COALITION FOR 21ST CENTURY MEDICINE
Cite this
Plain text COALITION FOR 21ST CENTURY MEDICINE. furp.org, nonprofit organization profile, tax years 2019–2024. https://furp.org/org/205915560. Retrieved 2026-10-20.
APA furp.org. (n.d.). COALITION FOR 21ST CENTURY MEDICINE [Nonprofit organization profile; tax years 2019–2024]. Retrieved October 20, 2026, from https://furp.org/org/205915560
MLA “COALITION FOR 21ST CENTURY MEDICINE.” furp.org, tax years 2019–2024, https://furp.org/org/205915560. Accessed 20 Oct. 2026.
Retrieved 2026-10-20; covers tax years 2019–2024. Data: furp.org, CC BY 4.0.
2024 · Form 990 · revenue $894K · expenses $1.2M · assets $17K
- EIN
- 20-5915560
- Address
- 15405 JOHN MARSHALL HWY, HAYMARKET, VA 201692706
- Website
- WWW.TWENTYFIRSTCENTURYMEDICINE.ORG
- NTEE code
- -
- Subsection
- -
- Ruling year
- -
- Cross-check
- ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer
Mission
THE COALITION FOR 21ST CENTURY MEDICINE WORKS WITH POLICY MAKERS TO MAINTAIN THE BALANCE BETWEEN REGULATION AND INNOVATION. THE ORGANIZATION WORKS TO ENSURE THAT REGULATORY POLICY PROMOTES RAPID ACCESS TO NEW DIAGNOSTIC INFORMATION WHILE PERMITTING PATIENTS AND THEIR PHYSICIANS TO OBTAIN ACCURATE AND RELIABLE INFORMATION ABOUT THESE TESTS.
Each tax year counts once: when a return was amended, only the latest return for that period is used below (superseded returns stay listed, greyed, under Finances).
People paid by the organization
None of the 15 people listed on these returns reported compensation from the organization. They are listed below.
Officers and directors, no compensation reported
15 people listed on the returns with $0 (or no amount) in every compensation column: current people first. Hours are as filed on the latest return each person appears on.
| Name | Latest title | Years | Hrs/wk (latest) | Compensation | Organizations |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Paul Diaz | DIRECTOR | 2023-2024 | 1 | $0 reported | 2 |
| Kevin T Conroy | DIRECTOR | 2023-2024 | 1 | $0 reported | 3 |
| Scott Hutton | DIRECTOR/SECRETARY | 2023-2024 | 1 | $0 reported | 1 |
| Bonnie Anderson | DIRECTOR/PRESIDENT | 2019-2024 | 2 | $0 reported | 1 |
| Chad Robins | DIRECTOR | 2020-2024 | 1 | $0 reported | 1 |
| Helmy Eltoukhy | DIRECTOR | 2023-2024 | 1 | $0 reported | 1 |
| Derek Maetzold | DIRECTOR/TREASURER | 2023-2024 | 1 | $0 reported | 1 |
| Marc Stapley | DIRECTOR | 2023-2024 | 1 | $0 reported | 1 |
| Chris Hall | DIRECTOR BEGAN APR '24 | 2024 | 1 | $0 reported | 1 |
| Kim Popovits (former) | DIRECTOR/TREAS RESIGNED JAN'23 | 2019-2023 | 1 | $0 reported | 3 |
| Kathy Behrens Wilsey (former) | DIRECTOR/SEC RESIGNED JAN'23 | 2019-2023 | 1 | $0 reported | 1 |
| Brook Byers (former) | DIRECTOR RESIGNED JAN'23 | 2019-2023 | 1 | $0 reported | 1 |
| Sharon Terry (former) | DIRECTOR RESIGNED JAN'23 | 2019-2023 | 1 | $0 reported | 1 |
| Risa Stack (former) | DIRECTOR-RESIGNED 1/7/19 | 2019 | 2 | $0 reported | 1 |
| Jua Johnson (former) | SEC/ASST TREAS-RESIGNED 9/6/19 | 2019 | 2 | $0 reported | 1 |
People by year
2024 · 9 people listed · none paid · 0 employees
| Name | Title | Hrs/wk | From org | From related | Other | Total | Orgs |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| SCOTT HUTTON | DIRECTOR/SECRETARY | 1 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| KEVIN CONROY | DIRECTOR | 1 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 3 |
| BONNIE ANDERSON | DIRECTOR/PRESIDENT | 2 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| CHAD ROBINS | DIRECTOR | 1 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| PAUL DIAZ | DIRECTOR | 1 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 2 |
| HELMY ELTOUKHY | DIRECTOR | 1 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| DEREK MAETZOLD | DIRECTOR/TREASURER | 1 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| MARC STAPLEY | DIRECTOR | 1 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| CHRIS HALL | DIRECTOR BEGAN APR '24 | 1 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
2023 · 12 people listed · none paid · 0 employees
| Name | Title | Hrs/wk | From org | From related | Other | Total | Orgs |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| KIM POPOVITS | DIRECTOR/TREAS RESIGNED JAN'23 | 1 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 3 |
| SCOTT HUTTON | DIRECTOR/SEC BEGAN JAN '23 | 1 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| KEVIN CONROY | DIRECTOR BEGAN JAN'23 | 1 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 3 |
| BONNIE ANDERSON | DIRECTOR/PRESIDENT | 2 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| KATHY BEHRENS WILSEY | DIRECTOR/SEC RESIGNED JAN'23 | 1 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| CHAD ROBINS | DIRECTOR | 1 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| PAUL DIAZ | DIRECTOR BEGAN JAN'23 | 1 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 2 |
| HELMY ELTOUKHY | DIRECTOR BEGAN JAN'23 | 1 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| DEREK MAETZOLD | DIRECTOR/TREAS BEGAN JAN'23 | 1 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| MARC STAPLEY | DIRECTOR BEGAN JAN'23 | 1 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| BROOK BYERS | DIRECTOR RESIGNED JAN'23 | 1 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| SHARON TERRY | DIRECTOR RESIGNED JAN'23 | 1 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
2022 · 6 people listed · none paid · 0 employees
| Name | Title | Hrs/wk | From org | From related | Other | Total | Orgs |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| KIM POPOVITS | DIRECTOR/TREASURER | 1 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 3 |
| SHARON TERRY | DIRECTOR | 1 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| BROOK BYERS | DIRECTOR | 1 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| BONNIE ANDERSON | DIRECTOR/PRESIDENT | 2 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| KATHY BEHRENS WILSEY | DIRECTOR/SECRETARY | 1 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| CHAD ROBINS | DIRECTOR | 1 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
2021 · 6 people listed · none paid · 0 employees
| Name | Title | Hrs/wk | From org | From related | Other | Total | Orgs |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| KIM POPOVITS | DIRECTOR/TREASURER | 2 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 3 |
| SHARON TERRY | DIRECTOR | 2 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| BROOK BYERS | DIRECTOR | 2 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| BONNIE ANDERSON | DIRECTOR/PRESIDENT | 2 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| KATHY BEHRENS WILSEY | DIRECTOR/SECRETARY | 2 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| CHAD ROBINS | DIRECTOR | 2 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
2020 · 6 people listed · none paid · 0 employees
| Name | Title | Hrs/wk | From org | From related | Other | Total | Orgs |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| KIM POPOVITS | DIRECTOR/TREASURER | 2 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 3 |
| SHARON TERRY | DIRECTOR | 2 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| BROOK BYERS | DIRECTOR | 2 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| BONNIE ANDERSON | DIRECTOR/PRESIDENT | 2 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| KATHY BEHRENS WILSEY | DIRECTOR/SECRETARY | 2 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| CHAD ROBINS | DIRECTOR Began 3.23.2020 | 2 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
2019 · 7 people listed · none paid · 0 employees
| Name | Title | Hrs/wk | From org | From related | Other | Total | Orgs |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| KIM POPOVITS | DIRECTOR/TREASURER | 2 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 3 |
| RISA STACK | DIRECTOR-RESIGNED 1/7/19 | 2 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| SHARON TERRY | DIRECTOR | 2 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| BROOK BYERS | DIRECTOR | 2 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| BONNIE ANDERSON | DIRECTOR/PRESIDENT | 2 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| KATHY BEHRENS WILSEY | DIRECTOR/SEC- BEGAN 9/6/19 | 2 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| JUA JOHNSON | SEC/ASST TREAS-RESIGNED 9/6/19 | 2 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
Highest-paid independent contractors
2024 · 4 contractors · $1.1M
| Name | Location | Service | Paid |
|---|---|---|---|
| GOLDBUG STRATEGIES LLC | GAITHERSBURG, MD | MGMT/MBRSHP/ADVOC | $347,317 |
| MCDERMOTT WILL EMERY LLP | CAROL STREAM, IL | ADVOCACY | $330,000 |
| FOLEY HOAG LLP | BOSTON, MA | ADVOCACY/LOBBYING | $270,000 |
| TODD STRATEGY GROUP LLC | WASHINGTON, DC | LOBBYING | $165,000 |
2023 · 4 contractors · $1.2M
| Name | Location | Service | Paid |
|---|---|---|---|
| GOLDBUG STRATEGIES LLC | GAITHERSBURG, MD | ADVOC/LOBBYING/MGMT | $360,744 |
| MCDERMOTT WILL EMERY LLP | CAROL STREAM, IL | ADVOCACY/LOBBYING | $330,000 |
| FOLEY HOAG LLP | BOSTON, MA | ADVOCACY/LOBBYING | $330,000 |
| TODD STRATEGY GROUP LLC | WASHINGTON, DC | LOBBYING | $180,000 |
2022 · 4 contractors · $1.2M
| Name | Location | Service | Paid |
|---|---|---|---|
| MCDERMOTT WILL EMERY LLP | CAROL STREAM, IL | REGULATORY/LOBBYING | $360,000 |
| GOLDBUG STRATEGIES LLC | GAITHERSBURG, MD | REGUL/LOBBYING/MGMT | $350,625 |
| FOLEY HOAG LLP | BOSTON, MA | REGULATORY/LOBBYING | $330,000 |
| TODD STRATEGY GROUP LLC | WASHINGTON, DC | LOBBYING | $162,500 |
2021 · 4 contractors · $1.2M
| Name | Location | Service | Paid |
|---|---|---|---|
| GOLDBUG STRATEGIES LLC | GAITHERSBURG, MD | REGUL/LOBBYING/MGMT | $372,683 |
| MCDERMOTT WILL EMERY LLP | CAROL STREAM, IL | REGULATORY/LOBBYING | $360,000 |
| FOLEY HOAG LLP | BOSTON, MA | REGULATORY/LOBBYING | $360,000 |
| TODD STRATEGY GROUP LLC | WASHINGTON, DC | LOBBYING | $135,000 |
2020 · 3 contractors · $1.1M
| Name | Location | Service | Paid |
|---|---|---|---|
| MCDERMOTT WILL EMERY LLP | CHICAGO, IL | REGULATORY/LOBBYING | $360,000 |
| FOLEY HOAG LLP | BOSTON, MA | REGULATORY/LOBBYING | $360,000 |
| GOLDBUG STRATEGIES LLC | GAITHERSBURG, MD | REGUL/LOBBYING/MGMT | $345,385 |
2019 · 3 contractors · $1.0M
| Name | Location | Service | Paid |
|---|---|---|---|
| FOLEY HOAG LLP | BOSTON, MA | REGULATORY/LOBBYING | $360,000 |
| MCDERMOTT WILL EMERY LLP | CHICAGO, IL | REGULATORY/LOBBYING | $360,000 |
| GOLDBUG STRATEGIES LLC | GAITHERSBURG, MD | REGUL/LOBBYING/MGMT | $291,226 |
Who gave
Contributor names are not public for this form type.
Public charities filing Form 990 or 990-EZ report large donors on Schedule B, but the IRS withholds their names and addresses from public copies. Private foundations (990-PF) are different: their contributors are public.
Finances
Newest first. Each filing: its name on one row, its figures on the row beneath. Greyed filings are superseded by a later return for the same period and are left out everywhere else on this page.
| Revenue | Expenses | Assets | Net assets | Contributions | Program revenue | Officer pay | Employees | Volunteers |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2024 · Form 990 | ||||||||
| $894,167 | $1,211,381 | $17,387 | $17,387 | $0 | $894,167 | $0 | 0 | - |
| 2023 · Form 990 | ||||||||
| $1,422,333 | $1,332,185 | $334,601 | $334,601 | $0 | $1,422,333 | $0 | 0 | - |
| 2022 · Form 990 | ||||||||
| $1,451,628 | $1,298,262 | $244,453 | $244,453 | $0 | $1,451,628 | $0 | 0 | - |
| 2021 · Form 990 | ||||||||
| $921,000 | $1,316,946 | $91,087 | $91,087 | $0 | $921,000 | $0 | 0 | - |
| 2020 · Form 990 | ||||||||
| $1,234,650 | $1,186,988 | $487,033 | $487,033 | $0 | $1,234,650 | $0 | 0 | - |
| 2019 · Form 990 | ||||||||
| $1,032,791 | $1,148,932 | $439,371 | $439,371 | $0 | $1,032,791 | $0 | 0 | - |
Funders of this organization
Not reported: no grants to this organization appear in the filings we have (tax years 2010 to 2025).
Similar organizations
Ranked without any AI: same NTEE code first, then the same NTEE group; then revenue within 2x, 5x or 10x; then the same state; then similar name and mission text. Same state only
| Organization | State | NTEE | Latest revenue | Latest expenses | Top-paid title | Top pay | Why similar |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| COALITION FOR A 21ST CENTURY AIRPORT | CO | Not reported | $332,467 | $332,467 | President | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 5x |
| COALITION FOR TACTICAL MEDICINE | NC | Not reported | $25,693 | $21,615 | EXECUTIVE DI | $0 | Similar name, revenue differs more than 10x |
| TRANSPORTATION COALITION FOR THE 21ST CENTURY | CO | W40 | $55,000 | $40,210 | President | $0 | Similar name, revenue differs more than 10x |
Who funds organizations like this
Not reported: none of these organizations has foundation or DAF-sponsor grants in the filings we have.
The full list · all similar organizations
Where the money went
Every expense line on each return, biggest first: Form 990 Part IX (with its program, management and fundraising columns), 990-EZ Part I, or 990-PF Part I. Event marks lines the organization itself describes as events. “Events” in each summary adds those lines, conferences and meetings, and the direct costs of fundraising events. Unusual is not the same as improper. Many of these patterns have ordinary explanations. Check the filing.
2024 · Form 990 · $1,211,381 spent · pay $0 · grants $0 · events $0
| Line | As described | Total | Program | Management | Fundraising | Share |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Fees: other services | $738,598 | - | - | - | 61.0% | |
| Fees: lobbying | $240,000 | - | - | - | 19.8% | |
| Fees: management | $153,798 | - | - | - | 12.7% | |
| Fees: accounting | $31,550 | - | - | - | 2.6% | |
| Fees: legal | $24,326 | - | - | - | 2.0% | |
| Travel | $20,097 | - | - | - | 1.7% | |
| Office expenses | $2,340 | - | - | - | 0.2% | |
| Occupancy | $672 | - | - | - | 0.1% | |
| Total | $1,211,381 | 100% |
2023 · Form 990 · $1,332,185 spent · pay $0 · grants $0 · events $0
| Line | As described | Total | Program | Management | Fundraising | Share |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Fees: other services | $770,247 | - | - | - | 57.8% | |
| Fees: lobbying | $280,537 | - | - | - | 21.1% | |
| Fees: management | $207,127 | - | - | - | 15.5% | |
| Travel | $36,403 | - | - | - | 2.7% | |
| Fees: accounting | $28,591 | - | - | - | 2.1% | |
| Office expenses | $7,355 | - | - | - | 0.6% | |
| Fees: legal | $1,925 | - | - | - | 0.1% | |
| Total | $1,332,185 | 100% |
2022 · Form 990 · $1,298,262 spent · pay $0 · grants $0 · events $0
| Line | As described | Total | Program | Management | Fundraising | Share |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Fees: other services | $622,300 | - | - | - | 47.9% | |
| Fees: lobbying | $358,325 | - | - | - | 27.6% | |
| Fees: management | $266,500 | - | - | - | 20.5% | |
| Fees: accounting | $26,081 | - | - | - | 2.0% | |
| Travel | $13,105 | - | - | - | 1.0% | |
| Office expenses | $7,092 | - | - | - | 0.5% | |
| Fees: legal | $4,859 | - | - | - | 0.4% | |
| Total | $1,298,262 | 100% |
2021 · Form 990 · $1,316,946 spent · pay $0 · grants $0 · events $0
| Line | As described | Total | Program | Management | Fundraising | Share |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Fees: other services | $630,000 | - | - | - | 47.8% | |
| Fees: lobbying | $408,171 | - | - | - | 31.0% | |
| Fees: management | $233,512 | - | - | - | 17.7% | |
| Fees: accounting | $26,902 | - | - | - | 2.0% | |
| Office expenses | $8,186 | - | - | - | 0.6% | |
| Travel | $5,546 | - | - | - | 0.4% | |
| Fees: legal | $4,629 | - | - | - | 0.4% | |
| Total | $1,316,946 | 100% |
2020 · Form 990 · $1,186,988 spent · pay $0 · grants $0 · events $0
| Line | As described | Total | Program | Management | Fundraising | Share |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Fees: other services | $600,000 | - | - | - | 50.5% | |
| Fees: lobbying | $352,692 | - | - | - | 29.7% | |
| Fees: management | $160,693 | - | - | - | 13.5% | |
| Travel | $29,325 | - | - | - | 2.5% | |
| Fees: accounting | $25,514 | - | - | - | 2.1% | |
| Fees: legal | $12,866 | - | - | - | 1.1% | |
| Office expenses | $5,898 | - | - | - | 0.5% | |
| Total | $1,186,988 | 100% |
2019 · Form 990 · $1,148,932 spent · pay $0 · grants $0 · events $0
| Line | As described | Total | Program | Management | Fundraising | Share |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Fees: other services | $564,000 | - | - | - | 49.1% | |
| Fees: lobbying | $412,981 | - | - | - | 35.9% | |
| Fees: management | $82,245 | - | - | - | 7.2% | |
| Travel | $31,176 | - | - | - | 2.7% | |
| Fees: accounting | $21,875 | - | - | - | 1.9% | |
| Fees: legal | $15,121 | - | - | - | 1.3% | |
| Advertising and promotion | $10,000 | - | - | - | 0.9% | |
| Office expenses | $7,273 | - | - | - | 0.6% | |
| Occupancy | $3,761 | - | - | - | 0.3% | |
| Depreciation and depletion | $500 | - | - | - | 0.0% | |
| Total | $1,148,932 | 100% |