $35,600 0.8%
Fees: accounting $10,500 0.2%
Total$4,436,615100%

View the filing

2014 · Form 990PF · $3,827,334 spent · pay $100,000 · grants $2,586,833 · events $406
LineAs describedTotalShare
Contributions, gifts, grants paid $2,586,833 67.6%
Taxes $925,296 24.2%
Fees: other professional $109,207 2.9%
Pay: officers, directors, trustees $100,000 2.6%
Other expenses $67,515 1.8%
Fees: legal $28,077 0.7%
Fees: accounting $10,000 0.3%
Travel, conferences and meetings $406 0.0%
Total$3,827,334100%

View the filing